TravelerReviews

Yosemite and Sequoia: John Muir's California

review_img

Barbara Bartel

John Muir and the big trees

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The Muir Woods' redwoods were great. Driving across the San Joaquin Valley gives a completely new perspective of CA. The majestic ancient Sequoias have to be seen for anyone to appreciate the size of them. Yosemite's granite walls and the way glaciers carved out the canyon are awe inspiring. Fantastic trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking to the Lower Falls in Yosemite, we saw a mother bear and two cubs who were just off the trail. Got some wonderful pictures of them!

review_img

Jim and Debbie Taylor

John Muir's Yosemite

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The entire Tauck experience was top notch! It was our first time travelling with this particular tour company and we would definitely recommend them to anyone planning a trip! Can't say enough positive about it!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many.....but the first time we saw those enormous, beautiful Redwoods and Sequoias left us speechless. Both Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks are beyond words! MUST SEES for anyone who appreciates the natural wonders of this beautiful planet!

review_img

carole campbell

Yosemite and Sequoias - John Muir

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Bucket list trip for me! Just incredible views and local guides were so knowledgeable and made learning about these beautiful trees fun as well. Our TD was exceptional as our guide throughout the eight day trip. Small friendly group. Loved all our accommodations, with the exception of no air conditioning at the Waushuchi Lodge!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing General Sherman!

review_img

RobertWiecezak

Great, as usual

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was my third trip with Tauck and like the others it was awesome. Everything from the coach to the hotels and the restaurants were top shelf. As great as the food and accommodations were nothing can beat the parks. Muir Woods and Sequoia were magical but Yosemite was heaven. I couldn’t believe a place could be that beautiful. We’ll be back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking the trail to the top of Nevada Falls in Yosemite was something I will never forget. No photos or videos could show the beauty or power of the flowing water both down the falls and the river. It was a little challenging but definitely worth the effort. Keep in mind it’s not a hike for the unfit.

review_img

Mary Graves

Sequoia and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Tauck took such good care of us. Activities all arranged and lodging was top of the line. Amazing trip. It was my first trip on my own as a widow and couldn't have had better travel companions or tour director and driver.

Most Memorable Moment:

Muir Woods was close to a religious experience. Ethereal!

review_img

EllenOppenheimer

Yosemite/Sequoia and Muir Woods

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We have traveled with Tauck on five different tours. We had a wonderful tour in Yellowstone and Israel. Our experience in the Canyon Lands tour and the Danube River Cruise was spotty. Our experience in Yosemite, Sequoia and Muir Woods will taint our use of Tauck Tours for the future.

review_img

Bruce Jankowitz

Yosemite and Sequoia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Nice blend of the San Francisco experience as well as the incredible beauty of Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks. I highly recommend extending time in the City by the Bay. The hotel accommodations and culinary experiences were first rate. Local specialists and re-enactors added much. Our tour director was quite personable and knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Panoramic view of Yosemite at Glacier Point as well as the beauty of the giant Sequoia Redwoods.

review_img

Divot dog

Sequoia & Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our guides through Sequoia and Yosemite were the best. They made sure we had the best experience possible. Tauck tour guide was excellent. Don't miss these parks!

Most Memorable Moment:

"Tunnel View" in Yosemite was breathtaking

review_img

tsetse

Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was a magical trip with views unlike those anywhere else in the world. To see the tallest and the largest living things was amazing. To include other views and top hotels made it a 1st class tour. Our tour director provided us with great information and humor. The trees and views speak for themselves, but Tauck made them extra special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking thru a tree. Seeing 11 deer and 1/2 Dome outside my hotel window

review_img

wanttotravel

John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Well planned; interesting, informative, and fun; great walking/hiking opportunities; loved the lodging at the Ahwahnee Hotel and the Fairmont in San Francisco

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in Muir Woods, the Sherman Trail, and Lower Yosemite Falls Trail - walking/hiking opportunities

review_img

gdamos

Sunny California - Sequoia and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Perfect weather! Our guide is a personable, caring, intelligent and accomplished young woman. She provided many unique experiences at each of our locations. A great learning experience (even for a 70 year old) and a lot of fun. Even the bus rides were informative and entertaining. Parks are awesome - she added the icing on the cake.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting John Muir! Now I know he was an "impersonator" but he looked like, spoke like and very well could be channeling the original John Muir. I was spell-bound.

review_img

Pat Arnold

San Francisco, Sequoia and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The trip was very well planned. San Francisco, Muir Woods, Sausalito were all great to explore. We had great videos with Ken Burns about the parks. Our tour guide was fantastic and kept us all interested throughout the trip. If you are a photographer, this is the trip for you.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had not been to that part of the country, so I would have to say that the sequoias were my favorite part. I found them so interesting, never realizing what amazing trees they are. My husband enjoyed Yosemite the best. As a photographer, the shots were unbelievable.

review_img

rbatche41

California National Parks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our fourth trip with Tauck. This year It was San Francisco, Sequoia, and Yosemite. Tauck says it is How You See the World that matters. The trips are always educational and fun. You never go hungry on their trips. And some how there is always something unexpected as a bonus. Tauck always endeavors to find the best places to stay.

Most Memorable Moment:

We drove through a forest fire in Yosemite.

review_img

Bruce Arnold

Sequoia and Yosemite tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our first Tauck Tour and it certainly exceeded our expectations. From the start of our tour in San Francisco until our departure we were treated to great accommodations, fine meals, and an experience that was both educational and entertaining. The Tour Director was exceptional!

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire tour was exceptional and memorable in would be difficult to identify one moment! We enjoyed the entire experience and are looking forward to our next Tauck Tour.

review_img

Journey together

Beautiful Trees and Woods

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our trip to Muir Woods,Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks was wonderful and awe inspiring. You cannot appreciate the Redwoods and Sequoias until you see them up close and personal. More awesome are the gigantic rock formations and waterfalls at Yosemite. Our Tour Director and Driver made the trip interesting and comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was walking into the Majestic (Awhanee) Lodge, and then experiencing Yosemite. They were on my bucket list and Tauck got me there. Secondly, getting an overview of Yosemite on a tram ride led by a passionate biologist who imparted many interesting facts and stories about the park.

review_img

Judy Reinhard

Tour of Muir Woods, Sequoia, and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The trip was wonderful, excellent tour director. She shared numerous stories about the area and always answered our questions with the appropriate information. Very friendly and professional. Excellent local guides. Great weather and a nice group of travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed the travels through the parks. Sequoia was very peaceful and special for that reason.

review_img

NAllen

Not to be missed!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was our 4th Tauck Experience(we don't call it a vacation as you must be ready to wake early, walk a lot and use every minute of the day to taking in the wonders of America's Best Idea if you travel with Tauck. We were blessed with clear weather, abundant water falls, a congenial group -but best of all we had an amazing Tour Director!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many - The views of Majestic Yosemite Valley, El Capitan and Half Dome took our breath away - not to mention all the falls. The educational commentary that our tour director offered made every aspect of the trip more meaningful. Only area that could use improvement was the food- Just fair at best - the rest of the tour was fantastic!

review_img

Sue Sullivan

I'm a Believer

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

My wife had me write this review because I reluctantly let her register us for it. I pictured a tour guide holding a red flag over her head yelling, "This way, stay together," while we followed with lanyard-clad bodies. I could not have been more wrong. This trip will easily go down as one of THE best vacations I have taken. I will be back!

Most Memorable Moment:

While I was constantly awed by the amazing vistas in the parks - absolutely unbelievable - my best memory is the people we encountered. Our tour guide and all of the individual guides were absolutely PASSIONATE about the parks. Their genuine enthusiasm is what really made this trip. (A special "call out" to our Tauck Director! You made this trip special.)

review_img

HisSnowflake

Bad Tour Director...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The Tour Director was probably good in his time. However, he is the worst Tour Director I have ever experienced. Said one thing - didn't follow up, very little interaction with all travelers, no Internet on bus, etc, Trip to the Sequoias could have been left out all together. Yosemite was outstanding. All other guides were exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yosemite was a great experience! I will also never forget my stay at the Fairmont in San Francisco.

review_img

OwenGuise

John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Great trip! We saw and learned more than we could have ever seen on our own. Yosemite was at its peak - more water this year than in many years. Great hotels. Congenial people, and great tour director and bus driver.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Yosemite Valley and falls from Glacier Point. Seeing for the first time those iconic features previously seen only in photos.

review_img

Kevin Roberts

Yosemite and Sequoia: John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had a fabulous time in Sequoia National Park, Yosemite and San Francisco. Our tour guide was very informative and quite funny. We got along well with the rest of the guests on the tour and we would highly recommend that you take this tour

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable part of the tour was in Yosemite National Park, we were taken on an open bus around the grounds and our guide was so informative and passionate about everything, she even sang to us.

review_img

Tom Evans

Muir, Sequoia, and Yosemite - 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Trip started a little bumpy with the smaller buses for Muir Woods showing up about an hour late and then there was miscommunication on the ferry back from Sausalito with 70% of the group with no pickup. After that everything was at Tauck high standard. Would have liked an intro to San Francisco. We subsequently hired Viator for a tour of San Fran.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yosemite was spectacular. We would have liked an extra day to explore the park. Enjoyed the talks and enthusiasm of the ranger girls at Sequoia and Yosemite and enjoyed the Charles Young and John Muir actors. Liked the star-gazing, but wish was much warmer. But most of all enjoyed all the new people we met and had fun with.

review_img

turnke43

John Muir's Yosemite and Sequioa July 9 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Great tour with a very good group of people. Our Tour Director was very knowledgeable and organized, particularly sorting out the rooms at the Majestic in Yosemite. Our driver was excellent as well. Plenty of beautiful scenery in Muir Woods and the two Parks. Excellent hotels in San Francisco and Yosemite.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of Yosemite Valley from Glacier Point and the tour of the Majestic Hotel.The night sky in Sequioa.

review_img

Californiadreamer

California's Majestic Scenery

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

What a delightful tour! Although we had visited these parks in the past, the Tauck tour brought new viewpoints, wonderful access, expanded knowledge and worry-free experiences. We loved the hotels and the time to enjoy the parks on our own. Our tour director was knowledgeable and efficient, and well-respected by hotel staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

Muir Woods, breathtaking Sequoias, Yosemite Valley, meeting John Muir (!), and "sailing" under the Golden Gate Bridge.

review_img

joyced

Muir Woods, Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Wonderful trip. Great guide. Beautiful sights and lovely weather to see everything. Our time in San Francisco was great. Fun to ride the ferry from Sausalito to San Francisco. Muir Woods was awe inspiring. Sequoia, including the General Sherman tree was also awe inspiring. Yosemite is quite something. The John Muir experience was unique.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Starry Night tour at Sequoia. I live in a large city and I haven't seen that many stars in years.

review_img

CarlAylman

Walking in the steps of John Muir

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Trip started off with a weekend in San Francisco at the St. Francis and ended with a night in the Fairmont on Nob Hill. In between we saw the sights of Muir Woods, Sequoia and Yosemite National Parks. The scenery was breathtaking, the meals were excellent. Led by a personable and knowledgeable tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

The local guides in Sequoia and Yosemite were terrific. The views from Tunnel View and Glacier Point in Yosemite were breathtaking.

review_img

Olson309

John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The trip to the Redwoods, Sequoias and Yosemite was outstanding. I really liked having a trip that focused on natural wonders. We were glad we picked the smaller group. We enjoyed all who were there with us, our guide was very knowledgeable, and all accommodations and meals were excellent. In addition to all this, our weather was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Yosemite Falls.

review_img

smartone22

John Muir's Caiifornia: Sequoia and Yosemite - Exceptional Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The trip was very good. Dinners were exceptional. Accommodations were outstanding, particularly the Westin St. Francis and Fairmont Hotels in SF and the Ahwahnee in Yosemite. The tours ans scenery were breathtaking. Took hundreds of photos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably seeing the General Sherman Tree in Sequoia National Park, the world's largest tree. Also, riding on the open-air tram tour of Yosemite. Walking up the Morro Rock trail and walking to the edge of Glacier Point were also memorable experiences. Only complaint (as usual): would have liked a little more down-time to relax.

review_img

ragweedd

Yosemate and Sequoia: John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was a wonderful tour starting in San Francisco, Muir' Woods, Sequoia National Pak and Yosemate. The hotels and meals were excellent. It was a major plus to have an experienced guide who new the best points of interest, the best places to eat and what to avoid. The driving could be challenging and it was great to sit back and relax.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments. Muir Woods was a pleasure to walk. The giant trees of Sequoia National Park was and the views of Yosemate were amazing.

review_img

joe stregack

Yosemite and Sequoia: John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The trip was great,the places we went were spectacular.The Ahwahnee and Fairmont are superb.The Westin St.Francis is an iconic hotel however it needs to have better staffing. The Oak Room left much to be desired.The lunch location in Sausalito needs changing.The others did not provide the unique Tauck touch.Not sure what Ken Burns did,saw on PBS.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several moments! The trees of Muir Woods and Sequoia were magnificent and breathtaking. Similarly were the views as you entered Yosemite Valley through the tunnel and the ones from Glacier Point.

review_img

marymertic

Beautiful America - John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

All of the accommodations were spectacular and always lovely traveling companions Tauck makes sure we see the very best in the parks by staying in the parks. The Ahwahnee was fantastic. And the parks have TV's now.

Most Memorable Moment:

First seeing the sequoias in person and then the Yosemite valley. The views from San Francisco hotels were also memorable

review_img

Jim Lusby

Soquia and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We visited San Francisco, Muir Woods, Soquia, and Yosimite National Parks. We liked everything but would like better accommodations at Soquia. We also would like to have seen Kings Canyon and Hech Hechee. Adding a day or two to do that would be OK.

Most Memorable Moment:

Glacier Point at Yosemite. Also eating in the dining room at th Awanii Hotel.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always trying to improve our tours based on the feedback from our guests. Thank you for travelling with Tauck, and we look forward to hosting you again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SueTimAltoona

A truly wonderful vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The best hotels, meals, tour guide, bus driver, sights...well organized. Only one missed area - Yosemite's Mariposa Grove, which should be added to this tour when the Mariposa grove reopens in 2017. Muri Woods, Sausalito, and the ferry to fisherman's Wharf was fun! Glacier point was breathtaking. Sequoia was indescribable. A great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing in front of the General Sherman tree in Sequoia National Park...and star gazing that night in the totally dark sky. Plus Yosemite's granite walls surrounding the Ahwahnee. So breathtaking,

review_img

history4me

Wonderful sights everywhere!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our trip was filled with the wonderful sights of some of America's best Parks. Our Tauck Director was superb, and knew it all. We loved Muir Woods, Sequoia, and Yosemite, and had really good weather. We were told that by mid to late July, the Yosemite waterfalls would be dry, so we are glad we chose early June. This tour is a must!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking among the giant sequoia trees on the General Sherman Trail in Sequoia - we were surrounded by these gentle giants, and it was a really wonderful experience.

review_img

L'Amoureux

John Muir's Yosemite and Sequoia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

When the trip was over, I would have liked to start right over again. Gorgeous forests, impressive mountains and historic sites were the order of the day. Our guide shared her excellent knowledge of everything we experienced with humor and fine detail. Our accommodations were excellent, even those within the parks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing next to the giant Sequoia and redwood trees was overwhelming. Their size and age are indeed memorable. I was glad that the rapacious lumber companies were unable to cut them all down before the national forests were established.

review_img

loisgreil

Yosemite,King Canyon and Sequoia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was our 4th tour with Tauck We continue to be impressed with their service Every little detail is taken care of. I honestly don't think we would ever travel with another tour company They are THAT GOOD. Yosemite is breath-takenly beautiful The tram ride around the park was not only beautiful but very educational Tour guide was excellent

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing bears in Sequoia !!!

review_img

kanon1996

John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Great sights in San Francisco and Sausalito. The Muir Woods was incredible! The trip to Sequoia, through the San Joauin valley, although long, was enjoyable with our tour director and the good company on the bus. Sequoia, Kings Canyon and Yosemite National Parks were all that we had imagined and then some! Hotels, food and scenery great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the 2000 plus year old Sequoia trees and thinking about what they "saw" in their lives! Also the incredible views from the lookout points of the whole Yosemite Valley were breath taking!

review_img

rhroncich

Majesty and Awe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip is not easily described. My husband wanted Yosemite, so we went while we could still walk and enjoy it. Had no idea how cool the Muir Woods and Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks would be, nor had we ever experienced such amazing parks. San Fran is fine too, but not our focus, even though luxury was provided. highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several - seeing Glacier Point's views, my husband climbing Morro Rock, and the trees and wildlife - real redwoods, sequoias and bears!

review_img

nononame

John Muir's Sequoia and Yosemite

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our fourth Tauck tour and as usual it was everything we have become accustomed to when traveling with Tauck. The accommodations were great and Muir Woods, Sequoia and Yosemite cannot be described with words, but must be experienced to truly be appreciated. Tour Director and Driver were both great.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick one,but seeing the Sequoias and the view from Glacier Point in Yosemite would be at the top of the list.

review_img

MissConnie

Yosemite and Sequoia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Trip started in San Francisco with the Redwoods, then bussed to Sequoia to see the giant trees and hike up the view rock, then on to Yosemite to see the bald rock cliffs. All parts from fun in Frisco and Redwoods to the Gen.Sherman tree to El Capiton were fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

standing near the General Sherman tree and the other mega-trees.

review_img

KathrynH

If you care about the big redwood trees

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Our reason to take this tour was the obvious concern about never having seen redwood trees (not to mention San Francisco). This tour completes those two items on our bucket list. Even the hideous damage from drought and potential detours from wildfire did not dampen our enthusiasm at seeing these natural treasures.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trek through the Muir Woods in San Francisco was most memorable because it was the first grove of tall redwoods that I had ever seen. The fat redwoods in the Sequoia National Park were also impressive, but in a different way. Mother Nature staged each redwood miracle in its most impressive way and I was most in awe of Muir Woods' high trail.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you got to cross something off your bucket list. We agree - the redwoods are amazing! Thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sfox41

Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Wow! Very well executed trip. Outstanding accommodations appropriate for this type of tour. Extremely educational with top notch tour director who certainly knew the area and had a passion for nature.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our stop at Glacier Point that provided the incredible overview of the Valley. Took my breath away!

review_img

Mary L

Breathtaking!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

From sophisticated San Francisco through Muir's beloved redwoods and sequoias to the peaks and falls of King's Canyon and Yosemite, we were awed by the sheer scope and beauty of our world. Learned much about the history of the region and enjoyed the glorious settings, excellent meals and seamless travel experience that Tauck has perfected. Go!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many! Rounding the last bend in the road to see King's Canyon spread before us, watching bears in Round Meadow, the view from the Ahwahnee Hotel at sunset...

review_img

JC

Extraordinary John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was truly a trip of extraordinary experiences! From the hotels and lodges, to the views and vistas, to the historical backgrounds -- especially the re-enactor Shelton Johnson's "Buffalo Soldier" and the personable "John Muir" -- to the exceptional tour guide, literally everything about this was "extraordinary." And we loved the small group!

Most Memorable Moment:

While each moment held something special, the spectacular view down the Yosemite Valley was nothing short of breathtaking. Of course, coinciding with that view were those from Glacier Point and Moro Rock.

review_img

jaberwockx1

Defiitely a "Bucket List" experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Everything went perfectly and no small detail was overlooked . . . but then, of course, it was a Tauck tour. Our guide (Mike) was terrific. Each of our experiences (San Francisco, Muir Woods, Sequoia and Yosemite) was impressive in itself but the sequence was terrific as each experience was more mind boggeling than the one before.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were three . . . first walking among the coastal redwoods (it was like being in church). Then standing next to a giant sequoia for the first time. Finally, gazing down at Yosemite Vally from Glacier Point. Photos really don't do any of these experiences justice . . . you have to be there to really fully appreciate the magnificence.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LLysne

John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I arrived in San Francisco a day early and I enjoyed the city very much. Public transportation is good and, when the tour began we had an excellent sightseeing trip around the city. I especially enjoyed the long walk through the John Muir Woods. Paved trails and the bridges over the beautiful stream made walking easy and pleasant.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour guide was careful to make certain everyone was comfortable and aware of the schedule. He was exceptionally well informed about the history and geography of all the points of interest. Sequoia and Yosemite were so spectacular, I could not choose any one moment. Our hotels were as wonderful as the sights.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SDerr

A trip we will never forget-Magestic.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We stayed an extra day in San Francisco which helped us identify our surroundings. The weather was perfect every day. No fog out there. Our tour director and bus driver were very personable and helpful. Since the group was just 22 people and couples that did not know each other previously, it was wonderful to travel and get to know everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

The scenery was beyond our expectations and the enactments made everything come alive. Our lodging had spectacular views. We would recommend a guided tour of the Ahwahnee to really appreciate the history and amazing beauty of the hotel.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

NAnderson

Yosemite, Sequoia, John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This review is being written by my wife, Peggy [Employee Name]. We had a wonderful trip. Well organized, grand hotels, great guides, nice traveling companions and perfect weather. It was ideal to have time in San Francisco at the beginning of the trip. This just emphasized the transition to the outdoor world. It is a magical city and we loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Giant Sequoias, train trip across our breadbasket, hiking to Glacier Point, bears, deer and coyote. Lunch with a Buffalo Soldier, watching climbers on El Capitan, many wonderful water falls. You see, this trip can't be reduced to one moment!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and experienced so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PRoth

Our trip through John Muir's California

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was our second Tauck trip and it was as good as the first one --maybe better. Our tour director was excellent--knowledgeable , personable, and very well organized. We saw absolutely breathtaking scenery and learned once again to appreciate the beauty of Creation and the importance of John Muir's dedication in preserving our National Parks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Yosemite Valley from Granite Point--3000 feet above the valley floor

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedbacd and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jgoodwin

A walk with John Muir

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was a trip of a life-time. From the beginning in San Francisco through the path covered by John Muir in the California National Parks, this trip was exciting and more picturesque than a camera could capture or words could express.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking down the paths among the world's largest and tallest trees.

review_img

carol@seashells.com

Strange Perspective

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We have been fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel around the world. This trip through our own National Parks with Tauck was over the top! No stone was left unturned in making our visit educational and enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view in Yosemite from Glacier Point.

review_img

Lew

September is a great time for this trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Great Trip! From walking in Chinatown in a crowd to a quiet stroll in the woods by the lodge at Sequoia National Forest watching deer.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were in Sequoia National Forest during a new moon and were lucky to have a clear sky for star gazing. We had not seen the Milky Way since we were kids.

review_img

denjune56

One of the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

What made this trip memorable were the vistas that Nature provided. Too bad that we could not have left Muir Woods and headed directly to Sequoia which would have given more time in Yosemite. Instead of the train ride we could have had a coach tour on the way with some explanation of the sights. Too much repetition on John Muir.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at Glacier Point and viewing Yosemite valley. Should have more time in Yosemite with guided hikes or suggested hikes and levels of difficulty'

review_img

Dawn C

Awesome National Parks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

As always seeing our National Parks can take your breath away. Each place is unique in its own way and staying in the Parks adds so much too the experience ! Having others who work at the Parks share in their knowledge and love also added to this awesome experience. You have to see it to appreciate the beauty and majesty of it all.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many sights that we enjoyed but meeting Shelton as a Bufflao Soldier was a fantastic learning experience and a true highlight of our trip.

review_img

World Traveler

Walking among the great trees

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

As usual, this trip was well organized and executed. Everything went like clockwork with a wonderful guide and driver. It was just the right amount of walking and riding the coach and train. The hotels were great as were the other travelers. Walking among the giant Sequoiah trees was magical.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing to the top of Moro rock at my age of 78 and looking 360 degrees to see such beauty was electrifying.

review_img

TheNewells

Yosemite and Sequoia an adult's view of a childhood memory.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Visiting Yosemite and Sequoia with my wife, who had never experienced it before was wonderful. Each new sight for her was enhanced by a story of my childhood experience. She was even more delighted about the wonderful accommodations when compared to my stories of camping as a young boy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing the beauty and grandeur of Yosemite again as an adult was wonderful. Experiencing it with my wife for the first time was exciting. While looking at the Yosemite Valley from the tunnel view point, the both of us deciding, at the same time, we would return with our grandchildren to experience the trip through there eyes was memorable.

review_img

rustyr95

Excellent ! But,

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

WE thoroughly enjoyed the trip from beginning to end. The only down side was not enough time in Yosemite. At least one extra day should be added. We didn't arrive until late afternoon on the first day and the valley tour took up most of the second.The third day could tour the Tuolumne Meadows of which we saw nothing. It's too special to miss.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking early one morning I encountered a bear right on the path in front of me. He posed for about twenty photos and went back to his noshing.

review_img

Metman

Sequois et.al.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This is our 6th Tauck trip. The trip was very interesting but we could have had more time at Yosemite and less time on the train ride. The hotels were Tauck quality, even the park hotels amazed us, but you needed more time in the parks. Hopefully Tauck will make adjustments for next year such as flying from SFO to FAT to provide more park time.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We truly appreciate your sharing your feedback and have notified the tour designer for this trip of your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your vacation overall and hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

judycat

NATURE AT IT'S BEST

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

I REALLY ENJOYED THIS TRIP. THE SEQUOIAS WERE AWESOME. YOSEMITE WAS, AS ALWAYS, WONDERFUL. THE WHOLE TOUR WAS GREAT. TAUCK DOES THE NATIONAL PARKS SO WELL.

Most Memorable Moment:

JUST HAVING THE TIME TO REALLY GET TO SEE YOSEMITE. THERE ARE NO WORDS TO DESCRIBE IT.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button