TravelerReviews

Yellowstone & the Tetons: American Safari

review_img

Cheryl Ward

Culturious Yellowstone & tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our best trip ever! Not only because of the beauty and Yellowstone and the Tetons but also because of our guide. His knowledge was exceptional, his attention to details made this trip wonderful! The unique experiences like visiting the home place of Olaus & Mardy Murie and the Snake River Ranch made this trip exceptional.

review_img

Michi

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We had a great tour guide and motor coach driver! Overall the trip was great! We had pretty good weather, the sights were awesome and the activities were fun. We had some great experiences with Naturalists who traveled with us and/or guided us on walks. The food was better than anticipated. Hotels ok except last one had moldy bathroom.

Most Memorable Moment:

Picking one is hard - the whitewater rafting in the hail, guided tour (by Edward) at the Upper Geyser Basin and watching the geysers. The talks by various people, etc. Seeing wildlife. The Fountain Paint Pots and the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone. The Grand Tetons when the smoke cleared! Making new friends with our tour!

review_img

Lynn Forgosh

This is OUR Country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Tauck always books the finest. In the National Park this is equivalent to Holiday Inn so don't be surprised. I brought twice as many clothes as necessary. Very casual; resort casual is overdressed. Think jeans and hoodies. Never wore shorts for trip starting Aug 21. Happy to have had rain poncho, gloves, and binoculars.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting; got uber wet. They supply wet suits but I wore a fleece and poncho. Best of all was the visit to the Hartmann's, a photographer who shared his near death experience with bears while shooting owls. Such a great experience hearing his stories. And then there's the Grand Geyser, not as predictable as Old Faithful but OMG!

review_img

Dawn Tyler

Yellowstone & the Tetons: American Safari culturious

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

A fantastic experience with 22 other people who became close friends after only 8 days. We visited the geysers, Lamar valley where we saw hundreds of bison, white water rafting, biking, hiking, presentations. The four hotels were historic and terrific. And what wonderful food choices.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most wonderful moment was being with our Director. She was so friendly, professional and knowledgable. Her excitement and enthusiasm made our experience a real joy to be with her. She was a real credit to Tauck. I only hope we can travel with her again.

review_img

cherylzabel

Worth every penny!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This trip far exceeded our expectations in every way! By going on the last trip of the season, we had crisp weather, combined with the trees changing color daily. There had been snow the week before, so the Tetons were not just beautiful, but spectacular! The other guests were very nice, and the tour director and bus driver were terrific!

Most Memorable Moment:

Five geyser eruptions in one morning!

review_img

David Lawford

Yellowstone and Grand teton Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Stunning scenery throughout. Hotels and food offerings a good step down on what we have experienced on other Tauck tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really thrilled with how close we came to the Bison.

review_img

LCMessner

Adapting to the Unexpected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Started with a show at the playhouse in Jackson Hole on our 'gift of time' night and ended with breathtaking views of the Grand Tetons. Didn't expect snow in Yellowstone, but it created stunning views. Traveled with a great guide and a group of people who were willing to enjoy what we were given, no complaints❄️🌨😊

Most Memorable Moment:

If you had told me that I would be whitewater rafting in the snow I would have said 'no way'.......but we did and it was definitely memorable❗️

review_img

Lise Sage

American Safari and the Grand Tetons-a must!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Having visited the parks as a child, I was a bit skeptical that Tauck could entertain us for nine whole days. As usual, Tauck outdid itself, once again. Every minute was filled with adventure, education, beauty and a whole lot of fun. Our guide was a font of information and delivered it with a wonderfully dry sense of humor!

Most Memorable Moment:

Had our Tauck Director not recommended it, we would have missed the Grand geyser at Yellowstone. It made Old Faithful look like a burp!

review_img

larrywei

American Safari: Yellowstone and Grand Teton, July 21-29.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We experienced natural wonders that are simply take-your-breath-away phenomenal. As tour director, we were fortunate to have one whose friendliness, knowledge and love for the national parks added magic to a journey of superlatives. Just in case, he also is trained in wilderness medicine!

Most Memorable Moment:

A bull bison invaded our parking lot up close and personal!

review_img

bappelt

Great trip to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The organization of the trip and our tour director was great. We felt it was a great way to see the parks and learn more about things. One of the highlights, at the beginning of the trip was the white water rafting. Great fun and well run excursion. As to the Ken Burns tie in, we only watched some vignettes and they didn't add much IMO

Most Memorable Moment:

White water rafting and the thermal features in Yellowstone.

review_img

Stan4851

Very Disappinted

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

1. Many of the services that were listed in the brochure were not delivered. 2.Hikes were cut back. 3.White water rafting was eliminated because our tour director decided it for the group. 4.Ken Burns videos were not shown on the bus ride. 5.Bus was too large for such a small active group. 6.Many services in Parks closed for season.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our other travelers. They all wanted more activity than what was provided.

review_img

Derek Tyler

Tetons & Yellowstone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Great trip. Enjoyed the activities and lectures. These made the trip unique and added to the experience ot the area. The hotels exceeded expectations except Lodge at Jackson Hole - the room was dirty and sheets were unchanged in 3 days (housekeeping was advised).

Most Memorable Moment:

Cycling toward a bison herd (they split!)

review_img

Z Morin

Worth Every Penny

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Exactly what we were looking for. More time off the bus and feet on the ground in breathtaking national parks. Very knowledgeable tour guide, obviously passionate about them. Don't sweat the physical requirements--the most demanding activity we did all vacation was the mad dash between concourses at O'Hare.

Most Memorable Moment:

The overwhelming beauty of Jenny Lake.

review_img

skygrj

Fantastic trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The Tauck Director was probably THE best Tauck guide we have ever had. And we were very pleased with the activity level(we are both active 73 yr olds). Would have loved more hikes but then hard to do it all. A trip we will not soon forget. Thank you, Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

The white water rafting was lots of fun, but for me, just seeing the Grand Tetons and all the gorgeous scenery and wildlife. Sigh, ready to go back..........

review_img

Byrl

Yellowstone American Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We had a fabulous experience. It was our first trip with Tauck. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable and very interesting. As we expected all of the details were handled expertly and the itinerary was well thought out to maximize the best use of our time and see the most wildlife, geysers, mountains etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

We did not expect the variety of beauty in the geysers, formations and landscapes we saw. So I would say discovering that was the most memorable part of the trip. Of course seeing bison up close and personal was also very memorable.

review_img

PBRussey

Exceptional experience in Yellowstone & Grand Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

A masterfully organized and executed trip with a full agenda of educational information and beautiful scenery. Every moment was rich and fulfilling. We saw wildlife, enjoyed good food, rafted on the Snake, learned about the science of a caldera and somehow felt it was all both a intimate personal and fun communal experience. The Tauck Director was extraordinary!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a mama grizzly and her two cubs in the open area between the terrace at Jackson Lake Lodge and Jackson Lake.

review_img

geysergal

Yellowstone and the Tetons: American Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip is amazing. Grizzlies, wolves, elk, moose. I learned so much about the animals, about the geysers, pools and the geology of the area. The rafting trip is wet and lots of fun. Horseback riding, the trip to the ranch, the waterfalls. Our tour director gave us the "back stage tour" that I think is unique.

Most Memorable Moment:

We went our to see the geysers with a naturalist at 6:30 in the morning. We were the only people out there. Very memorable morning. I was a solo traveler and it was nice to be part of a small group, wonderful people.

review_img

AndreafromBirmingham

Culturious Yellowstone and the Tetons

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We were able to travel the entire perimeter of Yellowstone seeing all the geological wonders that it is known for - springs, waterfalls, geysers, rolling hills, wild flowers, and abundant wildlife. What an inspirational journey! Never have we felt such a kindred spirit with our amazing country. We would love to see Yellowstone in winter next.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jenny Lake in the Tetons was the most beautiful, serene site. The brisk wind bent the trees and caused the water to lap vigorously onto the shore creating a magical moment for me. The combination of the mountains, the blue sky, and the water reminded me of being a child on vacation in the mountains of North Carolina.

review_img

CTtaucktrav07

Awesome American Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Exhausting, exhilarating, educational! Very COLD temperature. No moose or bear but lots of buffalos! Gorgeous area of the USA! Tauck guide was so informative and knowledgeable. After Labor Day there is less staff at National Parks so service was slow, yet wonderful. Wetsuits provided for white water rafting. Bring water proof camera and drink water

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many spectacular moments to choose just one!

review_img

Dvendely

Yellowstone and The Grand Tetons: An American experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Jim [Employee Name] was our phenominal tour guide. He took great care of us & gave us insight into everything our eyes could take in. Hiking up Shadow Mountain, horseback riding, bicycling, rafting the Snake River, up before dawn at Yellowstone, everything, everywhere was phenomenal and Jim made sure we had a chance to "laugh often and live every day to the

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything. The trees, the willows, the mountains, rivers, lakes, a 24 year old grizzly names Scarface, two bull elk in rut with horns together, a larger elk who ran them off, pronghorn herds, a young black bear, trumpeter swans, moose, and bison. So many bison. We were even caught in a bison jam on our way to the Snake River. Fabulous.

review_img

JFetter

Geysers and Mountains and Wildlife, Oh My!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

National Park gems right here at our back door! Our activity-rich week in Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons was spent in fine Tauck fashion. Our guide, Jim [Employee Name], gave us a plethora of information and interesting historical facts of the region. The beauty and vastness of the area is "eye candy" for all to enjoy. Loved the Culturious option!

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed the views and the hike around part of the rim of the "Grand Canyon" of Yellowstone.

review_img

JDunham

American Safari: Yellowstone Grand Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was well planned with an excellent guide - Jim's knowledge of Yellowstone/Grand Tetons is remarkable. A fantastic tour and a wonderful time. Planning my next tour with Tauck as I right. Thanks for a great trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking Shadow Mountain - Horseback riding Snake River Ranch Early morning walk around Upper Geyser Basin, and of course the float trip on the Snake River.

review_img

Crackeroo

Amazing scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We enjoyed our trip. Met some great people. The scenery was spectacular.The guides are extremely knowledgable.The hotel rooms in the parks were average at best but the locations can't be beat. Wish it was a bit more active.Lots of bus time. An earlier start to the Lamar Valley may have given us a better chance to view wildlife. Recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being surrounded by a herd of buffalo on our hike from the upper to the lower falls at the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone.

review_img

JFink

American Safari - Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Very scenic and beautiful views of the Tetons and the thermo features of Yellowstone and, of course, the wild life. The park hotels are a bit rustic but very serviceable. Our guide, Jim, was a fountain of knowledge. The tour consists of full days with very little free or down time. It's a great tour and is highly recommended.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our group was hiking the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone from the upper falls to the lower falls when we became trapped at a lookout point by bison. Our tour director acted heroically and tried to distract the bison. We were all behind the security fence with nowhere to go except to wait for the bison to depart. Jim was now our Bison Whisperer.

review_img

charlie123

Culturious Yellowstone and the Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Very well planned with an excellent guide. The horseback riding had to be cancelled because of lightning in the area, and I think that it would have added a lot to the total experience. The weather for most of the tour could not have been better. The bike ride was a lot of fun. Most memorable moment: A herd of bison blocked the road for miles, trave

Most Memorable Moment:

Having to follow a herd of Bison that were blocking the road.

review_img

LSchaefer33

Yellowstone Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The trip was well organized and had a nice variety of activities. It was not strenuous: just active. Our tour guide was awesome and we learned a lot.

Most Memorable Moment:

The bike ride where we encountered a herd of pronghorn was the best part.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jmg_jerseyshore

Culturious Yellowstone and Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I enjoyed my trip. Being from the east coast I found the scenery to be jaw-dropping. Our Tauck Director, Alan, was terrific (great storyteller). He took care and accommodated everyone in the group. Our tour guides were well-informed and looked out for our safety. Lodgings, overall very good. Quirks with the tour bus, but outshined by the scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking tour of the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone; Walking at the Mammoth Hot Spring Terraces; Rafting on the Snake River; Viewing the Grand Tetons; and walking the Upper Geyser Basin.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with som many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

FMastin

Yellowstone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great scenery, plenty of wildlife viewing. As usual, Tauck did a good job handling all the details. Our Tauck guide was very knowledgeable and took good care of us. The food and accommodationsinside the National Parks were not up to usual Tauck standards, butwe were warned of this in Tauck's pre-trip literature, so it was to be expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

I liked the bike ride, the raft trip, Jenny Lake, and the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enojoyed your journey and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kmccalle

Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Yellowstone and Grand Tetons Sept 21, 2011. Wonderful except for two factors. 1st, Old Faithful Inn room were bad: one dim ceiling light, sink at the foot of the bed 4am fire drill etc. 2nd, the tour director was dangerously scatter brained. continued below

Most Memorable Moment:

E.g, Told part of the group to continue bike ride despite guide telling us to wait for his signal about bison crossing. E.g., She walked up and down the tour bus isle with half-finished thoughts, forgetting to use the mic about half the time. Much more can be said about this.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry to learn both the Old Faithful Inn and your Tauck Director fell below your expectations. We pride ourselves on exceeding guests’ expectations in all aspects of their journey experience and we care very much about your complete satisfaction with Tauck. A Guest Relations Specialist will be contacting you directly to discuss further.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Chuck A

Simple complaint

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Though the overall trip was great traveling with my 3 sons, I must write about the final day. Horseback riding was fine. Ranch tour was a disaster. So called campfire even worse. Cowboy with guitar for 2 hours could not keep our small group together. Not even close to Tauck standards. I challenge Tauck to get a rating of ranch tour & campfire.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are addressing the ranch event for next season, based upon feedback such as yours. We will have a shorter visit next year, without dinner and it will no longer be a farewell night event. Many aspects of the ranch have been very successful and many guests highlight it as their favorite part of the trip. We hope these adjustments for the future will satisfy all of our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Phmeyers

Our western adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This trip was everything we had hoped for. Did everything at age 71 and 73. Guides we enthusiastic and passionate about the parks. This is something we have wanted to do for some time and this why we chose Tauck tours. The guy in the picture was actually there for the horseback event which ended with a chuck wagon style dinner and campfire.

Most Memorable Moment:

The thermals. The vistas. The biology and geology. Snake River raft ride. Horse back ride got a bit SCARRY when the bees came after the horses. I had a good horse. Our Tauck tours guide, Jim was top notch. Only flaw was transport in Yellowstone. Took 4 hrs to get backup. We are booked on your Rhine- Mosel northbound Sept. 2013.

review_img

Gator Guy

Yellowstone and the Teton's: American Safari ..... wonderful experience.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

This was a 50th anniversary trip and one we will never forget. The scenery, wildlife viewing, hiking adventure, Snake River rafting and the Snake River Ranch experience were once in a lifetime events. Our Tour Director and driver, along with the Yellowstone Association guides provided all we needed to appreciate our surroundings. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

I thought that hiking from above the Upper Falls to below the Lower Falls of the Yellowstone River and taking many photos was best, until we went on the Snake River raft trip and then the Snake River Ranch tour/cookout .... every day was a unique adventure. It would be most difficult to pick the most memorable moment.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JStookesberry

Yellowstone and Jackson Hole

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

I loved the pace of the Culturious Tour, but wish we had seen more wildlife. The horseback ride was frightening since the horse was stung by bees and the horse began rearing. Otherwise, the biking, hiking, Wort Hotel, Grand Teton Lodge --all great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Horseback ride at the ranch in Jackson Hole the last evening!Really frightening.

TAUCK RESPONSE

It sounds like you had quite an adventure! One of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

wbheff

Yellowstone Grand Tetons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Trip was excellent overall. The accommodations were truly first class, as were the meals. The Tauck tour director, Jim was extremely knowledgeable, and had everything well organised from beginning to end. The Yellowstone association people were also excellent. The fact that the group of people on the tour were great also helped!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one, but the hike up to Trout Lake, to see the trout spawning was memorable. The geysers in Yellowstone were also great to see. Overall, each of the activities was well organised and great fun.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button