TravelerReviews

New Mexico – Land of Enchantment

review_img

DonnaDambrot

Fantastic tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

It's hard to imagine how one week can be filled with such beautiful terrain, museums, dining, and art. Tauck really outdid itself. Visiting Albuquerque, Taos and Santa Fe with beautiful sites along the way was truly amazing. History, landscape, culture = fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Georgia O'Keefe's Ghost Ranch was spectacular, and witnessing the actual terrain compared to her artwork was astounding.

review_img

carolsingler

Enchanted by New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We were amazed at the depth of knowledge, patience, friendliness and organizational skills exhibited by our wonderful tour director Lolly on our May 18 Tauck tour of New Mexico. The itinerary was excellent and we learned so much. I have a new appreciation of the Pueblo culture and enjoyed the whole trip immensely.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Ghost Ranch

review_img

Rowena

New Mexico: Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

It was such an enjoyable/fabulous adventure for me with my two sisters. My sisters and I had a great time in New Mexico. Our Tour Director Lolly had enhanced the enjoyment of the trip. What an "enchanting" place to visit! Got to delve on Hispanic culture and cuisine. Although New Mexico is USA, it seems like another country.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really got impressed staying at EL Monte Sagrado Living Resort in Taos, NM. The structure and décor are unique. My sisters and I had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room & dining area. It was an adventure to visit the Bandelier National Monument and see the ancient ruins and petroglyphs. Enjoyed shopping when there were opportunities.

review_img

Texas Steve

New Mexico Tour 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This was an excellent way to get to see and learn about New Mexico. The activities were all first rate and educational. The itinerary and the logistics were well handled. We enjoyed learning new things, meeting new people, and getting a "behind the scenes" look of the culture of the people, the workshop of a sculptor, the kitchen of a chef, etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

As good as all the stops in Albuquerque, Santa Fe, and Taos were, the most memorable part of the tour was our tour guide. She provided great insight into the history and the culture of New Mexico. She clearly demonstrated a passion for this tour. And she was very good at engaging all participants on the tour.She is a great representative of Tauck.

review_img

terry pearl

new mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We enjoyed the sights balloons fantastic, the rio grande float trip, the story teller, the local guides, O'Keefe sights The food was mediocre welcome dinner chicken dry hor d'oeuvres were very good. lunch at pueblo center needs to be changed burnt food tasteless Taos hotel food mediocre. Need to use rest. serving tasty food use food network

Most Memorable Moment:

The ballon festival rio grande float trip

review_img

Dukie22u

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Everything went smoothly. We had the best and most knowledgeable director I've ever experienced on a tour. This was our first tour with Tauck and we are looking for more in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Balloon festival was great. Overall the whole trip was one great experience.

review_img

Roaming Rick

First & Last US Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Very disappointing tour director, condescending in her interaction with guests. The closer it got to "Tip Day" the nicer she got. Taos should be a day trip, not multiple nite stay. Hotel service was poor, room out of date and dirty.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon festival was super and should have included more time. Limo driver back to airport drove 95 MPH & also was on her phone for at least 15 minutes while driving at highway speed. Had to tell her to slow down...we were not running late!

review_img

RGW

New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Top notch tour guide, weather perfect, scenery beautiful. Lots of info re Native American life and struggles. Not much re New Mexico economy, major business centers, exports.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting on Rio Grande, beautiful scenery around home of Georgia O'Keefee.

review_img

Albert Mancuso

Wonderful time; great scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Great trip from start to finish. The hotels were excellent and everything was planned out perfectly (as always with Tauck). New Mexico really is a "Land of Enchantment". Everywhere we went was enjoyable and the food was awesome. I can't say enough about the scenery... SPECTACULAR.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments... Taos Pueblo, Ghost Ranch, Bandolier National Monument, Raft Trip on the Rio Grande, and great shopping in Taos and Santa Fe.

review_img

SandiBHess

New Mexico - Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Fantastic trip. Our tour director and our coach driver were marvelous and made it very special for us. The hotels and restaurants were all very first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the float trip down the Rio Grande, Santa Fe!!

review_img

Terrence4

New Mexico - Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Enjoyable, an opportunity to see the foremost sights in New Mexico.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Ghost Ranch. Overwhelming the research work currently taking place at a location where O'Keefe once lived.

review_img

PsychDoc

New Mexico Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

It was a wonderful trip.This part of the country is beautiful. The trip was informative and I learned a lot.I would suggest that Tauck adds a tour of downtown Albuquerque to this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to say what the most memorable moment was as there were many. 1. The float trip 2. The Indian school 3. The Ghost Ranch and O'keeffe museum 4. Free time in Santa Fe

review_img

cveve

New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The trip was very well planned and New Mexico is extraordinary. Our tour director was outstanding. She was very knowledgeable of the region . Also she was very helpful and funny. The hotel Hyatt Regency Tamaya and the Camino Sagrado hotel were very poorly managed. The kitchen in both hotels was a disaster. E Dorado H. was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ghost Ranch and the Taos Pueblo school and village

review_img

Bert

Interesting Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We enjoyed this trip. However our experience was spoiled by our health issues on this trip. My husband and I both came down with pneumonia and he was hopitalized in Santa Fe for several days. The hotel was very responsive to our problem, but unfortunately we were unable to finish the trip. New Mexico was lovely and the hotels were wonderful.

review_img

Nanna-9

New Mexico-10 July13to20

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Because I am an oil painter and love Georgia O'Keeffe paintings, I have always wanted to go to Santa Fe. My husband and I were so impressed with with our tour director, Lolly, her knowledge of the Southwest, her classy, gentle style and her enthusiasm.The tour exceeded our expectations and now are reading more about the Pueblo Native Americans

Most Memorable Moment:

For me as a painter, visiting Ghost Ranch, the O'Keeffe Museum and walking along Canyon Road, talking to other artists in their galleries Attending the Opera was special, because of the architecture and venue. My husband enjoyed the historical museums. El Monte in Taos was spectacular! Enjoyed meeting the other people in the tour group

review_img

DesertRose

New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

There were some memorable experiences on this trip, and I'm glad we went. The hotels and especially the restaurants were not of the quality that we expect from Tauck. The service was a problem at many of the meals, and we found the menus lacking in variety for people who do not enjoy spicey foods and peppers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Float trip down the Rio Grande with a young man from one of the Pueblos who was kind enough to share with us some of the items he had made and uses for ceremonial dances. Beautiful scenery and a wonderful opportunity to understand a different way of life.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that the hotels and restaurants did not live up to your expectations. I have shared your comments with our Operations team, who is constantly striving to improve and enhance our journeys.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EllieM

Northern New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We went two days early in order to take in the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta taking place that week. Once our tour started we had jam packed days and got to see so many places in this gorgeous part of the USA. We learned and experienced the Pueblo culture, the incredible scenery and the history of New Mexico.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the ballon fiesta, the float down the Rio Grande, the Pueblo people, the cooking school, and the Loretto Chapel as well as our wonderful, knowledgeable tour guide!!

review_img

DennisMcalinden

leader on our tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Would just briefly like to comment on the tour leader Donna (don't know last name). She was absolutely magnificent in all aspects of the tour. We were all able to share in the history of New Mexico, the different settlements in the state. Very knowledgeable in all the different places we experienced. Would go on another tour with her, no question.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Pueblo settlements, rafting Rio Grande, visit to Ghost Ranch, tour of downtown Santa Fe, visit to Nuclear Museum and Indian Museum, cooking school in Santa Fe, Indian caves in Brandelier Monument Park.

review_img

BillS

What a great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We both had a wonderful time. it is always great to travel with Tauck, we saw wonderful places, met nice people, and enjoyed the entire trip. We had never been to New Mexico, and now have a feel fro the State, and it various peoples. We have traveled with Tauck on close to 20 times and this was certainly one of the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think it was seeing the kindergarten in the Pueblo, although Ghost Ranch would come very close

review_img

NM the seond time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My first trip to NM was so delightful, just had to go back. I love the Indian culture and this time shared it with an artist friend. With Tauck I did not feel like a "tourist", but a participant in the lifestyle and spiritualism of the Native Pueblans. Thank you Lolly and Dina.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip was awesome with our guide, Duke Sine. He shared much of his life as an Apache and well known artist...lovely man.

review_img

CarolJorrisch

New Mexico, Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was my first trip with Tauck and I had a wonderful experience. The accomodations were very good, the bus and travel was comfortable and the guide was excellent and knowledgeable. I saw all and experienced everything I sought in making this trip. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was traveling the Georgia O'Keefe Landscape Tour. I also really enjoyed the river float and lunch with the Pueblo people.

review_img

SlowmoverPcola

The Perfect Vacation!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Our New Mexico tour was what we hope is the first of MANY Tauck vacations: exceptionally well-planned and coordinated, paced well for "mature" travelers, and first class all the way. Our tour director was a passionate guide to the culture, the sights, and the best way to do everything. Tauck does it RIGHT! We'll be back for more!!

Most Memorable Moment:

22 strangers arrived for this tour and we departed fast friends; that itself is memorable. As difficult as it is to compare the magnificent Bandolier National Monument, Ghost Ranch, the Millicent Rogers Museum, or the Taos and Santa Fe shopping (and eating!), the Rio Grande float trip with a Native American guide was our standout event.

review_img

SAuerbach

A Terrific Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to New Mexico, possibly because of the pampered treatment we experienced as well as the incredible events planned for us. Meeting Native Americans in intimate settings where we were able to ask questions and learn of their lives was just fascinating. We were able to develop an appreciation of their heritage

Most Memorable Moment:

There are SO-O-O many: The Balloon Festival in Albuquerque Rafting the Rio Grande Native American storyteller Santa Fe School of Cooking

review_img

RCohen

trip to new mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Good trip bad location for Hotel in Albuquerque could not see old Albuquerque. Hotel to far out.Change Hotel for people that come a day early nothing to do Balloon trip was super Native American mail lousy. Raft trip was super. Meal by chef very good Tauck should have supplied extra dinners welcome party was cheap going away party super

Most Memorable Moment:

Balloon trip was worth the cost of the trip

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations. The Balloon Flight is wonderful! Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you’ll travel with us again

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

onthemove

incredible beauty and people

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our third Tauck vacation and once again we were not disappointed. Tauck always takes care of all the details for you which makes your travelling easy & enjoyable. Lolly, our guide and Dina our driver were outstanding. Lolly's background and knowledge of the area and the people made everything very interesting, great driving by Dina.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our rafting down the Rio Grande River, interacting with the Native Americans, and taking in the sheer beauty of nature. It seems around every bend in the road there was another beautiful vista. Government shut-down caused a small blip on our radar screen but Lolly improvised We had to cut our trip by 2 days because of illness. So sorry!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Sorry to hear that you fell ill on your trip. Hope you are feeling better now.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MOrtiz

Land of enchantement New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Great trip, different experiences, excellent tour guide, driver, bus, hotels and meals.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to several old churches, and to old O'Keeffe house/ranch

review_img

JMejzak

New Mexico Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was well paced, diversified and travelers were treated graciously. I especially liked the dining options, were you truly feel like you are on vacation, not herded into a dull room with the rest of the travelers and offered a forgettable dinner. Receiving your key in a subtle environment rather than a call-out in the lobby-bravo!

Most Memorable Moment:

The vistas at Ghost Ranch and the visit to Taos Pueblo.

review_img

RTitschinger

New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I liked our tour director, Lolly. She had enormous experience and background on New Mexico and was absolutely tops. I regret not buying jewelry at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort. I kept telling myself I would see similar jewelry further down the road on the tour. I like the Zuni style of jewelry and never saw similar jewelry again.

Most Memorable Moment:

At the Ghost Ranch a storm came up and a herd of multicolored sheep ran across a large field at top speed to get to their barn. This was quite a sight. I loved the bus ride at the Ghost Ranch where they took us to see the specific things Georgia O'K. painted and showed us pictures of her actual paintings.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to New Mexico. Lolly is a splendid director. Perhaps you could contact the Tamaya Resort for information on where to purchase some jewelry.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ENg

Sandia Landscape, History, Cultures & The Arts

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Overall a very nice trip. Comprehensive visit - opportunity to see lots of sites & learn about the area & history. However, trip was faster pace than anticipated and tiring because of the high altitude. People (especially seniors) who live at sea level, may have some difficulty adjusting. Small oxygen canister can be purchased at the hotel Spa.

Most Memorable Moment:

Numerous interesting and memorable moments - Tram to Sandia Peak with lunch at the High Finance restaurant, gentle river rafting with a native Pueblo guide, beautiful mountains and rock formations at Ghost Ranch, O’Keeffe Museum, National Museum of Nuclear Science, Southwestern cooking demonstration and lunch at the Santa Fe School of cooking.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience and thank you for your valuable feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BVolpe

New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This tour was fantastic. I loved the combination of seeing the sights,together with the opportunity to learn about Native American culture and the cuisine,arts and crafts of the state, including the art of Georgia O'Keeffe, whose paintings were vividly brought to life during our visit to Ghost Ranch. The food was delicious!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many that it's hard to pick one particular one. However, besides what I said above, we also experienced some "adventure" visiting Bandelier National Monument and going on a gentle float on the Rio Grande. Our tour guide was quite memorable too! She was beyond excellent. This tour had everything!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us and are delighted you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

spiritual,awesome experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This is my fourth Tauck Tour, first one traveling as a single. Lolly was a delightful director, showed a loving compassion for the Pueblo People. Dena was a great coach driver. The whole week was well organized, with the usual special Tauck touches. Still waiting for my handmade moccasins to arrive, Marie and [Employee Name] [Employee Name] gave a presentation.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taos Pueblo...Rio Grande float trip...Bandelier...each day was memorable.

review_img

NM24, new mexico land of enchantment 10/14 - 10/21

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Bus driver great. Bus very uncomfortable-tray tables touch stomach when extended. When person in front tilts seat back, there is no room for me-bad bus design. Tour director too micromanaging. Talked way too much. Too long days. Too much and too rich food. Very tiring trip. Glad when we had free time after trip on our own

Most Memorable Moment:

The entertainment at La Casa Sena cantina in Santa Fe, NM

TAUCK RESPONSE

We thank you for your candid feedback and can assure you that feedback such as yours will be used in making any necessary improvements to our itineraries. I do apologize for any disappointment and hope that we may have the opportunity to host you on a future world discovery to restore your faith in Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Traveler764

Truly a land of enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was my first trip to New Mexico. I could not find anyone who was interested in going so I went alone. I wanted to see the White Sands National Monument, the vast expanse of blue sky and the 'light' that was different from the Northeast...I saw these things and so much more. The tour director was outstanding...as were the participants.

Most Memorable Moment:

At the White Sands National Monument the bus pulled up next to a hill of gypsum which looked just like a hill of snow in the Northeast. What a delight it was to take my shoes and socks off and walk in the gypsum. The sun was brilliant and the temperature was in the mid seventies. It was thrilling.

review_img

travelpro

Fascinating country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Having never seen the state of New Mexico, we were absolutly dazzled by its beauty. The clear beautiful amazingly blue skies, and the vibrant yellow of the cottonwood trees and the deeper mountains were proof that so many artists love New Mexico. The insight into the Indians of the area was extremely valuable. Do take this excellent trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Carlsbad Caverns. Incredible!

review_img

Love 2 travel

New Mexico - Land of Enchantment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This trip was one of the highlight of my life. We had the good fortune to have Lolly as our guide and she must be a treasure for Tauck. She is amazing. Her organizational talents are beyond belief. We, my wife and I, have been most impressed by our first Tauck tour. My only personal hinderness is the expense. I will book Tauck and recommend

Most Memorable Moment:

The outstanding hotels and incredible good food. It was a cultural enrichment and stimulating experience, in particular the time in Santa Fe and the visit to the Taos Pueblo. It would be wonderful to combine this tour with an Opera visit in Santa Fe.

review_img

Travelers

Educational Tour of NM

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We have been in most states, but this was the first time in NM. There is much more history there than we could remember with the ancient cultures. The Tauck Tour Director was a wealth of knowledge and provided a lot more than we expected. Seeing Carlsbad Caverns and Bandelier National Monument were terrific experiences. 5 stars for the Tamaya Hotel

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the visit to Bandelier National Monument. We could have spent the entire day there. The drive through the mountains in that area was spectacular.

review_img

inwaikele

Great New Mexico

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Tour Director Lolli did a great job. She had to scramble when Carlsbad was closed due the flash flood, but she handled it well and she did that during th entire trip. Hotels were first class and food great, though we did eat too much. The special events, museum special tours the reception in El Paso, cooking class, unique.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't think of one over any other, just enjoyed the tour.

review_img

sagamore

Tauck did it again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

From Pick up in El Paso to departure in Albuquerque trip was a constant delight. One of the many spectacular places was Carlsbad Caverns. Impossible to describe, it is a must see for yourself,Sliding down dune in White Sands was a once in a lifetime thing. All the hotel were 5 star and food out of this world. Very enjoyable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of Santa Fe

review_img

wjkurzen

Something for everyone.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Loved every day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking in the mountains ( a side trip we did on our own.) Gorgeous scenery.

review_img

ArtloverJ

Holy Guacamole!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Well, out tour guide was as about as kind and informative as anyone could possibly be. We had long bouts of boring desolate landscape bus miles between our fabulous destinations and tours and she made the miles fly by. Carlsbad Caverns is something that EVERYONE should see in their lifetime. It HAS to be a modern wonder of the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Carlsbad Cavern tour...it is life changing

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I think we love it just for your title alone!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mimacan

Land of Enchanment INDEED !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Amazed by vastness of Carlsbad Caverns, uniqueness of White Sands N. M., Taos Pueblo & Anasazi cliff dwellings. Visit of Roswell Art Museum well worth the stop but too short. Our stay at Inn of the Mountain Gods & at Tamaya Hyatt= delightful experiences. Santa Fe & galleries/museums= insperational. Images of NM will stay with us for many years.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meditative Native American flute music floating all around us while smelling delicious bread baking in a nearby pueblo mud oven at the Tamaya Hyatt near Albuquerque. Enchantment indeed !

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button