TravelerReviews

Southern Charms: Savannah, Hilton Head & Charleston

review_img

brabeth

Andrea the Great!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Our tour had to deal with Hurricane Florence and our tour director was the best!! She lost hours of sleep to ensure that all of her guests had a safe flight home. BIG KUDOS!! Thank you. We really enjoyed the entire itinerary...really loved Beaufort and our guide, Walter. Could you please send me his last name... need to look for his book.

Most Memorable Moment:

I am so glad you enjoyed this trip so much, despite the hurricane. I have forwarded your request on to our Guest Relations Department.

review_img

Steve42447

Picturesque historical Southeast Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The trip is a well organized and structured tour that will keep you busy each day. We were able to see a number of great locations, sights and meet some really great people on the tour. Most of the hotels were nice and the ability to not have to worry about checking in and moving bags was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jekyll Island for the beauty and charm, Savannah for the historical significance and charm and Charleston for the food, historical charm and great final stop on the tour.

review_img

William Powers

The slavery/civil war rationalization tour.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Highlighted by great food and new friends made. Disappointing because of all the apologist/rationalization about slavery and how the south was wrongfully subjected to "the north aggression" when they treated their slaves wonderfully. Not a fan of the mosquitos and gators. Worst was the tour guide who bragged about his slave deeds.

Most Memorable Moment:

Good food, new friends made and interesting historical architecture, albeit created on the backs of slaves. The ongoing reverence for this slave era and denial of the need for its eradication is still lost on many of these folks despite the passing of 153 years since Lee surrendered. This is especially evident in the Savannah and "Mullah" tours.

review_img

PeterBorghesi

First rate

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

My wife and I booked the Charleston/ Savannah tour. Our tour guide and coach driver were excellent. The tour would have been a 5 star rating except for the Victorian hotel at Jekyll. The restaurant service was annoyingly slow and guest room cleanliness was spotty (i.e., dusty furniture, missed housekeeping stops)

Most Memorable Moment:

The plantation tour of Charleston and the historic district of Savannah.

review_img

Linda and Alan

Another fabulous small group Tauck trip !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Lucky you if you get our tour director. She had such a deep, broad knowledge of all the region's history, culture, personalities, etc. and mixed them all with attention to each guest's special interests. Eat at Magnolia's in Charleston. Loved Jekyll Island Club and grounds. Superb trip-

review_img

poppop

Charleston and Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We loved Savannah and wished we could have had another day or two there. Jekell was a surprise as was Hilton Head---didn't really know much about them.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing all the squares in Savannah

review_img

AnneBunton

Independent, yet guided

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

First Tauck trip. I enjoyed the visit to the Sea Islands, and the city stops were a harmonious counterpart. Especially at Hilton Head, I wished there had been another day built in. As it was, there was only part of an afternoon and evening to explore. I liked the dining choices and small group. No nametags! Luxurious accommodations are unusual.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Savannah was so pleasurable and was my favorite. The city is fun, yet small enough to walk around the attractive historic district. We attended a concert at the Savannah theater and rode the water taxi the full length of its route, seeing great views. Good food and a relaxed feeling.

review_img

Claudia Denney

Georgia/South Carolina

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our first Tauck Tour was to the Canadian Rockies and it was wonderful. We said we would never take another trip except with Tauck. Our trip to Georgia and South Carolina was outstanding. Our tour guide and our bus driver were wonderful. It was so beautiful and so much history. We did not want to come home. Our next trip will be with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Honestly, it was all so memorable I can't pick just one moment. We enjoyed the trip from beginning to end. With the exception of the heat and humidity it was a perfect trip and one we will never forget. Tauck takes such good care of their travelers and makes it all so enjoyable. We will never go with any other tour company.

review_img

Jenn

Charleston-Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

In spite of unusually high temperatures and suffocating humidity, the trip was excellent. Jekyll Island is charming and the Club House as well as the houses on the island are quaint and filled with history. Even though we stayed in 4 different hotels, the pace is fine with enough free time to explore as you wish.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour of the Mighty Eight Museum, home of the 108th. The father of our guide was a pilot and then a POW in WWII. The tour of the mansion and grounds at Middleton Place where we saw alligators swimming in a pond. Seeing the antebellum homes in Savannah and Charleston and the horse drawn trolley ride in Beaufort.

review_img

RCW227

Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

informative and interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to 8th air force museum

review_img

Investowiz

Tauck is the Best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Safety first and always led by the kindest, most knowlegeable and professional of tour leaders. Hotels and meals provided are of the highest quality and this tour was no different in that respect from the other Tauck tours we've availed ourselves of. Places visited always interesting and make the trips we take with Tauck so special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to specify just one moment so I will say the overall character of the places and people on this trip was number one. By people I mean those we visited and those who traveled with us. Otherwise, we most enjoyed our stop at the airfare museum which took the place of Fort Pulaski which had been closed by the hurricanes.

review_img

chrismary

Places I always dreamed of visiting

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

My childhood dream of visiting Georgia and South Carolina came to fruition on the Savannah/Charleston Tour. The trip was to celebrate an earlier 70th birthday. Coach very comfortable, Tour Leader and Driver accomplished in their field. Enjoyed the Ken Burns DVDs. Fellow travellers were delightful and really added value to my experience

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the beautiful antebellum properties, Plantations, elegant squares, learning about the American Civil War and the Slave Trade has been an enlightening experience. Hearing about the Old Colonies was especially relevant being one of few Brits on the tour. Food and accommodation were excellent: beds especially comfortable.

review_img

Barbara Fank

First Tauck Trip Disappointing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our trip rating says it all - disappointed; I expected a lot more. Our hotel rooms were lovely, however, hotel staff at all hotels was not accommodating. Brunch at three hotels was below par. We would have liked to have stayed at Hilton Head longer than just a sleep over. Our tour director was indifferent to some of our concerns. I expected better

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting our fellow travelers. Our group was a fun, diverse, and interesting mix of people. Most of our group were repeat customers of Tauck. They did share with us, being new to Tauck, that this tour was not meeting the usual high standards of Tauck.

review_img

RHWSmith

Savannah/Charleston

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

First and foremost was the Tauck Director. Andrea was always pleasant, helpful, very informative and extremely organized. She is an asset to the Tauck organization. I enjoyed both Savannah and Charleston. My favorite was Savannah although the accommodations were better in Charleston. The Mill House staff was exceptional and the hotel great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at the gracious Jekyll Island Resort. We had booked an extra day and that was a plus.

review_img

old49erfan

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

We had such a wonderful trip! We saw so much and enjoyed every minute.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Savannah! The walking tour of the city was wonderful. So much to see! Could have stayed longer- and the food! Wow! Beaufort was just beautiful.

review_img

Carole Kernan

Trip Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This trip was disappointing. I have traveled with Tauck because of the consistent quality relative to all aspects of the tours. I don't know if I will travel again with Tauck again. There were four in our party and all were past Tauck travelers. I believe we all feel the same way. It was less than mediocre in terms of the hotels, itinerary, etc

Most Memorable Moment:

The Plantation. Visitations

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry to hear that this tour was not as expected. I will share your feed back with our Guest Relations department.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ChicagoChris

Exceeded Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

First time on Tauck. Had heard many good things so my expectations were high and you met and exceeded them. Our guide and our driver were so good. Can't imagine they could have done anything else to make our trip better.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one. Probably visiting plantations in Charleston.

review_img

Micimacko

Tauck tours always the best.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This was an excellent overview of a part of the country that is loaded with history. Our tour director dispensed her wealth of knowledge with grace and humor. She was also extraordinarily attentive, thinking of the minutest details to put all of us at ease and peace.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list: boat ride at Charleston, the many sublime meals and a lot more.

review_img

Beverly Haffey

Way above expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This trip was fabulous from start to finish! Each hotel we stayed in was top notch! The restaurants were also wonderful. I can't say enough about our tour director and our bus driver. They made this trip so special. The tour director is a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much about the "South" from her.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many memorable moments but one that stands out is the horse and carriage ride in Beaufort!

review_img

VanaLaningham-Boatman

Savannah/Charleston

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

My husband & I had a fabulous time on our small group tour of Savannah/Charleston despite of hurricane Matthew chasing us out of our extended stay in Charleston. The tour director was so attentive to all & a wealth of information & knowledge. I also would like to recognize the fabulous driver, we felt like we were in excellent hands! THX

Most Memorable Moment:

I am not sure I can pick just one memorable moment but if I had to choose I think it would be the the visit to Fort Pulaski or the Harbor ride out to Fort Sumter & watching the dolphins lead the way!

review_img

Suzanne Adams Cheefus

CS15 - Charleston and Savannah

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The trip, trip director and bus driver(s) were excellent. They knew their stuff and were welcoming and had a wealth of information. The step on guides in the place were terrific as well. I enjoyed Savannah, and Charleston. Actually I enjoyed most everything. The scenary,homes and grounds were absolutely beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had some concerns The welcome reception was too small and did not have enough seats to adequately receive the crowd. Most of us are seniors and we need to sit down. The room at Jekyll Island was not good. It was too small and I was not happy with it. For the price I was expecting a jnr suite, with robes, safe, refrigerator and magnifying mirror

review_img

Terrifern

Southern charm at its very best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This tour is for anyone who appreciates history, architecture, fine dining, regional country food, wonderful 5 star hotels, all centrally located, with fabulous views! I can't say enough about my extraordinary tour director. She is a consummate professional, and is always anticipating any questions. A totally delightful tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

The carriage tour in Beaufort was great. The walking tour in Savannah was very informative, and lovely. Hilton Head hotel is a beautiful resort.

review_img

Goober

Charlestown/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The trip was quite busy. We were up and out early most mornings. The hotels were excellent! If we have a complaint it is that they gave us so much food. It is hard to complain when we were not forced to eat it but we were stuffed most of the time. We had a great bus driver, and a comfortable bus. Our tour director was very knowledgable and

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Jekyll Island. The hotel on Hilton Head was outstanding. Charleston and Savannah were both great! The plantation was wonderful!

review_img

Husker2

outstanding first experience with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

It was great.....loved every moment. So appreciated the Ken Burns videos. Love history & really loved the historic aspects from our guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Charleston & Savannah's walking cities....can't think of a special moment as they all were special!

review_img

HuskerBob

Charleston / Savannah May 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Great trip. Superb TD and driver. Everything taken care of and more. Small group size just right. Beautiful weather along the way. Hotel locations made for short walks to most sites and restaurants.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several moments, including the cities of Savannah/Charleston and Beaufort. Touring Fort Pulaski was very educational.

review_img

J. Hale

Southern Charm

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

The warmth of the southern spring breezes, as well as the warmth of the folks we met and traveled with, made our eighth Tauck trip very memorable. Charleston and Beaufort, S.C. are amazing! And, the food! Fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the horse drawn carriage ride through the quiet,charming streets of Beaufort, S.C. Or, was it the beautiful Middleton Plantation? Who could choose just one?

review_img

Cape Chris

Wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We booked this trip with no expectations other than the fact that we had never been to this part of the country, and knew that Tauck would do it well. What we got was a fun, informative, fantastic view of the area lead by a wonderful guide. Each stop had a charm of its own, and Tauck didn't disappoint. Highly recommended!

Most Memorable Moment:

This is easy - it was our guide and driver. They treated us like kings and queens, there when we needed them (with lots of treats and surprises)and always full of information and knowledge. We had some bus issues, which didn't affect the guests at all, but they worked tirelessly to solve the problems to get us back on track. True gems!

review_img

MargerySheldon

History Lives

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

I like history and there is more history in South Carolina and Georgia than I remembered from American History classes. It's great that there is such an effort by the locals to recreate and preserve exactly how things were well over 200 years ago. Many pre-visit introductions by our guide, and by the tour guides at numerous sites were quite good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Davenport House in Savannah.

review_img

jahernmt

Charleston/Savanah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Thank you for a wonderful tour. The tour director, along with the bus driver, did an excellent job. Every detail was covered. This was our first Tauck tour and first tour. It would be very difficult for another tour company to surpass the "Tauck experience". Thank you again for a very educational and enjoyable experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the whole tour. While we do not have any plans for another tour in the near future we do know that when we do it will be another Tauck tour.

review_img

BeeGee

Excellent Trip from Day One

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

An excellent and enjoyable trip to a lovely part of the United States. We were trip 1 in 2016 and enjoyed cool weather minus the humidity. The tour was arranged logically and our guide and bus driver were thoughtful and pleasant. One hotel, the Hilton DeSoto while nicely located, was dated and dirty and very noisy on the first night.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments on this trip as it was filled with informative and entertaining events. We enjoyed the riding tour of Jekyll Island, the boat ride on Charleston Harbor, both City walking tours, the carriage tour of Beaufort and the two plantation tours on our last day. Overall this was one of our best tours with Tauck.

review_img

bobborka

Fantastic Trip to Savannah & Charleston

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Jekyll Island was beautiful. Savannah was wonderful. Beaufort is a glorious little town. Charleston was everything we expected and a whole lot more. Tauck exceeded every expectation. The trip was run extremely professionally. The restaurants they took us to were all 4 to 5 stars. The accommodations were all 4 hotels. A definite value.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really can't say. There were so many.

review_img

caroleborka

Savannagh/Charleston

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

It was a terrific trip. Well organized and fulfilling. The Tauck Director and driver were excellent and had it all together all the way from beginning to end. Excellent choice of hotels and restaurants.

Most Memorable Moment:

I didn't have one particular moment, but it was all very memorable.

review_img

willow

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

The whole experience was wonderful. Our guide was fantastic. Her knowledge of people places, events, dates, etc. was exceptional.Took good care of us. the hotel in Savannah left much to be desired. Not very clean. Prior to the trip, and traveling as a single, I was not pleased to learn I had two days of lunches and dinners on my own.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from my room at Hilton Head

review_img

Leenie

A trip I'll never forget.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

My niece and I have talked about taking this trip for a very long time. Well as my Christmas present she presented me with the travel book opened to the page of Charleston/Savannah. The day finally arrived for our departure, we both had high expectations and let me just say, we were not disappointed. The tour exceed our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to choose just one memorable moment! The whole trip was memorable. From the moment we arrived at the Jekyll Island Club to the day we departed Charleston this is one Tauck Tour I will never forget. The Southern hospitality, my fellow tour mates, the food, but most importantly the our Director and motor coach driver who made the trip an unforgettable one!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you were able to share such a magnificent trip together! We always strive to exceed or guests expectations! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

margge taylor

Marvelous trip...company great, food wonderful and the Tauck twosome beyond the Moon!..!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Upon arriving (two days early) all necessary paperwork was in order and suggestions for dinner places were included. Things only got better when meeting our Tour Director at our first night" get together." Our group was great for being on time so we never missed or were late to an event. This makes nine(9)wonderful trips & they only get better!

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning how much history I missed in my younger school days. The Ken Burns CD's were most informative as we traveled through the countryside where rice was King & women, black or white were considered property.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for travelling with Tauck! We are proud of our partnership with Ken Burns and enjoy sharing his CDs with our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jake1055

Good trip for Mom

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We took my 90+ yr old mom; she had a good time. She is a good walker-not too many stairs or long walks. My wife and I, 55+, could have done with less sight seeing on the motor coach and more on foot but this was not the design of the tour. The trip covered the key sights and the food, fellow travelers, guide, and driver were all great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our Pedicab ride to the Olde Pink House restaurant in Savannah for a great meal and then the evening show at the Savannah Theater.

review_img

Migellen

Tauck thinks of everything!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

This was a "First Class" trip in every respect! Our tour director was so well organized, thinking of ways to make our trip memorable with little things I hadn't even thought of! The accommodations were lovely and convenient, within walking distance of everything; the food was "over-the-top"; the chosen sights were the very best.

Most Memorable Moment:

There is no way to pick just one! There was no one place we visited, restaurant we dined in, or hotel we stayed in that I could pick as most memorable. I would say, however, it was great to meet new "close" friends, not to be forgotten; perhaps we will plan to meet again on another tour!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time on our Charleston and Savannah journey! Thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jorgensen

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

It was a wonderful trip in every way. Our guide was outstanding! I would recommend this experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many special moments to select just one.

review_img

Carl07

Charleston to Savannah Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Andrea led us through the 4 locations – always with the style and comfort, and the respect of personal preferences we have come to know with Tauck. Andrea kept finding ways to exceed our already high expectations. We were treated to wonderful and informative destinations, excellent accommodations, and spectacular dining.

Most Memorable Moment:

As we were relaxing and traveling on the coach; we were invited to watch Ken Burns’s videos. Three of his videos were most memorable: 1 - The Jefferson Paradox (all men are created equal, except slaves), 2 - Charleston (the indisputable reason for the Civil War), and 3 - The Ballou Letter (an unforgettable Civil War love letter).

review_img

Terry Myrrdin

Tauck Delivers!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The Savannah to Charleston tour gave us everything we hoped for and more. Our Tauck tour director was a walking encyclopedia of colonial, American Revolution and Civil War history for the area - her renditions were stage-worthy! I can't say enough about how stellar every step of the trip was. All I can say is you should go!

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything was perfect - hard to pick one specific moment or site or attribute of the tour.

review_img

synet165

charleston Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Andrea and Ray were great. I walk with a cane and they helped me. I wish that Tauck had mentioned tremendous number of steps. Jekyll island club was hard for me, had to climb stairs everywhere. Great organization on trip, excellent coach.

Most Memorable Moment:

Beaufort, got to see authentic southern town. Charleston very interesting. In Savannah took free DOT bus saw real city where people live.

review_img

flm458

charleston/savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We enjoyed our trip very much. This was our first Tauck tour and was very happy with almost everything. The one thing was the boat ride we took in Charleston. We got wind blown and then had a special dinner afterwards. It would of been better if we did the boat trip when we didn't have a special dinner. OVerall great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed Jekell Island and Hilton Head.

review_img

Sam Ricks

Charleston/Savannah Sept 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We enjoyed the trip very much. Andrea was a great tour guide and Ray was a magician as a bus driver. The hotels were excellent and the food was great, although there was a bit too much of it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really enjoyed Drayton Hall and Fort Pulaski

review_img

mcbear

Loved the South

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our guide and driver were both wonderful. The local guides were, for the most part, very informative and knowledgeable. We particularly liked Savannah and would have liked to spend more time in Hilton Head (as golfers). The only issue was too much packing and unpacking. We would recommend spring instead of fall to avoid some humidity.

Most Memorable Moment:

There is no one memorable moment. The food was amazing, but too much fried food.

review_img

Texas OT

Charming

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This was my 7th Tauck tour as a solo traveler. Everything was so beautiful. I was enchanted by the huge oak trees, the blooming magnolias, and the moss swaying to and fro with the wind. Middleton Place gardens were absolutely beautiful. This was a great trip! Andrea, our tour guide was exceptional!! Nice job, Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning about how many movies have been filmed throughout the area. Seeing the Forrest Gump movie prop bench. Walking through Middleton Place gardens!

review_img

AZ People

Great way to see the South

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Everything was first-class and there were several "unexpected" events that were fun, too.

Most Memorable Moment:

The horse and carriage ride in Beaufort touring the old mansions was very fun. The guide knew everything!

review_img

WCarey

Charleston/Savanah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

It was a memorable trip of the deep south. All the stops are the trip were really interesting. Our tour director and driver were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Patriots Point in Charleston!!!It was a complete surprise. I am a navy veteran and appreciated the opportunity to see three different types of ships in one location. I would suggest that the tour director make a special point of this attraction especially to veterans who served in the armed forces. (Navy veteran or air force veteran)

review_img

bonniejusa

Tauck Tours showed the South as it should be remembered

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

From the airport in Jacksonville to Jekyll Island, and then on to Savannah, Hilton Head Island, Beaufort, and Charleston, this trip was wonderful! I saw places and learned things I never knew about before. The beautiful buildings, the amazing people, the delicious meals, the excellent hotels! I cannot say enough. Thank you for such a memorable time

review_img

Sweeneygirl

Good Tour, Good Food, Good wine, Good friends Made

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

My husband and I are in our late 40's and wondered what the age group of the trip might be. We were a few decades younger than most. However, we met some very like minded fun people, & age was never an issue. The trip was fast paced, informative, fun & perfectly orchestrated. The accommodations were top notch, and the food and wine never stopped

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring Savannah and Charleston on our own was heightened due to the knowledge we learned from our tour guide before our free time. Provided lots of tips and great ideas. Balance of group tour time and free time was well managed.

review_img

Winchester

Charleston / Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Lovely trip with wonderful people! Loved Jekyll Is., Savannah, Beaufort & Hilton Head. Disappointed there was little or no public trans. in Savannah/Charleston. Had to walk everywhere or use Peddy cab/taxis. Got expensive. Food was wonderful. Reccommend you don't waste time seeing Aunt Perlie Sue, was mostly nonsense w/'lil info on gullah culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't say there was just 1. The tour & the people we were with were wonderful, as were our guide & driver. Would have loved to have spent an extra night at Jekyll Is. & less in Charleston as the island is so pristine & relaxing. Also the gardens @ Middleton were astounding.

review_img

nsbalbo

Nothing Better Than A Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

We were wined, dined and taken care of for the entire week. The agenda on the Charleston/Savannah tour is extensive. In a short time, we saw many sites along the Southeast Coast. Our Tour Director was great, told many historical stories, and was very knowledgable about the area.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable highlight was touring the old mansions. The guides in all the homes were very dedicated and very informative. At the recommendation of our Tour Director, we went to the Savannah Theatre. That was fabulous. We even followed her advice and had a banana split in Beaufort. Great ice cream. The food was memorable all week!

review_img

RConetta

Our 9th Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

I loved seeing this part of USA. Could see and feel what the Civil War meant to this part of the South. Tour guide, Andrea, put it all together so well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the back, narrow and hot spiral staircase the slaves had to use at Drayton Hall. Makes you think.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your helpful comments and glad you enjoyed your trip. We hope to see you for #10!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jmtsamsofarre

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Our trip was wonderful. After the magnificent Canadian Rockies last year, we approached this journey cautiously, but the 400 year-old live oaks draped with Spanish moss and the multi-colored azaleas in bloom everywhere provided equally memorable sights. Tauck again chose excellent accommodations, great restaurants, and enlightening excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of Savannah from Ray personally maneuvering the streets, instead of a local carriage, to Andrea guiding us to an extra evening musical which we would not have known about. The icing on the cake was the Davenport House reception with my nostalgia trip imbibing Madeira Rainwater, my first since a date at the Lord Jeffrey Amherst (MA) in 1967.

review_img

Dolo

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

This was my first Tauck tour to the old South. We arrived in Jacksonville on April 3 and hit the peak time in Georgia and SCfor the beautiful Azaleas and dogwood. Andrea was our guide and she was outstanding and took care of every detail to make the trip most enjoyable. Ray was our driver and he did an amazing job.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all good.....I'd have to think about it more to isolate a moment...

review_img

mamima

Savannah / Charleston Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Our Director Andrea put the tour at the top of a ten on the Richter scale for enjoyment. Her organizational skills, kindness and efficiency in tending to us were beyond what one would expect. Andrea is very knowledgeable on the history about where we visited and was very willing to share her expertise,stories and love for the places.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed Jekyll Island in Georgia and the Middleton Plantation in Charleston. It was a real educational experience giving me a deeper appreciation for the South. I saw and experienced things in depth which I had no awareness of their previous existence . “This trip was worth every penny I spent and more”. Fantastic trip!!!!

review_img

Karen and Gery

SOUTHERN SPRING

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our March Charleston/Savannah tour. Our guide, Andrea, was knowledgable and outstanding in every way. Bus driver, Ray, was attentive and kept the bus spotless. Accommodations - top notch and convenient. Provided meals were tasty and abundant (perhaps too abundant) and reflected local cuisine. Ample free time. Great Tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

The profusion of color presented by all the blooming trees and flowers set against backdrops of plantations, city squares, 200 year-old homes, and various parks was stunningly beautiful. Oohs, aahs and ohs were frequently heard as we motored and walked along our tour. Scene after scene might have been a spectacular painting!

review_img

bugman1203

Savannah/Charleston

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Its hard to begin. This was a great tour since there was never long periods on the bus and we were always doing something or going some place. Plus there was ample free time to do things on you your own in Charleston and Savannah. Our tour Director Andrea has extensive knowledge of Charleston/Savannah.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour of the plantations/gardens of Drayton Hall.

review_img

LSatkowski

Charleston/Savannah Tour March 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Wonderful week touring the South. Educational as well as relaxing. Everything was planned so well, meals were delicious and presented beautifully, pace was just right. Our guide, Andrea, and our bus driver, Ray, could not have been better. Knowledgeable, courteous, friendly, and fun to be with.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many memorable moments--The beauty of Jeckyll Island, the view from our hotel room on Hilton Head and walking along the beach, the beauty of the plantations in Charleston, and the wonderful historic districts in both Charleston and Savannah.

review_img

DBrowning

Charleston/ Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Great trip, spectacular sights, great history lessons,smooth transitions from place to place. Andrea our tour guide was professional, knowledgeable and warm, Ray our driver was excellent and so kind. It was easy to connect with the other travelers. We hope to meet up with some of them another time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Savannah, with its beautiful architecture and parks it was so lovely to be able stroll down the streets one almost felt like you were thrown back in time.

review_img

Traveler764

most organized trip yet...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

While this was my first visit to Georgia and South Carolina and there was much to see and learn, what impressed me the most was the way Andrea conducted the trip. Hands down she was the most organized of any Tour Director I've experienced and I've had really great ones...this was trip number 3 with Tauck. It was a most enjoyable venture.

Most Memorable Moment:

I am a Master Gardener so I would have to say that viewing all the gardens were memorable moments for me. Even though I was never a girl scout, learning about the foundress was an informative moment...the catered luncheon at the Middleton Plantation was a delicious memorable moment. I took 198 photos of memorable moments.

review_img

stiles clan

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Jan was a wonderful tour guide - very sweet person to be around. Enjoyed the entire trip. The people we met were some of the nicest we have encountered on Tauck tours to date. Mills House Hotel was our least favorite- convenient but average rooms with construction noise during the day. Hilton in Savannah was the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Savannah - better than Charleston. Mighty Eighth Museum was awesome. Make it a permanent part of the tour in future. Drayton Hall and Beaufort with carriage tour of homes were also among the best. In general, there was nothing that we disliked. We are already looking at Tauck Tours for 2014. We need to retire so we can travel more often.

review_img

swrkroll

Charleston / Savannah trip was exceptional

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We had the opportunity to visit and tour the two major cities on the tour plus Hilron Head, other stops on the way and had an exceptionally good time. As always, the restaurants selected by Tauck were top rate. Tour director was outstanding in knowledge and relating to the group. Most hotels also great. Bus exceptional as was Ray, the driver.

Most Memorable Moment:

All good except last hotel- Mills in Charlestown. Adverse comments: Insufficient supply of newspapers at front desk and not delivered to door; refusal to cash travelers checks at desk; too small bathrooms; bathroom doors close to floor preventing closing without remloving bathmats. Most of these things could be addressed to eliminate annoyance.

review_img

Jane O'Hara

Savannah/Charleston superb

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

An absolutely superb trip...Andrea, our wonderful guide, shared her vast knowledge of this area's incredible history and brought it to life. All the sites were so worth seeing. And, as usual, Tauck's hotels and restaurants were outstanding. I loved every moment of this trip and didn't want it to end!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our walking tour of historic Charleston was incredible, as was the carriage ride in Beaufort. It is hard to choose only one memorable moment from a trip that was filled with great moments!

review_img

rhenigin

Love the South

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Everything about this trip was memorable. We entered historic homes of the wealthy on Jekyll Island and in Savannah and Charleston. Everywhere we went we were warmly received. Beaufort was charming. Charleston museums, food, and people made our trip memorable. Our fellow travelers provided great conversation!

Most Memorable Moment:

The carriage ride in Beaufort.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

algebraprof

Southern Charm

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Our first trip to the low-country of the Old South was another memorable experience. Once again, Tauck provided just the right blend of guided activities while allowing us to explore during our free time. The hotels were charming and located in the middle of the historic districts of Savannah and Charleston, & the meals provided were delightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jekyll Island was extraordinary. The spanish moss hanging from the oak trees was breathtaking at night. Aunt Pearlie Sue was hilarious telling Gullah stories. Andrea, the tour director and Ray, the driver were so warm and professional. Everything you come to expect when traveling with Tauck. The plantations were exceptionally beautiful.

review_img

kingband

Southern Hospitality

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Each city/island was unique in its own way. The Georgia Sea Turtle Center on Jekyll Island is a must see. Savannah--Beautiful parks and gardens. Hilton Head--Gorgeous beach. Beaufort, S.C.--Carriage ride. Charleston--Fort Sumter and the South Carolina Aquarium, plus many beautiful homes and plantations. Friendly people, great food!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on the beach on Hilton Head and being a participant in Aunt Perlie Sue's show. Charleston--Going to the museum at the Old Slave Trade Mart, fun times riding the "free" trolley and the tour of the Nathaniel Russell house (beautiful spiral staircase).

review_img

touring grandma

Great History Lessons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

We totally enjoyed our tour of Charleston and Savannah. Even though it was a large group; 43, we never felt crowded. Other than the Coach rides we were put in smaller groups for touring and dining. Our tour director, Andrea, was fluent in The Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, and the War between the States.The scenery beautiful,Cities charming!

Most Memorable Moment:

Not waiting in line to check into our hotels! Seeing statues and monuments and understanding who they were honoring and why. Horse drawn carriage ride through Beaufort residential neighborhood.

review_img

artysjan

Savannah to Charleston: Unbelievably beautiful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

From the moment we arrived at our first destination (Jekyll Island), the hospitality of our guide was Superb. We loved having our luggage waiting for us IN OUR ROOM at each hotel upon our arrival. Andrea was knowledgeable about the subject matter of each of the locations we visited. Savannah and Charleston were magnificent travel destinations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flowers were in full bloom (Springtime). We were given enough time in Savannah and Charleston to walk the city on our own in the afternoon. The entire vacation was memorable!!!!!!

review_img

valery Moorhead

Southern Charm

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

This was a terrific trip with nearly perfect weather. Both Savannah and Charleston are cities that provide the visitor with beauty, culture, history, Southern cuisine, music, and art. A regular potpourri for the senses. Our tour came at the height of the azalea season which provided a magnificent backdrop for the cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved Savannah's historical squares. All perfect miniature parks!

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful time and thanks for sharing!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

baltic

Beautiful Historic Region.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

I think this trip should be taken in the spring when the amazing gardens enhance the beauty of this historic area. This is the best of the antebellum South. Add wonderful regional cooking and you have a great holiday. Read about this area before you go. Read the history. Read novels like Midnight In The Garden Of Good And Evil. A unique trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved walking the garden areas of Savannah.

review_img

jjjjjjan@aol.com

charleston/savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

The trip was very well planned with activities and enough free time to regroup. Our guide, Andrea, was so knowledgeable. The sites were great and there was enough diversity to make it a great trip. The food and accommodations were wonderful. Ray, our driver, kept us safe and on time. Getting to meet people from all over the US was an added bonus.

Most Memorable Moment:

My favorite place was Drayton Hall.

review_img

adrum

the wonderful historic south

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Beautiful, relaxing, historically informative not to mention the extremely organized tour director who can put life in to her historic commentaries. Would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to learn more about our American history in a way not taught in our schools today.

Most Memorable Moment:

when we boarded out tour coach to find a DVD in each of our seats with pictures of places visited and photos of our tour mates to keep this tour alive in our memories when sharing our trip with others.

review_img

Penguini

What a memorable trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We learned so many things, saw so many beautiful historical houses, and ate such good food. Every detail was well organized so our trip went very smoothly. It couldn't have happened without our awesome Tour Director, Andrea. I don't think I could ever go with another tour company again!

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was our warm welcome at the Mills House Hotel in Charleston. The staff lined up at the door and greeted us with bubbles, chocolate, champagne, and strawberries. I've never been at a hotel where they were so happy to see us!

review_img

soho

immerse yourself in the highlights of the South

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This tour left me feeling like I had seen and experienced what the South had to offer.The pace was appropriate and never rushed. Plenty of time to explore on your own.Hotel locations and accommodations made getting around on your owna safe and easy.As always, tour director and coach driver were top notch.Dining surpassed my expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had the sweetest room at The Mills hotel. Because we enjoyed a few days there, I felt so at home I began to think of it as my own.Hotel staff went out of their way to assist with directions and make sure your needs were addressed.Loved Charleston. I'll do this again.

review_img

Norman S. Miller

Another wonderful Tauck vacation.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This was our 7th Tauck trip, & all the reviews seem to be the same. The tour guides are very professional, informative, and anxious to please. We stay at excellent hotels, eat too well & in general have a great time. Unfortunately I had some physical problems on the trip, & both Andrea & Ray went out of their way to help.

Most Memorable Moment:

Charleston home tours.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry you experienced some difficulties during your trip, but glad we were able to help. Hope you are feeling better; We'd love to see you again for trip #8!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cleanth

charleston/savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

do not miss this trip- history of the civil war and the south was well presented by guides with additional stories not found in guide books. Could have used more time in Beaufort,Savannah,Hilton head and Jekyll Island-Do Not Miss the restaurant Slightly North of Broad in Charleston for dinner. Food is superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

everyone was friendly and on time

review_img

Aussie mate

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Well the tour would not have been 1st class without our wonderful tour director Andrea, not only her guidance, but her professionalism in her job. I t was a well balanced tour not rushed, the accommodation was excellent and the food was also good. Sight seeing and the historical buildings and places are worth seeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day spent on Hilton Island was very pleasant, but, Jekyel Island was great, anyone going on this tour should go a day or two early, great place to unwind ready for the tour to begin.

review_img

ArnoldWasserman

Savannah & Charlestown Trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

It entire was very wonderful. Our guide, Andrea, was extremely well informed and did an excellent job in conveying the information and caring for the group. The stop at Jeckle Island was most interesting and enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stay at Jeckle Island was most enjoyable.

review_img

Linnea

There really is a Low Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

This is a trip to do more than once! Each venue is better than the next as you progress to Charleston. The drives along the marshes let you see why the name low country and feel the difference from any other place. The hotels are wonderful and located in just the right place to walk. The stop at Hilton Head is a welcome change of pace. Loved it

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through Charleston's historic streets is one thing I will always remember. The houses are so different from any others I have visited. This is a beautiful OLD city.

review_img

lak1966

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

The very knowledgable tour guide paired with a super bus driver made our trip one of our best get-aways! The historical information and special tours, i.e., horse-drawn carriage,cruise,and plantations visits went beyond our expectations. We ended each day with superb food and fine lodging which makes us say "thank you" Tauck Tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was Ft. Pulaski anniversay ceramony to honor the soldiers of the Civil War. The farewell reception and dinner was touching as we said our farewells, especially to our wonderful tour guide.

review_img

Limogi

Charleston/Savanna

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Very good Tour Director. Best I ever had. Nice, small traveler group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck director Andrea, her knowledge and her engagement

review_img

TNewfield

Charleston/Savannah

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2011

As usual for Tauck, there was great attention to detail which made for a seamless vacation! There was a great balance of scheduled and free time. We were even able to go to a restaurant of our choosing. The tour director was personable and very responsive to the group. Very enjoyable trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Trip was filled with many memorable moments. Hard to choose one.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Newfield, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad you ennjoyed your journey. Best regards, Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button