TravelerReviews

Hidden Gems of New England

review_img

Sherry Underwood

Wonderful memories

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We just returned from the trip to Hidden Gems of New England and had a really good time. Every day was exciting and would have been better enjoyed only by having better weather. It rained three days! The weather was warm and windy in Boston, but got cooler as we traveled to Vermont.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several memorable moments on the trip, but things that stand out in my memory was the Fenway Park Tour, touring Mark Twain's home and staying at the Mount Washington Resort in New Hampshire. We had very knowledgeable tour guides which made it interesting.

review_img

Rick Bush

Best trip ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our Tour Director made this trip a perfect 10. She was knowledgeable, entertaining and very well organized. The unadvertised additional “surprises” each day were really nice. I would recommend this trip to any and all.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ken Burns studio and hostess

review_img

Beanso

A Unique View of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our trip was perfect in every way. Flights on time. Weather (for the most part) was perfect, in fact warm. Our tour director and driver were the very best. They were informative, knowledgeable, fun, and interested in us as well as helpful. The places we visited were ones I would never have experienced had I been traveling on my own.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but seeing the fall colors in the mountains was just spectacular.

review_img

pigfarmer

Fine pace and places to visit.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

I liked all of the places we stayed except for the last night in Maine. The hotel was just not well designed, hallways were difficult to comprehend and too many became confused. The food was marginal and I would suggest Tauck not continue there. None of the 15 in the group liked it at all and they all liked the other hotels.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments regarding the last hotel to our Operations Team as they are always looking to enhance our journeys based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BettyKing

Hidden Gems Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a great trip! Weather was much warmer than we planned for but that was good. Tour Director and bus driver were great. Very knowledgeable. Only negative was the food and service at Jackson Gore Inn. The rooms there were wonderful but not so with the food. All in all, we had a wonderful adventure!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Fenway Park and tour of Mark Twains home.

review_img

Doug McDonald

Fall Foliage at its Best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

We had an outstanding experience on this trip. It's been a long-time wish to visit New England during the Fall for the colors, and we were thrilled to be there at just the right time. So different from Northern California! Our tour group was very congenial and our tour leader and driver made sure we were we'll taken care of. Great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the visit to the farm and walking around the small towns. The visit to Ken Burn's studio was also a highlight and good memory.

review_img

Joe Kno

Gems of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Judy and myself absolutely loved this tour !!! We saw so much beauty and the professional staff of Tauck was impeccable

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing all the wonderful color in the New England states we traveled

review_img

Jackdog7

Gems of New England is truly that...a real gem!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

What we liked about our small group trip to New England was that Tauck takes us places that we would never think to go ourselves, and in many cases could not go ourselves, and with the small group we are able to meet and get to know everyone on the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to describe just one memorable moment. I liked the personal tour of Fenway Park, the sugar house, the Mark Twain home, and the informative commentary provided by our tour director. And the interaction with the other guests, mostly at mealtime was wonderful.

review_img

redraider1976

Hidden Gems of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was our third Tauck tour. It was just like our first two, outstanding in all respects. We experienced amazing scenery throughout the trip, large quantities of delicious food every day, and luxury accommodations. Looking forward to our fourth Tauck tour in May 2016 to California.

Most Memorable Moment:

Fenway Park in Boston

review_img

zorpep

great new england

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

we had gorgeous fall foliage great leader Gloria wonderful hotels food and itinerary can't wait for my next tauck tour japan in may

Most Memorable Moment:

all the beautiful colors on the trees covered bridges

review_img

Houston

Hidden Gens of New England/ Ken Burns

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We had a wonderful trip. The colors were spectacular and the weather was great. It was very exciting to be able to go into Ken Burns Studio and listen to some of the folks that work there. I don't think I have ever seen so many computers in one house. This is our 32 trip with Tauck and we love it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The jaw-dropping colors and the visit to Ken Burns studio

review_img

Bluegrass Friend

Hidden Gems of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Great mix of history, cultural, and local experiences in New England. Leaves at peak in second week in Oct in most places. Great hotels and great food. Ken Burns' connection adds so much to overall enjoyment with short films shown on bus that add to history and culture of areas visited. Adds to fine commentary by Gloria, our tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose. Enjoyed Mark Twain home, tour of Fenway Park, the visit to the Billings Farm a surprising delight. Take extra day in Boston. So much to see. Ken Burns' connection raises the bar. Great asset. Fourth trip to New England. Love area and people.

review_img

hhiebler

Everything on This Trip is a Hidden Gem

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was an absolutely amazing trip. It was our first experience with Tauck, and being seasoned travelers, I'll admit we were a bit skeptical about the cost compared to similar tours. But Tauck was worth every penny. The entire trip was an incredible experience from start to finish.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many it's hard to pinpoint just one, but the visit to Ken Burns' studio was a once in a lifetime exclusive. The entire trip was educational, fun and enlightening. Bill Seures, our Tour Director was a gem.

review_img

AlanS

No longer Hidden Gems

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Great mix of N.E. hist, people and scenery, some previously "hidden" to us. Superb local guides! Fall foliage colors varied, many areas at peak. Meals good, Cliff House lobster- fantastic! With the demise of the Old Man of the Mountain, Franconia Notch has lost its appeal. Canterbury is OK if you haven't seen a Shaker village, it's not a Hancock

Most Memorable Moment:

#1 by far- Twain House tour. The Events Coordinator filled in as our group's guide- his incredible knowledge and passion for Clemens put him at the top of our guide list. #2 Ken Burn's studio and presentation by a producer. #3- Saint-Gaudens' home and ranger/guide. Though we are not big baseball fans, Fenway Park and our excellent guide were #4.

review_img

david peat

Hidden Gems of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We have been on a Tauck tour through New England before, but were interested in this tour because it was going to Mark Twain's home in Hartford as well as Harriet Beecher Stows home. We also were interested in seeing Ken Burn's studio in Walpole N.H. This was a highlight of the trip. The Fenway Park tour and the foodie tour were great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Boston portion of the tour was most memorable for me

review_img

Trisha N

Hidden Gems of New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Except for the rain, I had a great time. I loved all the history and of course the leaves were at their peak.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was the tour of Fenway Park

review_img

jwegmann

New England Gems

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our tour guide was wonderful, as was the driver. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The trip was flawless and everything went smoothly.We've never been on a tour before, but would never use anyone but Tauck.

review_img

RHoke

Autumn in New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Driving through the New England countryside with the beautiful fall foliage was a lovely experience. Our tour director & driver treated us to several "roads less traveled" giving us views that most people don't witness. We enjoyed visiting many small towns with their beautiful churches, town squares, a covered bridge. The resorts were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had several: Meeting Ken Burns at his studio in Walpole. Walking & tasting tour in Boston. Tour of Fenway Park

review_img

RMalling

Oh, the places you'll see!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This well planned itinerary has taken the best hidden gems of the great New England and packed them into a picturesque tour! The autumn scenery is spectacular, and the gems you will see are real treasures.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opportunity to visit the "hidden" studio of Ken Burns was a once in a lifetime and unforgettable experience!!

review_img

Richard Hansen

Hidden Gems were Great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Ken Burns' reputation for high class educational efforts led us to Hidden Gems of New England, and the tour exceeded our expectations. Our Director made good use of the bus rides to enrich the experience by sharing her native knowledge of New England geography and history. The meals were extraordinary and the lodging top-notch. We want more!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Ken Burns' studio and learning about how they produce their superb documentaries and seeing a preview of what's on tap for the future.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pamwms

Been wanting to do this one for a long time.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was a great trip. The New England states were absolutely beautiful with some great stops along the way. Our only disappointment was with a couple of hotels that were not up to the usual Tauck standard; one being the Portsmouth Sheridan. The rooms were dirty, one chair had a rip in the arm and there was mold on the walls.

Most Memorable Moment:

Billings Farm and the town of Woodstock were two of our favorites on this tour. But there were many others that we really enjoyed, including the Salem luncheon. That location was fascinating.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments and for bringing the hotel issues to our attention; We will address them with the hotel manager immediately. We are also glad however, that you stil enjoyed your trip overall and we hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AB/LB

Wonderful Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We loved the off the beaten track side trips and the great people we met from all over the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Hawk with 8 other people at our table, loved seeing Darthmouth College, the bits of information that our tour guide gave us. The lunch money that was handed out was a joke because the tour did include lunch, but like going on our own for lunch. Loved Vermont Maple syrup place and Norman Rockwell Museum. Luggage handling-great.

review_img

horst31

New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We had a great group and we enjoyed Tour director Bill again. We had him in New Orleans for JAZZ and I would have given him an 8 there, but he did not do much talking there as most was done by local guides. On this tour I give him a 10+++. He is phantastic in sharing his knowledge with so much humor. We hope to see him again

Most Memorable Moment:

The lobster boat trip and the visit to Ken Burns

review_img

jomofl

Beautiful New England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We really enjoyed out trip. It was go, go, go, but we learned a lot, saw a lot, ate delicous food, met new friends and experienced wonderful service. Everything was organized and flowed so smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

The georgeous scenery and color in the mountains.

review_img

PBirnbaum

Our Classic New England tour in 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Our tour guide Denise and driver Kevin were very knowledgeable and courteous, as we expected. On the nature walk in Vermont, Denise found one turned leaf which she had promised us! Also in Vermont, we had hung our towels on the shower curtain bar, only to find the whole thing came down. We fixed it-- but it was like being at summer camp again!

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed walking the streets of Portland, Maine, and receiving the card with Longfellow's poem, "My Lost Youth" on it. It was also fun being out on the lobster boat, even if all the lobsters were too small, and had to be tossed back! Another highlight was visiting Ken Burns's studio in New Hampshire. Although Mr. Burns wasn't there, we got a tour.

review_img

PG SENIOR

FIRST TAUCK TOUR

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was taken in 2012 in June. Wonderful trip. We loved Boston and all the history of Concord and Lexington. Food and hotels were very enjoyable. We saw many things as we traveled through N.H. and Vermont and back to Boston.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking along Commonwealth Mall on our free time and Minute Man Historical Park - brought history to life.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button