TravelerReviews

Alaska's Inside Passage – Northbound

review_img

TRAVELLER10

ALASKA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

It was a wonderful trip on a beautiful ship. The Alaskan scenery was amazing. Our guides were terrific!

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the Zodiac to the glacier was something I will never forget.

review_img

bensil1

Greatest U S Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our visit to Alaska was something to behold. Tauck trips are always great, but this one was even better. We saw wales, bears, glaciers and forests. Stayed over in Vancouver for an extra night.

review_img

SandJ

Good but limitted

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The Alaska trip was good but didn't have the breadth of experiences that you usually get on a Tauck tour. This was partly because the itinerary is set by Ponant and being on a ship limits the amount of time you can spend in one place. As usual, the tour directors were great. Met a lot of nice people. Beautiful scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Glaciers were the best on the Zodiaks. The White Pass train trip was fun and scenic. We also came upon a pod of whales while on the ship, which was exciting to see and hear although they were too far away to get clear pictures. Saw a lot of eagles but no bears. Got a good feel for what it is like living in this part of Alaska and its' history.

review_img

DonV

Inside Passage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Itinerary was varied and focused on the natural beauty of Alaskan scenery, wildlife, and culture. Appreciated the efforts of the Captain to provide whale viewings. The Tauck tour directors provided additional sightseeing opportunities. Extremely disappointed in the Baranof Hotel extension. The cleanliness and upkeep of our room was lacking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Unscheduled zodiac trip to face of glacier.

review_img

Melvin Johnson

Cruising the Inward Alaska Passage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Post tour in Vancouver. Great with a hired tour/car guide. (would not have seen Vancouver w/o the Tauck Tour. Great cruising in the small ship with limited passengers. Only 79 Tauck passengers. Best tour directors ever. It got better as we went north. Glaziers floating and great shore scenes. Added tour(s) in Juneau.

Most Memorable Moment:

Zodiac rafting in Haines near the huge glaziers. River rafting in shallow waters, wet and rainy and cold. Wouldn't do it again but glad we did. Rain forest in Juneau. Juneau is really a nice city. Skagway was interesting in many ways. Time on the ship - dining, entertainment and certain free booze. Making friends from other states.

review_img

johntobin

An acquaintance asked me "what's there?"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The ship: the ship itself is part of the experience—ambience, great food and the ability to navigate tight spaces like the Wrangell Narrows. Wildlife: a bear, lots of whales close to the ship, pinnipeds, sea birds and bald eagles as plentiful as city pigeons. Magnificent scenery. People: Alaskans love living there and talking about it

Most Memorable Moment:

Zodiac excursion to the Dawes Glacier and the White Pass railroad trip. I enjoyed the day at sea traveling from Vancouver to Ketchikan. Also, it struck me how empty it is, truly wilderness.

review_img

Gwenhmon

Alaska Inside Passage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

I'm glad this was my second trip,with Tauck or else I might have been rather disappointed in Tauck. Got off to a bad start with a limo driver; long drawn out boarding process; strange to be traveling with non-Tauck passengers; all announcements in French first; precieved that the French passengers took priority. But...

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything else was first class Tauck. Directors great. Captain awesome. He gave us a wonderful Zodiac tour of the glacier and ice bergs. The best was visiting the tlight villages and being allowed into their world. Awesome tour with Tauck. Thank you

review_img

PeterGMS

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Great time So much to see! Tauck is the Best. All the little difficulties are seen to and overcome by Tauck. Our tour guides were super and the naturalist who accompanied us enhanced the trip immensely. All the land excursions were led by interesting and knowledgeable guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going in the Zodiac from the back of l'Austral to the Dawes glacier. And the Tracy Arm was mind-blowing. Another moment was when we encountered a pod of humpback whales.

review_img

Law

Tauck Itenery and Tauck Directors Shine Again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

L'Austral Captain and Crew were excellent, they where friendly and worked hard to please. Captain went the extra mile to please us, putting Zodiacs in the water S-o we Could get closer to the Glacia's edge. He Also took us thru Wrangels Narrows so we can view up Close the land on Both port and starboard, this is not normally done by a tour boat.

Most Memorable Moment:

The views, the 18 hours of light, the wildlife, riverrafting and the interesting towns that we stopped at. The Tauck Directors where Wonderful and always available . The Naturalist is Taucks answer to Rick Steeves, he was excellent and very personable. The three of them where a compliment to Taucks efforts, thank You.

review_img

JRW84

Alaska Inside Passge

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The overall trip was enjoyable. The accommodations on the L'Austral were first class. The Tauck directors and staff were excellent as was the shipboard staff. However, some of the tours were overly lengthy without real substance and in the case of tribal visits redundant. The shipboard food was not up to the usual Tauck standards.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am glad that you enjoyed the trip for the most part. However, we are always striving to provide as extraordinary experience as possible, so I have shared your comments regarding the tribal visits and shipboard food with our Operations Team, who is always making enhancements based on guest's comments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

joev

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Another wonderful Tuack experience! The Ponant line of ships is terrific, especially for this trip because the smaller ship can take you into places the large ones can't go. We were able to get close to nature with lots of wildlife sightings aided by a knowledgeable and communicative naturalist.

Most Memorable Moment:

visits with the Tlingit tribal community were particularly interesting and imformative

review_img

joe stiglitz

Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The sights were well chosen, and great. accomadations on board were very comfortable. Great food and wine. The entire crew were very friendly, helpful and courteous. The only drawback, and a serious one, was the bilingual aspect of the trip. This grew to be quite annoying.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising through the fiord.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button