TravelerReviews

Alaska: Call of the Wild

review_img

57 vette

Alaska: Call of the Wild

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This trip with our family was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint! I highly recommend it to anyone who loves the outdoors, wildlife, glaciers, and the grandeur that is Alaska. Our whole family enjoyed themselves. The activities are many and varied and our Director was top notch!

Most Memorable Moment:

Flightseeing over the glaciers with my whole family - 9 of us - what a thrill!! The pilot put our 12 year old grandson in the co-pilot's seat and he was in heaven! Our granddaughter would probably say seeing the sled dogs and puppies.

review_img

William H

Call of the Wild....Awesome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Flight-seeing to Denali, Jetboats, Homesteading,Nature hiking, Float trip fishing on the upper Kenai, Kayaking on Kenai Lake, Mountaineering seminar, panning for Gold, Glaciers, and then a ten mile hike into a mountain lake for Arctic Grayling. Wonderful resorts, excellent food and our tour guide was extraordinary! As good as it gets!

Most Memorable Moment:

Just being together with our family and the Tauck tour group surrounded by the beauty of Alaska with so many adventures and interesting activities everyday. Everything was arranged by Tauck and all we had to do was enjoy and have fun! Could not have been better!

review_img

joys of travel

Children and Tauck - Perfect Together!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Tauck provides memorable trips for the entire family and, therefore, attracts wonderful people. Alaska was amazing for us and our 10 & 11 yr. old grandsons. The variety of activities - a tour, talk, dogs and PUPPIES -at Martin Buser's kennel, visiting a homesteader, Denali, glaciers, orcas, photo hike, bears and moose..WOW! Amazing!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to choose just one! Experiences so varied. Did love learning and seeing new things and watching our grandsons do the same!! Terrific people to share the trip with - from our Tauck guide and bus driver to the other families - we all "bonded"!

review_img

TomS

Alaska Aug. 6-13, 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

I have lived and traveled extensively around the world, and my wife and I have planned and led several international tours, yet I had never been on an organized tour. My two grandchildren and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip with Tauck. The itinerary was full of diverse and educational activities for all and our director was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several- a flight over the glaciers, hiking throught woods to see the salmon run, learning about raising sled dogs, talking with people who "live off the grid," etc.

review_img

BIannucci

Our Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Wonderful for the purpose of which is intended, to make the journey interesting, educational and enjoyable for adults and children. Tour Director was terrific, best I ever had on a Tauck Journey, which is saying a lot.

review_img

ipsandi

Alaska Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We were looking to share a vacation with our two granddaughters, ages 15 and 12. This Bridges tour was perfect. We were able to see the beauty of Alaska, learn about the history and heritage, and enjoy some delicious meals. Activities were planned so we could all enjoy them, but the girls also could have some time with the other kids.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the flight over the glaciers and then being able to see them the next day from the ship. Awe inspiring. The girls said everything was their favorite.

review_img

RoDo

This was an awesome trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Even though we are a childless couple we went ahead and booked this Bridges trip because there were so many interesting activities in the trip description. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip to childless travelers, families or active seniors!

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't think we could narrow this down to one moment that surpassed the others. We enjoyed the geocaching and the hikes. We opted into a deep sea fishing trip that was excellent. The tour guide recommended a charter group that rocked for this. The design of the trip with numerous outside activities really let us get a feel for Alaska.

review_img

JulsinLA

"Even when I'm old this will be my dream vacation" said our 10 yr old.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We just got back from Call of the Wild with our 10 and 11 yr. old boys. This was our first group tour. Thanks to our tour director and the other guests on the tour, we had a terrific time! Food was excellent, hotels were all different and each very nice, the tour is paced perfectly, and there was something memorable happening every day.

Most Memorable Moment:

The kids overwhelmingly vote the sled dogs as their favorite experience. We loved that too but I found the homestead tour very interesting and never grew tired of the scenery, especially the glaciers.

review_img

TissyJ

"Mom, can we do it again?"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

My husband, 11 year old son and 18 year old daughter and I felt it was the trip of a lifetime. Plenty for all ages to do, (our group was 9-79 yrs old), wide variety of cultural, physical, historical activities. Great traveling with same guide and bus driver as they became family. We are all still talking about it!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

11 yr old: meeting dogs at Happy Trails Kennels; 18 yr old: FOOD and Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center; Dad: kayaking and hike at Alyeska Resort; Mom: Everyone was happy and stimulated (and rafting!!!)

review_img

Buddy Haggard

Unforgettable trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The activities such as rafting, fishing, panning for gold and all the others were things that we could enjoy with our grandchildren. Our guide was great with the adults and children. Making the activities fun for all ages.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight over Denali. My grandchildren said fishing, hiking and geocaching.

review_img

Shotzi

A thoroughly enjoyable adventure.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

My husband and I had been to Alaska before and knew it would be something the children and grandchildren would enjoy when they were old enough. Boy, were we right. Tauck knows what they are doing. The venues were thoughtfully planned to suit all ages. Honestly, we had a bang up good time and the grandchildren were crying when we had to leave.

Most Memorable Moment:

The adults liked best the home visit, and the plane over the glaciers. The grandchildren loved the sled dog visit and the survival demonstration.

review_img

DrewM

Alaska: Call of the Wild

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Excellent! We enjoyed every moment. Sights are unbelievable

Most Memorable Moment:

It is most difficult to choose one moment. There were many memorable moments. The ride around Mt. McKinley, Iditarod dogs, viewing glaciers, etc. it was all wonderful.

review_img

Tomcat21

Alaska Sampler

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The Call of the Wild trip was an awesome experience for those curious about Alaska and all it offers. Tauck masterfully crafted an itninerary that allows their guests to sample many of the things that make Alaska a very special place. Our tour guide and driver added a lot to our enjoyment with their experience and local knowledge.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight seeing near Denali was tops for me and my wife but my son liked meeting the sled dogs the best.

review_img

walter w karney

Great time overall

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Activities were fascinating, well-organized. Only disappointment was quality of a few of the meals, which didn't always meet expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing glaciers close up during cruise of Prince William Sound

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and we are most apologetic that some of the meals provided fell below expectations. We thank you for your patronage and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Barb in Austin

Alaska Family Blast!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This trip went beyond all of our expectations! We couldn't be be happier we chose Tauck and this itinerary to celebrate our 50th anniversary. The week flew by as each day was filled with one adventure after another. Our grandchildren will have lasting memories of us sharing their delight in nature. We all learned so much while having so much fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

My husband chose the flight in the plane above Denali -- he sat in front with the pilot and was vicariously flying. I couldn't believe it when our grandson counted over 90 bald eagles nested and soaring while we rafted along the beautiful Kenai River. Time also flew! Our tour director was funny, upbeat, and informative. We all loved him.

review_img

mjwechsler

A Fabulous Tour and Bonding Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Tauck's Alaska Bridges tour was a memorable vacation and learning experience.Our grandsons and we consider it one of the best in our experience. It enabled us to bond and share our love. The varied itinerary allowed us to understand why it is the "final frontier". All was made possible by our tour guide who was amazing: professional and personable

review_img

Jeff Jefferson

A great way to see Alaska with kids

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

My wife and I took our 14 year old grandson on this trip. I thought that it was well paced for both him and us. The tone of the trip was set the first night when Tauck arranged to have a golden eagle attend the get acquainted dinner along with the conservationist.The visit to see the sled dogs was great fun. As was the flight seeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Fly fishing on the Kenai river

review_img

dvbaker

Perfect for the whole family

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We took our 13 year old grandson with us, and we loved every minute of this Alaska adventure. We did it all in one week: sled dogs, helicopter, gold panning, hiking, and meeting a bear! When our grandson went back to school, one day he had to answer, "What would you do if you had 24 hours to live?" He said, "Go back to Alaska!" Wow!

review_img

PSchulte

a winner

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This may have been our best Tauck tour due, in large part, to our outstanding guide, Gary. The itinerary was loaded with fun and was well organized. We had a very congenial group which made it even more pleasant. I would highly recommend Call of the Wild. It's a great way to see Alaska.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. They were all memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey with us and thank you for sharing your comments with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AWallace

A Wonderful Alaska Sampler Platter

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was our first Tauck land excursion and it exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail with the history, people, and informative experiences made this a special "bucket list" holiday. By plane, boat, hiking, cable car, jet boat, or by foot, the magnificent and panoramic vistas were sampled, leaving some great memories and photos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying in a 10-seat DeHavilland plane over Denali National Park and appreciating the snowy and glacial splendor of Mount McKinley and its neighboring peaks and glacier filled valleys. And riding bicycles with my wife and youngest son on the Anchorage Coastal Trail, appreciating the different distant views.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed your overall journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

hadi

Excellent tour director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was one of the most organized travel tours we have ever taken. The director made everything seem so flawless and easy, but we're sure this is a result of a lot of behind-the-scene preparation. The only two minor issues are the slow restaurant service at Talketna lodge, and the lack of availability of two queen size beds for families. Thanks,

Most Memorable Moment:

Two actually, the plane ride over Mount Denali, and the boat trip in Prince William Sound.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased your your journey with us and look forward to hosting you on a future adventure.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KPirnat

Alaska - July 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This trip was GREAT! Our tour guide, Nancy was fantastic and so caring. She was so accommodating with my gluten-free diet also. We loved the stop at Happy Trails Iditarod and [Employee Name], the Homestead of Joanne Porterfield, the powerboat ride, the flight-seeing over the glaciers, grizzlies along the raft trip, the glacier cruise, all of it!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had more than one! The glaciers calving on our glacier cruise in Prince William Sound, the grizzlies we saw on our raft trip, the stop at [Employee Name] Buser's Happy Trails Iditarod, seeing Mt McKinley in it's full glory right from our Lodge room window in Talkeetna!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BCNeuberg

Alaska With My Grandson

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

My Grandson,Elliot and I arrived in Anchorage on July 13th at 12:30 AM and were astonished to see the sun still in the sky. From that moment on we were on a great adventure. Nancy, our guide and Nate, our driver were cheerful, informative and caring and competent. We always felt safely in good hands. We had a great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, but I would have to say meeting [Employee Name] Buser and his dogs was a highlight as well as our Flightseeing trip over the glaciers.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey. You must have experienced so many wonderful memories especially with your grandson.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AKoller

Our Alaskan Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Had a great trip! The Grand Kids really enjoyed it. They were always busy and met new friends. Our Tour Director, Nancy, did an outstanding job. Plus, above and beyond the "call of duty", she was able to get the hotel to find our Grandson's I-Pod, which apparently fell out of his pocket in our room, and get them to send it to us at our next hotel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list just one: The boys and I enjoyed flying over the glaciers the most. Our grand daughter enjoyed the Ididarod sled dogs and we all enjoyed the gold mining for real gold!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your journey and experienced so many memorable moments!.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MSalzman

alaska was wild and wonderful and full of adventures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

the guide [Employee Name] and driver richard were great and full of helpful advice. they accomodated my grandsons' gluten free diet and need to refrigerate antibiotics. my boys and the other children bonded together and there was no disharmony among the children or the adults. there were always special things to occupy the children even on long rides.

Most Memorable Moment:

the gold panning really was fun for my grandsons. they enjoyed the river rafting.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your trip and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MDavis

Alaska with my Grandson

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was wonderful. [Employee Name] was an excellent guide and so caring about everyone's needs. The food was delicious, the accommodations great, everyone on the tour got along, and just a great experience. I will definitely use Tauck for my other grandchildren.

Most Memorable Moment:

Friday night before we left on Saturday, my grandson asked if we could stay another week. I think that says it all.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip. Your grandsons comment says it all!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MZeichner

Alaksa: Call of the Wild

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

A fun-filled week featuring the best of Southcentral Alaska. Action-oriented, fun-filled activities, and an amazing introduction to the microclimates (rain forest to high alpine tundra), people, and sights of this region.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, the flight over Denali and the front range, including the glaciers, lakes, rivers, and wildlife of Alaska, was breathtaking! One child loved meeting the sled dogs and learning all about the Iditarod, while another's most memorable moment was watching fisherman pull in sockeye salmon as we floated past in our raft.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey with us and returned with some many memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

swacks

Awesome Alaska Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was our 1st Tauck Tour. My husband, teenage son and daughter & I truly enjoyed meeting & traveling with everyone in our tour group. Our tour director and motor coach driver were knowledgable, friendly & funny and made getting to see & experience the wonders of Southern Alaska effortless, interesting and fun! Now that's the way to travel!

Most Memorable Moment:

Flightseeing Mt. McKinley (Denali) and DayTrip Boat Cruising to see Glaciers in Prince Williams Sound were SPECTACULAR!

review_img

larmes

Alaska family trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

My family took this trip at the end of July 2012. We have 2 teens, 13 yrs & 17yrs and they loved it also. You keep very busy with all of the activities planned. There is always a back up plan, just in case. You will see many areas in Alaska and also take many different means of transportation. We also met some amazing Alaskan people. Fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the gold mining, the small airplane ride, the boat trip to see the glaciers, the huskies, the Alaskan people, the train ride, the jet boat ride, and all of the hotels. We also enjoyed fishing (extra). The hiking was very relaxed and beautiful also. We learned about what you can & cannot eat in the forests and how to survive in the wild

review_img

jfc

Alaska

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This trip was wonderful. We went 7/21-7/28. The tour is action packed. Something for the adults and the children at all times!

review_img

crzacha

Great Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Excellent guide and as hard a worker as we've seen on any of our 10 Tauck trips. Accomodations were quite good and the food was acceptable. This was Alaska, not Europe. We thought this was a great trip and well handled by Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

A lot of rememorable monemts. Perhaps the best was the flight to Mt. McKinley. Breathtaking experience on a sunny day which is rare. We were with our 9 year old grandson and watching him experience the wonders of Alaska and make new friends was probably our greatest highlight.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button