TravelerReviews

Israel and Jordan

review_img

AlanBriker

Israel-Jordan- excellent trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Tour director was excellent. The trip was strenuous with lots of walking. Local guides were great. Hotels were excellent. Meals were wonderful with lavish lunches. Only complaint was a wasted final day in Amman Checked into hotel, left for airport 8 hours later. No chance to unpack.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Petra- spectacular.

review_img

BarryMiller

Israel & Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

My wife and I had the trip of a lifetime. Hotels were great, food was good, daily tours were handled to the "T". Your Tauck tour Director was excellent. I would recommend him for any tour taken in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Petra.

review_img

DanaMahoney

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The trip was a trip of a lifetime. We loved every minute of it. The content and places seen along with the experienced guides at every stop really shows why one should book through Tauck. Our tour director was fabulous and there for any questions or needs that we may have had. She took great care of us. We would definitely use Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the most stunning was seeing Petra, the most fun was swimming in the Dead Sea, and all the history we learned and got to understand was the added bonus.

review_img

PatriciaYoung

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This tour was wonderful on so many aspects. It gave us the history of both Israel and Jordan. It brought to light the current conflict and the historical and religious aspect of it. There were in depth explanations of how Christians, Muslims, and Jews have historically occupied the area of Israel and the ultimate conflicts.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was walking through Petra. What an awesome sight!! It culminated with a camel ride and horse drawn carriage ride. That night we were treated to a wonderful dinner at a Bedouin Camp and a show put on by the men. It was a perfect way to end a most memorable day and tour.

review_img

Dan Van Ert

Israel and Jordan Summary Comments

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This trip covers in detail the historic and religious sites in Israel and Jordan. Sites important to the Christian, Jewish and Muslim faiths are included as are those associated with the Roman Period and the Crusades. It is an active tour with considerable walking and an opportunity to experience transport by camel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra coming into view.

review_img

KarenPetty

Great view of all cultures and religions in Israel and Jorday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Just got back from our trip and enjoyed it very much. The Tour Director, local guides and bus drivers were top notch. The sights were amazing. All but one of the hotels was high quality and we would visit again. This tour gives you a great cross-section of the religious sights... Jewish, Christian and Muslim. Food was good but a bit repetitive.

Most Memorable Moment:

Entry into the Old city of Jerusalem... Western Wall, etc.

review_img

sjwk2

Wonderful Trip to Israel and Jordan with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Great trip. We were so happy to have the same Tour Director we had on a previous Tauck tour. He is so knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. The hotels are wonderful. Food fantastic. Local tour guides extremely knowledgeable. We learned so much. Buses could have been more comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. There were many memorable moments. The Farewell Dinner in the Bedouin tent near Petra was amazing.

review_img

Judith Henderson

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

We saw historical sites important in three major religions, plus Roman ruins, Crusader Castles, gardens, had a boat ride on the Sea of Galilee, and took a dip in the Dead Sea. After seeing Petra, we ended with a feast in a Bedouin ceremonial tent with dancers and music. Incredible!

Most Memorable Moment:

Most fun: the Bedouin feast Most surprising: the Roman ruins of Jerash Most historically interesting: Masada Most beautiful: Petra, the Baha'i Gardens (The Hanging Gardens of Haifa)

review_img

MikeHenderson

Great Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Tauck did an excellent job of showing us Israel and part of Jordan. The days were full of activities, the hotels were top notch, and there was lots of good food. I blogged the trip and took lots of pictures. You can see what happened on our tour at http://www.mikeandjudytravel.com/2017Israel-01.htm Good trip, and recommended.

Most Memorable Moment:

(1)Just being in the land of Israel - the land of Moses, David, Solomon and Jesus. (2)Seeing the old city of Jerusalem (3)Our visit to Petra and the camel ride. (4)The Bedouin dinner on the last day (5)The visit to the mosque and the synagogue

review_img

AdeleF

ISRAEL JORDAN TRIP

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Quite a good trip with excellent guides. Although our Tauck Director was very knowledgable he was not always patient. Walking was a little too intensive; this was not accurately rated in the brochure. The lunches were always the same-it would have been nice to have a little more variety. The hotels were lovely with the exception of the two Movenpick hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

WALDORF ASTORIA elegance Dead Sea- mud experience Visiting a Kibbutz Petra visit & camel ride w

review_img

Mabel Tong

Best trip so far!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

This trip to Israel and Jordan exceeded every expectation! Everything was well organized and our trip director was wonderful. We enjoyed visiting all the amazing sites of Israel and Jordan, and really enjoyed the company of the other guests in our group as well. It was a once in a lifetime experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was the farewell dinner on the mount in Petra. We were all truly amazed and impressed with how Tauck put together this event. The food, entertainment, and unbelievable setting will not be soon forgotten.

review_img

armohan

Israel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

First of all the trip to Israel was fabulous. The tour director was a great . He was very knowledgeable about Israel and was helpful to everyone for the entire trip. The hotels, food and the entire organization of the trip was well planned and executed. We will be taking another trip with Tauck. Thanks Ram & Linda

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Jerusalem & Bethlehem.

review_img

Lois Thompson

Israel & Jordan Oct 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Absolutely loved Israel, Bethlehem & Jordan! Wonderful friendly people! Amazing sites! Tauck trip well organized & planned, wonderful food, amazing hotels, coach bus! Our tour director, Matt Mazanec, is awesome! Matt is well organized, patient, wonderful to make you feel at home! Highly recommend this trip! Lois [Employee Name] Indianapolis

Most Memorable Moment:

Inside Jesus Tomb & Nativity manger birth place of Jesus.

review_img

MRothenberg

Extraordinary Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our recent Israel and Jordan experience was an exceptional journey thru history and culture. The information and narrative of the Local Guides and Tour Director made the experience extraordinary

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing Petra on foot, camel and horse drawn cart

review_img

CaroleJebens

Israel/Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Israel was awe inspiring as it is the home of the three major faiths. Jordan was a very pleasant surprise. Our tour director Phillip Pope, was so great. The local guides were a great added bonuses. Always felt safe while with the group and by myself walking both counties. Tauck goes the extra miles in this area.

Most Memorable Moment:

I have two. The first one is walking where Christ walked. The second was our last night Boudin tent dinner.

review_img

BarbaraOrtiz

wonderful and informative trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful time. This was our lst tour, although we have done extensive travel on our own in the past. It was a great experience, and our director could not have been better. He always anticipated the needs of the group, went out of his way to do extra things for the group and always kept us informed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing on the Sea of Galilee, The Gardens in Haifa, the Wailing Wall in Jerusalem, Bethlehem, and all the wonderful historic and religious sights we were able to experience that we had only read about in the Bible.

review_img

Blackcat

Exceeded expectations.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This trip really increased my knowledge and understanding of the complexities of the region. All of the local tour guides were great, very informative and willing to talk about things that might be uncomfortable. The trip was very well done, a few minor issues at a couple of the hotels but rectified quickly when notified.

Most Memorable Moment:

Floating in the Dead Sea, and seeing all the Mary portraits at the Church of the Annunciation.

review_img

JoelT

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Great experience- seamless from start to finish. Our tour leader was VERY knowledgeable and the tour guides in each location were terrific. The hotels we stay at were top notch with great rooms and services. Overall itinerary was excellent. It was one of the best trips we have ever taken and we would not hesitate to use Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many- at the top of the list would be Jerusalem and Petra.

review_img

Rmk

Must see.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

A trip back in time. Our tour director was exceptional and brought all that I had imagined this area to be alive. Open your mind and visit these lands. You will not be disappointed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra. Words cannot describe.

review_img

Judis1010

Israel/Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Loved the accommodations - except Petra...hotel was not particularly clean - toilets had to be flushed many times, drain in bathroom sink didn't work, had to call down for toilet paper, food was horrible. Everyone were given a King bed-while we had two singles. Lunches were the same boring meals day after day. Too much emphasis on churches.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in Jerusalem, not going with the group to Church visits day after day, instead visiting the City on our own.

review_img

Alberto G

wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

First time in these 2 countries, enjoyed the sightseeings, the diversity of the people. The guides were absolutely excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly. The organization of the trip was outstanding even taking into account they had to change the schedule several times due to the presence of the president in Jerusalem and Bethlehem.

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra was stunning,and worth the trip by itself. Surprised, pleasantly so about Jordan in general and the ruins of Jerash in particular.

review_img

BWV578

Crossroads of the World

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

I was sitting on the fence - the Middle East, or something more traditional? Fortunately, I made the right decision. This is a fulfilling trip, and anyone with an interest in religion and history should put it on your bucket list. There was very little tension over security on the tour, especially in Jordan. Organization was top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two hour interrogation by El Al Israel Airlines in Madrid. If you book your own ticket, and you are traveling solo, I would avoid this carrier. On the other hand, my story delivered comic gold for people at home.

review_img

morton greenberg

Great trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

As good or better than the 6 other Tauck trips we have taken

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Western Wall and Yad Vashem

review_img

suexcourt

You Gotta Go!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Israel and Jordan not sure which country we liked better! So much history it is almost overwhelming but the best part is that we have a better understanding of the people who live in this region of the world, have suffered so much for so long and just want to live in peace with their neighbors.

Most Memorable Moment:

Entering the Siq at Petra and finally arriving at the Treasury at Petra. You can't describe the images that you see. Just unbelievable that this area still exists after so many years.

review_img

CatLover8

The Holy Land - a very safe pilgrimage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Tauck did a fabulous job, starting with an itinerary that took you to the most important places at special times that minimized crowds. The region was perfectly safe. We saw so many incredible places and experienced so many wonderful things and learned so much about the Middle East. This is one of the best trips we have ever been on

Most Memorable Moment:

Mass at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and Mass at the Church of the Nativity were not on the itinerary, but our Tour Director was able to make them happen for us and they made our trip. We also loved the Via Dolorosa, the Western Wall, Petra, meeting people of different ethnicity and different faiths. This experience has changed us for the good.

review_img

rabbit

Israel/Jordan May 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The entire trip with Tauck was outstanding except we had too much food at lunch :>(. The only black mark was our return flight via Air France from Amman to Paris. We paid for first class/business and got economy treatment. We boarded at 1:30 am, tired, ready for some shut eye for a few hours. We were seated in economy NOT ENOUGH ROOM TO CONTINUE

review_img

janearnoldi

Fantastic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Exciting, educational, enriching, and fulfilling trip to Israel and Jordan.There was a fair amount of walking but the pace was always good. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many memorable moments to count but Petra was beyond description, fabulous.

review_img

mbg42016

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Israel and Jordan Tauck World Discovery tour was overall a marvelous experience. March and April is a great time to go due to the comfortable weather. The trip was very informative in culture, history, geo-politics, and religion. The local guides were knowledgable and makes history learning fun. The tour director demonstrated excellent service.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our time in Jerusalem visiting the Western Wall and the Dome of the Rock.

review_img

ML44

Israel & Jordan 3/23/2007

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Trip was everything that we expected it to be. From the moment we landed until we left, all our needs were taken care of professionally. Our guide went over and above to make the trip very memorable. In addition to that, the local guides were very informative and professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

The magnificent views from Masada, and being at the Western Wall are moments I will never forget.

review_img

GeorgeVG

Ideal Way to Tour Isreal and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

The Tauck tour of Israel and Jordan was intense. It was educational and memorable. The tour leader gave us a sense of complete security in this environment. We had excellent local guides at every stop and felt we were given a good understanding of the complicated history of the region, as well as the current political issues.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entrance into Petra with view of the treasury was by far the most dramatic and beautiful moment. Nothing in the world can compare.

review_img

Stan Trent

I CALL IT THE HOLY LAND TOUR Israel & Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

We started in Israel at the Inter Continental. We saw all there was to see in Israel from Jaffa,Haifa,Sea Galilee, Jerusalem, Bethlehem & all in between. The hotels & guides were the best as well as our Tauck Director. Jordan was the same way GREAT. I forgot the food you will eat in the best places in each country.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bethlehem & Jerusalem were the most memorable for me. The people in each country are kind & helpful. The service & food in the the hotels is the best. Both countries are as safe as can be. I felt safer in Israel & Jordan than I do in the USA. I WILL ONLY USE TAUCK FROM NOW ON

review_img

diacon

Memorable Middle East Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Starting off in Israel and ending in Jordan was to say the least - captivating. Israel is a bustling country filled with links from antiquity to modernity. The Tauck Director and associated guides were knowledgeable and caring. While I am someone who likes to go off on my own - I was able to do that easily.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most moments were memorable - Yad Vashem in Israel and Petra in Jordan. I was particularly struck by the contrast in the two countries and visiting the West Bank underscored that contrast.

review_img

Yi

One of our top travel expeierence ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

We just came back from the Israel and Jordan trip and this was our first Tauck tour. We were so impressed by how smooth the logistic was handled and the quality of the hotel and food provided. Best of all, our TD was so wonderful and the itinerary was well planned and thoughtful. We enjoyed this trip so much and it was mind opening.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Petra, it was the highlight of our trip.

review_img

Donirion

Exceeded Our expectations by a mile

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

We did everything described in the itinerary and a bit more. Hotels and restaurants were among the finest in each locale. Our Tour Director was outstanding and the local guides were knowledgeable and spoke with passion. Their commentary was from a secular perspective and insightful. We would not hesitate to take another Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on Jerusalem's Temple Mount and gaining a real appreciation for its historical and religious significance and the passions it generates. The tour itinerary gave us enough time to take it all in.

review_img

SHEWMBO

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This was an outstanding trip, both emotional and historical! I was not expecting to see so much history and the numerous churches, temples and mosques. We always felt safe even going to Jerusalem. The people were friendly, glad to see us. It was an intense trip and I am so glad that I had this experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Petra in all its glory. Walking between the canyons on roads built during Roman times until we reached The Treasury. Seeing that fulfilled my wish for this trip.

review_img

Yankeec

Holy cow The Holy Land

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This trip was awesome! Our tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the cultures. The local guides were the absolute best! I recommend this trip to anybody. Biggest surprise was Petra, the trip down the cavern to the Treasury was unbelievable.

Most Memorable Moment:

PETRA and the Western Wall. Finally, the people of all three cultures. They were hospitable and open to discuss their lives, culture and in many cases the showed us their sense of humor.

review_img

the bone

Well done, but lacked the extras

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Tauck needs to seriously reconsider using the Dan Carmel Hotel in Haiffa. The night and breakfast buffets were nothing out of the ordinary. Additionally, we were herded into a room that resembled an assembly area, while two other eating areas were reserved for other "guests." Olga's lunch was disgusting; The Jaffa lunch way overcrowded.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jerusalem and Petra.

review_img

zorpep

israel 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

everything so interesting sights great very educational saw all 3 religious places of worship amazing country built on desert itinerary wonderful food good hotels great locations

Most Memorable Moment:

masada western wall Haifa gardens

review_img

Judy Schor

Great trip to Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Our trip was comprehensive and thorough. We saw all the must-see things that you hear about all your life. Tauck kept us well-fed, actually too well-fed, and we walked until our feet just about fell off (good for us). Especially interesting to me was going into the West Bank and seeing Petra. Seeing Petra is a once in a life-time event.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rounding the rocks at Petra.

review_img

ednaenglish

Holy Land trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Outstanding & educational. Leader is extraordinary in his ability to advise & direct. Among 24 travelers, Jewish & Christian religious interests were represented & well-accommodated. Primarily historic & archaeological, the trip recognized the meaningful destinations of all faiths, informing us about others, such as Druze & Baha'i.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one -- Visiting Jerusalem & Bethlehem; dancing the Hora on the Sea of Galilee cruise; riding camels in Petra; the fabulous spa at the Dead Sea,..... (Not memorable, but a caveat: the shop at Petra recommended by the Camel Master, Hosni, attempted to grossly overcharge us for souvenir scarves that others had paid much less for.)

review_img

Hibiscus

Israel/Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

This was my first tour with any group and it exceeded my expectations. Accommodations were great and the tour guides were excellent. They really knew their stuff! I especially enjoyed one in Jordon and one in Israel. It was amazing how informative they were, especially without referring to any notes.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, particularly the spectacular scenery in the Rift Valley in Jordan, but the Farewell dinner with the local entertainment was definitely up there.

review_img

LRS

No Fears in Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Tauck out did themselves again. Our tour leader, our hotels, and our itinerary all gave us a comprehensive, enjoyable visit to the Holy Land and beyond. There was never any fear of danger no matter where we went even in our free time but we knew Tauck would keep us safe while they took us to every spot they could squeeze into our trip. Lovely!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first view of Petra canyons topped by reaching the Treasury. Pictures don't do it justice.

review_img

josephweiss

BIRTHPLACE OF CIVILIZATION

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Israel is extraordinarily special, the birthplace of the world's most dominant religions. Tauck provides an unbiased tour of the highlights, including Jerusalem, a city which everyone should visit at least once. Petra was a stunning surprise, worth the trip into Jordan by itself.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Western Wall is awesome. The city of Jerusalem is tremendous, antiquity and history staring you in the face.

review_img

MoralesEsq

Trip of a lifetime....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We just returned from the Israel/Jordan April 21, 2015 trip. It was just amazing. TAUCK just handled every detail meticulously..The hotels were great, the tour events were awesome...The meals were great...TAUCK just knew how to make what could seem like a very exhausting trip so much more memorable...

Most Memorable Moment:

Jerusalem and Petra!!

review_img

mec12345

Israel, Jordan and France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

Since I took two Tauck trips back to back, I have no idea which of the trips for which this reviewed has been requested. Israel and Jordon were excellent. I had never been to Jordan, so it was all I hoped for... The France trip was also excellent. All escorts and guides were wonderful! All hotels were also wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed both of your journeys. Thank you for travelling with Tauck!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Pat2Mike

lsreal and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

This is a trip of culture,history and faith. No matter your belief you will be inspired by the guided tours through history and the development of this land and the peoples who inhabited it. My wife and I were amazed to see the vast number sites that we read about and were related to our faith. We felt comfortable and the peoples were friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

For us it was the religious site of the birth of Jesus. I will add the Western Wall as well as "The Rock " the mosque in Jerusalem. I must add Petra " the pink city " . The whole trip was memorable

review_img

Alexg

Israel / Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

A wonderful experience. our tour guide, Steve Fischer , was excellent. The hotels and restaurants choosen for the tour were excellent. One problem was the Movopick Hotel at the Dead Sea. A 5 star hotle that gives its guest a one star streament. In an area surrounded by hotel guest rooms a dance was held, with blasting loudspeakers. Complaints, yes.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Holy Sepulcher, and Bethlehem. The local tour guides provioded by Tauck weree very good. They gave a good sumary of the culture of the areas, and political situation that prevails.

review_img

B and B

Israel and Jordan, November 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Excellent experience with a well-planned itinerary, caring and capable tour director, knowledgeable and personable guides, and wonderful hotel venues. Communication regarding potential problems in the area was real-time, honest and accurate. None of these events had a major negative impact on the tour. This was truly a trip of a life-time.

Most Memorable Moment:

While there were many unforgettable sites and moments on this trip, perhaps the most emotionally impacting was our tour of Yad Vashem, experiencing the Hall of Names and hearing the Kaddish offered in the Hall of Remembrance.

review_img

pfingstagrammy

Pampered, fed, and stimulated

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Tauck employees did an excellent job anticipating our desires and needs on my recent trip to Israel and Jordan. They housed us in excellent hotels, "the best available." They made sure that the restaurants we ate in were clean and served a variety of local tastes. And they provided knowledgeable, well-educated local tour guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

A camel ride in Petra. (Tauck went the extra mile to provide us with experiences we may have missed if we were on our own.)

review_img

GDSheehan77

A Terrific Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Tauck exceeded our expecations on this trip. My wife and I had previously done Harvard alumni trips, and we thought these set the gold standard. But the quality of the itinerary and guides on the Tauck trip were every bit as good, if not better, than the alumni trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. Unforgetable experience, given what is going on over there.

review_img

Leroy Farr

Israel & Jodan November 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Our Israel & Jordan tour was wonderful! Our tour director, Philip was superb! We also had great local guides in each city. Overall this tour was a very special trip - one that should be on everyone's "bucket list".

review_img

Bob brody

Israel Jordan fall 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Really fun and interesting experience. Knowledgeable and helpful tour guide, and excellent local guides. Accommodations best at each location Would have enjoyed a bit more current affairs information to supplement history

Most Memorable Moment:

Tie between Masada and Baha'i gardens. Both were truly breathtaking.

review_img

GaryKathy

Our eighth Tauck tour and one of our very best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Ancient and stirring sights in a highly contemporary and relevant setting. Tauck’s usual very high quality planning and accommodations, an outstanding tour director and top notch local guides. This was our eighth Tauck tour and one of our very best.

review_img

farmer

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We had a great time with a professional, personable and knowledgeable tour Director. Each local guide was an expert in his/her geographical area, friendly and personable in their presentations. Buses were comfortable and drivers were very friendly and very competent, We felt safe at all times.

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible.......We start thinking Temple Mount and Sea of Galilee comes to mind then Jerash and then, and then.....Riding the camels in The Pink City !!!!

review_img

Buddy Schattman

Finally , Israel & Jordan.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

After having to cancel an Israel & Jordan trip in October, 2013, with a travel company we had used 11 times previously, we decided to make the trip with Tauck. We prefer to travel in a small group and our group of fourteen was perfect! Our Tour Director was excellent, only surpassed by some of our local guides. Tauck will be our only tour company!

Most Memorable Moment:

We cannot single out any one particular event during our tour. Every day brought special, unforgettable experiences and memories! We returned home pleasantly exhausted! Our photos will bring back all of our wonderful memories and new friendships again!

review_img

rbrown

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Great trip; fantastic guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra is not too be missed!

review_img

buffycoat

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Incredible! Loved every minute! Food delicious! Requires stamina. Minimal free time. If holy sites are top, omit the Holocaust museum. If the tour director offers an unscheduled night tour of the Church - Take it! It is the only time to actually pause and visit individual sites. Bethlehem rushed. To shop, need to omit White Grotto. Awesome Tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Jerusalem and Petra!

review_img

goldhammers

Israel-Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

A very active trip, out early and walking, which we liked. Terrific itinerary with fine hotels. Being from the Bay Area we rarely expect the food to match home but the restaurant meals were all great and topped by dining in a Bedouin tent in Little Petra for our farewell dinner. Excellent knowledgeable guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

The camel ride in Petra -won't forget that in a hurry.

review_img

DInman

My best vacation yet.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

My first time to the Middle East. We had an amazing and knowledgeable Tour Director with the soul of a teacher -- Phillip Pope. Every hotel was excellent -- best views and locations and bars and restaurants. Casablanca ambiance at the Dead Sea Resort. Diverse and honest local guides. Magic worlds -- Jerusalem and Petra.

Most Memorable Moment:

I am choosing two. Wandering through old Jerusalem. Exploring Petra. The smell of the food, the sound of different languages, old rock, temples, the street vendors -- Bedouins and Arabs and Jews and Palestinians, the look of the moon and the stars under a desert sky. This was a good trip. Thank you TAUCK

review_img

JSchulders

One of my best tours

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

My trip was the 2nd trip I took with a tour. The first one was very good. The Tauck trip to Jerusalem topped the Tauck trip [Employee Name] our tour guide was a gem and very helpful in every way. The people on the tour were without an exception delightful. My friend , who is 87 was helped in many ways when he needed help.

Most Memorable Moment:

My friend's walk to the Western Wall.

review_img

PepperB

Israel/Jordan tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our tour was in October 2013. The weather was great. After a long flight to Tel Aviv from California, Tauck staff were there and took care of us from then on. Our Tour Director anticipated our every need. He was great. The whole trip went smoothly. Each day an adventure. Hotels were excellent, food very good. Highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick just one moment. The Sound and Light show at the Tower of David was spectacular. But then we were treated to our first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra, and that was awesome. It was more magnificent than we had dreamed. We experienced many memorable moments on the tour.

review_img

Georgia Christopher

Great Trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I have to be honest, I was not sure if we were going to take this trip with the recent political events. Tauck assured us it was safe. I am glad that we did, it was a trip we will never forget. It hits all the "highlights" of Israel and Jordon. I hope that in the future that they eliminate the Kabbutz..it was a waste of time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the Church of the Holy Sepulcher an Petra. Hard to say which was the most memorable as every day offered something new to learn and explore

review_img

Steve

A memorable trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was really a memorable trip..so many great moments, almost too many to mention. Matt is absolutely phenomenal as a tour guide... I wish everyone had his enthusiasm and energy. And the local tour guides - Zivid, Shelley and Majda in Jordan - were all great. Only hiccup: no one met us at the Tel Aviv airport. I would scrap the kibbutz visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

The walk down the stairs at the BaHai Gardens in Haifa.

review_img

jebert

Exceeded Our Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It was terrific-from Tel Aviv right through to Petra. Our tour director, Mark, was excellent in that he was always available to answer questions and was on top of every detail ensuring that we had a smooth and enjoyable trip. The highlight of the trip was Jerusalem where we had the best tour director we have ever had anywhere.(Shelly)

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Yad Vashem holocaust memorial, especially the children's section. The visit was made all the more poignant by our tour guide, Shelly, who was well prepared and demonstrated great caring, sensitivity and tenderness when discussing the holocaust.

review_img

MAdler

Excellent guides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Trip itinerary was excellent. Tour guide &local guides were knowledgable & friendly. Hotels were wonderful.m

Most Memorable Moment:

Massada

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Adler, We are so happy you enjoyed your journey! Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

farah

A definite must

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The Israel/Jordan trip is a must. There is so much to see and experience--regardless of your religion.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the canyon and seeing a small glimpse of the Treasury. Spectacular

review_img

Cindela

Israel and Jordan adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This was our 1st Tauck trip.. it definitely will not be our last. We so enjoyed the whole trip. The guides were top notch, the hotels were wonderful, the food was excellent. We felt safe the whole time.

Most Memorable Moment:

By far, I'd have to say that Petra and Litte Petra dinner were the best.

review_img

melvin

[Employee Name] Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Mr. Pope made our entire trip most enjoyable because he did not just give info about what & where we were going, but he interjected humor & little stories. Although we have already submitted our review we would like to add, anytime Mr. Pope is heading a tour again, we would like to be notified as we might consider going, even if we had not planned

Most Memorable Moment:

Vad ya shem

review_img

marubella

Adventure in the desert!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

I just returned from Israel and Jordan, and it was one of the most exciting trips Ive ever done. It was completely hassle free, even when the pace in Jerusalem was fast. So much to see, and to learn!! Our guide, Phil Pope was great, the hotels were very good and our included meals were splendid. Comment: The bus through Israel was not comfortable

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra, Jordan! The Bedouin style dinner was also wonderful Also how the guide managed to lead us through Old Jerusalem and big crowds orderly, and never lost his patience and good humor. The local guides were very good also. It was emotional being able to trace Jesus path, and to learn new historical highlights. Never a dull moment in this trip!

review_img

trav58

A very special trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

We have done many trips but this ranks as one of the best. All the locations visited were extremely interesting and made our understanding of biblical history much clearer. The Jewish and Palestinian guides were knowledgeable and answered our questions related to the political realities in the area. Matt, the Tauck Tour director is outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to pick out only one moment. The Sea of Galilee visit, the Temple Mount visit in Jerusalem, and the Church of the Nativity visit in the West bsnk all rated highly. Petra nust be seen.

review_img

FANTAVISA

Israel-Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This was our second Tauck trip, and from beginning to end it was a fascinating journey. The Tauck Tour Guide, Matt, did a job that can only be described as second to none. I highly recommend this trip, and I very highly recommend any trip with Matt.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding camels in Petra.

review_img

rhodyman

Loved Israel and Jordan Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

We had a great time. There were only 24 in our group & all were great. Our Tauck Director had 30 years experience with Tauck & had helped set up their Spain, Portugal, Antarctica, Egypt, Jordan, & Israel itineraries. He did a great job. Our local guides were Jewish (observant & secular), Christian, Bedouin, & Palestinian; a great combination.

Most Memorable Moment:

Virtually everything we saw was something we had learned about as children. It was fascinating comparing reality with perception. The experience gave us a much better understanding of the region and its people, as well history and our religion.

review_img

einbondpj@aol.com

Intimate Journey

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

We had an intimate experience in our tour of Israel and Jordan,as our group dwindled to just 12 members. The small size of the group afforded a unique opportunity to experience the sites, people,and culture in a unique fashion. We marveled at the rich mixture of religions, cultures and politics of this fascinating land.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit at Masada included a rare opportunity to observe a Rabbi writing a new new Torah Scroll. He was working in a small area outside the site of the Synagogue. He asked me for my Hebrew name and what I wished for in Life. I responded "Wisdom". He then inscribed the next letter in the line he was scribing in the Torah, in my honor.

review_img

H2O

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

First organized tour we have done. Our overall experience was very good. Tauck organized everything very well and smoothed difficult areas like the border crossing into Jordan. Itinerary was well thought out and fulfilling, with knowledgeable and interesting guides. We would have preferred less eating time and more walking/activity.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day at Petra. We were finally able to break away from our tediously slow moving group and hike around the ruins, exploring on our own. Absolutely breathtaking experience.

review_img

a young great grandmaother

A different Israel

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

I have been to Israel many times, but this time, with Tauck,I encountered a different Israel. Through the Tauck itinerary I saw and learned many new things about Israel that I never knew before. Our guide Matt was extremely helpful to us, especially making sure our vegetarian meals were available to us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each expert guide gave us a different perspective in Israel. At the Holocaust Museum in Yad Vashem our guide Amie was amazing. She explained each section of the museum with passion and knowledge. Amie interpreted the events of the holocaust so clearly that we felt we were actually going through the moments with the Jewish people.

review_img

SharB

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This was our 11th Tauck Tour. We are already planning our 12th. This trip was so well planned and executed. The sites we visited were at the most opportune time. We avoided long lines, etc. The guides were very knowledgeable. The food was varied according to traditions and excellent. The hotels were top quality. Our tour director was amazing

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Jerusalem and the camel ride.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience. We truly appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you for #12!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

nancycontardi

INTERESTING & FUN

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We had a small group of 22 & great weather (May). Covered all the sights at a nice pace. Knowledgible guides at all locations. Hotels were centrally located for walking. Most meals on our own for exploring. Real experience at Dead Sea....I think everyone went in & spa was 1st rate. Our farewell dinner in a tent with local entertainment was amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on the edge of the Dead Sea covered in mud !!

review_img

Sammy's

Israel/Jordan Bucket List Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

I just returned from one of the most comprehensive,historically enriched and breathtaking experiences of my numerous travel journeys in my lifetime. The tour director, locations, guides, and hotel accommodations were superior. But they could only be dwarfed by the sites and sounds of Israel and Petra, in Jordan. Small but wonderful group made it.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was a toss up between viewing the Treasury Building in Petra at the center of this vast canyon or viewing the Western Wall in Jerusalem, experiencing the historical significance of this 2000 year old remnant and its' connection to the fundamental heart of the jewish religion and its foundation to monotheistic religions that followed.

review_img

Bob420

Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

It was a wonderful learning experience. I learned so much about the Jewish, Christian and Muslim religions. We journeyed through both the old and the new testament. The sights were spectacular and all our guides were friendly and very knowledgeable. Truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many I guess for me it was the boat ride on the sea of Galilee doing the horah or swimming in the dead sea or perhaps riding the camel in Petra. All outstanding moments. It could have been viewing the promised land in the spot where Moses viewed it with God. I can go on and on.

review_img

RichO

Israel-Jordan Tour Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

An excellent trip, starting with the itinerary! Very well organized from beginning to end. And the tour director and the tour guides were outstanding. A couple of minor criticisms: 1. The Jaffe museum female guide was very difficult to hear; 2. The lunch at Jericho was good, but too many people & buses; 3. Tight leg room on the Jordan bus.

Most Memorable Moment:

Petra was outstanding. Would it make sense to spend 2 days there, instead of one?

TAUCK RESPONSE

We definitely appreicate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your trip overall. Rest assured we are looking closely into your comments and suggestions and hope you choose to travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

thomast747

Our 24th Tauck Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

Of our 24 Tauck trips we rank this one among the top 3 because of the variety of ancient interesting places we visited and the overall quality of the tour itself. From the time we arrived at the airport in Tel Aviv to the point we departed for home from Amman, Jordan, Tauck handled everything with typical thoroughness and attentiveness.

Most Memorable Moment:

This trip was packed with memorable moments, but our visit to Petra stands out among them all. Seeing the towering ancient Nabataen treasury facade carved into the rock wall will be permanently etched into our minds.

review_img

drbnoe

Holy Land, Israel and Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

Our trip was all we expected and what we've come to expect from Tauck. Matt was an excellent tour director and each of our experts did phenomenal work. The hotels, food, buses and our companions were all excellent. Suggest bathrooms on all buses as well as wi-fi.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jerasulem for spiritual impact and Petra for visual splendor.

review_img

EWechs

Our Connection to our past!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This was an outstanding trip! Our Tour Director Matt and the local guides helped to make this trip so memorable for us. Their knowledge, stories and anecdotes made all the historical areas visited truly come alive. This amazing trip highlighted the intertwining of the region's religions, cultures and political arenas.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing before the Western Wall in Old Jerusalem created an amazing, palpable link to the past.

review_img

Dee Jones

Israel and Jordan February 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This was our first Tauck trip and I am so impressed with everything! Our hotels were lovely, food was great but the best thing of all was our Travel Director, Matt. Each day he started with "I'm so excited - this will be the best day yet" - and it was true every day. The local guides we had were all excellent and well prepared.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is hard to narrow down - Caesarea and the sea view, Masada and the mountaintop view or Bethlehem are all tied for first place. I guess each day was a memorable moment!

review_img

REG

THE WONDERS OF ISRAEL AND JORDAN.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Our recent visit with Tauck to Israel and Jordan was without doubt one of the most fascinating and pleasurable trips we have ever taken. Having truly professional people look after you allows one to relax, not think about logistics but pay full attention to the many wonders this tour presents of the region,known as The Crucible of Western History. Throughout the tour one felt at ease : we were truly well cared for by Tauck and the local peoples were very pleasant and helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

A true insight into the regions different cultures. Our group was small,a major asset, thus allowing for more contact with our excellent guides who were certainly very knowledgeable in the History,Culture and Religions in their areas. The only thing would have liked extra, an extra day in Jerusalem to more fully appreciate - following our exceptional guides introduction - the " Worlds City" with its 4000 years old story. Many thanks Tauck for a WONDROUS TRIP.

review_img

Ric

ISRAEL - November 2011

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Tour Director and all local guides outstanding! Excellent 9-day overview of geography, history, current culture of Israel, with info about all 3 religions. Tel Aviv and Jerusalem hotels outstanding. Negatives: Colony Hotel Haifa terrible: hot, noisy, dirty. Bus driver courteous but couldn't use ventilation system properly. Poor and expensive internet in hotels. Should have lighter, quicker lunches (ours too massive) and include more dinners (only a few were). Delete Ilana Goor museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

No definite moment, but overall spending several days in Jerusalem, seeing Jewish, Muslim, Christian holy and historic sites; visits to Holocaust Museum and Israel Museum, Masada. Overall trip rating B+ to A-. Not as outstanding as Tauck's China trip May, 2010, which we both rated A.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the well-planned itinerary, local guides, and your Tauck Director. However, we are disappointed to hear that some of the accommodations and meals fell below your expectations. We certainly appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we have shared this with the appropriate managers of this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bud Kipnis

Issues

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

1. The guide from Tauck was very bright but not very good. Did not care about the people, never said good morning, was wrong on many things such as who would take US dollars, how it would be when we got to the airport in Jordan. He made a signicant negative impact on my view of your company. 2. why did we go to a museum/house when while in Tel Aviv? What signicance to this historic country did it have? 3. The hotel in Haifa was not up to your standards. Too noisy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding a camel, the last nite in Jordan

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very sorry to learn that your Tauck Director fell below your expectations. Someone from our office will be reaching out to you shortly.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rud45

Israel and Jordan - First Timers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

This was our first times visiting Israel and Jordan and it was a trip of a life time. We are sorry that we waited so long to take it. Though we saw many highlights that it's difficult to pick out just one. The only problem that we had as two seniors was that the pace was too fast.. We felt we were at work and getting up at 6AM got to be too much after a while, breakfast at 6:30, and than to the bus at 7:30/8:00AM for the days activity. Otherwise the tours were great and the guides A-1.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Holocaust Museum and Petra.

review_img

Linda P

Trip of a lifetime: Israel & Jordan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Our tour leader announced that this wasn't going to be a pilgrimage or a shopping tour (shucks). I thus looked forward to an in-depth visit to the eternal city of Jerusalem and what I expected to be the highlight of the tour--Petra. I was not disappointed. Philip was an outstanding tour leader--knowledgeable, entertaining, accommodating. The best guide ever! It was very interesting to learn the dynamics of the different religions claiming Jerusalem as its center. As for Petra--wow!

Most Memorable Moment:

Not one but many memorable moments: the visit to the church of the Holy Sepulcher, walking on the Via Dolorosa, the cable gondola ride up to Masada and touring it, the impressive Roman city of Jerash outside Amman, and the sight and experience of Petra. As well, my failed camel ride! Oh, and I just loved the incredible sound and light show at the Citadel in Jerusalem. Fantastic!

review_img

JStookesberry

Israel and Jordan best local Guides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This was a fabulous trip--allowed for free time but also wonderful in-depth information with local guides--there is no place as magical as Jerusalem; food was wonderful and the hotels were perfect. We highly recommended this trip to others.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our guide taking us to Yad Vashem

review_img

HealthySkeptic

Israel Oct. 20-28 2011

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Tauck's Israel trip was excellent as was the tour director. The city guides were outstanding. Avi in Jerusalem and Zivit in Haifa and Caesaria, Akko,etc. were able to give us so much interesting background to the history of the country! This was not my first trip to Israel; however there were bits of history of which I was not aware. There was not enough time to really see the Israel museum following Masada , even if we wanted to visit it afterwards. Maybe that could be changed.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button