TravelerReviews

Empire of the Incas: Peru & Bolivia

review_img

Travel Nana

Fabulous

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia is an amazing trip. We enjoyed many unique experiences. This is an exhausting trip mostly due to the high altitudes, but Tauck does so much to help with all of the challenges.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was the highlight. Tauck provided outstanding local guides. They had great information about the site and knew exactly where to take amazing pictures.

review_img

AlbertMancuso

OMG - What an amazing trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was not a vacation or a holiday... It was an ADVENTURE. The trip was non-stop from start to finish. Great scenery, wonderful hotels, yummy food and of course Machu Picchu and loads more Inca ruins. Pretty much every minute of every day was filled with WOW !!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip but especially Machu Picchu and the floating islands.

review_img

Tom McCarthy

Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Great trip. We had an excellent tour Director. Nice hotels, great food, good weather. Machu Picchu was fabulous.

review_img

wisconsingold

Empire of the Incas Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Since this is a very brief review format, I'd like to share just one item. Our tour director was absolutely outstanding! We have been on 5 Tauck tours now, and he is one of your best tour directors. He took such great care of our group. He always went over and above to make this an outstanding experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

One thing that I would leave out of this tour is that last evening food tasting event. Most people thought the food was way too weird, and we went away hungry after that event.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your Tauck Director. Tauck prides itself on hiring the best tour directors in the business, and yours is a fine example of that.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Slehrkind

Empire of the Incas. Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Typical Tauck experience! Absolutely every detail was done to perfection. From the moment we were picked up at the airport in Lima to put on the plane in La Paz for our trip home. Every day was filled with adventures, tours with wonderful local tour guides, and an education on the Inca culture. Top all this off with our Tauck guide!

Most Memorable Moment:

This is hard! Each experience you’d think it can’t get any better than this, but you’d go from to one to another. Lots of happy smiles crossing the border from Peru to Bolivia on the tuk tuks, but Macchu Picchu was magnificent—even in the rain. The sight of the Andes from that view took our breath away.

review_img

CLEma

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was an archaeological journey, and we found the history of Peru to be fascinating. Our guides were a wealth of help and information. The visits to indigenous peoples, particularly those living on Lake Titicaca's islands gave us insight into the challenges of living in today's world. Bolivia paled in comparison but was still interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Returning a second day to Machu Picchu made it all the more magical -- especially as it emerged from a thick cloud cover.

review_img

PegKay

Beautiful Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I absolutely loved the gorgeous vistas of Peru & Bolivia, as well as the fascinating cultures. Highlights were stunning Machu Picchu, and our fabulous tour director. Lake Titicaca was so interesting, and I enjoyed Cusco as well. The last night tasting dinner was strange and should be skipped. Beware of altitude issues once outside of Lima.

Most Memorable Moment:

Definitely Machu Picchu! We had fabulous weather throughout the tour, no rain. Loved the Belmond Hotel Monasterio. Dealing with the full range of altitude symptoms was difficult at times. Loved day at Lake Titicaca, and entry into Bolivia and then into La Paz. Tour Director was the best, local guides great. Beautiful cultural experience.

review_img

scubawife

Peru Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

In general the trip was great, although a bit exhausting which I think the altitude contributed to. Liked Lima, liked Sacred Valley. Machu Picchu was beyond amazing. Cusco was great as was Titicaca. Room and food of hotel in Titicaca was mediocre. Although it was interesting, we could have done without Bolivia; did not feel it was worth the hassle

Most Memorable Moment:

The first look at Machu Picchu without a doubt was the most memorable moment. It was a clear sunny afternoon. We came back the next morning even though it was raining. The clouds made it mystical. Several people did not go back due to the rain but we found it well worth it even in the rain (which did let up)

review_img

davidkenward

Empire of the Incas-Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Our tour was fantastic! Our Tour Director was outstanding. It was a very fast paced and active tour. We toured: Lima, Cusco, Sacred Valley of the Incas, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and La Paz, Bolivia. Each day were very full and busy from sun up until dinner. Saw so much in these 2 countries. I would highly recommend the tour! TY

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Machu Picchu in the afternoon and returning the next morning. It was the highlight of the trip.

review_img

galan

Two gems in a third world setting

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

This was our 7th Tauck trip and the most challenging. There is no doubt that Machu Pichu and Lake Titicaca are standouts in the world and we feel privileged to have been able to see them. Our weather was outstanding for the entire trip. We prepared for cold and rain and got neither. The altitude was particularly challenging.

Most Memorable Moment:

As we were about to enter Bolivia we were stopped by protesters (or bandits?) 7 times. When they came on the bus it was a bit disconcerting . We were allowed to proceed after a long delay and the payment of money. We were not aware that this was a possibility in Peru. Our tour guides did a fine job negotiating our safe passage to Bolivia.

review_img

Jennifer Newman

Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

I believe this has been my favorite trip with Tauck. It was very intense, with lots of traveling, and quite a bit of climbing and walking on uneven surface- considering where we were this was part of it. The guides were fantastic, and in addition to being a wealth of information, they made sure we took care to stay hydrated and to pace ourselves

Most Memorable Moment:

We were so fortunate to be at Machu Picchu on Easter Sunday. The weather was perfect. Even though Sunday is a free day for locals, hardly anybody was there. It was like we had the place to ourselves. What a wonderful experience, breathtaking views and outstanding guides who were so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Four hours flew by!

review_img

MarvinF

Altitude Sickness

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

I gave the trip 3 stars partly because of the high incidence of altitude sickness. Most of the people on the trip suffered to some degree--from mild headaches to trouble sleeping, diarrhea, and nausea. There were lots of people taking Diamox (with some having pills to share).

Most Memorable Moment:

There were 3--Machu Picchu (in the morning rain), the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, and the bici's thru the market crossing the border between Peru and Bolivia.

review_img

CCK61

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

It was outstanding in every way. Wonderful properties in exotic locations. Historically and culturally educational. Tauck thought of everything! I would do it again!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count!

review_img

Jim and Pam

Empire of the Inca's Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We recently returned from the empire of the Inca's tour. Learning that there is so much more to the Incan empire than Machu Picchu was exciting and informative. The hotels, food and accommodations were all first class. I realize that the big cities are needed for access but for me getting out of the big cities and their congestion was relieving.

Most Memorable Moment:

Macchu Picchu was unbelievable. The panorama was breathtaking. The train ride thru the sacred valley was incredible. Being on a small group tour where everyone got along and cared for each other was equally memorable. I would travel with Tauck and especially the small group tours again at the drop of a hat.

review_img

The Most Amazing......

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The most amazing trip ever! The scenery and beauty of the mountains and the cities was spectacular. Our tour director was so well organized and on top of every detail. The pace was rigorous but well worth the effort! The 5 star hotels and gourmet meals were unbelievable! Do not hesitate...Go!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of Machu Picchu was undeniably the most memorable moment. It was breath-taking! So much "eye-candy" you couldn't take a bad photo. Another surprising moment was the ride across the Bolivian border in the pedal taxi! What fun and so much to look at! The view of sunrise over Lake Titicaca from our hotel window was magnificent!

review_img

ENL

Empire of The Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Another very interesting itinerary by Tauck to a part of the world that's very different, but definitely worth the trip. The Inca ruins of Machu Picchu and Ollantaytambo were incredible. The reed islands and Taquille Island on Lake Titicaca were fascinating. Our tour director was terrific, and the local guides very knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

After passing through the entrance to Machu Picchu and a short walk, the view of the "Lost City of the Inca's" unfolded before our group. I think just about everyone was mesmerized by the city and surrounding mountain scenery on an absolutely spectacular day. It was easy to just put the camera down and take it all in visually.

review_img

Cynchaslo

Peru is more than Machu Pichu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Traveled for 12 days in October through Peru and Bolivia.The tour was very interesting and well organized. Tauck takes great care for the health and comfort of its clients. The only hotel that was not up to Tauck standards was the Libertador on Lake Titikaka. The restaurant there was too small and it was understaffed. But the view was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments though were spent at Machu Picchu. However I learned that there was so much more to this country in terms of culture, cuisine and spectacular scenery. Lake Titikaka is not to be missed. Also, seeing the glaciers of the Andes mountains rising above the Alto Plano is breathtaking.

review_img

list

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was a marvelous trip, with no dull moments! We were constantly on the go seeing new sights. The Andes were majestic and beautiful. Machu Picchu was breathtaking and almost difficult to believe since the Incas had no metal tools! How did they build it and subsist on the sides of these awesome mountains! The people were friendly and welcoming.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu should be on everyone's must see list!

review_img

Amira Nachman

Machu Picchu - an experience of a life time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This is my 1st trip with Tauck. I enjoyed the itinerary, the quality people in the group and the professional guides. The whole journey to Machu Picchu was challenging ,exciting and mystical. Crossing the border to Bolivia for 2 days was a waste of time. I would recommend the tour to Peru that starts and ends in Lima and never fly with AA again.

Most Memorable Moment:

On top of Machu Picchu.

review_img

kla

possible improvement

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

great adventure outstanding hotels an excellent tour manager handling logistics Best available transportation great meals. If I may say, I would change Dinner to Lunch last day in La Paz with a panoramic local restaurant and dinner in hotel. Reason being is: guests have various transfers to apt starting from midnight.

Most Memorable Moment:

every days was a new and learning experience. I particularly enjoyed the arheological sites. thank you

review_img

TDeramo100

Empire of the Incas is fantastic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This tour is everything you expect and more! Once again, Tauck has fulfilled our expectations and then some. The altitude was a real issue, but handled from start to finish by an experienced guide who was ready with whatever you needed to alleviate the symptoms. This is a full itinerary that makes for an amazing experience and bucket list trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Toss up between entering Machu Picchu, visiting the Uros Islands on Lake Titicaca, or a memorable border crossing on a pedicab into Bolivia!

review_img

BobAuerbach

Empire of the Incas: Peru & Bolivia - June 7, 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Great itinerary, vigorous pace, wide variety of fascinating sites. Tour Director was fun, well organized & so considerate. Tour guides were well informed and taught us so much. Food was delicious & unique. Hotels extremely comfortable with perfect service. Don't change anything. Follow medical advise about altitude, food & water

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu! But everything was memorable. Many archaeological sites, food, art, dance, costumes, churches, shamans , Lake Titicaca.textiles pottery, animals, farm land,flowers. Lima is a great city . Gondola ride into La Paz was unique and fun. Crossing into Bolivia via pedicabs was delightful. Things not found anywhere else we have been

review_img

JayPea

Cultural Time Capsule

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Respect for tradition is demonstrated throughout these countries. So much of what has become the "modern world" was incubated in these cultures. We were exposed to many cultures, both significantly older than what we call our 2-1/2 century "melting pot", and experienced a taste of our older origins. The Uros and Quechua were the MOST poignant ones.

Most Memorable Moment:

The pedicab procession across the Bolivian border was absolutely exquisite and one that I label "you don't see that everyday". Bravo Tauck, and tour operator (visas & logistics) whom pulled this off without a flaw.

review_img

E SwanLim

Tauck outdid themselves this trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This is our 8th tour with Tauck and they outdid themselves again. The countries, sceneries and people are just beautiful. Our director was outstanding. He is very caring, helpful and such a gentleman. The staff there are great, and we will never forget "Kevin Costner" from Cusco. Our crossing the border was efficient and fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many things, the sceneries are unbelievable. We are most impressed with the crossing of the border. Tauck didn't make us wait in line at immigration like everyone else. With their magic wands, we were able to cross the border in 15 mins via some very very fun and thrilling ways and upon entering La Paz, WOW!!!!! very very impressive.

review_img

amilscar

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Everyday had a WOW factor. My husband and I loved it. There is so much more there than Machu Picchu. Everyday was full of surprises. The country was so scenic, so beautiful. We lucked in with a group of only 12 so we had lots of flexibility. Our local guides were outstanding. They were interesting and had a store house of information.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing the border into Bolivia by bici was great fun. The market places and watching the people buy and sell their goods. The amount of Inca ruins throughout the country was surprising.

review_img

Peru/Bolivia recap

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Congrats to Tauck. Another well-planned tour. Regarding Tauck, the best part of our trip was our Tour Director, Matt Hannan. A real gentleman who was well prepared, experienced, knew the tour (in Texas terms, not his first rodeo!), informative and very personable. Personal note, I was not that impressed with the food. Could be improved. Bud

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu-truly incredible.

review_img

Nancy Rugus

Excellent journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

I dreamed about Machu Picchu & the Incas for many decades & had very high expectations. Tauck not only met but exceeded them. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because both Peru & Bolivia are 3rd world countries-no matter how much one tries to offer the best, some things aren't perfect. My 1st Tauck Tour & would go w/them again in a minute!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to have just one - but the spiritual feeling standing at the top of Machu Picchu is magical.

review_img

Lucile

Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

It was a very memorable trip. Enjoyed the Peruvians and the Bolivians. The meals were fabulous, especially the soups. I would have preferred we had a chance to introduce ourselves on the first night like we do on the other trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Machu Pichu for the first time was the highlight.

review_img

lcaron

Strike this one off my bucket list

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

I've always been fascinated by the Inca culture. Visiting the Andes was a lifelong dream. As usual, the tour was well organized and met my expectations. The hotels were excellent and well situated near the areas we visited. Good food, good friends, good fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu is simply awesome. Our visits on Lake Titicaca were most interesting, particularly our stop at a community on a floating island.

review_img

LIzMorrow

First timers for a guided tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

We travel a lot however this was our first guided tour. We were very impressed with the quality of hotels, meals, guides, etc. Our guide handled the paperwork to secure Bolivian visas for 25 people... incredible. Our local Bolivian guide took us to the La Paz airport and stayed with us when our flight was canceled, then got us on a local flight.

Most Memorable Moment:

the 2nd day at Machu Picchu when we climbed to the top and looked down. Also Lake Titicaca, the entire day.

review_img

rbardack

empire of the incas peru and bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Overall the trip was good but could have been better. The hotel at Machu Pichu was at the town of Machu Pichu instead of the the top right at Machu Pichu which required a wait for the public bus to the top. Staying at the Sanctuary at the base of Machu Pichu would have been much better. The farewell dinner the last night was a disaster.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Pichu itself was great.

review_img

JHolt

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

nothing was on time, too much squeezed into a day, altitude was a big factor, saw 3 doctors and I was not the only one who got sick. I loved our other 3 tours but this one was bad. the tour guide didn't seem to fit with the guests. Last night everyone was tired and or sick and he took us to a wine matching restaurant(?), half the group left.

Most Memorable Moment:

Shaman. would not recommend this trip.

review_img

gss5690

Machu Pichu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

The overall experience was excellent. All traveling plans and sight seeing were well orchestrated and maximized our enjoyment. The sights speak for themselves. We had a slightly rainy day with fog on the early morning visit back to Machu Picchu and this was much more impressive than if we saw the sun rise

Most Memorable Moment:

The morning vist back to Machu Picchu.

review_img

Stuartrs

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This trip was the adventure of a lifetime. This was our first trip with Tauck and it was worth every penny. It provided an indepth education of the culture of the wonderful Peruvian people in addition to the wonderful sites. You need to be prepared for the physical aspect of the trip and the extremely full days. There is not much downtime.

Most Memorable Moment:

We climbed to the top of the ruins of Machu Picchu on the second morning in the rain and cloud forest. When we reached the top, the rain stopped, the mist cleared enough to see the ruins below and the mountains still shrouded with some remaining mist. Magical!

review_img

ddfarrey

Not a vacation...an experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Empire of the Incas is no vacation. Many early mornings & long travel days the last third of the trip, when combined with altitude, made for a tiring journey. However, it was an experience like no other & exceeded my expectations. Our tour director was the epitome of organization & ensured all went smoothly despite some unforeseen circumstances.

Most Memorable Moment:

Scaling ruins at Olantaytambo and Machu Picchu. Other highlights, in no particular order, included Tambo del Inka hotel in Urubamba, Hotel Monasterio in Cusco, cable car ride in LaPaz, touring Uros and Taquille islands of Lago Titicaca, and breakfast buffets. Our tour director was amazing and all local guides were wonderful.

review_img

AlanSonntag

Farewell dinner

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Rethink the menu for the farewell dinner. We have been on four Tauck trips I don't know how many foodies were in our group of 38 people. What I do know is that none of them were sitting at our table. Stick with fine a gourmet steak or seafood. The small and unappealing dishes were terrible. see below

Most Memorable Moment:

If you want my opinion please give me enough space to write my thoughts. One gets the impression you are not interested in the details. I would have written this on my survey but it was turned in at the dinner.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you were disappointed with the Farewell Dinner. Although we make every effort to exceed our guests' expectations, sometimes disappointments happen. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Catwood

Machu Picchu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our visit to Machu Picchu was the entire reason for the trip and we were NOT disappointed. Was a wonderful day & experience. Climbing up & down all of the stairs was at times difficult, but well worth it. As our tour director stated at the beginning of our journey, this was not a "vacation", but an adventure. LOVED IT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was by far the most memorable moment. Our Tauck Director made the entire trip most memorable - he was an excellent tour director.

review_img

farzanehmt

Empire of the Incas: Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Be flexible and go with an open mind so you can fully enjoy this wonderful adventure. There were a few last minute unexpected changes due to strikes but everything was taken care of by our wonderful Tauck team. We actually ended up visiting more places than planned!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to name, Machu Picchu, sunrise on lake Titicaca, riding the cable cars in Bolivia are just a few to name. The city tour guides were fantastic. They knew exactly the best spots for photos. We took some unbelievable pictures that will help us remember this trip for a long time.

review_img

amy snow

Empire of the Incas: Peru Great - Skip Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

First 9 days were great-fascinating,well-planned,&very comfortable, except a very hard bed @ Inkaterra. Amazing Machu Picchu, lovely hotels, interesting Peruvian Paso equine demonstrations, a Shaman experience, great food, etc. Last 2-3 days-too much travel to La Paz, poor planning-didn't get to see what was promised/Enjoy Peru,Skip Bolivia!

Most Memorable Moment:

Peru is more than Machu Picchu, though breath-taking. Loved all the Inca ruins-brilliant engineers!Well-planned tours & activities in Peru - Peruvian Pasos, markets, great food- sights, sounds, smells - a rich experience! Too bad the Bolivia segment was so poorly planned, a waste of time & money, though our guide tried to make it better.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I will pass along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to enhance our tours based on feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you travel with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

redcon

Not up to the standards of previous Tauck tours

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Fully 40% of the time on the tour was spent in long-distance travel via boat, bus, plane and train which is boring at times. Bolivia was a bust. It started with a lengthy line (and time) to cross the border. We could not visit the scheduled sights in La Paz because a day-long parade prevented us from getting across town.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu presents an extraordinary experience. Cusco is a fascinating city. The local guides were very competent.

review_img

Irvin Yoshino

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was our first Tauck tour, it would be hard to go back to the other tour company (Globus). The up front cost seemed high, but after completing the tour, we felt we had a bargain. Each hotel was very comfortable & the service was outstanding. Having an ala carte dinner menu was outstanding. Can't wait to travel again, entice me with a suggestion

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting and socializing with our tour companions. This group of travelers were all on the same sheet of music, we seemed to have melded together into an enjoyable group. Machu Picchu is everything it's supposed to be. Just as memorable was the Holiday Parade in La Paz. This was not part of the itinerary but a fill in by our tour director.

review_img

Papadave

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Extraordinary! Awesome!If you are planning this trip you need to understand that it is an adventure not a vacation. You will work for each beautiful picture and memory. Our tour director and guides were so incredibly knowledgeable, warm and humorous, that the experience will last forever. If you can only go once, this is the one to choose.

Most Memorable Moment:

We shot 1500 pictures... The mountains will always stay with me. We weren't at the bottom looking up, we were on top looking down. Lake Titicaca. Uros Island. The Reed Islands. Machu Picchu. The classic wood coaches of the Andean Explorer Orient Express. The snow capped mountains. There is no one memory, but far,far more than 1500.

review_img

longbaygolfer

Adventures in Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Empire of the Incas was the most amazing trips we have taken. We've been to many places in the world and this was by far the best adventure. This trip is not a vacation--it is an adventure! The scenery was breathtaking and the hiking was strenuous. We are glad we took this trip at the ages of 65 and 70. Our director was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was spectacular but every day was another adventure. There was something new every day which made the trip a worthwhile experience.

review_img

Stuart Mowat

Superb vacation, exploring the multicultural Peruvian landscape, architecture and people

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

This was an amazing trip. From Lima at sea level, though La Paz at 13,000 feet, we climbed the heights. We saw the colonial architecture in Lima and Cusco, and the Inca architecture at Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo and earlier civilizations were represented as well. The director was excellent and the guides were very knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, visiting Machu Picchu in the early morning when it was (relatively) quiet was a great moment. You could hear the swallows chirping, and watch the clouds from above.

review_img

ninjajack1

Empire of the INcas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Well organized and beautifully managed and supported but some days were incredibly long and challenging due to poor roads and infrastructure. High altitude was a challenge as well.Lost 13 pounds in two weeks and managed to put it back on in four days at home! Dehydration a real challenge!

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Piccu

review_img

Jim and Linda Baratte

Inca Expedition-- Peru and Bolivia

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

We went for Machu Picchu but discovered so much more! Under Tauck's tutelage, we felt like amateur anthropologists. Our immersion in culture, cuisine, architecture, history, and contemporary issues facing integration of indigenous peoples left us with so many questions -- a hallmark, we feel, of moving beyond 'tourist' to authentic experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sunrise over Lake Titicaca with floating islands... we felt we were seeing the birth of the world. Experiencing Machu Picchu in misty rain and bright sunlight on the same day. Arriving by tram as we soared over La Paz. Chulpas of Sullistani in Puno -- an optional trip not to be missed.

review_img

frankiec

barJust when you think Tauck can't raise the bar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Every time we return from a Tauck tour we make the mistake of thinking that you can’t raise the bar any higher. Then we meet our Tauck Director in Lima and all bets are off. He made this tour come alive for all of us. At our farewell dinner we all hugged and made promises of future trips. We believe our Tauck Director made that happen for us

Most Memorable Moment:

Trekking to Machu Picchu. Being in the "City in the Clouds" is a breathtaking experience (literally and physically). But it's impossible to quantify "a most"; La Paz, could be Southern California. Lake Titicaca and the man made islands? Cusco, the most colonial of Spanish conquest cities? There was no most; they were all "mosts"!

review_img

Susie Q

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The trip was absolutely amazing! This was our third Tauck tour and after each one, I come home so thrilled and fulfilled and convinced that there is no other way to travel but with Tauck. The sights were indescribable, our fellow travelers were wonderful, the itinerary was perfect, the hotels were awesome, the food was delicious, etc., etc., etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really can't identify just one...way too difficult!! If I had to choose 2 at the top of my list I would have to say our trip up to Machu Picchu which was beyond breathtaking to say the least and then our trip to Lake Titicaca to visit the Aymara people of the floating Uros islands and Taquile Island to visit with the Quecha people.

review_img

Glenda E

Fantastic Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The whole trip was better than expected and I expected a lot. From Lima to La Paz I wouldn't change a thing. Macuh Picchu, Lake Titicaca, and the Altiplano and everywhere in between, it was magnificent to see.I had reservations about La Paz but really enjoyed the day we were there from the cable cars, museum, and dinner at Gustu.

Most Memorable Moment:

One thing doesn't stand out. It was just seeing and being in the Andes and seeing how the people lived there.

review_img

Darlene D

Empire of the Incas: Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was our 9th trip with Tauck. All of have been fabulous and this one completely exceeded our ( already high) expectations. So many unique experiences and learning opportunities, in addition to wonderful food and hotels. Our tour director was wonderful and added several "surprises" which enhanced the overall trip experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

1) Exploring Machu Picchu in the early morning mist was magical and 2) learning about the history and culture of the Aymaran people while visiting the island of Taquille on Lake Titicaca. Also noteworthy was the fabulous farewell dinner at a culinary institute in La Paz.

review_img

Lisa_C

Emotional and Educational

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Machu Picchu is moving beyond measure -- worth every minute and any bit of illness. I wish there had been more time there. The tour director/local guides ensured things ran smoothly and were deeply knowledgeable. But when loneliness got to me and I asked to come home early, Tauck travel was disappointingly unable to rebook my flight.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu.

review_img

RhondaG

Machu Picchu or Bust 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

A "Bucket List" trip that was a great success. Enjoyed the smaller group (23) and our tour Guide was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley and although seeing Lake Titicaca was interesting we could have skipped the extra 5 days of the trip to see that and La Paz. Altitude was an issue for the extra days.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu by far was the greatest part as that is what we really wanted to see. Incredible place and worth the altitude issues to experience it. Tauck did its part to ensure we had a safe and pleasant trip.

review_img

garacdad

Seeing these sights is no walk in the park

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This journey was no walk in the park. If you want a "trip" rather than a "vacation," you want every minute of your day planned for you, you do not mind using trash receptacles for toilet paper disposal, and do not get upset when you find breathing difficult at high altitudes, then this is the tour for you!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting indigenous people of Lake Titicaca.

review_img

SherryB

Fantastic Adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Just returned a few days ago from a trip that checked off many item on my "bucket list". As other reviewers have said, it was more of an expedition than an easy going vacation - because of the careful planning of our tour director, we were able to do many more climbs than we thought we could - incredibly memorable!

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu was just like the National Geographic magazine I remember as a child... and Lake Titicaca and La Paz were an unexpected joy! We are so happy we took this trip!

review_img

madhavmarathe

Nice tour but watch out for altitude sickness

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Overall, the trip was very nice. Hotels in Lima, Cusco and La Paz were really great. Hotel in Machu Picchu crossed the line between rustic and awful. Other hotels were good. The local tour guides were excellent, especially the one in Cusco. Be prepared for altitude sickness and assume that you will get it. 10 hour train ride got boring.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking over the expanse of Machu Picchu. Floating islands in Lake Titicaca. Walking along the cliff near our hotel in Lima. View of La Paz from El Alto. The monastario hotel in Cusco.

review_img

Nica

Peru-Boliva: Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

A real adventure, a must on your bucket list! It definitely as not an easy trip as you travel by plane, train, bus and boat but everything was handled perfectly by our tour director. This is the type of trip that you cannot plan on your own, it's logistically challenging and you're better off letting the professionals handle it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu, of course, was absolutely stunning, such a beautiful site and so spiritual... I also loved the train rides, the views were spectacular. The floating islands of Lake Tititaca, amazing and the people, just wonderful!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time in this fabulous destination! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

StephenG

Awesome Trip - Be Aware

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Truly magnificent scenes at Machu Picchu, Ollantaytambo, Sacsayhuaman, Sillustani, Lake Titicaca and others. Fortunately, had good weather early in May. Truly knowledgeable, highly competent and most considerate tour director. But take seriously the issues of high altitude and strenuous physical activity exploring the sites.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from the Hitching Post of the Sun at Machu Picchu.

review_img

James M

Empire of the Incas - April 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Very good trip, lots of wonderful scenery, people and food. The tour group participants were also a good bunch - as usual with the Tauck trips. But the trip was exhausting. It was not the climbing so much as the very busy schedule - early wake-ups and late dinners. I suspect the altitude also played a role.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu of course. But the visit to the Uros people on the man-made floating island Apu Inti on Lake Titicaca was certainly a highlight. Hundreds of pictures to go through and lots of memories.

review_img

Kentucky woman

Perfect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Hotel and setting in Lima is spectacular. Be in good shape to accomplish the walks. Memorable trip for certain.

review_img

cveve

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The trip to Machu Picchu was a most desired trip and it didnt disappoint me. However, the tour guides Tauck used for this particular excursion were not prepared to handle a mature group of people. The guides were very knowledgeable in the history of the place, but exited the group through a steep shortcut which was hazardous for the aging group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Pichu

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall trip and returned with some truly memorable moments. Our guests safety is our highest priority so your comments regarding your visit to Machu Picchu will followed up by management. Thank you for traveling with Tauck and we do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Maritime

Metaphysics it ain't

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We began in Lima and ended in La Paz. Several times, we were subjected to involuntary socio-political lectures. The visit to Carlos Luna's home was plain "lunacy!" Try making the trip apolitical and secular.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu

review_img

Orion49

Tauck excels again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We were impressed with the quality of hotels. The guides were very informative and supplied a lot of historical background and cultural insights on the Inca Empire. The meals were very good, offering a wide range of foods. Our Director was well-organized and took great care of us. The various forms of transportation added to the fun of travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in the midst of the Andes was most impressive and Machu Picchu was the icing on the cake. At the end of our tour there, everyone had left and we enjoyed an uncluttered, gorgeous view of the entire area.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for providing your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your tour!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

billzappa

Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was a trip we had long researched and wanted to do, and prepared for it by reading and watching DVDs. As always, Tauck did a fantastic job, and made great allowances for those who tired easily from the altitude, as some did at Machu Picchu. Some, including my wife, did have some GI problems, but we're all glad we went.

Most Memorable Moment:

No question Machu Picchu is tops--that's the main reason for going. However, all the other stops were great, from sites in Lima to Cusco to La Paz. At one point, the local guides provided by Tauck stayed with us several days, which was a great plus. The history of the Incas as well as what happened after the Spanish conquest is one all should know.

review_img

Thomas Thomsen

Empire of the Incas in October

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Loved Tauck's attention to detail. We had a wonderful guide (Joeri Happel), marvelous accommodations and food. We felt like the time and cost to go to Bolivia was not worth the expense and effort and was crammed in. It would have been better to offer it as a post trip option.

Most Memorable Moment:

Macchu Picchu and the Inkaterra Hotel

review_img

ECTravel

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Seeing Machu Picchu was definitely on my "bucket list." Glad I finally visited this interesting historical part of the world. However, very strenuous trip and the altitude definitely made enjoying this trip 100% difficult.

Most Memorable Moment:

Obviously, seeing Machu Picchu and Ollantaytambo. Our local guide was excellent. She made the history come to life.

review_img

Shadyside

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This is our third trip with Tauck and I rated it as another wonderful Tauck trip. We had the opportunity to become familiar with another civilization and another part of the great world we live in. Like all the other Tauck tours it was very organized, Joeri, our Tour Director was very organized and took time to explain each day's agenda.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing up to the Valley of the Moon in LePas and visiting the Reed Island as well as Sun and Taquil Islands - we felt as we were in another world. We were familiar with so many photos of Machu Picchu and being there it was more beautiful. After each tiring day it was wonderful to return to the best hotels available - the best being the Monesterio.

review_img

Steven Scalco

Everything including exhausting

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

My wife and I just returned from the Peru-Bolivia Inca trip.This was our 6th Tauck trip.This is a great trip but probably one of the most exhausting with significant travel on planes ,coaches and boats as well as uneven walking. The highlight is Macchu Picchu but Lake Titicaca is not far behind.I would recommend highly.Email if any questions

review_img

Tawny77

Peru-Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our experience on this trip rates near the top. Our TD, Matt was first rate. His attention to detail and genuine concern for the group made the trip even more enjoyable. The various guides were knowledgeable and in many cases entertaining. Changes: Have Tauck pay for Visas to Bolivia and add to trip payment. Libertador-as bad as it gets!

Most Memorable Moment:

While there were many highlights, the obvious Machu Picchu and the reed islands will stand in our memory banks for years.

review_img

Baby Bear

Empire of the Incas (Peru and Bolivia)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This "adventure" (and not a vacation, as stated by Marcos Soto, our tour director) was one of our best Tauck trips. Seeing the Inca and pre-Inca civilizations were the special highlights of this tour and the elevations of these places. Of course, Marcos did a fantastic job during this tour and deserves all the credit!! Wayne and Susie

Most Memorable Moment:

Going Machu Piccchu and seeing Waynapicchu after taking a short hike from the entrance was something we will never forget. And trekking up Ollantaytambo and hydro-foiling thru Lake Titikaka and seeing La Paz added even more to this "adventure".

review_img

swarna perera

peru and bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

FANTASTIC, ALL OF IT.... CHANGE OF SCENERY, DIFFERENT MODES OF TRANSPORTATION, PLANE, BOAT, HYDROFOIL AND TRAIN WAS FASCINATING.. TRAIN JOURNEY THROUGH THE ANDES THOUGH LONG WAS SUPER WITH LOTS OF GREAT SCENERY AND PERUVIAN ENTERTAINMENT AND ALSO VERY GOOD FOOD ,SUPER SERVICE..TOUR GUIDE MARCOS WAS EXCELLENT. GREAT HOTELS. A MUST DO TRIP

Most Memorable Moment:

MACHU PICHU AND VIEW OF LA PAZ FROM VIEWPOINT. ALSO THE TRAIN JOURNEY... ISLANDS AND PEOPLE OF LAKE TITICACA WAS FASCINATING.. LIMA AND CUSCO MAIN SQUARES WERE BEAUTIFUL..

review_img

Jbwftsmith

Expect Quality

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

My wife and I took our 5th Tauck trip to Peru and Machu Picchu this year. Tauck has consistently exceeded our expectations on every trip we have taken with them. This trip was an immersion in history, culture, and life in the ancient world. The different foods were an exciting experiment to our tastes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt after seeing Machu Picchu during the day and then rising early the next morning to go back to the top and watch the sun rise above the mountain peaks. Majestic, magical, and inspiring.

review_img

ellikarp

Tauck is tops- Peru-Bolivia trip june/july 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

this was our first experience with Tauck, but it will certainly not be our last- From our arrival in Lima to our departure from La Paz, every detail was covered by our tour director, Jean Roch- and we were taken care of beautifully- our guides in each city were delightful and so well informed- Loved every minute of this trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing Machu Picchu

review_img

fanpal

Beautiful Norway

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This trip is all about Norway, which I think is one of the most beautiful countries in the world. We only spent two days each in Sweden and Denmark so you don't really see much about those two countries. Tauck did a good job of mixing different modes of transportation. Hotel locations are good but some of the qualities are below Tauck standard.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walked up to the Briksdal Glacier, skipped the troll car and walked all the way down.

review_img

Pictureman1

Beyond Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Our trip was more arduous than expected, but not beyond our capabilities. Effects of thin air at high altitudes vary with each person, but common signs were shortness of breath and elevated heart rate. Common sense and pacing yourself are key to enjoying this tour. It was well-worth it at every level, no pun intended!

Most Memorable Moment:

Going Bach to Machu Picchu in the morning the second day to see the mist rising from the valleys and the clouds covering the mountain tops. The light and mood changed by the minute. It was truly a spiritual experience.

review_img

Mamacita

Unforgettable..........

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

MP was on my "bucket list" and going with Tauck was the best decision made. The tour director managed 32 of us with humor and aplomb. Accommodations were first class. Unfortunately, I was the victim of a bus incident but I thank my lucky stars I bought the travel insurance through Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having all my fellow travel mates wishing me well and back to good health. They were the best!

review_img

HWorthington

Fun time in Peru and Bolivia!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

I had so much fun on my recent Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia trip! Great co-travelers, no whiners, and a fabulous smart, funny tour director! The accomodations were first rate and the food was amazing! I met some folks I will stay in touch with for sure!

Most Memorable Moment:

Buying a handknit sweater from a little girl in traditional Andean dress at more than 14,000 feet altitude out in the middle of the mountains and seeing the glee on her face when we agreed to the price!

review_img

MRennels

Peru/Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

Amazing sights. Fascinating cultures. Outstanding food in Lima. The phenominal planning and attention to detail by Tauck allowed me to relax and let the tour director worry for me. The group was warm and welcoming, so going as a "single" was not a problem.

Most Memorable Moment:

The floating reed islands on Lake Titicacca.

review_img

leemacp

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia 25 Oct.-6 Nov. 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

What a super trip and most compatible group, & in 12 days became really fast friends. Hotels, meals & itinerary; a fast pace that was so comprehensive; more than expected! Jean-Roc, Tauck escort, couldn't have been more considerate and attentive whenever needed. I don't think there were any problems that arose of if so, handled discretely.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was really the most strenuous trip I've ever been on and at 85 yrs. of age, and the oldest of the group, I feel very proud of my accomplishments in climbing, walking "miles," and participating where some of the younger people didn't. It was indeed a challenge that I am sooo proud to have been a part......and survived! ;-)

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mo

Empire of the Incas: Peru and Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

A challenging and worthwhile travel experience. Our tour director and guides were all excellent. We enjoyed many fun surprises along the way...especially our last night in La Paz. Thank you Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu...exceeded our expectations which were high. We would have enjoyed one more night in Aquas Calientes where the hotel was truly lovely.

review_img

Larry L

WOW!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our Tour Director, Wendy Rodriguez,was amazing. She took care of the smallest details. All we had to do was enjoy the tour. Local guides were great. Hotel accommodations were first class. On tour transportation was well coordinated and comfortable. Saw both city and country lifestyles in Peru and Bolivia.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu had to be the highlight.

review_img

RBriggs

Incas and beyoud

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Great trip!Great food in Lima!Ollantaytambo was a real eye opener..For me, This trip Developed a hook for me to hang all the wonderful Inca history that was provided.Loved the train excursions (good service and good fun)The waterpeople at Titicaca Lake were amazing!Nice finish at La Paz.

Most Memorable Moment:

Macchu piichu Of Course.

review_img

debutante dixie

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

What a wonderful trip! Outstanding weather, enthusiastic tour director, comfortable hotels, and the opportunity to experience different cultures amid gorgeous scenery.....this tour had it all. Train, boat, plane,,,,every mode of transportation handled so smoothly. We came home with exciting stories and memories to last a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking among the ruins of Machu Picchu and lunch atop a cliff on Sun Island, Bolivia.

review_img

LBaxley

Empire of the Incas - Wonderful vacation thanks to Tauck!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Machu Picchu had long ago made our "bucket list" and Tauck had an itinerary that just fit our goals. As newbies to Tauck, we had no idea how wonderful this trip would be because of an extremely capable and enjoyable Tour Director (Marcos Soto) and local Tour Guides in each of the regions, as well as Tauck's special trip components.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing to top of Machu Picchu was the expected and clearly memorable moment - the surprise to us was the degree to which we learned about and enjoyed the immersion into the Andean/Inca history and current culture we experienced. Fell in love with the people and the stories that our guides and TD used to inform us along the way.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and that you experienced so many memorble moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KathrynH

This isn't a tour, it's an adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

For the physically-fit adventure seeker, this is it. There's time to climb Macchu Pichu's sister peak, visit natives, and admire the resourcefulness of the sherpas who actually carry the luggage along the Inca Trail. Be forewarned about the coca tea, coca candy, and other accommodations to the climate. I was given oxygen before I knew I needed it!

Most Memorable Moment:

The three Inca sites were very impressive. The Uros people on Lake Titicaca are very sweet. We loved the parade up to the feasting hut on Taquile Island. It was all very exotic.

review_img

Ron Henry

A Travel High

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

As always, Tauck exceeds expectations relative to carefree touring and seeing the best the countries has to offer. All you have to do is have your luggage outside of your 5-Star hotel room at the appointed time and Tauck takes care of the rest. Lima, Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, and La Paz were wonderful to see.

Most Memorable Moment:

Even after a very long travel day, driving over the "eyebrow" and looking down upon the vast metropolis of La Paz in the valley. This was the best moment just behind the entire tour group singing happy birthday to my lovely wife on top at Machu Picchu.

review_img

EvLip

Education in Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Empire of the Incas: Peru & Bolivia was the most educational trip that we experienced with our TAUCK travels. Machu Picchu, the Andes, Lake Titicaca are all beautiful and heart warming. Possibly La Paz in Bolivia slowed down our trip to a crawl with traffic and people but glad we saw another way of life.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing Machu Picchu and Lake Titicaca.

review_img

skipm

Awesome Andes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Spectacular high points are well spaced among ordinary church and museum visits. Long travel days by train, boat and bus grew tedious toward the end of the tour. Hotels were excellent and varied, but the hotel food was plain. Andean cooking favors bland potatoes and over-cooked meats. Lunches were the best. Tour director Marcos was exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Reaching the guard house at the top of Machu Picchu followed by the floating islands of Lake Titicaca, the fortress at Ollantaytambo, the "chullpas" at Sillustani, and the "valley of the moon" at La Paz. While impressive for 20 minutes, the Nazca lines trip is a very long day.

TAUCK RESPONSE

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Nova2003

First Visit to Machu Picchu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

The Empire of the Incas trip was well planned. All of our events were held on time and tickets to any event were provided just as we arrived to the venue. Our tour director was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Definitely Machu Picchu, which is the reason many embark on this trip. It was everything I had expected and then more.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Msdiver

Peru - Land of panorama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was our first small group experience and it was most enjoyable. The food, hotels and vistas throughout Peru were absolutely breathtaking (as was the altitude). The weather was ideal, the Tauck Director was absolutely fabulous, and we saw all the sites with some extra thrown in. I was not as prepared for the arid climate. Take chapstick.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu and Ollantaytambo great wonders of construction.

review_img

Susan J.

Machu Picchu and MORE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Our trip was organized to help us adjust to high altitudes while keeping the historical significance of this beautiful area in perspective. Traveling by plane, train, boat, and motorcoach enabled us to enjoy the scenery even more. Every day was a new adventure, with beautiful sights that took our breath away.

Most Memorable Moment:

So difficult to choose just one! We really enjoyed a wonderful traditional lunch overlooking Lake Titicaca on a picture-perfect day.

review_img

barbdc

Magical trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was my first Tauck tour, but definitely won't be my last. Pictures don't do Machu Picchu justice and the weather couldn't have been better. We all were concerned about the altitude, but our tour guide, Tina, was fabulous and reassuring. Both Machu Picchu and a Tauck tour need to be on everyone's bucket list.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Machu Picchu for the first time. How spectacular.

review_img

Jorge

I'm a believer in Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Although I've been on cruises and attended many lavish corporate events this was my first land tour ever. Tauck exceeded all expectations. Tour Director Tina made the experience a seamless extremely enjoyable experience. Kudos.

Most Memorable Moment:

First view of Machu Picchu.

review_img

paulski

Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

It was a first class experience. It was extremely well organized and managed. The tour director and guides were excellent to outstanding. Although we covered a lot of ground in a short period of time, we were never rushed and had ample "down time" opportunities to catch our breath. When the trip ended, we truly felt we had experienced Peru.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but reaching the guard house at the summit of Machu Picchu and taking in the scope of the ruins was the highlight of the trip.

review_img

DPBarker

An Epic Journey Into the Past of the Andean Peoples!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Empire of the Incas was a fun, but exhausting trip. It is not for the faint of heart. If you have any knee or walking issues, this trip is NOT for you as there's a lot of climbing uneven steps and inclined pathways. Whitney - our Tauck Director- was magnificent, and all of our local guides esp. Alli from Cusco was fabulous and knowledgeable!

Most Memorable Moment:

Macchu Pichu was, of course, the highlight of the trip. It was spectacular! Words can not do it justice being there, but, of course, every part of this tour was exciting and thrilling from spending time in the Sacred Valley to traveling across Lake Titicaca. Each day held surprises. And, the hotels were fabulous and unique also esp. Monestorio.

review_img

scarterdesign@aol.com

Empire of the Incas - Peru and Bolivia

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

It was a wonderful experience in two amazing countries. Peru is glorious and Machu Picchu breathtaking. Inkterra Hotel magical. Tauck and our Tour Director Whitney - exceptional! I recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu

review_img

sandy swanson

Empire of the Inca's

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This trip is so exhausting, every day up at the crack of dawn bags outside, etc. Many were sick with altitude sickness but most of us were just plain exhausted. Perhaps a days rest here and there is most needed.

Most Memorable Moment:

When the heaven's opened up on Macchu Picchu and we felt our lives in danger just trying to get off that mountain.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Balancing the itinerary and tours’ pace is an on-going process for us at Tauck, and a challenge we welcome with open arms. We therefore appreciate candid feedback such as yours, as it allows us to fine tune our tours and keep our guests satisfied. Nevertheless we hope that you enjoyed this tour, and hope to have the privilege of hosting you again soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ausnewji

Great Tour, But Not For Everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This tour was one of the most memorable we have taken. Tauck did it's usual fine job in exposing you to and immersing you in the the local culture, cuisine, and history, and boy, was it exciting! As with any tour in this part of the world, there was plenty of opportunity for things to go wrong, but nothing ever did. However, this was the most physically-demanding tour we've ever taken. If you're not in good shape and can't cope with altitude sickness, better find another tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Had to be our first view of Machu Pichu. To finally view one of the wonders of the world with our own eyes after many years.

review_img

Stuart Daniels

grueling but rewarding

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Sites were magnificent. strenuous step climbing in high altitude. Diamox pills helped a lot. Lot of travel between sites, but worth it. Skip Nazca lines option.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting floating islands on Lake Titicaca.

review_img

Mike Swires

Thoughts on our tour of Peru and Bolivia in mid-October 2011

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Excellent Tour Director (Ronny Mena). Very good local guides throughout. Great hotels, especially Monasterio in Cusco. Excellent dinners, lunches, and breakfast buffets. Excursion to Nasca lines was a long day, but worth the long bus ride (eight hours total). Train ride from Cusco to Puno was also a long day (10 hours on the train), but scenic and entertaining. Our group was too large (38), but everyone was nice, and punctual. Enjoyed the visit to Pablo Seminario's ceramic workshop in Urubamba.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing at the top of Machu Picchu. Also: visiting the Uros' floating islands in Lake Titicaca.

review_img

Jorge Caballero

Empire of the Incas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

The best of our experience was the special treatment that our tour guide director Mr.Ronny Mena gave us and of course the trip which was, as Ronny said, more an adventure than anything else. Again this is the 3rd time with Tauck and besides the organization of the tours itself it is the quality of the tours guides which makes a difference.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Pichu and Titicaca Lake.

review_img

Bill Scollard

Peru & Bolivia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

It was a great trip. The tour director, Marcos, and the tour guides were excellent. Of course, the hotels and meals were the best. And, fortunately, the other tour guests were very comfortable people. Only two minor suggestions: 1 - We had free time in La Paz, but our hotel wasn't near any shopping or points of interest. If there is one, you might select a hotel near something. 2 - When moving about with the tour guides, it is sometimes difficult to hear the commentary - due to crowds

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button