TravelerReviews

Essence of South America

review_img

Bill Blessing

Tauck's Experience and Taste Shows

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Great survey of South South American highlights, featuring top hotels and restaurants. But more time was spent in transit and dining than actual site-seeing and events, which were well-curated.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing Andes via three lakes was beautiful, viewing snow-capped volcanos and condors before arriving at lovely Llao Llao Resort.

review_img

California Aviator

Outstanding tour of some of the great locations in South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was the third Tauck Tour my wife and I have taken. The prior tours were in Tanzania/Kenya and China. Our South American tour was excellent in all respects. We are left with great lifetime memories of our first trip to South America. Our Tauck Tour Director did an outstanding job all along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Travel through the Patagonia region and visits to many great sites, including Iguazú Falls, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro were among the highlights. Viewed from above, Rio has to be one of the most beautiful cities in the world.

review_img

Marsh NJ

Beautiful South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

We visited places that we never thought we’d visit - Santiago, Chile, Patagonia, Iguazu Falls and stayed at some beautiful hotels. We saw scenery that was unbelievable, we had a wonderful tour director, and wonderful guides in each location.

Most Memorable Moment:

Upon the recommendation of friends, we joined some of our fellow travelers on the boat ride up to the falls at the Argentine side of the Iguazu Falls. This was not part of our tour but we loved it. Crossing the Andes by sailing through the lakes was also very special.

review_img

MichaelLang

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This was our very first Tauck trip, but it will not be our last!! This particular tour gave my wife and myself a wonderful insight into the many aspects of the three South American countries visited. The tour was very well organized and the tour director was first class. We had seamless transfers between planes, motor coaches and boats. Thanks

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls. Prior to this our favourite place was Machu Picchu, but the falls were even more spectacular

review_img

MarshaYorinks

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Loved the itinerary, the food, our guide and MOST of the accommodations. The Alvear Palace was not up to the standards we expect from Tauck. The decor was tired, as though it needed serious updating. Also, and maybe more importantly, the service was disorganized and agonizingly slow.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose between Llao Llao and Iguazu Falls. Loved them both.

review_img

JLE

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Trip started out slow in Santiago--I would rather have stayed only one night there--but quickly picked up the pace and activity level. Most of the hotels were lovely and almost all events were memorable. The tour guide handled everything perfectly- no glitches along the way. Our fellow travelers all got along perfectly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls is magnificent and not to be missed. The Samba excursion was so much fun and an unexpected highlight of the trip.

review_img

btoohill

Highlights of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

It was the perfect combination of cities: Santiago, Buenos Aires, and Rio plus some spectacular natural sites including the lake district in Chile and Argentina and the breathtaking Iguazu Falls from both Argentina and Brazil. The trip across the Andes by buses and boats was a highlight as well. The hotels were the usual Tauck quality.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Iguazu Falls and crossing the Andes.

review_img

LMurdick

In the top 5

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

We have been on 12 Tauck vacations and this was by far one of the best. Definitely in the top 5. Went to big cities and small villages which made the experience complete. Food was delicious and plentiful and the local guides were full of knowledge about their city and more than willing to answer any questions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was Iguazu Falls. Unbelievable nature experience! Seeing it from both Argentina and Brazil was so impressive. And the butterflies!!

review_img

WilliamPowell

Essence of South America Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Well organized. We had a very good Tauck Director. Hotels were wonderful. Surprised that San Cristobal was not included, or at least encouraged while in Santiago. Chartered flights, like in Australia/New Zealand, would have been a huge help. While at Iguazu Falls needed opportunities to dry clothes. Tauck does so much to make trip wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Iguaza Falls, Christ the Redeemer, and Sugar Loaf Mountain. Lao Lao hotel and Resort was outstanding.

review_img

mimigrossman

Fantastico!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Having traveled with Tauck on 5 previous trips, I knew we were going to be in for a treat. Tauck never disappoints. The "Essence of South America" was the perfect introduction for our first SA trip. From visiting Chile, to crossing the Andes(truly remarkable!), to seeing Argentina and Brazil,this trip combines amazing cities and natural beauty.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls was incredible and we got to view them from both Argentina and Brazil. Having been to South Africa the year before with Tauck and seen Victoria Falls, we never thought we could duplicate those. But, Iguazu was truly spectacular.

review_img

Mary Orr

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Wonderful sampling of a beautiful continent. We had a very congenial group with a tour guide that meshed us all together.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three visits were unforgettable. Llao Llao resort set in incredible beauty, Christ the Reedemer awe inspiring, and Iguazu falls showcasing nature's power.

review_img

Shelley Ketchum Dickerson

Another Tauck Trip of a Lifetime

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

From beginning to end, I continued to marvel at the sights, the culture, the history. Our local guides were phenomenal as was our Tour Director. The hotels were fabulous and the itinerary was jam packed and most days were long, but very organized and enjoyable. I marvel at the fact that we experienced three countries and had perfect weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, but crossing the Andes by boat and bus was awesome. Iguazu Falls, Christ the Redeemer and the Llao Lloa Resort! Seven of us took the optional boat ride at the Falls and it was a soaker but I have never laughed and smiled so much in my life! We had the most magical group of people and a reunion trip is not out of the question.

review_img

Darlened

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Essence of South America was the best vacation we have ever taken. It was absolutely spectacular. We loved the hotels and the little places we saw on the side such as the wine country the horses with dessert outside. The German restaurant on the way. The hotels in Bariloche and Buenos Aires were fabulous!!! I loved our tour group that we traveled with. They really helped make the tour great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the catamarans across the lakes

review_img

Vonnie

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This was no ordinary trip it was an adventure! I have been home for four days and I am still looking at photos and going over memories and am sure I will be doing that for some time. We visited three countries, Chile, Argentina and Brazil, all very different with so much to see and do and I feel that we did it all.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, seeing and experiencing Iguazu Falls and the jungle surrounding the Falls. Taking a boat down the Iguazu River and into the spray of the Falls. Also Rio de Janiero, being at the top of Sugarloaf mountain and Corcovado seeing the statue do Christ the Redeemer. Not to be forgotten, walking and swimming on Copocabana beach

review_img

lrwcma

Interesting and Well Paced Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This tour covered a lot of ground at a very manageable pace. I felt like we got a great overview and comparison of 3 geographically close, but very different countries. The local tours were great, and there was opportunity to explore and dine on your own which we enjoyed. The Tour director was fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Carnival School in Rio was the most interesting experience - the shear scale of the effort and the obvious enthusiasm were amazing.

review_img

mazalea

A Bus to a Boat to a Bus to a Boat ~ in the Andes!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

We never expected that crossing the Andes would happen this way, and it was wonderful to experience the white capped mountain peaks alongside clear lakes. WE absolutely loved Bariloche's beauty, and the exhilaration of seeing Iguaczu Falls. Splendid accommodations and terrific guides, orchestrated by our multilingual Tauck Director, one of the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

A downpour of rain at Iguaczu for one day left us soaked, but was actually quite good and timely as it allowed us to really experience the rainforest and its powerful waters. Second place? Samba school in Rio, or maybe the tango in Buenos Aires?

review_img

Malik

South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Trip of a lifetime! Well organized. very helpful and knowledgeable tour director and local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

behind the scenes carnival production tour in Rio.

review_img

jantee

good time had by all

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Fabulous first experience with solo travel. Would definitely repeat the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was being soaked to the skin and freezing for two hours on the boat trip at Iguazu Falls. It was pouring rain before and after the boat, so we got double soaked. Took me over an hour in a hot shower and a hot bath to warm up. Things like that happen, but that's what makes travel memorable.

review_img

dholtz

The best of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

One of our best. Some of the hotels, although 5 star rated, were a bit dated and needed freshening. Tauck did an outstanding job getting us from one location to another. No time was wasted and they maximized our time. Our biggest complaint was there was to much food. Just can't do those BIG lunches followed by BIG dinners, not the worse problem.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment would be difficult to describe since each country gave us so many more memories to store in our data banks. Thus the reason S A will continue to be one of our best trips ever!

review_img

701 Mission Creek Drive

Essence of South America September 2016

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Essence of South America was a great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The snow capped Andes, the volcanoes, Llao Llao Hioel and Resort was fabulous and the free day was a treat. Rio was great..Christ the Redeemer, the trip up to Sugarloaf and the room with a view of Copacabana Beach. It was a wonderful mix of countries.

review_img

SanAntonioVO

Fun; Stimulating

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Better than advertised. Stunning scenery. Hotels were particularly enjoyable; tour director was outstanding. Bariloche was a fun time, as was meeting our fellow travelers. From the horses after lunch the ranch to trading stories with new friends over a glass of wine, there was no lack of action.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguassu!

review_img

Dr John Matthews

Essence of South America

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our first trip with Tauck although we have done a considerable amount of travelling by all modes.We found the care and organisation during the tour was exceptional and the guides in most cases excellent.Our Tour Director was outstanding and very genuine and caring. The pre tour documentation did not seem to pass on as expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many but Llao Llao/Baraloche scenery and the Iguazu falls are certainly memorable

review_img

heywood

Wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

First Tauck trip we have ever taken. If foreign travel make you nervous Tauck makes it a worry free and a hassle free experience. Best tour director. Best Hotels. Best locations. Organized and on time. GREAT way to see the world. We would strongly recommend this tour to those wanting to explore South America.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls! Incredible sight to see!

review_img

sabinenharris

South America was a super highlight!!!! 2 thumbs way up!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

South America was on my list, and I am so glad I booked this wonderful tour. Our tour director was so wonderful, and made sure every little detail was taken care of. Love, love, loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stunning view we had at the Llao Llao resort. Oh, wait, and the pilot flying over Iguazu Falls just so we could see it from each side of the plane. I am sure our tour director had something to do with this.

review_img

painterjohn

first timer

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

For the most part the tour was very good, however, this being our first Tauck tour we expected a higher level experience. Tour director excellent. Tour lacked cultural content and optional experiences. Transportation very well done except on arrival we had to walk/carry luggage to a bus far from the terminal.Food/hotels were off/on inconsistent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Igacu falls by far the best. Rio hotel and tours not that great. POrt Montt /Brialoche transition was beautiful but drawn out.LLAO LLAO very nice.

review_img

Linda Wanosky

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Tauck did a fantastic job with the organizational aspect of our trip which included 4 intracontinental flights, bus & boat transportation. The location of our accommodations was fabulous, although many of the hotels were not top notch. Our tour director was extremely knowledgable, very personable and did a terrific job. Our local guides were good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the view from our balcony in Llao Llao.

review_img

ezlivin

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

The trip was interesting and fun, excellent hotels, great food and entertainment and was led by outstanding guides and tour director. This is our third Tauck trip and have not been disappointed yet!

Most Memorable Moment:

The majesty of Iguazu Falls was beyond our expectations. This natural wonder should be on everyone's "bucket list"!

review_img

blukina

"How was your trip".....AMAZING

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Chili, Argentina, Brazil, Sauvignon Blanc, Malbec, Pisco Sour, local fish, great steak, delicious vegetables and fruits, dulce de leche, Tango, Samba, drum rolling, crossing the Andes via bus and boat, taking planes and trains. We were lucky to spend 2 weeks with 34 fun, patient and tolerant people. Can't wait to my next adventure with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is a difficult decision. I absolutely loved Patagonia the LLao LLao was by far my favorite hotel. Then there are the Iguazu Falls which are fierce, powerful and most of all breathtakingly beautiful; the thrill of the boat ride into the falls was a highlight, but so was swimming at Copacabana Beach. The entire trip is memorable.

review_img

lualb

ES 13-Our Tauck Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Incredible trip. First time on a tour so cannot compare but I cannot imagine any tour company being better.

Most Memorable Moment:

the entire adventure was memorable. All moments were interesting and fun.

review_img

LDR

Very Disappointing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Our tour guide was wonderful. The country is very dangerous for tourists. The poverty is rampant and my wife was assaulted and robbed outside the Miramar Hotel in Rio on the last day of our trip. There was too much time spent on travel from one country to another. Iguazu Falls was the most memorable and the hotels were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry about the unfortunate incident with your wife. Our Guest Relations Department will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

douglas smorag

South American fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

As always, Tauck does it right! Started a little slow in Santiago...the winery visit was too long and frankly, a little boring. But things really kicked into high gear the next day as we headed further South...across the Andes and into the spectacular Bariloche area . Wow...Llao Llao resort is a masterpiece. And Iguazu Falls was equally incredible

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu falls...one of the natural wonders of the world!

review_img

EPKP

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Our 6th Tauck trip delivered as promised. The 4 on-tour flights were managed seamlessly by our very capable Tour Director. Comfortable motorcoaches, knowledgeable local guides, and outstanding weather made for a wonderful trip. Our next trip with Tauck is already booked!

Most Memorable Moment:

Much was memorable-Iguazu Falls, Llao Llao Resort, Tango dinner show in Buenos Aires, but especially memorable was something not included on this tour but which 10 of us chose to experience because of the tour's timing: Rio's Carnival Samba Parade in the Sambadrome, for us a once in a lifetime opportunity.

review_img

Dr Jeff

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Overall we had a wonderful trip. Great tour guides, itinerary, and hotels (except for Sheraton at Iguazu). We have noticed that over the years and 16 Tauck tours that the food quality has slowly declined. That's not to say that all the breakfasts were quite substantial, but only two other meals were memorable, including our final dinner at Lasai .

Most Memorable Moment:

Having to abandon our bus in Rio when roads were closed due to pre Carnival street parties and forming a Conga line to get thru the crowds to reach our restaurant.

review_img

Cathyndoc

Fantastic taste of South America!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

This was our first Tauck trip and hopefully won't be our last. We did the Essence of South America. The hotels were outstanding, food superb, sights to die for, local guides were most friendly and informative and our Tour Director was the GREATEST!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The awe of Iguazu Falls needs to be seen to be appreciated.

review_img

John J.

Great Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Tauck again came on strong by providing exceptional value and a wonderful travel experience. Tour director was great - even under pressure - to ensure smooth and knowledgeable mechanics on an ambitious itinerary. E of SA's weakest moment is Puerto Montt/Varas, where Tauck needs to work harder to make it seem more than just a transit stop.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing through the Andes and lakes to Bariloche - breathtaking!

review_img

Hg

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

My wife and I enjoyed the trip, the Leader, and the group. It was very well organized very smooth going and great itinerary. This was our third vacation with Tauck and can not tell which one was better conducted than the other.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to Christ the Redeemer was the highlight and most memorable moment.

review_img

Joesph77

Beautiful Spring trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

We believe this itinerary covered as much territory as reasonable and comfortably possible in the time. The logistics with the hotels, luggage, and meals were very good. The hotels seemed to be, if the not the best, close to the best available. The tour director and most of the guides were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

We thoroughly enjoyed driving over the Andes and the beautiful lakes region. Two days at Iguazu falls was well worth it.

review_img

BobRosen

So America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Perfect weather, perfect itinerary, perfect tour director, flawless logistical execution......what more can one expect?

Most Memorable Moment:

O.K., so we experienced three really unique cultures and many, many "extras" such as a tango show w dinner and a visit to the site where preparations are underway for Carnaval in Rio, but.... the picture that will stay with us always was our Tauck Director singing "Chiquita Banana" on the coach afterward. Your best logistical planning couldn't imagine that.

review_img

Beowulf

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This trip provided some very real scenic highlights. However, the restaurants and hotels were average, at best, and our tour guide could be sarcastic and rude. He was often missing in action when we could have used him. We should have flown to Bariloche from Santiago and skipped the exhausting bus travel. Not Tauck's finest hour!

Most Memorable Moment:

Llao Llao, Iguazu Falls and outdoor lunch at winery outside Santiago. We had high expectations based on our previous Tauck trip to the Dalmatian Coast on Le Boreal. This fell far short in about every measurable way.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that this tour did not meet your expectations. We will address the issues you have raised, and we hope that you will consider travelling with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

carolgoode

Essence of South America could be shortened

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Enjoyed Bariloche, Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls and Rio de Janeiro but Santiago and Puerto Varas need to be dropped or have more enjoyable content. Brick Hotel In Buenos Aires was sub-par. Liao Liao i Bariloche and Caesar Park in Rio were wonderful. Our Tauck tour guide seemed to "do his job" but didn't seem to enjoy it or the people

Most Memorable Moment:

Chair lift in Bariloche, walk in BA Rose Garden, walks through Iguazu Falls, train ride to see Christ the Redeemer, and cruise in Rio bay. Had fabulous local guides in Bariloche, Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls and Rio. Learned to love Pisco Sours and Caipirinhas!

review_img

ashok46

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was our second Tauck tour. Our first was a trip to Ireland and Northern Ireland in 2014. Our trip to Ireland was an outstanding success. This tour was disappointment. Very poor choice of hotel (Hotel Beck) in Buenos Aires. The service, maintenance and quality was below average. Non caring Tour director. Vegetarian food was not planned ahead.

Most Memorable Moment:

Patagonia landscape with the resort hotel (Jau Jau) and Iguasi falls along with the Sheraton Hotel were the high lights of this tour.

review_img

Peter Stevenson-Moore

South American Spring

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Two languages, three countries, four flights, and numerous coach trips seemed at the outset to be a tall order. Tauck, in its customary manner, shepherded the group faultlessly through each transition. Seeing so much of so many new places in so short a period of time is challenging, and would not have been achieved without excellent local guidance.

Most Memorable Moment:

It would be easy to choose the moment at which we plunged under the waters of the Iguazu Falls as a highlight, which it was, amongst many others, but on a totally different plane, the visit to the Jewish Memorial in the Catholic Cathedral in Buenos Aires was particularly impactful.

review_img

Nmichael Grove

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Delivered everything promised + more. We had an excellent Tour Director who did all sorts of extra things to make our tour outstanding.

review_img

TRE

Beautiful Scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our trip: "The Essence of South America" was our first to this part of the world. From Chile to Argentina to Rio, the sights were magnificent and the local guides fabulous in giving us the understanding and history required to gain proper perspective. And, the Tour Director was perfect in handling the myriad logistical and administrative details.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls - both from the Argentinian and Brazil sides

review_img

DSalvo

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

While this trip is long at 14 days and it covers a huge amount of territory it is super! It is very comprehensive and seeing the different countries and cultures are great. Iguazu Falls are outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls and Rio. One is a natural wonder and the other is cultura.

review_img

cheelim

Sad

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Nature is magnificent. There is still receptionists staff continuing education needed for The Ritz, Santiago. Worst is Brick Hotel, Buenos Aires where water from faucet, toilet, bathtub and shower was brown. Nobody wants to use cross contamination

Most Memorable Moment:

Patagonia

review_img

KSchlecht

First time in South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

I chose this trip because I knew very little about South America and this trip seemed like a great way to experience an introduction to several countries and regions. I feel that I got exactly the experience I wanted. Bustling cities to incredible natural wonders. Great guides who made the whole trip flow smoothly and unique experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls is stunning. The tango lesson was so much fun and to get to say that I had a tango lesson in Argentina is such a unique experience. The Christ the Redeemer statue was on my "bucket list." Recoleta cemetery was the biggest surprise of the trip. I enjoyed a very relaxing day at Llao Llao. We met good people and made new friends.

review_img

Eileen and Russ

A lot of money for a little content

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

13 days of time resulted in a hugely disappointing amount of time wasted: long lunches (with nothing particularly interesting about the restaurants or most of the locations they, long "between time" - to get to a hotel to the do the next activity or to travel on a bus to a next stop that didn't have a lot of content. One day was NO content!

Most Memorable Moment:

the second day of the Iguazu Falls - the first day it stormed so hard we were freezing (told wouldn't need rain gear as it would be too hot!) and pelted with a downpour) Buenos Aires - beautiful

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you were disappointed with the South American journey. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team. Please know that we take all comments very seriously here at Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Wrennbird

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

I was disappointed we had so much time of doing nothing. In Santiago, why did we drive around looking at nothing special? Why did we stop at the underground museum other than to kill time? Why did we have a full day on our own while at Llao Llao Resort? The Bariloche area is known for its German-inspired architecture. Why didn't we see that?

Most Memorable Moment:

The scenery in the Bariloche area was great.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this trip fell below your expectations. Rest assured we will look into your comments immediately and will take any and all corrective actions to address this matter. Once again thank you for your patronage and we hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Denver

Bring a rain poncho and a fan!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

The trip starts out slowly in Santiago and builds to a memorable visit to a Carnivale workshop in Rio. The beauty of Bariloche and Iguazu Falls is unforgettable. Great local guides shared their knowledge about the cities they love. We used free time for special interests. Trip was an excellent introduction to these countries and we hope to return.

Most Memorable Moment:

the monsoon at the Argentine side of Iguazu Falls. A vacation is ideal when the weather is perfect, the travel arrangements go smoothly, your comrades are compatible and the food and hotels are as expected. The jab makes it memorable. The day started out smoothly. The Devil's trail (?) proved to be just that when the downpour hit. Bring a PONCHO!

review_img

Souerpow

Lots of Great Discoveries in Chile, Argentina, and Brazil

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Logistics, hotels, and restaurants were great. We had a repeat tour director who was terrific both times. Santiago is sophisticated, the lakes and mountains in Patagonia are breathtakingly beautiful, Iguazu is the place of a lifetime, Haupi NP is gorgeous, Buenos Aires has much to offer, and Rio was a good ending. Now I want to see more Patagonia!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to top all of the beauty at Iguazu from both the Argentina and Brazil sides of the Falls. That said, all travel is good travel and I always return with lots stuck in my travel memory. The views in Bariloche, the varied scenery in Rio, the various lunches at places steeped in history, the opera house, will all stick with me.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Glad you had such a wonderful time in South America. If you'd like to see more of Patagonia, we have a wonderful journey to Patagonia - http://www.tauck.com/tours/latin-america-travel/South-America-Travel/patagonia-travel-pt-2015.aspx

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

travlady

Better than expected...and I expected a lot!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

I liked the way this large group was handled: rooms pre-assigned, keys given out on the bus, no name tags(!), dining mostly at small tables when and with whom we wished. Absolutely no nickel and dime-ing such as charging for internet connection…all tips taken care of - stress-free! Beautifully balanced itinerary. The Tour Director was fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

The magnificent beauty of the Lake District.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so happy that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to having you on one of our future journeys!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

faraway places

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Our first Tauck trip was an absolute delight! Fabulous tour guide, excellent local guides, wonderful hotels and restaurants. The all-inclusive concept made every stop hassle-free...no thinking about tips; no optional tour expenses; excellent meals. We're sold on Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the awesome Iguassu Falls - both sides were breathtakingly beautiful. And the boatride under the falls was sensational!

review_img

geesue

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

If you are looking for a taste of South America, this trip is for you. Staring in Santiago, Chile surprised by how green and clean the city is to Bariloche, Argentina -one of the most beautiful places. Buenos Aires - a very walkable and interesting city and finally Rio - a very fun and beautiful city. Everything Tauck did was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many. Dressing up in costume and learning the Samba. Playing golf in Bariloche and getting soaked at Iguazi Falls.

review_img

rust

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Excellent itinerary with knowledgeable local guides. The guide in Buenos Aires was especially entertaining. The internal flights were chaotic but manageable. The emphasis on fine dining was for me unfortunate. I recognize that that is a draw for much of your clientele, so it is something I have to accept.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls and the Llao Llao Resort are memorable. We were helped in both places by wonderful weather, however. Less memorable were some of the hotels, a couple of which -- notably those in Buenos Aires and Rio --had service that was not up to Tauck standards.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this tour fell below expectations but very pleased you were able to enjoy some truly memorable moments. We do thank you for your patronage and hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Three Chord

Contrasts in the Southern Cone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

On an intellectual level I knew that Chile, Argentina and Brazil had very different histories, and their social/cultural milieu, reflected that, this tour really brought out those differences. While the pace of the trip has its demands one does get to experience three diverse countries and cities and see some beautiful scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls was probably the highlight for me but if I were to return to one city that would probably be Buenos Aires.

review_img

Pat and Sam

South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Our recent trip to South America was our 10th Tauck tour but our first time in South America. It far exceeded our expectations. Our tour director was [Employee Name] and she was exceptional. We ahve had outstanding tour directors on previous tours but she stands above the others. Each of our local guides was informative and knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls

review_img

Lynneesmond

The Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Our tour guide Susan with her constant smile and great humor light up our entire trip. Chile is a beautiful country and we loved the Llao Llao resort and Tango lesson in Bariloche area. The views were magnificent and Tango show in Buenos Aires great! Iguazu Falls not to be missed and Rio de Janeiro is so full of life. Loved Carnival/Samba. Great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many memorable moments to pick out only one. Loved Tango experience and Samba City! Also Iguazu Falls.

review_img

Roy G Saltman

Only Single Makes the Best of It

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

My trip had 21 guests; ten male/female couples and me. This situation was difficult. When there were voluntary meals out in the city, no one invited me to join them. Otherwise, the trip was interesting. I would have liked the opportunity to have the Southern Hemisphere night sky constellations explained; (different from Northern sky.)

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Iguazu Falls.

review_img

Harry D

essence of south america September 19 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our fourth and longest Tauck Trip. Overall it was excellent thanks especially to our Tauck Director. Our first time on the South American continent. Santiago was a very pleasant surprise. Buenos Aires and Rio more than lived up to their reputation. Too many transfers and internal flights. Consider eliminating Patagonia.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Rio Samba School was totally unexpected and lots of fun. I suppose overall the Iguazu Falls were just overwhelming.

review_img

bj

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Beautiful countries, and great local guides! Our tour director left a little to be desired. Just not up to what we have come to expect from Tauck. Enjoyed our tour mates, very good group. Food was not great but good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Snow in Cerro Campanario where the snow was so dense we were unable to see anything! And of course, our first view and sound of the Amazingly, Unbelievable Iguazu Falls. And who could forget the Tango Lessons. Walking on the Ipanema Beach. As always lots of good memories with Tauck Tours!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall tour but disappointed that some aspects fell below expectations. Rest assured that we will look into your comments and make any and all changes where necessary.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Crackeroo

An amazing two week adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Covered a good mix of all three countries. The four internal flights were tiring but made it possible to see all the various attractions. Hotels and food were good to great. Tour director, Gaston, was knowledgable and fun. Our travel companions made it special. I would suggest not starting the tour on a national holiday. Everything was closed.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great memories including crossing the Andes and Iguazu. Highlight was attending Mass at Christ the Redeemer.

review_img

Dancey

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The Essence of South America was far more than an "essence". It was an expansive experience. This trip was an unbelievable mix of people! Negative comments did not exist. The people on this trip were all ages, all professionals but most Important everyone, without exception was kind and caring. The Tour team was fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments! My favorite was the Iguazu Falls! Fabulous! I would love to see them again when they are clear without mud. The trip to view these falls was amazing! I saw toucans, racoons and funny monkeys! Great scenery along the path to the falls! The expanse of these falls is unbelievable!

review_img

mikipdx

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Fabulous trip with nice balance between activities and free times. Stunning vistas and opportunities to experience every city. Very attentive and caring tour director. Several fabulous meals and most of the hotels were first rate. My first Tauck trip and I will be a regular traveler with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the majesty and stunning beauty of Iguazu Falls in Argentina and Brazil.

review_img

BFallone

South American Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

As usual, Tauck is the consummate travel company. First rate tours, guides, accommodations and restaurants. The itinerary was perfect. I really would like to mention our tour guide. Jeff [Employee Name] is one of the most knowledgeable, caring and professional individuals I have come into contact with. What ever his salary is you should give him a raise.

review_img

MHirshman

Waiting to do it

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The Trip to South America was all that was expected. We had a surburb travel director and each local guide was informative and always in good humor. My desire for a steak in Argentina was fulfilled to the max (I had two very large and very good ones). The schedule of sites to visit were as anticipated. The hotel selection was very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several and the Iguazu Falls,the Christ Statute, Sugarloaf mountain, the ski lift in Chile, the cog railway ride and the cable car rides along with the photos taken will remain fond memories of this trip (our 2nd with Tauck) and we had a very congenial group with whom to travel.

review_img

Norma Jaffe

Fabulous Tour Guide

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Carla was an amazing guide during our very recent trip to Chile, Argentina, Brazil and all places along the way. She was funny, most informative, so much personality, and kind.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls viewed from both countries on either sides of it.

review_img

DLitwak

Fabulous Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The local tour guides were fantastic, especially in Buenos Aires and Iguazu Falls! I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to get a flavor for Chile, Argentina and Brazil.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved Argentina, the chair lifts in Bariloche, the beautiful city of Buenos Aires and the beauty and majesty of Iguazu Falls. However, the samba dancing in Rio was a lot of fun and very memorable!

review_img

Micki

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

We've taken 5 Tauck excursions and we rate this quite high. Chile, Argentina and Brazil are rich in beauty, culture, and history. Our guide, Jeff, was knowledgeable, caring and fun to be with. He took care of all our needs and although we travelled from place to place, we never felt rushed or harried. The guests on this tour were very compatible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls (275) was breathtaking both from the Argentinian and Brazilian sides. In Rio seeing the Carnival floats, dressing up in costume and dancing the samba was lots of fun. The Pre-Columbian exhibit in Chile was quite special. Crossing the lake over the Andes to Llao Llao Resort was a special experience. Each city had its own special charm.

review_img

kpadgham

Our South American Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Our trip to South America exceeded our high expectations.We were very lucky to have great weather,a terrific Tour Director,and a wonderful group to travel with.We stayed at very good hotels and the group was able to participate in some very memorable activities such as learning the tango and the Samba,

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the incredible view of the mountains and lakes after riding the cable car in Bariloche,Argentina.

review_img

Val

Three very different cities and the best nature has to offer.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Endless amazement. Santiago which is new and modern, Buenos Aires with its old world architecture and Rio which is very alive. Add in the scenery of Patagonia and Iguacu Falls and you get some of the best man and nature have to offer. This would have been the best trip ever, but we have done Classic Italy.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Samba City rocked, especially just prior to Carnaval. We were also very impressed with Iguacu Falls.

review_img

MalR

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

We had a wonderful trip which exceeded our expectation. Our tour director Gaston Truilla was excellent. He went out of his way to help individuals and with four internal flight took care of all the details, luggage and boarding passes flawlessly. He is personable, has a sense of humor and always had a positive attitude.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the fall in Argentina and Brazil were the geographical highlight and Rio touring and experiencing the Carnival preparation was terrific. One improvement would be audio with ear plugs to hear the local guides. We experienced them on a tour last year. All tours should include them.

review_img

perrypshah

Best Experience ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Best Tour director and all arrangements were on time and as scheduled. Also we like that we never handle our luggage throughout the trip. Welcome drinks upon arrival at hotels. We were very impressed with local Guides. Overview sheet of the trip. I will recommended this trip to my friends and family. All flights seating arrangements were very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Their were many Welcome dinner in Santiago. Iguazu falls and Sheraton Hotel inside the national park. Rio behind the scenes of carnival flot creation and YES Samba lesson. Tango Lessons at Llao Llao Hotel & Resort luxury and comfort also excellent food. Caesar Park Buenos Aires had best breakfast. enough time at leisure. Steve Gesse was very good..

review_img

Jonathanw

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Overall this was a wonderful trip. The Tauck staff did a terrific job of handling all of the logistics of the four internal flights. The only downer was Day 3, which was a total waste of time. The flight to Porto Mont & Porto Varas should be eliminated. Put the extra time in a visit to Valporiso/Vinia Del Mar.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many amazing moments, it is really hard to pick one. There was just one wow moment after another. Probably the one thing that I will remember the most though is the visit to Iguazu Falls, both sides. Truly spectacular.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you’ll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rabbit

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Excellent trip, super tour director-very well organized and efficient.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu falls, both sides and the choice of lunch restaurants. We were able to savor the cuisine of the different locales.

review_img

JMuilenburg

Essence of S. America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

It was a good trip, however our director provided no country information handouts, therefore we missed out on a lot of facts. (We had the benefit of a previous travelers handouts from their director) We felt there was too much free time and not enough exposure to some of the culture. We had excellent hotels and meals. Not one of our top 5 trips

Most Memorable Moment:

The Falls and the lodge.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this trip fell below your expectations. We are continually trying to balance the frequent requests for free time on tour versus more on-tour sightseeing. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared and all necessary corrective actions will be taken. Again we thank you for your patronage and hope that you will travel with us in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

teri

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

We travelled from the Pacific to the Atlantic starting in Chile, crossing the Andes by bus and boat and eventually plane, glimpsing the wonders of Patagonia, fabulous cities, resorts, mountains, rainforests, falls and beaches of Argentina and Brazil. We were disappointed in our guide and the accomodations at Llao Llao. Neither met Tauck standards

Most Memorable Moment:

Our experiences were very diverse on this trip. It is difficult to select a "most" memorable from such different types of experiences. If forced to, the Iguazu Falls were breathtaking. The surprise at the Samba School one week prior to Carnivale was one of most fun experiences for us.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for our patronage and do hope that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ATinter

Our Recent Tour of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

While the trip attempted to pack too much into the 14 days that we had in South America, the experience included many memorable moments. Too many one-night hotel stays, requiring too much packing/unpacking, followed by many multi-modal transfers from hotel to hotel, however, detracted from the experience. Overall, great experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Undoubtedly, the boat ride into Iguazu Falls was the highlight. But, experiencing both the grandeur of the Andes Mountains and the urban centers of three South American cities made this a very diverse and enjoyable trip. Guides were very knowledgeable and Tour Director very helpful during what turned out to be a difficult itinerary.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations but still pleased that you experiences some truly memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Arky

The very best of South America by Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Spectacular scenery in Chile,Argentina and Brazil,superb tour director and very compatible group of guests.A perfect combination for an outstanding tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending a very low key,non-commercial Christmas at Iguazu Falls was a highlight of the tour.Hoping to find a similar experience in 2014 Christmas season with Tauck.

review_img

EHodges

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

Great trip with excellent Tauck tour director [Employee Name]. We were surprised to learn that one of the best local guides on this tour and among the best on any of the 4 previous Tauck tours we have experienced-William in Rio was being let go (perhaps fired) by Tauck effective December 31. I trust that you guys know what you're doing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls and Llau Llau resort in Patagonia.

review_img

tbumnnc

South American Odyssey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

We've never done a fully escorted tour, so we had a few reservations, but the tour director was wonderful. His patience and flexibility produced a fast and easy comraderie all around. The ONLY complaint worth mentioning is the hotel in Puerto Varas [Hotel Cumbres] and in Rio [Caesar Park]. Simply not up to par!

Most Memorable Moment:

Patagonia was most special, the best part being the lake crossings and the Llao Llao resort. If I could design the itinerary, I'd minimize the bus trips and maximize the boats. 1. cut one night in Buenos Aires 2. add a day at Llao Llao 3. cut a day at Iguazu Falls 4. add a day in Rio 5. add 2 days for excursions to Uruguay

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced some truly memorable moments. We will immediately look into your comments regarding the above mentioned hotels and take any and all corrective action. Again, we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Snookie

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

Nice pace, highlights very interesting, the best hotels(Lloa Lloa)choice of great restaurants, tour guides were very informative. The transport and intra flights were no hassle, we simply just relaxed as we were very well taken care of all the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our amazing Tour Director, [Employee Name]. Guide, teacher,problem solver, organizer and friend. Tour guides; Max, Gaston and William deserve special recognition.We are looking forward to our next trip with Tauck.

review_img

davidkansas2013

A Good trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

A great group. Beautiful countries. Not very good tour director

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything

review_img

Esther Rosenzweig

great time in South America

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The beauty in patagonia was amazing until we were at Iguazu Falls which was fantastic! Tango in Argentina and Samba in Brazil was great! we had a fabulous vacation! Our tour guide Lionel was terrific,very caring and efficient!

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at Iguazu Falls and the tango lesson at the Llao llao resort in Patagonia

review_img

KWeg

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Well, to start off, the trip is wonderful but we really did not read the fine print to realize how many additional flights were required on this trip..five in 12 days is excessive. I realize this is a huge span to cover, but it took away from the trip. Also 22 out of 31 people on our tour got sick from one couple who infected our entire group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls-tango lesson at Llao Llao, horseback riding and the beautiful Andes mountains.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you’ll travel with us again

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

msdsbd1

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was my 3rd Tauck trip but I have traveled alot on my own too. I must say that this is the first time that I enjoyed the scenery & country sights more than the cities in all my travels. The Andes mountains,the lakes & Llao were gorgeous & seeing the Iguazu falls was overwhelming.That's not to say that Buenos Aires & Rio were not spectacular to.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the boat under the Iguazu Falls. It was the most fun & exhilerating of experiences I have had in a long time. But the water was cold!!!However the train to the Christ statue & the gondola up to Sugar loaf were fabulous also.

review_img

Rex West

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Unbelievable scenery. Our tour director did an amazing job and everything worked smoothly. Buses were comfortable and had sufficient legroom. My only negative comment is the Argentina web site for thr Reciprocity Fee is awful. It might be helpful for you to tell people they have to print the doc with a bar code. We printed the wrong doc.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Andes and lakes from the ski lift mountaintop.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback and comment regarding the Argintina Website. We will certainly share this with our product team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jan Rekate

Fabulous trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Gaston made this the best trip ever. I would go to Timbucktoo with him just because he made it all so easy. The sights and sounds were more than I thought they would be. It is difficult to pinpoint any favorite.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beautiful scenery of the boat ride to Llao Llao. When that gorgeous resort came into view, it was breathtaking. There were so many "awe" moments, it is difficult to say which one was the most memorable. Of course, Igazu Falls are hard not to mention, so massive, so powerful and simply indescribable scenery.

review_img

CDeforest

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Best vacation! The tour director and company managed a group of 34 and the entire trip was flawless. We appreciated the printed information that was provided about each destination. The Director and Local Guides were all excellent and the whole trip was just a great experience. Very impressed!

Most Memorable Moment:

From start to finish the entire experience was great, but it will be very hard to forget our 1st look at Bariloche and The Llao Llao. Other moments would include experiencing Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro, but I could go on and list Iguazu and all of our other stops as well as our excellent Tour Director [Employee Name]

review_img

ANagele

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Truly a memorable trip. The sites, hotels, guides and restaurants were all excellent choices. Tauck did an outstanding job, as usual. The only portion of the trip that I found a bit disappointing was Santiago. I was sad to hear that the Patagonia portion of the trip is going to be changed because it is breathtaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many that stand out. Patagonia was breathtaking and my favorite. The Iguazu Falls left you in just awe. The Christ the Redeemer statue in Rio de Janeiro, nestled in the clouds overlooking the entire city has the most beautiful, calm face of any statue I have ever seen.

review_img

Sheshemae

South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I liked being in the big cities and then in the countryside. I like the variation!

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguazu Falls! The boat ride we took (an extra) was quite an experience!

review_img

ZTorres

Essence of South America-Sept. 24 - Oct. 7, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It is a nice trip where I enjoyed very much the beautiful views of the Cruce Andino, the Iguazu Falls and Rio de Janeiro. The tour is strenuous because of the additional 4 flights inside South America we did to cover all the places in two weeks. I would've preferred one more night in Rio instead of the night in Peulla Hotel which I didn't like.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved El Casco Hotel in Bariloche and our tour director, [Employee Name], was excellent.

review_img

Ian McDonald

A Maginificent Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Essence of South America was the 17th Tauck adventure we have taken and in many respects it was among the most enjoyable and exciting. From the vibrant city centers of Santiago, Buenos Aires, and Rio de Janeiro to the magnificent natural beauties of the Chilean lake country, the Andean volcanos, and Iguazu falls, the trip exceeded expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was to see Iguazu Falls up close from both the Argentine and the Brazilian sides. The falls are one of the top natural wonders of the world and to see them is absolutely breathtaking.

review_img

CMatthews

Essence of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was a good balance between visits to major cities and more rural areas for relaxation. The hotels were superb and food excellent. There were only 20 in the group which was perfect and we all got along well and had similar interests. Highlights included the incredible Iquezzoo Falls, LlauLlau, and Rio.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me a zip line ride- on my bucket list and for my wife, probably the emerald ring. Llau Llau was a special resort and we loved the tango lessons and spa. Iguazzoo Falls were spectacular

review_img

Ligaya

Most memorable trip we ever had.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Every day was a very exciting day, the program was well balance, accommodations were excellent, food was very good, but must of all, the tour director ( Mark Goldsmith - Holt) was very knowledgable , respectful, kind, helpful even to the last day, he assisted everyone . I have joined many tours but this is the must memorable one. Thank you Tauck,

Most Memorable Moment:

I do not have any specific moment, but everything is memorable,we traveled so my countries, but this is the best. We will go with your company again.

review_img

Lisa B

Wow!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

We had the best hotels possible & ate at the best restaurants. Not only were the excursions perfectly set up for comfort...we avoided lines, got the best seats, and had some really nice surprises. I also liked the fact that almost all of our meals/excursions were included.....including tips. We only had to spend our money on gifts.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour guide, "Mark", was incredible. He took care of everything. We didn't have to worry about a thing. If anybody had any concerns, he was there to solve the problems. But what impressed me the most, were the actions he took to make sure there were no problems or concerns. It's the first vacation where I didn't have to worry about a thing.

review_img

Bob oliver

seamless

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

It is hard to believe that we could have gone to three countries with such different temperatures,elevations,social backgrounds and histories yet all were contiguous geographically. The modes of getting from one location to another made the trip very special. Best part-now I know I want to go Tauck again- but to Africa!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The surprise samba lesson in Rio.

review_img

Georgia Christopher

Loved this trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Loved this trip! So much to see in SA. Tauck choose some of the best hightlights. Lionel our leader was excited to share his love of the country.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tango Show, Patagonia, the falls, both the Argentine side and the Brazilian side. Christ the Redeemer, hard to choose the best. We had such a fun time!

review_img

SUBHASH

Food choices for vegetarians

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Very poor choices for vegetarians. Chefs were not informed in advance. Confusion between vegan and vegetarians. They would have prepared vegetarian food because they had the ingredients. However, chefs were not informed in advance. only choice offered were salad and bread. You cannot eat that for 14 days !!!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Iguassu falls

TAUCK RESPONSE

Vegetarian meals can be provided on all of our journeys when requested by our guests pre-tour. This information enables us to contact our suppliers so that they may cater to your needs. Upon review of our records we were unable to find any specific meal preference requested pre-tour. We are still however most apologetic that you were disappointed with the meals provided and will make the necessary changes to your profile to reflect your food preferences for future travel.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RAG

wonderful trip - loved the small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Well organized, excellent hotels, great sites and a very compatible group.

review_img

Lindalouisegorgonio

Great Vacation

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The trip was amazing. We stayed at wonderful hotels and visited many exciting places. The only disappointment was the weather. It was a little rainy for a few days.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without question, the Iguazu Falls

review_img

RFogg

South America with Tauck was fantastic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

Essence of South America lived up to its name - it gives you the flavor of three different countries. This was our first organized tour and we loved it. Tauck provided a great balance of big city sights & beautiful country sights. The pace of the trip was wonderful & the organization of the logistics of moving between locations was exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment - Iguazu Falls. The power & beauty of the Falls was magnificent. Photographs do not do it justice. You need to go there & experience it-from both sides-Argentina and Brazil. Just a remarkable piece of nature and the park pathways provide incredible vantage points. Beautiful view of Falls from the hotel rooms-thank you Tauck!

review_img

Mark G

Perfect Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

This was a perfect combination of city and small town cultural experiences combined with the incredible natural beauty of the region. The itinerary was excellent! Jeff, our tour director was phenomenal. The in-country flights were hassle free done after a full day of touring. Also we especially appreciated the fine hotels and great food

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. Seeing Iguasu falls from both the Argentinian and Brazillian sides was breathtaking. Hiking the catwalks around the falls and feeling the spray was an "other worldly" experience. The lake crossings were awesome and absolutely beautiful.

review_img

joe stine

Essence of South America wonderful bu not for the weak heart

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The trip really covers alot. Be prepared for a strenuous schedule with lots of moving from place to place. It was 2 action packed weeks. Great local guides with lots of insights. Some accomodations did not have air. Take rain gear to Igauzu falls. Golf at LLAO LLAO was special. This is a not a trip for people with mobility problems.

Most Memorable Moment:

Highlights abound and when asked what was your favorite thing there are too many to pick one. Although LLAO LLAO, the Igauzu falls, the trip across the Andes, Rio, Patagonia were all very special. Needs More time in Rio and or at Igauzu falls less in Buenos Aires. The special tour of the Carnival Floats wss indeed very special. Great tour director.

review_img

papafets

Fast paced trip around South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

A very well planned and excuted trip by Tauck. Where a lot of things could go wrong our director did an outstanding job of making it all happen smoothly. See Youtube video: https://youtu.be/-TdR_pG-HLk

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip through the Andes on lakes, golf at a five star resort,Llao Llao Hotel & Resort, Iguazu Falls and Rio beaches.

review_img

vinnie

ABC of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

ABC because we visited Argentina, Brazil and Chile. Santiago, Chile is a clean interesting city. Because we arrived a day early we also went to the coast, Valpiriso. Due to volcano couldn't do land crossing from Chile to Bariloche, Argentina but were re-routed to Mendoza (wonderful wines). On to Buenos Aires which reminds us Paris. Iguzu Falls +++

Most Memorable Moment:

Tango dinner show in Buenos Aires.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DMehas

South America Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Enjoyed this trip immensely. Tour guide was great and the sites we visited were outstanding. Was somewhat disappointed that we couldn't travel to the lake resort that everyone raved about but the substituted trip to Mendoza was pretty good. Loved Iguazzu Falls. Spectacular views.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dancing in a Conga Line with the dancers from the Mardi Gras and the spectacular sights of Rio. The trip ended on a very positive note. I would encourage everyone to take this trip.

review_img

JLakin

Unforgettable!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

We began in Santiago, Chile, where we met out fellow travelers and our guide, Carla. She was full of enthusiasm. Unfortunately, the volcano eruption caused us to miss Bariloche, but Tauck came thru with a great substitution of Mendoza, where we had a fabulous winery tour and lunch. We continued to Buenas Aires, Iguazu falls and Rio de Janeiro.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the Iguazu falls and my husband took fabulous photos of them with rainbows. I had a blast at the Samba school in Rio, where I tried on the huge headdresses and danced with the professionals. Those pictures were so good that we made our holiday card from them and shared the trip with our friends and family!

review_img

OlySue

Fabulous South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This is a great trip. I really did feel like I got the essence of the countries visited. In each country, spent time in cities and in areas where Mother Nature could be appreciated. Had days that were quite busy and days that were relaxed. Nicely put together tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The natural wonders of each of the countries. The lake crossing of the Andes was beautiful. We had a volcano acting up to add texture to the trip - and the air we were breathing! Iguazu Falls was simply breathtaking.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button