TravelerReviews

Mystical Peru

review_img

Ty Tyrrell

Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Great trip. This has been on our bucket list for a while and it did not disappoint. Our Tour director was wonderful and had great attention to detail. Our local guide was our Mama Lama. She was a wealth of information about the Andean culture. She showed great enthusiasm that rubbed off on the kids. Don't wait take this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu is truly a mystical place. The Children's school was truly special

review_img

gcatbird

A Great Trip, Mystical Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

A fantastic trip in all aspects!! We were well taken care of, from our arrival at the Lima Airport to all the adventures we experienced. We traveled by plane, bus and train and all the trips were planned for us. All we had to do was show up and depart. Miraculously our luggage always appeared in our next hotel room!! Ready to go again!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing and walking through Machu Pichu is a wonderful once in a lifetime memory.

review_img

Patricia Powers Gowdy

Ups and Downs

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We expected all parents/grandparents with young kids/grandkids, like Tauck-Bridges ads. The tour director did divide us into young-kid vs. mostly adult groups which helped. We expected more investigating, less lecturing so kids were more involved at all times. Guides were delightful but we wish they had interacted more with the young kids.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several: Swimming in icy water with sea lions. Horseback-riding into Sacred Valley mountains. Meeting and interacting with native school kids. Making tiles and visiting with owners at Seminario. Petting/feeding animals - llamas, guinea pigs, horses. Enjoying nice resorts.

review_img

JCinMN

Amazing family trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This trip was a fantastic opportunity to visit Machu Picchu and to experience a bit of Peru with my spouse and our 10 year old daughter who enjoys traveling. The hotels were amazing and the guides were fantastic. We had considered another tour company (ABD) and are so happy we chose Tauck Bridges. The trip was flawless and we will do another.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Machu Picchu was sublime and a must do experience. We were lucky enough to be in Peru for the winter solstice and saw the big parade to celebrate Inti Raymi (Festival of the Sun). The most heartwarming experience was the visit to the school in the Sacred Valley. The children were so welcoming - a wonderful and unique experience!

review_img

Louise Ella Sahlin

to the top of machu pichu

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

the trip was wonderful. way better than I thought it would be, as this was my 1st tauck experience. everything, and I mean everything, was taken care of. the white water rafting was exciting. swimming in the pacific was incredible. and ... machu picchu was absolutely amazing and wonderful. thank you so much for all your effort.

review_img

jcken

Memorable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Excellent in many ways, comprehensive and unforgettable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Machu Picchu of course, Sacsayhuaman, and Inka terra hotel.

review_img

Rick Bostelman

Three Cheers for Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Peru is not only mystical...it is magical! From the moment we arrived, all three generations of our family were captivated by the beauty, cuisine,history and culture of this lovely country. Every detail was thoughtfully planned by Tauck to maximize our experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

When our 15 year old grandson said as we boarded the plane to come home, "I am not ready for this to be over!" That expressed the sentiment of our entire family!

review_img

Fionaj

Fantastic family adventure with caring company

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The five of us, ranging in age from 9 to 81, just returned from Mystical Peru. We loved the wide range of experiences offered on the tour and deeply appreciated the level of care shown towards all of us from beginning to end.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of us reaching the top of the spectacular Machu Picchu site, even my Mum who has macular degeneration.

review_img

SoniaB

It's a journey worth taking

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This is a journey to Machu Picchu. It takes planes, buses, trains and a hike to get there which could have been pretty uncomfortable/boring. Instead, the journey had cool and interesting stops and activities. The awesome staff will keep you well fed, watered and entertained. They're quick to handle altitude issues. Totally stress free trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

At the top of Machu Picchu, they fly a huge rainbow flag. Totally clueless, I turn and say "oh, you support gay rights?" Our local guide looks at me, smiles and says "the flag celebrates our rainbow god" (Open mouth, insert foot). As I begin to apologize, she laughs and says "I'm sure they feel very welcome here."

review_img

titanfan2000

Incredible Sites!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Had another great Tauck trip in 2015. The itinerary kept us going, but there was just enough down time to allow everyone to relax a bit. They did a great job allowing us to acclimate to the altitude and enjoy the sites. Our TD once again seemed to really care that we had a great time. Doesn't beat our Majestic California trip in '14, but great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Chasing my daughter in the water as we swam near all the sea lions (all while happily freezing in the water). Sunset at Maccu Piccu and the train ride were memorable as well.

review_img

Larsens

Mystical Peru - Amazing!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Such a wonderful tour. The Tauck Director and our local guides were great. Their knowledge and experience made every aspect of the trip so enjoyable. From the exceptional accommodations to the horseback ride through the Sacred Valley, the shaman's blessing, the memorable walk to the endangered spectacled bears and the amazing food, all was perfection!

Most Memorable Moment:

The sudden and grand views of Machu Picchu. No photo can do it justice. The breath taking scenery just doesn't stop. The meals were fantastic as well.

review_img

gbpsych

Family of 7 across the bridge to wonderland!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Rating of 10, not just 5!! The 80 yr old was as excited as the 9 yr old! An experience of a lifetime! Could write a book about it. Took hundreds of memorable pictures. Our best advice: Don't miss this tour!! Your inter-generational family will together cross bridges never before crossed! Hats off to AC Tauck for creating the bridges tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to answer. Every moment, literally, was memorable!

review_img

duno1rad

Mystical Peru: great trip11

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

6/13/2015 to 6/22/15. Me 60, daughter 18, and nephew 25. The tour went off as scheduled, no glitches. Guide staff and group leader were great, enjoyed their company as well as their direction. did several great things I would not have had I not been with a tour. Recommend one or two day early arrival to tour more Lima museums. Altitude no problem!

Most Memorable Moment:

first seeing Machu Picchu. Comes into view suddenly, bigger than I thought. Doubt one can get the whole feel without being there. The setting, the construction, and the size pretty much have to be seen.

review_img

willpentz

Mystical Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was a great trip! It is an excellent intro to Peru. A lot of varied activities, top notch accommodations, and outstanding food. You get a much better feel for the people and culture of Peru than if you toured on your own. There is no way you could as much value for the money. Definitely a trip to remember for a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to Machu Picchu is the highlight, and learning about the Incan culture. We had a local guide who was very knowledgable about the history of the site and the Incans.

review_img

Tom Mitchell

Great Trip but take care for the Altitude

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Great Trip, great Tour director, great food and great accommodations. Grandsons had a great time. Pay close attention to recommendations on altitude sickness. Some of our people didn't and they paid the price. Also, realize the altitude plus the considerable walking and stairs makes this a more difficult trip than you might think.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu and the wonderful food

review_img

KAraujo

Awesome! Wow! Breathless!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

From start to finish we were entertained and educated. The Tauck guide did an excellent job of finding local guides to enhance our experience. Wendy kept on top of everything and made sure we lacked nothing. The guides were very informative and friendly. The personal touch of the scavenger hunt through the market our guide shopped in regularly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through Machu Picchu and Ollantaytambo. Touching, imagining the life they led and seeing the Urubamba river still running through the channels after all these years!

review_img

gutdoctor

Mystical Peru MACHU PICCHU AND BEYOND

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

WE SHARED THIS EXPERIENCE WITH OUR 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON AND IT WAS QUITE REMARKABLE. OUR TOUR DIRECTOR, WENDY RODRIGUEZ, WAS SPECTACULAR IN HER LEADERSHIP IN A COMPLICATED TRAVEL TRIP. IT WAS A TRECK ON FOOT, SEVERAL BUSES, AND PLANE AND TRAIN TO GET TO MACHU PICCHU BUT WORTH IT.

Most Memorable Moment:

AFTER THE JOURNEY THRU THE ENCHANTED VALLEY, FROM LIMA AND CUSCO, THE MOMENT ON SEEING THE REMARKABLE AND MAGNIFICENT INCAN RUINS WAS BREATH TAKING. ALSO, AFTER THE FIRST SIGHT, WALKING AND EXPLORING WAS SPECTACULAR. AN EXPERIENCE MY GRANDSON WILL REMEMBER SHARING WITH HIS GRAND PARENTS HIS WHOLE LIFE.

review_img

Alisa

Peru

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We did so many things. It was so nice not to have to worry about pulling our wallet out every few minutes, especially after we figured out our debit card was not working! No problem, we didn't really need it. All was covered. We love the places Tauck chose to show us, we would certainly not have done all the things we did without guidance.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Machu Picchu was breathtaking. We were all waiting excitedly to see it and it was not disappointing! Our guide was perfect and she knew so much about the site that I am sure our 11 year-old son will always remember and may be back again!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to this magnificant region of the world and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MAlbers

Mystical Peru - A Fantastic Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The tour was incredible and the guides were exceptional. They knew their subject and were tireless at making certain that we had the best possible experience and logistics were seamless. We never felt rushed or bored, but the days were definitely packed with great experiences. We have definitely recommended this trip to our friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

Machu Picchu for sure. Although there was a fair amount of climbing and with a fear of heights, I'd have never made it without Allie our guide encouraging me and at the end even holding my hand! But it was well worth it. An amazing place and experience. We even got a double rainbow. Pretty magical place.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this magnificent area and returned with so many wonderful memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Karen B.

Mystical Peru full of fun and surprises!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

What a grand adventure to Peru! Swimming with sea lions, rafting the Urubamba River and visiting a Peruvian school were highlights. Glorious Machu Picchu takes your breath away with its grander and beauty. Delicious, fresh food, amazing accommodations, private guides, and all the awesome Tauck touches make this a very memorable and exciting trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Reaching the summit of Machu Picchu and climbing the final steps along with the friendly llamas on the trail. We took time at the top to just sit overlooking the ruins and marvel at the overwhelming beauty, peacefulness and spirituality that the Incas created. Machu Picchu is a magical place to visit.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and had so many wonderful experiences!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button