TravelerReviews

Cruising the Galápagos Islands

review_img

VictorTolleson

Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Trip was wonderful. Guides were tremendous, itinerary was great as well as the weather. Only issue was the engine noise and vibration in cabin 21 was such we couldn't sleep well.

Most Memorable Moment:

My wife's favorite was swimming with sea lions

review_img

Bernie33

Go, go, go - non-stop adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This trip was a non-stop adventure. Starting with our walk in Guayquil through the parks and to the riverfront. Then on to the islands. One of us took almost every opportunity to climb the volcanoes, walk the paths or lava fields lined with birds or iguanas; and snorkel with fish, turtles and sea lions. The other took shorter walks and boats.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling with 200+ turtles. Being careful where you stepped to avoid iguanas. Climbing Prince Phillip's Stairs to see Red Footed Boobies and Nazca Boobies.

review_img

mazalea

Galapagos: Swimming with Sea lions, penguins and turtles

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

In its unique volcanic landscapes, exotic birds, and beautiful marine life, this may be the most exotic trip ever.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's a toss up. One was a fleeting moment of snorkeling panic when I encountered my first large sea turtle. She looked straight at me, came on forward, and then swung underneath, gently touching my fins and she moved ahead. On Genovesa Island, Nazca boobie chicks struggled to come out of their shells, just a few feet away from us. New life!

review_img

cbfc

Wildlife beyond our dreams

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Galapagos is a must experience trip. The unique terrain combined with the amazing birds and wildlife were incredible. The guide and naturalists made the trip an unforgettable experience. It is a very physical trip but there was always someone available to offer assistance and there were alternate activities for those unable to partake in one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was memorable.

review_img

Dolores Olness

Galapagos Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Trip was well run. Tour director superb and naturalists were absolutely outstanding! Scheduling of daily activities was quite good. Trip was strenuous, but in order to see all that we saw, we needed to keep moving. Because of murky water I think the glass bottom boat was a waste of time. "Beach stroll" on day 7 morning seemed like time filler.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were a great many memorable moments, but perhaps the most memorable one for me was seeing the penguins so far north. (I had seen penguins before, but never so far north.) All the boobies (blue footed, red footed and Nasca) were quite interesting.

review_img

Leftfielder

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

The following were awesome: Ship, ship's crew, the food, the Naturalists, the tour director, the wildlife, weather, the activities, the scenery and the other 34 passengers. Need I say more? I didn't give it 5 stars because I doubt if we will be able to return.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to select just one.

review_img

geysergal

Perfect!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This is a wildlife adventure you will not have anywhere else. The depth of knowledge the naturalists have is extraordinary. The weather was hot and dry, a couple of cloudy mornings. We wore wet suits to snorkel but the marine life we saw was amazing. Good food and the Isabella is very comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being so close to the animals and they were not afraid. Snorkeling with sea lions, the giant tortoises, the stars at night.

review_img

Norman Herman

Cruising the Galapogos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was an outstanding trip. All of the activities onboard the Isabella II gave us wonderful options each day both morning and afternoon. Food choices were perfect. The naturalists were outstanding as well as the rest of the crew on the ship. Accommodations on the ship were very comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most exciting/memorable part of the trip was when we were out on the Zodiacs chasing down whales for a better view and pictures.

review_img

JoelSchoenkopf

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Everything Tauck did was first class. The food on the boat was different but very enjoyable.The guides were as good as I have ever had and they went out of their way to help the elderly and those who were not physically able to do everything. The hotel we stayed at before and after the cruise was first rate. Suggestion, more activities for the older

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the animals in their natural element

review_img

suzanne becker

The Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

It was a once in a lifetime experience. It was more of an adventure than a vacation. Very physical, with heat and humidity. The group became as one team, since we often had to help each other on and off the pangas as well as in the water. The area is as close to the prehistoric world that man will ever see. The wildlife is not afraid of people.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to decide but seeing all the wildlife up close was just awesome. They have no reason to fear humans, so they don't. Also, the sunset ceremony on the equator was incredible.

review_img

lbigrandma

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

This was our ninth Tauck trip, and one that cannot be compared to any other. We were transported to a world belonging to the wildlife and we were the outsiders. Amazed at how close we were to the birds, sea lions, tortoises , and iguanas . Our 3 naturalists were outstanding. My four star rating was based on the ship and food needing an upgrade.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the interaction of a mother and baby sea lion when the mother returned from the sea.

review_img

janpar

Galapagos means turtles

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Tauck took care of our very need. We were met at the airport and started on a great journey. The boat and naturalists were perfect. Our only hiccup happened as we departed. The company who transported us to airport made two errors. Our suitcases were NOT brought down and we did not have a comfortable timely departure. The departure: harried!

Most Memorable Moment:

Swimming with TURTLE SOUP. Every adventure with the BIG 15 were exciting, full of information, and AMAZING. But snorkeling with turtles swimming and drifting with the current made me feel like I was part of the turtle's habitat. It was more than I ever expected.

review_img

dlpva

Galopagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Nature viewing is excellent Ship is ready for the major make over or the scrape yard Food OK 2 of 3 Naturalists were excellent; the 3rd seemed more interested in taking photos than doing her job

review_img

lindahamilton

Magical Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This was an outstanding trip! We had three naturalists and our Tauck Director accompany us. All were very knowledgable. Snorkeling was a significant part of the tour and the marine species (turtles, iguanas, fish, rays, sea stars, sharks) were wonderful to see up close. We visited many different islands withe numerous species of animals and birds.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seing a large group of sea turtles and then the giant tortoises.

review_img

Shadow1522

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This was a great experience. Our tour director was excellent as were all the naturalist. The ship was fine and the food was almost too good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip

review_img

sanibill

fANTASTIC WILDLIFE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The wildlife was unbelievable. So much variety in ecology and wildlife from from island to island, some only 20 - 30 miles apart. The crew on the Isabela II was all one could ask for. A great vacation -- if retired couples can have vacations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the blue footed boobys. This has been on our bucket list for a long time.

review_img

Lief Erikson

Buck List Item

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Tauck and Metropolitan Touring did a great job. Every detail was attended to. The naturalists were so knowledgeable. We saw, did, and learned so much every day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking with a large land iguana and the huge turtles.

review_img

hulio

incredible Galapagos !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

From the moment our Tauck Tour Director met us at the airport, I knew we were in very capable hands, due to his knowledge and calm manner. The pristine environment of the Galapagos was breath taking. The deep water snorkeling and watching our tour director and our expedition leader dive deep and swim with the fish was incredible. Amazing trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling above an 8 ft shark, and seeing the amazing night sky, my first view of the Southern Cross, 5 planets aligned, and the Milky Way, with an inspiring astronomy talk by our expedition leader on Isabella II. Deep water snorkeling, amazing cliffs and rock formations, and the pristine beauty of the islands. Every moment was memorable:)

review_img

kgallina

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

The itinerary and Naturalists were excellent. We learned so much and saw many wonderful things!

Most Memorable Moment:

Rising at 5AM to view the Constellations and the planet alignment!

review_img

DoreenC

Cruising the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

What a wonderful trip! The Yacht Isabella II was the perfect size for experiencing the beauty of the Galapagos. Everyone...Tour Director, Naturalists, Hotel Manager, Chef, and ship's crew went above and beyond to make this a trip I will never forget. Great group of fellow travelers! So many fun activities - snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, etc.!

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was an unplanned event! Orcas were spotted shortly before breakfast was to be served! Breakfast was put on hold, Zodiacs were lowered, and we were off chasing Orcas!! It was amazing! Still in awe of how quickly all involved were able to get us out on the water -- and breakfast was hot and delicious when we returned!

review_img

Murray55

Galapagos 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

The ship, crew, naturalists, itinerary and activities were wonderful. It was a very well-done tour. That said, we were a bit annoyed when we weren't picked up at the airport, as was supposed to happen, and also a bit annoyed that Tauck merely acknowledged the error and didn't do anything to make it right. That would be our only criticism.

review_img

CAK

Cruising the Gapapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Everything was top notch - from the Tauck tour director, the Metropolitian guides, the Isabela II and it's wonderful crew, the Nauralists, and of course, the beauty and the wildlife of the islands. Of the Galápagos Big 15, we saw all but three; two because we didn't visit their islands and the flamingoes made themselves scarce the day we visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

All planned excursions and water activities were great. The most exciting event, unplanned, was the sighting of Orca whales off the stern. The crew quickly dropped the Zodiacs and off we went whale watching. Obviously, this is not something that can be planned and it was wonderful how the crew and Naturalsts made it happen.

review_img

Mike_Deb

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Tour Director was conscientious, thoughtful, and a great guy. The main tour guide was excellent. The ship was convenient, food was very good, and the sights and animals did not disappoint. A highly-recommended trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the many animals in their native habitat.

review_img

carminucci

The Galapagos a wonderland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

the trip was extraordinary - from the minute we landed until we left. Everything exceeded our expectations. Our guide was wonderful: friendly, organized, helpful. the staff on the Isabella II was exceptional. Our naturalist were truly the most knowledgeable people we ever had. I would highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the animals up close on the islands.

review_img

Seal Safari

Magical Cruise with the Animals, Land, & People of The Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We love this trip, and how interactive it is, and participated in every activity possible. The animals are not afraid, and we got so close to them. The snorkeling is the best ever. We learned so much from the naturalists. Very educational, and see how interconnected our world truly is. Isabela II is the perfect size ship for the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment is memorable. Everywhere you turn is something exciting. Gorgeous animals, each island is different. We saw every animal but 2 from our guide book. We saw whales from our zodiac...awesome! Swam with sea lions, turtles, penguins, & fish. Land tortoises are huge and beautiful. Birds everywhere. Marine & land iguanas, & crabs. Plants.

review_img

joe stiglitz

Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

It was everything I expected, and more. the weather was great, the ship comfortable, the crew terrific.The guides were very knowledgeable and attentive to our needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing next to a giant tortoise.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had an amazing experience in the Galapagos! Thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pwex

Historic Animals

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Being so close to the birds and animals was a great privilege, If only the tortoises could tell us about the 100 plus years they have experienced-it would be amazing. The sea life and its colors were overwhelming. The landscape created by the volcanos and how the animals adapt.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking amongst and observing the sea lions and iguanas. Being able to partake in this expedition.

review_img

David Lee Butler

A Wonderful Experience in the Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Everything was top notch, from beginning to end! The wildlife was spectacular, Jean Roch and all three naturalists were so informative and helpful. The food was excellent and the accommodations were fine for an expedition boat. The photographic opportunities were amazing and snorkeling revealed sharks, rays, sea lions and penguins. Nice guests!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing wildlife up close that show no fear whatsoever!

review_img

Murphy-Kivell

Cruising the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

Words do this trip no justice. It was our best trip ever!! The nature guides were amazing the islands were pristine with wildlife galore. We could not ask for a better trip. The boat was fabulous as was the staff..... Thank you Tauck.....

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip was one great adventure......we loved every moment.

review_img

Stuart Mowat

Unforgettable vacation in the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The vacation was great! Weather was great (only one rain shower in the rainy season), animals, birds, fish were fabulous and the scenery was volcanic! All the connections went like clockwork, and the tour director, naturalists, cabin staff and cooks all worked together as if they were one unit. The quality of naturalists especially was impeccable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Galapagos tortoises are amazing, and all the birds just sit up and ask to be photographed! But perhaps the best moment was the spontaneous following of a pod of playful jumping and diving dolphins! A bonus was that we also saw some of Guayaquil, a surprising nice destination. Take a personal guided tour if you can.

review_img

CarolM354

Cruising the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

The small cruise ship with 36 passengers and crew was comfortable and professionally run. The staff was amazing and very attentive. Food was excellent and plentiful. Our day excursions were informative and provided unique adventure-type experiences every time we left the boat. Safety was one of the utmost concerns and I always felt very safe.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me it was the opportunity to snorkel every day of the trip. Getting to see the turtles, sea lions, iguanas, penguins, and fish swimming next to me after looking at pictures and seeing them on land was truly memorable.

review_img

LO'Reilly

Galapagos Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

A wonderful experience. Any one who loves to study animals in their natural habitat should take this trip. Definitely bring a walking stick as it helps to navigate the rocky paths.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing all the birds, animals, terrain

review_img

Bill C

A travel in time as well as place

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this adventure back in time as well as place. Unlike those aboard the Beagle, naturalists helped us recognize differences between beaks and claws on the islands. The native animals are as fearless today as in Darwin’s time. Snorkeling among an immense population of marine life in natural habitat was great even for novices!

Most Memorable Moment:

While exiting a large cave eroded by the sea into the volcanic edge of Isabela Island we witnessed a sea lion locked in a battle for dinner with a large octopus in his mouth. All aboard our small zodiac watched understanding the life and death struggle of daily existence in nature and thankful for this once-in-a-lifetime experience with Tauck.

review_img

AJS MD

Extraordinary adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Visiting the Galapagos, with Tauck, was everything we ever dreamed of and more! Our accommodations on the Isabella II were perfectly suited to the nature of the journey. The Tour Director, the Guides, the Naturalists, the ship's staff, and everybody else made the journey not only effortless, but also memorable. We made a lifetime of memories.Thanks

Most Memorable Moment:

How to choose: Snorkeling with sea turtles; watching Sally Lightfoot Crabs procreate; cozying up to a Galapagos Tortoise; Getting inches from Red Footed Boobies, flightless Cormorants, Marine and Land Iguanas, Sea Lions and Fur Seals; Seeing extraordinary sunsets from the upper deck of the ship; Taking off the wetsuit for the last time.

review_img

Dawn C

Galapagos Islands Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

The Galapagos Islands - what an once in a lifetime experience ! Wildlife with no fear factor allowing us an up close look of all, on land and in the sea ! Our well-educated and knowledgeable Naturalists made for an awesome adventure !

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling with the sea lions, fish, turtles, cormorants and penguins !! Seeing all the wildlife up close !

review_img

ahallden

Cruising the Galapagos

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

A great "active" trip for Seniors. A diversity of wildlife in pristine settings with viewing opportunities on hikes, kayaks, glass bottom boat and snorkeling. The three Naturalist guides and the Tauck guide were outstanding. The cruise ship Isabela II was comfortable with a very accommodating staff. Skip any pre-tour excursion of Guayaquil.

Most Memorable Moment:

Naturalist talk on the life of Darwin.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button