TravelerReviews

Costa Rica – Pura Vida

review_img

JudyKenning

Pura Vida

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Our trip to Costa Rica was a magical one. Our guide Wendy and bus driver Hans made the travel enjoyable and safe. The hotels were beautiful, comfortable and first rate. The staff at each could not be more helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two actually. One was spotting a Quetzal in the rain forest. That was on my bucket list. The other was the chocolate factory for our farewell dinner. The history of chocolate was creative and funny. The chocolate was excellent. The dinner and dining experience was unforgetable.

review_img

ellenzale

Costa Rica Pura Vida

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

I loved every bit of it. I was glad we could come a day early, and I could take advantage of the walking tour around San Jose, which was so interesting. Then we were glad to get out of the city and into the green countryside (though I really liked the Grana de Oro). The food at the the Riverside restaurant was some of the best on the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip lining (scary), Night nature walk (inspiring). Activities in general were lots of fun and educational, not too difficult.

review_img

MarkN

A Fun Adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

This trip is just plain FUN! Like a true explorer, you will walk through rain forests by day and night, and raft down a jungle river, in search of bugs, birds, and critters. If you've got the guts, go for a thrilling zip line ride over the forest! You will feast well on fresh local meats, fish, & produce, and drink their incredibly tasty coffee!

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip-lining high above the rain forest in the shadow of the volcano, with a helmet-cam to record it all!

review_img

WilliamSanders

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Had a great time - it was our first trip with Tauck and they are impressive. Just about everything was totally taken care of with very few exceptions.

Most Memorable Moment:

The zip line and the rain forest experiences.

review_img

gdamos

Tropics - Chilly?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

We started this tour the day after we completed the Costa Rica-Panama Canal Tour. Some tours, while repeated, were at different venues, so not overly repetitive. I strongly suggest you bring sweater, sweatshirt, long pants and a light pair of gloves for the days in the Rain Forest. It is chilly and damp. Even rains/mists when the sun is shining.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Toucan Rescue Ranch! An amazing non-profit which we have immediately added to our annual giving accounts. It is truly a rescue ranch. The goal is to rehab and teach each of the animals, birds, etc to become free and independent. There are exceptions - baby sloth - no right arm - adorable.

review_img

MarylinToward

First Class from Start to End

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

The planning and organization that goes into a trip of this calibre can only be commended. The choices of hotels, restaurants, and excursions were so good. We can't say enough great things about our ever smiling tour director, our wonderfully knowledgeable guide and our expert driver and applause to everyone else.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the outdoor experiences; river rafting, zip lining, and the nature walks were what we will always remember. Excellent and humorous guides made it so much fun. The weather gods were smiling on us the whole time which made it all so wonderful!

review_img

BobbiD

FUN TAUCK TOUR

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This is my 2nd & probably not my last Tauck tour. I have always loved travel & traveled extensively with my husband & family when our children were growing up. Since I am now in my 70's, Tauck tours are the best. Basically all I have to do is fly to my destination & Tauck does the rest! Costa Rica Pura Vida was an exciting & beautiful tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the zip lining at Sky Trek Adventures! Every activity, hotel, restaurant & the comfortable bus were outstanding. The weather was sunny & warm every day. I know Tauck isn't in charge of the weather but it was beautiful which added to the comfort & fun of the tour.

review_img

lauriecohn

Costa Rica Pure Vida - a little disappointing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Beautiful country. Locals are happy and friendly with great pride. Wonderful hotels and food. Loved Toucan Rescue Reserve...saw many sloths, monkeys, birds up close. Fabulous hot springs at Tabacon spa. Worst parts-unusually cold,windy, rainy. Not fun. And terrifying hairpinning, cliffhanging, narrow road to Monteverde, too narrow for big tour bus.

Most Memorable Moment:

Very special meal served in humble home of locals on our river float trip.

review_img

grlb

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Didn't realize it would was going to be so cool (low 60s) and rainy. Wish we had brought some warm sweaters and waterproof hiking shoes. Nature walks in the rain were okay...not as many animals are active in the rain. So this was a slight disappointment. Nothing you can do about the weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

zip lining

review_img

ElaineB

Pura Vida is wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Varied and great itinerary. Tour Director Carla and local guide and driver all as good as it gets. Itinerary is varied enough for all ages. Lots of exotic creatures and beautiful scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Night walk

review_img

twirl711

Costa Rica "Pura Vida" Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Costa Rica was very pretty and the people all friendly and accommodating. Our trip leader was awesome! This trip was fun, adventurous and informative however, I did not give it five stars, as I felt there was too much "up close & personal" with the buggy side of nature. I would have liked a little more culture and less entomology.

Most Memorable Moment:

Absolutely loved the rafting trip with our local guide - what an awesome young man!! His ability to spot birds, alligators and other natural wildlife from a distance was absolutely incredible! The snack stop at the farmhouse and meeting the 2 sisters was very special. This type of experience is what makes Tauck stand out from other tours.

review_img

whoslow

As they say - Pura VIda!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Once again, Tauck came through with flying colors. Despite multiple road issues, a wet "dry season", and a brief pharmaceutical emergency, our Tauck Director provided us with a smooth, seamless experience. Even the early (for me!) mornings weren't a burden with the all the excitement of the day ahead.

Most Memorable Moment:

The night nature walk was terrific! The naturalists accompanying our group were incredibly knowledgeable, helpful (who knew you could photograph through a spotting scope with a smart phone???), and very entertaining. Could have spent the entire 7 days with those guys. Tauck always gets the BEST!

review_img

Travel 808

Excellent itinerary, expertly executed: Costa Rica should be on your bucket list

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

The people, landscape & wildlife of Costa Rica are beautiful. Glad that the tour focused on the rain & cloud forests (not the city or beach). Good balance of activity & quiet time to enjoy nature. Accommodations: comfortable & clean. Meals: appreciated all were included, especially in the rural areas. Food quality ranged from good to excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the Resplendent Quetzal on an early morning hike in Monteverde. Viewing a variety of amazing wildlife with the help of expert guides on hikes & a float trip. Soaking in Tabacon's hot springs. Loved: the "bug lady" of the Butterfly Garden, Toucan Rescue Center & our farewell dinner with Sibu chocolatiers. Zip lining in Arenal was thrilling!

review_img

Bernstein Bond

Pura Vida Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

Since this was our first Tauck tour, we were not sure what to expect. As previously independent travelers, we were hesitant to be part of a group and not able to make choices during our travel. We were very pleasantly surprised with the opportunities that Tauck travel afforded us with special presentations and opportunities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Monteverde

review_img

Ron Lyster

Very pleasant and memorable experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This is our first tour with Tauck and we were very impressed with the staff, the selection of hotels and the service. We had a superb guide who always took care of our needs. My only suggestions for improvements are: 1. Cut out the costs of lunch from your price and let us eat on our own. 2. Try to minimize the long bus rides.

Most Memorable Moment:

The zipline was an amazing experience. But we didn't care much about the the gold museum in San Jose.

review_img

Jeff Tap

Pura Vida- Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

The Costa Rica Pura Vida tour was, overall, very disappointing. The tour itinerary and pace were rated in your brochure as Level 3, i.e. challenging. We were expecting activities that would, in fact, require us to” walk two-to-three miles or stand for long periods of time". We spent most of our time riding in an uncomfortable bus.

Most Memorable Moment:

The disappointment of seeing animals in cages as though we were in a zoo. This we could have done in our own neighborhood for a great savings to ourselves! We were expecting a more natural, nature-centric experience. This is not what we were expecting given our 2 past tours with Tauck

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you were disappointed with our Costa Rica tour. I have passed along your review to our Guest Relations department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

baba1

Costa Rico Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Yes an active trip, yes an adventure, but some would have appreciated an opportunity to visit in San Jose. We left to return home on the last day, when an adjustment in the trip could allow for a city tour, a museum visit etc. Third hotel property shameful. Day of rest day isolated nothing to do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Nature walks beautiful, night BBC very special

review_img

Gram

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Guides were the best. Organization was superb. People friendly and adventures always exciting and informative.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the roads and was amazed how the bus driver got to and from everywhere. Sorry to realize that I lost $100 in one of the hotels. Dropped from out of my garment. Thought maybe service would turn the money in but guess they needed it more than me. The country is beautiful and animals too. Food great and the hotels and service the best.

review_img

ColleenCarey

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

The tour guides were absolutely amazing! All of the hotels were perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cloud forest and all of the flowers

review_img

garyj

costa rica travels

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

good overall. great guide. would have preferred to get to san jose earlier by skipping exit thru the gift shop coffee plantation experience. Would have like to get to the gold museum earlier. Didn't get to spend all that much time there. Was good to see it after hours but visit was brief and I was very interested Good hotels and restaurants

Most Memorable Moment:

Monteverde Rain Forest and zip line

review_img

BTallent

Costa Rica Advantures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

We enjoyed the variety of places we visited. Spending two nights at each place was nice and all had their enjoyable amenities. All the staff members and locals were so friendly and hospitable. The animal and bird sightings were awesome in each area. Some of the days were too long, with lots of riding on the bus. Wished for some films to see.

Most Memorable Moment:

At age 70, it was a thrill to get to zip line on the long and high lines amidst such beautiful scenery. I love adventure, and both my husband and I enjoyed that activity the most. Another great memory was meeting Marvin Rockwell and hearing his incredible story. He was interesting, inspiring, and has led an unbelievable life.

review_img

spellbinder

Costa Rica is full of beauty and adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

There was a new adventure waiting for us everyday, from horse back riding, to zip lining, to a boat trip, to a float trip. We hiked a rain forest and a cloud forest. We walked on hanging walkways far above the trees, we visited snakes and observed a few eating their meal of live mice. We watched butterflies eat, fly, and land on us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip lining for the first time.

review_img

BParmelee

Costa Rican Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

The adventure tour of Costa Rica was so much fun! The hotels were gorgeous and offered great views with loads of wildlife and flowers. Ziplining, river float and treetop walks were amazing. Building in a kayak paddle would make the trip even better!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved seeing the sloths and other wild life on the river--very peaceful and fascinating day. The guides were excellent!

review_img

Travelcat

A busy, smooth, and richly varied trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

From the many birds and animals (monkeys, sloths, iguanas, and 6 quetzels)to the skywalks, horseback riding, beach time, and ziplining, this was a wonderfully varied tour. We had perfect weather and a delightful small group. Our tour director was superb: her knowledge,humor,warmth,and attentiveness ensured a smooth and memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip on the Penas Blancas river and the people -- the family on the river, the Rockwells, the other travelers.

review_img

LJV

Good job, again, Tauck!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

This trip was even better than we expected! We had perfect weather every day thus affording exceptional views of the summit of Arenal volcano, monkeys and sloths, and colorful tropical birds. The pace of the tour was rapid with little down time, but then, we didn't sit out any of the activities. Costa Rica is a beautiful country!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved zip-lining (twice), the river float, horseback riding

review_img

joe stiglitz

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Our Tauck Director was terrific. He was knowledgeable and caring. The naturealists made everything very interesting and educational. As for the hotels, Only the Intercontinental had grab bars in the shower. I'm 88 years old, so this is of no little concern for me. To sum up, this was my third visit to Costa Rica,(second with Tauck),and just as enjoyable

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Quetzl.

review_img

Chelseaeyes

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Be prepared to step out of the box and open yourself up to new adventures, in this 3rd world, ecological conscious, amazing country. My expectations were realized and much more....cloud forest, rain forest and the float trip can't be put into words. Lots of driving on hilly, winding, unpaved roads. My suggestion: TRUST your Bus driver's driving!

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the Costa Rican family living on the bank of the river.

review_img

Meir

Tauck is over rated

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

If I did not know any better I would have said OK. BUT, we stayed in the Andaz Hyatt in Papagallo for 4 days which was the same distance from Bosca Del Mar and 100 times better. I don't know what kind of relationship you have with the Bosca owners, because we stayed again at Tilajari and this was even worse!!! Nor the accommodations or the food ...

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip lining, visiting the family down on the river trip, the Lodge at Monte Verde. Our guide was great, but even she was unhappy about the hotels. (paticularly the 2 I mentions before).

review_img

South Pacific Flyer

Costa Rica Is the Tahiti of the Americas

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Everything went well. Our tour director, Wendy, was excellent. The hotels were all very good. The food was great,no set menu. The bus driver, Wilmer, was excellent. We always felt safe. Only down side was the traffic in San Jose. Liberia was a wonderful airport. Wish we could fly in and out of it.San Jose traffic was stressful and very scary.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, it was seeing a mother sloth and her baby while horseback riding near Tilajari Resort. My husband loved the big zip line at Sky tram. We both loved the river float and the cloud forest. It was all great.

review_img

Dick Molnar

Where's the fauna?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

As expected, the Tauck director and naturalists were excellent. The trip was well planned, the hotels very good to excellent and the food very good. Perhaps our expectations were misguided, but we expected to see a wide variety of animals, birds and trees/plants. Unfortunately, the trees and plants made seeing the fauna difficult. Roads horrible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the quetzal bird.

review_img

ruthie346

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

I didn't enjoy this trip as much as the Panama Canal section because the constant Americanisms were starting to. Something being the size of W Virginia meant nil to me. Neither did the constant references to miles and fahrenheit temperatures. There were quite a few pushy Yanks as well, who always had to be first! I enjoyed the excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

The raft trip down the river.

review_img

iblenny

Critique

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

A true adventure, delivering more of Costa Rica than hotels and beaches. More strenuous than expected. Should have been labeled moderate/strenuous. Of the 23 on the tour only 9 of us were up to the big zip line. The cloud forest and rain forest walks were also demanding. The Hotel Tilajari lacked good oversight. The tour director deserves top praise.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip down the Penas Blancas River. Amazing experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your critique. We have reached out to the Product Manager for this tour to let him know about your feedback regarding the activity level of this trip and the Hotel Tilajari.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

baltic

Costa Rica Is Different

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We have been to Mexico, Central America, many Carribean Islands and South America. Costa Rica is unique in this part of the world. It is clean,safe,has a decent economy and standard of living. The population is well educated and seems commited to presrving the wildlife and natural beauty of the country. This is the destination for nature lovers.

Most Memorable Moment:

A morning walk on a clean beach flanked by trees full of beatiful birds, iguanas and monkeys. Add the sound of the surf, the songs of the birds and the call of howler monkeys, and you know you are in a special place.

review_img

Robert and Mary from Maryland

Costa Rica--Adventure, Culture, and Fun

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We had a memorable time on the Costa Rica Adventure. We went zip-lining and horseback riding. We traveled on suspension bridges, went rafting, and saw many different types of birds and animals--even the Resplendent Quetzel in Monteverde. The naturalists and local guides were interesting and informative. Our Tour Director, Stuart, was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traveling along the zip-line and looking over to see the mist clear from the top of majestic Arenal Volcano.

review_img

Wendyb

Trip to Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

I've enjoyed it immensely but it was difficult for people in their late 70's. It was a bit repetitive and too much time in the bus on difficult roads. Hotels and food good and guides excellent as usual. All amenities good and all travel arrangements went well.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the insect talk and of course, the cloud forest was exciting.

review_img

123aurora123

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Every day of this trip was more of an exciting adventure than I had hoped for. The tour director, driver, naturalists and other staff members took wonderful care of us and provided experiences that will be with me for a lifetime. Costa Rica's natural beauty is breathtaking, and her people are warm and gracious. Thank you all.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ziplining, horseback riding, quetzal spotting, waking to the wild sounds of howler monkeys, and enjoying it all with funny, kind companions.

review_img

Lovebird

Costa Rica Adventure - December 10 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Smooth as silk! Tour Director (Carla) and main guide (Jonas) were the most caring people, couldn't be more helpful or knowledgeable. All local guides, hotel staff, speakers were wonderful - made us feel special. CR is beautiful. People of CR value nature as it was intended for all to appreciate. We were a great group overall. We sure lucked out!

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't say. The entire adventure was fun, interesting, inspiring - what travelling to other countries & meeting new people are all about. On the river, the beach party, the hikes through the cloud forest, Arenal volcano, visit to private home, insect lecture, meeting Mr. Rockwell, etc., etc. Tauck really does rock!

review_img

Senior travelers

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

This small group tour was outstanding. The accommodations provided a taste of local culture, the order-off-the-menu meals were delicious, and the daily activities were interesting and appropriate for persons of wide-ranging ages. Our guides were well informed, articulate, and caring. Moreover, the itinerary was engaging yet not exhausting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Before this tour we were apprehensive about only one optional activity: zip-lining. However, the local guides were so thorough and reassuring in their orientation session that we decided to take a zip-line ride on both days this was available. These were memorable moments, indeed, for a couple in our mid-70s! We returned home feeling younger!

review_img

birdybird

costa rica adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Did not rate as 5 because of the difficulty of trip. Should be rated as moderate activity because most activities required walking uphill/downhill on loose, wet rocks to reach them. Also, felt a bit rushed and took some downtime on my own. Our guide did a wonderful job however on giving us a complete experience of all the costa rica wonders.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding down the sky trek, looking to my right at a white-faced capuchin monkey. Should also mention the jungle massage-heaven!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced some truly memorable moments. We will be sure to look into your comments regarding the activity level of this trip. We thank you for traveling with Tauck and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jac

Amazing Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

We loved everything about this trip. It was our 1st Tauck trip & we now know why some people in our group have taken 10+ tours. The tour director, Costa Rican guide & driver were excellent. This is an amazing country; rich in history & beauty as well as friendly people. It was an exhilarating & educational trip. Don't miss it!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to choose one moment from such an amazing trip, but we would choose Monteverde. Our guides opened our eyes to a level of life about which we weren't knowledgeable. Learning about the interactions among plants, insects & birds and seeing quetzal, sloths, insects, etc. altered our view of life and our place in it.

review_img

marymertic

Costa Rica Wonderful Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

As always, Tauck provides the best a country can offer with more than the advertised experiences. We had a group of mostly seasoned Tauck travelers and were a fun loving group. Sometimes it is the little unexpected things that Tauck does (extra treats, paid potty stops, small gifts) that make the trip so memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Horseback riding with my son....and rafting and the food and the wonderful people we traveled with.

review_img

KNicholson

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The trip was very well done. It highlighted many interesting and unique things about the country: 97% of all people have electricity and cheap, goal of no carbon footprint on environment by 2020, and they expect to meet it. People were so friendly. Food great, guides amazing. They were as excited as guests when we saw Resplendent Quetzal.

Most Memorable Moment:

The people we meet on the tour!

review_img

belsad

great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

My wife and I took this trip and loved it. The food was wonderful and the tours for the most part were great. The highlights were the zip-line and the night walk. We had problems understanding the English of many of the Costa Ricans. Our tour guides watched over us always. The Monteverdi Lodge is the best on the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

the beach at playa Hermosa and snorkeling there and listening to the howler monkeys

review_img

Bob Coulson

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The trip was well directed and informative. The tour director kept us on schedule, gave loads of information along the way and prevented any snafus from happening. But, we also felt that there was insufficient time to visit gift shops (local artisans) along the way. A stop of the tour at a presidential museum was not appreciated.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Monteverde Cloud Forest hike. The bullfight.

review_img

SPortnoy

Fantastic adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Tauck knows how to do everything right. From picking you up at the airport to dropping you off. Our guide Federico was extremely professional and quite knowledgeable about Costa Rica as was his local guide Alejandro. They were a great team. Accommodations were very good as was the food. I love all the "special treats" that Tauck does.

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip lining in Monteverde. Private tour of Museo de Oro and listening to the Quaker guest speaker, Mr. Rockwell at Monteverde.

review_img

RGormley

Costa Rican Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This is a trip for those who really like trips that are pretty much all outdoors. There is some physical stamina required and you need to be in reasonably good physical condition. It's a great trip for people who love nature and find animals that they otherwise never see fascinating. The wildlife was everything we hoped it would be.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was being able to see a resplendent quetzal in the wild that we came upon by chance. There are only 150 mating pairs in the large area of Costa Rica where we were located and we were so fortunate to see one. While horseback riding, we were also able to peer into a vulture's nest on the ground and see a baby chick.

review_img

MNLARRYS

Wonderful Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Tauck guides led us through an excellent cultural, historical, and ecological exploration of Costa Rica. Our Guide Jane was wonderful. We only wish time spent waiting over long lunches (and Sky Trek) could have been spent further exploring the culture or ecology.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Monte Verde area and walking on the hanging bridges in the cloud forest will never be forgotten. It was incredibly beautiful.

review_img

GOwens

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This was our first Tauck trip. We traveled the Costa Rica Eco-adventure. The hotel accommodations were fabulous. Food was out standing. All details were handled with the utmost perfection. The excursions covered a wide range and everyone could attend. Our Tour director was so informative. We recommend traveling with Tauck for all your travels.

Most Memorable Moment:

The raft trip was so memorable. The world drifted away and we were transported to another time. Everyone enjoyed the slow pace and laughter filled the air.

review_img

BMorrison

Costa Rica a must travel destination

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

I loved this trip. Costa Rica is a beautiful country with beautiful people. Jane, our tour guide ,was wonderful with all of her excitement and love for Costa Rica. Nancy, the local guide, and Drew ,the bus driver, were wonderful as well. I would recommend this trip to friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the organic farm we visited on the 2nd day and the lunch we had was fabulous. The bridges were wonderful and the zip lining was such a thrill.

review_img

Sojourner

Falling in love with Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

I could talk about zip-lining, river rafting and walks through the Rain and Cloud forests,which were great, but what really impressed me were the extra touches that only Tauck would think to do. We met a 102 year old rancher in his home where his family graciously welcomed us which made us fall in love with the people and their culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt, it was zip-lining over the Rain Forest. Breathtaking in more ways than one.

review_img

annd

best guides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Our third vacation with Tauck reinforced the fact that Tauck has the best tour directors, local guides and drivers. We have toured with other companies, and their people are just not as good. Also, we like the mix of sightseeing and downtime. They allot time for both.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having our guides point out the perfectly camouflaged bats resting on a tree by the river. Their coloration was so perfect, we could not see them until they moved.

review_img

sooner-or-later

Great overview of Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

We very much enjoyed our fellow travelers, MonteVerde, the float trip, ziplining at Arenal, and the coffee plantation. We liked the pace of the trip overall, but would have preferred more time in MonteVerde (either town or cloud forest)and less time at the far too leisurely lunch the second day and a day in San Jose seeing the museums and markets.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick one - certainly the "bug lady" was a riot! And we enjoyed our naturalist's commentary, bringing the countryside to life and we rolled from place to place!

review_img

WKidwell

Pura Vida, Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Very personable, efficient, informative, enjoyable and fun. From zip lining, to sky bridges, to river rafting and treking thru rain forests, all the while knowing we were in good hands. Even though the roads were unpaved some of the time, our bus was comfortable and the driver very skilled. Our guide truly made the experience a memorable one.

Most Memorable Moment:

The river raft trip on San Carlos river, and seeing the Arenal volcano.

review_img

Ades1649

Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Great tour director (Stuart). Great bus driver (el Tigre). Great local guide (Alejandro). Good group of people on the tour. However, the heat is oppressive on the coast and in the valley, and the food isn't anything to write home about. I greatly preferred the Ireland/ England/Scotland/ Wales tour we took in 2012.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of coffee plantation before going into San Jose.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again, we thank you for your patronage and do hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rokrol

Can't wait to do it again...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

I had a blast in Costa Rica. I have always wanted to go to Costa Rica to zip line and we did just that two days! The advanture of horseback riding and the raft down the river was wonderful too! The guides and the other travelers were so friendly it felt like I was traveling with family!

review_img

Lizzy

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This is a great trip for people who love nature and wildlife. I love photography and this trip gave me ample options for capturing great shots. The food was great and the people were nice.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip on the river was the highlight for me. We saw crocs, sloth, howler monkeys and more.

review_img

Hi_D

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This trip is very well organized without a dull moment. Take this trip if you like to keep moving and see as much as possible. It's a must for anyone would loves nature and wants to absorb as much details about this incredible country.

Most Memorable Moment:

The amazing cloud forest and tremendously knowledgable naturalists is what I will remember most. The smell, clean air, the sounds, this peaceful place teaming with life! Second most memorable part of this trip is meeting and getting to know the wonderful people on this trip and the locals conducting the tours and the servers working hard to please.

review_img

sjcantor1

Costa Rica Adventures March 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Our trip was great. I really recommend the small group size; well worth the extra expense. Pace was great, choice of activities also. We stayed in or travelled through at least six different ecosystems and our guides were extremely knowledgeable, which totally enhanced the overall experience. This is the way to go to Costa Rica!

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't choose...there were so many.

review_img

Janice K

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Truly an adventure with nature. The naturalists were great and found animals,birds,etc.and gave very informative descriptions. Sitting at the pool you see some of these. The pace was full but not exausting.Our tour director,Jane,was great and enthusiastic. One of the best in our 31 tour Tauck experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ziplining was an adveture that raises adrenaline, but doable. Walking through the cloud forest and looking down on nature was great. Living among the monkeys, iguanas, birds was a different experience from most other tours which feature cities and man made structures. Hot springs were great to relax the body and bond with other guests.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Wow - 31! Thanks for taking the time to share your comments, but most of all thank you for your continued patronage. We truly appreciate your belief in us to deliver the best vacation experiences possible.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Baby Bear

Costa Rica - Pura Vida!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Costa Rica which appears to be a very stable country with goals and concerns as to earth's eco-systems, as we visited many rain forests, cloud forests together seeing the flora and fauna of the country-side.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the most memorable moment was when our tour guide followed the act of the local guides on the raft trip in which she did the back flip into the river. It takes "guts" to do this, but shows that she would do anything to make this tour something to especially remember.

review_img

sschwa

Booked on a lark & rewarded

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

The philosophy with kids is stop the game while they are still having fun. It seems that happened with Costa Rica. It was way too short. Just a wonderful tour; the people of Costa Rica just as wonderful. If you like the idea of hiking through magnificent 'jungle,' don't miss it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Incredibly long zipline over breathtaking terrain.

review_img

wjweinberg

Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

We enjoyed everything about this trip - the Tour Director, the local guides, the hotels, and our fellow travelers. The weather even cooperated!

Most Memorable Moment:

The float trip was definitely the highlight of the trip. We saw howler monkeys, sloths, crocodiles, and much much more.

review_img

Sarah Watstein

December 2011 Costa Rica Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

The Adventure guide, Gaston, was superb. His knowledge, experience and customer service ethic made the Adventure what it was. I especially enjoyed the various options (activities, meals, lodging, destinations etc.) and the group size made a difference. We were 29 individuals, and that is just about right for this type of trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Frankly, having the time with my mother. My father had recently passed, and the opportunity to travel with her, and not have to worry about any of the details or logistics, and be well taken care of, made all the difference in the world. We had gone to Hawaii with Tauck some years ago, and look forward to a river cruise with Tauck within the next 10 months.

review_img

zoorsc

Perfect Mix of Adventure and Relaxation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

This was our first Tauck trip. My wife and I are mid-50s, active people. We wanted activity, nature, culture, and relaxation. The Costa Rica trip gave it all to us. Costa Rica is a eco-tourist paradise. Much of the land is unspoiled, but there are few really extravagant resorts. If you are seeking 4-star resorts, stay away. If you are looking for elegant comfort, then this is the trip for you. Great local guides and lots of amazing scenery and wildlife. We loved learning about local culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

For us it was the wildlife. I have traveled a bit and have seen a lot, but coming upon a ground nest of black vultures with chicks in the nest was absolutely amazing. For my wife, it may have been the troop of howler monkeys in full throat. If you haven't experienced it first hand, then you have no idea how much sound came come out of that small body. We also loved meeting 99-year-old Don Pedro at his ranch and learning about his way of life: no electricity, no phone. Simply amazing in 2012.

review_img

RobsLassie

Pura Vida in Costa Rica!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our Costa Rica Adventure. The tour itself was excellent, with knowledgeable and helpful guides (tour guide Gaston and local guide Alejandro), a good itinerary, great hotels, friendly people, but the animal encounters were amazing. Our river rafting trips led us past howling monkeys, basking crocodiles, iguanas in the treetops, and the gorgeous birds. We even found a tiny red and blue poison dart frog! We can hardly wait to go back to this remarkable country.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments, but the most exciting of all was seeing two fledgling black vultures hidden in the roots of a big tree during our guided walk through the jungle near the Tilajari Resort. This entire walk was remarkable...we saw howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, a sloth, leaf-cutter ants, and walking palm trees!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button