TravelerReviews

The Panama Canal & Costa Rica - Eastbound

review_img

timoshenko

Costa Rica and Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

San Jose, Costa Rica, where we began our trip, is at nearly 4000 ft, cool and surrounded by mountains. Panama City, where we ended is at sea level and hot with a modern skyline making for a huge change in climate and atmosphere. We began at a coffee plantation in the mountains and ended on a ship in the impressive Panama Canal. Wow what a contrast.

Most Memorable Moment:

Transiting the Panama Canal and also spending some time in a small boat on the canal. The boat took us into one of the many "inlets" of the canal created by the flooding of the Chagres river when the canal was built. The surroundings have been left as a jungle where we saw monkeys, a large crocodile and a number of birds. Totally unexpected.

review_img

Carol 2408

Trip #19

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Fascinating trip - Tauck finds little gems that we would never see on our own. Esp nice that our TD was raised and still lives near the Canal Zone so we got a unique history from a local's POV. Our 2nd transit of the canal was much more interesting with Tauck because of the pre- and post-transit excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many: river rafting, Gold & Gehry museums, La Paz waterfal garden, coffee plantation, Carlos's presentations aboard the Wind Star, aerial tram in Gamboa, skyline of Panama City, and as always the folks we meet on a Tauck trip.

review_img

Dorothy JuneFeeney

Cruising the Panama Canal and Costa Rica

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

I had a wonderful time on the cruise. The Windstar was all I expected to experience and then some. The staff was great and couldn't do enough for us. We enjoyed cocktails in the evening and great trips during the day. All in all it was a chance of a lifetime and I'm glad I did it with Tauck. I met some wonderful people and made new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments like the staff show, the on deck BBQ and then line dancing with the staff after. The places that Tauck took us to like the Beach Party BBQ. Also going into the various rain forests (each one is different). I could go on forever but I'm running out of space. This was a wonderful trip and I highly recommend it.

review_img

gpandian

Small ship Panama Canal crossing and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

It was a fascinating experience to cross Panama Canal armed with all the knowledge gathered from presentations and visiting Canal Zone before hand. Costa Rica is a lovely green country with natural beauty. Tauck tour is well planned and carried out in their admirable way as usual. Met wonderful people in the group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing the Panama Canal watching from a beautiful small ship Windstar with excellent service on board.

review_img

StuartGoldsmith

another great Tauck experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

costa rica-panama-and canal was all together spectacular as only Tauck can continually provide.....a special shout out to our Tauck Director, whose presence and knowledge made the trip that much more enjoyable

Most Memorable Moment:

the entire trip

review_img

MollyK

Panama Canal, East Bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

We stayed in San Jose, toured it, then a coffee plantation, some of San Jose, then to the Windstar.... loved our tour director, and meeting new friends. The Canal was awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going under the Bridge of the America's as we entered the Canal.

review_img

Jeff Werblin

Windstar Costa Rica and Panama Canal Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Sharing this with other guest booked by Windstar was disjointed and seemed to be poorly organized. What did we get for the extra cost for Tauck?. Sarchi was not exactly an artist colony,really a junk shop. Tour director was outstanding, however.

Most Memorable Moment:

Trip through the Panama Canal

review_img

Zellie

Not What I Expected from Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This trip did not stand up well to our other Tauck experiences. It was weird sharing a venue with a group that paid a lot less for their trip than we did. The trip to Sarchi was a joke built up to be an artisans colony.........not! The only thing that lived up to our expectations was our tour director, who was terrific.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the canal.

review_img

gdamos

Ahoy Maties

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

City tour of San Jose, coffee & chocolate plantation stops were quite informative. What grabbed our attention was the 4-masted clipper ship. The ship "Wind Star" and crew were awesome. Minor disappointment - we were never under sail (at least while I was awake). Otherwise - 5 stars.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our very own naturalist on board - Superb.

review_img

HarryPotter

My always wanted to do trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

I had always wanted to travel to Panama and traverse the Panama Canal. Friends had raved about Costa Rica and I had never been. This was a dream trip, combining both, and on a beautiful four masted schooner to boot! Our Tauck Director was great, as were the local guides and local tours. Traveling single was easy because Tauck attracts wonderful guests.

Most Memorable Moment:

I ZIP LINED!!! Never thought I would, was encouraged by others in the group about my age.

review_img

CarmenMitcho

Panama/Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

This was our second Tauck trip and it did not disappoint. Our host and the guides provided were excellent. The Wind Star and its crew were outstanding in understanding our needs. The weather was outstanding and the excursions were excellent. The one suggestion I have is with the zip line could use liners before putting helmet on.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were a few 1. Dinner at candles on Board 2. Going through the canal 3. Rafting 4. Rain Forest, Cocao and Coffee tours

review_img

TMP

Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Excellent trip. Tour Director and naturalist did an excellent job.

Most Memorable Moment:

Panama Canal transit.

review_img

PackerGirl

Panama Canal Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Great Trip. Canal Crossing very interesting and Small Ship very nice Change from large ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Zip Lining in Costa Rica.

review_img

KathrynH

In Panama, Rules Are Just Suggestions

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Very upbeat excursion to see an engineering marvel. Along the voyage you will learn about people within emerging economy nations and enjoy their wonderful weather. You will see their ecological treasures and learn about chocolate and coffee. The Canal looms as the big attraction and reason to cruise around on a fancy sailboat with haute cuisine.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going under the Americas bridge. Have your video camera ready for what appears to be a disaster (but somehow it works). You will see new and wide locks from a viewing stand, but while you are passing through the old and narrow locks, try to stand near the captain (who maneuvers the Wind Star manually until mechanical mules engage) to see it all.

review_img

Brianbailey

Costa Rica and Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

The small ship experience (80+ people) was wonderful. By the end of the cruise we were able to put names and hometowns with about half of the faces. The two directors were wonderful. Constantly keeping us advised of the day's activities, repeating instruction, gently herding, always with a smile and friendly demeanor.

Most Memorable Moment:

343 characters is not much for meaningful feedback

review_img

Sue Connolly

Central America - A New Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

We have travelled a fair amount throughout Europe and Asia. This was our first visit to Central America and our third Tauck trip. As always, Tauck delivered above expectations. While this trip was not our most luxurious, it was probably our most adventurous - climate, vegetation, wildlife, hiking and intercultural exchange!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many great memories but probably the most distinct was our visit with the Embera people in the Darien region. It was truly a great introduction to a new culture. At first, I wondered if we were taking advantage or being too intrusive. However, the Tauck Directors prepared us well and handled the interchange with utmost respect. A great learning!

review_img

Elaine Persyn

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

The tour directors were fabulous, informative and a lot of fun. The ship crew was fantastic. All the planned activities were well worth the trip. Love the small ship feel. It was fun meeting all the people from all parts of the United States.

Most Memorable Moment:

Holding the hands of the children as they met us on the island and sharing their native dance, history and culture. Enjoyed the nature walks with the 4 naturalists on the ship. Loved the rain forest, humming birds, butterflies, monkeys, wild animals, etc. even though it rained the whole day. Love the waterfalls. I would take this trip again.

review_img

TNbird

Totally Impressed by Tauck!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Panama-Canal-Costa Rica westbound. This was our first experience with Tauck and we were completely impressed by their professionalism, logistic efficiency and the care and little extras offered by our tour directors. Our expectations were exceeded in almost every way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two: Transiting the Panama Canal - quite a spectacle! And, the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to visit the native Embera people in Darien Province. Sweet, welcoming and beautiful people. Like a visit to a National Geographic article in real life. Plus, outstanding crafts to buy with NO "pushiness".

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We are so glad you enjoyed your first journey with us as you ventured through the Panama Canal and then went on to explore more of Panama and Costa Rica. We look forward to having you travel with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mazalea

A fresh look

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Costa Rica-Panama Canal trip was exceptional. With two BBC naturalists and two in-country cultural experts with us aboard the Tere Moana we learned so much. Directors are experienced navigators of this area, and it showed as there was never a glitch! Night time crossing the Canal was dramatic and magical.

Most Memorable Moment:

OK - Two: 1) Meeting the Embera tribe at their 'home' on the beach. 2) Dinner on the top deck as we crossed the Canal.

review_img

eddhiggins

Tauck Did It Again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We had a wonderful time on this trip. Great sights to see, fun excursions and most of all, great tour directors. Not much point in going on with specifics since Tere Moana has been sold and the 2017 trip might be very different, but our fourth Tauck trip lived up to our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Passage through the Canal. We entered in the evening, which I have read that some folks complained about, but I thought it was even better than a daylight passage would have been. Much more dramatic even though we missed parts of it by going to bed.

review_img

John Ford

Much more than a trip through the Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We thought the main purpose of this trip was to go through the Panama Canal. Not so, the trip was full of unexpected surprises. Costa Rica is so beautiful and we learned a lot about the country by visiting the coffee plantation, La Paz Garden and relaxing on the beach. Panama was so much more than the Canal, which was wonder to experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit with the Embera was a once in a lifetime experience. Experiences like this is what makes traveling with Tauck so special.

review_img

lkwdjohn

Worth the two weeks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Both land and sea accommodations were first class. However, the San Jose hotel is not conveniently located and did not have hot water. Tour guides were great with the group. Tere Moana staff wonderful. Tours are good with the exception of Guna tribe visit which is like Mexico where everyone has their hands out for money. Great weather!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting with the Embera tribe. The people were very friendly. Unlike the Guna, they were more interested in us than our money. Many more smiles with the Embera. Watching our Tauck Director interact with the tribe was heart warming.

review_img

Suzy800

Costa Rica and Panama Jan - Feb 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Excellent Panama Canal transit as well as the visits to the locks and museums. The Tauck tour directors were excellent - everything went like clockwork. The Naturalists were really good. The drivers were excellent. For all this, 4 stars. However, local guides ranged from weak to incompetent. Hotel in San Jose poor, disorganized, badly located.

Most Memorable Moment:

Panama Canal transit first, followed by early morning visit to islands to see birds.

review_img

Kardis

Poor quality food, wine, service and ship.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Walgreens sells Woodbridge cab for $6.99 retail. There wasn't a decent wine served on the whole trip. Champagne wasn't drinkable. Buffets were like a high school cafeteria, unpleasant. Ship was second rate as was the service. Usually had to find a waiter for a coffee or drink refill..Had no time to look at exhibits in gold museum.or to shop anywhe

Most Memorable Moment:

Panama canal during daylight. Oh that didn't happen. Many first time Tauck said it would be only time. We did Italy which couldn't have been better. This would have been a great cut rate tour. Tauck quality wasn't there. The negligence waiver leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Says Tauck cannot be trusted. disguised as only applying to kayaking

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that this journey did not live up to your expectations. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests. We hope that you will travel with us in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jagman

Great Trip Good Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Great trip with good group of people. The activities were many and varied Great wildlife viewing.Transit through Panama Canal was fascinating. What made the trip complete was the "Tour Director's" show. Our guides were the hardest working we've ever encountered and they enriched our trip with their attention to detail. High energy needed but fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many memorable moments. Visiting with the natives on their islands. Wildlife, monkeys,lizards,lots of birds and fish and a sloth. Snorkeling in quiet coves. Transit of Panama Canal in early evening added another element to the experience.

review_img

screentraveler

Very nice trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

The small ship Panama Canal trip was excellent. The guides were most well informed and well connected. It was evident they were doing many behind the scenes chores to make the trip enjoyable for all the participants. Their efforts were greatly appreciated. The high point was the visit to the Embera people on the Darien Province. Excellent trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Darien Provincee

review_img

Paul Martinet

Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

More educational information we expected. It was great. The stops ere not only educational but beautiful. The passing through the canal at night was a disappointment, but we have been through a lot of canals so no big deal.The two tour directors were supper as was the staff of the ship. The medical doctor took special interest in me with my issue.

review_img

dwqi

Escape to Gilligan's Island

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Just outstanding. Rain forests, great coffee, butterfly's (Zebras) and places where fairy tails are made. Food on board was excellent with surprise appetizers, mains, deserts. Resort casual needed each night on board. Nonslip water shoes a must. Pre-trip stair climbing exercises a must to avoid leg muscle exhaustion. A lot of up/down walking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Evening Panama Canal crossing on Deck 5 outdoor BBQ or the Day in Darian. People of Darian provide a role model for the rest of the world to live by.

review_img

PMellott

One to Not Miss

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Loved the small ship experience. Excellent combination of land and sea itinerary. Each day was filled with history, nature, culture, and friendship. Tauck tour directors, naturalists, local docents, and ship crew - all were engaging and outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many memorable moments; enjoyed it all.

review_img

Kay D

Panama Canal & Costa Rica - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

An incredible trip! Everything was well thought out and timed perfectly. The Tere Moana was a wonderful cruising experience: great crew and delicious food. Going thru the Panama Canal while enjoying a bbq on deck - wow! The Tour Directors were entertaining and informative, plus great fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's very difficult selecting one or two memories from so many wonderful experiences, but the two that really stand out are the visit to the Darien Province with the Embera people and the visit to the Biomuseo, the biodiversity museum in Panama City.

review_img

AlanDH

Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We did the cruise of the Panama Canal aboard the m/v Tere Moana after spending a couple of days touring around Panama City. The Tere Moana is a first class ship, including the crew, with all amenities. On the Pacific side, we visited a native village to see how the simple life is lived. Costa Rica had good events as well. Highly recommended!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the native villages to see how they lived and to purchase some of their wares. All items offered were magnificent.

review_img

donald waldorf

panama canal trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Exceeded expectations! We had the best tour directors we have experienced in our 6 Tauck trips. They made everything easy and fun without the regimentation some Tauck directors employ. They were low key while being informative and genuinely made us feel they wanted us to very much enjoy the trip. So many extras!

Most Memorable Moment:

1) going through the canal 2) visit to the Embera in Darien Province 3) visit to the San Blas Islands

review_img

gwb

Even better than expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

This was our first trip with Tauck. We chose this because of Tauck's reputation, a destination that my wife had always wanted to visit, and that was good time for us to go. The tour guides were amazing and near perfect!! The demands of this job are incredible and they were flawless. I would go with Tauck again, without hesitation

Most Memorable Moment:

Traversing the Panama Canal was absolutely fascinating and the entire time aboard the Tere Moana was wonderful. (Unfortunately, the Tere Moana has apparently been sold to another travel company, and, at the time of our departure, the future of this particular Tauck tour was still up in the air)

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review and to let us know how much you enjoyed this extraordinary journey through the Panama Canal and Costa Rica. We look forward to hosting you on your next Tauck journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Nee nee

Alaska Wild

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

The accomodations were good...and most all meals as well, except for a couple of ' box lunch ' choices..a Every one of the adventures were amazing,and we were blessed with sunshine the entire time. our tour guide and coach driver added to the pleasure with their knowlege and commentaries..The activities were varied,exciting,and memorable..

Most Memorable Moment:

Landing on a glacier on Mt.Denali !! Taking a sea plane to a lake to view bears !!

review_img

leni

Panama Canal and Costa Rica westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Basically the trip was great. It was hotter and more humid in Panama City the expected. The cruise on the Terra Moana was outstanding. My complaint was with our last hotel in Costa Rica, the International. They didn't have a room for us when we checked in. Had to wait in lobby for 3 hrs. before they found us a room. Will not recommend this hotel!

Most Memorable Moment:

The cruise to the islands on the Terra Moana was the most memorable on this trip. The visit to the Embera's was the best! Plus the snorkeling! Loved the rainforest and would like another day there, and 1 less day in Panama City.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your comments regarding the Real Intercontinental Hotel in Costa Rica as well as your suggestion for more time in Panama City to our Product Manager.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sanders Beckman

Rough seas and too little nature

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Rough seas the first night spoiled the trip for too many guests. The group leaders and naturalists were very good. The dinners were an absolute dissapointment. Some dishes were inedible. No choices and pour quality and poor preparation. Two days wasted on snorkling. Almost no nature hikes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the umbura tribe.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your comments to our Product Manager.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lambert

great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

great ship, people great itenary

Most Memorable Moment:

First three locks

review_img

Travelers

Another very nice trip with Tauck--Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

This was our first experience of sailing on a "small ship." We have been on the Tauck River Cruises in Europe and thought the river boats were fantastic. The small ship we sailed on was very nice and presented a friendly environment. It is so convenient to anchor close to shore and take a zodiac to the beach. Totally better than big cruise ships.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing and learning about the Panama Canal was a great experience. However, an equally memorable experience for us was visiting the Indians in Panama. We met the Guna Indians in the East and the Embera Indians of the Darien Province on the West Coast. We were so surprised and amazed by the experience of mingling with the gracious Embera People.

review_img

PAT and BOB cooper

Costa Rica and Panama, Small Ship Cruise

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Fabulous time. A 'normal' Tauck experience. Everything and everyone top drawer. Excellent hotels, interpretive guides, buses, ship, ship accommodations and vittles. Just what we were hoping for. Tauck tour directors helped to make this a truly memorable experience. We are booking our next Tauck trip this week.

Most Memorable Moment:

Transit of the Panama Canal.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Glad you had a fabulous time! Thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tonyandgeorgia

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

This was our second Tauck trip and we greatly enjoyed it. Well organized. Hotels were very comfortable. Great leaders and guides. The ship's crew were excellent and friendly. My only criticism, and it is minor, was that the ship was starting to show signs of wear and tear.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner on deck of the ship as it passed through the Panama Canal locks. My only hesitation in recommending Tauck is that as a Canadian it gets very expensive with the weaker Canadian dollar.

review_img

ruthie346

Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

This was an amazing trip. It was great to learn all about the building of the canal and the heartache that went into it. It was an unreal experience to actually travel through the canal at night and observe the ships going in the other direction. I enjoyed the many different land excursions we made, lots with a resident naturalist with us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Travelling through the Panama Canal

review_img

rockymax

Canal passage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Overall Tauck lived up to it"s standard of excellence. You failed in transparency of the Panama Canal passage. Your literature mentions briefly that you cannot guarantee daytime passage. The reality is, according to the ships crew, passage of small ships occurs almost always at night. Tauck needs to confront that possibility directly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the Embera people.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your overall trip. The frequency of night time transits have increased in recent years, and while a daytime crossing cannot be guaranteed with the opening of the new portions of the canal we are hopeful of a greater frequency of daytime crossings in the future. Our ideal situation is a partial day, partial night crossing because guests tend to remain inside the ship on the sunny, hot days. The new portion of the canal was to be completed in 2014, so when we published the 2015 itinerary at the beginning of 2014, we thought the new canal would certainly be complete one year later. The current schedule shows that it will be completed later this year.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jcrosby

Panama Canal & Costa Rica Eastboud

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

This trip was well-organized and provided a variety of activities. Our Tour Guides, Rick and Steve were fantastic. They worked so very hard to make sure everything went as planned. They took care of all the travelers to make sure everyone was safe and well-cared for throughout the trip. The ship crew was unbelievable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the Panama Canal was the highlight for me. However, the two visits to idigenous groups provided insight and also fond memories. The cruise was also special as the food was excellent and also a variety of activities were included. The crew was fantastic.

review_img

Tex46sam

Small ship cruise: Costa Rica and Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Outstanding trip. Rick and Steve were extraordinary guides and our four naturalist were first-rate. Enjoyed the diversity--hiking nature trails, ecosystem, swimming and snorkeling, visiting the Embera and the Guna and all the canal history.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me the Embera people; my wife would say the canal. We did read The Path Between the Seas, cover to cover, before coming on the trip.

review_img

Bernie33

More than the Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

We took this trip to go through the Canal while wanting to avoid long cruises from Florida or California to get there. Learning about and experiencing the Canal was good, but there were so many other things on this trip that we wouldn't have known about that really made it memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the Embera, visiting Charlie of the Guna, the tram ride through and above the rainforest, meeting Julio and Laura on their island, the long walk to the river, the talks by the naturalists - especially Hernan's tales of his parents, and the Tere Moana.

review_img

HarveyLL

Costa Rica to Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Great directors, naturalists, bus and ship crews, sites, excursions, lectures, salsa lessons, snorkeling lessons, indigenous people visits.

Most Memorable Moment:

The landing and embarkation on Zodiacs on Embara Beach, Panama. Mucho Realisma aventura!

review_img

peteranm

The Panama Canal with Costa Rica and Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

The big highlight was the transit through the canal. The second highlights were visiting indigenous villages so that we were a part of them and celebrating with them, not tourists. We also enjoyed the warm water, sandy beaches, and treks through the rainforest.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Embera village.

review_img

Bmancini

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

It was a most enjoyable trip due to the Tauck directors: Elise and Tim [Employee Name]. I have been on 11 Tauck trips and these two by far were the best directors I have had. They worked so hard in making our trip fun and educational Going through the canal was interesting. My husband stayed up until 2:30 am to see the complete crossing.

Most Memorable Moment:

I very much enjoyed visiting Portobelo, Panama. We visited a Church and strolled the streets. And that evening while transiting the canal, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner on deck.

review_img

cool

The Panama Canal and Costa Rica, Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Small ship cruising through the Panama Canal with grilled lobster and champagne, a visit to the remote tribe of Embera people, snorkeling, exploring islands, incredible history and compassionate lectures by our onboard naturalists, unbelievable food, entertainment, wet and dry landings with food and libation. Tim and Elise were fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

Roof top dining in Panama City. The actual transit through the first lock in the Canal. Our visit with the beautiful Embera people in the Darien. The incredible food......preparation and presentation. The impassioned lectures by naturalists, Rich and Hernan. Our tour directors, Tim and Elise.......every detail covered. Congeniality of guests.

review_img

bhmove2

More than just a cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Our experience on this trip way exceeded our expectations. Tauck has chosen an exceptional ship operator, Paul Gaugain, for this trip and their crew could not have performed at a higher level. The trip directors as well as the 4 Naturalists were also outstanding, esp the 2 from Panama. And for us, it's the people that make the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The snorkeling experience on Granita de Oro, a tiny island, so small it was not on my map. The Paul Gaugain's crew outfitted this dot of sand with umbrellas, towels, a bar and an ice cream stand!There is nothing on this island at all except a beautiful sandy beach and a lovely snorkeling reef. When we were there, it looked like a Hawaiian resort.

review_img

RalphScognamiglio

Panama Canal & Costa Rica January 26th-February 5th 2015

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Elise & Tim are the Dynamic Duo of Tour Directors. Tim & Elise are by far the most professional team I have come across in the travel industry. Always present and available to us throughout our tour. One example of their ever-presence was: engaging passengers throughout our crossing of the Panama Canal, through the Miraflores locks at 2:30am.

Most Memorable Moment:

We will never forget landing on a Darien beach and being greeted by the Emberá people. The smiles and laughter of the children playing will stay in our hearts forever.

review_img

slats

Great Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Very interesting and comfortable from beginning to end. Fellow guests friendly and good company.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crews concert - so unexpected and delivered with such panache. Wonderful!!!

review_img

ShekharK

Panama Canal East Bound Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Great Service. Some really great places of visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling at a remote island early in the morning with no one other than cruise passengers and crew around.

review_img

KKayK

Panama Canal and Costa Rica Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Our tour was a wonderful trip into discovering both the past & present of both Panama and Costa Rica. It was a wonderful blend of land & ship. Traveling with us were 2 oustanding Tauck Tour Guides and 4 very knowledgable Naturalists that gave us a wonderful insight into our daily activities. Outstanding experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising through the Panama Canal while listening to a complete narration by a Canal expert.

review_img

Macias

Costa Rica, Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Started in San Jose, Costa Rica, traveled eastbound thru the Panama Canal and ended in Panama City. Snorkeled, visited villages and had the best 2 guides! Rick and Steve. They went over and beyond taking care of all of us! Even were up the last morning seeing us off and making sure the drivers were there to take us to the airport.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going thru the Panama Canal on the bridge of our ship!

review_img

millerjcat0418

Great way to see the canal!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Outstanding trip overall and very pleased to have chosen it. The Tauck directors and naturalists were excellent. I definitely enjoyed being on the ship more than the land portion. Very luxurious and comfortable accommodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The surprise at the farewell dinner in Panama City.

review_img

John Tysell

Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

first class experience. access to off the beaten track places. small ship cruising is great. all inclusive pricing including ALL tips. the naturalists were friendly and informative especially Hernan. the only disappointment was going thru the canal at night

Most Memorable Moment:

"wet landings" on secluded beaches for snorkeling and meeting indigenous people

review_img

Eliot

Costa Rica and Panama Canal Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Trip was excellent, well planned ,educational and fun. Only criticism is over Tauck's choice of air flights which involved a stop over and plane change in Miami.This was not necessary since direct non stop flights were likely available from Newark Liberty Airport.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through Panama Canal in the evening and night followed by seeing ships going through during the day. Also our visit to the Embera people was fantastic.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are so pleased you ejoyed your trip and experienced some truly memorable moments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your flight schedule and we will certainly provide your feedback to our Airline Department for review. Once again thank you for your patronage and we do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

busylady

Small ship Costa Rica/Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We had the trip of our lifetime and we have done many. Everyone was very professional and helpful. Friendliness was abound. The knowledge was from everyone was unbelievable. Everything was spic and span and food very good. Accommodation on ship and land was exceptional and your tour directors [Employee Name] and Steve [Employee Name] were Unbelievable Men.

Most Memorable Moment:

Darien Island and all the wonderful Natives.But of course the PanamaCanal was spectacular. All in all everything we saw was a most memorable moment. Including the dancing with your Chief engineer.

review_img

mattandme

Costa Rica/Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Steve and Rick were wonderful and the guides were a wealth of information. We had some problems with very strong currents on our snorkel day through no fault of Tauck, but a disappointment for me. There was one outdoor restaurant that could have been better, but overall, I loved the food on the ship and the unusual experiences we were able to have.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed the rain forest experience and swimming in the river.

review_img

gwesthoff

Costa Rica - Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

The trip was well organized - as usual by Tauck - Rick & Steve were the best tour guides we have had with Tauck. The naturalists were also very good and well prepared. The food was not nearly up to Tauck's standards. Our free night dinner was bad and last night food was very bad. The ship's gift shop lacked daily necessities like aspirin etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Panama Canal was the highlight of the trip. The second day at the canal was great since we had to go thru at night. Costa Rica was beautiful and enjoyed our tours there more than Panama. The naturalists made the trip very good.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey but disappointed that some aspects fell below expectatons. Your comments will be looked into immediataly and any and all corrective actions will be taken. Once again thank you for your patronage and we hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

craignjennifer

Christopher Columbus Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Everything was taken care of from start to finish. Never had to think about more then what kind of shoes you were going to wear for the day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Exploring the native Island along the way.

review_img

BHeaton

San Jose, Panama City east

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Exceptional from start to finish. Shore expeditions were awesome, local guides were inspired in their instructions about their country and a pleasure to listen to. Can't say enough about our tour guides they made us feel so very special like we were the first ever. The crew pampered us in every way and also made us feel special. Highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing our state room for the first time. It was grand. The tour of San Jose, The wildlife refuge. Too many most memorable moments to pick anything but all of them. The enthusiasm of the Naturalists was inspiring. Carolyn Heaton the other half of Bill Heaton

review_img

LegvoldPR

Costa Rica/Panama Small Boat Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

My wife and I really loved the trip. Everything was so well planned out and the different experiences on this trip made it a trip that everyone was able to participate in and enjoy.

Most Memorable Moment:

It has to be going through the Panama Canal. We have heard so much about it and then to actually get to go through the locks was so exciting.However, my wife's favorite was probably the waterfalls and the hummingbird experience in Costa Rica. She was amazed.

review_img

WBennet

Costa Rica-Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Our first trip with Tauck became a very nice surprise as we have small shipcruised a lot before and would almost rate a 5. Maybe we heard (which was very nice)more about animals, birds and fishes than we saw. Although the presentations were excellent by the very nice naturalists. Our Director,Steve,is a star! H Had wished a variety of nations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Costa Rica countryside The wonderful swimming and snorkling opportunities The Emberas Panama city and Chanel

review_img

Nesha

Costa Rica and Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Overall an excellent trip. Some bus problems on trip from airport to the hotel. No A/C. Any way to eliminate some of the wet landings would be nice. Some landings were close enough to the beach where a ramp could have been used. The tour Directors were the best we've ever had. Scott and Steve were amazing. Hope to get them again.

review_img

Susan Winder

Costa Rica and Panama-Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Had a fantastic time- travelling alone but no worries- well taken care of. Amazing variety of things to do and see. Naturalists and tour guides very informative and interesting without being overwhelming. Tera Moana fantastic- great food, friendly service, safety conscious and fun. Places visited beautiful and varied-something for everyone-

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one.Snorkeling Granito de Oro-So much to see

review_img

ray and fran

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This is our eighth trip with Tauck and once again you exceeded our expectations. Everyone worked so well together to assure our comfort and a smooth and inofrmative trip. Having the four naturalists on board with us really was a plus. This was so much more than passage through the Canal. We would recommend this trip to everyone!

Most Memorable Moment:

We were blown away with the Embera people. They were simple and friendly and very talented carvers. Their Island was a paradise.

review_img

Syls Mom

The Best Tour with the Best Guides!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Great pace, wonderful staff aboard the Terre Moana, can't praise Tim & Elise enough, naturalists were a terrific balance of passion for their countries and the environments while being fun & informative, felt totally safe. Food was tasty and abundant! Rooms clean. Hated to leave the Terre Moana!

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching, no, seeing the macaws in the wild, no, eating a termite...getting the little gifts from Tim & Elise, no, toucans on my arms at La Paz Waterfalls...too many to chose from!

review_img

Gordon Bingham

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This trip is for those who like to go a bit off the beaten track a bit but still have the comfort of nice hotels and a different cruise experience (small ship, stops where the big ships can't go, naturalists on board, very attentive crew, etc). Itinerary was well planned but with enough time built in for relaxation and socializing with other guests

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one: the canal was very interesting, snorkeling was great, and visits with two different groups of indigenous people was fascinating.

review_img

YTargTec

Loved This Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Great tour. The Canal was the draw, but the excursions were the high points, exceeded expectations. Panama City was spectacular. Our four on-board Naturalists added a huge extra dimension to the tour, guiding nature walks and more. The seminars on photography and local topics were informative. The Tour Directors and the entire crew were fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many ... seeing whales, holding a macaw, watching hummingbirds flit among us, snorkeling in gorgeous national parks, interacting with the indigenous natives, and also traveling with other like-minded, fun people.

review_img

pacer

Panama Canal Small Ship

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Tauck kept us on the go on and off the ship - great trip. Ship hit some rough water in the Caribbean for 3 hours, rest of trip smooth. Dry season - saw no mosquitos (Feb. 2 -13). Ship Captain even turned the ship around to follow a pod of whales. We were at canal expansion center when contractor shut down all work for a payment dispute.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through Panama locks at night with lights on the bridges.

review_img

DMehas

Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Loved the idea by starting in Panama and cruising through the canal. We started in early February. We ended in Costa Rica. Could have done without a visit to the San Blas Islands. (very rough sea) Found the Guna Indians to be a waste of time. Felt like Tijuana. The ship I found to be below Tauck's standard but the crew was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Umbera Tribe in the Darian Province.Lovely people.I also enjoyed the 4 naturalists on board the ship. We had too much time to do nothing on board. Need to add more games, entertainment, bingo,etc along with some shade to sit by the pool. Maybe canopies. The Tauck tour guides made the trip. Tim and Elise were the BEST!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent trip. We are sorry that some aspects of the journey fell below your expectations but are very pleased you had some truly memorable moments. Your comments will be shared with management and reviewed. Thank you for traveling with us and we do hope you will consider us for a future journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KLowe

Costa Rica-Panama Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Wonderful Trip-Fun, interesting, enjoyable. Luggage and details are a no-worry. Information of days activities always provided. Trip leaders Steve and Scot are found to be very knowledgeable and both are fun with great sense of humor. All of ship crew were found to be much more than "they have to be." Wonderful Trip!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

I love every minute of it and when I thought it was almost over, I then find there is more. I loved the whole damn thing! I have plans to give a review of this trip to my Yacht Club at home.

review_img

RLockshier

Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

From the moment we arrived in San Jose to the time we departed from Panama City Tauck conducted every aspect of the trip in an outstanding manner. Tauck Tour Directors Steve [Employee Name] & [Employee Name] were ever present and guided us through what might have been our most amazing trip to date. Life aboard the Tere Moana was personalized and excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Embera village was definately a highlight of the trip.

review_img

LarryMargie

Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Our trip was much more than I expected. It will be very difficult to top this trip. The Tauck tour directors, naturalists and the Terra Moana staff handled everything with ease and professionalism. We were more than pleased with our tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The passage through the Panama Canal was the highlight but there were many more unexpected surprises throughout the trip.

review_img

FFahner

Panama/ Costa Rica Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Fantastic

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to define

review_img

billzappa

Panama CanalCosta Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

This was a spectacular, well-planned trip. From the hotels to the small ship, from the indigenous tribes we visited to the canal itself, to the coffee plantation, to the La Paz waterfalls we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the way all of the Tauck staff went to the limit to assure our satisfaction, safety, and pleasure.

Most Memorable Moment:

One would think that the Panama Canal trip would be tops here, but another strong contender for this moment would be the La Paz nature preserve. The sights of the falls and the up-close with rescued animals is not to be missed.

review_img

sooner-or-later

Great guides and variety!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

The varied itinerary was informative & fun. The ship was very comfortable, with attentive staff. But, the guides/naturalists we had in our group, Hernan and Richard, put the whole experience over the top. They were so interesting & knowledgeable about every aspect of Panamanian life, not just wildlife. Our 1 day in PC could have gone more smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many such moments, but we'd have to pick transiting the canal at night. All lit up, it was indeed magical and extremely interesting. We were well ahead of schedule, finishing around 12 and so we experienced the whole journey - a special evening and treat for us!

review_img

DFancher

Costa Rica and Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

A great introduction to Costa Rica and Panama given that we visited major cities, rain forests and indigenous tribal villages. The native guides were fabulous with a wealth of knowledge about their countries. You have to see the Panama Canal to fully appreciate the amazing engineering feat that was accomplished 100 years ago.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in the rain forests transported me back 100 years in time.

review_img

DMasters

Costa Rica/Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Fantastic Trip! Loved the ship, Elise and Tim, the entire experience! I would highly recommend the Panama Canal trip. The guides at each location were highly informed & enthusiastic about their countries and shared their knowledge and love of each. I learned, laughed, and enjoyed every minute. It was great fun to watch the Captain enjoy his job!

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the indigenous tribes, with the children holding our hands, sharing their village, dancing for us and seeing their beautiful creations. I also loved the experience of going thru the Panama Canal. To join the historic passage was a treat, especially on this 100th anniversary!

review_img

JTBurns

Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Tim and Elise kept us well informed, highly entertained, and on schedule but were flexible enough to delay our departure to watch a large cargo ship pass through the locks. Our naturalists, especially Hernan gave us an exceptional education in the history, geography, and wildlife of Panama and Costa Rica. Fabulous ship crew, great shore excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three memories: Nighttime transit of the Canal, visiting the Embera Indians village, and having a crew member meet you in 4 ft of water with cold drinks as you swam to shore after snorkeling

review_img

Travelcat

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

A rich and varied itinerary led by truly outstanding guides made this trip spectacular. Thanks to the creativity, good cheer, and careful planning of the Tauck Tour Directors, every day was an adventure and a pleasure. The knowledgeable and friendly naturalists enhanced each activity, from touring and lecturing to walking and snorkeling.

Most Memorable Moment:

While we really enjoyed learning about the Canal, snorkeling in warm seas, walking on beaches and in rainforests, seeing beautiful waterfalls, monkeys, toucans, and parrots, the best single activity was the visit to the Embera people. Like everything else about the trip, this heart-warming event exceeded our expectations.

review_img

travelmama

Panama Canal/Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

This was a busy tour. Tim and Elise (tour directors) were so well informed, organized, and helpful. The actual cruise through the Canal (though at night) was most memorable and I felt like we had been well educated about the construction and the process by Tim and Elise and the naturalists who were brought on board.

Most Memorable Moment:

Obviously, passing through the Canal was the outstanding event. But, visiting Playa de Muerto and the Embera Indian community was a back-in-time opportunity. I will long remember the faces of the beautiful children who live there.

review_img

momframces

Panama and Costa Rica's Charm and Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The trip was one of the best that I have experienced because the group was small, 90 people, we were always in small groups on our excursions and had the knowledge and expertise of naturalists to explain the areas we visited. We never questioned our safety because the tour directors handled everything and were always well prepared for anything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traveling through the Panama Canal was one of the most exciting experiences of my life. Having one of the directors from the canal explain the process to us, as we passed through the canal, added to the experience.

review_img

bellprairie

Escape from winter

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The only reason we took this trip to Panama and Costa Rica was, in the words of the lady of the house, "Lets go somewhere warm." We had gone with Tauck on two previous trips, and we knew we would have a first class experience. Canal, good. Kuna Indians, wonderful. Embara Indians- best. Worth the trip by themselves. Busy all the time, all good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Embara tribe's culture of holding our hands going up the trail, their smiles.

review_img

Nogah

Costa Rica & Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

If you like nature and want to see exotic birds and animals in their natural habitat, this is a trip for you. Crossing the Panama Canal is just amazing and you will learn the history behind it and the unbelievable labor that made it happen. All in all........an educational and enjoyable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed very much the long walk in the rain forest as well as the visit with the Emberas.

review_img

bhrad11

CR AND PANAMA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The entire trip was as great as we expected. The locations, tour directors, ship and naturalists on board were always available. The little extras that Steve and Scott planned for us were fun. Meeting Robin Tauck was an unexpected pleasure. As we have said in the past, we will be back. The forum was helpful and accurate. Tauck just does it right.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the pacific side locks of the canal at night, all lit up.

review_img

hsr

Fascinating and diverse experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

A wonderful combination of nature(rain forests,coffee plantation and snorkling), indigenous Indian groups, sightseeing in both San Jose and Panama city the trip through the Canal and days spent learning about the building and operation of canal Tour directors and naturalistswere great lectures, movie by McCullough Tere Moana and food superb

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved everything we did and the people we were with Did not like children begging in the KUNa tribe

review_img

SBQuilter

Indigenous Peoples to Skyscrapers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This trip had a wide variety of activities and I learned so much! The local guides and naturalists were superb - just what I expected from Tauck. The very civilized schedule included zodiac visits to indigenous peoples on remote islands and Panama City with its 100 skyscrapers. Experienced the Panama Canal by film, ship, and observation tower.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking out at the Panama City skyline while waiting for our turn to enter the Canal.

review_img

ROZNICK

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Our 4 naturalists were incredible-knowledgeable, supportive and fun. Tour directors took wonderful care of us. Ship's crew was very attentive and the food onboard was excellent. Numerous views of the Panama Canal-so interesting. We were the 1st to visit the Expansion site. Good balance of nature and site-seeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing enormous container ships while sailing through the Panama Canal!

review_img

PatCornwell

Westbound - Panama Canal & Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

There were some wonderful experiences, but many disappointments. Problems with the AC on the ship. Dining rooms and salon were miserably hot & humid. No shady areas on the ship. No PA system on the deck when we went thru the Panama Canal, which we crossed mostly in the dark. Food was below average at all venues. Poor management by Tauck Directors

Most Memorable Moment:

the remote Indian villages, nature preserves and snorkeling areas. Most of the naturalists were very good. The trip directors did not manage situations very well. The Biodiversity Museum was a construction site. The first tour director we had in Costa Rica was terrible. You could not understand him. That day of the tour was a total waste of time.

review_img

SusanGrace

Costa Rica/Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

We were: rained on in the rain forest, met wonderful people from native cultures, swam on our own islands, gently rocked to sleep in our berths, saw animals and birds we had only heard about, treated to the knowledge of naturalists, danced through the Panama Canal and introduced to wonderful Panama City.

Most Memorable Moment:

Only one? The whole trip is unforgettable.

review_img

tcastanias

The Path Between the Seas!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

We wanted to do this trip to go through the Panama Canal - which we did! But it was so much more than that! Being on a smaller ship allowed us to go places that the bigger boats can't. We got visits to indigenous peoples, wet landings on zodiacs, hikes in the jungle seeing flora, fauna and birds! The weather was perfect too!

Most Memorable Moment:

Entering the Panama Canal at Miraflores was amazing. David McCullough's book "The Path Between the Seas" is a must read to get the true perspective on this engineering marvel. The boat ride on Gatun Lake the next day was also a big part of the experience. The Canal needs the rainforest for water supply so development is limited!

review_img

Gerald Walpin

Costa Rica/Panama trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Overall all, it was very well done. First, credit is primarily due to the excellence -- beyond what would ordinarily be expected -- of Steve and Scott, the two leaders of the trip. Beyond that all (but one) local guides, accommodations (excepting one) and food were excellent. Most enticing was the excellent attention and service all gave.

Most Memorable Moment:

Transit of Panama Canal

review_img

Kricket

Panama Canal and Costa Rica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Best vacation ever taken! Kim and Scott were fantastic and their tidbits and maps and suggestions just made the trip stellar! Jorge in Costa Rica made us feel like family, intertwining personal stories. The naturalists for Panama really instilled a love of their country. Ship was fantastic- small group allowed meeting variety of people- loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Personally it was seeing the Panama Canal at Mira Flores! with the tour group i'd have to say the farewell dinners on the ship and in Panama. There was something very special created for us which made us realize how special this tour really is! Scott and Kim created a DVD of the tour and when shown there wasn't a dry eye in the room!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Wow! We're so happy that you enjoyed yourself. This is what great travel is all about!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Parrish

Wow! Costa Rica to Panama

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This was our first, and we hope many more, Tauck trips. It was everything we had hoped for and more, from the tour directors, the itinerary, the quality of the ship's staff and overall accommodations and food. We are not first time travelers, but this was truly the best. Can't wait for the next one!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to define, but passing through the Panama Canal was a dream of ours and it was most memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you loved your trip. We hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

savannah

On and Off the Beaten Path

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Tauck succeeds once again on leading us into unknown territory, far from home. This time, Central America! It was the Panama Canal transit that first got our attention when looking for a way to escape the New Jersey winter. We also wanted to experience a Rainforest and tour San Jose and Panama City. Country and city, perfect together!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was truly out of "National Geographic."We met a remote tribe of Panamanian native indians, the Embera. We were welcomed with smiles, enjoyed their dances, and were thrilled to purchase native handicrafts. Getting to their village on the zodiac pontoon boats was an exciting adventure. Tauck knows how to make us smile!

review_img

Eve

Costa Rica and the Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Great trip except for a couple of problems. The boat (LeLevante") had a problem with the AC in all of the main areas - lounge, dining room and breakfast and lunch areas. It was too hot! Also, I'd suggest that you have the dinners that were at the hotels, at a different place.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the Panama Canal at night with all of the lights on, and then coming back and watching other boats go through it on another day.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry that our partner ship Le Levant did have some A/C problems during this trip and hope that it did not cause you too much discomfort. The issue has since been resolved. Regarding the hotels, our dinner at the Intercontinental in Panama has been very well received thus far. For San Jose however, we are looking at other options for dinner and want to be sure any alternative is truly compelling for our guests as we are continually seeking to enhance the dining experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

gardengal

Costa Rica and Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

Another wonderful Tauck trip to beautiful places! Kim was a knowledgeable tour guide and ever ready with helpful advice. And the 4 naturalists were virtual fonts of info about land and sea. The ship, LeLevant is beautiful and it's Captain and staff are all about friendly service. And our fellow travelers were fun to be with.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traversing the Panama Canal after reading David McCollough's book.

review_img

Glorian

LeLevant thru the Panama Canal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

The ship was great as were the excursions from the boat ... hiking, kayaking, swimming and visiting the Embera and Kuna people. The Waterfall park in San Jose was wonderful but the city tour was just so so. Panama City is a big, bustling place but the excursions we took were great.

review_img

Milligan

Tauck is truly World Discovery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2012

This superb trip enabled us to understand why Tauck adds the phrase, "World Discovery" to its name. We discovered new peoples and new worlds on this trip. We developed an appreciation for an environment totally different from home. We learned how "ego-centric" we are. All this amid sailing on a ship which seemed like our own personal yacht!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking through the rain forest and seeing a scarlet macaw in the wild makes the displays of our local zoo seem inappropriate.

review_img

bczwilling

Much promise but a let down

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Trip was interesting. Naturalists were great. Ship is out dated, food was not up to Tauck standards. Very disappointed in cuisine which should have been a highlight of a French chef. Really enjoyed the snorkeling. Should have been told in advance that transit of canal would be during the night.

Most Memorable Moment:

Snorkeling was excellent. Would have been nice to see more wildlife.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're pleased to hear that you found the trip interesting, especially the naturalists and snorkeling. However, we're disappointed to hear that the ship as well as food fell below your expectations. Please be assured we have shared your feedback with management and hope despite these disappointments, you returned home with great memories of these amazing places.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button