TravelerReviews

A Week In... Portugal

review_img

Linda CA

Fun week in Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first Tauck tour - we selected the September 2018 small group tour. We loved the unexpected surprises from Tauck along the way. Our tour guide was such fun and kept us engaged in the history of this beautiful country, our driver was so talented, and the hotels, wine, and food were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

By far, the dinner in the Palacio de Queluz was extraordinary. We enjoyed the grounds, had a group photo taken, and then were ushered into a grand room for dinner. The chandeliers were amazing, food delightful, and the harpist playing during our multi-course dinner added to the experience. Well done Tauck!

review_img

IvetteBelette

Unforgettable Portugal Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This is our 4th Tauck trip and it was as fabulous as the rest! The hotels and food were excellent and the local guides very knowledgeable. Our tour director was attentive and took great care of us. An additional day in Lisbon would allow time to visit sites like Alfama and Rua Augusta not covered on the tour. Cork factory tour not needed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Queluz Palace, Porto boat ride, tile painting in Lisbon, all the sweets and treats we were surprised with daily, Fourth of July decorations in the bus.

review_img

RichT

Maravilhoso Portugal!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was my fifth Tauck trip, and it lived up to all of the expectations of prior trips. The itinerary was a great general overview of what Portugal is and has to offer. Our Tour Director was well-organized, fun, and instructive. The hotels were all top-notch. The food-delicious. The other guests congenial. I wouldn't change a thing!

Most Memorable Moment:

Pena Palace in Sintra. Queluz Palace for a private dinner. Evora and Obidos.The friendliness and helpfulness of the Portuguese people.

review_img

Harvey Sherman

Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our tour guide was wonderful….Hotels were top of the line… a very congenial group

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating Grilled Sardines at a sea side restaurant our guide recomended….

review_img

Ann Marie Alford

Beautiful Portugal!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Even though our group was large....we all melded together beautifully! Loved the cleanliness of Portugal. Would have liked a perhaps a half day more in Porto to really experience the city. Our hotel, Frexio Palace, was wonderful, but not within walking distance to anything. Our guide was great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the cork factory and learning about cork. Loved Sintra, Cascais, Combria...really the whole tour!

review_img

JGRANT

A Week in Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Toured 16-26 May 2018. I've taken 9 trips with Tauck and this one was right up there with Italy and Ireland, my two favorites. 1st day: Train/bus trip up Duoro valley from Porto, boat down Duoro River to Porto. GREAT day trip. 2nd-9th days: comprehensive coverage of muslim period, Knight Templars, Henry the Navigator, gilded cathedrals, special

Most Memorable Moment:

TOMAR: The monastery here holds much of Portuguese history within its walls - It began as an 8th C. moorish fortress until taken by the Knight Templars in the 12th C., served as their monastery until bequeathed to the order of Christ in ca. 14th C. Prince Henry the Navigator became the order's master ca. 15th C. and began the Age of Exploration.

review_img

CathyRosenthal

Fantastic Overview of Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Wonderful tour for anyone who wants a comprehensive overview of Portugal in one week! Well planned itinerary. Hotels were upscale and comfortable. Food and wine were very good. Tour Director was friendly, well organized and knowledgeable about Portugal. Tour may be challenging for those with mobility issues. Cobblestone sidewalks and steep hills.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. Driving through the Douro Valley, tour of the cork factory, tour of Evora, dinner at the Palace in Lisbon.

review_img

AlanR

Week in Portugal.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

1st time for Portugal only tour (not with Spain) it shows. 2 wineries not making wine & olive oil processor not making olive oil. Idle machinery--waste of time. Very hilly country: level of difficulty much greater than advertised for elders. Still, beautiful. Great director, learned a lot from her--a real pro. Good tour, needs tweaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Univerisade de Coimbra with its caped students and library used for Harry Potter movies'Hogwarts; Sintra Fortress, Knights Templar Monestery, Elegant Dinner at Palace; Tile Museum in Lisbon (making our own tiles was terrific idea and great fun).

review_img

Simonton

Almost...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Great Tour Director, saw and learned a lot. Stayed in beautiful hotels but they were not in town. Without a warning that was a big disappointment because that is the main reason we go with Tauck-great hotels in the center of town. While the food was great; it was too much. Three hour lunches and three hour dinners were a waste of touring time

Most Memorable Moment:

The Pena Palace in Sintra. Stunning. St George's Castle (not on the tour but we took a cab to see it during free time in Lisbon) Consider putting it on the tour!! Consider showing a video or photos of the wine and olive processing. Looking at empty/still machines is a little disappointing.

review_img

FRED BEATTY

A WEEK IN PORTUGAL

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

GOOD TRIP. DAY 2 TRIP TO VINEYARD WAS 5 HOUR ON BUS FOR TOUR OF VINEYARD. NOT WORTH THE RIDE. COULD HAVE GONE BY RIVER BOAT. AT VINEYARD WERE TOLD THE TEMP. THE PRIOR WEEK WAS 115 TO 120 F AND THAT WAS NOT UNCOMMON. LUNCHES WERE MUCH TOO LARGE - BOTH FISH AND MEAT COURSES OFFER A LIGHT LUNCH. SEEMED TO GO TO SMALL CITIES JUST TO GO THERE

Most Memorable Moment:

TOUR AND DINNER AT PALACIO DE QUELUZ. NOTE - A JACKET NOT NEEDED IF YOU WANT A THOROUGH REVIEW DON'T LIMIT CHARACTERS!!

review_img

Virginia Howard

Loved the Week in Portugal Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I would highly recommend this tour. If you have traveled with Tauck before, you know how well things are done and this trip was no exception. If you haven't, run, don't walk! Tauck never misses a beat. Everything stays on schedule, admittance to museums and other attractions are arranged to give Tauck travelers premium access.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved visiting the Douro wine region. Scenic ride to the area is breathtaking and the visit to the winery was special indeed. Enjoyed the delightful meal served outside for the group.

review_img

Seabrz

Portugal Today

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We enjoyed our adventure in Portugal. This is the 5th tour Tauck had in this region. Still a few kinks in the trip. The one night stay in a northern town was way too quick. A two night minimum would be best. The food selections were only about 70% on target. This may be Portugal or not. Nonetheless not 100% as in our other Tauck trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

The winery in Oporto.

review_img

pbs89

Wonderful !!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

From start to finish, TAUCK exceeded my expectations !! This 8 day itinerary was well thought out to give us quick access to many known sites from Porto to Lisbon. This travel to Portugal was exactly what I was looking for. Not too much big city, lots of interesting History and culture, Accommodations with comfort, class, and local flare!

Most Memorable Moment:

It would be hard to pick my favorite because I so enjoyed everything we saw. Evora, with the Convento do Espinheiro Hotel. The Knights templar history to the Palace for dinner outside Lisbon to our visit to the castle in Sintra. I also enjoyed fellow travelers, fun tour guide, and felt all my senses were filled to great satisfaction!

review_img

Kathleen Pappas

A Week in Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

How wonderful to discover the abundance of treasures (art, history, literature) in this tiny, scenic outpost of Europe! I had visited Lisbon in 1972; this time welcoming its updated elegance. The trip was well structured beginning and ending with the cities of Porto and Lisbon respectively, with intervening visits to small towns as gentle respites.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved every place visited, especially the Convento do Espinheiro, but the dinner at Queluz Palace was outstanding in its elegance and company. The tour director was the best I have experienced: organized and thoughtful, sharing insights with humor and love of the country.

review_img

katsat

More like 3.5 stars—amazing sites and hotels, but not enough local flavor.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

As Tauck's first all-Portugal Tauck tour, it was so over-packed we had little time to simply explore and discover on our own. Though our leader was wonderful, we didn't get to know the local guides—often the highlight of other tours—who changed almost daily. We saw beautiful sites and learned some fascinating history, but I wanted more local flavor

Most Memorable Moment:

I especially loved the almost-deserted Castle of the Moors. Scaling the steep stone steps of its coliseum, I imagined the dangers of medieval times and the ghosts of bloody gladiators. I savored the short time we had to wander there. (Also, I'll never forget the unanimously-panned dishwater-like soup at a group dinner, a one-time glitch I'm sure.)

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button