TravelerReviews

Treasures of Spain and Portugal - Eastbound

review_img

frodobaggins

13 Was Our Lucky Number - Fabulous!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was our 13th Tauck tour and among the best yet! From the welcome tapas/dinner at the Majestic Hotel to the lavish farewell dinner at Quelez Palace, Tauck made this tour special. Windstar cruise portion very good with spacious cabins, good food, friendly service. Downside: Way too much slow group walking and talking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sagrada Familia, private organ concert in Catalunya Barcelona, Cave and monkeys on Gibraltar.

review_img

LarrySC

Small ship cruise Barcelona to Lisbon

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our first small ship cruise of many Tauck tours did not disappoint. Guides were top notch, food aboard ship was very good. Ship’s crew was professional and helpful. The ship was showing it’s age. Land portions were well handled by Tauck and local guides. We liked everything on the itinerary and the amount of free time. Lots of walking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Sagarada Familia and the Alhambra, how do you pick one?

review_img

WilliamKeller

Loved Every Minute

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was our second trip with Tauck (Spain to Portugal Cruise). Tauck again exceeded our expectations with wonderful, knowledgeable tour leaders (Erica, Sophia and Johana); excellent choices for targeted excursions and hotel venues which were first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many it is hard to choose one but surprisingly as I think about it, the goodbye dinner in the palace outside of Lisbon was truly special.

review_img

AliVK

Loved the Tauck Excursions/Hated the Windstar Boat

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I loved our trip excursions in Portugal and Spain with Tauck. The Tauck guides and hosts provided great information with us during our excursions. I was shocked with the condition of our boat - the Windstar Star Breeze which boasted recently refurbished yet it should have been retired.

Most Memorable Moment:

Barcelona - The hotel was off-the-charts amazing https://www.grandhotelcentral.com/ Park Guell and La Sagrada Familia - must sees - amazing! The Cathedral at Seville - go to the top!

review_img

RSchoen

Tauck O.K. Windstar N.G.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

May 3, 2018 departure from Lisbon Tauck itinerary very good. Tauck Tour Director excellent. Windstar ship Star Breeze was quite good physically---cabins roomy---but the Veranda, where breakfast and lunch were served, had indoor seating for only 40 people (ship held 212). Several times we wound up outside in chilly weather. cont

Most Memorable Moment:

Two big problems: one,the ship treated Tauck people as 2nd class passengers. They did not communicate to Tauck TDs. They hassled about allowed drinks. They excluded from "Grill" nicer dinners, and tables with ship officers. Second, for 1st class cruise, food was subpar! Steaks tough, mushrooms rubbery, cheesecakes pasty, etc. Not as we expected.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am glad that you enjoyed the itinerary, but I am sorry the Star Breeze did not meet your expectations. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

chuck smith

Treasures of Spani and Portugal-Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We loved everything about the trip, but if there is one thing that could be improved it was the farewell dinner. It was ok but not up to what Tauck usually does. The location was just ok and the meal was the same. We had no time to stand around and talk to other guests as we went right into the dinner. Other guests we talked to felt the same.

Most Memorable Moment:

The horses and bull ring demo. at Malaga was outstanding.

review_img

Rosemary Barry

Exceptional Itinerary, Exceptional Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

From the first day, we were enthralled with Spain and, later, Portugal. Our tour director conveyed her love of these countries with everything we did. The Star Pride was a wonderful boat and just helped make this one of our very favorite trips. There were daily surprises that everyone enjoyed. Wonderful sights, wonderful food.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick just one memorable moment but the Sangrada Familia church and the Star Pride were the main reasons we took the trip and we weren't disappointed.

review_img

ladygolfer

OVERFLOWING

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We love our Tauck trips! Treasures of Spain and Portugal is packed with very interesting and beautiful places. It is a very hard trip with so much to see and not nearly enough time or energy. Windstar was a very nice place to call home Would recommend extra days on both ends of this trip. We had a great guide. Hope to see him soon.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our favorite was Lisbon. Then Granada, Seville, Malage and Barcelona

review_img

David Burton

A memorable and enjoyable experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Windstar cruise (Lisbon>Barcelona) was perfect. Enjoyed most land activities. Major grievances: Lagos caves/pillars merited much more than the 10 min. glimpse from above that was allocated. Also, many beautiful historical buildings and galleries, but we were never allowed any at all time to access and purchase catalogs or guidebooks. Distressing!

Most Memorable Moment:

Inside the Segratta Familia (Gaudi church) in Barcelona. Would have loved even 10 minutes in the on-site bookstore!

review_img

MAHopkins

Wonderful Trip, Great Tour Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Trip to Portugal and Spain was fantastic. Our guide handled the situation with two handicapped people amazing well without neglecting the rest of the group. My only suggestion would be to have a little more free time to enjoy the places and culture on our own. I have recommended the trip to other people. We will be back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Mallorca

review_img

Dick Weiermiller

OUR FIRST TAUCK TRIP

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

It was at the top of our list as best ever. The organization, planning, and execution of all facets of this trip were exceptional. Our Tour coordinator was excellent! She, and the little special things she did, made the trip come alive. Her knowledge of the places we visited and the unique things Tauck planned for us made this trip A1.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to separate into one special.

review_img

Patjoanhen

Great trip to Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We started in Lisbon, then boarded a Windstar ship and sailed to Barcelona with wonderful stops along the way This was our 10th Tauck trip and we are never disappointed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Gaudi cathedral tour. We have seen the outside several times before, years ago when it did not yet have a roof. We were awed by the natural colorful lighting inside.

review_img

BillBatz

Fabulous Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This fabulous trip was a once-in-a-lifetime immersion in all the marvelous sites of Portugal and southern Spain. Just the right mix of historical and cultural visits with ample leisure aboard a small cruise ship with a great Tauck director who made it all come alive. This was our 7th Tauck trip, and possibly the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

We've been to a lot of cathedrals, but this trip, maybe the greatest thrill was Flamenco dancing in Seville, or maybe St. Michael's Cave inside the Rock of Gibraltar. Maybe the horse show in Andalucia or swimming in the crystal waters in Malaga. No, maybe the stunning Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. So many memorable moments.

review_img

doc j

Treasures of Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We were in the first Tauck group to sail from Barcelona to Lisbon, starting on June 6. The itinerary is full of World Heritage sites which is wonderful but these draw lots of other tourists. Tauck gets priority access and still it gets crowded. Go earlier in the season if you can. There is a LOT of walking involved.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not to be missed: Sacrada Familia, the horse ranch experience in Malaga and the Algarve coast. We hired a driver to explore the coast instead of spending the afternoon at the winery. Just personal preference. Only 3 hours in Gibraltar on this trip. Take the tram to the top of the Rock if you want to see it. Tour busses don't go there.

review_img

cfred

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We had the privilege of taking the Spain and Portugal trip. Our tour guide was awesome. There was so much to see that the activity level was higher than we expected. It was an amazing trip and first class. Thank you again Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The accommodations and the Ship were outstanding.

review_img

tauck12

Tauck Spain and Portugal Small Ship Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Well this was my 11th Tauck Tour and it was very good. My goal was to experience the country's and culture and both of those goals were met. We did a lot of neat stuff and saw a lot of neat stuff.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three things that stuck out were the bull fight demonstration, Rock of Gibraltar, and the going away dinner where folks like President Ronald Reagan, and Queen Elizabeth had dinner function...

review_img

GSwanson

My traveling jacket!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Loved all venues, activities & service! Our tour director went beyond expectations to get a jacket I'd left on the ship back to me. She located the jacket, had a fellow Tauck guide get it to her in Provence (where she was guiding) then gave it to an American couple on that Tauck tour who sent it to me when they returned to US. Wow!

Most Memorable Moment:

The special organ concert for just our Tauck tour group in Palau de la Musica Catalana, Barcelona. A feast for the senses!

review_img

Maura C

Survey Course of Iberia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Go in a day early and stay longer - a lot to see in both Lisbon and Barcelona. We added two days in Madrid, a very easy transfer by high speed train. The trip covers a lot of territory, and there was not much free time in each port, as Tauck packed a lot of activities into the time ashore.

Most Memorable Moment:

Barcelona and its architecture.

review_img

operalady

Treasures of Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Too much in too short a time--hectic pace-overload of info from local guides. Often confusing info from Tour director as well. Very little, if any, free time to do or see anything except follow the overloaded itinerary. Exhausting . The market in Gracia area of Barcelona instead of the fabulous Mercado on the Ramblas ? Wrong choice!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing La Sacrada Familia's developing construction for the 4th time -- fabulous . Rework this tour--it can be a memorable one--but not as it is now--

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Tauck at Sea team who is always looking to make enhancements to our small ship itineraries based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GaryWeerts

Our maiden voyage on Tauck's maiden Treasures of Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

We have traveled extensively, but this was our first trip with Tauck. We were impressed and pleased with every aspect of the itinerary, from the superb hotels, to the amenities provided aboard our cruise yacht, to the execution of visits to each tour destination. Our tour host was among the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to choose one most memorable moment,but it would be something connected with our visit in Barcelona. Our tour of the Sagrada Familia was a high point; the edifice as well as the description of the artist's conception and methodology for constructing the cathedral were awe-inspiring.

review_img

Vin Baldari

The Splendors of Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

The trip with Tauck on the Windstar was exceptional. This is my 5th trip with Tauck and I will be back for more. Truck left no stone unturned taking us to every sight. Whenever there was a "challenge" which our Tauck Tour Director, Steve, referred to a blip in the schedule, it was overcome with ease. Criticism-the food at the Farewell dinner.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. Beautiful and exciting to see this Basilica still under construction. In each city we had a city guide and true to Tauck's expertise our guide in Barcelona was excellent. We spent an extra two days in Barcelona at the El Palace and was very pleased with the hotel and service.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button