TravelerReviews

Scandinavia

review_img

RobertSapanara

Wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was a wonderful experience, beautiful scenery, exposure to different cultures and a wonderful tour director. And added to that were the great extras that Tauck incorporated in the trip, like the opera house in Stockholm and my favorite aria performed just for us. Hotels, motor coach and meals were all first class, a cut above other tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of the fjords and glaciers in Norway was just breathtaking.

review_img

LawrenceWard

I love Norway

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The cities were fine - especially the Opera House in Stockholm - but it was the little out of the way places - like Tofterholm, the Edvard Grieg summer house (with concert!), the Glacier Museum, the staves church, the gorgeous fjords, waterfalls, and glaciers, etc. - that were the highlights for me. Also the great Tauck director!

Most Memorable Moment:

Backstage and concert at the Opera House, and the concert at the Edvard Grieg summer house - both were simply wonderful, transporting!

review_img

BLW

scandanavian logom(just enough)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip. We were the only two Canadians (except our excellent tour director who was also Canadian) & everyone else was American. That was no problem as we enjoyed everyone’s company. However we did feel left out that we seemed to be the only two that didn’t receive our travel pkg & it still hasen’t arrived. For shame Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

Cornelius Restaurant experience & the private concerts.

review_img

JamesBalshaw

Superb Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were delighted. Every detail was very organized. The accommodations were great, meals were wonderful, educational field trips were informative and entertaining and the beautiful scenery was awesome. Everything was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Stockholm, after a backstage tour of the Opera House, we were served a glass of champagne and then we were entertained by a very talented opera singer and her pianist accompanist. As soon as she started singing, we were taken straight to heaven. Both of us were in tears as she finished her first aria. It was beautiful. What a treat!

review_img

PaulDiveny

A very good tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was my first organized group tour and I genuinely enjoyed the experience. The organization was superb, the facilities generally quite good, and the leader and local guides helped bring things to life.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being on top of Mt. Dalsnibba in a snow squall and then having the clouds lift so that we could see the Geiranger Fjord 5,000 feet below us.

review_img

KathrynBates

Tauck's Scandinavia trip was terrific!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We planned our 10th Tauck trip to Denmark, Sweden, & Norway trip during the winter months in celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary. We finally got to go in August 2018 and loved everything about it! The people were very kind, and the scenery outstanding! Our Tauck Director was very knowledgable, fun, helpful, terrific in every way!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to pinpoint one special memorable moment, but for us I think it was the boat cruise through the fjords. The majestic scenery was outstanding, and we would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

review_img

Ken Backemeyer

Perfect vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Scandinavia. All tours were excellent; our accommodations were first class; and the daily schedule was always well thought out and interesting. We were so impressed by the beauty of the area and the friendliness in Denmark, Sweden and Norway. Tauck exceeded our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Norway was unbelievable! The colorful countryside, fjords and glaciers - all so impressive.

review_img

Lex1935

Scandinavia trip worthwhile, but. . .

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

After a fantastic Tauck river cruise last summer we were spoiled. The Scandinavia trip was a land-based tour--and while we were fortunate to have good weather, a largely congenial group and an excellent tour director, we found the long motorcoach rides tedious and not enough time devoted to the two most interesting cities--Stockholm and Bergen.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several stand out: the Vasa Museum in Stockholm, the Grieg house and concert, breathtaking Norwegian fjords, Loen hotel Alexandra, Bergen boat trip to fish restaurant on an island (and interesting character--the owner).

review_img

dswgr6

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip, and our Trip Director was topnotch. We toured during one of the hottest (and driest) summers in Scandinavian history: our first week the temps were in the 90's. It pays to check out the 10 day forecasts prior to packing!

Most Memorable Moment:

Memorable moments: Bryksdal Glacier was amazing! I just wish I'd worn a rain jacket/poncho for my optional walk down since you get soaked when you walk under a waterfall. Dalsnibba -our driver handled the hairpin curves masterfully. The Stockholm Opera House tour and concert, as well as the concert at Grieg's home. The triangle bread!

review_img

BKMD

Not up to Tauck standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was my 5th Tauck trip and #6 is soon. That said, this trip disappointed. Good itinerary, but several hotels were far below Tauck standards, specifically, Toftaholm (I would have stayed here as a college student backpacking across Europe) and Alexandra (worn out carpet and shower-curtain drapes). Not worth the Tauck premium price.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of Norway. Biking Copenhagen (free time activity).

review_img

Guitarzan

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

As wonderful an experience as one could have hoped for. Expectations were EXCEEDED. Special touches were amazing: Beginning and end of tour receptions, special performance at the opera, special performance in Toftaholm, Special concert at Edvard Grieg, and on, and on, and on. Visits to historical sites unparalleled. Fjords of Norway magnificent.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, Bergen, the trip to the Island restaurant, Loen at the Alexandra, and the train ride at Flam. Fjord boat excursions and trips to glaciers have few more beautiful experiences n my life. The scenic beauty of this trip is unmatched in my personal experience. We have been home less than one week and are already planning our next trip!

review_img

CLYDEC

Scandinavia...Don't go in warm weather!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I would never do this trip in warm weather, except for Copenhagen and Stockholm, none of the hotels had A/C and the hotel in Flam did not even have fans! The entire hotel in Tolftaholm was full of flies! The train at Flamsbana 80+ degrees inside, I would have expected Tauck to have an alternate plan for that day.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable thing was the heat. The itinerary would have been good in May or September , if you omitted Tolftaholm, and added time in the fjords . As usual your tour director was great. The best part of the trip was the Loen Skylift, Dalsnibba and the Naeroyfjord cruise. The train ride, even in cool weather, was not worth the time.

review_img

ChristineBeck

Scenic Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

From start to finish, our trip to Scandinavia with Tauck Tours was top-notch. Our tour director made the trip pleasurable, memorable, and worth every penny! Exploring Denmark, Sweden and Norway was an extravaganza of beauty, history, and culture. The hotels and restaurants were exceptional. So glad we took this trip...thanks, Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ferrying through the fjords provided awesome sights of nature and products of nature’s phenomenons. Hard to stop taking pictures...

review_img

AlbertMancuso

Wonderful trip. Spectacular scenery.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

What a wonder trip. Denmark and Sweden were fun with lots to do but the tour saved the best for last. Norway just blew our socks off. The scenery was absolutely spectacular. The lakes, fjords, mountains and waterfalls were non-stop. Everywhere we looked was just beautiful and jaw-dropping. We could do this tour again in a heartbeat.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to the glacier and the skywalk will stay in our memories forever.

review_img

MarceyMandell

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Awesome tour leader, great sights, wonderful group of people to share the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The fjords were pretty spectacular with waterfalls coming down the mountains in Norway. The opera singer at the Royal Opera House in Stockholm brought tears to many of our eyes. We enjoyed the history of Bergen and the fish market there. As I sit here and think back, there were so many wonderful memories that we will cherish!!

review_img

RQR Carmel IN

Exceptional Itinerary!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Website itinerary can't reflect the whole story of this incredible tour, perfect mix of cities and countryside. Couldn't have seen and experienced half of what we did if we had tried to do it on our own. The food was unexpectedly gourmet. We've been home almost a week, can't stop thinking about what a great time we had. It's a busy tour, worth it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding gators up to Briksdal Glacier and then walking back down among the waterfalls was absolutely unforgettable. Sofiero gardens. Grieg's country home and concert. The fjords! Ferry time. The spectacular weather. Scenic stops and special touches to make motor coach travel enjoyable. Superior guide. The best travelers ranging in age from 19 to 93!

review_img

Catwood

Scandanavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

First of all, we had perfect weather the entire trip. We were told that is definitely NOT normal. Our tour director was exceptional- so knowledgeable of everything Scandinavian. Tivoli Gardens in Denmark, Sofiero Gardens and the Vasa Museum in Sweden and everything Norway were definite highlights.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the fjords, waterfalls and glaciers in Norway. Just when you thought you had seen the best waterfall ever, you rounded a curve and there was another one that was even better! Walking out to the Briksdal Glacier was exceptional. Loved the town of Bergen in Norway.

review_img

RWelsh

Scandinavia Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Excellent tour. Tour Director was great as with all the Tauck tours that we have taken. Beautiful natural scenery every day that we were not in a city. Lots of shear rock mountains, very tall water falls, Fjords, and lakes. Also saw a few glaciers, one up very close. City hotels in Copenhagen, Stockholm, Bergen, and Oslo were in great locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was seeing the Briksdalesbreen Glacier.

review_img

JudithVW

Scandinavia 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We loved our trip to Scandinavia! The Tour Director, motorcoach drivers, and local guides were excellent - very professional, knowledgeable, approachable, kind and caring!! The food, hotels and entertainment were excellent also. The pace and activity levels were perfect for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Opera House in Stockholm and the mini-concert. The visit to Edvard Grieg's home and the piano concert. The barbecue at Hotel Alexandra. The dinner on the island near Bergen. Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel and the folkloric dancers. Excursion to Briksdal Glacier/troll cars. Drive to Dalsnibba. We loved it all and highly recommend!

review_img

Ann Heming

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This trip was extremely well researched and planned out. I experienced a balance of cultural and scenic delights with adequate free time for exploration. This was my first experience with Tauck and my first in many years as an independent traveler. I chose well!

Most Memorable Moment:

I have two standouts from many terrific moments. First, cruising the Norwegian fjord. A fellow passenger described the experience as "otherworldly" which was spot on. Equalled by the private piano performance in the home of Edvard Grieg.

review_img

Elaine Bickham

Beautiful Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

My daughter and I took the Scandinavian trip in August. It really was a great trip. Tauck found a nice variety of places for us to stay and visit. Our tour guide couldn't have been nicer. Her calm and sincere demeanor was a joy! We traveled with a great group of folks, too, which enhanced the experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

The beautiful piano recital at Grieg's home. The setting was just beautiful, and hearing Grieg's Holberg Suite played so well is an experience I will always remember.

review_img

Perennial

Director not a people person

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

There were many things I loved about the trip, particularly the cultural moments such as the (private) opera singer performance and the piano recital at Edvard Greig's concert hall. What I and every other person on this trip did not like was the director, who was cold and impersonal to the nth degree. The local guides were excellent, however.

Most Memorable Moment:

The piano recital.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. Tauck prides itself in hiring the best tour directors in the business, so I have passed along your comments to our Tour Directors' Management team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JCAnnie

Scandinavian

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Fantastic "bucket list" experience! It was a great overview of Scandinavia, but my favorite was Norway and the fjords (family history there). The beauty and history was awesome. We took time to go to the open air museums in Stockholm and Oslo in our spare time, highly recommended!! I felt pampered by the hotels and delicious food, too!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising through the fjords, watching the waterfalls, pondering how life might have been living there. Spectacular water from the blue glaciers was also truly memorable. The food everywhere was a delight, even the vistas while cruising on the bus, I have some great pictures! Also the hotel/spa in Loen was a great treat!

review_img

BarryR

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Super trip. Great leader, great group, great weather and amazing sights.

review_img

Djean

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We went on the small group tour of Copenhagen, Sweden and Norway. There were 22 of us and we became like family sharing our experiences. We even commented that we couldn't think of one thing that would make the trip better. Our tour director was outstanding in every way. He was organized, clear in communication and lots of fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tour of the Opera house in Stockholm , the trip to the Brikstal glacier and the waterfall experience during the train ride up the mountain from Flam.

review_img

Worldly

Scandinavia-Just OK

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The only worthwhile part of the trip was Norway. Tauck, of course, did a good job. Denmark hotel was not good, but other stays ranged from good to excellent. The docents were good. A bit too much bus time and it seemed we had stops just to waste some time because long drive between sites. Overall, This itinerary not a good value for money.

Most Memorable Moment:

Norway was beautiful. More to do and see. Glacier trip great. 2 hour private boat tour of fjords was spectacular. Suggest trip itinerary change to be Norway, Iceland and/or Russia.

review_img

Grandstar

Fantastic Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We have taken several Tauck trips and this trip seemed like the execution, venues, food and hotels were very high quality. There was significant coach travel between cities. We had some noise at two of the hotels, but that has occurred on non Tauck trips, too. Our guide was excellent, the weather was beautiful and our group was friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Edward Grieg piano concert at his home and museum was unforgettable.

review_img

elseth11

Tauck did it again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Once again, Tauck exceeded our expectations. This was our first visit to Scandinavia and it was a memorable one. The beauty and culture were magnificent. We were taken care of very well. A special shout out goes to our Tour Director. He was the best one we've ever experienced. What a professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the fjords of Norway and dinner on an island restaurant only reachable by boat.

review_img

Garry Frandson

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our Scandinavia tour was fantastic. The sites, accommodations and meals all exceeded our expectations. Arriving one day prior to the official tour beginning was very beneficial in getting adjusted to the time changes and it provided nice bonus time in the beautiful city of Copenhagen. Our tour director added great commentary along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

The wonderful contrast between the historical cities of Copenhagen, Stockholm & Oslo and the majestic beauty of the Swedish countryside and Norwegian fjord scenery was perfect.

review_img

DanMc

Great itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We felt the tour covered everything very well. Hotels were well located to facilitate walking around on free afternoons. We especially enjoyed the visit to Grieg's home and the private ferry cruise in Norway. We also felt very safe in all the locations, even when walking about on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole tour of Norway was wonderful.

review_img

matkins

Beautiful Locations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We covered a lot of territory and saw the highlights of Denmark, Sweden, and Norway. Most of the trip was spent in Norway. We were very lucky with the weather as it can rain at any time during the summer. I took along rain pants but only wore them for a few hours. We were on a Small Group Tour and that was nice as the group moved along quickly.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had two wonderful days in Bergen and beautiful sunshine. The views were amazing and the city was fun. We enjoyed this area as well as the other cities on the tour.

review_img

NancyBL

Amazing!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

To be honest, we kept putting this trip off, thinking it wouldn't be that great. My husband is 100% Swedish, so we went, finally. This trip was amazing! Beautiful, great seafood, wonderful hotels and wonderful tour guide! I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Stockholm, but I think the glaciers and fjords were amazing and beautiful!

review_img

DDevine

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Lots of travel-packing and unpacking for three countries. Not enough time to explore Stockholm or Oslo. Would like to visit art museums, Although the countryside Inns were lovely and a nice change from the big cities - lots of long distance travel on the bus. Tour Director fabulous Flam superfluous

Most Memorable Moment:

Glaciers, fiords and the Hotel Alexander in Loen.

review_img

NancyJane

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The gardens in Sweden, the Opera House experience in Stockholm, the exceptional dinner on the water in Bergen were just some of the highlights of the trip that we could not have had were we on our own. The day guides as well as the trip guide were all excellent. Great value for a one time trip to Scandinavia.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the Opera House tour and short concert in Stockholm.

review_img

SRasmussen

Denmark, Sweden, and Norway

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Very good trip of these three countries from which our ancestors came. Tauck did an excellent job getting us from San Francisco to Scandinavia, and our trip leader did a great job getting us to all the marvelous places, with the help of our two Tauck motor coach drivers. Hotels were good, and the sightseeing awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really too meant to select one, but the fjord trips were tops

review_img

susieotr

Wonderful experience in Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was my first Tauck trip and it probably won't be my last. Every detail is so well-planned and our guide was exceptional. He spent time speaking with every member of the group several times a day to be sure that we didn't have questions or issues. Our seats on the bus were assigned and rotated daily. I especially liked the time in Norway but felt we could've had more time in Copenhagen.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the time in Norway was memorable. We had quite a bit of time in Bergen so we could explore a bit on our own and our hotel was perfectly located. I loved riding the bus and seeing the countryside and our time on the fjords was incredible.

review_img

Queen Mother

Nordic Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This tour is for everyone. The interesting cities, the incredible beauty of the terrain, the convenient location of the hotels we lodged in, and the comraderie of the small group all combined to make this a top-notch journey. The shopping was good too. That is always a plus for me, an inveterate shopper. Tour director was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment among many memorable moments on this trip was our trip to the Briksdal Glacier and the walk to the glacier's tongue. It was a gorgeous view.

review_img

Ken from Vegas

Better than Expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This trip exceeded our expectations (already high, given that we're Tauck regulars). A not too hectic trip, but plenty to see and do. We went in early June and it was a great time to go. A little cool and gray, but the waterfalls in the fjords were awesome. Could have used an extra day in Oslo.

Most Memorable Moment:

The musical concerts were great. Our guide was truly awesome. The scenery in the fjords was breathtaking. No matter how many photos you've seen of the fjords, the reality is overwhelming.

review_img

carolyn chapman

scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The tour director was great, the fellow travelers were very friendly, the weather was good and the scenery was beautiful, especially Norway.What more could you want.

Most Memorable Moment:

too many to list just one--the ride out to Cornelius in Bergen,the concert at Grieg's home, the Flam train ride to Myrdal,Sofiero Slott gardens and lunch

review_img

Nancy E

Beautiful Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our first Tauck Tour and we were thoroughly impressed. Accommodations, meals, transportation, other travelers, local tour guides and especially our Tauck Tour Director were wonderful, all adding to a memorable vacation. Norway was so majestic with the fjords, mountains, lakes and lush greenery. Perfect balance of exploring city and country

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlight for us was the ferry cruise on the Aurlandsfjord and the Naeroyfjord, viewing the majestic mountains rising out of the fjord, the numerous waterfalls cascading down the cliffs, the lush green pastures of sheep and cattle and the picturesque villages touching the shores. Exquisite scenery every where you look. A breathtaking journey!

review_img

sjpickett

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Our first Tauck trip. Enjoyable companions and super tour manager. Excellent variety of scenic, historical and cultural events and dining. Well planned and organized. Motor coach offered great way to see countryside with comfortable breaks and points of interest from one destination to another. Good local guides and information about free time

Most Memorable Moment:

Piano recital on E. Grieg's own piano held in his home was a rare and special time.

review_img

Cy Nobles

Scandinavia is Simply Beautiful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We spent two weeks in Scandinavia, visiting Denmark, Sweden and Norway. Tauck could not have done a better job of taking us to the right places and balancing our "tour time" with free time. We did not know what to expect going into this trip, but it unquestionably exceeded expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the fjords and glaciers of Norway "up close and personal" was the hilite for us. Norway is stunningly beautiful.

review_img

Keith and Patti

One of our Best vacations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We loved this tour and our Tour Director. Everything on the tour was well done and we appreciated all the little (delightful) surprises, like to concert at Troldhaugen (Grieg's home) and the pianist and tenor who played/sang for us in the Stockholm Opera House. Most of the food provide was outstanding! We highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our stay at the Hotel Alexandra in Loen, Norway. This is an excellent hotel, with excellent food, in a beautiful setting.

review_img

traveling doc

Good trip, hotels not Tauck standard

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Overall,we enjoyed the itinerary. Would have preferred more time in the larger cities. Beautiful scenery but long bus rides.Hotels overall had small rooms and poor amenities. In Bergen the room had no closet, no shelves/drawers, and such a low ceiling that you could not stand up on one side of bed. Good location doesn't make up for quality of room.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private opera performance in Stockholm.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed your comments on to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests. We look forward to you travelling with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JIMMERS

Did not meet expectation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The itinerary looked very good, but we spent way too much time on the bus. The fjord ferry was a waste of time - just exposed us to the same scenery we had/will see. Train trip should have been that day so we got to Oslo earlier and had more time there. Guide was from Sweden and she clearly promoted Sweden over Norway which was VERY unprofessional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private opera concert and Grieg concert.

review_img

Mojo6

Scandinavia August 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This tour did a good job highlighting the best of Scandinavia. Our Tour Director was terrific and gave lots of interesting information with a good sense of humor to add to the local guides. The countryside of Norway was fantastic, but it did mean some lengthy bus rides. Enjoyed the cities of Copenhagen, Stockholm and Oslo and all the history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Fjords, boat rides, waterfalls, Grieg concert, tour director and interacting with the other guests.

review_img

fletch

Good trip, attention to detail needed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The hotels varied greatly in standard. Radisson Blu are only ordinary at best and not 5 stars. The hotels in small towns were excellent. The tour guide was too intrusive and much of the information was repeated by local guides and some of the historic information could easily be read at your leisure. The rail journey in Flam, Norway was unnecessary

Most Memorable Moment:

The stay in Bergen, Norway

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

henryr

Awesome tour of Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

With the constant help from our guide we experienced Scandinavia to the fullest! Buses, planes, trains and boats took us safely from the highlights of the big cities to the nooks and crannies of the fjords and glaciers. Our experiences ranged from a behind the scenes tour of the Stockholm Opera to a gourmet seafood restaurant on an island!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose just one but going to the top of Dalsnibba 4800 feet above the Geiranger fjord was very memorable. But so were the fjord cruises, seafood in Bergen, the Norwegian countryside of endless white water streams and waterfalls, just breathtaking! But then there was the Gama Stan in Stockholm. Just too many choices!

review_img

pyasig

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We started in Copenhagen and traveled by bus, ferry, plane and train through Denmark and Sweden and Norway with our final destination: Oslo. The itinerary included enough to satisfy everyone's interests with historical information provided and there was free time that allowed us to explore additional sights.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner at Cornelius, an island restaurant near Bergen, Norway. The terrifying bus ride up to Dalsnibba and the breathtaking view plus the ferry cruise on Geirangerfjord.

review_img

Bob Gardner

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We had a great time. The sights of Stockholm and the mountains and fjords of Norway were unforgettable. The knowledge of our tour director was amazing, and he was able to add so much to our Scandinavian experience. I'm not complaining, but sunny and unseasonably warm weather caused our only negative aspect. Most of our hotels did not have A/C.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of Stockholm and all the sights of Norway.

review_img

bct

This Scandinavia trip is a really good one

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This was a trip to places my wife and I had never been, so all completely new to us. And it was great. Lots of variety, cultural and natural. Weather sometimes rainy, sometimes warm/sunny, mostly nice. During the trip I'd thought the Denmark and Sweden parts were too short, but eventually came to believe both were the right percentage of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many I can't really choose. I suppose some highlights have to be Vasa (Stockholm), Briksdalbreen glacier, stave church, Bergen, Stockholm city hall. Maybe most of all I was surprised how really enjoyable were Copenhagen, Stockholm, and Oslo. Wonderful. I'm not normally a city person but I really hope I can visit these three again.

review_img

mtiley

Great trip off the beaten path

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

I was concerned with time spent on a bus. This is a great itinerary if you would like to see gorgeous destinations and you may be tired of over crowded tourist spots.

Most Memorable Moment:

Briksdale Glacier and the troll car ride!

review_img

Sheila Wilkinson

Excellent itinerary!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This tour offers the best of that area. Certainly each day was filled with great adventure and spectacular scenery. The area is like a postcard and the cities visited full of energy and fun! I was impressed with the cleanliness of Scandinavia and the great attitude of their people. Great cuisine. Tauck does a great job with this tour! Do it!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many but hiking to the glacier was amazing and the views unforgettable. Glad we used Tauck. Amazing memories.

review_img

bobmuell

scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Good weather. Three wonderful walking cities with hotels in perfect central locations. We liked Copenhagen the best. Breakfasts every day a feast. Great mix of cities and country. Norway scenic beauty hard to describe--so many great views, waterfalls, fjords. Meals over the top. Wow and more. Get our guide to make it even better

Most Memorable Moment:

So many special memories--Vasa ship; Norway fjords; Oslo Vineland Park; Old Copenhagen; Old Stockholm; Many new friends; Tivoli Gardens;Viking museum; Flam RR; Great food; Wonderful guide.

review_img

EngBill

Skoal to Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our first time to Scandinavia and we had a terrific experience. We visited all 3 of the capitols as well as the wonders of the countryside. As usual our Tour Director was at the top of his game providing us with factoid about ever facet of our tour. It helps if you like salmon as it's available at nearly every meal. Herlig!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Borgund Stave church.

review_img

Hansjoerg

Scandinavia Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Tour Director was well organized, made it fun and showed us incredible sights - especially in Norway.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bus ride thru the Norwegian mountains & fjords, Bricksdal Glacier, Fredericksborg Castle, Vasa Museum

review_img

NHtraveller

Fabulous Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We loved everything about this trip. The Tauck leader was fantastic as well as the local guides. There was an airline strike during our trip and what Tauck did to "fix" things was great. The overall itinerary and pace was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The fjords in Norway were truly spectacular.

review_img

Gael

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

I thought the first and last nights dinners were not up to Tauck standards. There were no passed appetizers on either night. Pretzels and chips. Chicken in Stockholm, not Swedish meatballs?? If this had been my first trip I would have been very disappointed. Those nights need a WOW!

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the fjords from the Ferry out of Flam and the pianist at Edvard Grieg's home.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments regarding the Welcome and Farewell dinners to our Operations team who is always looking to make improvements to our tours based on guests' feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cao007

Scandinavia - 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

This adventure provided us with wondrous views of glaciers, fjords and waterfalls. The Tauck itinerary was excellent (but 1 more day in Oslo would have been appreciated). However, we felt our Tour Director (TD) was disappointing, and the accommodations, while conveniently located, were not necessarily top of the line.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlights of our trip include: the breathtaking motor coach ride to Dalsnibba & Flydalsjuvet, the awesome Birksdal glacier, & the incredibly lovely city of Bergen. (The Grieg recital was a special treat also.)

review_img

Bob Mesnik

Tauck Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Very nice trip. Traveling with Tauck has always been a pleasure. We meet very nice people, not only in the tour group, but in the various countries we visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the most memorable moment was the reconstructed hotel in Oye. It was like going back in time.

review_img

Geib

A lovely travel experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

I had never been to Scandanavia--this was a great opportunity to visit. All of the hotels were in beautiful settings--Stockholm, Copenhagen & Bergen hotels were center city. Plenty of opportunity to explore and wander on your own. Tour price is high, but everything is expensive--especially food and beverage.

Most Memorable Moment:

ALL of the moments in Norway. Norway and New Zealand (also a Tauck trip) are the most beautiful countries I have ever been to, and traveling with Tauck was fantastic.

review_img

Jim Barr

Scandinavia Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

My husband & I took the Scandinavia trip the last two weeks in August 2015. Such a wonderful time and beautiful weather. It is very difficult to choose our favorite things. We loved Stockholm, very friendly with beautiful water vistas. But you saved the best for last! Norway with its fjords, waterfalls and glacier

Most Memorable Moment:

City = Stockholm Country = Norway Everything was wonderful and beautiful

review_img

agnes1345

The fjords, the fjords.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

There is nothing like the fjords for quiet tranquility. But there is a lot to be said about the beautiful cities especially Oslo and Bergen where we spent not enough time considering all the marvels to be seen. The weather was cool and sunny all the way to Bergen, which lived up to its reputation as the rain capital of Scandinavia.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private piano concert in an auditorium adjacent Grieg's former home.

review_img

AmyNissan

Scandinavia was Spectacular

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Really enjoyed our recent Scandinavia tour. Comprehensive look at the cities and countryside. Tour director was fabulous -really knowledgeable. Hotels were all top notch. Mundane details of travel taken care of by Tauck-awesome! Loved the private performances. Wanted more time in Oslo. Norway was breathtaking from start to finish! Great group too!

Most Memorable Moment:

Boat trip through Gerainger fjord and visit to Briksdal Glacier were the highlights for me-spectacular scenery throughout Norway.

review_img

Jane T.

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Loved the beauty of the scandanavia region of the world. We had a great guide and she made the tour work on time. Weather was great for this area.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Norwegian fjords were awesome.

review_img

EPKP

Scandinavia August 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our 5th trip with Tauck and again you delivered a wonderful experience. As usual the hotels were very convenient, Tour Director one of the most experienced we have had, and the driver was outstanding. If anyone is wondering whether to see Scandinavia by ship or land tour, this is definitely the way to go! Weather was largely sunny, warm, and clear.

Most Memorable Moment:

Breathtakingly beautiful scenery in Norway's fiords...from high points on land and on the multiple boat trips on the fiords.

review_img

jkalush

Long bus rides in Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This is our third Tauck trip, so we were less than happy. We thought that the accommodations were not up to the Tauck standards that we experienced in Spain and Japan, especially Toftaholm. The food at Gamel Humleback was very poor. The bus rides were way too long. A highlight was the overnight ferry and you are now eliminating it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was going to the top of the mountain by bus. The views were breathtaking.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in this journey. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always striving to enhance our tours based on our guest's feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Flips

Fabulous Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Tauck Director was EXTRAORDINARY! So knowledgeable with interesting facts, trivia, history, food...everything about our 3 Scan Countries. The first week of the 2 week trip was more of a "City Tour" with focus on Stockholm, Copenhagen and Oslo. The 2nd week we got lost in the fiords. A perfect blend of experiences!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Nobel Peace Prize Center in Oslo and the other Nobel Prize location in Stockholm. The fiords of Norway were breathtaking.

review_img

Sandra Didlake

Fantastic itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The scenery in Norway is incomparable. I have been lots of places in the world, but nothing comes close to Norway's mountains, fjords, and countryside. I am so happy I saw it by land rather than by cruise ship. I also loved Stockholm, which, like Norway, is spotless with nary a scrap of paper on the ground, and it has lots of beautiful parks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving to the top of Mt.Dalsiniba with its fantastic view.

review_img

Yorke

Scandinavia Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Very enjoyable. We had great tours of Stockholm, Copenhagen, Oslo and Bergen and enjoyed the countryside of all three countries. Included were numerous special attractions to visit including two ferry rides and a boat ride on a Norwegian fjord. The rides through the Nowegian mountains were spectacular including a train ride up a mountain.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were taken up to the top of a mountain in Norway, above the tree line where the views were breathtaking.

review_img

Ramblin

Beautiful Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The Tauck Scandinavia Tour was wonderful. Sweden and Denmark were great but Norway is by far the star of this tour. A magnificant country. The places and activities that Tauck took us to were more than we hoped for. Our Tour Director went the extra mile every single day. He was super organised, cheerful and helpful. Our driver was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing on our first fjord with the breathtaking views. The camera just couldn't do justice to it. We had our own private boat provided by Tauck and this just made the experience even more special.

review_img

Rigs5375

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

My wife and I had a great time visiting Scandinavia. The scenery was beautiful and our Tour Director was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Norway, Stockholm, and Oslo. Our tour director was very interesting and informative. He mixed facts with humor and made the trip most enjoyable.

review_img

Andrea Roitman

Enjoyed trip but not up to usual Tauck standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Every place we were taken to was wonderful and memorable. The tour director was wonderful as were the local guides. However, while the hotel locations were great, the hotels and amenities and food, were not even close to what we have come to expect from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the fjords

review_img

Margaret-09

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Well organized trip. Got to see a lot of Norway, which turned out to be the best part of the tour. Learned a lot about Scandinavian countries. Great food and great hotels. Didn't get lucky with the weather - it rained 10 days out of 14, but still enjoyed the trip. Hotels in Stockholm, Copenhagen, Oslo and Bergen were centrally located.

Most Memorable Moment:

Norway fjords and mountains were breathtaking!

review_img

Carol Ann Parnell

Fantastic Scandinavian Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our Tauck Scandinavia Tour July 3-16, 2015 was outstanding from start to finish. Tour Director, Gideon [Employee Name], provided a wealth of information, attention to detail and swift reaction any unexpected events. Tour bus driver, Idar Norang, was a skilled driver and a delightful personality. We enjoyed the beauty, history, and people of Scandinavia.

Most Memorable Moment:

Very difficult to pinpoint just one but we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the fjords and majestic mountains of Norway, and the private piano concert in the intimate concert hall at composer Edvard Greig's home in Bergen was an unexpected and most memorable event. Our second memorable trip with Tauck and hopefully more to follow.

review_img

Tom Hall

Scandinavia July 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The highlight of our trip was the 7 days in Norway---exceptional scenery day after day---spectacular waterfalls, mountains, rivers, glaciers, and fjords. Norway couldn't have been better-- Oslo and Bergen great. Sweden was good the 2 days in Stockholm-- excellent museums and palaces,-- Swedish countryside not impressive.Copenhagen average at best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the spectacular fjords waterfalls, and galciers in Norway

review_img

carocamp

Scandinavia Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We had a great time, enjoyed the spectacular scenery and met wonderful friends. Small group tours is definitely the way to go. Everything was organized like clockwork as all Tauck Tours are, this being our 7th one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the walk up to Briksdal Glacier. Also the Sculture Park in Oslo as well as the visit to the Borgund Stave Church in Norway.

review_img

JMKND

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We were blessed with great weather, a great group and a terrific TD - pretty good receipe for success. The hit of the trip was the snow-capped mountains and fjords in Norway, absolutely stunning. As an historian, I was also impressed with the Nobel and Vasa Museums in Stockholm, and the Viking, Kon Tiki and Polar Expedition Museums in Oslo.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching a piece of the Briksdal glaicier break off or "calve" as we were standing next to the lake opposite the glacier. Timing is everything!

review_img

northcarol

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

My husband and I just returned from the Scandinavian tour. What a thrilling trip! A great combination of cities and the outdoors in one of the most beautiful parts of the world, Norway. You will be dazzled by the sheer heights of the mountains and the innumerable waterfalls. The cities are clean, friendly, and accessible.

Most Memorable Moment:

The walk down from the glacier in Norway was so much fun. Seeing ice in the water, getting sprayed by the huge waterfall, seeing beautiful wildflowers, and enjoying a delightful lunch when we got to the bottom. Chatting and laughing with our tour friends on the walk was the icing on the cake.

review_img

mfusco

Scandinavia June 19-July 2

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was our first Tauck tour. In fact, it was our first tour of any kind! Our guide made us feel we really learned about each country we visited, with his vast knowledge of all things Scandinavian! And then some! The special touches are what really made this trip so awesome! We never worried about anything!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to choose from! But probably the private piano concert at the Edvard Griev concert hall in Oslo Norway, on a gorgeous summer day!

review_img

TheEdlunds

tour to Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We enjoyed our Tauck tour very much and were so pleased with our reception, the food, the travel, and learning the culture. Sweden was having their mid-summer holiday so not everything was open to see. I would have liked to have seen more of Denmark as two days did not cover getting out into the countryside. Norway was gorgeous! A real eyeopener

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed learning the history and customs of the people. Our tour guide was a great historian and told us the backgrounds for the three countries we visited. I loved being able to meet the people, eating ethnic food, and seeing the culture.

review_img

J. Hale

Scandinavia Is Awesome!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This was our 8th Tauck trip. As usual, it was outstanding. Having done two weeks in Alaska with Tauck last year, I feared Scandinavia would be more of the same. NO WAY! Norway in the late spring had 4x the scenery and majesty. No knock on Alaska, which is beautiful. This was just that much more breathtaking. Bucket List this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving and sailing through scenery with endless 300 foot waterfalls. Passing between cuts in the snow that towered above the bus on both sides of the road. The tulips. The lilacs. The clean, clear air. Scandinavia!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you found Scandinavia so breathtaking! It truly is a magnificent part of the world! Thank you for travelling with Tauck once again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lindafurgerson

Heaven on Earth

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Scandinavia has to be one of our top tours ever. The rich history and the incredible, not to be believed, vistas will be in our memories forever. Our TD and driver were fantastic, the accommodations were fantastic, and the food was wonderful. Thank you Tauck for making my dream of visiting Norway come true. This is a MUST do tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Briksdal glacier was fabulous, but the grandeur of the fjords is totally the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. The view outside our room at the Hotel Alexandra, situated at the tip of the fjord, was classic. I will never forget that sheer beauty.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you loved this beautiful part of the world! We always try to book 'rooms with a view', and we are glad you enjoyed yours! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Maria Lassus

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

The trip was very good. However the food was far from the previous trip I made with you to Poland, Bratislavia......... Etc. the Hotels were clean, service good but compared th the Kempinski and Bristol in Poland you were short. Another thing is the amount of meals. Breakfast and tour and the whole rest of the day free. That is unfair!

Most Memorable Moment:

The fjords and Getting to know people and wonderful persons.The the river Wonderful. Not for the price though. But I guess those countries are more expensive. Tauck guides very nice but drop you off and no way to find them to ask for advice. That is not working a complete day. You ask for a 8 dollar tip when they work for 9 at most.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expections but rest assured that all of your comments have been shared with management and appropriate actions will be taken. We thank you for your patronage and do hope that you will travel with us in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Paul Flotken

Beyond of Highest Expectations....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Our 2014 trip to Scandinavia was another example of Tauck exceeding our highest expectations. Every day was a new adventure, with a wonderful mix of historic and energetic cities followed by some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. Our guide provided the perfect leadership for our trip, as we truly experienced the wonder of the region.

review_img

jazzowl

Scandinavia - unparalleled beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This trip was superb. Tauck always chooses hotels that that are within easy walking distance of the most interesting parts of the city, like Old Town in Stockholm. Great combo of bus, ferry, train.Our Tauck tour guide and bus driver were the nicest and totally helpful. We always learn so much on Tauck tours. Scandinavia is breathtakingly beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Norway's fiords, countryside, and forests were unbelievably beautiful. One place is more gorgeous than the next. I could travel through the countryside there forever.

review_img

Chief

Something for everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

There's a little bit for everyone on this tour---history and culture in the cities, and jaw-dropping scenery in the mountains and fjords of Norway. We particularly enjoyed the insights provided by our Norwegian bus driver, Idar, about his homeland. We came away with a new perspective on the people, politics, and geography of a beautiful area.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from Dalsnibba, set up by Idar's ability to have the conclusion of Grieg's Piano Concerto coincide with our arrival at the summit. Bravo, Idar!!!

review_img

David D

Unique and Beautiful Scenery!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was our 1st Tauck tour. We enjoyed all the places we saw but especially loved Norway. The fjords and glaciers were spectacular! We also really enjoyed experiencing the different cultures of Stockholm and Copenhagen. The weather can change very quickly so be prepared daily for anything. The countryside is so unique and breathtaking!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour guide Sylvia helped make each location unique and enjoyable. There was a good range of activities to meet our high expectations. The fjords were so beautiful and the glaciers were wonderful to see. There were so many highlights on this trip, it's impossible to pinpoint just one memorable moment.

review_img

jshaw43

Scandinavia tour in August,2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This trip is wonderful! The accommodations were first rate,especially the Hotel Alexandra in Loen,Norway. The city tours were very informative as was our knowledgeable tour guide,Gideon. Great itinerary and food,as well. We were on a small group tour and really enjoyed getting to know some great travelling companions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to pick just one. The mountain and waterfall views in Norway were memorable. Also really enjoyed beautiful Stockholm with its many islands and water views. The welcome dinner at the hotel Alexandra was outdoors on a lovely patio in a beautiful setting...great food,great company. A wonderful memory.

review_img

JLintz23

History and Great Scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This trip was one I am glad we did not miss. The tour director Gideon provided us with history, background on people, political climate, cultural and many other things that added to the enjoyment of the trip. I would recommend doing this trip with a small group. All three countries provided a little difference in all aspects. Thanks Tauck!!

Most Memorable Moment:

All of Norway!!!

review_img

Metman

Norway was the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We have been on many trips with Tauck , most magnificent. However, we recognized that the tour director can make or break a tour. On this trip our tour director gave the impression both by his deportment and dress that he was going through the motions. Directors need to know that while they have done the trip many times, this was our first.

Most Memorable Moment:

The fjords and the ferry.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry that you were disappointed with your Tauck Director; rest assured your comments will be share with the appropriate manager. We thank you for your patronage and do hpe that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Drfreddy

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Too many stops for lunch,Oslo especially missed lots of sites.Two hotels were not a good choice for a four star Tauck tour(Oslo and Bergen). We were looking forward to the Alexandra hotel for a Spa treatment but upon arrival they were all booked up with regular guests.,though it was a lovely hotel. The food was uninteresting .

Most Memorable Moment:

The waterfalls and the Fjords were most memorable and those little picturesque towns. Will never forget that! Paul our guide and Kinut our driver were great.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PPetrasek

Great family heritage trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

The joy and wonder of our Iceland trip reflects our joy in the Scandinavian trip

review_img

crackers54

Waterfall heaven

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Loved all the waterfalls. Only negative was limited time in Oslo. Would skip lunch (not that good and the 2+ hrs took to much time) to be able to go to The Scream and city hall. 1 1/2 hours only gave enough time for resistance museum and walk on opera house after all museums closed. Lucked out on great weather. Went last 2 Wks of June.

Most Memorable Moment:

The power of the waterfalls and the private concert at the Grieg museum. Ferry rides thru fjords. Seeing the countryside and ride to the top of mountain. The view was fantastic.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey but disappointed that some aspects fell below your expectations. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AlanDC

Scandinavia June 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Trip met our expectations as the scenery throughout was magnificent. One criticism is: on all of our previous Tauck trips there was always a choice of entrees when eating as a group. Not so on this trip. At one lunch only dish served was lamb which numerous people did not eat. Also, an overabundance of farm-raised salmon as only selection often.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the fjords and glaciers,visiting Bergen, visiting the Viking Ship Museum, Great experience travelling throughout Scandinavia.

review_img

Michael AU

Fabulous Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

This trip exceeded our expectations in every way, Tauck knows how to do it well. Pace of trip, tour guide, coach and drivers were excellent. Good accommodation in great locations added to the overall experience. The scenery, especially Norway, was something to remember for a long time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the fjords in Norway in perfect weather. How lucky can you be!

review_img

Lynne AU

Pristine Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Scandinavia was fabulous. The scenery, history and the excellent tour guides and coach drivers made our tour one to remember. The pace of the tour with 2 night stays was also very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our stay at Toftaholm with its beautiful rooms, grounds, food and our jovial host will stay with us for ever. The history of Norway with its fjords, massive tunnels and spectacular scenery was tops.

review_img

Elaine07

The total beautiful Scandinavian package - cities, countryside, waterways

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Our trip in early June was magnificent, with the weather cooperating fully. We feel that it provided a full picture of Sweden, Denmark and Norway and really appreciated the nearly full week in Norway. Wish we could have had another day in Oslo. We spent a few days in Stockholm before the trip and highly recommend this to anyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

Folk dancing at the manor house in the Swedish countryside was hilarious. Just as we thought it was "enough", members of our group were drawn in as participants making it quite lively and laughable. Drinks and dinner topped it off.

review_img

wanderer67

Beautiful Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

tremendous trip. Scenery was breathtaking. Pace of the trip very good. i enjoy the free time to explore a little on my own. Scandinavians are very nice and helpful. Became a little lost exploring and everyone I asked for directions was very nice and helpful. I think this is a great first trip on Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable were the trips to the fjords and the scenery. The amazing waterfalls and views of the glaciers. I also enjoyed the cities we stopped at. There is so much history and preserved historsic buildings

review_img

DZimmerman

Scandinavia Wonders

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Both Sweden and Denmark were great-beautiful countrysides and historic big cities.But the most beautiful country was Norway! What a surprise to see so much beauty in nature-waterfalls, fjords, glaciers, granite mountains, green farmlands. And the meals were so healthy and delicious. We ate fish that were so fresh and so delicious. Don't miss this!

Most Memorable Moment:

We will never forget the walk up to the foot of the Briksdal Glacier. Crossing a bridge over a roaring waterfall and the reaching the edge of the glacier was so spectacular. Photos may capture the scene but the feeling will last forever! We can't understand why so many people have never been to Scandinavia.

review_img

ylwdaizy@aol.com

Scandinavia in August

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Sweden and Denmark were picturesque and interesting. But Norway was breathtaking. The museums, palaces, parks visited were all worthwhile. And there was time to rest if necessary or do more sightseeing on your with plenty of interesting options.There is much to see in every city visited.Although I was not prepared for the cool,rainy weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

The glacier we visited in Norway was unbelievable. To be so near was such a surprise. And this entire day was made up of nature at its most exciting and beautiful.

review_img

Isabella of perkins pond

The perfect vacation

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

All escorted tours are first and foremost about the tour director. Ours was absolutely the best. His name was Gideon. His warm, informative, and professional manner set the tone for a wonderful romp through Scandinavia. Our group was a very compatible one, which was a second big plus.Three beautiful countries put a wrap on a great two weeks.

Most Memorable Moment:

On top of a mountain , 5000 plus feet high, we looked out at the snow covered peaks in the distance and then down to a green valley and saw heaven...IT WAS NORWAY !

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your overall journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Allen Fitch

Scandanavia 2013 Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

It was a wonderful trip and we both enjoyed it very much. Norway and the fjords were beautiful. We also liked the hotel accommodations. The bus was very comfortable and the drivers were professional and safe. Our tour director was helpful and treated everyone with respect. The meals were good, but sometimes a little too fancy for our taste.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the ferry rides on the Naeroyfjord and Geirangerfjord.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to this magnificant region.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JLeary

Fabulous scandanavia trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was my first Tauck Tour which surpassed all my expectations! Steve the guide was excellent, the local guides on the bus were informative and the scenery, venues, hotel, food and people were all wonderful! Fourteen days of sunshine didn't hurt either.;) I would highly recommend this tour, the scenery was beautiful!

Most Memorable Moment:

Norwegian Fjords and glaciers

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your first journey with us to this magnificent region and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MPersichetty

Waterfall Heaven

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Loved the trip from beginning to end, weather was good, scenery was beautiful especially the hundreds of waterfalls. Could not stop taking photos of waterfalls. Norway had so many of them and the fjords made it even easier to see them up close. Nature at it's best. Everyone was nice to be with on our tour and Mike our tour guide made it run easy

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved going through the fjords on the ferries.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us to Scandinavia. It must have been wonderful to see the beautiful fjords up close!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JJohn

2013 Scandinavia - July

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

All three major cities we visited, Stockholm, Copenhagen, and Oslo were surprisingly compact and quite walkable. This tour provided adequate free time in each city to explore on one's own and sample the local foods. An extra day in Oslo could have been helpful. Inclusion of the countryside and the fjords of Norway was an essential part of trip

Most Memorable Moment:

A good part of the tour was spent traveling thru the majestic countryside of Norway and thru its beautiful fjords. This portion of the trip, much of the second week, was definitely the highlight for me. It reminded me of the icefields of the Canadian Rockies in some places and of the trip from Interlaken to Jungfrau in Switzerland in others.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Melle

Beautiful Scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Liked the mix of cities and scenery. People are quite friendly and welcoming. Great guide, drivers and travel group. Waterfalls, tunnels, fish, fjords were awesome. Scandinavia is a unique culture and a trip with the focus on scenery but a chance to also experience the history. An enjoyable time. Fine weather helps a trip like this.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stockholm, Vigeland Sculptures in Oslo and the view from Dalsnibba were awesome. Rosenberg Palace and the Viking museum were memorable. The Stave Church was unbelievable. The countryside lunch stops were really fun. The people were all so nice and spoke excellent English. Wow!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MMcCarthy

Scandanavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was a wonderful trip! [Employee Name] was an excellent tour guide, and the city guides were very knowledgeable and interesting as well. Sweeden, Denmark and Norway were great places to visit and the other folks on our tour very friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many, but I enjoyed our trip up the mountain in Norway and the view of the fjords which was spectacular!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bklansford

Scandenavia June 2103

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Overall, a good trip. Some very good elements. A good group of traveling companions. Good tour director and excellent drivers. The last hotel - Radisson Blu, was just ok at best. Even the last memory was not a good one - they didn't pick up my luggage and our tour director had already left. The Marriott Copenhagen was also not up to par.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Little Mermaid statue again, after 56 years.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your overall journey. We will be sure to share your comments with the manager who is responsible for this journey so that we can review the Radisson Blu Hotel.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sorren

SCANDINAVIA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Being of Norwegian ancestry I have always wanted to visit there. This trip was everything I had hoped for, and more, that is, as they say, "the Tauck Difference". From start to finish, I was able to experience the architecture, cuisine, culture, and more natural beauty, than I have seen anywhere before. Skilled drivers, and guides, really do help.

Most Memorable Moment:

The drive up and back to see the view from Dalsnibba, the highest point reachable by coach, was breathtaking. Looking out from the top of the mountain, and then looking down into the Geirangerfjord, surrounded by all the snow capped peaks, and towering waterfalls, was both mystical and majestic.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your over journey and lived up to your expectations!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PeterPen

Scandinavia at its best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trip was thorough and comprehensive in its scope. All of the major attractions one would want to see were covered. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, and was obviously well-versed in the cultures of Danes, Swedes, and Norwegians. We arrived one day before the tour in Stockholm and were able to witness a royal wedding.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were able to witness the christening of a new oil rig supply ship in Bergen and then board it for cocktails in the galley.

review_img

Earljo

Scandinavia Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was my forth Tauck tour and had some up and downs. First we were surprise with the high costs of Scandinavia goods, i.e. food, drinks, clothing and all other items costing about 3 times that in the U.S.. On the positive side, Norway exceeded our expectations as the most beautiful country. BREATHTAKING!

Most Memorable Moment:

The cruises through the Fjords are a picture takers dream. However, the most enjoyable lunch in the countryside of Denmark is a memorable occasion I believe most on the tour will not forget. Castles and picture taking opportunities abound.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you som much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with some memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RLunde

Scandinavia 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

rosiesmidnightsun.wordpress.com Please cut and paste into your browser to view commentary on our trip!

review_img

Jerry H

Scandinavia - Beyond Expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

As a frequent traveler with Tauck, I have come to expect a great experience when we tour. I had no idea what a fantastic trip the Scandinavia tour would be. Superb hotels, fantastic food, and a great guide! While we enjoyed the entire tour, Norway is stunning! Majestic mountains and fjords. Words, photos do not do it justice. You have to see it!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The week in Norway, in general. The vast beauty of the scenery...fjords, waterfalls, mountains, glaciers. The color of the water! The setting of Hotel Alexandra (our favorite hotel)was amazing! Bergen...the harbour,the fish market and funicular. The Toftaholm (Sweden) experience was a lot of fun, too. See, I can't stop!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dranreb

Best tour director ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Fabulous accommodations, food, and sightseeing! One of the people on our trip (who was not in great health when he arrived) had a heart attack and died while we were in Sweden. Our tour director handled the situation with tact & efficiency; we were very impressed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the Lego store and posing on life-size motorcycle. Also Flam train.

review_img

linda g

All about nature

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Terrific trip. Lots of travel but magnificent scenery in Norway. Great mix of city and countryside. Norway was amazing. Best fish ever with salmon and herring galore.Excellent guides. hotels and locations were wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Briksdal glacier in Norway. Amazing that we could get to see that.

review_img

fulham

Scandinavia 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Of Swedish and Norwegian heritage, I had never been to Sweden, so it was on my "bucket list". Also glad to go to Denmark. The cities all have pedestrian districts, much better than our cities. I was there during the London Olympics so enjoyed them and learned Sweden trains horses.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed the ferry from Copenhagen to Oslo and the dark chocolate marzipan candy I got in the gift shop.

review_img

joev

Another great experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Once again Tauck has put together a trip that was most enjoyable. Wonderful food, activities, and tour director. Norway, though expensive, is probably the most beautiful country we've seen.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not just one moment, but rather spectacular scenery through out the trip.

review_img

kb001

First Trip With Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was my first experience with Tauck. I have traveled extensively around the world. This trip was actually a 'test' and I am extremely happy with the 'test results'. The tour touched all travel bases, trains, ferrys, buses, and nice hotels. I was impressed with all the intricate arrangements and the knowlegeable tour guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the beautiful, unique, exciting views from the 'Flamsbana' , The Flam Railway in Norway.

review_img

yoshi

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Most awesome trip I have had!!!Norway is just BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!everybody should see Norway before we pass on!!!!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

the entire time we were exploring Norway!

review_img

mediaperson

Waterfall extravaganzia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

The trip from Stockholm to Copenhagen to Oslo and on to Bergen was completely interesting. Each city was different and the variety of mode of travel kept the passenger on task. The director of the tour was extremely knowledgeable, articulate and friendly. He was a person you all hope you can meet again on another tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The experience I enjoyed the most was the castles, palace and the home of Edvard Grieg. I enjoy the history and the significance of its connection to the site. The part I will always remember is the 16 hour cruise from Copenhagen to Oslo. I do not "do boats" ever, but this trip was okay.I would like smaller towns and being with those people.

review_img

mreilly01

like the movie"fantastic journey"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

everything was great as i had expected from tauck. all three countries were a treat,lots of things to see and do. the weather was a bit cooler than upstate new york where i am from(went the first week of june. the food was excellent although quite expensive($25 for a hamburger)the people were quite friendly and most spoke english. the hotels were great

Most Memorable Moment:

seeing the glaciers and fjords of norway was worth the cost of the trip. the train ride thru the mountain passes was extraordinary. the city of bergin is a gem.

review_img

Land of Fjords and Glaciers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

We enjoyed every aspect of this trip. Our guide, Gideon, was always cheerful, very well-informed, and every aspect of the 2+ weeks went smoothly. We loved Stockholm even though the weather was bad. Toftaholm is magical. We really enjoyed our rail journeys to Flam and our night in tiny Flam. The fjords and glaciers of Norway are beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the beautiful blue/green fjords and the towering mountains and hundreds of waterfalls!

review_img

ron g

Absolutely wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

The cities and countryside were breathtaking. Tour director was excellent and very informative. We thought we could live in Norway. Would love to go back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Norway was the best to enjoy a rural country and it's beautiful scenic views. All our accommodations were the best. Stockholm was a beautiful city with great museums and sights.

review_img

Gecko

Beautiful country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

We had a nice smaller group with great local tour guides and a wonderful hotel in the Swedish countryside, beautiful scenery and many varied types of travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Swedish countryside Inn was wonderful, and Norway was absolutely beautiful with wonderful ferry rides and standing at the foot of a glacier was a thrill! Loved the park in Oslo and a beautiful city! Nice trip!

review_img

Julee

Scandinavia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

Wonderful small group of traveling companions. Varied, well paced travel by bus, train, ferry through spectacular country sides. Our guide, Gideon [Employee Name], exceptional among outstanding Tauck guides. Hope we travel with him again! Garnered a clearer perspective of history, present, and future of these three countries.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stockholm's underground artistic wonders & Gamla Stan; Flamsbana railway; Nyhavn waterfront; Vigeland Sculpture Park - wanted more time to explore; touching the Briksdal glacier; Norwegian fjords; everything about Bergen; and everything in between.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button