TravelerReviews

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

review_img

RichardFink

Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had the most wonderful Tauck tour trip. It will be difficult to travel again without our tour director. Everything was so well organized & planned. Sites visited were so well selected & time allocated was nearly perfect. All we had to do was turn up & enjoy the atmosphere, sites & experiences of the places visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, going to the Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow. I was very apprehensive about visiting a gallery of 19C Russian art (ho hum). The guide was brilliant how she selected specific paintings, artists & stories that I was completely captivated & engrossed in the visit. It was truly a great highlight of the trip.

review_img

JETC

Wonderful Tour to the Baltics, Helsinki, and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

I loved every minute of this tour and would recommend it without reservation. Our Tour Director was terrific, as were all of the local guides, though with the latter, accents sometimes made understanding difficult. Be ready for VERY active days (and nights) with minimal free time. Definitely not for the faint of either foot or energy!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to select just one. I especially loved Tallinn and wish we had had another day there. Way too rushed. St. Petersberg was glorious, but Moscow was the great surprise. Just beautiful.

review_img

Magnolia13

We could get used to this pampering

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Our tour guide was wonderful. Efficient, professional and gave us all the info we needed for each destination. The hotels were top notch. The breakfasts were wonderful, especially in Vilnius. The early entry to the palaces and museums were worth their weight in gold. The surprises along the way were really fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three memorable moments: Visiting Tsarskoe Selo (a lifelong dream), the Kremlin armory museum/Red Square and Peterhof. Also loved the train rides. Moscow is so different from St. Petersburg that it was wonderful to see two such different cities in Russia plus the countryside.

review_img

Paul Flotken

Wow...do not miss this trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our seventh Tauck trip and maybe our best. It was a perfect balance of a week in small countries and a week in Russia. The trip exceeded our highest expectations in every way. Our director and local guides were amazing, hotels were impeccable, and the itinerary was perfect. If you have ever dreamed of going to Russia, book it now!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many memorable moments to pick a best one. Early Tauck access to museums allowed us to see significant items up close without shoving crowds. St. Petersburg is as beautiful as any city in the world and we felt very safe throughout Russia. People were welcoming, very friendly and cities were immaculate.

review_img

DeborahHazzard

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Excellently orchestrated by Tauck guide. Two city guides/26 people was great. Loved flexible dinner times with smaller groups, food choices and accommodation of food allergies. Elena, St.Petersburg guide, genuine,knowledgeable - outstanding. Hotels luxurious. Optional lecture last day by former KGB Colonel bashing USA - distressing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Of course, the history. Visiting the KGB Museum in Vilnius,the Rumbula Forest Monument in Riga, seeing the wealth of the Romonovs in St. Petersburg, and of course visiting the Kremlin. Loved stopping at the resort towns of Jurmala and Parnu,and picturesque Tallin. Grateful for business class on ferry and trains, and peace of mind always.

review_img

schragenm

A fine experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was the usual Tauck experience: excellent tour director, driver, itinerary, and hotels. The increased seat pitch in the bus and early entry into the museums and palaces are really appreciated. Changing from a flight to a high-speed train from St. Petersburg to Moscow is a good idea.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opera singer in Riga

review_img

MurrayShapiro

Wonderful trip to the Baltics and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was extremely enjoyable and informative. The tour director was excellent, the tour guides very knowledgeable, and the hotels and food were first rate. The extra events were also very special. But, I think the tour would be improved with another day spent in St Petersburg.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Bolshoi performance

review_img

NancyStevens

A memorable experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was well organized, amazing guides, staying in first class hotels. We enjoyed meeting & getting to know a wonderful group of people. Being a first group of people touring the Hermitage and Armory was especially appreciated.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Armory as well as the Hermitage.

review_img

Sudburyjay

Russian Splendor

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Overall, great trip. Baltic states were interesting, St. Petersburg and Moscow spectacular. Every day was filled with interesting sites and new perspectives. Tour director was outstanding. Russia guides were great. Baltic states guides were not as good - focused on trivial items, not on history and current political and economic situations.

Most Memorable Moment:

St. Petersburg is one of the great cities of the world. The Hermitage is in a class with The Louvre and The Vatican as a great art museum. And the palaces and churches are not to be missed.

review_img

Bob Leland

Lots to Learn

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Lithuania, Latvia & Estonia, are an educational and beautiful learning opportunity. Helsinki - nice, but not so interesting. St. Petersburg was fascinating, especially The Hermitage Museum & Catherine's Palace. The high speed train from St. Petersburg to Moscow sure beat flying. Moscow, w/ Red Square & the Kremlin-WOW! The Armory Chambers are a 10.

Most Memorable Moment:

The unimaginable opulence of the Russian palaces, cathedrals, palaces and royalty residences compared to the dilapidated farm homes and concrete high rise communist dwellings.

review_img

GM

Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was my 12th Tauck tour and it was a wonderful trip from beginning to end. Everything was consistently outstanding...the hotels, the food, the local guides, and especially, the places we got to see and visit were incredible! If anyone is undecided about where to travel next, this is definitely the tour you want to take.

Most Memorable Moment:

I thoroughly enjoyed visiting the Baltic States but once we arrived in St. Petersburg, it seemed everyday going forward was memorable, wonderful,and sometimes almost unbelievable.

review_img

SG PA

Baltics and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This tour was one of the best we have taken. The Baltics nations we visited were very nice and full of history. The opulence in St. Petersburg and Moscow was worth visiting once in your lifetime. We could have enjoyed one more day in Tallinn and one more day in Helsinki - these were only touch points - one night stay does not do justice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Hermitage Museum and Catherine's Palace in St. Petersburg were the highlights. Many other attractions were also worth seeing.

review_img

PegKay

Overall Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was a very enjoyable trip. The Baltics are interesting and lovely. Another day needed in Tallinn. Maybe cut Helsinki, which although pretty does not have a lot to see. The highlight of the trip is of course Russia. St. Petersburg and Moscow both beautiful cities. Churches in Russia make you feel like you are in a fairytale! Kremlin fabulous.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of Russia, train ride into Russia, KGB Museum Vilnius, the ballet in St. Petersburg, Tchaikovsky Night dinner, private opera performance. Trakai Castle, Folkloric lunch. Seeing Red Square from our hotel room! Baltics Bus Driver. Being pickpocketed in Moscow, our first time ever in all of our travels, and lack of help/empathy from Tour Director.

review_img

StuS

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Well organized...great group of travelers. What I have found to be the major difference between Tauck and other travel tours is your local guides, taking tourist to local restaurants and events,fabulous accommodations and smooth transitions from one location to another. I also loved that we did not just use the bus to get from one city to another.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed Moscow. I had heard so much about St. Petersburg but not many travelers have had the experience of going to Moscow.

review_img

mik

Russia and Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Wonderful. Our Tauck Director was sensational.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't Decide

review_img

Mark Beckel

Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was our 10th tour with Tauck. We felt that the wine should have been covered at meals. It seemed ridiculous on a high end tour to not cover it. It also seemed like there were more meals on our own than usual.

review_img

ACEMOM

Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

A wonderful experience in the Baltic states and Russia. A fast paced but fun experience. I learned and saw so much.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to choose from. I believe standing in Red Square and realizing how historic this place was. It was hard for me to believe that I was there St Basil's and all of those things that you had ever heard or read. At times hard to wrap your brain around! Experiencing this country and its people when all I had read was in books, lived through

review_img

Tapper

Wonderful trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We recently returned from our trip to the Baltics & Russia and we were very pleased with the entire experience. The hotels, the meals, the transportation and the pace of the trip were all very good. The Tauck tour guide was exceptional-very knowledgeable and we enjoyed her commentary on the bus ride between cities. Remember there is lots of walking!

Most Memorable Moment:

When we booked this trip, we were really looking forward to seeing Russia and that didn't disappoint but we were amazed at how much we enjoyed the Baltic states. The scenery was beautiful, friendly people and lots to see. The best part of the trip was being able to walk to so many of the city sights from our hotels during our free time.

review_img

George Liebermann

Excellent experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Beside the obvious highlights of the itinerary, I would like to mention especially our fantastic tour director, an amazing person in so many ways, professionally and as a human being. She is truly competent, has everything under control in a very nice way, meeting her and watching her in action was a bonus for our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention. The memorable surprise was the opera singer Sonora Vaice in Riga. On another note, I would like to thank Tauck for the very knowledgeable local guides throughout the trip.

review_img

Zulu

Lost in the system

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

While the trip was very good once we got there, we were very dissatisfied with our treatment. We did not receive our travel package, did not get adequate advance information about your visa service not being available to Canadians, had to change our departure at great expense to us and misled 5 days of the trip. You lost us in your system.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we saw our names listed on the guest list as being from Norwalk Connecticut. We are from Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Your had all our information, this is our third trip with you and, while we have registered for another we are debating whether we will proceed. Clearly Canadians do not get the same treatment as your American guests.

review_img

SusannaV

Russia and the Baltic States

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

A fantastic trip. First rate hotels and meals and a very knowledgeable tour guide from Tauck. I would do this trip again!

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving in the beautiful old town of Vilnius. I didn't know what to expect, and it was spectacular. Green, historically fascinating, friendly, and unusual.

review_img

JudithinSF

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This trip covers the highlights of things to see in the Baltics, St Petersberg & Moscow. Our tour leader was terrific. She had great handouts explaining the history of each area, suggestions of other things to see & do and places to eat. All of the local guides were excellent. They knew their material and were easily understood.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several memorable moments because the museums and churches are beautiful, but the Hermitage was the standout for us. The Hermitage has an amazing collection of artwork set in the magnificent Winter Palace.

review_img

gk46321

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our 7th trip with Tauck and it was wonderful. The accommodations were superb and food excellent. Knowledgeable local guides gave us invaluable history lessons from this region. How you see this part of the world truly did matter. History as we know it and as they perceive it wasn't the same but the people were gracious, willing to share.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was seeing Red Square and the Kremlin in Moscow. Our perception of these places from pictures changed from grey to colorful and modern when we saw them in person. The high speed train through Finland and Russia allowed us to see the countryside in contrast to the cities. We loved everything!

review_img

davewilma

Unexpected Treasures and Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The trip was just one wonderful discovery after another. Learning the ancient history along with the 20th century and current history was so enriching. The accommodations, food and fantastic local guides were excellent. Only surpassed by our wonderful and very knowledgeable tour director. Moscow was beyond wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing in Red Square looking at the Kremlin, St. Basil's and Lenin's tomb.

review_img

Hoya68

Multiple Showstoppers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This Tauck trip just seemed like one unexpected great event after another. Private opera performance, ballet in St. Petersburg, hours of dinner entertainment, local songs and dance - created an amazing cultural experience. Hotel/food generally top-notch. Everything executed flawlessly by our Tauck guide. Wholeheartedly endorse this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Kremlin -- most especially the Armory; the three plus hours of entertainment (violin, piano, ballet, opera) from the Mariensky Theatre artists while we ate a sumptuous dinner at the Grand Hotel Europe in St. Petersburg. Touring with a wonderful group of people also added immeasurably to the good times.

review_img

MouseMom39

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures - The Trip's Title Says it All

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We found the Baltics to be more than just beautiful buildings, landscapes, and delicious food. Their real treasures were their people, whose openess and kindness always made us feel welcome. St. Petersburg was as glorious in it's history and culture as we had expected; what truly surprised us was that Moscow was equally amazing in its own right

Most Memorable Moment:

As several have mentioned, the view of the Kremlin from our hotel room was breath taking! But my most memorable moment, though not "pleasant", was the optional Jewish Heritage Tour in Riga which culminated in a visit to Rumbala Forest where 25,000 Jews were killed and buried in late 1941. It was a moving experience for those of all faiths.

review_img

wffinn

Russian Notes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The natural prelude to a first-time visit of Russia is a slow journey through the Baltic States. While the restorations in St. Petersburg and Moscow are rightfully symphonic pieces, Vilnius, Riga, and Tallinn serve as the anticipatory overture. Tauck’s “Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures” is a captivating melody with numerous consecutive phrases.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many 'memorable moments' to select one or two or three. The adventure is best considered in it entirety and then compared to others. When done, this tour stands out as unique and the 'most memorable'.

review_img

Margaret Robyn Cooper

Perfection!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

With this tour across the Baltics and Russia, Tauck delivered in spades. The content, pace and surprise elements were delightful. The Tour Director was professional, informative and always gave 150%. The accommodations were excellent and always located in the historic centre, making personal exploration outside of the tout program so easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole intinenary was fascinating. A definite highlight was Saint Petersburg - history, art, culture, dining. Loved the Faberge Museum.

review_img

debbielucas

Baltic treasures and Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Wow! Our first Tauck trip and we were so impressed. Everything was very well organized, hotels were top-notch, food was excellent (and there was a lot to eat!), and we had expedited entry into museums, exhibits, and adequate time to see everything. Pace was moderate, bus transportation comfortable, great commentary from our tour director!

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not just one memorable event, but many. Loved the Old Town sections of Vilnius, Riga, Tallin, the castle at Trakai. All the cathedrals were glorious. My favorite place was Catherine's summer palace at Puskin, What a wealth of beautiful things on display there (and at the Hermitage). St. Basil's in Moscow my favorite cathedral.

review_img

BonnieD

Fabulous experience in Baltic states and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

If you have an interest in this part of the world, don't miss this tour. Everything was beautiful, interesting tours, and a perfectly orchestrated adventure from day one. The hotel locations and properties could not have been better, delicious meals too. Absolutely one of my top travel experiences!

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of the Kremlin from our hotel room in Moscow was magical!!

review_img

KathrynH

Who Knew It Would Be So Beautiful?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our September departure gave us the most glorious weather (an excellent backdrop for road trips to see the Peterhof, Catherine Palace, Hermitage, the Kremlin and its Armory) and other sights that one typically just reads about. Baltic countries were pretty and Helsinki was impressive. The heart of the adventure was seeing how Russia turned out!

Most Memorable Moment:

The small-group nature of our tour made a big difference during our "Russian Peasant" experience when fellow travelers started matching shots of vodka. (Everybody tested their methodology for multiple sips.) I also remember the cobblestones in the Baltic city centers. With so many living museums to walk through, the physical demands were serious.

review_img

Lindy Sue

Fantastic Baltic & Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Wonderful guide who handled every situation with calm and efficiency. The sights and local guides were outstanding and thorough. Can't travel with any company but Tauck. I know Tauck will be outstanding and you never fail to deliver. Can't wait for my next trip with you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Michelangelo's Crouching Boy in the Hermitage. Didn't know Russia had any work by this major artist. Loved the ability to treasure each moment in each venue.

review_img

DavidGore

A great learning experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The trip overall was a great learning experience, first to explore the Baltic states which we knew little about and were very pleasantly surprised how interesting they were. Helsinki was a great city to visit just too short time there. Russia was not what we expected, both St. Petersburg and Russia were fabulous cities especially Moscow.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving in Moscow to see a city with vibrant colour and life that we never would have expected. A fabulous tour director certainly contributed to many memorable moments.

review_img

steveja

Baltic and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Outstanding in every sense of the word. Our tour director was the best we've ever had. She is indeed a jewel....a wonderful and caring professional who made every moment of our trip totally enjoyable, relaxing, and of course, most interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting St Petersberg.

review_img

CGoodstein

Everything clicked

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our tour director was very well organized, informative, and protective. The area guides were well versed in the subject matter but rushed us along.While the sites were not overly-exciting, the larger picture that evolved was quite interesting. All hotels were first-rate. Can't say the same about the food ;it was edible.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Hermitage, which was, for us, a repeat visit.

review_img

cbadrinath

Russian Glories and Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Enjoyed the tour very much with much to see and do; certainly full of treasures and glories - medieval cities, grand buildings, art and music. A lot of walking every day (necessary to experience the places visited)but some may find it difficult. May was a good time to tour with long daylight hours.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to St Petersburg and the summer and winter palaces in particular.

review_img

Niraboli

Baltic Treasures...Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It was an exhausting trip but it was so worthwhile because of all the historical beauties that we have to unearth. This is the only trip that sticks to my mind... the places we passed thru on our way to our destinations...the lunch breaks we had....I can even remember wha I had which is remarkable for an 81 year old.

Most Memorable Moment:

When the hotel in St Petersburg surprised me with a bottle of champagne and chocolate on my birthday. Thanks to my tour director who was marvelous. She is the best.

review_img

Patrickmok

Memorable Baltic and Russian Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This is our first trip with Tauck despite numerous trips with other companies around the world. We were told about Tauck by our friends who had tremendous experiences. So we decided to give Tauck a try. It turned out to be absolutely wonderful. Everything we were told was true. Tauck aims at dazzling their customers and they are successful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of the Hermitage was absolutely impressive with excellent local guide describing many pieces of the display articles. Absolutely wonderful experience.

review_img

McCarthyFamily

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This is a fabulous trip filled with the unexpected. Art lovers, will be in heaven. There Hermitage is world class! The works at the Tretyakov Gallery, by Russian artists, were amazing . Go to the Pushkin during free time. The tour director, Anne Marie, was great. Food was great. Bring your best walking shoes! Just an all around great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of Red Square from our hotel window.

review_img

edk

Russia and the Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Great itinerary, very interesting countries, people, culture and history, and lucked out with small group (21) of fellow travelers. I loved the extras that were included on this trip such as night at the Ballet at the Hermitage museum and private opera concert at the Riga Opera House. Hotels were top notch and centrally located.

Most Memorable Moment:

Strolling through the Old Town of Riga, Latvia, at night enjoying all the different forms of music playing from each corner and venue. Magical!

review_img

EHARPER

The Unknown Baltics?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I booked this tour to visit Russia and was totally blown away with all three of the Baltic States. While Russia did not disappoint it was the Baltics that were such a pleasant surprise. With all that these people have gone through from the Nazis and then the Russians after WWII they could not have been more friendly and open to tourist.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Church of Spilled Blood in St. Petersburg and then standing in Red Square and seeing the Kremlin and St. Basil's Cathedral.

review_img

21Taucksand counting

Russian Glories Baltic Treasures

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This is a wonderful trip. Our tour director ran it so smoothly that there was never a hitch. The expert guides were terrific and in most cases brutally honest about their situations. Hotels and food were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

The lecture and question and answer session with a top level Russian insider was particularly memorable, as were the "lagniappes and surprises" along the entire way.

review_img

wambli

Baltic and Russia very enjoyable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was quite excellent. The hotels were first rate and the food was likewise. The Baltic states were friendly. St. Petersburg was a high point as was Moscow. The tour director was excellent and the whole experience was the seamless one we expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

While I enjoyed St.Petersburg immensely the small group we had was the key to the excellence of the trip. We had a very compatible group and enjoyed the time with our co-travelers.

review_img

vivicarroll

Great Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

I was very apprehensive about this trip - 6 different hotels, 6 countries - lots of packing and unpacking. Tauck made it a breeze! Our luggage was picked up at the airport and we never lifted it again until the end of the trip. [Employee Name] was an exceptional guide. Tours were interesting and entertaining.

Most Memorable Moment:

I chose this trip because it included St. Petersburg, and the Hermitage was definitely a highlight, as was the ballet! But, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the charming Baltic countries. Lithuania was my favorite - pretty town and incredible hotel!

review_img

Enjoying Baltic Treasures, Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We arrived in Vilnius two days before the tour began, enjoying our visit there and the beautiful Kempinski Hotel. The opening reception with Kate and the other travelers was great. Kate was excellent in her knowledge of culture and history. Our drivers and local guides were terrific. We loved the hotels. Tauck's organization made our travels easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of the Kremlin and view of it from our hotel room. Seeing the Kremlin was an eye opener as it was not at all the foreboding Communist fortress that we expected. The buildings and grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. The crowds of people were evidence of the importance of these facilities to the Russian people.

review_img

slowcc

Russian Glories, Baltic States

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We absolutley loved this trip. The people were friendly & the history of the countries were really interesting. The food was great & the people we traveled with were really nice. The Tauck guide was a little disappointing but other than that I would recommend seing Russia & the Baltic States. The history was so interesting & informative. Great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Kremlin & going to St Petersburg was my favorite part of the trip. But don't miss the Baltic States there history was interesting & people were exceptionally friendly.

review_img

eweandeye

Russian Glories and Baltic Tresures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Absolutely Fantastic. I will remember it forever.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole trip was a memorable moment. But probably seeing St Basil's in Moscow from our hotel window is hard to beat.

review_img

bji

The Baltics and Russia...September 18,2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our ninth Tauck tour and the most strenuous one we've had. However, after traveling that far, you want to see as much as possible. It was packed with museums, palaces, and once in a lifetime things to see. I came away with much respect for what the people of these countries have gone through and their resilience. So educational!

Most Memorable Moment:

The second night in The Grand Hotel Europe in St Petersburg we were joined in the hotel by the King of Sweden. Got to see him arrive and leave. Tauck really out did themselves "arranging" that for our tour...sure!

review_img

LaniP

Too much to see; too little time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Firstly, [Employee Name] was a terrific Tour Director. Although the trip was extremely comprehensive, I would have appreciated having an extra day in Tallin and one in Helsinki. The local tour guides were outstanding; I felt as though I were in a history class. I would have preferred taking the train from St. P. to Moscow - see the countryside.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all memorable. Loved having the lecture in Moscow. A quick history review and important questions and answers. After seeing the splendor of St.P. with winter and summer palaces and the Hermitage - one could understand the need for a revolution. The least memorable moment was the ballet - which was for amateur viewers and a bit insulting.

review_img

MFinkel

Tauck shines again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This trip packs a lot of sights and experiences into a fascinating itinerary. September weather was cool, but not cold, although it rained in Moscow. Our TD, Peter (his final before retirement) was a great guide with a fun attitude we all enjoyed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The discussion from the Aid to Mikhail Gorbachev provided an interesting look into the differences from the former USSR and the new Russia. The Church of Spilled Blood in St. Petersburg was an unexpected surprise, with extensive mosaics. We were lucky to be the first group into the Hermitage museum, so we had the museum to ourselves.

review_img

Jed

Russia and The Balkan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Having traveled most of the globe; this, our 5th Tauck trip, was one of the best. As we've come to expect, we had: a comprehensive and manageable itinerary, fist class accommodations and dining, good trip logistics, and an excellent trip leader. Our traveling cohorts, all seasoned travelers and easy company and were the icing on the cake.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our knowledge of this part of the world had always been second hand and influenced by the propaganda of the cold war. The realization that the world has changed since 1991 and that the reality of both Russia and the Balkans did not match our preconceived impressions made this trip behind the old Iron Curtain a true eye opener.

review_img

TGlotzbach

In Search of "Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Because of our outstanding tour guide and the local guides provided by Tauck, our trip to Russia and the Baltics was phenomenal. Although I expected St. Petersburg to be glorious, I was surprised that Moscow, featuring turrets, towers and golden domes in the Kremlin, is also a beautiful,modern,vibrant city. The religious fervor inspired hope in me

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments: seeing the progress made in the Baltics; touring the Peterhof,Catherine's Palace and the Tretyakov Gallery; seeing "Swan Lake" at the the Alexandrinsky; enjoying the lecture on Russian history. Being inside the Kremlin was thrilling and viewed from the hotel reminded me of the setting for a Pushkin fairy tale.

review_img

AWitkowski

Baltic Treasures-Russian Cities

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The Baltic countries were so interesting. Accommodations great. The food was plentiful and mostly good if you like Russian food. Favorite place was Riga...wish we had more time there. Warning: Hermitage was too crowded!! Hopefully Tauck can work out better arrangements. Loved the Russian Art Museum in Moscow.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the memorial for the Jews of Riga.

review_img

waswise

Russian Glories Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We went with 2 other friends. The tour was recommended by another friend who had gone 2 years ago. We enjoyed sharing the trip with our friends. We had great expectations, but we found the trip strenuous and hectic. The walking particularly on cobblestones was hard. Leaving every day very early initially was fun, but as time wore on we got fatigued

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the spilled blood church and The Hermitage Museum.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that this journey did not live up to expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bthilstad

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures Aug. 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Visited the surprisingly beautiful and fascinating capitals of 3 Baltic countries--excellent local guides who showed not only the well-preserved historical sights but told of the soviet and nazi times there.Helsinki nice but brief and then St.Petersberg for 4 days and Moscow for 4 more truly glorious for all same reasons.Tour director fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many great moments to name but Hermitage was dream come true as was being in St. Petersburg.Yet Moscow was biggest surprise. It's grand, stately, dignified even. Red Square and the Kremlin were stunning as was St.Basil's Cathedral, so many other gleaming onion-domed churches, even within Kremlin walls. Hotel overlooked this site! Great group!

review_img

PMcNulty

Baltic States and Russia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Kori was the best guide ever...She worked so hard and watched out for everyone...I was so impressed with her organizational skills. We traveled by bus, boat, train and plane...quite a feat and there were no problems encountered along the way...I was glad we split into two groups for our guided tours..A great trip...Highly recommended!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say! Visiting the Hermitage Museum was the highlight of the trip and walking inside the Kremlin and along Red Square were also awe inspiring moments.

review_img

MMiller

No negatives !!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I have traveled with many tour companies all over the world. I told my friends that I was really having a hard time .with this trip because there was nothing negative to say "it had exceeded all of my expectations". This has never happened to me before!!! Sincerely, Marge Miller

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the State Armory and seeing dresses, coaches and jewels.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled that we exceeded all of your expectations! Perhaps you will travel with us again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TRE

Baltic Treasures;Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Great review of Russian history, including many of their Republics (Baltic countries) and their reform since early 1990's. St. Petersburg is like walking back in time to Peter the Great, Elizabeth (the "Spender"), and Catherine the Great. Moscow, Red Square, and the Kremlin came alive through our hotel window. Great trip and well managed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to highlight one.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and experienced so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MBattle2

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

It was a wonderful, fast-paced trip. Loved visiting the old cities in the Baltic countries. Didn't know much about their history, but am well informed now. The people are lovely--have been through a lot--and they love their independence. We were very impressed with the fantastic architecture. We were in Russia in 2002--much has changed--better

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, but if we had to choose one, it would be viewing the Kremlin from our hotel window--at night--all lit up.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and experienced so many memorable moments.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Levensonct

Russia and the Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Vilnius, Lithuania Riga, Latvia Tallinn, Estonia Helsinki, Finland St. Petersburg, Russia Moscow, Russia

Most Memorable Moment:

Magnificent from start to finish. Outstanding tour director, outstanding local guides, outstanding sites, outstanding hotels, outstanding new friends!!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very happy you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Merri

Better than my expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Russia was high on my travel list and I was afraid I would be disappointed due to my expectations. Every day brought a new fabulous site or experience. Our group was compatible and we enjoyed at breakfast chatting with someone new. Anyone who chooses to go to Russia and skips Moscow makes a major mistake. We were sorry we didn't have more time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Red Square at night was magical and reminded me of Disney World, except it was real. Moscow represented the best of Russia's past and future through the architecture.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are thrilled you enjoyed your journey with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

FLeopold

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Using Tauck for the first time on this trip, my wife and I now understand why so many of the other couples in our group were "Tauck Returnees". Our Tauck group leader was simply a wonderful person to be traveling with. She was a bundle of energy and totally responsive to any needs. Local guides shared their knowledge and were easily understood.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Russian portion was amazing. The Hermitage, the Armory within the Kremlin with all it's royal treasures, and seeing Faberge Eggs up close.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your first journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mintzh

Baltic Treasures, Russian Glories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The historical sights and information, explained by terrific local guides, are fascinating -- from medieval times, through the centuries of the Russian tsars, WWII and the Cold War era, and finally the collapse of the Soviet Union. Wonderful hotels, museums, food and cultural events all made it a truly excellent trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great moments and memories, like the KGB Museum in Vilnius, the Jewish Heritage tour of Riga, Tallinn's Old Town, the Winter Palace and the Hermitage in St. Petersburg and the Kremlin in Moscow. But the ballet in St. Petersburg and the Tretyakov Gallery museum of Russian art in Moscow provided unexpectedly fine memories.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting again you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

baltic

The Other Side Of Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Loved Vilnius, Riga and Talin, historic cities that most Americans will never see. St.Petersburg was amazing. Moscow was scary and depressing (nobody smiles, everybody looks mad). The application process and price for a Russian visa left me angry and sad.Came home with a new appreciation for western values and empathy for the Baltic States.

Most Memorable Moment:

I didn't think I liked ballet, but the performance in St. Petersburg left me in awe.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time so share your feedback with us. We are most apologetic that the visa application was difficult. Your comments have been shared with management. We are so pleased that you did enjoy many aspects of your trip expecially teh ballet performance! We thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mimix7

Beyond expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Our Tauck travel experience in the Baltic States and Russia provided great contrasts in city sizes, cultures and points of interest. The hotels were 5 star all the way, the food was fantastic, and the tour plans provided the opportunity to see everything we had hoped would be included. We could have never planned a tour like this on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

This tour provides so many "Wow" moments, but the palaces in St. Petersburg and sitting in Red Square enjoying an evening at one of the sidewalk cafes will be moments we'll never forget. The Hermitage Museum and the Rambula Forest Memorial also can't be excluded.

review_img

Ageloff

Tauck Tour of Russia and Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The tour was fascinating. The guides were knowledgable and very interesting. The hotels were great. The people on the tour were a pleasure to get to know. The sights were very worthwhile. I learned a great deal about the places we visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments were the fountains at the Summer Palace in St. Petersberg, the Kremlin and the view of Red Square and St. Basil,s church from my hotel room

review_img

Bill Hennebery

Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

The trip through the Baltics was very interesting from an historical perspective re: independence from the Soviet Union and the terrible suffering of the people both under the Soviets and the Nazis. From a sightseeing perspective the Old Towns were beautiful. Russia's museums, the ballet the Kremlin and the churches, and Stalin's bunker, memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Ballet, (Swan Lake) performed at the Hermitage Theater was outstanding! Also dinner at a restaurant in St. Petersburg, Gosti, was memorable because it was frequented by neighborhood people that gave us a flavor of how the Russian people live and what they eat.

review_img

Susiq_34683

Russian Glories, Indeed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Riga was a surprisingly enchanting city,loved the Art Deco area. St. Petersburg and Moscow are incredible. The Russian treasures have been so well preserved; the hotels were outstanding, local guides were excellent, ballet was great, too. Wish we did not have such a short time in Tallinn and sipped Helsinki.

Most Memorable Moment:

Had to be opening my hotel window to see the cupolas of St. Basil's Cathedral - that uber-iconic image from my childhood, which I thought I would never, ever be able to visit. And the vodka luncheon was also memorable, too. And who can forget all the pelmeni I ate? OK, that's three moments.

review_img

Larry B

Touring the Baltics, St. Petersburg, and Moscow.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Tauck's Russian Glories, Baltic Treasures trip was fantastic in so many respects. The tour director was enthusiastic, extremely well organized, humorous, and caring. The local guides were well informed and good communicators. The sights were spectacular (eg. Russian Orthodox churches)and the Baltic medieval cities were charming.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the summer palaces of Peter the Great and Catherine II (Catherine the Great) in St. Petersburg.

review_img

Katharine

Glories and Treasures for sure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

Every city on this tour was spectacular. The Baltic capitals and Helsinki all were interesting in unique ways. St. Petersburg and Moscow incomparable. The inter-related history was fascinating. Unexpected pleasures on our own, like when a bride asked if we would learn and sing a Russian song with her. Kallinka!

Most Memorable Moment:

One?! Walking tours and local guides fabulous. Especially the passionate guide at Vilnius' KGB prison whose grandparents had been imprisoned there. Old and new cities. Only one day in Helsinki but we saw the best - Sibelius memorial and Church of the Rock! Catherine & Peter palaces! Spent all day at the Hermitage! Knock-out view from Moscow hotel!

review_img

VPicarelli

Russian Glories and Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

An amazing journey through the history of the twentieth century especially its first half. By the way the Tauck organized the trip and led by its director we could relive the defining moments of history while we realize that people visited were already working to build a new society based on the trust, integration and respect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lithuania - Vilnius - the Trakai Castle / Latvia - Riga - Art Noveau neighborhood / Estonia - Tallinn - The old city / Finland - Helsinki - The Lutheran Cathedral / Russia - St. Peterborough - Czarina Catherine Palace and Hermitage Museum / Russia - Moscow - Kremlin and Saint Basil Cathedral

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we thank you for sharing your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button