TravelerReviews

St. Petersburg & the Baltic Sea - Northbound

review_img

KeithHarding

Treasures of the Baltic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

As always the accommodations were superb, guides were very understanable and professional in depth. The treasure lies in edifices but also in the environment and people. The early arrival is a must to acclimate to time, weather, and simple bearing upon which one has pre studied.

Most Memorable Moment:

Memorable moment was arriving by ship early morning and seeing the Lakhata Center ( Gasprom Tower) emerge from the mist as we approached ST. PETERSBURG - it sure was a symbol of power /guardian at eastern most coast of the Baltic . Welcome to Russian Federation jewel in their crown St. Petersburg !

review_img

Gary Lindsay

Baltic Sea June 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Fantastic trip!! Weather was perfect. Knowledgeable Director. Space on ship was adequate. Entertainment on ship was outstanding. Excellent variety of food and wines on ship. Very friendly crew. Tour provided the right balance of planned and on-your-own time. Local guides were excellent--knowledgeable, courteous, interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hermitage with early entry and Faberge Museum in St. Petersburg. Afternoon at leisure in Copenhagen including visit to Tivoli Gardens and a canal boat ride. Beautiful sunsets over the sea at 11pm and excellent entertainment on the ship.

review_img

JHS

Good way to experience the Baltics in a limited timeframe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Overall a very good experience, blessed by excellent weather (we were lucky). We wanted to get a feel for the Baltic countries and St. Petersburg, and did. It was a large group (of varied physical capacities). We do not consider ourselves "cruise people", but there is no other reasonable way to check off these boxes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hermitage (a mind blower), followed by St. Isaacs. (A ballet option would have been nice.)

review_img

GeraldBerlin

Sensational

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

St. Petersburg and the Baltic was even more than we hoped for. Having the cruise bookended by a few days on land in Copenhagen and Stockholm (Northbound) was a perfect way to begin and end the small ship cruise adventure. The Le Soleal was luxurious with a warm and wonderful crew. Tauck education was superb...as usual.

Most Memorable Moment:

Entering the Hermitage earlier than the general public admission and having the space to view so much with a wonderful guide who added to our experience.

review_img

davidnjudy

If this had been our first, not sure we'd have come again.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We were SO excited about our 2nd trip - so much so that we'd already booked our 3rd trip. We're seriously reconsidering whether to go. Double the number of guests that we expected. Pd for any drinks that were non-well. No driver to the airport - up at 430 am to have to call a taxi! Too large tour groups.

review_img

NancyWendell

a lot of waste

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

- wasted time prior to trip contacting Tauck about excursions - wasted money on awful hotels - we had paid up for better stateroom on ship yet given awful rooms at awful hotels - would have done better on own and thought Tauck provided NO value added - wasted time on excursions with long lunches - not enuf background info on countries visited

Most Memorable Moment:

time aboard ship/last dinner at Vasa time on our own to experience more tho not given time to even partake in a sauna as too much time spent being herded

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this tour did not live up to your expectations. I know that you have reached out to our Guest Relations Department, and they have not been able to reach you, but I will ask them to reach out to you once again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Frank Cipriano

Baltic Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our trip was great...(as was our Danube River trip last year) We very much like that Tauk includes extra time in cities before, after and in the more interesting stops in the middle (ie: St. Petersberg)

Most Memorable Moment:

There were a few. I guess if we could only pick one it would be the Vasa museum and dinner.

review_img

WSullivan1

St, Petersburg and the Baltic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Vasa Museum

review_img

Deedee Jones

Libbye & Deedee's Mostly Excellent Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Let me start by saying the part of our adventure that involved Tauck was truly excellent!! It was the beginning & end of the trip that presented some serious challenges! We were stuck in London for 3 days during the British Airways computer crash which resulted in lost luggage for 9 days!! The end was not much better. Thank goodness for TAUCK!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was the care and attention given by our Tauck Tour Director. He was there to help when we needed it the most. When we arrived in Stockholm after our 3 day disaster in London he greeted us with open arms and rushed us to a shop to pick up some items because our luggage was lost. He was outstanding.

review_img

John E Cooke MD

Cooke Baltic tour 2017

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Overall, it was a great trip. We enjoyed the tours, cities, ship, food, and tour guides. There were two problem areas: 1. The flights on British Airways and Heathrow airport. The flights were scheduled on our own and Tauck did not have anything to do with them. 2.The biggest disappointment was not seeing the Impressionists at the Hermitage.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to pick one. I think Tallinn was an unexpected delight. All of the cities were well done. Tauck takes care of everything.

review_img

Vieno

Once in a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The trip was more than I expected. I had been to some of Sweden but not Stockholm, so most of the ports were new to me. Most surprising was Tallinn, Estonia. It was charming and beautiful, St. Petersburg was an unknown. I don't know what I thought but it seemed like any large city, although more rigid and stoic.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most amazing experience was the early morning admittance and tour of the Hermitage. So many priceless works of art. The recreation of the Amber Room at Catherine's Palace was also memeroble plus.

review_img

Sealord

"The best of times, and the worst of times."

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The 'best of times' all belong to Tauck, and the 'worst of times' all belong to brit... airw..s. Those of us who were arriving at Terminal 5 at Heathrow on the 27th of May will probably never cast their shadow there again. I always book our travel into tours and cruises to arrive a day early. I've learned that sometimes that is not enough.

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually arriving in Stockholm after a three day delay in London. We nearly missed the entire trip. The rest of the trip was wonder filled. The Hermitage where we entered before it opened and had the place to our selves except for the Prime Minister of India for a couple hours. The mob scene that existed upon exit gave Tauck two thumbs up.

review_img

Fraslot1

Stunning St Petersburg

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our second Tauck Tour but our first small ship one on board Le Soleal. Excellent husband & wife Tour Directors, superb on board lecturer whose expertise greatly enhanced our experience, with first class knowledgeable local guides for shore based excursions & museum & cathedral visits. The cabin was well appointed, and crew efficient & friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Early access to The Hermitage and viewing of the peacock clock and a fabulous visit to The Summer Palace. A private viewing and dinner at The Vasa Museum was a fitting end to the tour. Le Soleal's Level 6 more casual restaurant was our favourite for dining. We would have enjoyed longer in Helsinki; The Scandic Copenhagen Hotel was disappointing.

review_img

BIannucci

My trip to the Baltics

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our Tauck Director made the trip wonderful. Well organized, fun to deal with and attentive to all the guests. The places we visited were fascinating and the local tour guides were outstanding. The intimacy of a small ship cruise has us hooked to take many more.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our farewell dinner at the Vasa Museum in Stockholm. Perfect end to a five star vacation.

review_img

GigiJeanne

St. Petersburg & the Baltic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The river cruise was spectacular. Wish it was longer. Our guide was exceptional & would love to have her on different tours. Wasn't well prepared for the colder weather but had time to shop for some warmer clothes. St. Petersburg was quaint, pretty and a delightful stop. We could have spent more time there too. A great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Wedgwood Room at the Hermitage was wonderful after all of the gold and amber rooms.

review_img

jsplumb

Baltic Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The trip had some challenges, but overall I was pleased. In Stockholm, I would have liked to see more museums. Helsinki was a disappointment. Misplacing my luggage between the ship and Copenhagen was a challenge.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Hermitage and Catherine the Great's palace.

review_img

PatCooper

Baltic Small Ship Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our cruise and land expeditions were all great. Tauck keeps things quite varied and organized and the local guides are always good. Several special events such as a ballet and piano concert at the private theater in the Usapov Palace add a layer to a vacation that one could not achieve other than with experienced organizers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tallinn, Estonia is a lovely medieval town which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Wandering there was lovely.

review_img

travelhelp

Russia & More

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Had a great time - Our guide was very good and helpful with out being over bearing - all the guests in our group were fun, smart, and rolled with the punches. We had really great weather for that part of the world which was very helpful. The ship had plenty of style, with good food and willing staff - except the girls on the front desk -

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Versa Museum - it was a beautiful evening. Seeing the Peacock Clock at the Hermitage Museum was also special.

review_img

PenPen

Baltic Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Great trip!! Loved the ship..L'Boreal. Had a wonderful time. The small ship was very comfortable and enjoyed the cruise. All ports were fun. St. Petersburg was beautiful. Great experience at The Hermitage.

Most Memorable Moment:

Early admission to The Hermitage

review_img

laurakgoode

Hit the Jackpot!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Everything about our trip was terrific. First of all, our Tour Director is a true pro. He took care of every conceivable detail with a smile, patience and such enthusiasm. We loved the combination of land and being on Le Boreal for seven days - the lectures on board and local guides were first rate. 5 Countries, 5 cultures- fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Getting into the Hermitage 1 1/2 hours before it opened was once in a lifetime. Even our local guides were jumping for joy! 2. The ballet at the Yusapov Palace was incredibly special. To think who had sat in that very auditorium back in the days of Catherine the Great was unbelievable!

review_img

pgubiotti

St. Petersburg and Baltic Sea 6/21/16-7/3/16

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We sailed eastbound from Stockholm on Le Boreal, a small ship. We enjoyed the cruise and ship very much but the hotels and our Tauck tour director were below what we had experienced in past Tauck tours. The hotels had poor accommodations and service. Our director seemed ill-suited to creating a fun and informative trip. We were very disappointed

Most Memorable Moment:

Le Boreal, the palaces in St. Petersburg and Viking history were highlights of the trip. We also enjoyed Copenhagen and Denmark . Pluses: The accommodations and service on Le Boreal were excellent. Negatives: The hotels in Copenhagen and Stockholm were poor. Our Tauck Director was below par: not accessible or communicative.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to oir Operations team and Tour Director's manager as we are always striving to exceed our guests' expectations, and it appears that we fell short for your experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

smalldivot

St Petersburg and Baltic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Everything was fine except Scandia Hotel in Copenhagen. The breakfast buffet was comparable to a Hampton Inn with more variety. No fresh brewed coffee etc. Hotel was understaffed. Ate dinner one evening with only 2 waiters serving 30 plus diners. My wife got stale wine and bartender was inexperienced to put it kindly. Farewell dinner was very good t

review_img

frodobaggins

Comprehensive Beautiful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was our 13th Tauck vacation and absolutely ranks among the best we've ever taken. L'Austral was wonderful with great food and service, as were offshore lunches in Russia and Stockholm. Highlights for us were before-hours Hermitage tour, Catherines Palace, free time in Estonia and private dinner by candlelight at the Vasa Museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the golden bird clock at The Hermitage before the crowds descended

review_img

grpainter

Baltic Cruise-Very Mixed Feelings

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

I enjoyed the land portions of our trip, particularly Stockholm, but the cruise was a disappointment.The room was comfortable and well designed but the food was very mediocre and the entertainment bland.All the meals we had during the tour off the ship reflected the local fare and were interesting and tasty.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Rembrandt's in the Hermitage was a fulfilment of one of my artistic fantasies. It is too bad they have installed glass over the paintings. From a security point I understand their actions but it does affect your ability to see and interact with the paint layer.

review_img

JimEgan

Baltic -Small Ship

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Beyond anyone's wildest expectations! Tauck was able to get us into the Hermitage ninety minutes before the museum opened up to the public. This exclusive private tour was a rare privilege. In Stockholm we dined in the Vassa Museum next to a raised 300 year old war ship. Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to single out any "most memorable." Tour guides were extremely proud historians that took great delight in presenting their countries. The small ship was wonderful with extremely competent workers. 24 hour room service was wonderful.

review_img

iceepoch

Cruising Through History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The Baltic Sea behaved beautifully allowing us to fully enjoy the comforts and fine service onboard L'Austral. My lasting "basket" of memories are; evening cards on Deck 6 with dear friends from Illinois, "living" history talks and chats with the effervescent guide, wonderful friendly Estonia and the Stockholm Archipelago.

Most Memorable Moment:

Surprisingly perhaps, despite the splendour of Hermitage, it was our visit to the Synagogue in St Petersburg, hosted by the Cantor who weaved his own and the synagogue's history into a memorable moment including his beautiful singing voice.

review_img

Tony Scap

A beautiful Baltic "blast"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The blast refers to how smoothly the journey went. Hotels before and after were very nice and nicely located. The ship was comfortable and clean. But best of all, we had the best Tour Director I have encountered in the last 3 decades. And, our traveling companions were congenial and fun. It could not have been better.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the Vassa museum; Touring the City Hall in Stockholm; Hermitage; Catherine's Palace; and the Farewell Dinner.

review_img

Pignifer

Baltic Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Amazing adventure! The ship was filled with places to get away to, entertainment and food, food, food. Staff was so willing to serve. I loved seeing the different countries and only having one room number. This is the best way to travel, multiple destinations, one room. Over a year later and I am still daydreaming of being on board Le Boreal.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved Copenhagen, Denmark. Friendly people, beautiful English. My favorite was a ride into the country side to Roskilde, Domkirk! The countryside is gorgeous the cathedral even more so.

review_img

Leigh

Very Nice Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

I really enjoyed this trip. I felt like it hit all the highlights of the Baltic region. The ship was very nice, and the tour director was great. St. Petersburg was definitely the highlight, but I also really enjoyed Stockholm. I thought the pace of the trip was great. I wish it had included Norway, but we just went on to Oslo on our own afterwards.

Most Memorable Moment:

The farewell dinner at the Vasa Museum in Stockholm and touring the Hermitage in St. Petersburg before it opened to the public

review_img

HappyRetiree

Magnificient St. Petersburg

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Tauck takes care of everything,even Russian visa. Just enjoy the scenery, history, art & special events. Knowledgeable local guides. Early entry to the Hermitage is a plus-wish there was more time there & for the Summer Palace Gardens. Small ship's ability to dock close in is a plus. Good way to see a lot without packing/unpacking daily.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Summer Palace - seeing the peacock clock & the Amber Room in particular. Farewell dinner at the Vasa Museum is a close second.

review_img

Paula

St. Petersburg & the Baltic Sea Southbound -- an enlightening trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This trip was not only enjoyable but also educational. Tauck provided exceptional local guides to give detailed information about the sights and cities that we visited. In addition the onboard lecturer prepared us with facts about each country including population, commerce, government, and history. Our tour director was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several "moments" that were highlights: the Vasa Museum where we had our welcome reception in Stockhom, the visit to Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen, and the entire time spent in St. Petersburg. Neither words nor pictures can reflect the opulence of the Summer Palace and the Hermitage.

review_img

Arden Down

Baltic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was my favorite Tauck trip. It was beautifully planned and executed. The excursions were wonderful. I loved visiting Lativia and Estonia for the first time and returning to Denmark, St Petersburg and Stockholm. All were marvelous and the French ship was delightful with wonderful cuisine! Our on-board lecturer was fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments, but perhaps Catherine's Palace outside of St Petersburg and the palace in Stockholm. The guided tour through the Hermitage was incredibly well-planned.

review_img

BWert

Agean Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Outstanding trip, [Employee Name] was our tour director and was outstanding. Windstar experience and local guides were excellent. Entire trip was well worth it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Istanbul demonstrations were a part of living history. Ruins were mind boggling and restorations were amazing. hard to believe how advanced civilization was 4,000 years ago.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed traveling with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

speedyjack

Wonderful trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Great selection of locations to visit putting on display a part of the world we were not familiar with. Lectures on board ship brought the history of the area to life. The oppulence and grandeur of the area is amazing. During free time we found local people in all the countries very friendly and helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Finding the church in Stockholm where grandmother was baptized in 1893.

review_img

vinnie

Baltic Gems

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2011

St Petersburg and Stockholm were gems. The rest interesting. Small ship was wonderful even though we are not cruise people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Hermitage with Cathrerine's Summer Palace a close second.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button