TravelerReviews

Treasures of the Mediterranean - Northbound

review_img

Jim Blackman

Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Le Ponant crew and ship were great. Tour directors were outstanding. Itinerary was exciting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Under sail on a beautiful evening and walking on top of a Mt. Etna crater.

review_img

LindaPelliccioni

Best of Times/Worst of Times

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

So much of this trip was great - We had first class tour directors, the crew of LePonant were just great. The islands were beautiful and tours were very educational. However, dinner on the ship was not good at all. We actually dreaded going to dinner! Sent back many meals which were hardly eaten and no one came to ask why.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved watching Stromboli day and night and swimming in the Mediterranean. Met new friends as well. However - the first thing we tell our friends is about the horrible food at dinner. Considering the cost of the tour and Tauck's reputation we were extremely disappointed.

review_img

kbone

Not worth the $

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

My husband and I took this tour two weeks ago. T. The food on the ship was subpar (2 stars out of 4 stars). We ended up ordering French Fries at the beginning of each meal so we would at least have something to eat. I called Tauck and voiced my concerns. Every passenger we spoke with had the same opinion. Tauck offered me $250 voucher.

Most Memorable Moment:

Unfortunately the horrible food

review_img

CarrieKrone

6 stars if possible!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

AMAZING trip my 89 y.o. father has wanted to check off his "bucket list" for years- particularly seeing the Amalfi Coast! 2 of his children and spouses went along. The diversity of destinations were all rich in history, nature, and beauty; I was awe struck every day! The hotels, ship and staff were of the highest caliber imaginable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everyday held new & wonderful experiences! Standouts: Phoenicia in Malta, gelato, Le Ponant, Taormina- history, ruins -watching Mt. Etna spew lava @ night. Lipari winery, Amalfi coast, Ponza & Corsica- volcanic rock formations, Bonafacio beach & ships in port. Monaco- WOW! Time with family, new friends,& our wonderful tour directors!

review_img

lrwcma

Places you would not normally go

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Trip was extremely well organized and the tour directors excellent. The Ponant cabins are a little small, but it's a small ship. The hotels are great. The places we visited expecially Lipari, Ponza, and Elba were great. Swimming off the back of the ship and having dinner outside next to smoldering volcano fireworks - out of this world!

review_img

CindyB007

Wonderful Trip Except for the Food and Wine on Board

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Loved the itinerary. Stopped at amazingly beautiful Islands. The staff on the ship were pleasant. Tried to make sure everyone was having a good time. Tour guides were exceptional. Very personable and fun. We went with 2 other couples and we all agreed the food & wine were not the quality we expected. Tauck needs to step up their food preparation.

review_img

Howard Harris

Sailing on Le Ponant

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This tour was different from any other Tauck trip we have taken since it was on a sailing ship with just 53 passengers. While we were docking in Bonifacio we had a great time watching the crew. Later on we enjoyed watching the water traffic coming and going including some amazing yachts, both motor and sail. Great fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Nightime eruption of Stromboli while eating dinner. Magic

review_img

DIPERNA

Treasures of Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Very enjoyable tour--major complaint dinners on vessel not up to Tauck five star quality

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour on Taormina

review_img

Ellen L

Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Only way to improve this trip would be to start in Nice instead of Monte Carlo. More things to do and more dining options. Do a morning trip to MC if necessary. Time on Le Ponant was wonderful. Staff and crew all delightful. Chef needs some training. Buffet meals were excellent but some dinner entrees not so much.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day we visited Lipari. It gave us an opportunity to sail around the ship. Buffet dinner under the stars was excellent. Finished the night on the sun deck watching Stromboli erupt with beautiful music in the background. Truly magical!

review_img

June K Schubert

Treasures of the Mediterranean - Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Exceeded all expectations. Le Ponant was a dream come true for us. The tour directors were exceptional in their ability to schedule options daily, the materials handed out for each day, assure the safety and well-being of all passengers while keeping everyone happy with their general good humor. Great local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

-Having a cruise on the beautiful sailing yacht Le Ponant with wonderful crew and hotel staff aboard. A total gracious experience. -Sailing into the Bonifacio harbor. -The Archaeological Museum in Lipori. -The ascent up Mt. Etna under challenging weather conditions. -The city of Valetta on Malta. -Our final dinner at Palazzo Parisio on Malta.

review_img

Stella F

Great places, guides and amenities

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Flew to Nice, saw Monaco and Monte Carlo, spent a week on a lovely ship with gourmet food and a captain willing to change plans for silly stuff like putting some of us in Zodiac boats so we could photograph the ship with all sails up. Guides were always available for questions and full of ideas for where to shop or what to do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching Stromboli shoot lava into the night sky.

review_img

JFKelley

Truly a Mediterranean treasure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Our trip from Nice to Malta was stunning! The "off the beaten path" stops gave us real insight into the history, culture and stories of the less well-known islands off the Italian coast as well as Sicily, Elba and Corsica. Thanks to our Tauck Director and the local guides for their knowledge and their obvious love of what they do. An amazing trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Each island had memorable moments....from the "Mamma Mia!" roads to the blues of the Mediterranean but the most memorable was the Farewell Dinner at the palace on Malta. The room, the food, the amazing sense of history, all set to an eclectic "playlist" of Pachelbel, John Legend, Adele, the Beatles and more from an extremely talented harpist.

review_img

Tom LaCour

OK+

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Too large a crowd. Thought there was going to be about 20 on the trip. Tour directors fine but some local guides hard to understand because of accents. Food on ship average except for the Capt's night when it was excellent. Loved Malta and Elba. We have heard many wonderful things about Tauck and if the group had been smaller we would agree.

Most Memorable Moment:

3 days in Malta.

review_img

Italy/Croatia Bound

Life is good....Le Ponant Style!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Full of fun and unexpected treats for the eye and palette. Tauck always finds the most authentic and memorable people, places and things to fill each and every day. Tremendous local guides focus on important historical references with enthusiasm and style. Tauck Directors keep everything running and give it their all. Bravo.

Most Memorable Moment:

It has to be the evening sail by Stromboli. Candle lite sun deck, champagne, soft breezes and then it happens...Stromboli puts on her show! I will never forget the complete joy and wonder I felt at that moment.

review_img

PatArnn

Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Walking steps without railings, walking five miles in one day, one taxi for 52 guests, tiny cabins, boarding and de-boarding rafts,leftover food on yacht, traveler's diarrhea, activities that mimick each other,injuries to other guests, purchasing items to use a restrooms on the islands, and side effects from patches to prevent sea sickness.

Most Memorable Moment:

Returning home and attempting to describe this trip in 335 characters.

review_img

Donsandi

Sailing with Elise and Tim

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The sailboat for the Treasures of the Mediterranean, northbound (Oct 7-20, 2017) was great. Only 56 guests attended to by 30+ crew. Calm seas and wonderful weather helped. We had wonderful tour guides. They were fantastic and truly made the trip as great as it was.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the island of Ponza. We would have liked to spend more time there and had an opportunity to snorkel.

review_img

Irenen

Luxurious Delight

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We have just returned from the "Treasures of the Mediterranean-Northbound" trip, and although this was our 6th Tauck trip,we were still blown away by the level of service and care shown to all the guests. This time we brought 7 friends who were Tauck "newbies" and now there are 7 extra Tauck converts. Tauck does it best every time. We'll be back!

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating dinner on deck on a balmy evening, in the middle of the Mediterranean, with the huge Stromboli volcano right in front of us, followed by a light show of mini explosions from the volcano. I thought I was in a fairy tale.

review_img

billsch88

A Unique Mediterranean Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Despite a rough opening night at sea, that was totally forgotten by the end of the trip, this was the best cruise my wife and I have ever taken. We visited ports that we would never have experienced were it not for this unique itinerary. Every location had memorable highlights.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to choose one from the many memorable moments we had. Visiting St. Paul de Vence may have been the best.

review_img

Kiwi Robin and Roger

Sailing through history - Treasures of The Mediterranean

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Setting off for our epic journey from The Phoenicia Hotel in Malta set the seal on what was to be a special voyage under blue skies and golden sunshine every day. Anchoring in the bays of the islands and going ashore on the zodiacs to be met by warm, well informed local guides made each day an insight to the history of the Tyrrenhian Sea. Magical

Most Memorable Moment:

Stromboli - every 7 minutes she threw skywards her molten lava, lighting up the night sky.

review_img

jbgrimm

#8 Tauck excursion

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Everything about this trip done by Tauck, the guidance, the itinerary, the experiences were excellent. The trip was marred by the Le Ponant. This ship was a far cry from our wonderful experiences on the Greek islands and Rhine trips. The cabins were cramped with poor air conditioning. Dinner menus average. Tauck needs a needs a new ship to lease

Most Memorable Moment:

This is hard to answer the scenery at all stops was beautiful. I can blame you for having taken over 1200 photos. Now the deletion and editing is consuming my time. Just kidding. I will answer your below recommendation question as definitely but for this specific trip the answer is No.

review_img

SCopeland

Fantastic Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

From Nice to Malta, we loved this trip. Every day a new island, culture and adventure. Some of our best memories were with our fellow passengers and the incredible crew. Loved Le Ponant, which took full advantage of being a smaller ship by sailing into ports inaccessible to the big cruise lines, and allowing us to swim directly off the ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Highlights for us were St. Paul de Vence, sailing into Corsica and Malta, the island of Lipari and the volcanic show that Stromboli provided for dinner on board the ship. The biggest bonus was experiencing so many different cultures all adapting and enjoying the wonders of the Mediterranean.

review_img

JRSnyder

Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The itinerary was interesting enabled us to visit venues that were knew little about and that we would not normally seek out. Tauck and local guides were wonderful. Disappointed in the sailing time, size of the cabin bathrooms, food on board, lack of free time on shore, wi-fi and TV service, keeping groups separate. Not up to Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the volcano erupt.

review_img

Junebuggaga

An Experience to Cherish !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

My daughter and I booked this trip to celebrate my 70th birthday. What an amazing party! Every element of the trip was planned by Tauck to perfection. Our guide(s),and those native to the specific islands we visited, were knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. A surprise every day, especially the fireworks at Stromboli.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing around Stromboli watching fireworks from the volcano!

review_img

MBFM

Treasures of the Mediterranean South

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The trip was a trip of a lifetime. The magical sailboat, the gorgeous sea and land, the outstanding staff and crew, all of the time on board La Ponant, and each of the history-filled charming towns along the way made for an outstanding journey led by two incomparable Tauck guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dropping anchor to have dinner on the top deck of the ship near Stromboli while watching repeated eruptions of the volcano made all of us respond like 10 year olds, clapping and oohing and aahing!

review_img

Jena

Best Way to See the World!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

We had never experienced a small ship vacation before and this was by far what made the trip so special. We loved it and will probably not cruise again on a larger vessel. The entire trip was lovely. The port of calls, the people, the crew and the tour guides. They were the BEST!. I can't put in to words how beautiful it was

Most Memorable Moment:

When we first left on the ship.

review_img

Naturally Unique

Le Ponant is a nice way to travel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We enjoyed our trip aboard the Le Ponant. Great staff & directors. The areas we visited went from the glitz of Monte-Carlo to the quaintness of Bonifacio. No rain and seas pretty calm. I did take Dramamine though. Felt better. We had to skip Lipari / Stromboli due to winds forecasted but went to Siracusa instead. Tauck always does a great job ! 👍��

Most Memorable Moment:

We decided to stay in Nice , on the Promenade, 3 days before our tour. Relaxing 😎 We enjoyed Ponza the best. Beautiful water, town & rock formations. It as fun riding the zodiacs and swimming in the Mediterranian was a check on my bucket list ! I loved the architecture in Malta and the food. St Johns Co-Cathedral was over the top ! Great trip 😊

review_img

Patricia Stevenson

Treasures of the Med - northbound

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The trip was not as great as I would have expected from Tauck. Our tour directors were not that good and treated us more like they were baby sitting rather than making this a fun trip. Their knowledge of the area was below expectations and the little extra's they said Tauck gave us were below par. A carriage ride for 2 squeezed in 4, very bad.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ship and it's crew were wonderful. The captain was fantastic and did all he could to make this the experience of a lifetime.

review_img

Rosemary

Excellent Directors

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was the first cruise with Tauck for me and my husband. I want to extend my thanks to our Tauck Directors for making this trip both easy and memorable. From the first to last day, they were informative, helpful and, above all, fun to know. Their research and suggestions were above and beyond helpful.

review_img

SRT001

Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The ship "Le Ponant", captain and crew were great; very helpful, hard-working and caring. Our tour guides were superior; best ever, very efficient, kind, and helpful. This is our second Tauck tour and the best. Tauck arranged our airline tickets. We missed our connecting flight! Not enough time was allowed for the transfer.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to name!!

review_img

Placida

More excitement than we planned

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

My wife and I sailed on the sailing ship Le Penant in May 2016. The brief tour in Cannes and Nice were very pleasant. The ship and crew were absolutely top notch. When we left Nice, the weather turned very rough which made for a very uncomfortable night. The rest of the trip was picture perfect and the chance to visit small islands was charming.

Most Memorable Moment:

On our last night, we anchored off of a small island with an active volcano. The crew took us off ship and rigged all the sails to give us a phenomenal picture postcard view and then we dined under the stars on deck. We would do it again in a heartbeat.

review_img

nohol

Style and Elegance

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

From the moment we connected over cocktails and dinner in Cannes to the farewell dinner in Valetta, the Tauck Tour Directors made me feel as though we were truly on a very special adventure. Every aspect was well thought out and joyfully executed. Our sailing ship, Le Ponant, was everything one would expect and more!

Most Memorable Moment:

The night we moored off the coast of Stromboli, where we were treated to small, fiery eruptions from this active volcano approximately every 11 minutes as we dined al fresco under the stars onboard our lovely three masted schooner. MAGICAL!

review_img

Ron Ginsberg

Treasures of the Mediterranean- South Bound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Every port of call was both fascinating, thoroughly enjoyable, and memorable. Le Ponant was a wonderful vessel with superb customer service and excellent food and accommodations. Our Directors were first rate and kept us safe and relaxed.

Most Memorable Moment:

I must do 3: The taxi ride around Ponza with a very personable driver who introduced us to his father and wife; sailing into Valletta harbor; and the lunch in Ravello overlooking Amalfi and the coast.

review_img

Small ship cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The trip was outstanding, great weather ...exceptional service on le pontant . The fair mont hotel in Monte Carlo did not have good food ...big disappointment .

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing on le pontant in the Mediterranean

review_img

Andi teacher

treasures of the Mediterranean 10/11-10/20

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was a trip of a lifetime. I planned it 14 months before, and really looked forward to it. It was all I hoped for, plus. The Tour Guides were very thorough, well organized, and very personable. They kept things happening. The Ponant' s crew and staff, were very efficient, very warm and caring. They couldn't do enough for you.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. The beauty of the scenery, Riding the Zodiacs, Swimming off the back of the ship, the tours, and meeting all the lovely passengers.

review_img

sailokc

Wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Having never been on a ship this size, we didn't know what to expect, but it was just great from start to finish. The cabins were comfortable with plenty of storage and a nice bath. The ship was perfect and the crew were friendly, funny and accommodating. Wonderful food and itinerary. Even the weather co-operated. Another Tauck winner.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting to see Stromboli erupt at night from the deck of Le Ponant.

review_img

MMMJRH

Beautiful Treasures of the Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

The September 5, 2015 Treasures of the Mediterranean trip was absolutely wonderful and exceeded out expectations! Our tour directors excelled in all they did, providing many extra surprises throughout the trip. Le Ponant and its crew were outstanding. The other passengers were delightful. What a beautiful Mediterranean cruise!

Most Memorable Moment:

Many memorable moments come to mind--the wine tasting on Elba in such a beautiful setting with wonderful musical entertainment, having a delicious meal at Mamma Rossa in Taormina, the beauty of St. John's co-Cathedral in Valletta, and seeing Stromboli erupt are just a few.

review_img

DeBordieu Colony

Great trip.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

It was, as usual, another great Tauck trip. Great itinerary, fellow travelers, and of course Tauck quality. We have already signed up for our eighth Tauck tour in South America for next May and are getting ready to book with you next Sept. for Ireland.

Most Memorable Moment:

Just 100% memorable. If just one, photographing Le Ponant from a Zodiak with Mt. Aetna behind her in the distance.

review_img

David D

Magnificent trip on Le Ponant

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our favorite Tauck trip! Our tour directors were superb. Their knowledge and experience made our trip outstanding. We loved everything about being on a sail boat, starting with the magical moment of sailing away from port to swimming in the beautiful blue water of the Mediterranean. I can't imagine a more fun or memorable cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Swimming in the blue Mediterranean off the back of Le Ponant, riding in the zodiac and taking photos of the ship in full sail with Stromboli erupting in the background, relaxing on the top deck, and the enjoyable shore excursions in each port were all memories we will cherish forever. A wonderful experience not to be missed.

review_img

HappyRetiree

Beautiful Sail

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Great people. Great service. Great weather. Monaco a little boring. But Le Ponant experience was top notch. Local guides did a good job of telling us about the area and history. The Zodiacs were fun- if a little tricky the first time. Good food selection at buffets. Relaxed atmosphere.

Most Memorable Moment:

The island of Ponza was so beautiful. Had known nothing about it and could not get over its beauty. The water, the grottoes, etc. And the taxi driver (from NYC) was a hoot!

review_img

dotpenny

Magical Trip on Mediterranean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Treasures of the Mediterranean was a fabulous trip on Le Ponant and was a wonderful experience for us. Tauck saw to every detail and added some very special memories for us. Our guides Terry and Erica were superb! They provided us with just the right amount of guidance and just the right amount of time on our own to explore. Memories to cherish!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first time the sails went up on Le Ponant..... classical music was playing and we were on the top deck as we sailed away from port. It was so beautiful and the best way I can describe it is to say it was a spiritual experience.

review_img

Bill Fenniman

Le Ponant Cruise from Monte Carlo to Malta

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

A spectacular small ship cruise with beautiful scenery, historic stops, and magnificent guides. Our Tauck guides were well informed and so well organized that everything went so smoothly. The local guides could not have been better -most informative and with great senses of humor. Our guides even arranged perfect weather!

Most Memorable Moment:

A sunset dinner anchored off of Stromboli Volcano where we could see the red lava flowing dow the side of the mountain

review_img

LWerner

Treasures of the Medit.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Excellent trip , wonderful guides, would recommend it to all. The ship was lovely with a very professional crew.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sites chosen for touring were lovely , difficult to chose one. We loved it all. Ponza was a surprise we were not aware of it prior to the trip. However the wine tasting in Elba stands out as particularly outstanding- good wine, pretty venue, and music.

review_img

hjfrankjr

Treasures of the Mediteranean - Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

We had a great time! The boat was great and the people who we met on our trip were fantastic! Tim and Elise (our tour directors) were very knowledgeable and very organized. We'll definately do another Tauck trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Drinking wine after dinner on the top deck of our boat as we watched the volcano erupt in Stromboli.

review_img

ecossins

A wonderful cruise!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We recently took the Le Ponant Mediterranean cruise from Nice to Malta. The weather, facilities on board and fantastic shore trips were all excellent! The Tauck staff did a first class job in making this trip, our sixth with a Tauck, one of our best trips ever. We recommend this holiday adventure without any reservation.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to the island of Ponza. Wow!

review_img

Annejs

A highlight of our travels

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My expectations of this trip were so incredibly high that I wondered if I may be left feeling a little disappointed, but, I loved every minute! The beautiful yacht, the wonderful crew, the enchanting small ports, the spectacular scenery and the delightful people, all seamlessly coordinated by fabulous Tauck directors. It was just fabulous!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The thrilling zodiac ride around Le Ponant as she sailed towards Stromboli, her white sails contrasting magnificently with the clear blue sky and the deep azure blue of the sea then swimming in the crystal clear, kingfisher blue waters in the shadow of the volcano. The itinerary a perfect mix of organised activities in charming ports and relaxation

review_img

PMoscardelli

Treasures of the Mediterranean Amazing!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This trip was truly amazing. From the sleek ship, Le Ponant, to the friendly accommodating crew, to the best tour directors ever, to the most incredible scenery and charming itinerary stops, this trip just wowed us the whole time. Perfect weather every day. Our only disappointment was the food. Ship food was fair, but the hotel food terrible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Diving off the back of the ship into the beautiful Mediterranean after seeing the amazing waters and caves in Ponza! Also, eating gelato in Elba--the best we ever had! Elba was surprisingly our favorite destination.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey nad returned with so many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

adventuregal

Small Ship Cruising on LePonant Treasures of the Mediterranean Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was our best trip ever! LePonant was magnificent! The views from the water were breathtaking! The service, food, entertainment and accommodations made us feel as if we were on our own personal yacht. Tendering to new ports each day in anticipation of a new place to visit added to the fun. A perfect itinerary, great directors made this trip a 10+

Most Memorable Moment:

Our last night on LePonant was incredible. We shared an exquisite dinner with new friends. Later that night, the head chef and piano singer gave us a moment that we will cherish forever as they joined together to sing a very heartfelt song. The song captured all the beauty and joy of our wonderful trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Paritsa

Treasures of West. Med.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Loved sailing on the Le Ponant. Capt. and crew were wonderful, food just fine, destinations excellent. I would suggest an option for those who don't love the shopping part (mostly husbands) so they could return to town or ship earlier or another option. Overall a totally wonderful trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in the Zodiac and trying to get pictures of the sailing ship--sails up, calm sea. Elba and Ponza were outstanding as well.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RBuckley

The tresures and the busts

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

All in all, I thought the "Treasures of the Mediterranean" was well conceived and well executed. Our tour directors were outstanding. The food on the ship was very disappointing. After the first night, we did not have dinner on board. Breakfast items on many mornings were cold meaning the eggs, bacon, oatmeal, etc.. Le Ponant needs new chefs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting St. Paul DeVence. Highly enjoyable

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PDesoye

All we wanted and more

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We were looking for a small ship cruise that made port in places large ships wouldn't be able to go. Several years ago while on a cruise of the Greek isles we saw a ship like Le Penant. It was perfect! The food, the staff and the individual attention to the details and passengers was of the highest quality. Superb!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several: visiting Ravelle, watching Stromboli erupt with lava flowing into the sea and visiting St Paul - de - Vance. The more we think of the trip the more memorable moments come to mind.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your trip and we thank you so much for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bart R

Tauck provded a Thrill Ride!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Tauck really Rocked on this one! The first night out was a bit rough, but the last one was a Roller Coaster Ride! Never assume that the Mediterranean will be smooth sailing. Never-the-less it was a very delightful experience. Excellent service on board and as always, a fascinating itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Savoring the Fresh catch-of-the Day: a Swordfish brought on board that morning and Barbecued on deck for lunch. Mmmmm-Good!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted we were able to provide such an exciting adventure!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Leigh

Amazing Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

My fifth Tauck trip and favorite so far. Very relaxing, but quite a bit to see as well. The tour director and ship's crew were both outstanding. I did the first northbound tour of the season, and we did have a couple rough nights, but strangely enough I think I actually kind of liked it! The only weather disappointment was having to miss Stromboli.

Most Memorable Moment:

I absolutely loved Ponza! And just lying on the deck taking in the amazing views.

review_img

Ned

Fantastic voyage!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Our recent trip, Treasures of the Mediterranean, took us to parts of the Mediterranean , Italy, Sicily and Malta that we had never seen. As usual, Tauck did everything just right from the overall trip planning and coordination down to the smallest detail. Our tour director was one of the best of many Tauck guides that we have had.

Most Memorable Moment:

During our tour of the Amalfi coast and Ravello, we were blown away by the Villa Rufolo and the views of the coast.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Olda, Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very glad you enjoyed your journey. Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AnnmarieG

Monaco to Nice to Malta by Way of Our Ship "Le Ponant"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

My husband Jerry and I truly enjoyed this trip which celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Monaco is absolutely lovely....the casino, the palace...all wonderful. The entire coastline of Italy is gorgeous. So many fabulous sights and locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

My husband Jerry will tell you it was the authentic Italian food wherever we were! I will tell you it was all of the gorgeous views along the coastline....the swim-call off the back of the ship...and the chocolate gelato in Sicily. And we both agree that our Tauck Tour Director was absolutely fabulous!!!

review_img

Illinois665

Treasures of Med / Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

First the very good and well done: Travel Directors, destinations, hotels, food, housekeeping, land tours. Not good:for a "sailing" adventure we hardly sailed, I estimate we motored (w/out sails) for 80% of the trip. And, for at least 4 of the days the ship rolled/pitched so much that you could barely walk on board/sleep. Same wines everyday.

Most Memorable Moment:

We probably enjoyed Amalfi most but each area/port land tour was very interesting.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're pleased to hear that both the well-balanced itinerary and Tauck Directors met your expectations. We are disappointed however, to learn that the sailing aspect of this journey fell below your expectations. A Guest Relations Specialist to reach out to you to personally discuss your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Drlmk

Le Ponant -- Your Own Private Yacht

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Sailing a super yacht in the Mediterranean! The crew treated us like royalty and each destination had its own special charm. We particularly enjoyed Corsica and having dinner on the aft deck under a full moon, while the Stromboli volcano spewed lava into the sky. As a sailor, the "open bridge policy" gave me an inside look at sailing Le Ponant.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one memorable moment. Sailing out of the harbor at Malta to begin our adventure. Sailing into a new port each morning. Stromboli blowing its top, while we watched. Winning a cool million Euros in the Monte-Carlo casino (No. Wait. That was in my dreams...)

TAUCK RESPONSE

Wow, sounds like you had an amazing trip! Thanks for sharing and we hope you'll travel with us again soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JerryW

Our Mediterranean Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was the trip of a lifetime: visited small, uncrowded islands with interesting histories, quaint shops, friendly people & spectacular views. Our fellow travelers were energetic and fun to travel with. The weather cooperated: seas were calm, skies were blue and the temperatures of sea and land were moderate. Would do this again in a heartbeat!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was exciting: one memorable day was at Ponza, where we traveled to beaches, caves and inlets in small boats. The water was intensely blue and clear. Later, we were driven in taxis around the island. The top of the island provided a breathtaking view. Another highlight was swimming off Le Ponant in front of the Stromboli volcano.

review_img

ChuckMartha

Sailing with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Everything about the trip was done up to expectations or beyond. If there was any down side at all, it was connecting through Rome. Our advice: try to avoid Rome's airport. Every single other thing worked like clockwork.

Most Memorable Moment:

The absolute highest moment was sitting on the top deck of LePonant, lighted with candles, watching Stromboli erupt. The next top-notch experience was swimming off the back of the yacht being carefully watched by the crew. The food each day was interesting and delicious. The yacht's crew as well as our Tauck guides were so friendly and helpful.

review_img

Carol 2408

Our favorite Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This was hands down our favorite trip. It was just plain fun. Rob & Bill were top-notch, ports of call were fascinating. We were sorry to have missed the Amalfi coast (storm) but loved Pompeii (Tauck adapts very quickly). Full of little gems: Malta, Elba, Taormina, Lipari, places we probably would never have seen otherwise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many: Stromboli at night (in a storm), locals catching octopi for dinner in Elba, Joe (the taxi owner/driver) on Ponza, getting in and out of the Zodiacs, sailing along on Le Ponant.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button