TravelerReviews

A Week In... Tuscany & Umbria

review_img

CatriceNakamura

Vacation with friends

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

With Tauck and our great tour guide we were able to enjoy the entire trip. We saw much more than we would have seen had we gone on our own. We also had an opportunity to meet other Tauck travelers who were absolutely wonderful to get to know and who further enhanced our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we arrived in Villa La Massa it was absolutely beautiful. We knew from that point on it was going to be a pretty great trip.

review_img

ABRONCHTEIN

Great tour through Tuscany and Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first Tauck tour and it was an all around winner. We really want to compliment our tour director for accomplishing three very important things every day. She was infectiously upbeat throughout, provided a framework of info ahead of time to inform our well selected sightseeing and kept things moving to avoid lost time.

Most Memorable Moment:

My wife and I agreed that the visit to the church where the remains of St. Francis of Assisi are entombed was the most powerful moment of our trip. After that, it was probably the unexpected education about olive oil we got from a maker of premium olive oil. That has likely changed how we eat for the rest of our lives. And some new friends were made.

review_img

JTritsch

The wonder of Central Italy at it's best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

From the beginning in Florence to the end in Rome, this is a magical journey through history, scenic beauty, fabulous food and wine, and the grandest accommodations that a person could want. Our Tauck Tour Director and coach driver made it fun, with all the professionalism that you would expect.

Most Memorable Moment:

A tough choice between the truffle hunting with Francesco and his dog Vito, and the vineyard lunch followed by the tour of the Antinori facility.

review_img

Nancy Levin

A spectacular special vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My husband and I have just competed our fifth trip with Tauck and could not be more pleased and thrilled. Every detail of our trip to Tuscany and Umbria was flawless and our outstanding guide and extraordinary driver made it so. Every town was a jewel and local guides excelled. Our Tauck Director orchestrated a real symphony of perfection.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Villa de Massa was a special place to start the trip. The Antinori vineyards and meeting Mr. Antinori so special. Cooking school. Truffle hunting and the outstanding choices of restaurants and generosity of food and wine all along the way.

review_img

JayH

Great tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

One of the best Tauck trips we have taken! Our tour director made the trip even more enjoyable. She’s super! We toured places and visited sites that we couldn’t have done without Tauck. The driver was excellent. Local guides were among the best. Food and wine were suburb. Hotels were top notch. Looking forward to oun next Tauck trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too difficult to single out the most memorable. Great dining and sites. Lunch at Antinori winery and seeing Mr. Antinori was great! Truffle hunting enjoyable. Very pleasant group of tour guests. Villa Massa was terrific.

review_img

richarm

A week in Tuscany and Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

A truly wonderful week of exploring the less traveled Italy. The hotels were fantastic, the excursions wonderful and the food and wine were amazing. The coach driver was truly a wonderful man. Our tour director was fantastic. She took time out to help us with a special purchase and went way above and beyond what was expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch at the winery, or the truffle farm, or the cooking class then lunch at the winery. It was all awesome.

review_img

MarshallAugust

Tuscany & Umbria with Suzy Gray

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The trip was well executed from the beginning to the end. We loved the places we visited and the details that were taken care of for us. We had a fantastic tour director and each of the guides we had were knowledgeable about their town or skill. Our coach driver was terrific and just enhanced the trip to it fullest.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each hotel was unique. From the Villa, to the palace to the redesigned and modern monestery the service was terrific! The most memorable experience of the trip was our trip to the Antonili winery. Unique architecture, wonderful history of the wine making and a terrific lunch based on the cooking class that we took that very morning.

review_img

John Cynthia

We loved Tuscany and Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Pre-stay in Florence at Hotel on the piazza was inspiring. Lodging accommodations were great experiences. The medieval village tour guides were passionate and knowledgeable and you really felt part of the history of each town. We loved cooking school, olive oil and wine tasting, and truffle hunting! Dining was five stars.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dining with fellow travelers and view from hotel room in Perugia!

review_img

retiree florida

Less Visited Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Fantastic trip to less visited Italy. Great hotels and food combined with fascinating visits to ancient sites makes this a trip to remember. Our tour guide was the best.

review_img

car guy

a week in tuscani and umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

great trip full of great people and food, tour director is the best in the business took care of all our needs no question asked Michelli the driver was the sweetest man I have ever met. I would go on another trip without question ten stars

Most Memorable Moment:

just seeing all the history was fascinating how everything old is still used today

review_img

Joan Lyles

Lovely week of culture, climate and scenery in Tuscany & Umbria.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Delightful time exploring old Umbrian hill towns - great food, wine and vistas. Enjoyed the relaxed pace and varied activities - exploring history, art, crafts like weaving, wine and olive oil tasting, especially truffle hunting and Narni medieval festival! Great choice of restaurants. Local guides were excellent, especially our Tauck guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Witnessing the final medieval festival in Narni with parade of drum corps and much of the town dressed in authentic medieval costumes from every walk of life. We also explored an excavated subterranean early Christian church/jail there. Really brought history to life!

review_img

Robyne

As always Tauck excells

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Very well planned with visits and stays in places that I wouldn't have found on my own. Tour director and driver were both outstanding. Kudos to the Tauck Direcotr for her attention to detail, knowledge and sensitivity.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything was top notch. I really enjoyed the visit to the truffle farm and the fabulous lunch there. The stay at Villa La Massa was also a highlight, truly a gorgeous hotel with the best sheets and towels I have ever encountered.

review_img

mtiley

Great off the beating path Italy tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The trip was a fantastic tour through Tuscany and Umbria! I got to see many sights that I have never seen before. This is a great trip for anyone wanting to see and taste all that Italy has to offer and for those that have already seen the "classic" Italian destinations. Our tour director was fabulous and incredibly helpful along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

The winery lunch and tasting was phenomenal. Our trip was unusually hot but our tour director made appropriate adjustments to make the experience the very best. I loved the off the beaten path destinations.

review_img

DKA

A week in Tuscany and Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our Tauck Director and local guide were amazing! The sites were amazing! The bus driver was amazing! The accommodations and food and wine...all amazing. I have been on 8 Tauck tours and no one can beat the attention to detail. All wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to pick just one!

review_img

flygirl

The Roads Less Traveled in Tuscany and Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was a new trip for Tauck and it lived up to be as wonderful as their other trips. It was fun to "explore" these small, mostly unknown villages of Tuscany. As usual Tauck does their usual and unusual surprises. Seeing the ancient weaving looms, visiting Antinori Winery, our cooking class, the underground of Narni. Great trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The lovely luncheon served to us in the vineyard at Lungarotti Vineyards and then of course, truffle hunting at the truffle farm.

review_img

melissap

Tuscany & Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We highly recommend this tour! This is Italy off the beaten path. If it is your first trip to Italy, you may prefer the more traditional sites of Rome, Florence & Venice. If you want to experience the Italian countryside and lesser known hill towns, and you appreciate good food and wine, you will love this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was lunch in the vineyard at Lungarotti winery. It was an amazing experience. We also really enjoyed the hotel and setting in Tuscany, Gubbio, the weaver and Cambio in Perugia, and truffle hunting with the outstanding lunch. Our director and our driver were both exceptional and made the experience better.

review_img

Bryan Eden

Tuscany & Umbria May 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We found this tour outstanding much better than our expectations. Particularly enjoyed the smaller medieval towns such as Gubbio, Perugia and Spoleto although difficult to pick out one town as they all had something special. Hotels all good but the location of Castello del Nero was superb. Good group well led by Suzy our tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch outside in the middle of a vineyard - the sun shone and the food kept on coming along with copious amounts of wine.

review_img

Eugenia from Calabasas

Medieval hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

My husband and I were amazed at how these hill towns have been preserved and improved for 21st century living. The local guides were professional and knowledgeable. The wineries, the art of weaving and artisanal olive oil company tour was informative. The regions, very picturesque indeed! We saw sleepy towns as well as busy big towns, love the contrast.

Most Memorable Moment:

Personally, the frescoes, mosaic floors/walls and cave in Narni. Leah the truffle hunting dog and just pondering at the views whether from our hotel rooms or walking out and about.

review_img

JDelarama

Tuscany & Umbria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

A great tour!! Lovely Tuscan countryside and Umbrian hilltop towns are hidden gems. The tour director and the driver are two of the best! Experiences like this is what makes us come back to Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Delicious lunch among the Lungarotti vineyards. Truffle Hunting and delicious lunch at a agriturisimo in Torgiano. Beautiful Tuscan Countryside at Castelo Del Nero and cooking Class at the Antinori Vineyards. Lovely Hilltop towns of Spoletto and Gubbio.

review_img

stellag

Loads of potential!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our group was the first to take this new tour and by happy coincidence, the group was fabulous. The tour began brilliantly at the glorious Castello del Nero. I didn't want to leave! But wonderful wineries and skilled artisans awaited. Needed a lot more Assisi and a lot less Gubbio. No need for Narni either. More Rome, please. A work in progress.

Most Memorable Moment:

Assisi was much more than I anticipated. Yes, the churches and frescoes were stunning, but so was the city itself.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button