TravelerReviews

The Sweet Life: Rome & Sorrento

review_img

JoaniLillo

Great Destination, Great Director, Great Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

From the initial pick up at the airport in Rome to the final cab ride to the airport in Naples the experience was a perfectly pleasant trip. Thanks to our tour guides and director we enjoyed up close and personal experiences at all of our destinations with just the right mix of explanation and free exploration opportunities!

Most Memorable Moment:

From the top of Capri to the refreshing beautiful Amalfi coast to the intimate evening tour of the Sistine Chapel and Vatican it is impossible to pick a favorite moment. And as much as we enjoyed the sights we also enjoyed the families that we traveled with. And our tour director was a friendly, good natured guide through it all!

review_img

MaryLiberatore

The Sweet Life of Rome and Sorrento

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was first class from start to finish. My husband and I, and our two teenage children, enjoyed beautiful sites, wonderful accommodations, and excellent meals. In addition, our tour guide was very knowledgable, polite, and organized. He worked diligently to ensure an educational and enjoyable trip for everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments on our amazing vacation. Besides the amazing sites, our most memorable evening was our private tour of the Vatican Museums and the Sistine Chapel. After the tour, the private dinner at the Vatican truly made the evening a complete winner!

review_img

JanaJansson

Exceeded our expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

I have taken tours before but this was my first Tauck tour. If this is representative of all Tauck tours we will never take anything else! Everything was planned perfectly. Accommodations and activities were first rate and well thought out. Perfect balance between amazing planned activities and family free time to customize. Scale of 1-10, 11!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard question as there were so many. Tour of the Vatican after hours was incredible. Jet boat along the Amalfi Coastline was breathtaking, smaller boat tour of the sea caves was like a dream come true. Each experience was more captivating than the last. Our tour guide incredible and brought everything together. Top notch talent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time! We look forward to hosting you on your next Tauck journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mcaesar64

Wonderful memories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We brought our 14-year-old granddaughter on the tour. Our guide was very helpful and dedicated to everyone's specific needs. The ages ranged from seven years old to 80 years old so our Tauck Direcotr had his work cut out for him. Wonderful memories for all three of us! Lufthansa upgraded us to business class! That was a special treat for our granddaughter

Most Memorable Moment:

Sistine chapel private tour after hours. We were 40 people and we were told that 29,000 tourists had been though that same day. We liked the diversity of sites visited - from Saint Peters Basilica to the chairlift to the top of the Isle of Capri. It was a very compatible group of teenagers. Pool and spa time plus a swim in the ocean in Positano.

review_img

Martha Morrill

The Sweet Life: Rome and Sorrento

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The guides were attentive and conscientious. The programs for kids were interactive. They learned about ancient military tactics at gladiator school and loved making their own pizzas. What can be more fun than making gelato! There was a nice balance between urban activities in Rome and the breathtaking settings of the Amalfi Coast.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the farm that produces olives and mozzarella cheese was fun. We loved making our own pizzas while a guitarist serenaded us with popular Italian tunes. Dancing the tarantella was a highlight of the evening.

review_img

mchorak

Wow Factor: A++++

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

I cannot imagine a more well-planned, organized, fun, seamless, or awe-inspiring trip! A perfect balance between seeing the priceless wonders of Rome and Pompeii to a more laid-back, vacation feel of Amalfi Coast. All of the activities were thoroughly enjoyed by all ages. Our tour guide was such a pro and so classy. Hotels were great too.

Most Memorable Moment:

While the private tour of the Vatican was priceless and the funicular from Anacapri and the dinner on a farm were beyond wonderful, my stand-out moment was the tearful goodbye by all the kids on the last night. They had become very close through sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences. I knew then that I had given my kids something really special.

review_img

Gregory14

The Sweet Life:Rome & Sorrento

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

My wife, 2 daughters and I really enjoyed the Tauck Bridges Tour. The Tour had a great mix of sight seeing, fun family activities and spare time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Sistine Chapel at night during an after hours tour with just our Tauck group and the incredible Tauck guide. We had only 30 people in the Sistine Chapel and were able to take our time and enjoy the grandeur of Michelangelo's masterpiece.

review_img

Nanalong

The Sweet Life

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

My granddaughter and I had a fantastic trip with Tauck to Rome and Sorrento. Thomas was a fabulous tour director! We loved every moment of the trip. The other kids on the tour were close to her age and they bonded the very first night. For the rest of the trip, they were together all the time. What fun for all!

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, it was the after hours, private tour of the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel. Having been there twice before, it was awesome to be there with only 22 other people!! Kate said she enjoyed the ruins of Pompei the best.

review_img

mdidome

Rome to Sorrento

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

First time overseas. Tauck was perfect from start to finish. They provide exceptional personal service with many extras other tour groups just can't match. Special thanks to our tour director, his knowledge and expertise was fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Absolutely Everything!!!!

review_img

judithlandsman

The Sweet Life was indeed sweet

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We took our 13-year-old grandson on The Sweet Life: Rome & Sorrento trip and it surpassed our expectations -- well-planned, well-organized and well-executed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the private visit & tour of the Sistine Chapel. It was unforgettable.

review_img

Granna's Gladiator

The Sweet Life: Rome & Sorrento... June 10, 2016

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

I made this trip with my grandson, chosen because he was interested in Pompeii--I only wish the stop there had included more time. It was a great way to spend time together, as well with other young people. The trip was a great balance of sightseeing and free time to relax. With the guides fluent English,we never had problem knowing what we saw.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are too many wonderful memories to just pick one! What I did like was the activities designed for the young travelers, like the Gladiator School, Gelato Making, and Pizza Making Dinner. They were fun and educational for all, plus with so much history (esp. in Rome, they were a great way to soak up the culture in a unique way.

review_img

Jeannine

Fabulous family trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our week in Italy was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Our grandson was blown away by the sites, activities, food and guides we had throughout the trip. Our Tauck Director did a fantastic job as director. The planning and tours were executed is a very professional manner and our tour guides were all outstanding. I highly recommend it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The night touring the Sistine Chapel. Our grandson loved the Coliseum tour best, but thought the Amalfi Coast was beautiful.

review_img

k8ohh

Great time Great experience for everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

From start to finish. We all enjoyed our trip to Italy, parnts and kids alike. Private tour of Sistine Chapel a highlight. Loved the expert guides used along the way. Pompeii was incredible to see, and ending up in Sorrento, touring the Amalfi coast by sea and land was great. Loved it all.

review_img

barbrakogan

Great Trip. Awesome time by all.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The Sweet Life of Italy trip was totally awesome. Just about enough time in every location. The tour guides were excellent, transportation was first class and all of the logistical planning by Tauck was phenomenal. Simple things like having bottles of water on all buses and keeping us in the shade on hot days was very well thought out. PERFECT!

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment, without question, was the private tour of the Sistine Chapel. At one point, it was only me and my son in the middle of the chapel. We had the entire place to ourselves. Not sure how Tauck gets this accomplished, but I can't stop talking about our experience in the chapel. The Amalfi Coast is a very close second.

review_img

kogana

The Sweet Life Rocks!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Awesome time. We took two boys 15 and 12 along for the ride. The food was outstanding and Tauck did a wonderful job of fitting so many sites in a short period of time. Our tour guide was a real professional and had military precision with all the logistics. We never waited in line for anything and the bus/boat was always there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hands down, Sistine Chapel. All alone in such an amazing place. Just speechless! Capri was also great. Not enough space in this section to write about all the memorable moments. The entire family (3 generations) had a wonderful time.

review_img

needham

Italy 15

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Tauck Sweet Life We loved it. The whole family was thrilled.

Most Memorable Moment:

After tour was over we went up to the mountains and met some cousins.

review_img

tcarter

Rome and Sorrento

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We had a wonderful time; the activities were fun for us AND our 17 & 20 year old children. Truck did a good job appealing to both age sets with the history in Rome, food in Sorrento, and views along the Amalfi Coast. We traveled a bit before & after the trip, and Tauck still picked us up at the airport and brought us to Naples afterwards.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the chairlift up to the highest point on the Isle of Capri was wonderful!

review_img

Ginsberg

The Sweet Life: Rome and Sorrento -- Great Family Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Activities for all ages were good. We did feel the Italian guide in Rome should have either held up her hand or a flag when she walked as there was such a big crown in the daytime this would have been helpful. Restaurants not the best food (could have done better here). Kids loved the farm making pizza, and gelato later and gladiator school.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Vatican visit and taking photos in the Sistine Chapel. Great group of people who all got along extremely well. Kids having a great time. We did like having a seating chart each day on the bus but think it should be alternated a little better than it was.

review_img

Busow

Winter in Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Josie our granddaughter loved it and thats what its all about. We enjoyed it thoroughly because we got to know her and see her interact with her peers and adults. My only complaint was at this time of the year shopping other then Rome is pretty non-existent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Vatican as only people on tour. Have been to the vatican multiple times before but always with large crowds. This was wonderful.

review_img

KWood

Fabulous family trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We loved our family tour. We met many wonderful families, ate great food and truly experienced the "sweet life". Our guides were friendly and knowledgable. It was the perfect mix of learning and fun for our family.

Most Memorable Moment:

EVERYTHING!!!!

review_img

CDavison

Above and beyond my expectations...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The Rome and Sorrento trip was my second trip with Tauck Bridges and it was the ultimate dream vacation for my family. The experience was made all the more so because of the abilities of our tour guide Mariann. She was so professional and organized, knowledgeable about the art, language, history and culture of Italy. Bravissimo, Mariann...!

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not one moment that was not memorable, although seeing the Sistine Chapel after hours was a highlight as well as the boat ride on the Amalfi Coast. The people that I met on this trip were some of the nicest people I have met and I am so happy that I was a part of this group.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and that you returned with many merorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Dawngypsy

Wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great trip! Tour director Barbara was the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

Pompeii

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

michorne

We loved Italy!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

We saw SO many things in Rome, Pompeii, Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi in just 5 1/2 days. Director and local guides were great. Very professional and fun as well. They brought history to life! Learning, plus time to swim!! 11 kids ages 11 - 16 were a great mix. The tour gave us more time to see things and no time wasted dealing with logistics.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to choose. Trevi Fountain...lovely! Colosseum...amazing. Private tour of the Sistine chapel at night - incredible and a totally unique opportunity! Cliffs along Amalfi coast - stunning. View from the top of Capri - awesome! Food, food and more food.....all delicious. Many Gelatos! Fresh pasta! Make your own pizza at the farm....YUM

review_img

MHoye

Loved this trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The tour group and director was wonderful. We love Italy and so many of the little extra's. The food was disappointing. We ate mostly in Hotel banquet rooms instead of the restaurants that we ate in during a regular (not a bridges) tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving along the coast up to Ana Capri with other tour guests and our three girls singing in the back seat of the open air vehicle with the most incredible views and weather. Bellisimo!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased you enjoyed your overall journey with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback both positive and negative. We will be sure to share your comments with the manager who is responsible for this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button