TravelerReviews

Uncommon Venice, Florence & Rome

review_img

captaincook

Heart of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

A great experience with wonderful Tauck only events. We loved the after hours visits and private recital. Our tour director was fabulous. We met some wonderful people that we will stay in touch with.

Most Memorable Moment:

The exclusive and after hours events.

review_img

Sherie Catledge

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

I cannot say enough about the small group culturious tour. Never experienced anything like it. The local guides were amazing and I learned so much about artwork and history of these amazing cities. Even though the days were packed with activities, we still had time to go off on our own. The food and lodgings were first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

The after hours tour of the Vatican was amazing, as was the winery tour and dinner. Have to mention the piano recital at Gregorio Nardi's place was up there too.

review_img

Wolfpack1

Culturious: The Heart of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Our tour director was outstanding. Special events for "Tauck only" travelers made this trip wonderful. In addition not having to worry about luggage, transportation, etc. enabled us to simply enjoy the experience of visiting Italy knowing the "details" were being handled by Tauck. Definitely the best way to travel abroad!

Most Memorable Moment:

Private after-hours tour of the Vatican & Sistine Chapel, piano recital with Gregorio Nardi, tour & dinner at the winery were some of our favorite items on this trip.

review_img

GwynethRing

Bellissima Vacanza!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Our trip began with a few days in Venice, then an afternoon in Padua on the way to Florence for a few days, and ended with two days in Rome. It was a challenging itinerary to cover so much area well. However, Tauck designed the trip, so that every day we had unique and fascinating cultural experiences, great food, and wonderful accommodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The memorable moments were the ones that only Tauck could provide, i.e., lunch at a Contessa's home, dinner at a winery in Tuscany, a morning spent observing art restoration, and a private tour in the Vatican Museum with 20 minutes in the Sistine Chapel with only our group. Our tour director was a fountain of information and always cheerful.

review_img

Gretchen Eslinger

Loved Italy!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We had a wonderful time in Italy seeing so many of the historical sites of Italy. The accommodations were really comfortable, the food amazing, and the tours engaging. Our tour guide had everything organized, on time, and was always very helpful and kind. We loved the Nipazzano winery too!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was being in the Sistine chapel for 20 minutes with only our group of 23. What made it more meaningful was the information lecture from an Art History professor in Florence who gave us insights and history about the art we were to see. The second was the private piano concert with Gregorio Nardi.

review_img

FrancineDesposito

The Heart of Italy

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My husband and I took this trip to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary and it was wonderful. Venice was everything and more than we expected. Wish we had more time there. Florence and Rome were both magnificent experiences, a very special art and history education! The only downfall was that the walking was a bit strenuous for a few of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think we absolutely loved Venice and the tour of the Sistine Chapel was totally amazing. It was a trip of a life time and our guides were totally knowledgeable which made this experience so wonderful. We had a very small group, only sixteen which was wonderful. Thank you Tauck for all the great memories.

review_img

PamelaKavlick

Culturious Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Our guide was very kind and knowledgeable. She was approachable and knew Italy very well. Our guides were all excellent. We felt we would have liked to have less time in Venice and more time in Rome, but other than that, this was by far, our favorite tour with Tauck (and our 3rd). There was so much history. Much more than we had time for.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private tour of the Vatican museum and the Sistine Chapel. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. (I loved the winery and the Murano glass visits, as well; so much so, I ordered items to be shipped home).

review_img

ProfMHC

Tour Director Was Exceptional

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

What a terrific woman. When faced with constant inappropriate behavior by a tour member she handled it with dignity and professionalism. Can't tell you how much respect we have for her. Her compassion for us personally was also so well appreciated. The local guides she chose were definitely a cut above those we have had on other Tauck tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

If you're trying to choose between this tour and the other Venice-Florence-Rome land tour -- go with the latter. We feel that, based on our having done both, the culinary experiences and hotels are vastly superior. A much better value for the money. The Culturious Rome hotel has already been changed for next year. Good move.

review_img

Margaret Corasick

Strange group

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The trip started out with 22 people but we lost 2 early on. It turns out that for someone travelling alone the small group tours are not a good choice. This was an intensely "coupled" and cliquish group and I did not enjoy it. The tour director did a good job of logistics and organization. The hotels in Venice and Rome were below my standard!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first class flights to and from the Tour on Lufthansa.

review_img

Jazzco08

Best Tour Director Ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Venice, Florence and Rome were all fabulous. But our experience would not have been as grand if it wasn't for our terrific Tour Director. She was friendly, knowledgeable and caring. All of our needs were met and then some. We cannot praise her enough. Personal issues that I had were taken care of with compassion by her. We love her!

Most Memorable Moment:

Lots of them- the Gondola ride, the Sistine Chapel, the delicious dinners (and wine) that were provided by Tauck, to name a few. We will carry these memories forever, made more wonderful by our excellent tour director. The group that we toured with were all fantastic people as well. We consider ourselves very lucky.

review_img

jamlw621

Anniversary Celebration

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We had a fabulous time traveling with Tauck! Absolutely amazing experience! From the time we got on our flight, to the time we returned home we were treated like royalty! I highly recommend Tauck Tours. Our guide was beyond knowledgable and very accommodating!

Most Memorable Moment:

Since we were celebrating our anniversary, Tauck sent us beautiful bottles of champagne at every stop! It was such a lovely, kind gesture! We truly appreciated it!

review_img

kara laramie

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

From the moment we landed in Venice to our transfer coach in Rome, Tauck took care of us extraordinarily! The director was amazing, the local guides were delightful and the itinerary couldn't have been more interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private tour of the Vatican museum and Sistine chapel.

review_img

froggyskates

Perfecto!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I cannot recommend this vacation enough! Of course, it wasn't enough time in Italy (I could have stayed another week in Rome alone), but with exceptional tour guides, in-the-thick-of-the-city hotels, perfectly curated dining experiences, and enough time to explore on your own, it really was the perfect week in Venice, Florence, and Rome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoying a private tour of the Vatican Museum was even more amazing than it sounds! We were a group of 18 people with the entire museum to ourselves, allowing for up-close viewing of Raphel's masterpieces and the frescos in the Sistine Chapel. We even got to take pictures (usually a taboo).

review_img

MABusch

Experiences I'll never forget

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Wonderful schedule with a eye to giving us a real appreciation for Italian culture. There was art, art restoration, food, music, museums, wine tasting, and events inside a Venetian palazzo and Tuscan farm/vineyard. Hotels comfortable & near major attractions--easy to make excellent use of free time. Well taken care of throughout the trip.,

Most Memorable Moment:

Scrovegni Chapel and after hours at the Sistene Chapel and Vatican Museum.

review_img

PaulNYC

Culturious: The Heart of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This trip was everything I hoped for and more. We did all the "Must-See's" in each city but Tauck also included some very special private tours and experiences like a visit and concert with pianist Gregorio Nardi. The Tour Director kept everything moving smoothy and the guides were knowledgeable and passionate.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private tour of the art restoration institute, Opificio delle Pietre Dure.

review_img

SlowmoverPcola

The Trip of Our Life!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Our trip to Venice, Florence, and Rome was truly a lifetime experience. Our third Tauck trip but the first outside the U.S., it far exceeded our expectations of Tauck's already high standards. We visited places and saw things we NEVER would have seen on our own. The art history alone was worth the price of admission. Food and wine were wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking around a corner in the Gallery of the Academy in Florence and seeing Michelangelo's magnificent David. It was awesome!!!

review_img

Edward Peter Walsh

A week in Venice-Florence-Rome

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

The tour director and tour guides were terrific. It was a small group and everyone enjoyed the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tour of Vatican

review_img

chrisella

Exceptional Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

I surprised my wife with this trip. It was our first time to Europe and we had a great time! Venice, Florence and Rome were beautiful! The tour director was excellent! All of the Historians were excellent and well versed. The handling of baggage and taxis and busses was excellent. We were very pleased with your company!

Most Memorable Moment:

Me personally was the making of the pasta and the Sistine Chapel!

review_img

Lynne79

Loved, Loved, Loved Italy!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

We had a wonderful time in Italy. We were able to see so many sights in each city and the special events for our small group were just amazing experiences!The hotels and restaurants were outstanding and our tour guide was awesome. We will definitely book another Tauck tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Sistine Chapel in Rome.

review_img

lsblake

Tauck Culturious - Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

From the small group to the Tauck tour director to the itinerary, this was the perfect trip. We got to experience things we could not have on our own; from a visit to a Contessa's Palazzo in Venice, the Art Restoration Institute in Florence, and our private tour of the Sistine Chapel. Factor in the excellent food, wine and shopping for perfection.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was the private tour of the Sistine Chapel. Our Tauck group of 20 was alone in the chapel for 15-20 minutes to soak in the absolute wonder of the art.

review_img

JD630

Heart of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

A dream come true! I ended each day thinking how could this possibly be topped?! But it was. No detail was overlooked. Our tour director was phenomenal. So much knowledge and care shared with each of us. I saw and experienced things I never would have without this tour. Our local guides added to the experience-just stunning!

Most Memorable Moment:

Very hard to pinpoint - standing quietly with just our small group in the Sistine Chapel was so moving. I'll never ever forget any of this trip.

review_img

rafunnell

Amazing Italy Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

From the moment we stepped off the plane, Tauck took care of everything, and it was all first class. If you're looking for a trip that is unique, fun and educational, this is the one for you! The tour touches on some major tourist attractions, but it's the other activities that make this extra special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Sistine after hours, with just our group was incredible. I also enjoyed the winery tour, lunch with the Contessa and piano recital - all of these added such a personal touch to this great trip. Don't hesitate, this is an awesome tour. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a good time in Italy! Tauck prides itself in providing exclusive experiences that you simply cannot get on your own such as seeing the Sistine Chapel after hours or having a private lunch with the Contessa. We look forward to having you travel with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bridgeplayer

Great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our guide and fellow travelers were the greatest to help us two octogenarians in getting around. Among the high lights was the glass demonstration, restoration of paintings, the Sistine chapel private visit and again our guide, Brigit.

review_img

Pete Bentley

Balanced in every way.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We did Culturious: the Heart of Italy, and it was just phenomenal! We did not see everything, but we saw enough. We did not go, go, go, all the time, but we did enough to be perfectly satisfied. Our group was just large enough, 20 people, but not too large. By the end of the week they all felt like friends. All travel should be this satisfying!

review_img

Treasurer

Italy trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time on our trip. There was a lot to do but there was enough free time to pursue adventures on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private tour of the Vatican museums and the Sistine Chapel.

review_img

Santa Barbara Couple

Heart of Italy -- Cultourious

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It was very interesting and a lot of fun. Lots of activities and unusual surprises. No "filler" like in some Tauck Tours and not an excessive amount of time "at leisure" to go shopping. I wasn't on the trip to go shopping.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we visited, in Florence, the home of a concert pianist and sitting in his living room he played some powerful pieces of music for us with great vigor and enthusiasm.

review_img

EddieGardner

Italy Anniversary Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This was a 25th anniversary trip for my Wife and I and our first trip to Italy. We wanted a very special experience and Tauck delivered. The vacation was first class from beginning to end and the experience was the same. Our group was small and we enjoyed everyone vacationing with us. Tauck and our guide did a wonderful job. We will return!

Most Memorable Moment:

A once in a life-time encounter with priceless works of art. The Italian Art restoration program was wonderful. Also the private dinner and tour experiences in Venice, Florence, and Rome were all very special. Favorite was the Frescobaldi Winery private reception, tour, and wine dinner experience. The Tauck experience was a Italian Emersion.

review_img

Jean Ann

First Tauck experience, but definitely not the last!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Amazing trip. Every detail handled by Tauck. Our tour director excelled and met everyone's needs. From the moment we water taxied to our Venice Hotel,to a private tour of Sistine Chapel, educational lectures, energetic guides,private piano concert and final "arrivederci" dinner as a group, there was never a flaw. This was a stress free vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is difficult!! Seeing Venice and understanding how it was built. Comprehending that art history tells our history and the importance of preservation. Standing in the Sistine Chapel. All were a-ha moments for me !Small group cultural tours perfect for me and my husband!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your first tour with us and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jerry maryles

A trip to remember for the rest of my life!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

I was pleasantly surprised that the entire tour/vacation was so perfectly executed by Tauck and our main tour guide Theresa! the tour is First Class and we would never have seen or done most of the events if we had gone on our own... the accomodations and meals were excellent...but the best part were the various events:

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many great ones... piano concert at Gregorio Nardis home, The private evening tour of the Vatican and Sistine Chapel, the evening at Frescobaldi Vineyard, on and on...so many great memories

review_img

yankee fan

Heart of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was our first trip with Tauck and to Italy. My husband and I absolutely loved this trip!!! We went in October 2014 and we are still talking about this trip with our friends and family!! Tauck does a wonderful job. We are taking another Tauck tour this year!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Michelangelo's statue of David was amazing as well as the Sistine Chapel. So many memorable moments. Cannot list them all. Take the trip and you will see what we mean!

review_img

Frosty Rees

Venice, Florence, Rome-----Fantastic tour and Tauck tour guide

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

For years, my wife and I have dreamed of this kind of tour of the major art cities of Italy. The Culturious experience was simply the best travel tour we have ever taken and Theresa, Tauck's tour guide was simply THE BEST EVER!!! We will recommend Tauck to all of our boomer pals who are finally able to realize their travel dreams. F&S Rees

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the art restoration institute in Florence was a once in a lifetime event for us.

review_img

BForster

Tauck Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

It was a great trip overall- our first ever tour. The other people were very nice and friendly. The tour director did an excellent job. I think the Bauer hotel and the hotel in Rome could have been better. They had great locations, but the accommodations were not that great. Florence hotel was great! Local guides were good as well. need more rm

Most Memorable Moment:

A lot of memorable moments. But one disappointing moment was the lack of the special tour in the Vatican museums. We really wanted that. The farewell dinner was a total disaster. The meal was not good and the group was separated in two rooms with six of us in one and 12 in the other. Didn't make for much of a farewell dinner. to comment

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thand's for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you returned with some truly memorable moments. We will immediately look into your comments and take all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Thankful

Great Overview of Venice, Florence & Rome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Highlights of the trip included: Tour of St. Marks, the gondola ride with music & visiting the Island of Murano. Uffizi Gallery in Florence, the restoration tour, private concert by Gregorio Nardi and the dinner and wine tasting at the Frescobaldi Family's vineyard. The highlight of Rome was the private tour of the Sistine Chapel & cooking class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private Tour of the Sistine Chapel.

review_img

LRoman

All encompassing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I have traveled a fair amount, overseas and in the US. Normally I skipped the travel agent and the organized tours and made reservations on my own or with the help of friends and relatives. But on the recent Tauck tour, my friend had signed up and was describing the details of the trip. It was the best trip I have ever been on.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable events. Lunch with the contessa at her villa on the canal in Venice. The private tour, wine tasting and dinner at the Frescobaldi mansion; the dinners and lunches with the group with endless food and wine, and all of the docent led tours were fabulous. All you had to do was show up for each terrific day of enjoyment.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button