TravelerReviews

Iceland: Land of Fire and Ice

review_img

RaymondArcher

Iceland Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Superb trip. New ship, great crew and superb food. Tauck team of four did an awesome job. Extremely educational. If you have not been to Iceland, our bet is that you know little about the people, culture and topography. Very impressed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The horse show.

review_img

queenie1

Iceland-- Land of Fire and Ice. Outstanding Tauck experience.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Brilliant, exciting, scenic land topography. Very attractive new ship, La Laperouse. Food was fair. Not a French food fan and found that the kitchen took on more than it was capable of. Another flaw was dining room service. The staff is overwhelmed, not enough waiters and menus and wine are boring. Iceland guides were amazing. One of our favorites

Most Memorable Moment:

So many because Tauck provided us with an amazing itinerary and guides who taught us so much. The 15 Westman Islands and Heimaey. Viewing the newest island of Surtsey. Watching the Orca and Humpback whales swim and play around our ship. Visiting the puffins and learning about them. Excellent experience. Thank you Tauck!

review_img

LaVonneDrager

Iceland - Land of Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Unbelievable - the experience of people living in a country without any trees, many different birds, daylight for more than 20 hrs. at a time, being on a small cruise ship and seeing icebergs, whales, dolphins - the waterfalls, lava fields, geysers - so much to learn about the ways they heat their homes, etc.!

Most Memorable Moment:

I must say after watching the weather in this area for 3 months and seeing rain, rain, rain - I experienced 8 days of mostly sunshine & clouds! And waking up at midnight to see an iceberg next to the ship!

review_img

janearnoldi

Iceland: Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this fantastic trip. We have taken many trips with Tauck and this has been one of the best. As usual, Tauck took care of everything to make our trip worry free. We spent seven days aboard the beautiful Le Laperouse, enjoyed great food and saw wonderful sights in beautiful Iceland. This trip is a must! Thanks Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking across the Artic Circle on Grimsey Island

review_img

Burkhard

Love Tauck!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was our first small ship experience and it was wonderful! Terrific service from all Tauck directors and the ship's crew! We loved having your very experienced and knowledgeable Tauck directors with us all week to provide support and information. They were so much fun to be with! Very personal experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

On the morning of my birthday, we were sitting alone at the back by the swimming pool having coffee. No one else was there..suddenly, the captain appeared and walked up to me to wish me a "Happy Birthday"!!! Astounded, I said "how did you know it is my birthday and how do you even know who I am?" It made my day!!!

review_img

SandiC

Iceland, Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Beautiful ship, wonderful staff, tour directors, local guides,food, service, etc. Great way to see Iceland!

Most Memorable Moment:

Grimsey Island... Puffins!

review_img

jmeyers

Iceland was beyond expectations....dramatic scenery and wonderful, friendly people....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Everything was so interesting - guides were knowledgeable and shared information about their country with such pride and love....we were fascinated by the drama of the land - volcanoes, mountains, rifts, geysers, waterfalls, lava - such a harsh landscape but so beautiful. Icelanders are exceptional people!

Most Memorable Moment:

Trip to the Artic Circle - even though the wind was blowing very, very hard and it was, of course, cold! My wife enjoyed the tour of the Blue Lagoon where an actual, handsome Viking was the guide!!!

review_img

JANDS

Great trip to Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We had a wonderful trip from beginning to end. The ship was beautiful. The food was amazing. The tours were excellent, and the tour directors were so knowledgeable and helpful. The local guides were superb. Our friends traveling with us felt as we did and love touring with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the extra treat to the Iceland horse farm. And we loved seeing the puffins & Arctic terns on Grimsey. And entering the harbor on Heimaey was spectacular.

review_img

haroldk2

"How you see the world" didn't matter to Tauck on this one

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

On page 41 of our “Documents For Your Journey” booklet the section “Reserved Seat Plan” describes how the Tauck Director will assign seats on a daily basis so there is “no need to rush” for a preferred seat. That never happened. “How you see the world matters” and it disappointed us that Tauck let the same greedy people always get the front seats.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our added free day after the Tauck tour ended. We got to enjoy a little bit of Iceland then without craning our necks to see what the guide in the front of the bus was talking about.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Tony Carbone

Great cruise on the Le Laperouse

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This ship was fantastic, better than the others in the fleet. Service was impeccable. Regarding the itineraries. Tauck should try to eliminate the choices on day 2,6 & 8. Eliminate one item and include two trips each day. We felt like we missed out on the other daily tours. So much to see. Tour Directors did a super job, well organized.

Most Memorable Moment:

Vigur Island, Heimaey & the Golden Circle (Guilfoss waterfalls & Geysir). Overall scenery of Iceland

review_img

cris2115

Iceland Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was my 9th Tauck Tour and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The ship was only 4 weeks old and beautiful. The crew did a wonderful job. The weather was not that good but it did not deter us at all. After all, we were in Iceland !

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing the Arctic Circle

review_img

neanderson

A Very Complete and Enjoyable Tour of Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

My husband and I and four other friends just returned from the Iceland tour. We could not have been more pleased. The new Ponant ship, in partnership with Tauck, is beautiful--the cabins are spacious with excellent storage; the crew and food are excellent. The itinerary is well thought-out. We loved the Icelandic landscape, the people.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to say what stands out. It is mostly the range of experiences that we think about. We came away feeling we knew Iceland.

review_img

Denny Watson

Iceland follies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was our second Tauck vacation. Africa with you was a solid 5 star event. We found Iceland astounding! It was all we heard it was. Your people were wonderful. That is where the good news ends, because the ship and the ship’s crew were not ready for prime time. At times I didn’t feel safe. Boarding the tenders was simply scary.

Most Memorable Moment:

The people on the ship were 95% Americans. The crew was very French as was the food. I asked for a grilled cheese sandwich and they did not know what it was. I could go on and on as to why I was disappointed, but what I really want to know is; do you recognize the problem and can I be assured that our planned trip to Kenya will be different.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with this cruise. I have forwarded your comments on to our Guest Relations department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LindaBecker

Iceland Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I was very very disappointed. We planned the trip with our dear friends. We travelled on the same flights and we were put into different hotels. After asking a number of times to be put together on tours- we were never ever on the same tour. We were not even on the bus to the airport on the final day even though we were flying out together.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the blue lagoon but was unhappy it was the last day on the way to the airport. 80% of our group did NOT go in, including my husband, because they did not want to travel home after going in the lagoon. Very bad planning. The excursions were disappointing. we spent most of the time in a bus or on the ship. The ship was beautiful

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you were disappointed in this adventure. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rredddog

Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

A great trip on a brand new small ship the "Le Laperouse" with a wonderful staff. Wonderful excursions inland with great tour guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Godafoss-waterfalls.

review_img

RVW

Wonderful country, unique, stunning people, great food

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Tourism: 2 mil and 3 mil people vs the population of approx 350,000... biggest industry passing fishing. People are very friendly, speak English, stunning food. Many small towns visited along coast, ship was very comfortable; some struggles handling volume of guests in only one dining room. Very capable tour directors. Weather cold; 50 max July

Most Memorable Moment:

Two small boat cruises during various day tours. One to see puffins (A MUST); other to see working farm & native birds. Make sure you elect BOTH of these small boat cruises. Botanical gardens in Akureyri were quite special and unique. Stunning plants growing in climate similar to Alaska.

review_img

April Uhden

Iceland:Land of Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We had a wonderful time in Iceland. There is so much to see. Tauck has chosen a terrific itinerary to see as much as possible. We spent our 55th anniversary at the Arctic Circle, seeing thousands of puffins. Each land tour on very comfortable buses allowed us to experience the flavor of each city/town. Loved the trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

"World of Fire" museum in Heimaey-very moving to see what happened when the volcano erupted. Also the Arctic Circle and all the beautiful waterfalls.

review_img

LVTOTRVL

Great Iceland Cruise!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We had a fantastic and very memorable Iceland trip! We saw all beauty and splendor of Iceland, from the landscape to the wildlife! The itinerary was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments from a dip in the Blue Lagoon to seeing a pod of Orca whales swim next to our room balcony, but the best may have been seeing the thousands of puffins in their natural habitat.

review_img

Rudys

Great way to see Iceland.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Booked this one because a friend took it last year and loved it. Our Tour Director was great. The local guides good too. Four (or 5) lectures by a local expert were very informative and entertaining. Weather was great, nothing that could be predicted, but we got lucky. Accommodations and meals on Le Soleal very good. The 2018 tour will differ.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't pick among the tour activities. Enjoyed our pre-trip day when we stayed downtown and experienced the rainy Iceland weather while doing shopping etc. Really enjoyed the mix of geology, scenery, technology, history, etc. and the talks by a local guide which helped us understand it all.

review_img

MargaretGerber

Not Enough Words

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Not enough words to describe the complexity and diversity on all levels. The Tauck guides, the local guides (absolutely incomparable and so knowledgeable). The ship and all water experience was wonderful, food beyond description.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the young man singing in the small church. He spoke perfect English, sang as professional (I'm a musician), also played piano. This speaks to the fact that in Iceland the musical training in the public schools is far beyond anything that currently is present in USA. Our students now have to go to private lessons or music schools.

review_img

CVG321

Iceland July 18-27, 2017 A 10 rating

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Trip details were handled professionally by the Tauck tour guides. French ship Le Soleal was clean and food service and crew very accommodating. I'd give a 10. Onboard entertainment was quite good with lectures handled by competent Tauck people. Weather was perfect each day and the guest guides that went along on bus tours knew their subject well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting my wife's lost purse back from the Reykjavik Airport thanks to help from the Tauck hotel greeters.

review_img

hsy

Iceland small ship cruising

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Excellent trip, this is our second Tauck tour, there is no question about the quality and service level of Tauck tours. The Tauck directors are the best, they thought of everything. The scenery of Iceland is unique, the weather is unpredictable. Be sure to bring good walking shoes, dress in layers, and a rain coat.

review_img

elliottd

My family was put in Harm's Way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our trip was marred by a very bad experience described below. Originally I was not going to write a review. However, my Travel Agent contacted a Tauck Representative and described our experience. The agent said she would get back. It has been over two weeks since then and there has been no response, and I doubt there ever will be.

Most Memorable Moment:

Unfortunately it was not a good memory. In Heimaey,we went up a mountain to see the view from the top. Right before the top the road became very steep, followed by a hairpin turn that was even steeper. Our bus driver couldn't get our bus into gear twice, and we started to roll backwards . We were perilously close to going off the side of the mountain

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write this Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ellen Sternberg

NOT UP TO USUAL TAUCK STANDARDS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY, SPECTACULAR SCENERY. TRIP WAS OVERPRICED FOR WHAT WE RECEIVED. FOOD ON BOAT WAS GOOD AND CABINS WELL LAID OUT. WAY TOO MUCH DOWN TIME ON THE BOAT. DISAPPOINTED WE DIDN'T GET TO GRIMSEY ISLAND. WASN'T MUCH CAMARADERIE IN THE GROUP OR EFFORT TO ENCOURAGE IT. COULD HAVE OFFERED MORE EXCITING EXCURSIONS.

Most Memorable Moment:

VIGUR ISLAND AND SEEING THE BIRDS; GOLDEN CIRCLE ATTRACTIONS

review_img

Bob Mesnik

Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We had a great time on our small ship cruise and tour of Iceland. As usual, the Tauck people were excellent. They were very informative, friendly and helpful. Before we went on our trip we had very little information about Iceland. We barely knew where it was. Now we can talk knowledgeably to our friends.

review_img

june

Iceland Fire & Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was a very different kind of Tauck tour. I have taken 7 now. Although it was a large group we were broken down into 32 people. There was no group photo and no names on the seats inside the bus. We had a list outside the bus. I was disappointed in the attentiveness of the guide too, No input from him or enthusiasm . He needs a vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

Vigor Island, seeing the puffins and meeting the owners of the island.

review_img

Mel Hughes

Doesn't Live Up to Tauck Standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

If this had been our first Tauck tour and not our 13th tour with Tauck, including two small ship ocean cruises and two riverboat cruises, we would be asking ourselves why Tauck Tours. This was NOT a small boat tour. There were four, mostly separate, large Tauck groups, passengers not part of any group, and lots of very rude French passengers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our self booked post tour stay in down town Reykjavik was the best part of this trip with lots of opportunities to meet with Icelanders, other tourist and several members of the same Tauck Tour we had been on but never met aboard ship. By the way they had all been on several other Tauck Tours and felt the same disappointment with this tour as we did.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this small ship cruise did not meet your expectations. I have forwarded your comments on to our Small Ship team as they are always looking for ways to enhance our small ship experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bev Greenwell

Perhaps we were expecting too much

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

given the reputed top quality of Tauck. The itinerary was great-visiting the most interesting Icelandic areas. As with all cruises tho, we never had time to explore areas deeper so left feeling as tho we really didn't know the country. The Grand Hotel Reykjavik was very disappointing-barely better? than a Motel 6. Our up-graded ship cabin was

Most Memorable Moment:

no larger than the lower levels and with a locked connecting door-had less convenient storage space than lower levels. Our transfer to the airport never arrived so we lost valuable time in arranging alternates on our own and were unable to finish souvenir shopping at the airport. Our Director did not appear to be very engaged with our group.

review_img

Joanne18

Iceland 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was my first trip with Tauck and hopefully not the last. I chose Tauck because I liked the idea of a small ship cruise, rather than a bus tour. We were able to see lava formations, the new island Surtsey, whales, many birds, etc. The naturalist on board was very knowledgeable. And it was nice being able to sleep in the same bed every night!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many it's hard to choose. It's such a unique country. I loved the waterfalls, geysers, birds and so much more. If I had to chose one I guess it would be the Blue Lagoon.

review_img

E SwanLim

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Iceland is a beautiful, breathtaking country. Every place we went was a "Wow" moment. The people, their lifestyles and customs are so unique and at the same time so much like the rest of the world. The ship is great with friendly and helpful staff. Our butler was fun and personable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Crossing the Artic Circle on my 60th birthday!

review_img

BarbaraPeters

Iceland: Land of Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Perfect ship, wonderful services, good food and a marvelous and educational adventure to some of the most amazing natural, geological sights, on this tiny island that sits in a very unique place on our Earth. We are SO glad we went. Amazing place. And as always on Tauck Tours, we met some exciting and interesting people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list ... each area had it own special identity, and was beautiful, awesome and educational ... volcanos, lava flows, hot bubbling mineral springs, puffins, whales, gigantic waterfalls .....

review_img

Mira

Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We loved our Tauck Small-Ship Cruise around Iceland!! We experienced the most incredible weather the entire time -- no rain at all and we even got sunburned!! We also met great friends on the trip and will definitely keep in touch with them.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our favorite days were to Grimsey and Vigur Islands. Both provided us with thousands of puffins and other native birds. Also, the captain's maneuvering into the passage of Heimaey was incredible!! Our tour guide in Heimaey was terrific, as he lived through the 1973 volcano and lived to tell us all about it.

review_img

pammie

I think I paid too much

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

First let me say the positives: The Tauck Director did a fine job, he was there whenever he was needed and knew his stuff. The tour itself was handled very smoothly. The negative was that the boat was apparently quite expensive, hence the price of the tour, and the food was poor. I thought we spent a lot of time in free national parks. Hotel was poor

Most Memorable Moment:

Thinking..........lava fields on last day

review_img

packinhappy

Raw Earth, the Forces of Nature, and Incredible Bird Life

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

There is a wonderful neat orderliness in Scandinavian,Iceland.This is in contrast to the forces of nature around the residents. Ash and lava flows sprawling across the plains nearly burying one town. The earth is alive and changing here. Fascinating Viking history. Wonderful majestic flocks of birds. Well appointed ship, excellent food,and service.

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Visiting the museum in Heimaey which housed two homes that had been buried in ash and were uncovered to reveal the damage. Also the videos of the volcanic eruption with the horrific sounds. 2. Viewing The tremendous numbers of birds such as the adorable Puffins and Arctic Terns -they wanted us off their island, away from their nesting site.

review_img

MikeHenderson

Very well organized and interesting itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Tauck did a good job - tours were good. Ship was good. Staff was excellent. Major problem was the way the Internet was accessed on board. Tauck gives free unlimited Internet access but access was connect time limited which caused problems. I blogged the trip - http://www.mikeandjudytravel.com/2016Iceland-01.htm

Most Memorable Moment:

Internet access was a problem because it was time limited. A better approach would be to give each passenger one ID and password that could be used for the entire trip. Then you wouldn't get dropped in the middle of work. Limiting Internet access by time is old thinking- back to dial-up modem days.

review_img

MaureenandKerry

Iceland is Awesome!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

As usual, Tauck did an outstanding job of selecting all the best of Iceland for our tour, making it interesting and altogether charming! Our tour director was personable and an excellent guide. The Naturalist was great! All guides were experts in their fields and eager to share their knowledge. The ship amenities and staff were superb!

Most Memorable Moment:

It would be hard to choose between Gullfoss Waterfall and the view of the volcanic islands from our balcony as we sailed by. Only disappointment was not getting to Grimsey Island due to the weather.

review_img

Claire Gottlieb

Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This trip was not up to Tauck standards. The Grand Hotel was not first rate. It was impossible to stand in the shower without slipping. The food on the ship was mediocre. The farewell dinner was not served until almost 10PM and the beef was inedible. Visiting Iceland was a wonderful experience. We had an excellent guide.

review_img

Pickle

Magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Great experience. Loved the country for its scenery and animals.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Icelandic horses, Puffins, Arctic Tern and Eider ducks.

review_img

mbtrip

Outstanding Tauck Iceland trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The scenery was very beautiful, clean, and impressive. The culture of the Country is very unique and interesting. We happened to hit a week of beautiful weather during the last week of July 2015. Most days were mid 50s, either cloudy or partly sunny. Very little rain. We were told the week before it poured. Definitely need layers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Grimsey Island crossing the Arctic Circle. Great pictures. The Puffins are fun to watch along with the Arctic Terns.

review_img

RichardLeaman

Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Simply gorgeous country with lots of diversity: geysers, geothermal sites, lakes, basalt beaches, every kind of bird imaginable, waterfalls, mountains, volcanoes you name it. Ship was nice with excellent food but had a little bit of the French snotty attitude especially in the dining room. Overall great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Blue Lagoon

review_img

PPetrasek

Great heritage trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Both of us have ancestral history that came from Norway and Iceland. It was such a great trip to go and see the places where our ancestors came from. And our Tauck tour guide was fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Having lunch in the valley where my maternal ancestors came from, and visiting the area where my wife's paternal ancestors came from.

review_img

Randall and Donna Lau

Truly A Land of Fire and Ice

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

A great tour of Iceland to experience its people, its culture, its history, and the flora and fauna. The wildlife was fantastic. The puffins seemed to be everywhere, and the encounters with the orcas was truly amazing. Traveling by small ship was an excellent way to see this country and island. And, the ship had excellent food, and staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the adventure to the Blue Lagoon especially. Though the entry to the pool is cool, the waters were warm and relaxing. We even got to try the mud facial. And, the lunch provided was an outstanding array of varying meats and vegetables before looking forward to the flight home.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your comments regarding our cruise to Iceland. It is truly a fascinating destination! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Kathy18

Iceland Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Touring Iceland was an unique experience. The people were friendly and the culture is different from any that I have seen before. It is amazing how they live with the threat of volcanoes. Seeing the Pompeii of the North showed this. On this small island, besides the volcanoes, there are glaciers and geysers. I would highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment is really three. First, meeting an Icelandic "fisherman" who told what life was like when fishing was the major industry. Secondly it was walking across the Arctic Circle on the Island of Grimsey and seeing puffins. Finally seeing Surtsey, an island which I read about when I was in grade school as it was forming.

review_img

Bette

Iceland is wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The trip was very well planned and diverse. It covered so much of the country. The lecturer was fabulous. Her knowledge and patience was extraordinary. The pre and post hotel was not as well located as one would wish. The ship was lovely and we were able to get to places that I am sure other ships could not because of the size of the ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was standing above the Arctic Circle. Also, standing with one foot in North America and one foot in Europe was kind of cool too!

review_img

jobet

Our Trip to Iceland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This review is from myself and my husband. Our trip started 7/14/12. We arrived a day early, this is a must! Iceland is a very different country. When we got off the plane my husband said it looked like the moon. True! There are very few trees and the landscape is all lava rocks. We're glad we went but would not go again.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Gullfoss waterfalls.

review_img

FishK8

Fascinating

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

What an amazing country, what an amazing trip. The things we learned I don't think we'll ever forget. Not just what we learned about the geology or the wildlife, but also about the social and political structure of this wonderful nation. The guides and experts imparted their information with humor and sensitivity. Well done, Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Heimaey Island. Both the circumnavigation of the island and the extraordinary experience of walking around the part of the town still buried under ash and pumice. Seeing the house that was being excavated and hearing the story of the woman who owned it and had returned for the first time in 38 years. Haunting.

review_img

oilrag

Iceland is a gem.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Le Boreal is a magnificient ship. Iceland- a wonderful escape from Florida summer heat. The birds we saw were such a treat. Our naturalist, Asa Ovrelid, gave wonderful lectures. She is one of the best in my many adventure travels. Our group leader also rates a best. Geology amazing, people friendly. Great experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Puffins galore.

review_img

gail20

Iceland:Land of Fire and Ice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was a fantastic journey. I enjoyed meeting the people and learning about their daily lives.(they do speak English) It was very interesting to learn about the history of Iceland, see the newly formed Surtsey Island,(formed in 1963 by volcanic erruption)learn about the land,the birds,and geothermal heating.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was a visit to Grimsey. We were at the Artic Cicle--about 66 degrees north. We all received a certificate to verify this occasion. Also on Grimsey we saw the most beloved bird in Iceland, the puffin. It was a very exciting day.

review_img

crkjek

Beautiful & Exciting

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The trip was great. Excellent tour guide. Weather was not so great. I would not recommend this trip for anyone with any infirmity as it involved a lot of non-stop walking over some fairly difficult terrain. The sights of nature are very exciting & at times amazing. Le Boreal is one of the best designed ships we have ever been on. Excellent shower.

Most Memorable Moment:

The waterfalls.

review_img

JeanRoot

Iceland and More

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

This trip was my fourth Tauck trip. It was well organized, so you experienced seeing the land and all of its different points of interest. The part by sea and the various ports of call were beyond belief the amazing sights, especially the birds, and people living there. I would recommend this tour as one you shouldn't miss.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the Island of Grimsey and the Artic Circle.

review_img

OLD GUY

ICELAND ONE OF THE BEST

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

AFTER LOSING A WIFE OF 60 YEARS AND SITTING AROUND FOR A YEAR,DECIDED TO TRY TRAVEL AGAIN. FELLOW PASSENGERS,SHIPS PERSONNEL,TAUCK REPS WERE ALL VERY CONSIDERATE OF AN OLD GUY OF 85 TRAVELING ALONE. MET A LOT OF NICE PEOPLE. WILL TRY AGAIN.

Most Memorable Moment:

STAYING ALIVE.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button