TravelerReviews

The Best of Ireland, Small Groups

review_img

DavidSheila

Great Experience Visiting this Lovely Country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

One of the best of six Tauck trips we have done. Great Tour Director who made things flow seamlessly. We had the pleasure of having her as our Tour Diector on a previous Tauck trip and were delighted to see her again. Our bus driver was excellent always pleasant and helpful. A nice group of fellow travellers.

Most Memorable Moment:

The falconry at Lyrath Estate was a highlight for me. Being piped up from the boat to Ashford Castle was fun. Waking up to the view of the Irish countryside from our window at Aghadoe Heights Hotel and Spa was memorable.

review_img

banddirector

Each day a highlight and memorable moment!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Professionally planned from beginning "Meet and Greet" with a harpist, cocktails and dinner. We stayed in beautiful 5* hotels in the best walking locations in the cities. Our tour director was personable and knowledgeable. Our guides were informative and humorous. The driver was the most skilled, punctual, and handled our luggage.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having lunch at a dairy farm with the farmer and wife....The sheep herding demo.....being greeted at Ashford Castle by a bagpiper ...having a red carpet greeting at Mt Juliet Estate .... The Ring of Kerry.... Generous free time allowed us to explore... The food, the people, the music of Ireland! This kind of tour will stay in my heart always!

review_img

msacks

Small Group Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first time touring on a bus and we weren't sure we would like packing and unpacking every two days. As it turned out we got very used to the schedule. I would recommend packing cubes. It makes life easier. I felt our land trip gave us so much more information about Ireland and the people. Tauck took care of everything, no stress

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle

review_img

JLintz23

Simply “Lovely”

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Tour director added to an already great itinerary. Northern Ireland was fascinating with its history and openness of past differences. The castle hotels were the best!! The timely picture stops and unique lunch restaurants were very good. The Giants Causeway, The Cliffs of Moher, and the special Irish singer/dancers were spectacular.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle. Cliffs of Moher. The Irish people. History of Belfast.

review_img

MaryAndino

Beat of ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Ireland was wonderful. From Dublin, up north and south, all around, the country was beautiful and very welcoming. Our group was very special and with our Tauck Director and motor coach driver leading the way it was a win win situation. Hotels were breathtaking, food out of this world, and marvelous things to see! We were very fortunate to be on this trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed hiking with nature the most, so that would be giant causeway and the cliffs of moher

review_img

auntilori

Wonderful Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This tour was fantastic from beginning to end. Can't imagine doing this tour without our tour director. She was outstanding. Because she is from Ireland, she had more knowledge about everything. She was organized, has a fantastic sense of humor and was full of stories about Ireland. Also, our bus driver was exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to choose, but pulling up to Ashford Castle from a boat ride to be greeted by a bag pipe player and having the staff lined up outside and waving to us.

review_img

Jerry Duncan

Small Group Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This is a good, comprehensive tour. The contrast between the Irish Republic, Northern Ireland and the upcoming BREXIT issue was fascinating. There is a lot of free time on this trip. Several days we ended up in a town or hotel with little to do. The tour director did a fair job but did not go out of the way to assist beyond normal duties.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle - I could have stayed there for a week.

review_img

hoakieman

The Best of Ireland - July 11 - July 24

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We enjoyed the trip a lot. We wish there were more scheduled stops/tours. Last year, our Loire Valley tour usually made two site stops a day. Too much free time without any recommendations from the director. OUR opinion -director was snippy and did the minimum. She cared more about her free time than OUR experience. Would not want her to direct us again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not on the tour: The Dublin Archaeology Museum and the Irish Whiskey Museum (a lot of fun and well worth the 20 EUR each). On the tour: Tour of Belfast and the time of the "Troubles" explanation. Sheep dog exhibition, Ulster American Folk Park and the two times we flew Falcons.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of this journey. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department and someone will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

shellsekr

Disappointing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was my 5th trip and disappointIng. As a solo traveler, other tour guides have made the experiences more inclusive. This was not done on this trip and the level of participation from the tour guide was low.

review_img

Sharon McNamara

Ireland small tours- 14 days

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our first Tauck tour and we were very excited as so many of our friends recommended this company. While we met many amazing people on this tour, the tour itself was lacking. Too much time spent on a bus, most of our pictures were taken as the bus zipped by. The itinerary changed and we did not stay or tour the castle.

Most Memorable Moment:

The best moments were when we left the tour and either golfed or toured on our own. Out of 14 days we only had 4 local tour guides, for the price I would hire local driver and car if we were to go again. The hotels and food were good.

review_img

DianeGerardi

Small groups best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Great hotels- our favorite was the Merrion. More accessible area to sights than the Westin. Fun and interesting adventures in all the different cities. Very comfortable ride on the beautiful coach. Enough free time to explore ourselves. I would only spend one night in Belfast. Felt there was not enough to do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the Giants causeway.

review_img

Stephen in NJ

EXCELLENT!! - TAUCK IS TOP NOTCH!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our 1st Tauck tour and it was the best trip we've ever been on! Ireland is a beautiful country, the food (and dairy products!!) are great and the people are extremely welcoming. With Tauck, we were amazed at how organized and thoroughly planned everything was. During the entire trip, we did not want for anything.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Irish landscapes that we saw will stay in my mind's eye forever. But, what I'll remember most of all are the Irish people, the beautiful Irish cities and towns, the food, the other members of our tour group, our tour director(great!), our bus driver (excellent!) and sharing it all with my lovely wife.

review_img

Hops

The Emerald Isle

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Two weeks with a small group of 24. Received ample support from tour guide and bus driver, who managed to maneuver narrow two lane roads despite bicycles, others buses and steep embankments. Interesting variety of activities and all the food you could possibly eat. Weather was excellent and showed Ireland off at her best.

Most Memorable Moment:

A visit to Kylemore Abbey was the most memorable, among many.

review_img

Wils23

Ireland Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Great trip, Excellent tour director. Much information and a good itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle was the highlight

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button