TravelerReviews

A Week In... Scotland

review_img

Ramblin

Lots of Scotland packed into one week

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

In only a week we saw many of the highlights of Scotland with 2 and 3 night stays everywhere so no constant packing and unpacking. Great accommodations and food and well planned activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two - 1. the falconry demonstration. We had a most entertaining and witty Scotsman. We learn lots about birds of prey and had the opportunity to get up close and personal with them. We were entertained by this Scotsman the whole time - fantastic. 2. Scottish Night with Bagpipes, Scottish dancers and the ubiquitous Haggis

review_img

Linda Kramer

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

My 2nd Tauck tour, brought my lifelong friend Marie to celebrate our 70th birthdays. Since we always wanted to visit Scotland and are big Outlander fans we thought this was our time to go. We had a wonderful tour director and driver, along with excellent local guides. It was a lovely week and we also had terrific co-travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention. Got wonderful pictures from a memorable trip.

review_img

Amwood

Great trip in Scotland including the Tattoo

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We had a terrific Tour Director who made our trip fun and educational with her stories without feeling like a classroom. We had a bird of prey exhibition and working sheepdog experience that made our trip different from the other tours. We would strongly recommend Tauck Tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having an eagle rest on my arm and a falcom land on my arm. Watching sheep dogs herd sheep into a corral.

review_img

Lloydbs

Excellent Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Very enjoyable. Our Tauck Tour Director was excellent. She kept us moving along with a smile and lots of information and tips for our visits. The choice of sights was very good. The hotels in Glasgow and Edinburgh were very good. The one in Inverness ok but not at the level of the other two.

Most Memorable Moment:

No question, it was the Tattoo in Edinburgh. Great spectacle and a lot of fun.

review_img

PeterLiss

A week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

My wife and I really enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was fantastic and took care of our every need. Her commentary and suggestions were outstanding. As for the itinerary, it was magnificent, especially because it included the tattoo. The only suggestions we would make is that you provide a more comfortable bus & go deeper in the highlands.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Tattoo for the second time.

review_img

EdwardMartinez

Scotland was great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We saw much of what makes Scotland Scotland. Big cities to small villages were on the agenda. Falconry was a treat as was the shearing of a sheep. The support provided by the Tour Director when I left my dress shirts in a hotel was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Edinburg Military Tattoo has to rank high as memorable moment. I also rank high the ability to handle birds of prey and being involved with working sheep dogs.

review_img

JanetMcghee

edinburgh

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We arrived Glasgow. Room not ready so missed the barcrawl and hop on hop off bus and didn't see Glasgow. Trip proceeded to go well and was organized and did everything promised. However, I discovered we were each billed $125 "agent fees" on our credit card. Tauck agent claims these are not "agent fees" but airline fees for gas and taxes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Liked the falconry exhibition.

review_img

Jonijf

The BEST time ever!!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We had the most wonderful trip on our week in Scotland tour. Everything was top notch, first class and we could not have asked for better. We loved our hotels and the tours were excellent. Our guide was A++ in every way and we can’t thank her enough for making our tour so spectacular.

Most Memorable Moment:

We most loved our “Scottish Night” where we were taught how to assemble a kilt. That was great. We also especially loved the “Birds of Prey” demonstration. We loved our meals, our hotels, our tours and our guide. The ONLY “critique” is that we would like our bus to have WiFi. Our previous bus had that and it was a real plus.

review_img

David Teichert

Haggis & the Highlands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Great people. Great tour guide. Nice schedule. Taxing enough but not too taxing. Started in Glascow with a "Hop on / Hop Off" bus / Pub tour. Saw some castles and estates along the way. Spent a good couple of days in Inverness and ended up in Edinburgh. Wow! This was our 2nd tour. We will definitely have a 3rd & 4th.

Most Memorable Moment:

The side bar trips were especially informative, interesting, and fun. We went with a guide to some stones / old burial ground. We spent a few hours with an expert Falconer where many of us got to hold the birds. Then there was Neil the shepherd. His demonstration with the sheep dogs, sheep, and puppies was amazing.

review_img

Jackie Teichert

Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Trip was fantastic! Our tour guide was phenomenal; offered loads of information as we made our way to various destinations. Lucked out with amazing weather and no rain for most of the trip. Tauck did a great job at making sure the major highlights of the country were seen and had great local guides throughout. Wonderful trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

We made a stop at a B&B/former hunting lodge for lunch on the way to the Highlangs - AMAZING! This was a hidden gem and location most likely that would not have been found if touring on your own. Owner came out to greet everyone and we had the place to ourselves.

review_img

raggedy ann

a week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

I knew Scotland was a beautiful country but I was astounded at its charm and breathtaking views. The people were so friendly, helpful and happy to meet us. The trip was perfectly planned by Tauck and our tour director, always smiling, was knowledgeable, efficient and fun to be with.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was memorable; but for me, it had to be the sheep herding by the beautiful black and white border collies and their loving Shepherd. The dogs happily greeted us with tails wagging along with several of their puppies . With whistles, shouts and hand gestures the exuberant dogs were off to corral sheep grazing in the distance.

review_img

Malik

Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Great trip and introduction to Scotland. Incredible scenery and castles.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking along the Royal Mile in Edinburgh.

review_img

BillandSue

Great Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The Week in Scotland trip was fantastic. Our first trip with Tauck and it was everything we hoped it to be. The Tour Director's laid back (but efficient) approach to the tour was great. The hotels and meals were A-one. The only "downside" was wish we had more time at St. Andrews.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. A couple of standouts: lunch at the cottage overlooking Loch Lochy, the young girl singing "Hallalujeh" at Inverness dinner, and final dinner at The Balmoral in Edinburgh.

review_img

Johncal trips

Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We absolutely LOVED our trip to Scotland. We totally enjoyed the people we traveled with and the historical sites we visited. The history of Scotland is so interesting and being there made it all come alive. Tauck takes the worry out of travel and allows you to experience unique events that would be very difficult to arrange on your own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved it all.

review_img

marymertic

Scotland beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Wonderful weather (yes! In Scotland) and fellow travelers. We had a wonderful seasoned director who does her job well. Even though we were a large group (42) things still went smoothly. Food and accommodations were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say.....as an Outlander fan....just seeing this country in person after reading so much about it did not disappoint. The highlands especially.

review_img

Grammy3

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We had a great time, the weather was exceptional only one day of rain but it did not stop us. The food as always first rate. Accommodations were great. Cameron House could have had better lighting in the room for hair and makeup! In the Highlands our guide was so informative and related the history with such emotion I won't forget him

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing St. Andrews Golf Course and playing 18 holes on the putting green! And of course the Tattoo.

review_img

Janania

Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

First experience in Scotland. I was so impressed with the people in Scotland. So very pleasant. My favorite phrase I heard, "No worry."

Most Memorable Moment:

On a very rainy day, we watched a shepard work his dogs herding the sheep. I never thought of seeking shelter. Such an art!

review_img

Trebor

A week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Our trip was very enjoyable and well organized by the director who did a marvelous job. The hotels were top notch with excellent service in most cases. This was our 3rd tour in 3 years but our first outside of North America with a totally different venue. We enjoyed it very much

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many enjoyable moments including the tour of Holyrood Palace, a demonstration of sheep herding with border collies, and Stirling Castle. However, we truly enjoyed the Military Tatoo program at Edinburgh the most. A very spectacular program.

review_img

Lewis Gravely

High Living in the Highlands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

My wife and I loved our Week in Scotland. The hotels and food were both wonderful (food was perhaps a bit too plentiful - I would suggest some more lighter venues such as Culloden House Tea Room). All of the sights were gorgeous. Our guide and driver were perfect. On our own, we visited the Royal Yacht Britannia in Edinburgh - really classy.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo was truly spectacular. The Culloden battlefield was tremendously evocative. The Royal Yacht Britannia in Edinburgh, while not on the regular trip itinerary, probably should be, at least an an option. The Britannia is very well put together and presented - well worth the time and price of admission. All fabulous!

review_img

fran408

Awesome!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We loved the beautiful, rugged Highlands as well as the castle tours. We enjoyed learning about clan tartans and Scottish kilts. The sheep dog demonstration was one of the highlights of our trip. Of course, all of the sightseeing and experiences were made that much memorable by sharing these experiences with the people on our tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Military Tattoo was definitely the best experience of our trip. We'll remember it forever!

review_img

Susan Traveler

My week in Scotland!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was my sixth trip with Tauck. It was a nice trip, but I think that I liked the other trips a bit better. The Scottish people were very kind and helpful. Our morning of departure we were a bit disappointed. We were told that a breakfast boxes would be ready, and they weren't. The bellmen did all they could. We survived, so no problem.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Palace and castles were fantastic! I loved the green countryside.

review_img

Mgbte

Changed my Life

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

My family heritage is Scottish ... going on this trip was very important to me, having never visited the "Old Sod" before. I was not disappointed. In fact, the trip surpassed all expectation. Not only was the small group option ideal but our fellow travelers were terrific.

Most Memorable Moment:

Culloden ... I wish we had more time there. It was powerful. My family's clan fought there. Very moving.

review_img

Nancy Wilson

Scotland with some Grands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We decided several years ago that we would rather spend our grandchildrens inheritance by building relationships with them than leaving it to them after we pass. Taucks 2017 Week in Scotland is our second trip with grandchildren. This time we took the two 14-year-olds and a 12-year-old. Tauck was its usual perfect tour, as were the Grands!

Most Memorable Moment:

The conversation at dinner each night after a day of activity was always memorable and special.

review_img

Ann scott

Only the best! Scotland❤️

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Tauck will spoil you for life. This was my second trip with Tauck and it of course exceeded all expectations. The best private venues-loved the sheep dog demonstration and farm- and the best facilities for hotels. Who does not love a five star accommodation and never handling your bag. Service and more service. Our guide was just amazing!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing the music of Amazing Grace and a toast at the Comando Memorial and war memorial. Also singing Loch Lomond while driving through the forest. Who could forget our piper and haggis.

review_img

jacoffey

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This week long trip was a nice mix of history, culture and scenery in Scotland. Our guide was fantastic and the tour was great. As usual, very satisfied with my Tauck vacation.

review_img

fredmessing

Scotland tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Well planned and executed trip overall. Local tour guides and bus driver excellent. Most sights very good; a few just OK. Tour guide pleasant and efficient. Main gripe: wasted first day early arrival. Lead to believe we could visit Glasgow, but hotel was much too far away. @$75+ cab fare each way! We just sat around for 8 hours waiting for room.

Most Memorable Moment:

Very nice group; enjoyed the camaraderie. Great highlands scenery.

review_img

JHarrison

Another wonderful Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

A great introduction to Scotland. Beautiful scenery in the Highlands. Reminded us of being in the Alps. Once again, our Tauck tour guide made the trip for us. She was very attentive to individual needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

3 such moments. The border collie demonstration was truly amazing. Being guided by a Scottish gentleman while visiting Inverness was a treat. Then, my long (and difficult) run around Arthur's Seat in Edinburgh had some of the most beautiful views on the trip. And, it is always nice to become acquainted with the other Tauck tour members.

review_img

Dick Braun

Outstanding Tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was a truly excellent tour and Tour Director- we saw so much, learned so much; and were taken care of every step of the way. Tauck has done an outstanding job of selecting sights and activities that provide a good sampling of Scotland in only a week; enough to learn and decide where to come back to on a future trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, but some that stick out include: the wonderful welcome reception held on a boat cruise on Loch Lomond; hearing about the history of the kilt and having one of our group selected to be dressed in a kilt; the surprise visit to Leault Farm's working sheepdogs; and finally, the Edinburgh Military Tattoo, with truly great seats!

review_img

Silverfox40

A week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was our third trip with Tauck and again everything occurred without a single hitch, as far as we know. Our Tour Director did an outstanding job with all arrangements and the schedule. Weather was very near perfect for August, according to her, and made the experience even better.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to choose but we would probably narrow it to two. First would be the Culloden Battlefield because we stood in the same area where my wife's ancestor from the Clan, a Jacobite, fought at the Battle of Culloden, survived and promptly got on a ship at Inverness and sailed to the Virginia Colony in 1745. Military Tattoo was also

review_img

NLM

Spoiled and loved it!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our 1st Tauck tour! We are spoiled now! From the car picked up at the airport to the luggage handling throughout the trip to the ride back to the airport-everything was taken care of. Would have liked move free time to enjoy the different areas on our own. Didn't like days when we had 3 meals & 2 were like dinner meals. Planning next Tauck tour!!

Most Memorable Moment:

At the dinner in Inverness, we had a lovely lady who told us the history of the kilts. My husband "volunteered" to be part of the kilt wearing demo and hands down that made the evening!! We also loved our local guide at the Blair Castle. He really brought to life the history of the castle. Absolutely loved Edinburgh...a fascinating city!

review_img

Lindacw

I love Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Scotland is my favorite place in the world.....the trip was great but I would have liked to have spent at least one night in Glasgow This is my first Tauck experience where the Tour Director didn't pass an email address list though so we could all keep in touch

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in magical Edinburgh

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the overall itinerary. Your comments will be taken into consideration for future tours.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GaryVA

Ireland and Scotland Tours Combined

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We combined the Ireland and Scotland tours back-to-back. Great way to see both countries. Tauck does a fabulous job on these tours and organizes each day with a good variety of activities and places to visit. Lodging, meals and tour buses are all first class. Tour directors are extremely knowledgable and helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburgh - what a great city. Attended the Military Tattoo which is a fantastic event. Enjoyed seeing all of the various castles and landscapes, especially the drive through the Highlands.

review_img

gngal

Delightful trip in scenic country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was our 10th Tauck tour and sure enough it proved to be a delightful experience. Beautiful scenery. Exquisite castles and gardens. Lots of history. We enjoyed the excellent hotels, good food, informative tours, free museums. Happy we added a day to see Glasgow plus an extra day to see Edinburgh in depth.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburgh Military Tattoo performance - amazing spectacle, jaw-dropping, an absolute must! Great tour for lovers of historic castles and fortresses: Blair, Holyrood, Cawdor, Stirling, Edinburgh castle.

review_img

Rob Roy

First impression was very poor.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We arrived from the U.S. at our host hotel early in the morning to find no room available. It was early afternoon before we got a room. The hours of waiting were horrible. No place to sleep; only the public restroom available to us; no access to our luggage. This "luxury" tour started badly. Just when hospitality was really needed, we got none.

Most Memorable Moment:

review_img

crackers54

A week in Scotland-not enough

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

My favorite part other than the tattoo was my extension before and after to Skye and Aberdeen. I felt seeing both coasts was the best part of my trip. On the Tauck part of trip I was moved at Culloden and loved sheep demonstration. I was lucky they had a bad few months of weather, but my 2 1/2 weeks was good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the people in Scotland. I took lots of public transportation and found the people so willing to help. Even in line to get something to eat they would start a conversation. Best city I went to was little town called Stonehaven. Was very nice Sunday and had best fish and chips at place called Bay Fish and Chips, local favorite.

review_img

VandD

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip surpassed all expectations. Loch Lomond is beautiful. Every castle we visited was interesting, Culloden Battlefield was moving, and how can you beat seeing the Edinburgh Military Tattoo? The weather even cooperated most of the time. We only had one day of real rain, otherwise we might have had a drizzle.

Most Memorable Moment:

When we were in Inverness, we had a Scottish Highland evening. We didn't know that our tour director had "volunteered" my husband to help demonstrate the Great Kilt. Seeing my husband as a Jacobite Highlander was truly an experience that will last in my memory.

review_img

FShartzer

8 days in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Wonderful tour of Scotland, with all of the highlights!

Most Memorable Moment:

An unannounced stop at a working sheepherding farm, complete with a demonstration.

review_img

Capn Jim

Best of Scotland June 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Yes, this trip was great! I feel that we saw all the most important places and had excellent experiences. The tauck Director was terrific and the coach driver was a true professional. All hotels were outstanding as were the local guides, especially the one at Culloden. Warmer than expected. Minimal rain. I highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Scottish evening at Inverness, although the falconry at Cameron House was highly entertaining. The scotch at Glenturret Distillery was great. The beauty of the Highlands is not exaggerated; would like to have had the opportunity for more pictures. Culloden, Clava Cairns & Corriegour Lodge were excellent & touching.

review_img

Beauly2015

A Great Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This trip was enjoyable as well as educational. The natural beauty of Scotland was awesome, the history fascinating, the architecture beautiful, and the people friendly. Our tour director and bus driver were outstanding. We wished for more time at Stirling and Edinburgh Castles. Hotels were lovely, but our room at the Balmoral was very small.

Most Memorable Moment:

We chose this tour because we wanted to spend time in Inverness. We thoroughly enjoyed "Scottish Night" and the gentleman playing the bagpipes. Culloden was very moving, and afternoon tea at Culloden House was a wonderful treat. We had a great time with our fellow travelers; the whole experience exceeded our expectations.

review_img

babrick

Delightful trip in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our tour covered all the high points of Scotland including some unusual experiences such as a birds of prey demonstration, sheep herding demo at a local farm. Our tour group was small, at 23, which made the tour intimate and enabled us to get to know the other Taulk quests. At our farewell dinner, we all hugged and said our goodbyes!

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the scenery at every turn, the castles, birds of prey, sheepherding demo, learning about tartans and the origins of the kilt, the battlefields..not to mention the accomodations and wonderful food.

review_img

ThomasCrews

Spectacular Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

What a great trip. I would say 5 stars except I save those for what the fifth star say's, Best vacation ever. Well this was close...very close. So many wonderful sights, memories, etc. We loved it all. History all over the place. As ever, Tauck gives you a taste of local color, in this case a demonstration of working border collies. 5stars

Most Memorable Moment:

Border collie demonstration was good. Just the overall experience was wonderful and Edinburgh was special. Our guide there was super. That would be my high light if you held my feet to the fire. The guide in Inverness was wonderful as well.

review_img

Arpante

Spectactular Scotland!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

What a remarkable journey thru magnificent vistas! During one special moment there was total silence on our coach as everyone marveled at the reflection on the loch of the surrounding highland - absolutely breathtaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch at Corriegour Lodge - Every element was Totally Tauck - a true treasure!

review_img

Harris Leven

Ireland, Scotland, and Tauck - A Magnificent Combination!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My wife and I embarked on Tauck’s “A Week in Ireland,” immediately followed by “A Week in Scotland.” While Ireland and Scotland have much in common, each has its own unique joys. Where else can you compare whiskEY to whiskY and have such fun doing it! Plus the little extras that Tauck added to the journeys made the overall trip that much better.

Most Memorable Moment:

For my wife, it was the beautiful countryside of Ireland and the friendliness of the people, particularly the couple we met on a visit to a family dairy farm. For me, it was in Scotland with the dramatic scenery of the Highlands and the historical magnificence of its castles and the sites in Edinburgh.

review_img

auntiemac

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was a well-planned tour, with variety and something for everyone. Cameron House, the Tauck lodging first 2 nights, was beautiful and comfortable, as was Kingsmill in Inverness. Both Tour Director and local guides outstanding. Enjoyed other people on trip and chances to meet the locals. Glad I had extra time Edinburgh after tour ended.

Most Memorable Moment:

Especially enjoyed Cawdor Castle and Culloden Battlefield near Inverness. Also the visit to St. Andrews and strolling the town. Also watching sheepdogs do their thing!

review_img

Christina Pamela Grimley

A Week inScotland

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

It was terrific. The tour director and driver were great. The hotels were all lovely and the scenery in Scotland was magnificent! The guest on the tour were friendly and pleasant. As I was traveling alone, this was very important.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of the highlands. Also being in Scotland during such an historic time with the vote for independence pending, it was exciting.

review_img

Katharine

Keep Calm and Love Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Captivating castles and country estates ... and Culloden. The Scottish highlands are matchless in their beauty and serenity. And for a smile, one must taste Glenturret whisky and see the sweet Highland Coo (cow.)

Most Memorable Moment:

I never can choose just one memorable moment among many but visiting the Palace of Holyroodhouse was a long-awaited delight. Or perhaps it was the 'best meal of my life' - including sticky toffee - at the family-run, charming Corriegour Lodge overlooking Loch Lochy.

review_img

merlot46

10 days in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

We just had a great time in Scotland. Must start off by saying that we were very reluctant to go on a bus tour! We have done them with a wine society and found them just not to our liking. However, this was a great tour with Tauck. Everything was very professionally handled from arrival to departure; and of course everything in between.

Most Memorable Moment:

Country side with Falcon presentation, sheering sheep and our great tour guide.

review_img

Doug and Louise

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Once again the Tauck Organization and our terrific Tauck Tour Director looked after every detail to make a wonderful Scotland trip perfect. Tauck tours has made it very easy in that we always know who we are going to travel with - it is just a matter of choosing where we will go! Doug & Louise Hikade

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Military Tattoo at the Edinburgh Castle. WOW.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed you journey and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to have you on tour with us again soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Butterzfly

Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

My favorite vacation ever was to Scotland with Tauck. I cannot speak highly enough of this trip. The landscapes, castles, music, accommodations, highlands, Edinburgh, Loch Lomond, Loch Ness, the cairns, the folklore, falconry, the food & drink, the Tattoo & Fringe. Breathtaking, emotional, educational, fun. Magical!!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many highlights, but the Tattoo at the Edinburgh castle at night was it for me. Tauck got us the best seats. The music was so powerful and the performers so talented. Nothing like a "million" fully outfitted bagpipers marching together with a light show on the castle walls in the background. The whole evening capped by fireworks. Wow.

review_img

terizim

we loved scotland!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

tauck makes every trip (we've been on 8) so enjoyable and worry-free. you always know you will be in the finest hotels and rooms, seeing the most important & interesting sights, with a lovely group of people. scotland was so beautiful, the people genuinely friendly and helpful, and the food was good, too.

Most Memorable Moment:

standing on swilcan bridge in st. andrews. we also got to see the tattoo. that was amazing!

review_img

Gvtraveler

Great time; great host; great co-travelers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

All-in this was a fantastic trip. We were a bit skeptical as we were traveling with three teenagers. Well, there were other "kids" in the group so they had a great time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was the sheep herding. I know, I know, how "lamb" but it was great!

review_img

Travelers

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We combined this trip with a Week in Ireland. We flew from Dublin to Glasgow and toured Scotland for a week. As we look back, it was a great idea to do the two tours consecutively. Scotland was a real treat for us. We debated which country was nicer, but concluded it is in the eye of the beholder. Both Ireland and Scotland are neat.

Most Memorable Moment:

We thought our Tour Director was one of the most organized Tauck Directors we had encountered. The stop at a sheep ranch to see the border collies in action was a special treat for us. We also enjoyed the time at St. [Employee Name]. Edinburgh was very interesting and staying at the Balmoral Hotel was special. The Highlands of Scotland are spectacular.

review_img

RByrne

Six stars out of five in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Itinerary and local guides excellent, food and lodging first rate, comfortable coach and excellent driver. Keith, our tour manager was attentive and 'herded the cats' really well! The trip exceeded our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The falconer and birds at Cameron House and the sheepdogs and of course sheep!!

review_img

HGreene

8 days in Scotland...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The weather was typical for the region, but we did have some beautiful rainbows and sunny days! It was true, if you don't like the weather just wait a minute! Our local guides were fantastic! They truly made history come alive. Hats off to Keith and Chic for getting us from spot to spot without feeling rushed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The memories all hold a special place in my heart. From the tour of Stirling Castle on the 500th anniversary of the Battle of Flodden, which also happened to coincide with the 470th anniversary of the coronation of Mary Queen of Scots at the age of 9 mos., to the falconry and sheepdog exhibits! Just fantastic!

review_img

BCork

Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I think Keith did a fabulous job of making us into a unit. The itinerary was wonderful. I think we did as much as we could reasonably do in one week.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. Loved the sheep dogs and Edinburgh Castle. The food was outstanding. But my favorite thing may have been learning the history of the tartans -- the fact that there were no designated clan tartans until sometime around 1840.

review_img

JDean

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Such a beautiful country with very lovely people! The pace of travel was just right and we had exceptionally sunny weather most of the time. Just enough of the typical misty mornings to take photos ... Enjoyed rainbows several times. Our guide, Keith [Employee Name], is an organized and fun director... He really made us feel like "His family".

Most Memorable Moment:

Several! Lunch at Corriegour Lodge was delightful and gave us a good chance to mingle. The other "surprise" was the stop at the working sheep dog farm ... Fun and interesting! Every stop to get out of the bus was enjoyable ... Taking photos, shopping and getting to know the locals ... All in the wonderfully refreshing Scottish air!!!

review_img

LIngold

Scotland - 7 day

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This tour was well planned, hotels and meals were 1st class. We especially enjoyed the "surprise" piece (shepherd - border collie demonstration) added to the itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Shepherd - border collie demonstration - herding sheep.

review_img

Tom O

The Only Way to See Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was excellent on every level - from the rooms to food to transportation. Our Tour Director - Keith [Employee Name] was knowledgeable, accommodating, and had a great sense of humor. Our driver "Chick" was able to handle narrow Scottish lanes with great still and maintained our feelings of security. Our local tour guides were the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had a great time visiting the working sheep farm with unbelievable sheep dogs.

review_img

BDauer

Scotland Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Great Tour director-very informative and fun personality. Great travel companions. Scenery and cities visited were just magnificent. This is our second tour with Tauck. Just and excellent organization. Consistently produce quality tours

Most Memorable Moment:

The sheep herding exhibit. Never expected it. Very interesting and memorable.

review_img

salsno

Beloved Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

#1 on my places to visit & this tour fulfilled my every wish. The itinerary is 1st class yet relaxed & full from day one. The beauty and culture of Scotland is brought to you via driving thru this incredibly beautiful country and given time to visit. The tour was unforgettable. I think about it every day. I left my heart in Scotland and will return

Most Memorable Moment:

Our time at Stirling Castle. My first castle & I wasn't disappointed. The private local guide was excellent. It was a beautiful day & we had plenty of time to wander. The restoration work here is outstanding. Don't miss the gift shop of which GB is outstanding at! Stirling sits on a hill & the surrounding area will take your breath away!

review_img

RMcDonald

One Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The sights & sounds will be remembered: bagpipers, seagulls, pastoral scenes & the hum of city sounds in Edinburgh.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Tattoe & watching the border collies herd were highlights.

review_img

MGaida

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

For us, it was a "once in a lifetime" trip. Scotland was beautiful in every way. Tauck provided us with unique opportunities to see & experience places/sites we'd never be able to see on our own. The coach ride, the hotels and the restaurants were five star all the way. The coach driver was particularly outstanding!! The only drawback was the size.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was visiting a sheep farm, watching 15 Border Collies responding to the farmer's signals. They herded an otherwise scattered group of large black faced sheep into a perfectly straight line. The dogs returned to us & they laid down in a straight line themselves, again following their leader's commands. Beautiful!!

review_img

VHofstetter

First and Last trip with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

It was very disappointing, from the first to the last. I will never travel with you again and I will not recommend you to friends or family. Our hotel rooms were on the 3rd floor, I have asthma, and no elevators, dinner reservations were changed without telling us and on one occasion the restaurant had NO record of us (about 15).

Most Memorable Moment:

The Military Tattoo

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very sorry that this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

stiles clan

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Fellow travelers were wonderful. Hotels wonderful with Cameron House the best. Motorcoach was enjoyable and comfortable - driver was excellent. Travel itinerary captured the essence of Scotland in the time allotted. Suggest dropping the distillery tour and see Glasgow or the underground in Edinburgh. Saw Blair St Vaults on our own - GREAT.

Most Memorable Moment:

The bagpipe, dancing, and kilt demos at Inverness. Also the tattoo at Edinburgh Castle.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed you journey and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gregory

A Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

The trip was very enjoyable in the fact that the accommodations were what I would say were 5 star. The Tour Director had complete knowledge of the various facets of the Country. He attended to our comforts by having a cold bottle of water on the couch for each traveler.

Most Memorable Moment:

The working Border Collie dog demonstration as to how they would constantly herd the sheep in their responsibility. The Scottish Countryside was most magnificent of rolling green pastures.

review_img

Married guy

Week in Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

We had a fantastic week, both weather and accommodations were great. Very tolerable schedule. Tattoo was spectacular. As we have learned, Tauck takes no shortcuts, providing superior accommodations and food compared to other venders we have used in the past.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlands portion of the trip was spectacular but was equaled by Edinburgh castle and the Tattoo

review_img

anabaptist

Scotland Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

This tour was much more than I expected. The country was very interesting. Our guide was very knowledgable and I must say one of the best we have ever had. I would highly recommend Scotland as a beautiful place to visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traveling through the Highlands was the highlight of the trip. I can still see the beautiful green hills in my mind.

review_img

Leigh

Great Overview of Scotland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2011

A great trip! It did a wonderful job of hitting all of the highlights, and I thoroughly enjoyed everywhere we visited. I absolutely loved the first hotel, Cameron House. I do wish the tour director had better explained the history and been a little more organized near the end, but it worked out okay.

Most Memorable Moment:

The drive to Glen Coe. Also, sitting in the Great Scots Bar at Cameron House looking out over Loch Lomond.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button