TravelerReviews

The Best of Ireland

review_img

knitlove

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

From start to finish this trip is a gem. Every hotel, the food and the drink is so typical of Irish hospitality. And then there's your guide. He is the ultimate tour director. Providing us with clear direction, wonderful stories, and his knowledge of history, things could not have been better. It's the complete package.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments but I will say our most memorable moment is the visit to the dairy farm and our stay at Mt. Juliet. (We stayed and extra night there, I highly recommend it.)

review_img

JanetCreedon

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The trip encompassed every part of Ireland and the tour director was very personable and informative. We saw many facets of the country and cities. If you want a comprehensive tour of Ireland...this is it!

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty and grandeur of the Antrim coast, Connemara, the Cliffs of Moher and the ring of Kerry. Awesome scenery!

review_img

Joseph Sabol

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Our trip to Ireland was “lovely”! Our tour director was outstanding. Our bus driver was an outstanding bus 🚌 driver, perhaps the best of our ten trips with Tauck. He maneuvered the narrow roads with exemplary skill. The land and the people were beautiful. All the experiences we had were memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

1.MolannaView Dairy Farm, Paddy and Margaret were wonderful 2.Sheep and sheep dog demonstration 3.Falconry demonstration and participation was the best moment Worst: food poisoning; wonderful care at Royal Victoria Hospital ER

review_img

GwynnWardwell

Ireland 18

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

36 individuals inncluding myself; excellent Tour leader and wonderful bus driver. I had heard many positive comments about Ireland from friends and family and was anxious to see for myself. I really like the fact that we saw the country from top to bottom, side to side. Many experiences were totally unexpected - and welcomed.

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't think that there was a memorable first, just total enjoyment with everything I saw and did; giant's causeway, ring of KErry, cliffs of Moher, the farm,sheep herder, meals, fellowship.

review_img

Margo Berger

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Some additional components to add to the trip: More exposure: Ancient ruins and a castle or two. Great houses are 'great' but perhaps we saw one too many. Commerce ,Trade and Geopolitical Issues A demo & session with a leading Irish Chef about history & direction of Irish Cuisine Trip too ambitious! 8 Hotels in 14 days. Came home exhausted!

Most Memorable Moment:

The morning spent with the sheep herder giving instructions to his two dogs. I videoed part of the demo and have viewed it many times! Being introduced to falconry was special and I will look for future opportunities!

review_img

MichaelLichtman

Gran Tour of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

You really get a full experience of all facets of Ireland. From religion and politics, to history, economics, and geology it is a great experience. The food, as always, is wonderful and the hotel well located and beautiful. Some hotels are on old estates. Our guide was very knowledge of the region and culture. Flawless trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating dinner in some cars from the original Orient Express on the grounds of the Glenlo Hotel. My wife is a mystery fan so we watched the "Murder on the Orient Express" movie after dinner in the hotel's theater.

review_img

Ray Knowles

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We stayed at wonderful hotels and enjoyed fine food. Unfortunately, while were in the bus, which was a lot of the time, we were in an American bubble. I cannot praise our Tauck Director enough, she did an outstanding job, BUT she is not Irish. What the trip lacked was an Irish person who was in a position to answer kind of questions Tauck travelers asked.

Most Memorable Moment:

That is hard to say. I'd been to Ireland before and saw more features of the country on ten day trip than we saw on this one.

review_img

Lotus

Tauck does a class job, but the "team," not so much

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Everything Tauck did (July 14-28, 2018) was outstanding. But I was disappointed with the part of the trip out of control of our tour leader--people on the trip. At least 2 were behaving like little kids with their cameras: using the flash inside the bus (in our faces), and ignoring dress code requests. The group was just too large and too diverse.

Most Memorable Moment:

The falconry activity at Mount Juliet Estate. Fantastic!

review_img

Gary Mobley

Ireland 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Fantastic two week tour of Ireland. Beautiful scenery, friendly and helpful residents, a fun people, great tour director and bus driver, and an interesting history of Ireland. Tauck’s surprises are always fun and anticipated. It was a perfect trip to celebrate my 75th birthday. Thank you, Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

My opportunity to experience falconry at Mt. Juliet Resort.

review_img

gailsilke

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

It was great!

Most Memorable Moment:

The places we went were interesting and fun to see. Our tour guide was most knowledgeable and pleasant to be with. Thank you!

review_img

WayneBeeder

Ireland Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Compliments to Tauck, our tour director, and our coach driver for a wonderful two weeks in the Ireland’s. The outstanding selection of local guides, hotel/resorts and the comprehensive itinerary speaks volumes about the company. This was our 6th Tauck tour and we now look forward to joining you once again in Canada.

Most Memorable Moment:

The joy of being the guest of the Irish people and the beautiful scenery throughout the countryside.

TAUCK RESPONSE

we are so glad you enjoyed this beautiful country. We look forward to hosting you on your next Tauck journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LMoroz

Loved the 2 weeks in Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We had the best tour director....she was a wealth of knowledge about Ireland and never left us wanting for anything. Thanks so very much - larry and susie moroz

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several: The Cliffs of Moher, The Falconry experience, The People's Folk Park, The lunch at the Dairy farm, The local female guide in LondonDerry...we learned so much about the conflicts. and all the other events during the 2 week visit.

review_img

Binka Schwan

Amazing Ireland Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The trip was wonderful. Not only did we see the highlights of each city we visited, but we experienced the Irish people, their history, and how they live. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and gave us more information than I can ever possibly remember!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day provided a memorable moment, but I think for me there were two that I would single out. I loved the sheep herding demonstration and the fact that I was able to do falconry. Those special experiences made the trip extra-special as I know I would not be able to see or do those things without being with Tauck!

review_img

MikeHenderson

Well Done Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Need more than 350 characters to do a review. Decent tour, Tauck does everything right. Just not that much really interesting on the tour. I was glad to see Ireland but probably won't go back. Tour Director not the best. I blogged the trip-you can see it at http://www.mikeandjudytravel.com/2018Ireland-01.htm

Most Memorable Moment:

Playing golf at Lough Erne (not a Tauck event). Very nice course.

review_img

LindaNeal

Trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We had a fantastic guide who gave us a fountain of information. It was very informative and entertaining! Of course the landscape and views were incredible and we were so very fortunate that we did not get much rain, so we had great visibility for the majority of our trip! We absolutely loved everything about our time in Ireland!!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved speaking to those who were from Ireland. We met them in pubs, stores and even on the street when we needed help with directions. They were SO friendly! The Cliffs of Moher was spectacular as was Kylemore Abbey-both of them were breathtaking!! However, our tour guide made our trip seamless! She was fantastic!

review_img

Cathy Barnes

First time Ireland/First time Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our tour was top notch from start to finish with 5 star hotels like Mt. Juliet and Ashford Castle. Excellent meals from casual lunch stops to formal dining rooms. Never tired of the picturesque scenery. We enjoyed our fellow travellers, and our director and driver are likely still chuckling at the fun our group had throughout the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There wasn't one memorable moment - it was a memorable trip! Walking with falcons through the woods at Ashford Castle, outstanding views of the countryside whether driving along tranquil pastures with grazing sheep to crashing surf along the rugged coastline, touring Kylemore Abbey, and the Titanic exhibit were only some of the highlights!

review_img

BudRae17

Best Of Ireland, September, 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The trip was fantastic, start to finish. From our arrival in Shannon to our departure from Dublin, everything went like clock work. The hotels/rooms we had were outstanding as were the stops along the bus routes we traveled. Our guide/"den mother" was a walking encyclopedia of facts, stories and anecdotes of Irish history, geography, etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole trip was memorable with lots of highlights. What sticks in our minds the most is the diverse geological areas like the Causeway, Cliffs of Mohr, the Barrens. We didn't expect to see such sites. We always associated Ireland with green pastures and grazing fields ala "the Quiet Man." It turned out to be far more rugged than we thought.

review_img

Carol 2408

18th Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our jaunt through Ireland was terrific - up to Tauck's standards with the amazing hotels (Ashford Castle!!), excellent food, great TD and the best local guides. It was a busy two weeks but a good way to see rural and urban environments. The country is beautiful and the people are really glad to see tourists. Great group of fellow travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many: Hawk walk (twice), Antrim coast, Titanic museum and dinner, commaraderie between TD and guest travelers, Ring of Kerry, Waterford glass tour, approach to Ashford Castle by boat. Paddy & Margaret, Ulster American Folk Park, sheep dog demo., etc., etc.

review_img

njtravelers

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our trip was fantastic! The hotels we stayed at & the food were beyond expectation. Was very surprised and disappointed that wine & beer at dinner were not included,esp. that we had to pay for a lot of lunches & a couple of dinners on our own (difficult splitting bills with fellow diners as they only gave us 1 check).

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle was just jaw dropping, and I'll never forget staying there. Mt. Juliet was also very impressive, as were the options given us for our afternoon. I enjoyed high tea, and my husband went on a hawk walk (falconry).

review_img

cruise lover

absolutely loved it!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Ireland is a fantastic place to visit and Tauck as usual, did it brilliantly. The country is gorgeous, the people are delightful and the food is terrific. Our guide and driver were fantastic. I highly recommend the two week version as you see the entire country. It would be a shame to miss any of it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Gosh, it was all the scenery! The ring of Kerry, the Giants Causeway, the Kylemore Abbey area, it was all wonderful. The cliffs of Moher would have been better without driving rain but that happens!

review_img

bldrgal

Back to Roots

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We began with a few extra days to visit the hubby's family farm outside of Ennis. This was our first trip to Ireland. Our Tour begin with one of many of the exceptional hotels that Tauck delivers on this trip. The scenery in Ireland is diverse from the Killarney National Park & it's spectacular elevation to the rolling hills of Dublin.

Most Memorable Moment:

Certainly the falconry experience at Mt Juliet, the wonderful visit to Paddy and Margaret's Farm for a lovely lunch, the spectacular entry and stay at Ashford Castle, the wonderful local guide in Londonderry, etc. Most importantly our Tour guide made the trip so special by her wonderful historical accounts & warm people. A gem!

review_img

George Burn

Best of Ireland whirlwind

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This is truly a comprehensive look at Ireland from one end to the other. Geography and scenery range from wow to great beauty. Hotels are impressive particularly the Ashford Castle where customer service made everything pale in comparison. This is a very busy trip and it can be tiring. There are several two night stays that help recovery.

Most Memorable Moment:

At Ashford Castle we were piped in to the entrance while the staff lined up to greet us like Downton Abbey. It actually made us tears.

review_img

DaveKraft

Irish Royalty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our first Tauck tour and what a way to begin!!! I can't imagine a better way to see Ireland!! I chose the title Irish Royalty because that is how you feel with Tauck. The hotels and tours were all fantastic and the people in our small group were great to be with!

Most Memorable Moment:

Staying at the Ashford Castle and hiking on their property, everyone should spend at least one night at this fabulous castle!! The staff treat everyone like they are foreign dignitaries!!

review_img

TravelingGals

Excellent trip through the Emerald Isle

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

From the moment we arrived, as usual, Tauck pulled out all the stops to give our tour group a truly excellent adventure. A tip of the hat and a big thank you to our tour director. His knowledge and enthusium for Ireland, its culture, history and people was paramount in making our adventure so memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick just one standout moment but if I must, our stay at the Ashford Castle would top my list. Beautiful rooms and gardens and paths to wander; the quaint town of Cong nearby - the boat ride to the castle - what a fairytale!

review_img

MWTravel

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a wonderful tour throughout Ireland. Yes it rained some every day (and my umbrella met its end at the Cliffs of Moher)but it is to be expected. Most of the hotels are outside of towns but have wonderful views and paths to walk on. The countryside is wonderful. Dublin was great, go to the National museum to see Celtic gold!

Most Memorable Moment:

Falconry at Mt Juliet was great. Loved the Cliffs of Moher and Ashford Castle. Enjoyed walking the grounds at Blarney Castle. The Irish people were friendly and food was great (too much at times!).

review_img

scubawife

Green Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Great tour. Lovely people. Loved it all except for a day of rain when visiting Kylemore Abbey. Loved the visit to Paddy at the dairy farm. History Tour of Mt. Juliet was fascinating. Falconry at Ashford was a blast. Loved Ulster American park. Derry, Belfast & Dublin all are interesting. Not enough words "allowed" to say all that I'd like to

Most Memorable Moment:

Blarney Castle, it's iconic! Husband loved Ulster folk park. Titanic dinner at Merchant hotel was wonderful

review_img

RobertTaylor

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Wonderful trip that exceeded all our expectations. Country coverage was as good as could be expected in 14 days. Our Tauck Director did a fantastic job of educating and entertaining everyone. Hotels were excellent as was the service and food (even saw to our allergies). Transportation via our motor coach driver was tops. I have already recommended Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Trinity College and The Books of Kell. Lasting memories of Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry, and Giants Causeway.

review_img

eahoganski

Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Overall we had a very enjoyable trip. Our only real disappointment was that our original itinerary included a stay at Ashford Castle. It was replaced by another hotel. Although the hotel was lovely, Ashford Castle is an icon in most Ireland trips. It would also have been great to visit the Jameson Whiskey distillery.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all wonderful.

review_img

Emanuela

As close to perfect as Tauck could get

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The Best of Ireland truly was the best. Yes, it rained, drizzled or poured every day, but that didn't prevent us from having a whale of a time, whether it was watching the sharp-eyed dogs herd sheep, taking an archery or falconry lesson to visiting awesome sites and staying at truly deluxe accommodations - can't beat Ashford Castle.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't choose just one.

review_img

jhalligan

Unbelievable Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

My husband and I can not say enough about this trip. We were just going through our things, from our trip, last night and remembering all that we did. We really did a huge amount of things and enjoyed every experience. This was our first tour ever and I think we are now very spoiled.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are too many memorable experiences but Falconry at Mount Juliet was the top of my list as I am an animal lover. Ashford Castle is such an unbelievable place, that it was a thrill to stay there. Sheep herding with Brendan, Titanic Museum, the town of Ennis, Ulster American Folk Park, Muckross House, and the list goes on.

review_img

Glaze7733

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our first experience with TAUCK and everything exceeded our expectations. From pick up at the airport in Shannon, to our chauffeured driven Mercedes Back to Dublin Airport. Hotels were all top of the line, food was excellent,tour director and our driver were fantastic. Never had to touch are luggage. Very good group on the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many great moments but two stand out. Sheep herder demo with dogs and sheep was amazing, and Falcon experience at Mt Juliet Hotel was great.

review_img

GeorgeBuhl

A Bucket List trip long awaited

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

40 shades of green and we saw them all. No corner of Ireland was left unseen. Food was 90% excellent and varied. Just enough pub stops throughout created a love for Guinness for my wife and me, with enough Irish music. But no one sang a tune, just played reels.Dublin and Belfast were great ways to end the trip. And kudos to our driver and guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

no one moment. Every Hotel was great, in service, accommodations, uniqueness,particularly Ashford Castle. But every other was also special in its own way or location. Two visits were rushed, with not enough time to enjoy all that was offered (Folk Park, Titanic), but in general the combination of great visuals and nicely chosen stops was superb.

review_img

Weimaraner lady

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Beautiful landscapes, historical sights dating back to 432 and earlier, top of the line hotels, and wonderful people describe Ireland. We ate more lamb in two weeks than in several years, i.e. lamb chops, rack of lamb, Irish lamb stew. The motor coach driver's skills were awesome as we traversed through narrow streets inches from other cars.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved seeing the border collies herd the sheep, and visiting the kennels at Mount Juliet. Another memorable moment was visiting St. Patrick's grave. Staying in Ashford Castle was very special. We felt like royalty!

review_img

DinoC

Inspirations from Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The Best of Ireland trip was fabulous! The accommodations were great at every hotel. In particular, I enjoyed Ashford Castle, where I did fly fishing while I was facing the castle. You cannot ask for a better location. The Giant's Causeway was fantastic; I have never seen these type of polygonal rock formations before.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Giant's Causeway was a geological puzzle, hard to understand what went on there with Mother Nature.

review_img

GalRob

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The trip was beautiful. Tauck was awesome in every way. Our tour director was informative, very positive, and personable. Our coach driver was courteous, cheerful, and the best driver we have had to date on any trip. Deeply rooted in legend, myth, and history Ireland is a fascinating place to visit. The natural scenery is breathtaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

The boat ride to Ashford castle was lovely and the bagpipers welcoming us into the castle was most memorable. After a fabulous dinner, the castle had great entertainment and at 11PM the castle lights beamed red, white, and blue in honor of July 4th! I enjoyed exploring the castle grounds during free time.

review_img

Ellen L

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Everything about the trip was spectacular. Drop dead gorgeous hotels. Excellent guiding with our Tauck Direcotr. Itinerary included everything I could have asked for. About the only complaint I could make is that I would have liked more time to explore the cities of Kilkenny, Kildare and Galway. Still, we made excellent use of our time while there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle and the town of Cong. Being a huge "Quiet Man" fan it was such a treat to visit so many of the sites where the movie was filmed. Also loved finally getting to visit Northern Ireland.

review_img

carriedoherty

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This trip covers the whole island so you get a good feel of Ireland. Tauck does a good job of having you experience a little bit of everything: politics, culture, castles, history, religion, their exports, important sites to see, etc. The hotels/resorts were wonderful! Ireland is absolutely beautiful! The guide was wonderful! We had a good driver!

Most Memorable Moment:

many moments- Titanic, Muckross, Ulster American Folk Park top the list I would like to suggest for those of us who can't climb the stairs to kiss the Blarney stone that we should be told about the house on the estate. It was wonderful!!

review_img

Magoria3224

Best of Ireland - wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I want to say that the Tour Director was the best tour director we have had on our many tours. She made the tour come alive.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Molanna Farm was the best and the Orient Express Pullman Car Dinner was so unusual & upscale, Lunch at Bushmills Inn, seeing St. Patrick's grave site/DownPatrick and seeing the whole Antrim area with cliffs, lough and glens. Also the LondonDerry area was very informative.

review_img

Yathink

Will never travel without Tauck ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Best of Ireland was the best trip of our lives. I have always wanted to see Ireland, but I couldn't have ever imagined seeing it the way Tauck shows it. Our tour guide was the best. He knew so many facts and history of the places we visited, it made the trip so much better than I could have ever imagined. Thank You Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our first glimpses of Ashford Castle. It was amazing.

review_img

Walter Rhodes

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We booked this tour because we wanted to see the countryside and experience the character of the Irish people. What we did along these lines was wonderful. We would have appreciated more down to earth music opportunities that the Irish participate in. Some of the hotels were too touristy and over the top, especially meal service.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour guide in Londonderry revealed such touching Irish spirit. The sheep dog demonstration was one of many we have seen, but explained so much more!

review_img

Trentes

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Loved the surprises and the activities. Think I would have liked to spend more time at Blarney Castle to see the House and less at Waterford. The Conrad Hilton in Dublin was a disappointment -- no turn down service and they changed the location of our Farewell cocktails and dinner at the last minute so it wasn't as nice as expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being able to do Falconry such a unique experience

review_img

fscalfaro

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our tour Director and our bus driver were excellent. They absolutely always were there to assist us. The hotel choices, with the exception of the Merchant Hotel, were great. Itinerary excellent. Only disappointment was the "very causal" attire of some guests at dinner (like to see a stricter policy) and the whiskey tasting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle, Mount Juliet, Falconry, most tours.

review_img

Pattip

Highly recommend Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

First trip to Ireland and it was amazing. I especially want to thank our guide and our bus driver! They were fantastic. This was our 4th trip with Tauck and look forward to many more. This tour showed us coastal beauty that was spectacular and accommodations were fantastic, especially Lough Erne!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cliffs of Moher beauty

review_img

CynthiaKorth

Exceptional!! Best of Ireland, 18-31 May 2017, Already booked next trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our first Tauck tour totally exceeded our expectations. Firsts: visit to Ireland, over land motorcoach tour, international trip for my mom, penthouse stay, kissed Blarney Stone. Our tour director's 18+ yrs Ireland exp. and local driver's 40+ yrs exp made an AMAZING, knowledgeable and effective team. Fast paced, much to see, to learn & enjoy!

Most Memorable Moment:

Numerous memories this trip created: My Mom's total amazement/ Ashford Castle welcome reception for "little ol'us"/ Falconry experience by John from Hawkeye with Roger & Maggie at Mt Juliet/ Meeting Paddy & family, story telling & delicious lunch/ Bushmill Inn Sunday 'buffet'-Like Thanksgiving dinner-beyond delicious!! Sheep! Shades o' Green

review_img

dskillins

Nicely done

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had a great time in Ireland. VERY nice hotels, nice Itinerary, nice people in the group. This was our first Tauck trip and we were very impressed by how well it was run. You guys have thought of all the small details.

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Falconry at Mt. Juliet 2. Approaching Ashford Castle by boat

review_img

Lats

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Top notch from beginning to end. Great care and informative from our tour guide; ease of comfort traveling with our driver. We enjoyed every moment of the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the wonderful hotels and service, especially the stops at Mt. Juliet and the Castle of Ashford.

review_img

patricia nevel

Ireland is beautiful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Ireland is a beautiful country and has an incredible rich history. Our tour guide was a wealth of information and had interesting folklore as well as historical facts. The hotels were all different and interesting. My favorite was Mount St. Juliet. There is always excellent culinary experiences with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Ring of Kerry and the wonderful scenery was a great memory

review_img

Charlie D

Expectations Exceeded in Every Way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our first tour with Tauck proved to be an enjoyable experience we will never forget. The incredible attention to detail, the wonderful selection of hotel accommodations, local guides and Tauck Director, made our travel incredibly satisfying in every respect. Ireland is fantastic and we feel like we saw the country in all her radiant glory.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting St. Patrick's grave.

review_img

oswaldal

Best of Ireland, 2016 Finale

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Amazing tour to an incredible country. All aspects of the tour itinerary were extremely well planned. From Ennis to Dublin we beheld some of the most wonderful sights. The tour director was marvelous and local guides did a fantastic job sharing Ireland with us. We could tell the had a great passion for the country. The driver was superb!

Most Memorable Moment:

The stay at Ashford Castle was unforgettable. The quaint village of Cong, wonderful. Since my wife is a classic film lover, this was a fantastic chance to be in the middle of a favorite movies. We scampered around the area taking pictures of almost every scene we could find that was in the movie. We watched "The Quiet Man" twice to make sure.

review_img

mariagri

Love the Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The resort stays were top notch. Was quite spoiled with the size of the rooms, claw foot tubs in nearly every bathroom, and the turn down service. The scenery was gorgeous, and we had plenty of opportunity for pictures. Loved walking in the morning at the resorts to get some exercise and enjoy the view. Titanic museum was interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Highlight was falconry at Mont Juliet Estate. As a gift from Tauck, we were able to select from a number of activities, and I was lucky enough to enjoy the falconry. We got to both catch the hawk twice each, and also hold one of the owls. Very memorable!!

review_img

paul0517

Tauck's Forty Shades of Green Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Upon meeting our wonderful Tauck tour guide, we knew immediately we were going to experience the Best of Ireland in a way no other company could offer. Each day's itinerary was wonderful. We learned so much about the Emerald Isle & our coach driver made the journey very safe & comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck pulled out all the stops with our arrival to the most beautiful place in Ireland, Ashford Castle. The boat ride, along with the gentlemen who played both the squeeze box & was an extra in the movie The Quiet Man, was a real treat & we thoroughly enjoyed feeling like royalty! We did not want to leave the Castle!

review_img

LDennis

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our second time on this trip -- except this time it included N. Ireland. We thoroughly enjoyed this add on. Some days were long, but overall, the trip was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Northern Ireland and our premiere tour director.

review_img

PatrickJW

Best of Vacations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The Best of Ireland was the best of vacations! My wife and I loved Ireland and found the Tauck experience outstanding. The tour director and bus driver were both great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every thing about the two weeks was so good it is difficult to name the most memorable parts of the journey. My wife loved Ashford Castle and the fun and dramatic welcome there. I especially liked the wild and beautiful coasts of Ireland. It truly was the trip of a lifetime.

review_img

Leary

Loved Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Top notch everything, beginning with our guide Mary and Coach driver John (quite a wonderful pair). Mary was so wise and knew all the facts. Can't tell you how we loved it and will not travel with anybody but Tauck from now til........ Every place we stayed was incredible (every detail). Thank you for a trip we'll never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything

review_img

StephenJaffe

The Best of Ireland Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Over all we enjoyed the trip. Our tour director and chief guide was fabulous. He was incredibly well organized, attentive to our needs and informative. We loved the hotels that Tauck choose and the eat around option for our meals. Being able to order anything on the menu gives the clients lots of choice. 350 characters are not enough

Most Memorable Moment:

Approaching Ashford Castle by water. Having a hawk land on my arm. Seeing the Titanic Museum and visiting Northern Ireland in peace time. Giant's Causeway. All were memorable.

review_img

petroncj

Magical Adventure in Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The trip was top drawer from beginning to end: From our Shannon pick up to the final drop off at Dublin. Our guide and bus driver made every day of the journey interesting and so enjoyable. The accommodations and meals were fantastic. The perfect way to see such a beautiful country. Our local guides were great as well. Wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many come to mind its hard to choose just one. The Cliffs of Moher and the Giant's Causeway were fantastic. The sheep dog training show was such fun too. Every day had memorable moments. Plus it was great to learn about the history of the country, and the legends and songs provided by our Tauck Director added so much.

review_img

jamalqua

The Best of Ireland was "The Best"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

From the time we began the trip to the end on August 29, it was a fantastic trip. Our Tauck Director and driver were the best of Tauck. The scenery, lodging and food were fantastic. This was our ninth trip with Tauck, and it was in the top three. We have never been disappointed on any of our Tauck trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle, but only because you asked for the most memorable, but there were several others very close.

review_img

MargieS123

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We saw the greenest grass on this trip and even saw a rainbow in front of us on the road. Such history and fun things to do. Every stop was even better from the Cliffs of Moher to the Blarney Stone (yes, I did kiss it) to Northern Ireland, Ashford Castle and ending in Dublin. Our tour director was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle made us feel like royalty. We were able to do the falconry tour, see where the Quiet Man was filmed (you have to see this movie) and the golf course. Such a treat.

review_img

Gary Alan Smith

If You Haven't Been, Go!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was our second Tauck tour. It was outstanding in terms of the hotels, food, and locales, but we expected that after our first experience. What put this trip over the top was Ireland itself, and more than that, the Irish people. They are genuinely friendly, interested in you, and polite almost to a fault. So many smiles.

Most Memorable Moment:

How can you beat spending two nights in Ashford Castle, being taken there on a boat, serenaded by an Irishman who was in the movie "The Quiet Man," ushered into the castle by a bagpiper, and the experience of having hawks land on your arm! But the Cliffs of Moher, the Giant's Causeway, Belfast, Dublin, and so much more. You need to go!

review_img

EdwardLogue

Emerald Isle

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

It was fantastic. Our guide, bus driver and all the local guides where outstanding. The food was really good and the hotels where unbelievable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at Ashford Castle by boat.

review_img

Martie Roof

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

My husband and I just spent an amazing time in lovely Ireland. After arriving at Shannon, Ireland, my eyes first noticed the beautiful green color of the grass and the lovely flowers. We spent the next two weeks visiting the Cliffs of Moher, a dairy farm, Ashford castle, Ring of Kerry, Waterford Factory, Belfast and Dublin.

Most Memorable Moment:

As the bus traveled through a small town, I remember noticing that the name above a pub was spelled just like the name on my original birth certificate. I was adopted at birth, and I knew nothing about my background. During the next two weeks, I realized that my name connects me to Ireland and to a family I never knew. I will be back!

review_img

Susan Traveler

The best of Ireland - 14 days

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was my 5th trip with Tauck. It was fantastic--the people, the countryside, and the food.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the little surprises--Irish coffee entering our hotel, the bagpipes leading us into Ashford Castle, the Titanic dinner and exhibit, the giant causeway.

review_img

Ann Pestotnik

A Most Excellent Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

I loved so many things about this trip. The itinerary and pace of travel were perfect. The lodgings were top-notch. Our guide was knowledgable, friendly, organized. In addition to Tauck taking care of every detail, they did a great job with a few surprise treats along the way. The boat ride to Ashford and the falconry were great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the locals was most memorable. From Paddy at the dairy farm to the hosts that came on our coach to greet us. I also loved stopping for tea on our breaks -- such a nice touch.

review_img

JayPea

The BEST from the BEST yet!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We travel full time. We have traveled with many operators both luxury and otherwise. I was skeptical, based on cost, if Tauck would be added to our list of options to fullfill our “see the world” goal. While this is our first adventure with Tauck, they have landed at the TOP of our list. I am excited, AGAIN, about organized travel!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck truly surprised us with their innovative concept of SURPRISES! The boat ride to approach Ashford Castle was the most memorable. The BEST just keeps getting BETTER! Adventure is STILL alive. Since my first cruise in 1979, these people, Tauck, have truly surpassed ALL expectations.

review_img

mazalea

Spot On Fun - a "grand craic"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Does everyone in Ireland kiss the Blarney stone? Irish people are SO friendly and enjoy a good laugh (craic) that we had a fantastic time. Loved the shepherd, the dairyman, and the stupendous scenery. No wonder so many movies are shot here. All 5-star hotels, fantastic food and guide, plenty of free time for private adventures, too.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many memories, including the Cliffs of Moher, touring the Glens of Antrim along the coast of the North Channel, and Milly the Harrier Hawk at the Irish School of Falconry at Ashford Castle.

review_img

gk46321

The Best Of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This trip exceeded our expectations. We saw and learned so much more about Ireland, its people and its history than we could have imagined. Accommodations, especially Ashford Castle were top notch as always. Delicious seafood. This is our new favorite trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Before the trip we weren't going to do it but once there we could not miss the opportunity to Kiss the Blarney Stone! Cliffs of Moher and Giant's Causeway were beautiful landscapes only nature could create. Visiting Northern Ireland was profound and visiting the Titanic Museum was memorable.

review_img

CalKat

Fantastic Retirement Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

This was our retirement trip, truly a trip of a lifetime. Our first Tauck experience, we're now sold for all future trips! There is no way we could have covered all this ground on our own. Fabulous guide gave us so much history and so many stories!

Most Memorable Moment:

Northern Ireland - Belfast and Antrim Coast.

review_img

marcherwy

The Best was the best!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Did you ever take a trip and at the end you were ready to come home? Not the case with this trip!! We wanted to stay longer. The people of the Republic of Ireland are wonderful, friendly, and special. The country side is green, green, green...and beautiful! Awesome hotels the best of which is Ashford Castle. Holly smokes!

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was approaching Ashford Castle by boat on the lake and being piped into the castle. Seeing our room and the food was outstanding!!!

review_img

DR JER

Wonderful and Fabulous Tour, BUT.....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

This would have been a 5+star tour except for the stay at Lough Erne Golf Resort and Day 9. Pass on tour; play golf, walk, use the spa, take taxi to Enniskillen. Detailed schedule given on Day 1; request before tour to plan free time: Dinners, entertainment, spa, golf. Recommend Bunratty dinner Ennis, Musical Pub Crawl Dublin. We LOVED this tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Ashford Castle, hands down. Experience that will never be duplicated anywhere: Bagpipe Welcoming, Royal Treatment, Falconry, Spa. Could stay extra day. 2. Tour director: Well-educated in history, experienced, well-spoken, personable, funny. 3. The Irish people were wonderful. DO NOT miss this tour. Tauck itinerary is the BEST!

review_img

lisamhers

THE BEST OF IRELAND

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

What a great trip. We were blessed with the best weather. Our Tauck Director is a seasoned guide who made the trip interesting as well as fun. Ireland is a beautiful country and the Irish people are very friendly and delightful. This is my 5th trip with Tauck and they have never disappointed me and I'm very particular.

Most Memorable Moment:

Although hard to beat our stay at Ashford Castle ~ Brendan Ferris and his sheep dog demonstration was fasinating.

review_img

gravel guys

The Best of Ireland is the Best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We went to Ireland for the first two weeks in September and had beautiful weather, only opened the umbrella once! The countryside is even more beautiful than in photos! Everyone we met was friendly and welcoming! Our guide and our driver were exceptional. The local tour guides and docents were fabulous! Truly the trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

For us it was a short photo stop along the Atlantic coast at Mullaghmore Head. The weather on that day was perfect. When we stepped off the bus, the smell of the salt air, the sound of the waves and the vastness of the ocean mesmerized us. This was the point where we fell in love with Ireland.

review_img

Mountain

Best of Ireland 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Saw everything I ever dreamed about and more. The history, locations, people and food were nothing short of spectacular. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and provided such wonderful, detailed history of every location. Everything was first class. This tour was a total package of a beautiful country. Westin in Dublin not good.

Most Memorable Moment:

More than one: Blarney Castle, Ashford Castle, lunch on the farm, Ulster American Folk Park, Belfast, Dublin and driving along the coast. Belfast was a fascinating city. Just driving through the countryside was beautiful and peaceful. Loved the sheep herding dog demonstration. Trip of a lifetime!!!!

review_img

Taylor2

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We had a wonderful time seeing the beautiful landscapes of the countryside. If the weather had been warmer, it would have been nicer. All the guides and our tour director were wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Staying at Ashford Castle in Cong.

review_img

Maureen L

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Spent more time on buses than off. Some of the sights not the most important. No time to enjoy the larger cities and the beautiful hotels, Cut out Titanic and Waterford and Beleek factories. The cities would have been more enjoyable. We did not have enough free time in Belfast or Dublin. The Conran in Dublin was not up to Tauck's standards

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations team who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Margaret Griner

Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

I filled out a survey and gave it to our guide, but I will add just one more thing, in case I forgot this and this is something you can only be grateful for and take no credit for: THE WEATHER, FOR THREE WEEKS, WAS GREAT! This was my fourth trip to Ireland so I KNOW Irish weather! Margaret

review_img

Gail cole

Great routing for Ireland tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The route chosen by Tauck is THE BEST. Starting with the rural areas of Ireland, west coast, & ending with the cities. The scenery & looking for the ruins of the next castle, abbey, or monastery ruin around the next curve was thrilling! My Irish ancestors left from the coast of Antrim, just imagine! Beautiful gardens at Kylemore Abbey!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing those castle ruins & beautifully constructed stone sheep pasture walls. Our Tauck Director & driver were outstanding! We learned so much about the culture, history, people, & sheep! My husband loved flying the hawks at Ashford Castle. Amazing to spend time at Ashford Castle, serenaded on the water approach, & bagpipes upon arrival!

review_img

Katharine

In love with Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This tour is a comprehensive experience of Ireland, the beautiful land of 30 shades of green. The itinerary is excellent, enhanced by a spectacular TD who enriched us with history and culture. Especially appreciated was to visit Northern Ireland as well as Ireland. Every day was a wonderfully rich view of Ireland and its fabulous people. Sláinte!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many but - The Giants Causeway is the most remarkable natural feature I've ever experienced. P.S. Above it says 5 stars means I'll be back. To Ireland? Yes, I followed up with the Ireland, Scotland, and England tour the next year and loved every minute in Ireland again.

review_img

Kalola

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

I was not expecting Ireland to be such a beautiful place. It is truly a hidden jewel. I enjoyed the scenery, the history and the people. Our tour manager was the Best! She made sure everyone was comfortable and all their requests were met. Our driver got us through the countryside and cities safely and we had such confidence in him.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many special moments, it's hard to give just one. Loved the Ring of Kerry, st. Patrick's grave site. Eating Carvery at Bushmills, the Merchant hotel was spectacular and staying at Ashford Castle. Loved our visit to the Giants causeway and the beautiful Kylemore Abbey. Seeing Blarney Castle and shopping for Irish goods. Amazing time!

review_img

MissHays

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

14 days of beautiful scenery with green green pastures and hundreds of sheep and cows. Fabulous hotels and wonderful food. More facts and information than you can absorb. Rain everyday, but that's why everything is so green!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in the rain in Dublin, an irish woman asked me if I was OK. I had on a rain jacket and was reading my map under an awning. She asked if I had a brellie. I told her it was back in the room. She offered me hers, and I thanked her, but refused. She kept saying I must take it and I told her I couldn't do that. She insisted -I gave in.

review_img

monar

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was our ninth trip with Tauck, so we have many trips to compare this one with. Our guide was fabulous, the hotels were great as was the food, and the second half of the trip much better than the first. Simply cutting out the day of the Ring of Kerry would have improved the trip, long time on bus and really not much to see we had not seen

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle

review_img

angelacurty

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Beautiful country,wonderful people,amazing history.Extremely knowledgable & personable tour guides. Would recommend eliminating Cliffs of Moher (Giants Causeway more entertaining & more easily accessible)& instead spend the day in Ennis. We arrived 2 days before tour & did the guided walking tour of Ennis on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was memorable.

review_img

wantagh

the Best or Ireland was truly THE BEST!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We loved our time in Ireland on Tauck's Best of Ireland Tour! What a beautiful country! The people we met couldn't have been nicer, both in the country and on our coach. The food was absolutely wonderful. The Tour Director and hotels were great. Loved Irish history and landscapes. Even the weather cooperated- saw Cliffes of Moher & Giant's Causeway!

Most Memorable Moment:

Personally, it was singing at the piano bar at Aghedone Hotel and Spa!

review_img

halspitz

Ireland in Two Weeks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

It was so enjoyable due to the organization by Tauck, which kept us moving but not unpleasantly. We had a good crew of 40 fellow travelers from all ages, locations and sensibilities. The hotel accommodations were terrific and the food even more so. If you've never been to Ireland, this is the trip for you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Falconry at Ashford Castle.

review_img

Craig Buscemi

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was my second Tauck trip. Weather was perfect. NO RAIN! There was a good variety of places we visited. It was geared a little more towards older folks. Would have preferred more physical activities and less bus tours. Our tour director and our bus driver were great. Can't wait for the next trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Falconry at Ashford Castle. Sheep dog hearding exhibition. Giant Causeway.

review_img

Eric H

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Did this tour immediately after my Romantic Germany tour. Just as incredible. Can not ask for a better tour. Enjoyed all locations. Food and rooms were fantastic. The Tauck director and driver made the trip a pleasure. Couple days of iffy weather but did not dampen spirits. Felt completely at home as a solo traveler. Really enjoyed Bag Piper.

Most Memorable Moment:

The first thing that impressed me was the traditional musicians and dancers at the reception dinner. Ashford Castle was splendid and I got to take a falconry class there. Really enjoyed Belfast and Dublin. Everything was memorable including the other guests.

review_img

LBall

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

wonderful experience. You see Ireland in a way you would never do if you were on your own and have this time span. As our tour director said on our tour of Eastern Europe, if you are on your own you will sleep late in a so so hotel, not know what you should see, once you decide you do not know how to get there, so let Tauck care of you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashford Castle and the Giants causeway and discovering that there are some dark ales that are really good.

review_img

Bumper

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Fantastic! Our tour guide was wonderful, funny, concerned, polite and very knowledgeable! The motor coach was comfortable, but sometimes too cold. Our accommodations were great and, to my surprise, the food was delicious (I don't like seafood but I had many other choices). Our guests were friendly and gracious as well. Well planned and organized!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Falconry at Ashford Castle, of course (as many people have written). The hawk that we observed actually dove down and caught a rat! Very realistic and brought to life the type of hunting the people used to obtain their food! But I loved the people; no one can tell a joke like the Irish! Learning the history was great too!

review_img

JOHN DEWITT

One of the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This is a very complete trip of Ireland, but not tiring as Tauck assumes responsibility for everything, stay at the best castles, hotels in Ireland, and eat at some of the best restaurants. The tour guide was excellent, updating tour details, and has an unlimited knowledge about the history of Ireland and keeps the travel very interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the cliffs along the Atlantic Coast and staying in Castles and being treated like a king. Also, the people in Ireland are the most friendliest people I have ever met in all of our travels. Great place to visit, especially when ever detail is taken care of and you can just enjoy the country.

review_img

rtkelly

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

A fabulous trip! Not only did we enjoy gorgeous sights, super accommodations, and delicious food but also we got a real sense of the people, culture, and history. Our tour director was amazing and made the trip really special for everyone. We feel that we saw all the best of Ireland, and we thoroughly enjoyed the people.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great memories, including our arrival at Ashford Castle and the emotional tour of Derry.

review_img

rso1411

Best ever...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

I've traveled many years and many places, this turned out to be the best vacation ever. It's not just Ireland, it is the itinerary put together by Tauck. Everything is truly 5 star. I can't say enough praise for our tour director; she went above and beyond so many times and was just wonderful. To summarize... Best vacation ever!

Most Memorable Moment:

Falconry at the beautiful Ashford Castle.

review_img

TerryBlanchard

The best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had a wonderful time in Ireland. There was nothing not to like. Melissa was a superb guide and Martin drove impeccably. The hotels were beautiful. It was lovely to have Tauck cover so many meals, but in a way that we had a chance to meet and socialize with our tour mates. The Island is so beautiful that the bus rides were a real joy.

Most Memorable Moment:

I can think of no particular moment, but I would not want to miss the cliffs of mother or the Giants causeway.

review_img

DianaN

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was one of the best we have ever taken. It was comprehensive in that it covered not only the Republic of Ireland, but also Northern Ireland. The sites and hotels were excellent as were the Tour Director and driver. The trip pace was well thought out, with enough leisure time to catch our breath. The small trip format was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stay at Ashford Castle was a high point for us. The optional activities offered were a welcome escape. As far as scenery, the Giant's Causeway and the Ring of Kerry were outstanding. Hearing Ireland's history described by the Tour Director in relation to the sights we were seeing over the whole trip was truly enlightening.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your tour. We are pleased to hear you have a great time!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mccormick

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Everything was first class; hotels,meals,transportation and organization. Melissa, our tour guide,was outstanding as was our driver Martin. The total experience was beyond our expectations. We were so impressed that we have scheduled a tour to Scandinavia in June and will do other Tauck Tours in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it is difficult to pick one. Ireland is an absolutely beautiful country and people are very friendly. The scenery is spectacular. The Cliffs of Mohr and the Giant Causeway were impressive. We enjoyed staying at the Ashford Castle and touring the Connemara area. Best vacation ever!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to having you on tour with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Tom Hall

Best of Ireland Small Group tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Excellent at all levels. Tour guide Melissa was superior---extremely well prepared, treated everyone as individuals with close personal care and interest, knew history, communicated well and effectively. Great work ethic. Locations we visited were extremely interesting and enjoyable. Specific location guides were professional knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

1.)Hiking the Giant's Causeway on the north shore of Ireland. Breath taking beauty.2.) Arriving at Ashford Castle by boat with Danny Boy being sung by guide and greeted at shore by bagpiper and escorted into hotel with servers waiting at door. Wow!!!

review_img

peter tucker

best of ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

great food, great people great country, great tour in every way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Skeet shooting.

review_img

erob

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tauck is blessed to have Mary as TD & Peter as driver.The weather was perfect-layering is best-only 1 day of showers. Take a day off at Lough Erne and walk the grassy Collop trail-beautiful views. Falconry is a must at Ashford Castle. Beautiful Country-or as Mary says 'my Island'.

Most Memorable Moment:

too many to choose.

review_img

jeptr1976

Best of Ireland - Comprehensive and very informative

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We went to most everything you would want to do. We had no idea that I would love Northern Ireland so much. Belfast was interesting and the people were very friendly. The local tour guides gave us the history that only someone who lived through the problems that occurred could do. Our Tour Director, Mary, was great and took great care of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved it all. The boat ride on Lake Corrib, with Martin playing the accordion and telling us about being an extra on the movie "The Quiet Man" was special. Then arriving at the docks of Ashford Castle with a bagpiper playing was unforgettable!

review_img

John McCoy

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Castles, lakes, greenery, 5 star food and hotels, golf courses, fabulous Irish history from our guide, Gideon, factory tours of pottery and glass making, many interesting fellow travelers, many of whom were repeat Tauck patrons.

Most Memorable Moment:

having the Harris Hawk take off and land on my arm at the Ashford Castle falconry school

review_img

izmyers03

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Blessed with wonderful weather! All hotels were top notch, excellent food & attentive staff. Coach comfortable, guide knowledgeable on multiple topics(history, wildlife, flora & fauna), & understood needs of all guests. Trip included most interesting geographic & historical sites from countryside to cities. Love having all details handled for you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually two. One was the view at the Cliffs of Mohr and the other was the scenery along the Twelve Pins mountains on the way to Kylemore Abbey, Connemara. We were fortunate to have a near windless day and the reflection of the mountains into the Kylemore Lough were breathtaking.

review_img

Shelley Aguiar

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was the most fantastic trip! Accommodations and food were first class. We saw more than we could ever have hoped to see on our own or with another tour company. Stops were planned at least every one to two hours, giving us a chance to use clean restrooms, stretch our legs, and have a snack.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having a bag piper meet us on the docks behind Ashford Castle!

review_img

froggie

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I must say that our tour director, Mary, was such a treat. Her knowledge of the history of Ireland was so informative. I really enjoyed her stories and she had such a friendly attitude every day. We loved Ashford Castle and enjoyed the falcon experience. The country side was breathtakingly beautiful and the weather was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

The best moment was when the boat pulled up to Ashford Castle with the bagpipes playing. We really felt like King and Queen for the day

review_img

pklauk

wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was our first Tauck Tour experience. We loved it.The hotels were beautiful and the tour guide Christine was so good and so helpful and informative. We saw so much of ireland and Northern Ireland. We will be back for more Tauck travels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the tour of Derry and listening to the tour guide tell us all about the problems they have had. He was so passsionate Also the arrival at ashford castle will always be implanted in my mind as wonderous

review_img

schnapshi

Fantastic Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was my first tour with Tauck and it did not disappoint. The trip was everything I expected and more. The hotels were wonderful, the scenery beautiful, the people gracious and welcoming. Our tour director and driver were great and always ready to answer any questions and provide assistance.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything, but to select would say tied at the top are the arrival at Ashford Castle and the falconry experience there. The castle is definitely a special place and the opportunity to walk and fly a falcon a once in a lifetime experience that I am truly glad I decided to do.

review_img

Taza

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

I was able to finally do falconry! I have wanted to fly a fly a hawk for several years and I was finally able to accomplish my goal. The opportunity was a complete surprise and it made the entire trip fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

Falconry experience!

review_img

schragenm

Ireland 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

A very good tour with excellent Tour Director and Driver. Traveling over the narrow and winding Irish roads is tedious. The hotels and food were excellent. However, many of the hotels were not located in town and we would have preferred to be in town. My guess is that suitable hotels were not available in the smaller towns.

review_img

Lynne AU

Beautiful Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

A great trip. Loved the Irish people - their easy going nature and humour as well as the food, scenery, hotels, history & music. Our guides and coach drivers were excellent. Weather was great as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Belfast was a standout - the history and the Titanic museum was probably the best part for me but it was all great.

review_img

CarolT

Another Great Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This was the second leg of my month long tour with Tauck. I saw the lovely green island known as Ireland. We circled Ireland and saw all coasts and beautiful lakes and rivers along the way. Irish history is captivating for me. Mary, our Tour Director, brought it to life with stories, laughter and her obvious love of Ireland and its people!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is so hard to choose the most memorable moment but I know the Ring of Kerry tour was stunning to me. And that came on the second day I was in Ireland!! More beauty of the country opened up to me each day we traveled the roads of Ireland. I felt real joy on this trip.

review_img

jrowland

I chose TAUCK to tour the #1 place on my Travel Buck List and I'm glad I did.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

I can attest to everything you might have read on Tauck Tours, they were #1. From Mary our Tour Guide to our Bus driver John who drove the bus through places I didn't think the bus would fit. Accommodations and Food were excellent. Tauck really goes out to make you fill welcome and part of their family.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at Ashford Castle by boat was a lasting memory and then to be greeted by a Bagpiper who led us up the walkway to the castle.What more can you ask for. Visiting the Cliffs of Moher with driving rain and wind was GREAT! Wouldn't have wanted it any other way.

review_img

WWeisinger

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The trip was wonderful. We had some rain, but it usually came when we were on the bus or inside. The country is beautiful, and the people fun loving and friendly. Our group was delightful. Tauck knows how to do it right.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to name one--the drive north of Belfast to the Giant Causeway was an incredible beautiful sunny day; the hotels were delightful; our guide, Nancy was wonderful

review_img

TKester

Ireland through the Looking Glass

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

My take-away are the people, their loving and peaceful friendship, their fierce and proud love of Ireland (it's all about the land) their love of America as their second Irish home. Amazing political and religious history,contributions of Irish scholars and poets. They made beer and bread and grew potatoes and survived the great famine.

Most Memorable Moment:

The bagpipe and staff reception at Ashford Castle, beyond compare. The cities and villages are brightly painted, given their efforts to "cheer-up" the looks of Ireland. Tour Dir. shared outstanding knowledge, care and guidance and is an outstanding asset of Tauck.

review_img

Randall and Donna Lau

The Land of the Leprechauns!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We did Ireland right after we had finished the London Event and it tied in very well with our travels and expectations. Ireland is very diverse, and its people and culture and history were interesting to learn about. We enjoyed the opportunity to see both Ireland, and Northern Ireland, and learn about the troubles and what caused it all.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ashbury Castle was a real highlight of this tour. We were "piped" ashore by a Irish piper, and the castle was magnificent. Tauck even scheduled some time for some of us to take advantage of the falconry experience which all of us really enjoyed "flying" the hawks.

review_img

EBerg

Good trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Good trip---good accommodations,good food( only a few meals we had to pay for in addition to the cost of the trip), nice extras (eg massage paid for by Tauck at one stop), excellent guide and driver. Ireland is very pretty and Northern Ireland very interesting. A lot of bus time in order to see the country but not enough time at some of the sights.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Titanic museum, Belfast, Giants Causeway and the scenery along the North Sea---most memorable moments.

review_img

NAlberici

Everything Irish!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Tauck was well organized and communicated all information in a timely manner. Having the ability of signing up with a small group tour (24 guests) was what made the difference. We stayed at marvelous properties and saw many things which wouuld have been unavalable to us if we were traveling on our own. Our guide and driver were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed having a director who was Irish. Mary shared historic, cultural and personal information about her country which definately added to our enjoyment.

review_img

LWalker

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our second Tauck tour and it truly lived up to our expectations. Our Tauck Director was very knowledgable aboutthe history of Ireland and specifically about the areas that wecovered. She gave us a running history as we toured around theisland and did it with a taste of humour thrown it to keep itinteresting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at the Ashford Castle by boat and being met at the dock by a kilted bagpiper and being piped up to the hotel wasvery special.

review_img

Rich Leung

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It was an indepth exploring of the beautiful Irish landscape as well as the history of Ireland. A little too intensive on a full itinerary. A down day or a couple of down afternoons would make the trip more enjoyable. Despite the occassional hickups, we enjoy the trip tremendously.

review_img

FRice

Beautiful Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Everything was first class, the hotels, food, our tour guide Brenna and our driver Patrick. We had a great group, many were repeat Tauck travelers. This was our second Tauck trip and would definately travel Tauck again. The castles, country side and city sites all contributed to a wonderful vacation, but it was the people that made it great.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are a lot to pick from, castles, people, food! Really loved going into the small town of Cong where they filmed The Quiet Man many years ago! I think what may stand out just a little more than the others was Hawking at Ashford Castle, what an experience!

review_img

DKnight

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The Best of Ireland says it all. We had a fabulous guide, Johanna Patrick, she was delightful, a real historian and good fun always. Great group of travelers that appreciated everything that Tauck does. We feel Tauck is such good value for the luxury services they provide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving by boat at The Ashford Castle and a treat to have an Irish Bagpiper to Welcome us.

review_img

Chuck K

What a wonderful experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This tour was first class all the way. The country of Ireland is beautiful and the people are super friendly. The tour took us to so many nice places. The lodgings and food were unbeatable, and the people on our tour shared a special relationship with each other.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlight was staying At Ashford Castle a short walk from the quaint little town where "The Quiet Man" with John Wayne and Maureen Ohara was filmed in 1952

review_img

ASinclair

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was fantastic from start to finish. The hotels were exceptional and the food was great. The little extras provided by our knowledgeable guide made the entire vacation memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were almost too many to mention but the arrival by boat to Ashford Castle was spectacular.

review_img

RBell

The Best of Ireland was great!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our two week tour included scenic beauty, Irish history, the current and political scene in both Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Our accommodations were top-notch and the meals were great. Most of all, our tour director made this trip outstanding. His knowledge of this island was incredible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being piped into Ashford Castle...we felt like royalty! The whiskey tasting event at Lough Erne was also fun!

review_img

DHonermann

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our guide was awesome !!!! Mary is so knowledgeable and definitely loves her Ireland. Everything was done professionally as usual. The accommodations were very nice and the people at all the places were very helpful and respectful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The arrival at Ashford Castle.

review_img

Jg pg

The very best of Ireland!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We had beautiful weather. Mostly in the 60's very little rain. Our tour guide was excellent! She is from Ireland and was very familiar with customs and areas. The Hotels were lovely and we stayed at two beautiful resorts besides the Ashford Castle. The food was very good and we had many photo ops.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cliffs of Moherer and the giant causeway

review_img

JFullerton

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

First, [Employee Name] was an absolute delight. Her knowledge of the history and the stories she could tell were fascinating. The trip hit all the highlights of Ireland that we wanted to visit, and the small group setting was a big plus. The hotels were fabulous. The food was great, and they took care of my gluten free needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving by boat at Ashford Castle and being led into the hotel by bagpipes. Very special. Also, the tour of the Mount Juliet estate to see the kennels and the horse barns. We will definitely travel with tauck again.

review_img

RMcDonald

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The people are not just friendly--they seem to welcome you into their hearts. Witnessing the culture present day & viewing evidence of their past cultures was rewarding. This "Emerald Isle" brought endless beauty. The food was exceptionally good with homemade delectables at even the smallest food stands & restaurants.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting an old Irish cottage with the owner sitting in front of the fireplace giving real descriptions of farm life now & in the past, ending with a beautiful poem followed by a traditional Irish lunch.

review_img

Lockett

Ireland with Tauck Director Melissa Weiller can't be beat!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

I have been on 7 Tauck Tours and this was the best one because of Melissa's love of her job, her true concern for everyone on her tour, her professionalism, her kindness and warmth and her sweetness which I have never experienced on any touring company before!!!!!!!!!!! Of course Tauck did an outstanding job of pre-planning this wonderful trip!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several on this trip that were awesome! However, staying in Ashford Castle was my favorite as I have always wanted to stay in a real castle!!!! The second and third memorable moments would be The Cliffs of Moher and A Giant's Causeway which were stunningly beautiful!!! I found the Irish people to be the friendliest I have ever met!!!!!

review_img

Jeri

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

It was an adventure from day one. Our tour guide, [Foul Language] [Employee Name], was the best we've had on a tour. We were especially pleased with the tour of Northern Ireland; Derry and Belfast,the Titanic exhibit, the 9 course "Titanic Dinner", and the tour of Belleek. Tauck does it so well!! Thanks for a great trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Coming up to Ashford Castle by boat and imagining what it must have been like in the 1700's, so remote. Also the Falconry there. We really enjoyed the private tour of Dublin Castle. LOTS of memorable moments on this tour.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to this facinating region of the world and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gerald

SOLO TRIP TO IRELAND BY AN 82 YEAR MALE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I have been widowed for a little over 4 years and this is my 3rd solo trip (all with Tauck). Besides the itinerary, what makes a tour memorable, are the people on the tour with you. Everyone mixes and are very friendly. The youngest person on the trip was 18 and I believe I was the oldest and yet we were like one big family. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

The two weeks of the tour.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to Ireland and returned with so many memories. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

OMS

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

A wonderful whirlwind tour of the Emerald Isle. Excellent tour direction (Steve [Employee Name]). Perhaps a little over emphasis on the fine wine and fine dining in lieu of more time at historical sites. But Tauck did its usual masterful job of meeting our needs, providing wonderful accommodations (Ashford Castle in partiular) and giving us a great 2 weeks

Most Memorable Moment:

Our 2 night stay at Ashford Castle. An incomparable experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey to this majical country!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SFoss

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was wonderful. The country was so green just like what you hear and the people are so friendly...

Most Memorable Moment:

I am not sure I could say one most memorable moment. We really liked Derry, Belfast and Dublin.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey and returned with som many memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GFarinsky

Ireland Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I already did this on the form passed out at the end of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Best...Falconry Worst...Salmon smoking Best Hotel...Lough Eske Worst...Westin Dublin Elegant...Ashford Castle...Room was large..ceilings high...bathroom great...but no place to open suitcases...great for a long stay, but not so great when living out of a suitcase. Merchant Hotel in Belfast was nice. Best meals.9-course/Merc..and Killien House

review_img

pepperink

Beautiful, fascinating, friendly, fun!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Our trip was for two weeks. We stayed in a different 5-star hotel every two days. My interest was to see whatever there was between the cities. Every inch of the countryside is beautiful. There was not one negative experience in the two weeks. Everywhere we went we were treated like visiting celebrities. What a fantastic time we had!

Most Memorable Moment:

We visited a working small dairy, the Molanna Dairy Farm. The owner, [Employee Name], was so very interesting and warm. We wanted to spend the whole day listening to his explanation of what life was like today, and how his ancestors had lived on the same property. In the little bedroom behind us was the bed where he was born! What a memory.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and had so many wonderful expreiences. We look forward to hosting you on another journey in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BKittredge

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

GREAT TRIP! We really feel like we have seen Ireland. Thehotels and dining were excellent!

review_img

slamnjam

The surprise of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

What a delight! What a surprise! What a country of pleasant delightful people! As always Tauck showed us a place in a way that made each day special. As we were traveling back to the hotel on the first day, having just left the Cliffs of Moher, someone said, "And just imagine, this is only day one".

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving at Ashford Castle and participating in their Falconry adventure.

review_img

Linda Wegenke

My Favorite trip EVER

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

we LOVED Ireland. I have Irish roots and found the entire 14 days to be the best thing I've ever done. Our guide was EXCELLENT. She was so interesting that I found myself actually taking notes. This delightful young woman made the trip for all us. Our group of 16 became a family and that was terrific. Ireland is stunning.. Loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hands down... The magnificent Ashford Castle....OMG we stayed two nights there and we both couldn't get over the beauty in this lovely castle and grounds. We arrived by small boat, and a lone bagpiper was standing on the pier playing Amazing Grace.... I had tears in my eyes as we approached. Charming, Elegant, Magnificent, Ireland.

review_img

worldtravel

Fantastic time in Ireland with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We had a great time on the Best of Ireland tour - the hotels were all five star and we received five star service at all of them. Mary our guide was full of local knowledge and helpful with all aspects of the trip. We could not fault any of the organisation.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two - one when we arrived at Ashford Castle to be piped into the grounds with Irish bagpipes, and the second was the fantastic tour of the Titanic in Belfast.

review_img

STUDIO/RJM

Another Tauck Triumph

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

This was our second Tauck tour, previously New Zealand/Australia. Once again Tauck did not disappoint. A perfect blend of history, culture, small villages, big cities, scenic wonders and obscure points of interest that we would never have found on our own. Great tour director, pleasant, experienced, SAFE driver on Ireland's notoriously poor roads.

Most Memorable Moment:

Kissing the Blarney Stone. Historical 5 star hotels. Reliving the history of the country.

review_img

teepe2

Sunshine in Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

After a summer of rain in Ireland, we experienced almost perfect weather in which to tour an old and beautiful country. Our tour director provided us with a comprehensive and interesting overview of Ireland's history, enriched by knowledgable local tour guides. There was great variety in lodging, points of interest, and free-time activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

A water approach to beautiful Ashford Castle where a fully kilted bagpiper guided us into the castle. The castle furnishings and views were outstanding.

review_img

Rocket Man

Phenomenal Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

The Best of Ireland tour exceeded all of my wife's and my expectations. Attention to detail by our tour director, the professionalism of the staff at the magnificent hotels and resorts and the expertise of our bus driver and the local guides made for a perfect trip. It was truly magical for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing the circular stone steps to the top of Blarney Castle and seeing the magnificent green countryside of Ireland below on a perfectly sunny day.

review_img

Drew

Irelands Not Done

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

The trip to Ireland far exceed our expectations. Our tour guide Steve was very knowledgeable, and sensitive to the needs of individuals as well as the group. He filled the bus trip with history, culture and comedy. We visit more villages, cities and counties then we ever hope to do on our own. In our memory Ireland not done. Thanks Tauck, Great Job

Most Memorable Moment:

We were to go to Ashford Castle, as it happens in Ireland it started to rain in the latter part of the day. Our tour guide said we were to take a small boat ride to the Castle. I mean who wants to board a boat when it cold, damp and raining. Well we boarded the boat, a round of drinks, and entertainment from an 82 year old Irish singer. Wonderful!

review_img

Tawny77

The Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Overall the trip was excellent--our tour director, Scott Bishop, ranks up near the top of all directors we've experienced in the past, both pre and post Tauck. A couple of constructive comments--Trinity College, near the very end of the trip was a bit much. We were not pleased with the service at some hotels--especially, Westin, Dublin

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not one memorable moment--there were many--the countryside, the castles, the people, the special guides, the food, wine, pubs. We found the locals to be engaging, friendly and helpful. Again, other than a less than satisfactory experiences at a couple of the hotels, we are in for the long haul with Tauck! Now, where next do we go?!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your recent trip to Ireland. Sounds like you really had a wonderful trip, but had concerns about some of the hotels. Rest assured we will follow-up immediately with all of these hotels to insure they retain highest level of service in the future. We look forward to having you travel with us again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bgtohio

Best of Ireland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

A marvelous trip from beginning to end. Beautiful and varied scenery: rugged coast, serene fields of sheep, mountains in the mist. The weather was not a problem: a bit of rain, a bit of sun, mostly overcast around 60º. But overriding everything (food, accommodations, great director) was the genuine and universal friendliness of the people.

Most Memorable Moment:

No one event stands out. I think gaining a deeper understanding of the (often tragic) history of Ireland, both ancient and modern, is what will stay with me longest.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button