TravelerReviews

Ireland & Great Britain

review_img

RoyPeters

Ireland/Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This is a great trip to see a lot of territory and history. Everything--the tour director; the coach driver; the local guides; the hotels; the meals---all were five-star in every respect. I highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sheep shearing demonstration was wonderful. Loved the meal with the family who made us feel right at home.

review_img

Bob Hamilton

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

It was a great trip with outstanding hotels and meals. Coach trips were very comfortable and we had an outstanding group to travel with. York was particularly fun just to walk around.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tatoo in Edinburgh lived up to everything we expected. This was the primary motivating factor for the trip. Our weather for the trip was perfect. We had a a light rain the last day in London but that was it. We cheered for the Hurling Team in County Clare that made the pub experience even better.

review_img

Bob Salerno

Ireland/Scotland/England - A Fantastic Tour and Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Everything about this trip was first rate, from the fabulous Tour Director, the local guides, the wonderful accommodations, the meals, the special entertainment from time to time, etc. We were most fortunate that the small group we had (34) got along extremely well and it allowed us to stay on schedule throughout the entire tour. Kudos to Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many highlights that it is impossible to select just one moment as each stop had it's own charm and appeal that made for a most memorable experience. From sheep sheering to the castle and palace reviews to London's visit of St. Paul's and Westminster Abbey and Churchill's War room and museum there was something special to take away from each.

review_img

Court

Ireland, Scotland and England Oh My!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was our first trip with Tauck and we will definitely travel with Tauck again and again. From the very first interaction with our tour director we could tell it was going to be wonderful and it lived up to every one of our ideals. The Hotels were absolutely first class and the itinerary was well thought out to see some amazing sights

Most Memorable Moment:

I would have to say our visit to Aldwyn Castle. It was probably the most beautiful example I have ever been in. It far exceeded Holyrood House. If the Queen ever finds out just how beautiful she will demand some changes! The tour guide was incredible and we had a wonderful mid day meal there that was definitely a highlight of the day.

review_img

Stella F

Enjoying the British Isles

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The tour was fantastic, lovely scenery and great hotels. The sheep shearing in Ireland and the group dinner in Edinburgh with piper and haggis presentation were memorable moments. We especially appreciated the flight from Belfast to Edinburgh, which allowed us to see more of Scotland's capital.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was watching the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. Beyond words.

review_img

LennyFromNewark

Ireland is so green!

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This trip was excellent except for the hotel in Dublin, the Fitzwilliam. Not up to Tauck standards. Rooms needed a renovation and the restaurant ambiance and food were quite poor. The staff was very cordial and helpful but I feel that you should be aware of the Fitzwilliam's faults and perhaps make a change.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Military Tattoo in Edinburgh...just great!

review_img

shapgo

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Good itinerary & great tour director, Katie. Hotels were best they could get but some rooms faced garbage dumps, parking lots, office buildings. Rosewood London exceptional. Belfast huge disappointment. The bus just zoomed past the murals and we hardly saw the Peace Wall from afar. Had to secure own tickets to Book of Kells, major site in Europe.

Most Memorable Moment:

Scottish Military Tatto was fabulous. St. Paul tour with Fiona was great. Loved the medieval lunch in York and the docent there was excellent. Again, Katie was great.

review_img

momosa

Covered a lot of ground. Great overview of interesting itinerary. Irish are friendliest people!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Tauck does a good job of providing activities that make you feel you have had an authentic experience in whatever part of the world you are in. We enjoyed special access to palaces and manor houses, avoiding the throngs, most of the time. Hotels were very good and well situated. 2 were undergoing renovations that affected our enjoyment somewhat.

review_img

emcgarry

Best vacation ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We took the Ireland and Great Britain tour. The hotels were amazing and the service was incredible. Our tour director was funny, kind and so knowledgeable. We were blessed with a great group of people on our tour. I have recommended Tauck Tours to everyone since we've returned two weeks ago. Thank you Tauck Tours, you are the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the small towns in Ireland and the history of each country. The people were so friendly and accommodating.

review_img

Articulator

Seeing the real country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We loved our experiences in Ireland and England. Seeing the main sites and many cultural experiences gave us a wonderful feel for the areas we visited. We would have loved to spend more time in Scotland, but with only two weeks there are limits. The hotels were nice and the service impeccable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed our time in York especially. Meeting and becoming friends with our small group was also a highlight.

review_img

KarenRains

Ireland and Great Britian

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was a wonderful trip. My daughter and granddaughter enjoyed this trip as much as I did. The tour guide was wonderful and always coordinating activities. The daily activities were very informative and interesting. I would recommend this trip. I have taken 9 trips with Tauck and this was another great trip.

review_img

rwkjr

Big Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

You(Tauck) assigned a foreign national(from India)who had no knowledge of the areas we were touring thus contributing nothing to the overall enjoyment of the trip.He got us from one place to another and that was it.This was a very expensive trip to have such an unqualified Tour Director assigned.Question;Why did you do this ?????

Most Memorable Moment:

The other guests were great,however I doubt they will use TAUCK again based on this trip

TAUCK RESPONSE

I apologize for your experinece with our Tauck Director. I have passed your comments on to the Director of Tauck Directors who will take care of this situation. UPDATE: After reviewing your comments and those of other guests,the TD in question is no longer part of this itinerary. Thank you again for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mary Twist

Show Us the Expert!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our recent Ireland, Scotland, England tour fell far short of an extraordinary journey in company of experts'. Our guide's expertise was meticulous detail, not discussion. He read printouts on the bus and is very hard to understand. We don't blame him but feel strongly Tauck failed to meet its own standards or its guest's expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Thoroughly enjoyed Ballyvolane experience. Justin Green is delightful. His family story from assisting Wm Conquerer to 17000 acres in Ireland is part of history of two countries. How he manages estate now with guests, clamping, and small batch gin, Bertha's Revenge, shows tenacity and innovation required today. Music was moving, lunch terrific.

TAUCK RESPONSE

After reviewing your comments and those of other guests,the TD in question is no longer part of this itinerary. Thank you again for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Randy123456

Scotland Ireland England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

I had always heard how good Tauck was. I was extremely disappointed.YOU sent an Indian Guide with no Knowledge of Ireland /Scotland or England to show us around. How ignorant was that .He read about the areas we saw, no love of the country no insights into the people ( NOTHING) I could have done better watching National Geographic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting away from our guide was the best thing.How can I recommend a company that can't find a local guide to show you their country. This was a total bust.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you had a less than stellar experience on your journey. I have passed along your comments to our Tour Director's manager, who will address this situation. Thank you for travelling with Tauck, and I hope you will consider us in the future. UPDATE: After reviewing your comments and those of other guests,the TD in question is no longer part of this itinerary. Thank you again for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

hawaiian val

Ireland, Scotland and England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The weather cooperated, the hotels were nice, and the meals ( what few there were, acceptable. The couples fairly friendly to two women, but the guide was unknowledgeable to the countries we visited. He was only there as a facilitator. I loved the country side and by bus, we saw a great deal. I was disappoi

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed Ballyvolane and Holyrood castle

review_img

Martyalone

Ireland, Scotland and great britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was a wonderful trip. Hotels were top notch, food was great and special events planned by Tauck were outstanding. My only complaint is that there was too much walking for me. I probably should have passed up some of it. All the people on the tour were very nice and our director was wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

All of the trip was memorable. I guess I enjoyed the welcome and farewell parties the most Since I had opportunity to meet the other travelers.

review_img

MWTravel

Lots of Ground

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had a great trip to Ireland, Edinburgh and England. We particularly enjoyed Ennis, Edinburgh and York. Hotels and food were excellent. The sheep shearing was very interesting as was watching the border collies corral sheep. There is a lot of coach time on the tour. The people in Ireland were very friendly. We also enjoyed punting on the Cam

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburgh and St Paul's Cathedral.

review_img

jrozell

Ireland, Scotland, England

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

As with all Tauck trips the organization and coordination was superb. Felt we didn't experience Ireland except for larger cities. Maybe too ambitious a schedule.....a lot of coach the first week.

Most Memorable Moment:

Edinburg, Alnwick Castle, London

review_img

Roger Clark

Ireland and Great Britain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Great time, great weather, great tour director! The Military Tatoo in Edinburgh was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip!

review_img

Flatop

Ireland and United Kingdom good times

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Smooth trip. Agenda provided good coverage of the areas we wanted to see. The hotel choices were great. Trump International, The Grand and most of all the Rosewood in London. However there is a problem; although the hotels are top notch and well located, the rooms are not good. Need better views and locations in the hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Military Tatoo in Edinbough was great. The Rosewood hotel in London was very special. London was overall really cool and most fun. Killarney in Ireland was a lot of fun.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button