TravelerReviews

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & the Loire Valley

review_img

Down Under 2016

France

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Excellent hotels, fabulous Tour Director, interesting sights, quaint villages, enjoyed learning the history. The camaradrie of the participants was good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Group dinner on the River Seine and seeing Paris at night.

review_img

TMP

France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Great trip, stayed in top drawer hotels. Every part of the trip came off as planned and our Tour Director did an excellent job. I would recommend more time at the museum in Normandy, I felt rushed. Expect 2 1/2 to 3 hour dinners starting at 7pm or later. I would have appreciated dinner starting at 7pm at the latest and taking less time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Normandy beaches and the American Cemetery.

review_img

CharlesMurphy

Fantastic Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first Tauck experience and it surpassed our expectations. The itinerary, transportation, multiple tour guides, hotels and meals were excellent. There were four on the trip and we all agreed the value exceeded the cost and we would take another Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Normandy and experiencing D-Day - the museum; beaches; guide and cemetery.

review_img

Tauck

France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

trip was generally good but too little time to catch a breath. Also I have suggested that the tips for the driver and for the tour director be included in the up front cost of the trip. I have suggested this for each trip we have taken with Tauck. (I believe this was our fifth trip). I have never received a response to this suggestion.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy

review_img

Denise Mc

A Beautiful Slice of France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

My kids and I had a fabulous time. There was a good mixture of activities with plenty of free time to wander and shop. The tour director was patient, kind, and made the logistics easy. Our bus driver was a driving magician. The information shared during the bus rides was fantastic. The hotels and food were first-class. We'll be back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tour of Versailles palace, Mont-Saint-Michel in the mist, and the Bayeux tapestry.

review_img

Harrison Kaplan

Amazing and Memorable Vacation with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We chose the Normandy, Brittany, Paris and the Loire Valley trip - our first with Tauck. We had first class treatment - luxury accommodations, expert local guides, ultra comfortable bus, food that ranged from very good to spectacular. Our very knowledgeable, well-organized, friendly tour director was the key to a flawless experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many: Highlights included a private pre-opening tour of the Versailles Palace, an unforgettable day in Normandy at D-Day sights and a cruise in the beautiful Morbihan Bay. Our Versailles and D-Day local guides were the best. The Morbihan cruise included an incredible lunch cooked on the boat and sightseeing among the islands in the Bay.

review_img

Ten Mey

Normandy,Brittany,Lorie Valley & Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I really love small group; had a very private tour of Versailes Palace and it makes me an honor to have that special treatment; good travelers and especially tour director & bus driver did an excellent job; no one showed up late; everyone was on time. We all had a good time laughing and reminiscing every moment.

Most Memorable Moment:

A Big YES!

review_img

VicBehr1008

France 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was my first Tauck Tour and I want to say it was flawless. I picked this Tour because I have always wanted to see Mont-st-Michele, Versailles (particularly the Hall of Mirrors), American Cemetery and the beaches of Normandy, Monet’s home and gardens and finally Paris and Musee Orsay. What can I say, this tour had it all!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many things, but my first glimpse of the Arc de Triomphe as we entered Paris really struck me. Also, I was so impressed when we arrived after a long flight and drive from the Paris airport to enter the beautiful Trianon Palace Versailles lobby! What a beautiful hotel it is! The beautiful views from all the hotels was memorable!

review_img

BBKE

Great Normandy, Brittany, Paris and the Loire Valley Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We did the Normandy, Brittany, Paris and the Loire Valley Tour from June into July. It was a wonderful tour with great destinations, local guides and hotels. Our tour director and driver were wonderful. While Tauck is not inexpensive, it is quality all the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable sites on the tour. The Loire Valley experience at Château de Champchevrier was fascinating. Mont-St-Michel is breathtaking. The local guide on the D-Day part of the tour, a retired British General, did a wonderful job bringing D-Day to life. Finally, Paris was wonderful, as always.

review_img

loves2travel2

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Everything about this journey was really well done. The accommodations were gorgeous and the Tauck included meals were gourmet. Our tour director was great as were all of the local guides. We have taken multiple Tauck tours and the reason we keep returning to Tauck is because of the unique experiences that are also educational.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our local guide for the Normandy Beaches was a retired 2 star British General. His knowledge of the invasion was incredible and insightful. The visit to the American Cemetery was very moving in its serenity.

review_img

Francein2020

France: Paris, Loire Valley, Brittany and Normandy= Le meilleur voyage de tous les temps!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

If you want to really learn about the people, the food, the wine and the history of France, this is for you! From French Royalty sharing their Chateau with us for dinner, to visiting Omaha Beach in Normandy to seeing Van Gogh's and Monet's work up close and personal, this tour has it all. The history and lore of France come alive in every aspect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two different moments and memories: being on Omaha Beach & then visiting in quiet reverence The American Cemetery in Normandy & seeing all the crosses and Stars of David in that pristine setting on Memorial Day, very moving! The second, equally memorable for me, was going to the Musée d'Orsay in Paris and seeing the Impressionists' work in person.

review_img

CharlesHood

A mostly rural inside look at Northern France's charm and beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was a wonderfully orchestrated trip. The weather cooperated, we had good group chemistry, and our tour director (Nicole) was absolutely fantastic--engaging, helpful, and a walking encyclopedia of French history. The pace on this tour is brisk--they keep you busy--but then again that's what we paid for. Bring good walking shoes!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several: Standing and contemplating on Omaha Beach on Memorial Day; watching the sun set over La Manche from our seaside hotel room in Deauville; standing before the Eiffel Tower at dusk to watch the light show turn us all into children; cruising with our new-found friends on the Seine; approaching the majesty that is Mont St. Michel.

review_img

Magic Doc

Remember D-Day, June 6th Normandy France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I had never paid as much attention to this particular date until this year. After meeting our guide/leader/friend, Jacqueline, the adventure only got better and better each day. Tauck took care of the details; we enjoyed the journey! Small group travel made the trip so much more enjoyable. Thank you for the 4 "F's"...Facts, Fun, Food and Friendship

Most Memorable Moment:

As we walked the shores of Omaha Beach followed by the visit to Normandy American Cemetery and Memorial tears rolled down our faces. All Americans Canadians Brits and French should experience Normandy. 28, 225 steps in one day? Yep, a memorable record. Never felt better. The final evening Seine river cruise in Paris pulled it all together :-)

review_img

Gerald P McCarthy

Two weeks in northern France

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This tour is one of the best trips we have taken. The Tauck Director was terrific. There were interesting and fun things to do each day as we moved from one lovely hotel to another. The included meals were excellent. Brittany is worth getting to know. Staying at Le Meurice was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many! Omaha Beach guide. Discovering a little gem of a restaurant in Brittany. Breakfast at Le Meurice.

review_img

PeterChapin

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & the Loire

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We enjoyed this trip with a nice small group well led by the tour director. The variety of experiences we had demonstrated great creativity by Tauck. The final evening cruise on the Seine was wonderful. The places we stayed and the places we visited were well chosen, and the food we ate, albeit too much, was delicious.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Apocalypse Tapestry.

review_img

Allyearlong123

This trip had it all!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This was our first Tauck tour. We will definitely be back for another. We visited the most interesting sites, stayed in luxurious hotels, while soaking in the history of France. Our guide was excellent (delightful really) - imparting current events in France plus background information. We highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hounds on Le Baron's estate. D-Day beaches and cemetery with a local expert

review_img

LearnerObserver

Magnificent! 5th Tauck Tour—Normandy, Brittany, Paris and Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Tauck excellence 5x over! Surprises: beautiful small towns in Brittany; castles chosen for historical significance; Miramar, the love boat; jazz pianist & bar overlooking beach in St. Malo; flaming dessert at dinner there; professor of art guide at Musee d’Orsay; tour director K—knowledgeable, caring, humorous. Lively, friendly companions!

Most Memorable Moment:

Day spent with General Hollands and the private WWII collection. Loved Bayeux Tapestry. Gardens & evening water show at Versailles. St. Malo for All the Light readers. Room overlooking beach in Deauville!! The lovely people with whom Tauck contracts. Our bus driver! Seine river cruise was an exquisite ending. Food!!! Everything. Take the trip!

review_img

Ageloff

Tauck Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

the sights were extremely interesting. Normandy Beaches and cemetery very moving. Hotels and food were great. Tour guide was pleasant and reasonably knowledgeable, but was not as concerned and helpful with personal issues as Tauck tour leaders I've had on other Tauck tours

Most Memorable Moment:

Omaha and Utah Beaches

review_img

Edie7237

All You Can Wish For

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We took the small group Normandy/Brittany/Paris/Loire trip in mid-October. While we have travelled extensively both "solo" and in groups, this was our first trip with Tauck. It won't be our last, it was that close to perfect: ideal itinerary; superb accommodations; knowledgeable leader, guides and staff; congenial travel companions. And ... France!

Most Memorable Moment:

We visited Omaha Beach in Normandy. Three other veterans and I, including a former Army Ranger, led a brief silent prayer ceremony at Pointe-du-Hoc where the Ranger Group had performed incredible, sacrificial acts of bravery on D-Day. Then, between the ripples in the sand, we placed a small wooden cross emblazoned with a poppy.

review_img

RichardFStorm

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Loire Valley is beautiful and France is much more rural than we had expected. We loved Brittany and the stay at the Miramar Hotel. Mont St. Michel magnificent. Normandy, Omaha Beach. the D-Day Academy, American Cemetery and the Caen Peace Museum all part of a meaningful history lesson. Paris, as expected a beautiful city. The French people gracious

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting General Hollands at the D-Day Academy and the excellent tour of Mont Du Hoc and the American Cemetery. Our local Guide from the D-Day Academy was fantastic.

review_img

benalan1

Loire, Brittany, Normandy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This trip was fantastic. It was our fourth Tauck tour. Everyday there was something to see and nothing was repetitive. Brittany is just glorious and Normandy was on our list of must sees. This trip had plenty of private time which we enjoyed since we love exploring new places. The food was amazing. This was a large group-we prefer small groups.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy-the museum, Omaha beach, Vietnam vet laying a cross on the beach, taps in the cemetery. Very moving. Giverney, Paris, dinner on the Seine with a full moon. The open markets in every city. The bread, the butter, the cheese, the wine. Seeing it all with my spouse.

review_img

Merita

Been home for a week and still smiling

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We liked everything about this tour- the pace, the itinerary, the food, the hotels, the tour director and local guides, and the other travelers:).

Most Memorable Moment:

Taps and the lowering of the flag at the US Cemetery in Normandy. A veteran in a wheel chair was there. He was helped by his family to stand as taps played and he saluted. Then he participated in the flag folding ceremony. At least 100 people were in attendance and you could have heard a pin drop.

review_img

Copey

Brittany, Normandy, Loire and Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

A wonderfully friendly group of travelers. Almost every one had a family member who served in WW II. Outstanding tour guide. Outstanding site guides. I, finally, discerned the difference between a four and a five star hotel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Saint Michel. Very close second was Utah and Omaha Beach. Lunch in MontMartre. In 1963 I dated my wife in Paris and we dined in MontMartre.

review_img

Margie C

Normandy & Brittany, Paris & the Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

On the whole the trip was very good. The hotel in Langeais was not acceptable. We had no A/C. Our guide was very good and very attentive to our needs. My husband got sick in Deauville and she very quickly arranged for a doctor to come to the hotel and then had concierge go to a pharmacy to pick up medication for him.

Most Memorable Moment:

Unfortunately, it may be Chateau de Rochecotte. As mentioned before it was very hot and there was no A/C. The best part of the trip was visiting the Beaches of Normandy and the American Cemetery. Our guide there was excellent. We should spend more time in Normandy area.

review_img

Lmac

Normandy, Brittany, Loire Valley, Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

From the first moment arrived Trianon Palace Versailles, I felt in love with France. The journey from Chartres, Loire Valley; the flower garden in Villandry, Brittany, St-Malo, Bayeux, Normandy Omaha Beach, Deauville, Rouen, the beautiful gardens of Giverny, finally Paris. Each of the Stops were wonderful, I just need more time to explore it.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Normandy when visited American Military Cemetery our tour director brought a couple dozen of roses, she gave them to each of us. We were able to put the roses in front of the cross for those young men who sacrificed their life for our country. It was a very touching moment and I am very grateful for the thoughtfulness of Tauck's tour director.

review_img

Phillygirl

Paris, Normandy, and other cities in France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Wonderful. We had a great group and everyone was on time. No complaints from anyone. Our tour guide was wonderful and gave us plenty of information up front so we knew what we needed to do. All the tour guides that came in at different parts of the trip were outstanding and very informative. If we had questions, they would answer.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy and the information from the tour guide - the cemetery was very moving and our Tauck Director gave us a rose to place on any grave we chose. Amazing how many people were lost in one place.

review_img

JKellyK

Tour Director Nils and Driver Momo were outstanding and professional

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Everything was first class. The driver was able to get us almost everywhere early so that we had extra free time. Our Tauck Director was very much in control of keeping things efficient and dealt with a particularly demanding lady professionally. We loved the variety of special accommodations and our choices for meals. Airport transportation was seamless.

Most Memorable Moment:

The farewell party on a beautiful private Seine cruise. Good friends and a very special time. Wonderful way to end our trip!

review_img

TOM RYAN

Amazing France!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had an amazing trip to the Loire, Brittany, Normandy and ending in Paris. Met some wonderful fellow travelers and saw unique sights. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had a great time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy--the museums, the beaches, and the American Cemetery. Very moving, indeed.

review_img

Beach lady

Loved every second

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

I loved this so much, that I have already booked a trip to New Orleans for this fall and will plan another European trip next May. First of all, our tour guide made a great trip even better. We had 24 of the nicest people! Every tour, hotel and meal was superlative---just couldn't have been better. Thanks, Tauck

review_img

thomast747

Unforgettable Loire Valley and Normandy!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The Loire Valley is dotted with awe-inspiring chateaux, each one magnificent in its own right. Our hotels were fit for royalty and our Tauck Tour Director was a veteran dedicated to ensuring that our trip was a memorable one. Local guides were friendly and very well-informed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on the bluffs overlooking Omaha Beach and imagining what it must have been -like when U.S. forces landed there on that fateful D-Day, June 6, 1944 where so many lost their lives in the name of freedom. Visiting the nearby American Military Cemetery underscored the ultimate sacrifice they made.

review_img

Abby2016

Normandy, Brittany and Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Tauck is probably the best company to travel with. We took our first trip 22 years ago on our honeymoon and now that we are retired, this is our 3rd trip with Tauck. I can only say they have gotten better. We have two more trips planned with them next year, both are small group trips. Better experiences with small groups.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy was the most memorable. Being on Omaha Beach and seeing the expanse of beach our guys had to cross to get to the cliffs was emotional. The D-Day Academy took you back in time with remnants from the war found in the fields of France. It was interactive so you could pick up the items, climb on the vehicles, etc. Cemetery just like Arlington.

review_img

Nancy and Bob

For Our Bucket List

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

My husband has always wanted to visit Normandy so we finally booked this tour for September 2016. The Loire Valley was so beautiful and every stop was enjoyable. I have wanted to climb Mont St. Michel since I was a young child and I finally was able to do it at the age of 76.

Most Memorable Moment:

The two days at the Normandy beaches were enhanced by the fantastic guide Tauck employs. This wonderful French gentleman also has his own museum with everything imaginable from WWII. Standing at Omaha Beach was a heart warming and thankful experience never to be forgotten.

review_img

frankiec

A sample of "Saving Private Ryan"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We spent twelve days with Tauck travelling from Versailles through the Loire Valley up to Brittany and Normandy and finishing in Paris. Highlights included the lovely towns of St. Malo, Bayeux, Vannes, Deauville, Angers, Chartres, and Giverny. Seeing the actual water lilies at Giverny and those stunning gardens is breathtaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery. This was the purpose of our trip and seeing the cemetery and the beaches with the bunkers still in place was emotionally wrenching.

review_img

NathanHasson

C'etait tres sublime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Our tour director made this trip special; his brilliance, care, thoughtfulness and professionalism all combined to create a very happy atmosphere and learning experience that was just wonderful! The actual tour was well-thought out, never rushed or forced - a perfect combination of sights and sounds; an experience I will never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were a happy band of 15 that seemed to mesh so well and we all enjoyed each others' company and became instant friends. The tour itself covered a great deal of territory and so with each day we learned new things and enjoyed new cultures and places...Memorable moment: all of them!

review_img

Mickey T

Best Vacation Ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

You have to be careful when you start a trip with high expectations, but that is what I did on the Brittany, Normandy, Paris, and Loire Valley Tour by Tauck. I had never been on a Tauck tour, but my friends who had, highly recommended it. I have to admit that all my high expectations were exceeded. Everything about the trip was fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say..., Chartres was great, Mont-Saint-Michel was breath taking, and of course, we'll always love Paris. But what really sticks out in my mind was Omaha Beach and the great guide that we had. He made us we feel like we were there.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so happy you enjoyed your fist trip With Tauck! We take pride in hiring the best local guides that are available, so we are glad you found the one in Omaha Beach so engaging.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Linda Ward

Normandy,Brittany, Paris and Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I was impressed by the organization, the diversity in selected sites and a knowledgeable and personable tour director. You visit the beautiful Chartres Cathedral and, not only marvel at all the stained glass, but watch a demonstration of how the stained glass was created. The chateaux and beautiful gardens were most impressive. I loved Paris.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on Omaha Beach in Normandy and seeing the Eiffel Tower.

review_img

NBL

France Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I would say that the trip was very good but I do have a few things I would like to say but I find that you do not allow enough words/characters for me to do so. It makes me think you really are looking for an endorsement not a review.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beaches and cemetery at Normandy.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for travelling with Tauck. We are sorry you feel that we are looking for an endorsement rather than a review. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Department at GuestRelations@tauck.com if you would like to further comment upon this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

karolinakathy

France and Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We took the Normandy, Brittany, Loire Valley, Paris trip. It was a great overall introduction to Paris and northern France. Our tour director was a marvel. She kept us all organized and spellbound with her stories about the history of the areas of France we visited. The French were warm and welcoming.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cemetery at Normandy was unexpectedly moving.

review_img

JScott

Another Awesome Trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I loved the Normandy, Brittany, Paris & the Loire Valley trip! I was lucky to again travel with my mom on this wonderful trip. Our tour guide was awesome and many a time I wished she had been my history teacher in school as she made the history come alive!

Most Memorable Moment:

My favorite moment was when my 74 year old mom made the long hike and walk up to Mont St. Michel with the help of great new friends from our group! This is what I love about these tours, so many amazing people and beautiful experiences.

review_img

MWTravel

Great trip to NW France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was a wonderful trip, with many venues and memorable places to see. The Bayeux Tapestry and Mont St-Michel were highlights for us but all of the sites were wonderful. Tour guides were particularly good on this trip and the Tauck Leader was very helpful. We have been on 4 Tauck trips and this is our favorite. Hotels and food were great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mt St-Michel, we were there at low tide. The Bayeux tapestry from the time of William the Conqueror was amazing and interesting. On this trip there seemed to be a daily highlight.

review_img

BParmelee

Brittany, Normandy, Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This trip was a winner from start to finish. I can't say enough good things about touring with the small group option. We got to know everyone and had a better time because we all bonded. The guides were fabulous, as usual, and made each stop more meaningful with their local knowledge. Scenery, food and wine all fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

As a gardener, the stop at Monet's gardens was beyond anything I could have imagined. But standing on Omaha Beach where my favorite uncle had landed on D-Day was emotionally the signature event. General Hollands' knowledge was invaluable. He made that historic spot even more important.

review_img

TRucker

Fantastic Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was a fantastic journey. Our tour director was so nice and knowledgeable. She was about to adapt to any changes in our program and added special touches to our trip such as the roses to put on a grave of our choice at Omaha Beach. Our driver carried us to every place safely. He was so nice and courteous.

Most Memorable Moment:

We saw so much it is hard to pick out our favorite sites. We think the tour with General Hollands to Omaha Beach was the most emotional and memorable. The before hours tour of the Palace of Versailles was so very special.

review_img

Binkie211

Perfection

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Everything went very smoothly.......tour guide and local tour guides were very knowledgable........hotels were excellent.....food was incredible.......the sites and towns were fabulous.........weather was also good......we like to travel in cooler weather so 54 degrees was perfect......Tauck could not have picked a better itinerary......

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many cant pick just one......

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time on this fascinating journey. Thank you for sharing your experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Naturally Unique

Normandy, Brittany, Loire Valley & Paris is a wonderful trip !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Just finished our 3rd Tauck tour. This was a great one ! Enjoyed the flowers in Villandry, Giverny & the small villages. It really was special to see and learn more about WWII history first hand. Mont St Michel was a strenuous " pilgrimage " but so worth it. And well , Paris is always amazing ! This trip has something for everyone to enjoy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing WWII history , especially Omaha Beach & the American Cemetery. Honoring our family veterans and those that fought / died for our freedom was truly spiritual. We loved being able to get a small ziplock of sand from Omaha Beach. We will share it with our family / friends that will appreciate the meaning ❤️ Bring a ziplock for sand

review_img

John Reiss

Magnifique France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our trip to Brittany,Normandy,Loire Valley,&Paris was so much more than we had hoped it would be. We've been on our own several times,but did not enjoy ourselves nearly as much.We experienced France through the watchful eyes of our director,Dixie LeGrand and learned so much more than we ever could on our own.What a wonderful trip.I can't say enough

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count, but if I have to choose, Mt.St.Michel,Giverny & Musee D'Orsay.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Albert Mancuso

Way Beyond Wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We would give this trip 10 stars if we could. Every day was packed with beautiful scenery, history, and friendly locals. From small towns to big cities, it was all wonderful. The hotels and food were perfect. We were so happy that we arrived a day early so that we had 2 days to explore Versailles.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great moments but Versailles, Normandy, and of course Paris really stand out.

review_img

Seabrz

Immersed in France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Excellent immersion in French culture. Each stop was different and unique providing a fresh look at the French way of life. France is much more than Paris alone! The local foods of each region we were in nicely described the people and region. The history was varied and longitudinal covering early middle ages to WW II. Would do it again!

Most Memorable Moment:

The French countryside with friendly people and cultural opportunities.

review_img

midwifekathy

The best vacation of my life

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

With only a minor glitch here and there, everything about this vacation is planned with the highest of satisfaction for the discerning traveler. The motor coach is A+ comfort, the hotels (for the most part) were elegant traditional or contemporary, the food was glorious, the sites were balanced among history, gardens, art, shopping, culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

The French people were so kind, eager to please, polite, with etiquette and charm. I liked the chateaus and gardens the best, in the French countryside of Loire, Brittany, and Normandy. The elegance and stately estates were breathtaking, with unique histories and stories, often going back to midevil times or earlier.

review_img

Iris O

Great trip but a few issues of inconvenience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our trip to the Loire, Brittany and Normandy areas of France was wonderful. My father landed D-Day plus 1 under General Patton, so visiting the Normandy beaches was close to my heart. We did have issues with hotel accomodations on our trip, poor to no air conditioning and internet services were a great inconvenience. Tauck should look into this.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy beaches and learning more about WWII than I knew.Also visiting Claude Monet's home was wonderful, unfortunately,we only had 1 hour there. We needed more time to explore and enjoy it all.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments on your journey with us. Seeing where your father landed must have been very emotional for you. I have passed along your comments regarding the air conditioning and Internet access to our Operations team as they are always making enhancements based on our guests' comments. Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DAI

Normandy, Brittany, Paris the The Loire

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Just returned on July 8,2015 from a wonderful tour with Tauck. The only complaint was the accommodation at the Royal Barriere Deauville.NO AIR CONDITIONING and we SWELTERED in the heat on July 3rd.Dinner in the restaurant service was poor.Had to ask 3 times for a menu for one of our party. Very disappointed in this hotel.Find other accommodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy Beaches and tour by a retired British General of the WWII sites.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am glad that you enjoyed this journey for the most part. I have shared your comments regarding your stay at the Royal Barriere Deauville with our Operations team as they are always striving to make sure our suppliers provide the best service possible to our guests. Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ray

NB 5605046

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Excellent transportation to & from the airport. Excellent tour guide. Now, improvements: The SO-Called Wine tasting who ever heard of Wine tasting with one Rose' wine. The overall bus ride was too long and we did back track areas. LeGrand Hotel des Thermes in St. Malo was inconvenient to reach your room/2 elevators, stars and a dark hall.

Most Memorable Moment:

The General and the Museum. He was excellent. The tapestries were a bit too much. Forget The Chateau Champchevrier . We enjoyed our 16th tour and hope to see new River Boat Cruises in the future.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have shared your comments with our Operations team who is always striving to improve our tours. We look forward to hosting you on your 17th Tauck tour.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Arnie Margoluis

Loire Valley, Brittany, Normandy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It exceeded expectations and all outside factors cooperated, such as the weather.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at estate owned by a Baroness, whose daughter talked to us about her home and her life. She explained further the exhibit that was put on showing how their dogs hunted stag on this vast property. Normandy was special too.

review_img

BStoddard

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We went on the Normandy, Brittany, Paris & Loire Valley trip in early May, 2015. It was great. As always, Tauck had everything well organized and our tour director was well informed and delightful. We loved every minute of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mont St. Michel for the first time. It was breathe taking!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip review for this fascinating part of the world. We appreciate you travelling with Tauck!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marian

Normandy, Brittany, Loire and Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

I enjoyed the variety of sites we visited, and our guides were very good. I would delete the visit to the Duke and the doll collection. Perhaps an after hours visit to the Louvre could be arranged. Paris was so crowded maybe the trip should begin there when not so many are on holiday.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of Omaha Beach and the sacrifices of so many D-Day.

review_img

Robert Cowan Jr

Normandy- Brittany Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

One of those trips we will always remember. Great History and Paris is no doubt " The City Of Lights" Incredible History to match. Our guide was a true Sweetheart. Knows her History, places we went. A very caring person. Told us she has done this trip 8-9 times, but you would think it was her first time. Had much excitment as we did.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several: Thanks to Taulk for putting us up in a beautiful Cheateu when the usual hotel where you normally stay was not ready (going through remodeling). This place should be substitued for your orginal hotel. Of course the guide you had for us in Normandy was amazing. Knew his History.Of Course,The Nat'l Cementery very worth while. Paris too.

review_img

Mariska

"Normandy, Brittany, Paris, and the Loire Valley"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

I was attracted to this tour because of the rich itinerary, which included things I've wanted to see for decades: the Bayeau Tapestry, Mont St. Michel, Chartres Cathedral, the Normandy beaches. This tour also gave me the opportunity to visit Paris once again! This time, I had a reservation to go to the top of the Eiffel Tower!

Most Memorable Moment:

I had the chance to go into the Eiffel Tower, and all the way up to the top! I had purchased a ticket online 3 months in advance (which wasn't early enough because I couldn't get a ticket for my choice of date and time, as they were sold out). Although the evening was cool, cloudy, and rainy, I finally got "up close and personal" with "Eiffel."

review_img

0479

well done. tauck rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

great trip, some rain

Most Memorable Moment:

great people on the trip

review_img

Aoh

Normandy, Loirre valley,Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I'm just back from a my third Tauck trip and as been the norm for me it was a great one. What's stands out on this trip is the tour director, Jacquiline, it's a mark of a professional when they do their job so flawlessly you don't even notice their behind the scenes work. The weather helped out a bit too.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of the tours of the DDay beaches and commentaries from the war historians.

review_img

John Wickham

Normandy, Loire, Brittany, and Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The trip was everything and more of what we expected. The tour director was very good. In addition to being very knowledgeable and accommodating, it seemed that she just became one of us, which was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beaches of Normandy. The only rain we had on our tour came when we were visiting the American cemetery. The rain did not detract from the solemnity, only the amount of time we could pay our respects.

review_img

music lover

Great tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The Paris-Loire-Brittany-Normandy tour was outstanding. We loved the itinerary, the special experiences that Tauck had planned, and the beautiful hotels. One thing that might have been helpful would have been to know the amount of physical activity involved, especially steps and climbs. Otherwise, it was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Chartres Cathedral for a second time. Incredible!

review_img

DMajor1

As always (our 6th Tauck) a GREATexperience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

To be honest, I only went on this trip because of my wife. I was in France in the middle 70's and experienced a lot of extremely rude people. NOT this trip. Everyone we met was more than helpful, kind and generous. The food was (again, as usual, with Tauck) fabulous. The sites visited more than memorable, with some very unique experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the WW II sites, cemetaries and museums very moving and emotional. My wfe loved Paris the best

review_img

andreamer

paris, loire valley, birttany, normandy coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The trip was beautiful and so well presented. Our guide was fabulous! My only wish is that there had been more free time to explore more on our own and shop as well. I think that some of the guides at different places went into too much detail about things we would never remember and I think that was the general concensus. but, A+++

Most Memorable Moment:

The Loire Valley was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen and the Normandy Beaches and their stories were unforgettable.

review_img

CleoFall

Normandy,Brittany, Paris & the Loire

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

From start to finish the accommodations, culinary experiences, handouts & map, scenery & guided visits along the way have created memories and impressions of a lifetime for us. Our tour director was so informative, friendly, and professional handling all our daily needs. The smaller group & totally inclusive travel program was a dream trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Since this was our first time in France we found each destination a treat and engaging experience. We loved the countryside, Chateau visits, history, architecture highlights for sure, and small village visits. Loved St. Malo and Mont St. Michel. Paris was so exciting and we loved walking the city while experiencing the gardens, musses & more!

review_img

Peter Blyth

A wonderful and varied Tauck experiece with skilled tour diredcor and local guides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was motivated by the desire to visit the D-Day Beaches of Normandy and Tauck provided a perfect tour for that. In the lead up, the tour covers a varied itinerary with delightful adventures all along the way. Dinner with the [Employee Name] and his hunting hounds at Chat.de Champchevrier, the lunchtime boat cruise of the Golf de Morbian.

Most Memorable Moment:

The selection of Hotels; the lovely Hotel Royal Barriere at Deauville, two nights in legendary splendor with a deluxe seafront room. We ordered a room-service dinner on the open night and enjoyed the vista and the relaxed comfort. All hotel stays are two nights in duration and same-day laundry is available at Hotel Miramar, Port Crouesty.

review_img

RGymer

Fine Tuning

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

A very enjoyable trip but think European. Hotel rooms are generally smaller and bathrooms especially tubs and showers are challenging by American standards. There is a greater opportunity for casual dress clothing at dinners than the trip description may suggest. I regretted not bringing two sport coats. Some Paris restaurants can disappoint.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Seine river cruise is very enjoyable. A great photo opp.

review_img

Chirp

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Our guide, Katie, was terrific. The General who was responsible for our day in Normandy was amazing. The hotel in Paris was excellent. The individual guides for all but one of the tours was outstanding, and the one that wasn't outstanding was still good. A good pace for the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Day we visited WWII sites in Normandy was the highlight of the trip. Seeing the Bayeux Tapestry was also terrific. The Louvre was worth the four hours we spent there on our own. The River Cruise and Dinner on the Seine was a wonderful end to the trip.

review_img

MCoan

We enjoyed the trip very much

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

The trip was everything we expected and more. Dixie, our tour guide, was just fabulous. She was a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much for her. All of the other guides that joined us along the way, were wonderful too. The hotels were all first class and the food and wine more than met our expectations. Everyday was packed full.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Normandy. Also dinner on the riverboat in Paris.

review_img

stellermj

We never thought we were "bus tour" travelers BUT .........

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

We decided to join the Tauck trip to France because our friends raved about your trips. It also had the destinations that we were interested in. We were so impressed with the service, attention, history and area detailed, we are looking to see what is next. Being on the bus was a delight, comfortable, no stress way to travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our best part of the trip was Normandy and Omaha Beach. Nicole Kreignehofer was awesome & knowledgable and then to top it off Tauck brought in a Historian, Retired British General who was a wealth of information. Mont St Michel was also at the top of our list as a favorite. The town of Deauville was great to be on the coast and many things to do.

review_img

PPJ

Tour de France was a Tour de Force

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Fabulous weather, travel companions, sites selected, guide Katie McGurn, and driver Phillip. The fast paced tour packed in so many places that showed us the heart of the region and the soul of its people. Our Tauck and local guides were exceptional and made history come alive. Would have liked one day of R&R with no time constraints mid tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Omaha Beach and all the other D-Day sites. We were terribly saddened not to have been able to go to the cemetery in Normandy thanks to the government's desire to inflict the maximum pain on it citizens in the shutdown.

review_img

bjf

France and Normandy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I was a looking for an educational experience to learn history and people. I found that to be true with some exceptions. We arrive in Versailles. There is no help in getting to the Chateau and no tour with a person. Why not? You provide tour guides in every church why not here and the Louvre. More guided tour of museums and less visits to churches

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy and museums that you provided a tour guide. I will explain further.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry some aspects of this trip fell below expectations. Rest assured, we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again, we thank you for your patronage and do hpe that you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AWhite

Normandy, Brittany and the Loire Valley 9/21/2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Overall the trip was over the top! Dixie was the best tour guide, not just on Tauck, that we have ever had. The ancillary guides were very professional. The only possible recommendation would be to allow for more personal time on future trips. The Paris section of the trip had adequate personal time slowed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The American cemetery in Normandy was a religious experience.

review_img

PDebus

Dixie Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our tour guide was a vast wealth of knowledge. Seeing a sight is one thing. Knowing how it fits into history is another.

Most Memorable Moment:

St Michael's Mountain. Spectacular!

review_img

Walter

Wonderful trip through France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We felt that the trip was absolutely wonderful! The picturesque countryside, the beautiful villages, the wonderful food and the knowledgeable tour guides made this trip special. Lest we forget, the Tauck tour director and the driver couldn't have been better! We are well traveled and have high expectations re: our travel...this exceeded them!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several but the most memorable was the American Cemetery in Normandy and walking Omaha Beach! What brave young men they were.

review_img

JConnors

Falling for France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

First visit to France. We loved variety of tours, churches, chateaus, museums,historical landmarks. Tour was very full each day, bus driver and tour guide were exceptionally educated and professional. I favored the coastal small towns and then the highlight, Paris. Menus became repetitious however. Hotels were varied in style and lovely.shop?

Most Memorable Moment:

Overlooking the Gardens of Villandry. Viewing the "Apocalypse Tapestry", Dinner at private chateau, the cliffs of Omaha Beach, US cemetery, Eiffel tower, Lafayette store, the marina at Crouesty. Stainglass windows of Chartes cathedral. Beautiful flowers everywhere.

review_img

JPrince

Wonderful Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our first trip with Tauck, and we were delighted! Our tour guide, Jacqueline, and bus driver, Phillippe, were extraordinary! Every aspect of the trip was perfection...the itinerary, the hotels, the local guides, the "bus rotation", the balance between "group time" and "individual time"...all well thought-out and extremely well executed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the D-Day beaches with our local guide, British General (retired) Graham Holland. A truly meaningful and poignant day. Beautifully presented.

review_img

EPorteny

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & the Loire Valley 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The places we visited were beautiful and so were the hotels, however the rooms were sometimes the worst ones facing the back or the interior patio. I feel Tauck has lower their budget. Last year in our Tauck Switzerland trip we stayed in the best rooms of the best hotels in every place we visited. Don't expect that in this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

St Malo, Mount St Michel, the D day tour and of course Paris

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you shortly to discuss this matter on more detail

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

afernstaedt

Brittany, Normandy, Loire Valley, Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Great trip! Lots of history ( and steps). Great Hotels and a tour director that what very knowledgeable, but perhaps even more important, lots of fun. The farewell dinner cruise on the Seine was excellent and seeing the Eiffel Tower lights at night was awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention. Maybe the General and the tour of the D-Day area, or the Givery Gardens, or the Eiffel Tower at night-- hard to say which was best.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pnlyle

Itinerary Perfection!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This tour has been perfected! The tour director, Alexis Granelli, was professional, organized, and gracious. The Coach Captain/Driver, Aristide, not only kept an immaculate coach but was exceptionally competent driver making our way through tight passages and busy Paris traffic. All itinerary selections were exactly what I wanted to see!

Most Memorable Moment:

The day spent with retired Major General Graham Hollands on the Normandy beaches of D-Day 6 June 1944 and the visit to the beautiful American Military Cemetery. This alone would have been worth the trip to Normandy!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Wilcoxm

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & the Loire Valley.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

My first trip with Tauck! Loved being pampered for 12 days! Liked not having to worry about how to get from A to B each day!

Most Memorable Moment:

Peace Museum in Caen; Normandy Beaches and American Cemetery. Local guide was excellent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first trip with us and we look forward to hosting you on many more!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RWelsh

Excellent tour of northern France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Excellent tour of castles, cathedrals, D-Day beaches, and Paris. Tauck tour guide was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the D-Day beaches with an excellent guide.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

hartsterman

Normandy, Brittany, Paris & The Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

INCREDIBLE........France was all we thought it would be. This tour featured a great itinerary, with quality time in the French countryside, along with memories from Paris. What is so awesome about Tauck is that they have outstanding tour directors who know give you the best attention, and best experience. Don't wait to book this one, it is GREAT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandie was the most memorable, and most hallowed experience of our trip. To see and hear from a retired two star General, who is an expert on WWII, was quite moving. Omaha beach, and the American Cemetery are not to be missed.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your journey with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GBecker

Great itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Firstly we were not expecting 40 people in our group. At times it was a bit too many. All the hotels were great except our Paris substitute. The Scribe was not up to your standards. Rooms very uncomfortable with only one uncomfortable chair!! Food was good though and location was fine. The tours were all good and very informative.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy, Mount St. Michel & Monet's garden.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Becker, Thank you for your feedback. We am sorry some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations. We will be sure to share your comments with management. Edelk

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Julia Ruddick

Satisfactory trip, but not as good as our prior Tauck trips

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Some of the hotels were not up to Tauck's usual standards. Too much time on motor coach, attempt to cover too many sights with not enough time spent at each. We felt rushed at almost every stop. One historic tapestry would be enough. Guide and driver were very good. Guide sometimes "oversold" many of the sights thereby causing disappointment.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mont St. Michel and dinner on riverboat on Seine.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry you felt there was too much time on the coach and we'll definitely look into how we could make the time spent more optimal for all of our guests. Glad you enjoyed your trip overall however and we hope you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Frank Mo

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We wanted to visit Omaha Beach, and got to see Loire Valley, Normandy, Brittany, and Paris also!!! Great hotels and food; excellent side trips. The historian who accompanied us for our "D-Day" events was an expert. We would recommend more time at certain sites and less time at others.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting sites of WWII--esp. Omaha Beach. Excellent historian, Nick Kennedy.

review_img

MRudin

Normandy Brittany Paris, and the Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Wonderful trip enjoyed all of it. Every thing was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

OMAHA BEACH

review_img

Travelin' Mac

Beautiful countryside, busy Paris, good tours

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We stayed an extra day at the beginning in Versailles which was good for rest and ability to visit the Palace--most people missed that and regretted it, particularly if they stayed extra days at the end which tended to be much more expensive and busy with a great number of tourists. Overall, too much food too late at night--with no choice of times

Most Memorable Moment:

Hardly enough space for a proper review!...Our most memorable moment was visiting the town of Rochefort en Terre but without enough time to spend shopping and relaxing--on to the next castle...Also interesting and fun was the Champ Chevrier "fox" hunt and tour of the Chateau with dinner and meeting the Baron's family.

review_img

Melle

Great Variety

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

2nd tour and was different than the first. Each activity/place was very interesting but no single WOW! place. I had been to Paris before though. This was nice, just a different experience. Our guide Marianne was upbeat and fun. Hotel locales in Versaille and Paris were great. Some others just ok. Normandy visit very moving.

Most Memorable Moment:

As mentioned it was more an overall good experience rather than one or two wows for me. Loved the converted chateau we stayed in. Was glad to finally visit the Louvre and Rodin museums. The French sauces, pastries and wine are awesome. And portions seemed very balanced. Loved the lunch cruise on Morbihan Bay. Loved the farewell celebration!

review_img

ncadventurer

A Must do itinerary for all Americans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Tauck's professionals provided us a comprehensive, thoughtful, and extremely comfortable vacation. Our guide, Jacqueline, was TOPS. She anticipated our questions and concerns, before we could ever voice them, which assured us that every detail had been covered by Tauck and by recommendations of previous guests. A jaw dropping great trip! Applause!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our guide to the beaches was British Major General Holland. His full day of comprehensive lectures on D DAY were spellbounding. Joining him for our walk in the American Cemetary to honor our 9700+ fallen was poignant. As we solemnly got off the motorcoach, Jacqueline gave us a rose for us to place on the marker of a soldier. Extraordinary!

review_img

Carolyn Biller

Best Tauck Tour Yet

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The tour group was small, only 20 people. We liked that. Also, this was the best group of folks we have been with. It was very interesting to see all the historic sites. It made us want to study more of the history of the area and France in general.At first we were apprehensive about not knowing how to speak French, but, no problem.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick a "most" memorable moment; there were several.The palace and grounds of Versailles (unbeliveable extravagance, no wonder the Frence revolted).Mont St. Michael and the Normandy area.Paris and environs. Actually, the whole trip was memorable.

review_img

ronlab55

Normandy,Brittany, Paris

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The trip was very well done and very interesting. The final 3 days in Paris were not quite as exciting as the 10 days prior. The hotel in Paris was older and the rooms were small. More sight seeing excursions should have been planned for Paris.

Most Memorable Moment:

Normandy was the highlight of the trip along with all of the World War II exhibits.

review_img

JMKND

French Immersion

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

An excellent blend of country and city France, with both culture and history. Choice of lodging locations was very good, with 3 locations on or very near the ocean. For meals on our own, the tour director made excellent recommendations. The tour director and local guides were very good, with the guide at the Normandy D-Day sites exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tough one! Either the walk to Mont St. Michel, the American Cemetery and D-Day beaches in Normandy, or walking the streets of Paris. Attending Mass at the Cathedral of Notre Dame was pretty special too.

review_img

hiker

Great time in Northern France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We had a truly great experience with this tour; our first with Tauck. The tour director, the rooms and the food and drink were all first rate. The pace of the tour was well thought out and gave us enough time to see the important sights. We had time on our own at various times, and this was good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not sure whether my experience on the Normandy D-Day beaches, or the great time we had in Paris were the most memorable. We opted for two extra days in Paris at the end, and it was a great way to end our tour.

review_img

J&B

Many things missed the mark

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Our 8th Tauck Tour, our first disapppointment. Has the change in management shifted the focus from excellent value to greater profit-making? 3-star rooms in 5-star hotels, mediocre meals (in France!), scheduling a visit to a site closed for a holiday.... Loved the French countryside, local guides were excellent, but we expected better from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The guide for our visit to the Normandy beaches was outstanding. He explained with sensitivity what happened on D-Day, and made history come alive by educating us on little-known details. A highlight of the trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that after 8 trips with us, your rooms and meals on this itinerary fell below the high expectation that Tauck has set for its guests. Providing guests with enriching itineraries to new world discoveries has been our passion for over 85 years. We are remiss that we may not have been able to do that on your recent journey. We care very much about your satisfaction and it saddens us to learn of your disappointment. We have asked a Guest Relations Specialist to personally reach out to you to discuss your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

fuzzy penguin

Overall great experience, but lots of bus time compared to sightseeing time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Maybe this is indicative of bus tours, but we spent much of the day on the bus, and sometimes only 90 minutes at a site, with the first 15 minutes taken up by a potty break before the group tour began. Many of these sites were seen only superficially, with the sole objective of saying we'd been there. Fabulous food, hotels, excellent local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mont-Saint Michel! Although equally memorable were the wonderful people I met on our tour, with whom I would love to travel again. If I go with Tauck again, I'll try a river cruise next time. Nevertheless, I saw a lot even if it was rushed, got lots of pictures, and I'm still raving about the food!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We definitely value your feedback regarding too much travel time. When creating our trips, we strive to balance enough structure, sightseeing, and free-time in our itineraries; However part of a great vacation is setting the right expectations regarding spent getting from place to place. We apologize this fell below your expectations and hope the memories of the fabulous food, local guides, and overall positive experience result in your traveling with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TerryBlanchard

North of France

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

As always, Tauck organized and delivered. There was so much more that we saw than we had anticipated. We chose the tour because we had always wanted to visit the D-Day beaches. That experience was moving beyond belief. But the other surprises - the lovely hotel near Langeais, the tapestry in Angers, the port in Crouesty, Josselin, St. Malo, Mont St Michel, Bayeux. Rouen, Giverney and Paris. There was comfort, great food and plenty to see.

Most Memorable Moment:

How can one not be affected by the day in Normandy ending with the visit to the American cemetery?

review_img

BWV578

France is a magnificent country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

This tour covers most of the sights, sounds, and tastes that make France a popular tourist destination. In addition, the coach takes you to regions where most of the tourists are French, so you will have an authentic experience. The small villages are enchanting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bookends: I arrived a day early, took a nap, and went to the night show at Versailles. Be sure to check the schedule; the illuminated fountains and fireworks are lovely. Then I rose before dawn and toured the apartments and gardens all day. At the end, I spent an extra day in Paris. Palais Garnier and Sainte-Chapelle were unforgettable.

review_img

JPM

C'est magnifique!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

For a first exposure to Tauck, we could not have asked for a better itinerary or tour director. Marianne took us into the beautiful French countryside to meet new treats and knowledge at almost every turn. We can't imagine this tour without her at the helm. The "Tauck touches" punctuated an experience we will never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch with a survivor of World War II and the liberation of France; Normandy-Omaha Beach - the American Cemetery; our farewell dinner cruise on the Seine.

review_img

Trooper

Normandy & Loire Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

This was a tremendous and memorable journey. The excursions were all well orchestrated and informational. Great accomodations along the way. Our tour director, Kit, was unsurpassed in his leadership and a real entertainer in his own right.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably floating down the Seine for the farewell cruise or the visit to the American cemetery in Normandy.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button