TravelerReviews

Danube Reflections - Westbound

review_img

Stro

Danube at a snails pace

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The good: crew, food, cabin The not so great: lack of things to do while onboard. We played rummy many afternoons to pass the time. I can play rummy at home! The excursions were very slow paced, too many churches and castles Hotel in Vienna was very worn and not really up to Tauck standards Overall not recommended unless you want to sleep a lot

Most Memorable Moment:

A trip to Terezin which we booked on our own when we were in Prague. Very worthwhile

review_img

janie34997

Danube River Cruise - Prague to Vienna

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Once again Tauck provided an excellent tour with attention to every detail. The ship was well appointed and I could tell they put a lot of thought into its design. The crew on the ship were very friendly and the service they provided was excellent. I would suggest changing the agenda on the Berlin excursion, leave out the BMW museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tour of Mounthausen was sobering, but makes me appreciate the struggles these European countries went through during the World Wars. The Vienna dinner was superb, the best I’ve experienced on any tour. Except for the Berlin tour, all of the shore excursions were well done. The local guides provided great insight into their area.

review_img

FrancisMcGorty

Love Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were very impressed. Truck had been recommended by friends. We thought they were a bit high priced compared to other cruise lines but liked that it really was totally inclusive and it lived up to expectations. I am Gluten free and always worry about traveling. I never gave it a second thought.

Most Memorable Moment:

Some of the special places they took us for lunches and dinners that I think were exclusive to Tauck.

review_img

susananded

The Beautiful Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Low water levels only affected the start of our river cruise. We spent the first day in Engelhartszell instead of Regensburg. All else ran according to plan. We liked the Danube more than the Rhine - the whole river was very scenic. Excellent local guides throughout. Wonderful staff on the MS Savor.

Most Memorable Moment:

The palace dinner and entertainment in Vienna. But I also loved all of Prague. Durnstein was my favorite stop on the river - be sure to hike to the castle ruins!

review_img

MelissaIngram

Great experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We enjoyed every aspect of this trip. From the top-notch customer service from the ship's staff to the food and the local tours and guides. Tauck's excellent tour directors made this a fun and relaxing adventure. The beauty along the Danube made sitting on the sun deck a pleasure as we visited with fellow travelers who became new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

Memorable moments included the local tours, the beauty of the countryside, castles, palaces and cathedrals, and the friendly staff and their excellent customer service.

review_img

MLP

Prague to Vienna

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This itinerary will change starting next year so I can only recommend Danube cruising with Tauck in general. As I now look back at our pictures from the trip I am amazed at all we did and how easy it all was. The boat, hotels and day trips were all well planned and managed. The night at the palace in Vienna was the over the top Tauck event.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable for us was the excursion to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. It was horrifying to walk through it all but I am glad I did and the local guide was fabulous. Not everything in Europe is all palaces, cathedrals and fine art.

review_img

Maria Remner Stacey

Danube Reflections - Eastbound

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Enjoyed the trip very much. Was in awe of all the beautiful cathedrals, castles and scenery. Loved the history of each place, but would have liked some information on the current lifestyles of the occupants of the area. The staff was tremendous, from the Tauck directors to the staff in the dining room and Panorama Lounge.

Most Memorable Moment:

The farewell dinner at the Palais Pallavicini.

review_img

Effie

Wonderful Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The crew on the ship did an outstanding job seeing to all our needs. There is tons of storage in the cabin. The food on and off the ship was delicious and the drinks flowed freely. The tour directors kept things organized and local tour guides were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several including our time in Prague and Vienna, lunch at the Winter Riding School and dinner at the Palais Pallavicini. The tour of the Mauthausen Memorial was a sobering experience but visiting was worthwhile.

review_img

RandallKing

Danube eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

really a wonderful trip. super service and great acommodations and food. will will do another tauck trip soon!

review_img

cdwood312

Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Trip was wonderful. Spent 3 nights in Vienna (2 nights included). Loved Vienna. Have absolutely no complaints about the entire trip. Everything was well planned, food was very good, and accomodations in Vienna and on the MS Savor were excellent. Tour directors were very helpful and were always available. Recommend this trip highly!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention! Dinner & entertainment at Palace in Vienna was excellent and probably my favorite.

review_img

Mary Wills

Danube River Cruise, 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was our first Tauck trip and river cruise. We have absolutely no complaints. Each day offered excellent choices for tours and on board activities; the food was always good, and the cruise directors/guides were the best. Since we love music, we very much enjoyed hearing one of the Tauck Directors sing, and the dance party was such fun. Thanks, y'all!

review_img

DMcMann

Our First River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Everything we hoped it would be. Excellent accommodations, meals, and excursions. Very knowledgeable tour directors who went above and beyond to meet every request. With the small number of guests we actually got to know many of them quite well - some who may become long-term friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cruise director arranged for my wife and I to have a private excursion to the site of Stalag17B in Krems Austria where my father was a POW IN WWII - A very special gift.

review_img

SimoneHowe

The most amazing holiday i've ever had.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

From the moment I stepped out of Munich airport and was greeted by a luxury private transfer to the arrival on the MS Savor and being greeted with smiling faces and a hot towel, fresh lemonade and homemade biscuit I have never been looked after so well. The ship was sparkling clean and the decor was luxurious. The food and staff were impeccable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Waking up in the small scenic city of Passau was my favourite moment, the views were beautiful from our full size window in our cabin and lying in our comfortable bed it all felt surreal. We were moored right in the center of the resort and we could wander into the historical streets and then return to the ship for a champagne and amazing buffet.

review_img

Walt PVB

First Class all the way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

I was most impressed with your staff and the attention to details throughout the tour. As a retired public administrator I commend the manner in which your company is organized and operated with focus on employing high quality employees at every level of interaction with the customer. It was also a joy to travel on a truly all inclusive basis.

Most Memorable Moment:

The formal dinner on the first night of the tour was splendid in so many ways as a result of Tauck's planning and execution, and also because I met some lovely fellow travelers who became wonderful companions throughout the tour.

review_img

esoulsby

How you sail the river does matter!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Tauck exceeds expectations by providing a top-tier treatment on a riverboat that was extremely well designed and well outfitted in terms of amenities and personnel. Off-boat excursions were led by Tauck directors and local guides with excellent bilingual skills who provided outstanding insights. Unique excursions made each day special.

Most Memorable Moment:

A special day was the off-boat excursion to Cesky-Krumlov which included a Tauck-only unique tour followed by a special lunch and performance by local artists. What stuck out on every day's itinerary was the quality of the local tour guides who when coupled with the Tauck Directors made each day a learning experience. Boat staff made each day fun!

review_img

cruhl727

Danube Reflections -- Eastbound -- July 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

What a welcome opportunity to spent several days in delightful Prague, then board a riverboat for a cruise on the Danube, and end with a 2-night stay in center-city Vienna! Tour offerings were always interesting and varied; Tauck tour directors and city tour guides were all excellent. The atmosphere was very congenial; making new friends was easy!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our farewell evening (dinner and performance of Viennese music) at the imperial Palais Pallavivini in Vienne was a delightful treat for the eyes, ears, and stomach. What a spectacular evening prepared exclusively for us! Memorable too was Cesky Krumlov, a UNESCO World-Heritage Site & our old-world "feast" at the Cesky Krumlov Castle.

review_img

Christine Tunkey

Best River Boat Cruise....EVER

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was a birthday gift to myself and I certainly celebrated in style! I had high expectations and hopes for a spectacular cruise down the Danube River and not only were they met they were exceeded in every way possible. The quality of the boat, accomodations, service, food and excursions were superior. It was an amazing trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every one!

review_img

wjweinberg

Danube Reflections

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Wonderful cruise on the Danube and stays in Prague and Vienna. River cruising is the way to go! All of the cruise stops were great, but we especially enjoyed Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic and Bratislava in Slovakia. The local guides were terrific. The Tauck staff and the ship staff were very professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

The venue and the entertainment for the farewell dinner were amazing!

review_img

jjandcj

Danube Reflections Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

It was all wonderful. Tour guides and tour director were wonderful - warm , friendly, hard-working and competent. Each place was exciting and beautiful. Tauck provided us with great tour choices and guides who were extremely knowledgable. The MS Joy was beautiful, the food was great and the ship staff terrific! Fabulous time!

Most Memorable Moment:

Not just one moment, but in general, being guided through each incredible place in a wonderful way while meeting and touring with fellow travelers. It was an extra special vacation!

review_img

ColReed

First river cruise experience made exceptional by Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

May 7-24 2017 Danube Reflections cruise.Did pre and post tour days in Wein and Prague. Tauck most helpful with arrangements. We opted for both guided and on our own shore excursions. We were very impressed with: Staff competence and focus on us, great food, super cabin, and tour organization. Local guides, entertainment and tour directors were No 1

Most Memorable Moment:

The initial dinner and concert in Vienna. The setting was most impressive and the meal and music were first rate. While we enjoyed the entire tour, this evening set the tone for the rest of the cruise and gave us the assurance that Tauck's approach to European river cruising was just what we had expected.

review_img

Bakes

Danube Reflections

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

It was a wonderful trip: the boat, the food, the crew, the room, the side trips, the leaders, EVERYTHING. I have already recommended it to my friends. Even the weather was great and Tauck has no control over that!

Most Memorable Moment:

I was able to reconnect with the exchange student we had for the school year, 31 years ago. She is from Turkey but now works in Vienna for the Intercontinental Hotel. We had a wonderful visit at her place and I even got to meet her mother who now lives in Vienna. It was definitely the highlight of my trip!

review_img

betzhaus

The Joy of the Danube with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was our first Tauck trip, it will not be our last. Tauck's attention to detail, skilled and friendly staff made our trip a dream. We are home 7 days and remain on a "high". The food throughout the trip was outstanding especially on board. The tour directors were outstanding and could not do enough. The same holds true for the ship's staff too.

Most Memorable Moment:

There was no "most" memorable moment. The entire trip was most memorable. The tour selections were outstanding and it was difficult to make a selection. We are wine enthusiasts and were very pleased with the selections offered on the ship.

review_img

saldanac

Vienna to Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Tauck is the best, they make it look so easy. The Danube in May was great, mild weather. The Savor was wonderful, the crew and all the staff worked together to make sure everyone enjoyed their time. The addition of the Tauck Fit shore excursion option worked well since the average age was younger this cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opening dinner at the Palace in Vienna was fabulous, made for a great start.

review_img

indyrfb

tauck is as good as it gets

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

As with all trip some good and bad but this was not Tauck's fault. Luggage was left in Paris by Delta so we missed the first few days in Vienna. After that all was wonderful except we missed the first few days of the vacation. Too bad Delta will not step up and reimburse us for their poor service. Tauck directors and local guides we magnificent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the Wacchu valley, felt like living in landscape oil painting.

review_img

Meg Morrison

Recalling DANUBE REFLECTIONS - EAST

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was a very well planned trip that provided choices and suggestions throughout. The trip began in Prague. Then we were transferred by coach to our riverboat. Onshore stops included Regensburg, Passau, Cesky Krumlov, Grein, Durnstein, with option to visit a medieval castle and monastery, Bratislava, and the final destination of Vienna.

Most Memorable Moment:

One special highlight to our time in Prague, was a visit to the private palace of the Lobkowicz family for our welcome reception and dinner. Walking tours of Prague showed off architecture, churches, and gardens. Tauck's walking tours throughout the trip enriched our experience. Our farewell dinner in Vienna had music and dance performances.

review_img

Jpcdmcc

Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Another trip of a lifetime with Tauck. Started in Prague and cruised the Danube to Vienna. There is not one single negative thing I can think of to say about this cruise. The hotels and the ship were exquisite, the food was wonderful, the tour directors and local guides were great, and the itinerary was just right. First class as usual.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Farewell Dinner at a palace in Vienna complete with an eight piece orchestra, operatic tenor and soprano and ballet dancers in a fabulous venue with outstanding food and wine.

review_img

nkonta

River Cruising is the Best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Tauck's execution was flawless, from the moment we arrived until they delivered us to the airport for our trip home. Our river cruise was well-planned, tour guides were professional and exceptionally knowledgeable and the boat staff members were friendly and helpful. My gluten free diet was "no problem" - delicious choices offered at every meal!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting on the sundeck as we cruised the beautiful Danube. Approaching Vienna was most meaningful because my husband's parents emigrated to the US from there.

review_img

Marsha Kay

Danube Reflections

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We loved the trip from Prague to Vienna. The Savor is a lovely ship and we really enjoyed everything. The food onboard was delicious. Every detail was taken care of seamlessly. The excursions were not disappointing. Best part -- everything was taken care of up front. So nice not to worry about tips and additional costs for excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one. Three stand out. The excursion to Nuremburg, the organ concert in Passau, and the night at the palace in Vienna.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you loved your all-inclusive river cruise with us! We look forward to having you travel with Tauck in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rudic

Wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was our first Tauck tour. It exceeded our expectations which were fairly high based on friends reviews. The people on the tour and the guides were excellent. We felt as if we were treated to the best of the many countries we visited. We learned something new every day. The experiences were varied, we always had choices. The food was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Document Center and related areas in Nuremberg

review_img

Richard Schwab

The Blue Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Outstanding job. This was our first Tauck tour and it was everything expected and more!! Our onboard tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. The onshore guides were all extremely professional and knew their areas quite well. Congratulations, Tauck, you thought of everything. We're already thinking of what we would like to do next.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Mauthausen Memorial Concentration Camp. Our local tour guide was extremely effective in explaining the atrocities of the labor camps and the acceptance of the local townspeople. Midway through the tour, my thoughts were that every high school student in the world should take this tour with this guide so they would fully understand.

review_img

bob0821

Slow float

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Itinerary as described in brochure. Slow pace with little inter mcultural interaction. Main emphasis on dining on board which was excellent but hardly a reason to travel. Trip pace very slow and in general superficial. Best suited for tourists not travelers. While a pleasant way to see rhe on try side, we would not do one again!

Most Memorable Moment:

Palace dinner in Vienna

review_img

Linda Hall

Wonderful experience on the Danube!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We had a wonderful time on our Danube Reflections River Cruise. The planned activities were varied and lots of fun. Food and service on the ship were superb! Our tour directors and cruise director were wonderful, and made sure that everyone's experience was the best possible!

Most Memorable Moment:

Lots of memorable moments, but the gala dinner and concert in Vienna was a great ending to a wonderful trip.

review_img

you artist

Danube Reflections - Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The trip was very well organized with great attention to detail and focus on guests' comfort and enjoyment. No matter what we asked for, we were told "of course." The tour directors are very well trained to work with various personality types and they excel at what at times can be a difficult task. The boat, MS Savor, is a treasure.

Most Memorable Moment:

The final dinner at the Intercontinental, Prague. The cocktail reception on the Roof Top was lovely.

review_img

Miss Betty

Tauck River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

By far our Tauck River boat was superior to any of the others on the Danube. The room was really comfortable with plenty of space to lounge. The bathroom was really big and had lots of storage space to make the trip very comfortable. We enjoyed each stop along the way and had plenty of time to take in all the sites and sample the local food.

review_img

griffin cruise

Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Every detail of the trip was taken care of by Tauck. The boat, staff, food, itinerary and excursions were all excellent. The Tauck trio who led our trip were great! They were passionate about what they did, shared their deep love of and knowledge about the area with us and set a tone of excellence.

Most Memorable Moment:

Prague should be on everybody's bucket list of places to visit! Such beauty and history!

review_img

cruise lover

love the Danube!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This began in Prague which is a must see for everyone. We loved every stop and appreciated all the special events like wine tastings and demos and the little gifts they were always giving us to remember a stop by. The winery in Slovakia was truly impressive and we loved Bratislava. It was ALL good and we'll do it again.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner at the Palace in Vienna is worth the trip alone. It is very, very special. This is a must do cruise!

review_img

globalpaul

Danube River Cruise May 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We do a lot of vacation travel, mostly ocean cruises, some land tours and independent travel. This trip was among the best based on the itinerary, the variety, and especially Tauck's exceptional management style. All-inclusive is a given, hotels, ships, restaurants, tours were tops; the trip provided an insightful look at the countries visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was able to find my Grandfather's apartment in Vienna, where he lived before emigrating to America, and was able to connect a number of dots in my family history, mostly about life in Austria in the late 1800's.

review_img

Anna Jeanine Brown

Prague to Vienna

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was our BEST VACATION EVER! We can not think of any way who could have been any better! The three tour directors were outstanding as was the entire ship staff!

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the palace in Vienna!

review_img

rhblack26

Tauck knows how to do it right!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

We just returned from the Blue Danube river cruise. We had a great time. We saw so many palaces and castles. The tour guides with Tauck are the best, warm, friendly, extremely knowledgable. The local guides at our destinations were amazing and were able to share personal info to make the tours more personal. Taucks customer service can not be beat.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Nurnburg - Documentation Center and lunch at the local pub.

review_img

JSilverberg

Daube Reflections - a wonderful tour.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Two days in Vienna, including a welcome dinner in a private palace. Then seven days on the beautifully appointed MS Savor, ending with two days in Prague and a farewell feast with the beautiful city as a backdrop. Along the way, excellent guides to medieval towns, Roman ruins, castles, cathedrals - an immersion in history and culture. Perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many! The elegant welcome dinner, with string quartet and ballet dancers; a noontime concert on Europe's largest pipe organ; sailing through the Danube's lovely Wachau Valley; the guide in Bratslavia making us laugh with stories of George Clooney; finding an Irish pub for lunch in Prague with new friends from the tour. Meals very memorable!

review_img

dhatfield1818

First Timers / Exceeded All Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our first cruise of any kind rates 4-Stars because we have nothing to compare. But Tauck will be our 1st Choice for all future tours. Professional, personable staff. Well-planned and executed excursions plus time to chill and enjoy scenery. First class accommodations and meals. Only surprises were nice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Český Krumlov "exclusive" excursion most memorable AND also the best among many examples of the added value we perceived to be a result of paying a bit more for Tauck. A number of our fellow tourists echoed that perception. Organ concert at Passau's St. Steven was transcendent. Thank you, Tauck planners!

review_img

Constance Wingate

Itinerary

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

I had been to Prague twice before, but this trip was the winner. We walked in neighborhoods not seen before, saw fabulous churches not seen before, and beautiful gardens amid bright sunshine.

review_img

loraine

Not up to previous Tauck experiences

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

1. The boat very good accommodation - new and clean and spacious. Shame about the noise of people walking on the sun deck - better insulation? 2. The food - very average, cheaply catered - especially the wine list. We were paying premium prices and the food, which is sUch a small element of the cost was poor by any standard. When we complained - the chef and Maitre D' pulled out the stops for us much to the chagrin of other guests. 3. Tour Guides - on the last night one of our dining companions asked - who were the Hapsburgs - that says it all - the guides did the minimum possible - we did not want to know they dodged the draft and bummed around Europe - but the history of where we were.

review_img

gvangraaf

Danube Reflections

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Although the weather was poor, we enjoyed our river cruise. Tauck people were professional and lovely. We were quite taken with the ship itself, the Captain, his crew and the amazing food on The Savor.

Most Memorable Moment:

As I mentioned in person, it was a shame for people visiting Prague for perhaps the only time to miss an audio tour of The Lobkowicz Palace. The joint next door was a very poor substitute. That The Lobkowicz Palace is offered on another Danube cruise makes no matter. It's an exquisite 'museum' experience and William is a charmer.

review_img

Radiovoice24

Best trip ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was my first river cruise. It was so very nice to be taken care of in every possible way on board the MS Savor. The service both on board as well as on land at each stop with our tour guides was impeccable. There was just the right amount of time for leisure and for sightseeing on land. This is definitely the best way to relax and travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Coronation city of Bratislava where my Grandparents once lived. I remember as a child being told how beautiful the Linden trees that line the city streets were. My day in this "magical" city proved this to be true. This more than made up for the extremely unpleasant Austrian Airlines outbound flight with uncomfortable exit-row seating.

review_img

Dave65

Danube reflections 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Selected Tauck despite higher price based on friends experience. We don't usually do tours, but a 50th wedding anniversary seemed ideal for a first riverboat. This proved a wise choice as the trip and locations were memorable, the ship (Savor) was elegant, the travel companions fun and an overall wonderful memory resulted.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opening night at the Pallavinci palace in Vienna! The dinner in a classic castle, with great food/drink and super talented entertainment set a very high bar for the trip. While the trip was wonderful, no other event matched the first night.

review_img

Bryan and Jan

Danube Reflections - Prague to Vienna

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our 1st time river cruising, we traveled with an interesting, diverse group of multi-generation travelers from the US and Europe. Tour directors Karel, Sinead, and Daisy were organized, always helpful, and well informed. The MS Savor and crew were outstanding. We appreciated the multiple options offered each day to cater to individual interests.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great memories, but the Imperial Viennese evening at the Palais Pallavicini was the perfect ending to an absolutely enjoyable trip from start to finish.

review_img

mswati

STEAMING ON THE DANUBE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Steaming in more ways than one - very hot and dry weather. But thanks to great organisation by Tauck, all went well. We stuck to the schedule which was important to ensure we mad eall the wonderful excursions.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the banquet at the private Palace in Vienna. Wonderful food, music and dance. A fitting end to a wonderful trip.

review_img

ClaireB

The most enjoyable vacation I ever had. I went on many cruises before, river or ocean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

but this one was the best. I was kept busy enjoying music, a tour with a show, and many details. The food was great, the waiters were very nice. I liked three of the women in charge but not the one who forgot me in Regensberg when I walked behind her and suddenly found myself among school kids and no group in sight. She never bothered to check.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to say since I liked to watch the scenery on the top deck, the musical evening on the ship and above all the dinner at the palace in Vienna. This night is unforgettable.

review_img

Snookum

We are believers!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

After having taken many ocean cruises, we were a bit apprehensive that we would enjoy a river cruise. Our concerns were put to rest from the very first day. The tour directors were exceptional in their knowledge of the areas traveled, their attention to detail, and their friendly caring manner. The crew on the MS Savor was also superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were in Prague on the 4th of July and the directors arranged to have red, white and blue table decorations and balloons at the final dinner to celebrate the event. What a nice, thoughtful touch.

review_img

dborn

Really good tour directors.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The Tauck Directors were all great. Their knowledge and commentary were really good. The ship was also good with great food and service. Some wrinkles were mentioned in my hand written report and were more specific relating to time allocated to the documentation centre in Nuremberg or local guides and their inexperience using the VOX device.

Most Memorable Moment:

Marillen Knodel in the Wachau valley. An absolute must for everyone. They really should be offered to the entire group. We tried them on a recommendation from Bara, because we did not wish to attend a church service, and they were offered in the cafeteria at the monastery we were visiting.

review_img

vkjones703

Castles and Cathedrals, Cobblestones and Cruise- Danube Reflections Vienna to Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

If a laid-back, quiet, no pressure 7-day cruise on the Danube is what you need,then picture-postcard vistas surround,while pampering MS Savor staff are at your beck-and-call. Cobblestone lanes, castles & cathedrals call you ashore. Entertainment onboard-more about camaraderie among guests. Vienna & Prague are truly gems to be savored much longer.

Most Memorable Moment:

Though Vienna's exquisite, a Heuriger lunch is terrific intro to local fun culture. Český Krumlov UNESCO Castle tour is the "wow" factor site in medieval town. Dürnstein is must see fairytale to explore. Apricot liquer and white wines couldn't be more fun.Prague is an inviting surprise, and Czech beers are the best. MS Savor-Arthur's surf & turf!!!

review_img

Oscar45

Danube Reflections - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Beautiful views, great food on board, pampering accommodations, made new friends, was treated like a king. Given daily information about what was happening, extremely well organized. Knowledgeable local guides and great tour directors. Well selected tours at each location and options to satisfy any demands. Yeah, I forgot, very happy with my choice

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count. The reception cocktail hour and dinner allowed for mingling and finding like minds. Prague and Vienna offered beautiful places to visit and staff recommendations were great. And so did every place we visited in between. The parting dinner at Palais Palavecini was memorable.

review_img

Andrew H Demos

Exceeded all my expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

First time with Tauck. Will not be our last.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't narrow is down. Everything was great!

review_img

Nitsa

Glorious Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

From the beginning at Prague until the end at beautiful Vienna the Tauck team gave special attention to every single one of the travelers and provided a most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The final night's dinner and Viennese music in the Palais Palavincini was more elegant than any banquet or wedding reception that I have ever been to! The setting in the Palace and the precise serving of the delicious meal was as spectacular as the music, ballet dancers, and opera singers that entertained us all evening. Fabulous finale!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed our Tauck exclusive evening at the Palais Palavicini. It is truly a magnificent evening that you simply cannot book on your own. Thank you for travelling with Tauck!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

wanderingstar

Danube Reflections- Westbound- October 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This trip was amazing and flawless from the warm welcome at the Ritz Carlton in Vienna to the Captain's Farewell Dinner in Regensburg.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was Day 5 when the Savor was docked at the quaint village of Dürnstein. Tauck Director Mark led a 5 km/3 mi bike ride from Dürnstein to Weissenkirchen for a small group of biking enthusiasts. We rode along the Danube and through a vineyard with the warmth of the sun in the picturesque Wachau Valley.

review_img

yahoo

Storybook journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Friends recommended Tauck so we booked Danube Reflections Eastbound. This trip went beyond our expectations. The price was dear but after a few days we felt it was well worth it. The tours, coaches, ship, meals, complimentary drinks and pleasant guides were all exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Golfing on the top deck with a medieval castle in the background.

review_img

Tony and Dale

Danube Reflections Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

I cannot praise Tauck highly enough...our every need was attended to in a timely, efficient and friendly manner. From the moment we boarded, until we reluctantly departed, we enjoyed being taken care of, along with seeing some of the most wonderful places. We met some incredible people and shared a memorable holiday. Thoroughly recommended !!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too hard to pick one but dinner in the Palace on the final night would be up there !!

review_img

MrsWoody

Danube Reflections

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The staff was amazing from the time we stepped on the ship until our departure from the hotel in Vienna. Very detail was worked out with no problems and we saw more than we ever expected could be possible. The chips, vboxes and bus transportation made for a great tour. Enjoyed the finer details of the ship including hot tub and putting green.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the 14 locks on the Danube river. Making new friends and not being assigned seating was great.

review_img

busybee

A wonderful experience.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I loved our stay in Vienna, could have been longer. The River Cruise was super comfortable and the service impeccable. As was the food. Open bar and no tipping adds to a relaxed vacation. The three directors on board were also wonderful. I don't think Tauck could have done more.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going through the locks was new for me and very interesting. Most memorable moment was opening the shades and watching the landscape glide past with all the comforts at hand.

review_img

jebert

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our second Tauck Tour and our first river cruise with Tauck. We have done two other river cruises with another company and Tauck is better by far. In fact we have booked two more Tauck trips for next year--one for the Dalmation Coast and The Grand European Tour from Bucharest to Amsterdam. What's better on Tauck?-people, food & activities

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic. It is a very special place!

review_img

Hunnybee

Tauck is the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

When you travel with Tauck, you can leave your wallet at home. Everything is provided for you and with panache. We took the new riverboat, Savor, from Regensburg to Vienna. The cabins were a good size and the views from the sliding glass doors were magnificent. The meals were prepared and served with elegance.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many, I'd have to say the Benedictine Abbey and Gottweig castle. The abbey is situated on top of a hill and as you approach, you'd think you were entering fairyland. The Imperial quarters within the abbey are opulent.We were able to be present as the monks chanted their noonday prayers, an event available only to Tauck travelers.

review_img

Jack and Linda

Danube Experience (4 1/2 stars)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Great ship with excellent accommodations, very good service. Comfortable, inviting lounge and bar facility. It was a smooth and beautiful sail. Really good tours of each of the towns along the Danube and good commentary from the captain's deck of the scenery as we sailed. Tauck's efforts to please guests is extraordinary! Loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many moments to remember-like the final dinner in the Pallavicini Palace. But the best for me was the quiet, glorious sail through the Wachau Valley on a beautiful day in the hot tub on the upper deck.

review_img

Kuts

trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

It was awesome, from the Riverboat, our tour guides, the tours and the food. The hotels in Munich and Vienna were first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Undoubtedly the Vienna night at the Palace for dinner. The entertainment was the best. What a wonderful way to end our trip. This was the WOW in the trip.

review_img

Bill Kelley

Only the Best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

As expected it was great from touch down to take off. The Tauck staff is always there to take care of anything & everything. We have cruised with the top lines in the world and there was nothing lacking on our river boat. Staff, food, room and service were the best. Another fantastic Tauck trip to remember for the rest of our lives!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had so many, but one was just sitting on the top deck with the great friends we had made on the tour, laughing and watching the great scenery go by. One other had to be Nurenberg just for all the history. On one of the tours myself and my husband ended up with our own tour guide. Nothing like a private tour to make your day!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button