TravelerReviews

Royal Danube, Berlin & Kraków - Eastbound

review_img

TSW

Missed opportunity

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had a great trip until Passau, Germany where my wife came down with a serious eye infection which resulted in our immediate return to the States. We would like to thank Tauck for the grand support we received during this unfortunate period during our trip. One of the Tauck Directors and the ships' cruise director were kind and very helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Salt Mine in Krakow and seeing the beautiful countryside in Austria as well as the small towns and villages in Austria. The dinner and show in Vienna was superb. Missing Berlin was a major disappointment but we shall return

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are glad that you are on the mend, and we look forward to hosting you on your next Tauck journey. Fortunately you folks had our Cruise Protection Plan, so it made these arrangements much easier than if you had not purchased this plan.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JStookesberry

Krakow to Berlin WWII

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

While we liked the Savor and its crew, we were disappointed in the farewell dinner at the Bundestag. The food wasn't very good and it's a government bldg. with a rooftop restaurant. I wish we could have had a farewell dinner with music and a place (even the Adlon) with more atmosphere. Very sterile, unlike all the farewell dinners we have had.

Most Memorable Moment:

I liked the guide in Nuremberg tour--she was the best-the other local guides not that informative or personable. The Vienna Palace dinner with music was the best evening. I wish we had been told about the low water levels prior to departure. Otherwise a satisfactory trip.

review_img

Steve Savage

Danube Delight

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This is my second trip with Tauck. Last year, we did "An African Safari" in Kenya & Tanzania and this year the Krakow to Berlin, via the Danube River. It both cases, the trips were amazing and Tauck always does a fantastic job. The accommodations are always first class, the guides are extremely knowledgeable and we always leave with a huge smile.

Most Memorable Moment:

I would have to say biking through the vineyards in Austria was my most memorable moment. At one point, we were biking through the vineyard while our boat was chugging along side us on the Danube, pretty awesome.

review_img

Smiling Sam

First Year Hiccups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Being the first year this tour has been offered there were several instances where things weren't quite up to the normal Tauck precision. Too much of the 3 tour director's time was spent keeping track of the 120 people on this tour. In addition, the synchronization with local guides wasn't to the normal level, causing wait times. Needs tweaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Salt mine tour and dinner in Krakow.

review_img

Bonnie Joy

Berlin to Krakow via the Danube on The Savor

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

It was truly a flawless trip!! Tauck Tour guides were excellent and we loved learning about their background. Local guides were also very good. We were a little concerned about traveling with such a large group but we were impressed with how well the guides managed to make the trip seem very intimate. We loved the ship and the pace of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Aushwitz and Birkenau as well as the Salt Mine on our final evening. I also enjoyed the onboard guest speakers as well as the local evening entertainers as well as the music at the Palace dinner.

review_img

peter arthur

Cruising on the Danube is hard to beat

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Tauck understands all the ingredients of a happy, carefree holiday. And these are all present on this maiden eastwards voyage from Berlin to Krakow. It was especially interesting to compare how East Berlin and Poland have recovered after WW2 and 40 years of Russian domination. There's a strong historical theme too. Well done Tauck - yet again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck keeps you busy on board with musical entertainment and interesting lectures. My most memorable moment was Edith Kudlak's talk on her memories of life in Vienna during WW2 as the young daughter of a Jewish father and Catholic mother. She endured great hardship and humiliation which she relives in her address with honesty and fortitude.

review_img

wildcat03

Love river-crusing with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Second time on the Savor. Was as good as the first time. Adlon Hotel was fine. Great location as was the Sheraton in Krakow. Can do without the bus sight-seeing in Vienna. Itinerary was excellent. Lunches on land were very good. Will do another river cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz-Birkenau excursion, even with the large crowds was moving.

review_img

Zaidita

A serene trip down the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was not our first river cruise, it was our 8th, but first with Tauck. We have cruised the Danube before but loved the inclusion of Berlin & Krakow. We enjoyed the cruise, found the itinerary creative and onboard activities interesting. We traveled with Tauck twice on land tours & loved it. Did not like the lack of balconies in the suites.

Most Memorable Moment:

The walk in Krakow’s Jewish sector as well as the visit to Berlin’s Reichtag and its Nazi past.

review_img

Bill Miller-Zurell

How One Travels

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

How one chooses to see the world does matter. We are fortunate that our friend and agent understands this and appreciates that quality is conformance to requirements and fulfillment of expectations. Tauck has succeded in doing both on this, their inaugural Royal Danube Berlin & Krakow trip. We were "wowed" from beginning to end. Thank you!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to Auschwitz / Birkenau combined with the "Topography of Terror" tour in Berlin. The trip was jam-packed with extraordinary memories. Wannagoback!

review_img

ESNAL

Fabulous trip with hovel hotel rooms...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The content was glorious. The staff was extraordinary. The riverboat was as good as it gets. On the other hand, the hotels were mediocre, with the first utterly awful. A hovel -- blamed on Tauck. It was a small room on the first floor with defective air-conditioning that was never fixed. It overlooked a motorcycle parking lot and storage bins.

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz. (It would be a good idea to call us about our comments in the above, "Tell us about your trip." There was no further room and we do have additional comments.) Our "Maybe" below is based on the comments above and the room in second hotel, The Adolon Hotel in Berlin room also had defective air-conditioning and it smelled like a sewer.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. Per your request, I have forwarded your review to our Guest Relations Department who will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MargaretCole

Wonderful experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We enjoyed all the amenities and the Tauck Directors and staff. Have been on other cruises, first one with Tauck..they take great care to detail......ship was well appointed, staff did their best to be polite and courteous and cheerful! There were a few "bumps" along the way, however this was the first trip on this route and it all went well.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner at the Palace in Vienna, got to dance the Viennese Waltz the entertainment was fabulous.....the visit to the piano factory in Beyreuth Austria...absolutely amazing!

review_img

travelhelp

Walking through history

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

All itinerary offerings were great - perhaps daily write ups could have been more helpful - "some walking" was not always correct. Lots of walking most days. TD and local guides really helpful and full of history. The ship was enjoyable as always and the hotels were perfect and in great locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Auschwitz

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button