TravelerReviews

The Ultimate Alps & Dolomites

review_img

Elaine Jo

Dolomites and Alps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Very extravagant!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many - Dachau, Passion Play, mountains, mountains, mountains, Alphorn, Titlus, food/hotels - even putting the bus on the train!

review_img

Roger Van Teyens

Interesting Local Tours

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Daily excursions with local guides provided insight into the destinations visited. Whether it was a tour of town, hike on top of a mountain, beer tasting, cheese making, dinner in a salt mine, behind the scenes in a chocolate factory, driving through the countryside, boat ride on Lake Lucerne, or fondue dinner, experiences were location specific.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting a well known mountaineer and seeing the World War I trenches in the Dolomites.

review_img

Dawn Whitmer

Ulimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Wonderful trip from start to finish. Great opportunity to visit interesting towns, wonderful side trips, and beautiful scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

The closing evening. We came together in a short 13 days and became a little community and enjoyed new friendships.

review_img

Miami J

Beautiful places. Tight schedule

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We enjoyed most places, we spent a lot of time in the bus and many beautiful places we drove through and didn't even make a 5 min stop for pictures. Great hotels, food was very good (don't expect to eat like in Italy, Spain or France). Overall great way to enjoy some places and have a glimpse of others that you may want to come back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt Titlis, Salt mines, small villages like St Gilgen, Monstein.

review_img

GFranz

August 2018 Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

A trip to a beautiful part of the world led by our excellent tour guide. Every city, town, village, and vista was a delight, the hotels were fabulous, and the local guides were knowledgeable and very interested in sharing their knowledge with us. Our bus driver was the best ever.

Most Memorable Moment:

Although heart-wrenching, the history and tour of Dachau, led by Michael, the best guide we have ever had on any tour, was a highlight of the trip. There was much we didn't know about the concentration camp, the events leading up to its creation, and the years after the war.

review_img

Sheila Wilkinson

Fascinating journey!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This is my 6th Tauck tour and I continue to be impressed with the journey the team puts together for their guests. I have loved every single one of my adventures. This tour is my favorite one so far. The history, mountains, activities and well planned & executed tour by the Tauck Director and Motor coach driver made my experience unforgettable. Loved everything about it!

Most Memorable Moment:

So hard to choose! The Dolomites area in Cortina, Munich excursions with our guide, Mt Titlis experience, the food & service through the areas visited especially in Cortina.

review_img

SharonE

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We enjoyed the variety of activities and sites on this trip. The trip begins in Munich with a bit of history. The trips to Dachau and the Eagle's Nest were emotional. The rest of the trip includes scenic and cultural wonders, with the finale atop Mt. Titlis. Days are filled with interesting activities, but there is also plenty of free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many memories to select just one, but our favorites were the Eagle's Nest, the salt mine, the ski jumpers, the funicular and the views above Davos, Lake Lucerne, and Mt. Titlis.

review_img

easyed

Alps & Dolomites!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I had never been to Europe before so we were able to cover a large area in a short time. The tour guide and bus driver were both excellent. The hotels were excellent and well situated to tour on our free time. The food on the trip was outstanding. The bus ride from Cortina to Davos was a little long. I would have liked a tour of BMW while in Munich.

Most Memorable Moment:

I thought the highlight was tour of Mt. Titles and the Dolomites near Contina. thanks for a fun trip.

review_img

traveler64

Alps and dolomites July 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was our 19th trip which we did back to back with Switzerland, this being the first. Besides the majestic scenery, we had hands on experiences, entertainment, and active fun. The balance of free time and activities is excellent. I would recommend this over the Switzerland trip which is very boring unless you are a foodie or shopper.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt. Titlis activities and Salzburg where we had time to do our own "Sound of Music" walking tour. We would have liked a Mozart performance of some type there, thus the 4 instead of 5 stars.

review_img

Bill Farr

Graduation present

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We took our granddaughter for a graduation present along with her father, our son, on a trip thru the Alps. It could not have been better. The scenery was magnificent, the hotels were superior, the trip Director was the best, the bus driver was highly skilled, the various stops were interesting and the weather was great. A perfect trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not one, but several. Primarily the incomparable scenery that occurred day after day. We could not get over how beautiful the trip was on a daily basis.

review_img

Stephen ST

THe Ultimate Alps & Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We travel through a lot of scenic areas. The Dolomites were beautiful and quite distinct. The fellow travelers on the tour were friendly, making the trip very pleasant. The accommodations were superb and Tauck's arrangements for the trip impeccable. I really appreciate the all inclusive aspect of Tauck tours where all excursions are included.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many great moments on the trip, such as free time in Bolzano where I decided to visit the museum to see the Ice Man, but for me the drive along the Grossglockner Pass was most memorable. The scenery was breathtaking and I was in the midst of the Dolomites. The weather cooperated which makes the drive a success.

review_img

terizim

go see the alps and dolomites!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

it was fantastic! the mountains are just spectacular, as are the alpine architecture and food. we had so many great experiences but the favorites were the "top of" moments. germany, austria, eagle's nest, the pass. our group was so friendly and our guide was fun and very knowledgable. the bus is uber-comfy. the hotels were fantastic!! must do!

Most Memorable Moment:

the top of germany! amazing!

review_img

Eyestothehills

Awesome Alps!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was an absolutely wonderful trip. Amazing views at every turn. Many, many "WOW" moments. The tour director and driver were great. Unfortunately we encountered some bad weather, but our tour director anticipated this and had alternative plans. The hotels and meals were first rate, and there was just the right amount of free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had three really memorable moments: Hiking and rock climbing in the dolomites, strolling through Salzburg and dinner in the salt mine.

review_img

cjdressel

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

It was a wonderful trip. All five countries we visited were spectacular with amazing views. Our tour guide could not have been better. Bus driver made us feel very safe. We went to many places I’m sure the average tourist does not see. All the hotels were first class. Tauck guides you through the entire tour anticipating every need.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Jeep ride up the Dolomite Mountains in Cortina, Italy and a guided hike lead by real mountain climbers were the highlights of our trip.

review_img

Coalport

busy wonderful days

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

A trip well worth the money. With 41 travellers on the bus everyone co-operated under the guidance of our tour director. She had alternative plans for bad weather days and we didn't feel hard-done-by. The last 2 days were a little lame but I noticed that next years itinerary has changed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole salt mine experience.

review_img

Tom Repko

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

First eight nights just spectacular! Fabulous resorts, amazing geography...best ever!!! The final four nights were a disappointment! Davos was uninspiring...hotel so out of character for prior stays and way out of town! Bad Worsthofen was a great let down!!! Here at a health resort/spa and NO spa services available! This was a waste of a stay

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking the Dolomites and rock climbing!!!!

review_img

nheitz21

The Ultimate Alps and Dolomites, July 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

There is much to see in Munich and the environs. Arrive a few days early to accommodate this. There were a wide variety of stops including lovely cities, historical buildings, a theater, castles, a salt mine, working cheese, chocolate, and brewery businesses, and amazing vistas. The hotels were excellent and the guides knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Definitely more than one! Hiking in the Dolomites, visiting the salt mine (the slide is a blast), and attending a Mozart concert in the fortress overlooking Salzburg.

review_img

marco island

Disappointing tour guide

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

It was generally a good trip but started out a little slow. Beautiful hotels and great food. But the tour guide was disappointing. On the coach PA system he droned on for hours without a break reading road signs and criticizing other drivers and pedestrians. Telling derogatory stories about previous guests, not very professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Salt mine tour and Cortina Italy where we had a great hike and were able to learn how to rock climb.

review_img

bct

Misleadingly-named trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

A typical Tauck trip: great hotels, some meals, little cultural excursions (e.g. cheesemaker, brewery, schnapps distiller, chocolate creator). The problem is that 2 weeks of "Ultimate Alps and Dolomites" had just 2 hours walking in alps at 3 places and maybe half the trip was non-alps Europe. I'd wanted an actual 'Ultimate Alps and Dolomites' trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking during our two-hour visit in Dolomiti. It turns out Dolomiti are astoundingly beautiful mountains and we had perfect weather that day to enjoy, briefly though it was, the wonderful scenery, wildflowers, etc. Tauck even arranged a little climbing lesson and climbing that rock wall a bit nicely enhanced the experience. Great fun.

review_img

Bertel

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Fabulous trip, excellent itinerary. We took our 3 teenage grand children and their parents on this trip of a lifetime and all of us enjoyed every day to the fullest. Our tour director was a very knowledgeable, helpful and fun young lady and our bus driver was an absolute Pro!! Thank you Tauck for the memories!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Berchtesgasden Salt Mines and Kehlstein Haus, Tyrolean dinner with local entertainers in Seefeld, Austria, mountain climbing at Malga Ferera, Dolomites (Cortina D'Ampezzo, Italy)

review_img

HMB Traveller

One of my best trips yet

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I had only gone on riverboat cruises and was a bit worried about taking a bus tour. Our tour guide and driver were EXCEPTIONAL, which is important on an Alps tour because of the curvy and high roads. I’m a bit of a wimp! It was one of my favorite trips ever! The scenery was spectacular, the special events memorable, the hotels amazing!

Most Memorable Moment:

Wandering the streets of Salzburg, listening to music echoing between the buildings and climbing up into the cliff chapels in St. Peters graveyard. The local beer, schnapps and Cheese tastings at the locals’ farms throughout the trip. The cliff climbing in the Italian alps. I loved everything!

review_img

Rick Brown

The Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Absolutely breath taking scenery. Nice hotels although most were not air conditioned. Problem in warm weather. Needed more time in Munich and Salzburg(could leave out the farm visit to have more time to see Salzburg and make plans to see a concert) Although hotel in Bad Worishofen was nice would have preferred to return to Munich to see more

Most Memorable Moment:

Besides the beautiful scenery the most memorable moment was the visit to the salt mine outside Salzburg to include dinner underground (meal was so so but the setting was incredible)

review_img

SWybaillie

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites May 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Our Ultimate Alps and Dolomites tour was filled with breathtaking views of the mountains and the quaint villages below. The hotels were centrally located in the cities and those in the smaller villages all had fantastic views in every direction. Our daily trips were always interesting and our tour director was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was attending mass at St. Peters in Munich on Ascension Thursday. Other great memories include the Grossglocker Pass, Wolfgang Lake, the Salt Mines and listening to the cuckoo birds from our hotel room.

review_img

CLYDEC

GREAT TRIP

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

GREAT TRIP, THE ONLY THING THAT I WOULD CHANGE IS MAKE IT OPTIONAL TO CONNECT WITH YOUR 10 NIGHT SWITZERLAND CROWN JEWEL TRIP

Most Memorable Moment:

CORTINA D' AMPEZZO

review_img

RMGTX

Alps and Dolomites a Real Winner !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Wonderful trip. Extraordinary exposure to the spectacular beauty and culture of the Alps. Each day filled with awesome scenery and fascinating interactions with local small, family-run businesses. Great hotels, always walking distance from local attractions. TD and Driver outstanding as usual; bus rides very manageable. Small Group. Oktoberfest!

Most Memorable Moment:

Two experiences standout among the many lifetime memories - Salzburg old town and nearby attractions (Eagle's Nest and salt mine), and unexpectedly seeing the "Iceman" in Bolzano. And a great group of fellow travelers!

review_img

LCMessner

Extraordinary Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Loved our stay in Salzburg as well as our visits to Munich and Innsbruck. Combining those lovely cities with the incredible beauty of the Alps and Dolomites was incredible. Add the lovely Bolzano and the entire experience was a five-star event (the almost perfect weather certainly helped🌞)

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to Mozart played in concert at Mirabell Palace in Salzburg was my personal high. Listening to the church bells on our balcony at the Astoria, hearing the organ rehearsal in church in Munich, the sound of cowbells in the fields at Weis, the caramel cafe in Innsbruck, the thunder claps echoing in Davos.......

review_img

BarryChooljian

The Alps and Dolomites, spectacular!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our tour began 9/01/16 in Munich and moved on to Seefeld, Austria with a stop in Oberammergau on the way there. From there, a stop in Innsbruck and on to Salzburg. Then into the Dolomites and to Cortina, Italy, and from there to Davos, Switzerland stopping in Bolzano to visit the frozen mummy. From there to Lichtenstein and ending in Baden!

Most Memorable Moment:

We were on a high all the way. Mother Nature smiled on us all the way. Our outings in the Dolomites and the Swiss Alps were spectacular. And our visit to Eagle's Nest and the salt mines were great, too. And our tour director was the best, ever. He was a wonderful shepherd and we all followed him.

review_img

donnastephens

Majestic Sights of the Alps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

There were so many highlights to list...the trip took us through some of the most stunning views of the lush, green alps in Austria and Germany. So many picture perfect moments of waterfalls and snow caped mountains. Being on top of the 6,600 ft above sea level Zugspitze in Germany was a moment to be remembered. We stayed at luxury hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being on top of the Zugspitze in Germany and Berchtesgaden (Eagles Nest).

review_img

Alps and Dolomites - July, 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our first real trip to Europe was worth every penny. Well organized, informative, and first class all the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our day in the Dolomites. Spectacular!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed this magnificent destination! We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LarrySC

Alps and Dolomites June 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Despite the weather, rain and clouds, this was a terrific vacation. Three generations of our family took this trip and all ages really had an enjoyable time. Our guide was excellent! Scenery was amazing driving thru snowy mountain passes and green valleys. We found good balance between tours and time on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Special moments occurred daily. Watching our grand children experience Europe for the first time was priceless.

review_img

Joeg1539

Alps itinerary. Good and Bad and the Ugly

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We thought Tauck was a professional & first class tour operator, but this itinerary feel short of that. Hotels were nice, but numerous issues, Kemp AC didn't work, Cristallo was very cold, no heat. Itinerary had 3 Holidays & 2 Sundays, the towns were closed, no chance explore or shop. Tour Director apologized, but that's no excuse for not knowing

Most Memorable Moment:

Cancelation of the Ludwig's Castle tour. We expected a fabulous dinner at the Criststallo hotel, service was bad and the food raw was uneatible. Wish we had time to sight see in the towns, but 2 day stays don't allow for it. Interalpen Hotel dinner service was poor with inexperienced staff. The off season itinerary was not handled well by Tauck.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this journey did not live up to your expectations. I have passed your comments on to our Guest Relations team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Louie Del

Awe-inspiring Views!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our trip of the Alps & Dolomoites was all that we expected & more. Our 2 extra days in Munich helped to put us in the mode for out journey. Our tour mates plus a knowledgable tour director & expert bus driver made our 2nd Tauck tour a very memorable one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our memorable moment was the WHOLE tour. From first class hotels, to great views from our rooms, & the scenery while driving along the countryside.....our trip was all that we had hoped for.

review_img

Richard W

Overall a good tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We enjoyed the tour good balance of castles and scenery would have liked a bit more free time and time to enjoy the Dolomites when peaks were not cloud covered tour director and driver were excellent

Most Memorable Moment:

Salt mines tour excellent King Lugwig castles also good the chocolate and cheese excursions in Davos also enjoyable

review_img

budnan3

ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

There is no way to explain how much we enjoyed this trip! The mountains were amazing and inspiring! Besides the sights and the sounds of the trip, we were "mothered" by our Tour Dir. She was vivacious and kept us informed about when, where, and how. Our local guides were also very good. The Tour Director is without a doubt one of the best Tour Dir!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our evening in the salt mine where we had dinner,danced and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

review_img

momosa

Bavaria with our teen daughter

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was a spectacular trip. Even with our lost luggage (that caught up with us after a couple of days) and the extreme and unusual hot temperatures, this was a very special trip, our 4th with Tauck. Our Tauck Director was a sweet, efficient, knowledgeable guide; our driver was super, the hotels varied and very nice. Loved Salzburg, Innsbrook.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tiny village next to Davos with the beer brewery, very mellow and fun to see.

review_img

Las Montanas

Very enjoyable, interesting, and diverse trip with one exception.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The one exception was the Hotel Ancora, in Cortina d" Ampezzo, Italy. This hotel was not up to Tauck standards. We had a tiny, dirty room with no place to put luggage. I tried to pay for an upgrade with the front desk and was met with a rude, arrogant desk clerk who lectured me about the fact that I had one of the best rooms.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leaving the Hotel Ancora the following morning and so grateful that I did not have to spend another night in that hotel. This hotel is rated #22 on Trip Advisor and if another hotel is not available in this town, I would eliminate an over night stay in Cortina from this trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that you had an undesirable experience at the Hotel Ancora. I have passed along this comment to our Operations team. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your journey, however, and we look forward to having you travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cricketfan99

An Enjoyable Road Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The views travelling through the Alps and Dolomites were quite stunning aided by the fact that we had excellent weather. On the whole, hotels were of the usual Tauck high standard, as were meals that were provided. Excursions were interesting although a couple could be classified as "filler",understandable given the distances covered.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to the Salt mines, a unique experience.

review_img

JudithFudge

Beautiful scenery and fast paced

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Hats off to our Tauck Director and driver! If I hadn't seen it with my own eyes, I would never believe how someone could get a big bus on a rail train!

Most Memorable Moment:

The evening at the Waldgasthaus with music, singing, dancing and great food. Hotel Astoria and Spa in Seefeld with a tour of Linderhof. A private tour and visit to the Salt Mines with music and a candlelight buffet in the salt mine. The drive over Grossglocknerhochalpenstrasse with Ivan putting the bus on the train for a drive through the tunnel

review_img

SuiChoy

The ultimate Alps & Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The whole trip was a most wonderful experience which my mum and myself could never have been able to do on our own. From day 1 till the last day , we loved every minute of the tour . Thanks to our wonderful Tauck Director , Janine and Thomas our driver who attended to all our every needs. Janine made our trip extra special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was special . Loved the salt mines and the sleeping beauty castle especially the horse carriage ride up !

review_img

Kathy Gillespie

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was amazing. The itinerary was so carefully planned that every day provided special surprises and experiences. The accommodations were wonderful, the food was extraordinary and the sights were awesome. I cannot imagine accomplishing so much in 12 days without Tauck. Lots of little extras which prove you know how to please travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved everything, but going up the Zugspitze was incredible. Also loved the dinner, entertainment and accommodations in Seefeld. I give a lot of credit to our excellent tour director. Her knowledge of history, geography and culture of the area kept us extremely well informed and really added to each experience.

review_img

Bob Pledger

Ultimate Alps & Dolomites Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Wonderful trip which met or exceeded all expectations. Well organized and orchestrated by a very personable, client oriented professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments it is hard to select just one. We live on a lake in the mountains in the SE U.S. We were very interested in touring the Alps & Dolomites for the scenery particularly. Based on the variety of places included, we know so much more about the history, beauty & customs of several countries. Informative & fun.

review_img

Anne Pledger

Awesome Alps Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

From cities to the countryside, we had wonderful views of the Alps, great tours of castles, family farms, and historic towns and cities. Our tour guides were all very interesting and informative. The pace was good with free time schedule -- just when you needed it. Accommodations and the tour bus were first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being on the top of the mountains - Zugspitze, Grossglocker Pass and the Eagle's Nest. Exhilarating!

review_img

Ycart

The Discovery of a New Family

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Not only did we discover the Alps and the Dolomites but we discovered a whole new family. From the outset the many personalities of the small 24 member group seemed to bond and that just added to the enjoyment of the entire trip. The tour director was exceptional in his compassionate guidance as well as trip knowledge. The coach driver was skilled.

Most Memorable Moment:

The salt mine slide was the most exhilarating moment and the entire salt mine tour was very well done. A close second was the Tyrolean evening with live accordion and guitar music....the musicians had as much fun as we did. The Dolomites were a surprise in their beauty and ruggedness.

review_img

zurjeff

Utimate Alps & Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

It was a great trip, needed another day in Munich though.

Most Memorable Moment:

The salt mines & King Ludwigs Castles

review_img

rsmalley001

The Ultimate Alps & Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had expected to see beautiful mountains, but we saw so much more. The salt mine, Eagle's Nest, and ride on the bus on the train are hard to describe. We also enjoyed a microbrewery, wine maker, and farmer who made schnapps. The trip was much better than expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

Discovering Europeans consider co-ed nudity in the SPA normal.

review_img

switt2525

Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was our first tour and trip to Europe. We are glad we chose Tauck. The majority of our fellow travelers had gone with Tauck many times. Now we see why. First class hotels, meals and tour director. We were able to go places no other tour companies can. Travelers should know this tour requires lots of walking. Be prepared for cold weather.

review_img

maburlew

Alps tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was a great trip. Our quide, Carmine, was very responsive to all our needs. The others on the tour were such a congenial group every day was a joy. There was a lot ot walking and given it to do again I might have taken a day "off" but we made it. Got to do many "special" things like meet the Count who owned the castle and make a candy bar

Most Memorable Moment:

The slide at the salt mine was hysterical!

review_img

AlanS

Ultimate Alps and Awesome Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Fantastic Tauck experience. Heidi, and local guides-the teacher in Munich and Heidi#2- were superb! Driver Evan- amaaazing! Wonderful city & countryside sites and scenery. Truly breathtaking mountains, especially during the long but rewarding "Yellow Roads" drive thru the Dolomites- doze here and you will miss majestic vistas that surpass the Alps!

Most Memorable Moment:

Topping the list of favorites were Salzburg, the salt mine (tour, trips down the wood slides, and dinner in the mine), the drive over Grossglockner pass and through the Dolomites, and the quintessential exclamation point to this fantastic trip- the tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. Least favorite (of many in our group): fondue dinner in Davos.

review_img

thosbryan

Fantastic weather means fantastic tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Great scenic tour if weather is good. Focus on scenery, not cities and art so bad weather can be disasterous. One bad day and didn't see the Neuschwanstein Castle until we were on top of it. Cities visited, Tauck extras and dinners were great. Anna R. and Hans-tour director and driver were excellent. Suggest some changes be made for 2014.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving the Grossglockner through Austria was amazing. Authentic German food for dinner at the alpine hut - tour and dinner at salt mine - Zugspitze - Eagles Nest - Linderhof Castle. Lots of other extras were also well done. Tour director Anna R. did an excellent job.

review_img

rgedney

The Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This is a moderately paced trip with lots to see and do. The scenery was magnificent (we were fortunate to have mostly fine weather). There is a fair amount of walking, but the guides were very good about giving we older slowpokes time to keep up. As usual, Tauck provided an excellent tour guide - and that always makes the trip more enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to single out one: The tour of the Passion Play theatre in Oberammergau was great; as was the top of the Zugspitze; visiting the Eagle's Nest and the Neuschwanstein Castle. We took full advantage of the two days in Munich and in Salzburg. The Salt Mine tour was unique as was the Kuenz family Schnapps distillery. Grossglockner Pass is magnifice

review_img

Dan & Gretchen Heald

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We have been on many trips to Europe, but this was the best ever. The itinary, the driver,and the considerate guide were great. As usual Taucincluded many extras: a good dinner with folk music in a salt mine,a visit to Otzi the 5300 year old frozen man,blowing anAlpine horn at a mountain farm, and sitting in the Liechtenstein Parliament vhamber.

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning about and seeing Otzi

review_img

Majestic mountains and breathtaking scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We enjoyed this trip very much, but it probably was not our favorite. Our room at the Dorint Alpin Resort in Seefeld was mediocre with no view. Wish we could have stayed in Innsbruck. The fondue dinner at the Waldholtel in Davos was disappointing. The Steigenberger Hotel in Bad Worishofen was the best, but there was no time to experience it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The scenery! Breathtaking! The ride over the Grossglockner Pass with our able driver Bruno was fantastic. The train and cable car trip up to the top of the Zugspitze was great. The rides down the slides in the salt mine were amazing! The lush scenery everywhere was the best!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have shared you comments with our Product Team so that they may review itinerary.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

leaving town

Ultimate Alps and Dolimites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The trip was a wonderful experience. A couple of suggestions: Spend more time in the Dolomites and find another hotel in Cortina Do not go through the tunnel on the train instead go around to see the beautiful mountain views--missing that was sad. The trip leader Janine was a star. Keep her she is a great asset to your company.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Eagle's Nest was breathtaking and looking back at history was great. The Salt mines were a hoot and we loved every minute of the tour. Our first trip with Tauck but definitely not our last. You guys have it all together.

review_img

KOmundson

ultimate alps & dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

It was a lovely trip with a great tour director. Scenery was beautiful

Most Memorable Moment:

The Swiss Alps

review_img

WKimpfler

Breathtaking Views and Lots of Fun!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We were so fortunate to have Janine as our Tour Director. Her professionalism, knowledge and great personality added so much to the tour. The locations and choice of hotels were ideal. We especially enjoyed the hospitality of the local people who made the cheese, brewed the beer, distiller the schnapps and of course made us chocolate.

Most Memorable Moment:

Who would have thought we would enjoy dinner and entertainment in the depths of a salt mine! We'll never forget the train ride and slide into the mine where a candlelit dinner with a band awaited us. What fun!

review_img

FShartzer

Ultimate Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We just returned from the Alps and Dolomite trip. It was wonderful! Our first time in a "small group" and our guide, Anna, was terrific. Weather at first was a bit warmer than expected but nothing could have spoiled the scenery, the food, the people and Tauck's agenda of activity!

Most Memorable Moment:

Switzerland....loved it.

review_img

TMatteo

ultimate alps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Overall, great trip, but as expected with a new tour, some glitches need to be worked out. Hotel Belvedere in Cortina a 2 star. Kneipp spa event on last day borders on false advertising, it is merely a walk through the park, albeit a beautiful park. Time would have been better spent at the hotel spa, which was great. Tour guide Anna was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Second night dinner at Gasthof with musicians, salt mine tour and dinner, Innsbrook, Salzberg, on and on. Our family of six can not agree on what was the best.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed in some aspects of this journey which we will be sure to share with the product team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

wundernkc

Ultimate Alps & Dolomites Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Our trip was everything we expected a Tauck tour to be and more. With Tauck you become a guest instead of a tourist. Tour director, Anna, and driver, Stephan, were the best. The 'surprises' along the way, the excursions off the beaten paths and ease of seeing the usual attractions...we didn't just sightsee; we experienced the locales we traveled.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two most memorable moments. The private tour and dinner at the salt mine was a WOW! experience. The slide was fun, the light show on the lake was magical and dinner with live music delightful. Neuschwanstein Castle..the hi-light..the reason we chose this tour. Photos can't do it justice. It is jaw-dropping! The throne room took my breath away!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lrp

Best tour director ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

On our Alps/Dolomites trip we had our best ever tour director, [Employee Name]. Our small group melded into a cohesive unit with Heidi at the helm, always thorough, entertaining and generally delightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tough call...salt mines? Eagle's Nest? Neuschwanstein?...dining in Europe's oldest restaurant? All awesome!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedbacd and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

aragain

Postcards come to life

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Picture postcards come to life. Hard to describe beautiful mountains, lovely valleys with church steeples and small villages. Enjoyed walking the small towns with narrow streets and local breweries with beer gardens. Just wish we had more time without a tour to catch our breaths. Tauck does an amazing job and finds a way to overcome any obstacle.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in the Salt Mine with the slide and dinner in the mountain hut with the entertainers. Especially the lock and key given to us to commemorate our special anniversary in Salzburg.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

carolynprice

Alps Dolomites Trip -

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I have already completed our comment card and have followed it up with an email to [Employee Name] at the Tauck main office. Since Hotel Alaska was such a poor experience, I would like consideration for an extra day on a future Tauck Tour. James and Carolyn Price (9th Tauck Tour) Middletown, Ohio 45040

Most Memorable Moment:

Heidi was an awesome Tour Guide.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback which we appreciate very much!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RedSox9

Initial tour of Alps and Dolomites

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Compared to our 13 other Tauck trips, this one was a little disappointing. Heidi, our tour director, was terrific and tried very hard to cover the logistics problems but these resulted in a lot of time spent just standing around. The walking tours, especially in Munich were too long and quite boring. Two of the hotels were below Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to the salt mines was terrific and the night of dancing was a lot of fun. Most other evenings, however, were forgettable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of this journey. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PWarsicki

The Ultimate Alps & Dolomites---test run

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

First and foremost---Our guide-Heidi and driver Josef were GREAT We did turn in a comment sheet at the end of the trip but here are a few notes-- Local guides need a bit more training Tauck guides [2] training on the trip did not take away from our experience but they certainly did not add anything Hotel Alaska in Cortina ,Italy should be changed-

Most Memorable Moment:

Above--I had more comments but not in 66 words or less Mostly we felt like Guinea Pigs in a test run but paid a high price for finished product. Salt mine visit and meal/entertainment was very well run and enjoyable All other lodging and meals were very good Again , Heidi and Josef are professionals with a smile

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you had such a wonderful time and so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ira Tagawa

Alpine Interlude

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We enjoyed visiting the Alps and several great cities. Our tour guide was fabulous, one of the best we have had. It was wonderful to visit a part of the world that is so spectacularly beautiful. The mountain scenery was breathtaking. We also appreciated the historical significance of various cities and how clean it was everywhere.

Most Memorable Moment:

A visit to Salzburg's old town and a night concert.

review_img

Leigh

Gorgeous Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Beautiful scenery, and an amazing tour guide! This trip was very well organized, and is a great way to see a lot of Switzerland and Austria (and Liechtenstein!). If you are not used to higher altitudes, though, just be aware that the altitude changes could affect you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Linderhof Palace, the concert at Mirabell Palace in Salzburg, and lunch in Zell am See

review_img

Larry Sperber

The Alps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

How great is it the view the Alps, and go up the mountains? let me tell you it's the best experience. The breathtaking beauty, and majestic views can't be beat. Tauck knows just where to go, and how to make the experience wonderful. As usual (it was our sixth Tauck vacation)every detail was taken care of.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button