TravelerReviews

Treasures of the Aegean

review_img

GaryWeerts

Cool breezes needed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We enjoyed visiting the Greek Agean islands and relished the expected Tauck level of treatment. Our tour director, together with our local tour guides, blended ancient history and Greek mythology to bring life into ancient places. The excessive heat made ordinarily challenging steps and slopes a test of endurance, and it wore us out.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two memorable moments. The first was the dinner in the shadow of the library at Ephesus. The second was our Tauck Director's condensed recitation of the Iliad and the Odyssey.

review_img

Murphy-Kivell

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Tauck never disappoints, we had a wonderful time. The Windstar was fabulous with a courteous staff, clean accommodations and marvelous food. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The itinerary was educational and diverse. It was the first time I used "whispers" on a trip and they were indeed helpful. No complaints.

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually, Turkey Ephesus, we were in "AWWW" of the ruins. MAGNIFICENT!!! not to be missed.

review_img

sewalk07

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Tauck Tour was memorable and the part Tauck handled was done extremely well. Disappointed in Wind Star, booked an AX cabin and found it cramped. The fabric furniture in the cabin and public areas were stained. The sails did not work and the Yacht overall looked in need of a complete overhaul, inside and out. Paid a premium price to not sail.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at Ephesus, even though a Wind Star event.

review_img

AlanMzk

Greek Mythology brought to life!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our trip began in Athens with a visit to the Acropolis and Parthenon and a free afternoon before embarking on the Windstar the next morning in Pireas. Our tour director made each day fun and interesting by his morning briefings about the Greek history and mythology of the day's visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had two: The evening dinner at the Celsus Library at Ephesus and each day's evening sail away with the sails unfurling and the song "Conquest of Paradise" by Vangelis playing through the speakers.

review_img

RobinCiporkin

It's Greek to Me

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The trip was seamless. When we were picked up at Athens airport, our Tauck driver had already picked up all our baggage and had it on a dolly to bring to the van, saving us time and creating a stress free start to a great vacation. We loved breakfast overlooking the Acropolis at our hotel. We loved seeing the sites and the museums. Awesome!

Most Memorable Moment:

The sites at Mycenea were so interesting. Our local guide had a remarkable storehouse of knowledge and was able to bridge mythology, archeology and history. Santorini was gorgeous and fun. We were following a walkway when suddenly a bunch of donkeys, tied to one another, came down the same path. Serendipitous! Loved browsing shops on Santorini and Mykonos!

review_img

frankiec

A Taste of The Aegean Not to be Forgotten

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our ship, the Wind Star was delightful except for two rough nights in Mykonos and Santorini. The captain warned us but we haven't traveled extensively by ship and were quite taken back by the waves. The service and food aboard the Wind Star were excellent. We were all surprised at having to sign for alcoholic beverages. Must be a legal issue?

Most Memorable Moment:

How can there by one MOST? Every Island was a treasure but if I had to choose one (which apparently I do) then the dinner at Ephesus and next Mykonos.

review_img

naples763

Treasures of the Agean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This is a great trip. The Greek Isles are beautiful. Our tour director(Whitney) was so organized and everything always went smoothly. Learned a lot about history of the area and people. It ranks as one of the best of our 5 Tauck tours. May is a wonderful time to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really loved the small quaint island of Mykonos and of course the ruins at Ephesus and later spending the dining under the lights at the lighted ruins of the ancient Library.

review_img

juliem

Not up to usual Tauck Standard

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

I will start off by praising our tour director. He was our tour director on our Israel trip, and he continues to give his guests the greatest tour experiences. The dinner at the Library of Celcius was something we will never forget. This being our 14th trip allows me to say that Tauck did not live up to its reputation.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Windstar was below the standards we experienced on the river cruise trips. The ship was "tired". The breakfasts were sub-par and stale bagels, breads and danishes were common. Dinners had very small portions. The evening barbeque was great, but the dinners did not include even 1 choice of a Greek cuisine. The service on the ship was great.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to enhance our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

HappyRetiree

Lovely Greece and Turkey by Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Good way to see the highlights of Athens, Islands and Turkish ruins. Be prepared for lots of walking on cobblestone/marble streets - both uphill and down! Skip the lunch/wine tasting. Be aware of Turkish culture hard sell in market and carpet emporium. Food on Wind Star okay - but yacht experience is great. Good local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at Library of Celsus in Ephesus is a once in a lifetime experience. Seeing the Parthenon- especially while eating breakfast and dinner at Grand Bretagne. Monemvasia was a delightful surprise - uncrowded and not touristy.

review_img

Susan Jane Grosse

Beautiful Greece

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Santorini was the most beautiful place! Of course all of the Greek islands are lovely, but this one in particular had views not to miss. We did not do Turkey due to conditions there, but Tauck substituted other Greek islands and it was wonderful.. Enjoyed the casual lifestyle of small ship sailing. Food was excellent. Accommodations very comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

"Sail-Away" on the Wind Star!!!!!

review_img

BarbaraCrossno

Over the Top! Again!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

It was super! Istanbul (and everywhere else) was absolutely gorgeous. Tauck even managed the weather almost flawlessly. Our Tauck Director worked tirelessly to give us the best time, through sickness and in health. The guides were knowledgeable and funny as well. The ship: will always remain my symbol of a great vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Parthenon with very little scaffolding. Ephesus: The Terrace Houses, and our evening dinner at the Library. AKrotiri: A lovely surprise, and the advances made in the last 15+ years! Wished for more of Istanbul, but understand current events probably had some effect there. At 82, being able to climb to the top of almost all. (All but Mycenae)

review_img

timoshenko

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We loved this trip, the combination of stays in great hotels in Athens and Istanbul with the Windstar cruise sandwiched in between made for a very interesting trip. The history and myths of the area are fascinating and being there helps to bring them to life. Our Tour Director and local guides were fabulous. Everything flowed together seamlessly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing into the caldera at Santorini and experiencing the wonderful views as well as walking the streets of Ephesus and and realizing how sophisticated the society was all those centuries ago.

review_img

dacread

Treasures of the Aegean Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was our first Tauck trip, and it exceeded our expectations. Our Tauck Director's expertise, knowledge and personality made this trip wonderful. The experiences each day were unforgettable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Ephesus and seeing such a still intact site. Also the beauty of Santorini.

review_img

jrowland

First Class Trip and Tauck goes above and beyond for their customers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Was apprehensive traveling to Turkey but Tauck had extra security for the Instanbul tour! Great food, Hotels. Smooth seas throughout. Windstar was great with a onboard credit. Saw all the highlights in Turkey and Greece you could ask for. Private shows of Turkish & Greek Dancers and even a belly dancer! Great Tour Guide. First Class travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Santorini while walking the narrow lanes, had to make way for a stream of donkeys the were being let down the lane. The water was like glass for almost all of the cruise. Breathtaking arriving in Athens,seeing the Acropolis in all its glory. Having table up front during our private dinner at Ephesus was really a memory maker.

review_img

J and A

One Great Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Our tour director was totally devoted to making this trip happen as planned and concerned about every little detail. The local guides were excellent teachers and companions. The food and accommodations were wonderful. We became good friends with our fellow Tauck travelers. Five Stars to the Windstar and it's crew. J&

Most Memorable Moment:

Many most memorable moments! Topkapi Palace Ephesus visit Cruising the Sea of Marmara and the Dardanelles. The Windstar cruise View of Athens Acropolis from the Grande Bretagne Great food and wine The new friends This list could go on!

review_img

Larry

Treasures of the Aegean-Soutnbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

A wonderful trip. I learned about a part of the world I knew little about. I enjoyed visiting the two Mosque in Instanbul. The Harem-Topkapi Palace was great. I enjoyed the spice market and the Grand Bazaar. I felt we could have left off Bodrum the tour as it is merely a reconstructed castle. Liked Santorini, Mykonos & Delos. Food-terriffic

Most Memorable Moment:

Epphesus was the best!! The Acropolis was great.

review_img

zo

ancient and still wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

seeing the ruins put you in the setting of ancient civilizations, helped you feel what life was like. seeing the artifacts in the museums, these people were amazing! what man accomplished so long ago!!! and in modern life, the people of these countries were so nice, the music fantastic and the food and wine so delicious!

Most Memorable Moment:

any time we heard local, traditional music were our highlights, whether the troupes brought on board the ship, or out in the towns at night. we were lucky to have a special performance at ephesus too!

review_img

Kay D

Treasures of the Aegean - Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

An incredible experience! Our Tour Director, Whitney, was outstanding. She made sure every detail was perfect, from cold water on the motor coaches to recommendations on local restaurants and shopping tips. Hotel locations were excellent and local guides were knowledgeable and enthusiastic. A wonderful trip through history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Ephesus including dinner under the stars at the Celsius Library and getting a small insight into ancient civilizations. So many highlights: lunch under the trees before the carpet demonstration, lunch at the winery, Santorini, watching the sunrise on the Acropolis during breakfast. Every day was memorable.

review_img

Michael Watson

A resounding success

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our first ever cruise was a resounding success. Our Tauck director, Whitney [Employee Name], made the trip a dream. Everything was seamless. Nothing went wrong. Somehow we always managed to miss the crowds.Nothing was too hard.Every aspect of the trip was perfect: the hotels, the Wind Star, the coaches, the guides, the food, the suggestions and advice.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sites we visited and the experiences we lived will remain memories for the rest of our lives. Some had been on our ‘must see’ list for years. Unexpected highlights were: seeing the making of Turkish carpets and witnessing the moving music and dance of the Whirling Dervishes.It was our first Tauck tour but we hope there will be many more.

review_img

John James

We are very satisfied

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

It was a fantastic trip -- every detail and comfort were considered, Our Tour Director was an expert in what he is doing, his local knowledge was phenomenal, and he was such a friendly person. The local guides in Greece and Turkey were excellent. The Hotel locations are centrally located. Will definite consider another Tauck tour!

review_img

LReading

Greek Isles and Turkey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

It was a great , informative and interesting trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traveling on the ship

review_img

smorse

First Class

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip was beyond expectations, both in terms of the countries and cities visited, and of the level of care provided by Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to single out just one.

review_img

RVW

Great History lesson, wonderful people, terrific food

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We would definitely recommend this trip through Greece and Turkey for the first timer or the experienced traveler. Amazing amount of history, ancient ruins and wonderful food make this trip unforgettable. Our Tauck Tour Director and the individual guides at each stop made the history, ancient ruins, and local color come alive!

Most Memorable Moment:

Two areas come to mind: the ruins and restoration at Ephesus, Turkey, and the Wind Star cruise for seven nights. Both truly amazing and one of a kind! We will remember these for the rest of our traveling days.

review_img

Jesse11

Cruising the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Wonderful sailing experience. The WindStar is beautiful, and the site seeing activities were well planned, organized and informative. Our tour director was a treasure! With her there, everything went so smoothly... She is a gem !!! We had enough time at each historic site, not rushed on any of our tours, and also time to shop.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dining at the library at night at Ephesus.

review_img

Celeste1201

Wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Not only did we see and do a lot...my "Tauck Travel Buddy" and I took a taxi from Athens to Delphi...WOW! We skipped seeing part of the Ephesus Museum in order to take a taxi to visit Mary's house....glad I did both. The trip and guides were wonderful, especially the Istanbul guide...able to answer all our questions with ease.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing 7 UNESCO sites!! And seeing three sites of the "Seven Wonders of the Ancient World"......OMG!!

review_img

Horwitzvta

Aegean Small Ship Tour was Fantastic! The trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was our first Tauck tour plus first trip to Turkey and Greece. We weren't sure what the Wind Star small ship experience would be like but the destinations were the initial attractions. Well, the Tauck + Wind Star tour was an INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE - best tour ever! Go for the Unlimited Laundry deal for a truly stress-free cruise experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

7-day cruise on Wind Star including group dinner at Ephesus. Plus our Tauck Tour Director seemed to anticipate every need before we could even voice an opinion or request.

review_img

Linda Gordon

An absolutely incredible experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was our 5th trip with Tauck, and it was by far one that will stand out in our memories. Our tour director was beyond the best. He made everyone feel welcome and as if he had our fun and safety as his main concern. Going to the places where civilization began, was awe inspiring in both countries. Too many wonderful things to say.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner on the Bosphorous. Walking through Esphesus during the day, and then dinner at the library that night, with chamber music and candles. Of course spectacular Santorini and swimming off the back of the ship in Bodrum. Oh, and the trip to the winnery for lunch and a wine tasting.Too many more memories and not enough space!

review_img

AHiatt

An almost perfect trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was a very well organized trip. Our tour director was excellent. The sights were amazing; guides were the best. I was a little upset over the size of the group. There were people whom I never met. I was extremely upset that we did not visit the synagogue in Rhodes. The tour could have included this very important sight.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner in Ephesus was amazing!

review_img

Thomas Wodak

Making the past the present

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Excellent tour directorship by our Tauck Director introduced Greek mythology comprehensibly. We observed the historic Greek and Turkish civilizations first hand, and the combination of doing this with small ship cruising was ideal. Not only were we able to travel between places of interest in comfort, we could do so in a leisurely way.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day trip to Ephesus, via Kusadasi provided an experience that cannot be adequately substituted by books or documentaries. The archeological site, immense and always fascinating, will be even better in the future, when more work is completed.The skills of the ancient civilizations could not be imagined without seeing what they accomplished

review_img

Hoppydot

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We started in Athens which became the ideal direction for this wonderful experience. after visiting the Acropolis and the museums thus setting the stage for the rest of the trip the visit to Ephesus was spectacular. our week on the Wind Star was enjoyable. Nice to unpack. Istanbul was equally enjoyable. The Tauck Director was outstanding. He ranks at top

Most Memorable Moment:

Ephesus

review_img

GBaker1

Spectacular Aegean Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Is there any city that could compare with Istanbul; bridging two continents and two important bodies of water? What a way to begin our Windstar Cruise of the Aegean Sea. Seeing the white-washed beauty of Santorini and Mykonos sprinkled with blue and red domes will always be a favorite memory. The history of Rhodes and Bodrum were surprises.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private dinner at Ephesus, after seeing the famous ruins during the day was the highlight of our trip. Second was the barbeque dinner on board the Windstar while in the caldera of Santorini.

review_img

Pauletica

Travelling with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We've done cruises before. This is the first time with Tauck accompanied by a Tauck Tour Directer. It made a huge difference. It took all the bugbears out of travelling. We will never do a cruise/tour any other way again - with any other company.

Most Memorable Moment:

On our first day of the tour being unexpectedly met at a busy airport for a hotel transfer with bags already collected from the baggage carousel before being ushered into a limousine.

review_img

Stringgreen

The Glorious Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Amazing! This trip brought history to life. The guides in Turkey and Athens were soooo smart and shared fabulous stories and information. Nancy was perfect. Have already booked our next trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The top of the Acropolis

review_img

packinhappy

Visiting History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Loved the grand and beautiful expanse of art, architecture, and history in Treasures of the Aegean. Sleep in modern 5 star hotels and visit Byzantine, Moorish, and Greek historical sites during the day. Enjoyed the Windstar. Comfortable and elegant with wonderful food and service. Group of 39 cordial fellow travelers made the trip very memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

#1 Walking into the Hagia Sophia and being in awe of its size, age, and history #2 Approaching the Parthenon, walking up the Acropolis #3 Gazing at Aegean blue

review_img

GeogBarb

Treasures of the Aegean-Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

It was well-organized by caring people. Tour guides were all excellent as was the Tauck Director. The Windstar was well run with excellent staff. The tour included a mix of archaeological ruins and current sites. We seemed to be one day ahead of all the huge cruise ships or hours ahead of large groups for the entire trip. It was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but the dinner in the library at Ephesus was absolutely special. Equally memorable was Rhodes, as was the Blue Mosque. Athens was a sad place with the economy in tatters, but the people still operating shops and cafes were very pleasant despite their fears. I am glad Tauck continued with the stop at Athens despite the news.

review_img

DinahChancellor

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This trip is full of treasures. In Athens, the Acropolis presides over a culture as ancient as the Greek Mythology that seems to guide it still. The Greek islands were beautiful beyond belief. Our ship was also lovely as the wind caught her sails & we always seemed to have the next great meal in mind. Turkey brought us even more treasures to savor.

Most Memorable Moment:

The terrace homes in Ephesus gave us a glimpse of an ancient way of life even more powerfully than Pompeii did. We watched archaeologists patiently, painstakingly reveal breathtaking frescoes and mosaics. Fascinating!

review_img

jumelet

Disappointed with Windstar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

WE thourghly enjoyed the Tauck controlled portion of the trip We were very dissappointed with Windstar.The ship condition was very long in the tooth.The wait serving & staff were generaly below expectations. Our cabin Steward and a few wait staff were good. It seemed that everything food, wine and liquor were being penny pinched. The chef not good

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour director was better than outstanding. The tour and local guides were excellent. Accomodations in Istanbul and Athens excellent and the Farewelll dinner was very good.

review_img

DanMc

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This was our fifth trip with Tauck and we were again extremely pleased with the itinerary, the accommodations, our guide and the whole travel experience. Our guide was outstanding. We have traveled with other companies in the past, but now only travel with Tauck. Don't hesitate to take this tour! We always felt safe too!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was outstanding and it is hard to say that any one moment was the best. However, the Wind Star experience cruising the Aegean was very special. Each day we arrived in a new exciting location and each stop was so interesting. We loved it all.

review_img

kiradjieff

Treasures of the Aegean - northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Tauck tour leader was outstanding, seamlessly attending to all logistics and a fountain of info. on ancient history and mythology. Every day was better than the last - Athens and Greece, a fabulous week cruising the islands and Turkish coast on the Windstar and finally four days in exotic Istanbul. Terrific tour companions;

Most Memorable Moment:

Exquisite beauty of Santorini and fascinating ancient Ephesus

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your small ship cruise to Greece and Turkey! It is such an interesting part of the world. Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

billmac

Aegean trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Overall, the trip was very good. The ship was great and the food very good. Rooms on board were small, but very comfortable and Windstar staff great. Tours of cities and historical sites were great. Only disappointment were the hotels. After my China trip last year I expected better accommodations and specifically better views from hotel rooms

Most Memorable Moment:

Tours of Ephesus and Delos!

review_img

mmark28

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The land//sea trip was outstanding overall. Our guide was outstanding as were all the trip leaders in the individual cities. We learned a lot about Turkey, which changed our feelings about the country. Greece was everything we expected a and totally enjoyable. Great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Being a part of ancient history was very moving in all sites. This was particularly true going through the Dardanelles, climbing up to the Parthenon, and visiting the unknowns tomb.

review_img

BJM

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We had the BEST director; he certainly made the trip memorable! Besides him, the hotels were all 5 star, incredible service from everyone...hotel staff, ship staff, drivers, local guides...just couldn't have been better and more personalized. We enjoyed our group of fellow travelers as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably, seeing the sun rising from behind the Acropolis from the rooftop breakfast dining room of the Royal Bretagne on the first morning. It was breathtaking. Next to that the visit to Ephesus just blew me away.

review_img

Mitchusson

Canada's Capitals + Niagara Falls

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our 1st bus tour with Tauck in North America, all previous were in Europe and we were pleased with most of the cities visited and especially Niagara Falls. It is worth the effort to see what cosmopolitan Canada has to offer and the wonderful food. We were disappointed with Montreal which seemed dirty and under construction.

Most Memorable Moment:

The RCMP HQ visit was best. The bus driver was professional but the bus was lacking in function. Setting in the back on a 2 hour city tour in traffic is not a fun event. The guide would announce a sight and by the time we arrived at the sight she had moved on to two others, makes for a very frustrating event.

review_img

JohnKirk

"Athens to Istanbul via Windstar and the Amazing [Employee Name]"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

It was all it was billed to be and more. This was our first Tauck Tour and it won't be our last. In fact we have already booked the Galapagos for next year. We enjoyed great traveling companions, guides, sights, food, refreshments and our amazing tour director -- Philip Pope. The Windstar was most enjoyable -- great ambiance, service and food.

Most Memorable Moment:

It would be impossible to define a "most" memorable moment. The trip was filled with so many memorable moments that to pick one would be unfair to all the others.

review_img

Phil Delk

Exceeded Our Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had a most enjoyable trip to Turkey and Greece. The guides were excellent and the Tour Director, Mike [Employee Name] made sure all our needs were foreseen and satisfied. My only disappoint was that the Windstar portion of the trip did not include any time under sail without the engines providing power. The Trip brouchure emphasized the sailing aspect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Exploring Ephesus.

review_img

Ausnewji

What a trip!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

If you're a history buff, if you want an in-depth immersion in cultures you've only read about, and if you want to experience all this with the comforts and feeling of security that only Tauck provides, then this trip is for you!

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the sun rise on the Acropolis while having a wonderful breakfast at the roof-top garden restaurant at the Grande Bretagne hotel in Athens is an experience we will never forget.

review_img

Vieno

Treasures of the Aegean Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The trip was amazing: from the ship, to Istanbul, to the Greek islands and Greece. I have wanted to see Greece for years and finally did! I had no positive nor negative expectations for Istanbul but found it fascinating. I was so glad to see all the historic sites. Both my husband and I found it exhausting: still hot and humid.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think visiting the Acropolis and the Parthenon. Our guide Mike was A plus! He even used his phone to call my children due to internet problems. Definitely over and above!!!

review_img

Rkundle

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My husband and I took this trip Northbound. The land portion was great and well done. The cruise portion was truly a dream come true for me. Sailing on the beautiful WindStar through the Aegean was great fun. At every port we were the center of attention as we were so different from the massive cruise ships next to us. Very classy way to travel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Picking just one moment is impossible. Being on Santorini was truly memorable. The views from the cliffs were spectacular. The ruins at Ephesus in Turkey were also a standout as a place to visit. I loved the town of Nafplion where we even saw a rainbow after a brief storm. Of course The Parthenon on the Acropolis was unforgettable. I'm out of room

review_img

Jim Kirsch

Tauck - consistent excellence

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We arranged it all via Tauck; airfare was cheaper and paid off when Air France went on strike at the end. Great hotel in Athens; walk to Acropolis and many other sites. Was apprehensive about the ship but it was a highlight - fantastic service, amazing food - Greek and anything one could want; stateroom was enough room. Tours of ruins well done.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking around the Acropolis

review_img

RMulch

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This trip was top of the line! I felt like royalty on the yacht and at the grand dinners! The guides for the tours were amazing! Everything was taken care of by Mike!

review_img

BillBatz

Awesome Aegean Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

We never expected to love Istanbul as much as we did. Take a real Turkish Bath in Turkey, it's fabulous. Our Tauck director was most knowledgeable and made the sights come alive. Just cruising on Windstar is sheer delight. We've taken several Tauck trips, but this remains our favorite. We will also take more Tauck trips on Windstar vessels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Swimming off the rear platform of Windstar in the caldera of Santorini. We'll never forget the cobalt blue sea and the Greek sunshine.

review_img

einbondpj@aol.com

Treasures of the Aegen

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Our trip to Athens,the Greek Isles and Turkey was like taking a time machine back into the ancient past. We explored Greece,walking up to the Acropolis and touching the ancient stones of the Parthenon. Our tour of Myknosis and Delos was awe inspiring. Turkey was magical,sailing up the Bospohorus and seeing the mosques was awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

I celebrated my birthday duuring theis trip. We had a great lunch at a seaside resteraunt on the Dardanielles and then took our own private boat ride. The farewell dinner and whirling Divirishes were spectacular.

review_img

yogi

Fantastic Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

WindStar cruise was the best ever! Service was smooth and efficient; the boat super-comfortable. The destinations in the Aegean were a combination of great beauty, interesting history and fascinating lifestyle exploration. Late October was definitely the right time to go - perfect weather and few crowds.

Most Memorable Moment:

Akritiri on Santorini and the boats of Bodrum harbor.

review_img

ADiamond

Turkey Greece experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Wonderful trip. It was like a college field trip with lots of amenities

Most Memorable Moment:

Ephesus tour

review_img

JNewberry

A wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our Treasures of the Aegean - Southbound was an unforgettable experience through the marvels of ancient Turkey & Greece with plenty of modern encounters as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Ephesus with it's many Biblical & historical sites was probably the most memorable with our outstanding guides. The beauty of the Aegean on our sailing day was one of the most magnificent experiences of my life.

review_img

JKitz

Treasures Of The Aegean- Northbound (10/9-10/22) 2013 aboard the Windstar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

My Husband and I went on the small ship cruise through the Aegean Sea. Our Tour Director Phillip - What a great guy! If you go on this tour I hope you have Philip as your guide, he is hands down the best! He is very passionate about what he does, very knowledgeable and a great story teller! The local guides were fantastic & friendly!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every stop along the tour has its own beauty and history, so its hard to choose just one! The Hotels & Ship staff were outstanding! Dinning was 5 stars!

review_img

DBarry

Beautiful islands, outstanding yacht

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Tauck has all of it down perfectly. From the time of arrival where they picked us up on time until our drop off, our director, Nancy, left nothing to chance. The sights were amazing, hotels excellent and food delicious.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Wind Star was incredible. Would have stayed on it longer!

review_img

MarciaV

Treasures of the Aegean Southbound.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

My husband and I would highly recommend this trip. The tours were wonderfully organized and well worth the time. The sailing was a wonderful experience, and we enjoyed all the islands and stops. The trip was just perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed the Whirling Dervish viewing. It is hard to say one part of the trip that was the most memorable, since it was all so great. I enjoyed all the people on our tour. The guides were wonderful too. [Employee Name], our tour guide made sure that we were all organized and informed of our daily agenda

review_img

CharlesM

Sailing Ship – great way to explore Turkey, Greece & the Greek Islands for the 1st time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

If you enjoy classic Greek and Mediterranean history then you will thoroughly enjoy this 14 day excursion. I highly recommend Tauck for orchestrating it. It was truly a concierge type service with a very professional cruise director [Employee Name], w/over 17 years’ experience with Tauck,who taught history,great personality and story teller. Best trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in Athens with an excellent view of the Acropolis

review_img

lwick

Aegean Sea Trip, 9/10 - 9/24

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was good. The inter continental Hotel in Istanbul was a disappointment. The Breakfasts were not just marginal - but bad. The Tour Director had a great personality and worked hard at providing a good experience for a diverse group. She had an irritating habit of talking to group memberson the bus while the local tour guide was also talk

Most Memorable Moment:

ing. She also had a tendency to "traumatize" her work load; i.e., "I have so much to do," "There is just so much work to be done," etc. The highlights were definitely the Parthenon, Sophia and Ephesus.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jose Mari

An interrupted but pleasant tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

A great tour before having to cut it short due to an intestinal disorder contracted in Istambul. Before being hospitalized in Bodrum, we met perfectly delightful guests and crew members. Nancy, the tour Director, was outstanding as were Dr. Jake Mendoza as well as OnCall International who went beyond the call of duty. Tauck is the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Whirling Dervish show and all the other on-board experiences.

review_img

Brown

A few hiccups, but, overall good (learn how to spell "experiences")

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our tour director, Phillip Pope, was in the top three of all Tauck personnel we've had (note, this was our seventh tour). I don't like the limited characters allowed in this review and there is a look of difference between "just so-so" and "Well done. Tauck rocks!" We had three problems. If you really are interested, feel free to call.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ephinesus

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you to discuss this matter in detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Manita 921

Not your best Director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I loved the Greek Islands, Istanbul and Athens. As always, Tauck had put together an agenda that was great. Our tour director was a substitute, and not up to standard.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sunrise and sunset in Athens, having breakfast in the morning as we watched the sunrise hit the Acropolis. Beautiful moments at sea.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the performance of your Tauck Director. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JJS

Exceeded our expectations !

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our Treasures of the Aegean Southbound trip was perfect. We cannot imagine how it could have been better, including our Tour Director, [Employee Name]. This was our first experience 'touring', and we will definitely be traveling with Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

So hard to pinpoint just one - Istanbul and all it has to offer, swimming in the Aegean, Mykonos, the Acropolis in Athens.......

review_img

SReid

Aegean Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip started in Istanbul which is an incredible destination by itself. The guides Tauck provided everywhere on the tripwere knowledgeable, passionate and engaging beyond anything my husband and I expected from a tour. To be honest, we were hesitant to sign up for a group tour of any kind. This was our first, and it surpassed all expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leaving Istanbul on the Windstar as the western sun was shining on the domes of old Constantinople.

review_img

BettyLouR

Treasures of the Aegean

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Land portion GREAT with a GREAT guide: Mike [Employee Name]. The "Wind Spirit" nearly ruined our vacation. Being on the second deck, mid-ship, we listened to the gyros/motors that ran the stabilizers all night. My husband had to block his ears with pillows. We awoke every day exhausted...along with some other passengers. If friends elect to go, we say NO!

Most Memorable Moment:

The noise of the ship every night. Not what you wanted you hear! It dominates our memory!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry some aspects of thie journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relation Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CMarks

One of the Best Vacation I have taken

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The Greek Islands cruising aboard Wind Spiri or Wind Star is the ONLY way to experience each of the beautiful Greek Isles. Perhaps in future cruises, Crete can be included. I have of course enjoyed the visit to Ephesus in Istanbul.

Most Memorable Moment:

the blue and white backdrop of all the Greek Isles.

review_img

NPlatoni Poli

A once in a lifetime vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The trip was fabulous! The itinerary had something for everyone. Tauck Director was one of the best we have had in 17 tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can choose one to many fabulous moments

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Olay

Aegean Dream Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary on this trip. We have memories that we will have for the rest of our life. Each stop on the tour was special with great guides giving us the local history and our Tauck tour director, Phillip, filling in with additional information.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many that it is hard to name just one. But having our anniversary dinner on the rooftop garden restaurant at the Grand Bretagne Hotel in Athens looking out on the Parthenon was one of the best.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and retruned with so many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MPatrick

Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was Great

Most Memorable Moment:

The history of the area.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GSmith

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Our tour was amazing. The ship was wonderful, our tour director, Phillip, was so great. He was a wealth of knowledge and so personable. We had an amazing group of people on the tour. The whole experience was wonderful. We will be checking to see where we can go next on a Tauck tour! Thanks for the great memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

The farewell dinner. It was such a sweet ending to our time together.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey and came back with such great memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PCoelho

a wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trip started out with a problem, Before the tour actually started, I fell while walking in Athens. With the help of my husband and understanding guides the trip was outstanding - I managed to participate in all tours and activities including kayaking in Bodrum....a marvelous experience on Windstar - guides, tours, food, hotels - SUPER!

Most Memorable Moment:

so many to count can't name just one but the trip to Delos was the most memorable - the ruins, the magnificent Island - peaceful, beautiful wildflowers and lots of birds - and a marvelous museum....I felt I was living back in time - no crowds to fight ----.....blue sky, clean air, and a wonderful guide....

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. We do hope you are recovering after your injury.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BWert

Ageon, southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Fantastic trip

Most Memorable Moment:

visiting the blue Mosque in Istanbul

review_img

LParkyn

Small ships, ancient landmarks and bustling cities

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Tauck does it RIGHT. The balance between being on a trip, learning new things, and seeking cultural understanding happens seemingly without effort for the trip participants. Our days were seamless,we never waited in line, we were always pleasantly surprised with our outings and eating venues and fascinated listening to our guides. Superb!

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing the ancient steps at Ephesus, milling about in the modern city of Istambul, sailing away each day on the Aegean, climbing the hills of Santorini, walking Plaka in Athens, how could anyone pick? A feast for the eyes by day, a feast for the body in the culinary venues, an overall feast for the soul in the sheer beauty of ancient and modern.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey and have such great memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lelmes

The Agean...northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Tauck is always top notch and this trip proved it again. The Windstar cruise was fabulous...and all ports provided plenty to do. We ended our trip in Istanbul during the demonstrations. Tauck had to change our hotel and ended up upgrading to the Kempinski hotel on the Bosphorus. Needless to say, it was a breathtaking experience. Highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Windstar Cruise was by far the best part of the trip. The sailing yacht had only 135 guests which made the experience more personal. The staff on the WindSpirit were top-notch, from the cabin steward to the captain. All were extremely friendly, knew our names by the 1st day, and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JHare

Treasures of the Aegean - Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

My only complaint for the trip was the lunch and dinner meals provided on the land parts of the trip. Way too many dried out chicken breasts or fishy tasting fish. The food on the Wind Star was first rate. The food on my previous Tauck trip was head and shoulders above this trip. Very disappointing for the price paid. Really! Only 350 characters

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the touring completely. The highlight to me was the Parthenon in Athens and for my wife it was the Hagia Sophia in Instanbul.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you shortly to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GKeller

Treasures of Greece and Turkey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We had a wonderful time starting in Athens. The hotel staff was very helpful and spoke terrific English. The hotel itself was beautiful and a lovely rooftop dining room looking out onto the Acropolis. Leaving there to the next stop overnight and then onto the Wind Spirit sailing ship. What a spectacular ship! Spectacular. Need more space!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first night setting sail. It truly was a memorable event with the sails going up and music playing. Also loved Santorini. A very quaint and quiet island. Istanbul was great despite the protests. My husband injured his foot. Tour Director was very helpful, but Tauck insurance was not. Filed a report and got no help. No response from them

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are most apologetic that you did not receive the appropriate assistance during the time of your husbands foot injury. One of Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you shortly to discuss this matter in detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kaesros

Agean cruise aboard the Windstar.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

It was our first Tauck trip and definitely will not be our last! We especially enjoyed Tauck's attention to detail and how they absolutely took care of everything. The whole trip was worry free. It was a pleasant surprise to find out that sometimes you do get what you paid for! Looking forward to our next trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was in Ephesus. It was a very hot day and we were all very tired at the end of our tour. So you can imagine our surprise when we found cold wet towels waiting for us before we boarded our bus! Thanks Tauck!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your journey and we look forward to you joining us on many more! Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Dutchjr

WOW, expectations exceeded!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We took the Treasures of the Aegean (southbound) tour from May 15-29. It was our first experience with Tauck, as well as our first cruise. All I can say is that everything exceeded our expectations: the hotels, the Wind Star, and the overall Tauck experience. We really bonded with our fellow Tauck travelers. Look forward our next Tauck vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is so difficult to name just one...but would have to say that the evening sail away from Santorini was difficult to beat. We had an excellent dinner on the outside deck with new friends (another couple in the Tauck group). Watching the sun set and the lights of the villages come on as we sailed toward Mykonos was something we'll always cherish

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Dutcher, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TRioseco

Treasures of the Aegean truly a treasure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This trip was the best. The Greek Isles were so romantic and everything we expected them to be. Istanbul & Athens were Iike stepping back in history. If you haven't done this tour, put it on your list,

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't say. Each part of the trip was special.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Rioseco, We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey! Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button