TravelerReviews

Budapest to the Black Sea - Eastbound

review_img

Goldman

Budapest to the Black sea 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We had a great time. The Tauck Directors and Cruise Director really went out of their way to make this cruise wonderful. They even remembered Cathye's birthday! The whole crew did a wonderful job esp the chefs and the kitchen crew. The local excursions and local tour guides did a wonderful job on each detail. wished more time at the market

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the great carving of King Decebalus carved in stone and the wonderful steak dinner provided by the exec chef.

review_img

Cindy Gerstl

Budapest to the Black Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

First experience on a river cruise. Had a wonderful time, but not enough to do. I believe I prefer a large cruise ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything! The food on the ship was the best! Service great, and the entire staff very accommodating.

review_img

LRees

Black Sea to Budapest 7/19-30

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was my 16th Tauck trip-only four stars as it's hard to choose a "best". I didn't think it was possible for a river cruise to get any better, but it's been fine tuned to the nth degree. The crew, the staff, the ship were all wonderful! Eastern Europe is a living history lesson and the films and lectures really gave a full picture of the past.

Most Memorable Moment:

As a solo traveler, the many moments meeting my fellow guests were most memorable. People who travel with Tauck are really nice people, and I had a wonderful time with many congenial travelers.

review_img

Charlette Seidel

Black Sea to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Very interesting part of the world and totally different from Western Europe. The tour guides were excellent and covered the history of Eastern Europe and their efforts to progress to higher standards. Hungary, of course, is exciting and restored.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in the White Palace in Belgrade, Serbia with Crown Price Alexander and Crown Princess Katharina. They spoke so beautifully.

review_img

Rebecca AnneLee Pagano

If you want to be treated like Royalty...

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I have been on many cruises but I have never had service like Tauck. The crew work so hard to cater to your every desire. The food was heaven and always available. This trip was really a dream come true. We visited so many amazing places. The Danube is exquisite. I now feel that I have to cruise more of it.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many highlights including dining in palaces while musicians serenaded us. My most memorable moment was when one of the Tauck guides gave a lecture on Liszt and then played music by Liszt. It was so interesting and the piano playing was brilliant. How lucky to have three amazing guides with us.

review_img

Glitzy0228

Great Experiencd

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Had a nice time and enjoyed the staff aboard the ship. Little overload on information. Would have enjoyed better food; would also have liked better locations. Entertainment aboard ship was very good along with the commentators.

Most Memorable Moment:

Didn't have a memorable moment.

review_img

bsfreiberg

Bucharest to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

My husband and I both enjoyed the trip very much. The ship is beautiful, the staff is very attentive. The tour directors are all very knowledgeable and helpful. We liked the people on the cruise very much. It was easy to make friends. We also liked the fact that everything is included. The food and beverages were also very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

We very much enjoyed the dinner at the Royal Palace in Serbia. The food was excellent and we had a special treat when Crown Prince Alexander and Princess Katherine came to speak with us.

review_img

JimDave49

Very Satisfying River Cruise Through Lands Steeped in History and Culture

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was a very interesting trip from many perspectives. The itinerary was fascinating, the ship was beautiful, the food was excellent and the service was unmatched. With respect to the itinerary, we especially liked the amount of time we had in Budapest--so much to see and do there. All the guides were terrific. Needed some fans in the Palaces.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed the visit to the home in Croatia. The host was most hospitable and welcoming and her stories of experience during the war with Serbia were very moving.

review_img

JSchultz

Tauck is first class!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Although the area has a very sad history, Tauck showed us the best of what Eastern Europe had to offer. From dinners in palaces to tours in iconic buildings to meeting the best people in the world. We had a blast thanks to the staff and fellow guests.

Most Memorable Moment:

Besides the beautiful sites, the staff on the MS Joy was the most memorable.

review_img

Michael D Hugh

The Black Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We started in Budapest and traveled on the MS Joy down the Danube through Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Romania stoping at cities along the way to visit with the local people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning about the revolution that took place in these areas during the late 1980's and '90's after the death of Tito and the fall of Yugoslavia. Also, making new friends with the people on board and spending time with our good friends from Texas that were with us on the trip.

review_img

marymertic

Eastern Europe - so much to learn!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This trip was wonderful....so much history that we are not taught about the Serbians, Croats, Bulgarians, Romanians and Hungarians. Tauck does a great job of explaining where you are and what is significant about this country. You learn so much, almost historical overload. Beautiful ship and fabulous crew...so attentive and great directors.

Most Memorable Moment:

Evening in Budapest with a lovely dinner and fabulous Hungarian music! My Favorite music as I am from Hungarian descent.

review_img

Nigel R Arkell

Our First Tauck River Cruise.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

When you are in confined spaces for a 7 day cruise the most important thing on a cruise like this is "the people". By that I mean, MV Joy was a very impressive ship - very well maintained - it looked new but the most important aspect to life on board was the quality and friendliness of the tour team and the ship team. They were exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were walking on our way to the very Impressive Parliament buildings on the side of the Danube when our guide asked us to stop at the "shoes" right next to the river. She explained what these bronze mens, womens and childrens shoes represented - she explained what happened to these Jewish families in Budapest in 1944. We were not prepared !

review_img

smithsandyhook

Some great, some not

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Tauck and ship staff great. J W Marriott excellence. On ship, 4 nights we were woken up about 3-4 AM by loud walking on sun deck above our suite. Ritz Carlton more business like, not very friendly. Server Sunshine on ship wonderful and was piano player and evening bar man.

Most Memorable Moment:

The people in each country and the images and history the guides and locals explained

review_img

ShermanZell

Nothing Special

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Boat ride was ok, wifi was heavily filtered blocking many sites. Most people opted to use internet off the ship. Food was boring. Many people complained but nothing was done to rectify the situation. I strongly recommend that Tauck terminate their contract with the boat company if the food and wifi situation is not improved.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting off the boat to eat and being able to get on the internet. The sight seeing was ok. Off the boat we had great rooms and laundry service like we had on Crystal.

review_img

ChrisML

First river cruise!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Our Budapest to the Black Sea trip on the MS JOY was - a joy! Our cabin was wonderful, the meals were excellent and the service superb. Much of this section of the Danube, however, is not particularly scenic and the sights, other than in Budapest and Bucharest, are limited. We enjoyed the trip, but prefer Tauck's land tours (we've taken eight).

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the memorial of the shoes along the Danube in Budapest and wandering, after hours on our private visit, through Bucharest's Palace of the Parliament.

review_img

MargaretMiller

Bucharest to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was my first experience with Tauck. Their attention to detail and to looking after their guests is impeccable. The tour directors (3) were very knowledgeable, courteous and very helpful, always looking out for the stragglers and those not able to keep up. The tours were very well managed and took us to places off the beaten track.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting the Crown Prince and Princess of Serbia.

review_img

TexasRon

Bucharest to Budapest on the MS Joy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our trip on the MS Joy was a relaxing joy! This was our 15th Tauck Tour. We enjoyed the terrific service and wonderful guides...all first class. We learned a lot about the history of the Balkans by the interesting lectures and visits to the 5 countries...very scenic.

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the most memorable moments on our tour was the visit to the Royal Palace in Belgrade, where we were greeted by HRH Crown Prince Alexander II of Serbia and his wife. They gave an interesting presentation about the history of the Serbian royal family and answered many questions. That was followed by a wonderful reception and dinner.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Congratulations on your 15th journey with us! We look forward to hosting you on many more...

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Aussie Helen

Perfect trip before Croatian Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The utter horror of the first night in Budapest, standing alone while two Directors laughed and joked with other guests, couples. I just had to stand by the wall alone. Just before dinner an American asked me where I came from. Australia. Oh I love Australia, I’ll adopt you tonight!! The two Directors knew I was a solo Aussie when I first met them.

Most Memorable Moment:

The history of all countries and friendly Americans I met!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A really informative trip and perfect lead in to my Croatia trip. Was thinking of A & K at this stage for future travels, name down for Israel, but one of the Tauck Directors saved Tauck’s reputation. Thoroughly recommend for doing prior to Croatian tour, perfect match.

review_img

JOE NAVA

BLACK SEA RIVER CRUISE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our river cruise trip with Tauck. The tour directors were great; very helpful and entertaining. The river cruise director was supportive to all our needs. The cabin attendant was very attentive to making our trip comfortable without any problems. Overall we were very satisfied.

Most Memorable Moment:

The family visit in Serbia. It highlighted the area recent history and problems that they had to overcome. Bulgarian dancers on board presentation. Evening dinner at Castles. 5 Star Hotels we stayed at.

review_img

Pat_315

nice but......

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The ship was not what I hoped for - rooms were small with very poor lighting, no storage, closets were too short to hang dresses. We booked a corner room. Common areas were dated. Food,staff and excursions were very good. I would like to see a slower pace on the ship - spend 2 days in same town to do excursions and more relax time on the ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lectures on board ship and visit with the Prince and his wife.

review_img

Lionel Mark

The curate's egg holiday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was my wife's and my first Tauck trip having experienced three previous river cruises with another operator which we scored highly. M.S. Swiss Jewel and its crew mostly provided a first class experience but there were flaws in service and eating experiences. The sights afloat however were memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Peles Castle, Transylvania and the King Decebalus rock sculpture seen from the river were both outstanding

review_img

DSN

Sisters Get-away

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Outstanding from the very beginning. Cannot wait to book another trip. Knowledgable tour quides, fun guests, new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip.

review_img

Paradise Kid

Black Sea Cruise from Bucharest to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

A lot of history about the eastern block and the fall of communism. This cruise is more about the history of the countries and its peoples more than the sights. Really enjoyed visiting private homes in Croatia, and meeting the Crown Prince of Serbia. Tauck service quality is the best, all the way from arrival to final departure.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going the wrong way back to the bus after using a public restroom on a shore excursion. Tour director saw me and got me reoriented. She did a great job looking for stragglers during shore excursions and getting them back to the bus. All three tour directors were top-notch in keeping the passengers organized so we didn't get lost.

review_img

schragenm

River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The itinerary, ship, ship personnel, and Tauck staff were excellent. But the hotels were a big disappointment. While the rooms were nice, service in the Boscolo Budapest restaurant could not have been worse. Then they added insult to injury by adding a 20% automatic tip to the bill and then 25% VAT was put on the total. Longer visits to the towns.

review_img

Raymond

Bucharest to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Wonderful adventure from the Black Sea to Budapest. We visited countries and cities off the beaten path enhanced by talented and local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty and history of this iconic section of the world

review_img

paulweiss

Tauck is the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Tauck met or exceeded my expectations at every opportunity. The timeliness of communication, itinerary, level of service, tour directors, local guides, hotel accommodations, and food were all outstanding. Tauck truly delivered more than they promised.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the statue of Decebalus while cruising through the Iron Gates.

review_img

Joan L

The Black Sea to Budapest - Westbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This trip is not about places to see (although the Hungarian Parliament is stunning) and things to do, but rather about the people: The warm and friendly Romanians; The hard working and hospitable Croatians; The competent and pleasant ship's crew; And, of course, the superb Tauck representatives.

Most Memorable Moment:

When I fell, hurting my head and elbow, and was taken to a Romanian Hospital Emergency Room.

review_img

infame

Budapest to the Black Sea Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was my 3rd time on the Swiss Jewel and Tauck did not disappoint. Meals and service on board were top notch as always. Well planned and unique itinerary visiting old Eastern Block countries. Perfect balance of learning (movies and lectures) and fun. Tour directors and cruise director were outstanding- perfect blend of professional and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting HRH The Crown Prince of Serbia at a Tauck Special Event in Belgrade. Family photo with the prince will be on our Christmas card this year.

review_img

hotshot

All things" TAUCK"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was a first for TAUCK and me on a river...so I expected the best and got the best...The ship was marvelous, the rooms spacious, the food was plenty and delicious, the dining areas delightful both for casual and for a bit more. And of course, the staff were beyond reproach! Friendly, Outgoing, Courteous, and as always, thinking of your needs!

Most Memorable Moment:

warm nights with the sliding doors wide open as we continued up the river...passing through little towns full of lively activity....

review_img

Sanibel

Dissappointed in Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Ship met our expectations comparing it to other river cruises we have taken.The meals were not edible with the exception of breakfast,fresh fruits and cheeses. Some of the local guides struggled to present information on the countries we visited. Not a pleasant experience for the five of us. Will not travel Tauck in the future

Most Memorable Moment:

The Family Visit The Underground Hospital

review_img

Tom Evans

Bucharest to Budapest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We were a little leery about touring this region, but with the great Tauck River boat and absence of crowds, it turned into one of our most favorite tours. We immediately booked another Tauck Riverboat trip with two other couples we met on the boat. Budapest has replaced Paris as our most favorite city to visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

The afternoon visit with a Croatian family was the highlight of the trip. Also enjoyed the on-board local entertainment and my bicycle ride along the Danube.

review_img

EHARPER

The Blue Danube at its best!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

I took this trip from Bucharest to Budapest to see a part of the world I had never seen. Although, each country had it's own flavor and each culture was different the one constant was the professionalism and friendliness of the Tauck staff as well as all the local guides we met. It was a trip I'll always treasure and never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

I have to say all the laughs we had with our servers at breakfast and dinner. They were really great to be around.

review_img

Susan Jane Grosse

Westbound from Bucharest

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Probably the most interesting and informative trip I've been on. Well planned by Tauck, with experiences designed to both educate and entertain. With five countries, this was a trip totally different from the usual European experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hospital in the tunnels and the hospital where Vincent VanGogh lived.

review_img

jerryatlga

Danube Riverboat Cruise August 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

These comments are in addition to our responses on the Hope and Trust card we completed before we left MS Swiss Jewell. We are still telling others about the spectacular trip we had with you. We let them know that we were on a Tauck cruise. Since I am limited to 350 characters I'll e-mail the rest to you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Quite honestly, it was our visit with the parents of a Rotary Exchange student sponsored by our Rotary club in Atlanta, GA. They live in Budapest and we had lunch with them on Friday and dinner on Saturday before we boarded the MS Swiss Jewell. And their daughter, fluent in English,guided us through some sites in Budapest not on the tour schedule

review_img

fulham

Eastern Europe August 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

From Budapest to Bucharest river journey was interesting historically and visually. Due to the hot weather, and my arthritis, I did very little exploring of any city or site on foot. The crew was wonderful. The hotel in Budapest (Le Meridian) was as well. The Marriott in Bucharest, not so much. The food on the ship was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The home visit in Croatia was the best.

review_img

Travelcat

An education and an experience in the Balkans

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This cruise will suit people interested in social and political history and in people, rather than scenery or art. The superb TDs and lecturers provided a context for a complex history and recent warfare; some speakers shared personal experiences and insights. Adding castles, museums, princes, and the lovely MS Treasure made this a wonderful trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sharing the trip with family members, talking with a Croatian family in their home, hearing personal stories, visiting Peles Castle in the Carpathian mountains, touring the Hospital in the Rocks, and more.

review_img

GauriWaingankar

Budapest to the Black Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Excellent itinerary . Great shore excursions. Awesome tour director. Good food and wine on board the ship. Liked that the choice of shore excursions could be made 2-3 days before the shore excursion.

Most Memorable Moment:

Surprise July 4th celebration with an ice cream social and fireworks on shore in a former Eastern block country,(with the associated permits,etc having to be obtained)

review_img

tauck travelers

Budapest to the Black Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Interesting experience but totally different from other Tauck River Boat Cruises. Communist influence is still in evidence, particularly in the faces of the people. Countries not prepared nor developed for tourists. Glad that we went but would not repeat this trip. It would be very difficult for some people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the old hospital, meeting the Crown Prince and his wife and seeing the beautiful castles and churches.

review_img

NINI

The Balkans via the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Watching the Balkans go by from our riverboat, I was reminded again of the weight of history on these countries. Ottomans, Nazis, and the Soviets and the resultant oppression. It is palpable everywhere you stop. The speakers brought this fact out at each and every one of our stops in graphic ways. Very well done

Most Memorable Moment:

THe House of Terror in Budapest.

review_img

SaSaG

Wonderful River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Just completed my second trip with Tauck and they once again provided the first class experience I received on my African Safari trip. Everything, and I do mean everything was fabulous. Knowledgeable/caring tour directors, wonderful food & drink. Outstanding lectures and land tours and experiences with locals and Royals alike. FABULOUS!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to single out the "most" memorable, but meeting a local in their home, a private castle tour and meeting the Crown Prince & Crown Princes of Serbia and dining in palaces are at the top of the list. And, of course making new friends. Memories for a lifetime!

review_img

rmunson1

Comment card

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Prior to making any comments, my only comment right now is that we did not receive comment cards, even though we did receive lots of publicity about them as the cruise was winding down. We concluded it was a misunderstanding. Emails would come later. This email confirms no misunderstanding. Tauck might check up. I don't think it was a mistake.

Most Memorable Moment:

Staff (3) sharing about life growing up in communist countries.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced some truly memorable moments. We have contacted our Guest Relations Department regarding the fact you did not receive a comment card. One of our specialists will reach out to you shortly. We would like to thank you for your kind patronage and hope that you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LBorland

An Education

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We went to Prague on our own and then began the Tauck tour in Budapeste and continued on to the Black Sea. The countries that we saw and the experiences we had deepened my understanding of this part of Europe that has been under Communist control. Their story is complex.

Most Memorable Moment:

The library in Kalosca and the beautiful stretch on the Danube on the day we cruised all day.

review_img

cbg911

Budapest to Bucharest on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The Danube is one of the most beautiful rivers in the world. Even though we had been to Budapest several times, we were more impressed with changes in Bucharest having been there first in 1969 . A totally new city with beautiful beautiful buildings and parks. The people were very nice and hospitable. I highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the remade city of Bucharest.

review_img

CATSOOS

First RIver Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The trip was fantastic but what can you expect from Tauck, they are always first rate. Was worried about the ship but it was so smooth you did not know it was moving. The directors and the local guides were exceptional and always there for our needs no matter how small. Looking to 2014 and where I will venture to next year.

Most Memorable Moment:

Budapest was better then I expected I was glad I went in a day early. The crew on the ship were exceptional one night at the bar I did not want a drink but ice cream and they quickly got me it. The food was exceptional on the ship also and Lynn was one of the nicest directors I had ever had and this was my 8th trip with Tauck.

review_img

KR

Wonderful introduction to this part of Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

An unusual and interesting itinerary, visiting some countries not ordinarily seen. The balance between shore excursions and "downtime" cruising was good. Great job of handling the problems caused by the low water level on the Danube, making sure to fill in with options not on the original itinerary. Our first trip with Tauck, a good introduction.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tour arranged by tour guides, of the Palace of Arts theaters. Also, Fero's excellent lecture on Yugoslavia and Andrea's wonderful lectures overall!

review_img

Noel C Bufe

Black Sea to Budpest

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

This is a great trip for folks to learn more about a part of Europe that many of us probably only heard about in the news. The countries are still struggling economically but they are trying hard and want to share their stories. Take good shoes; lots of walking.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BurtRosenberg

so-so itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

The river boat, MS Treasures, was super. The food was excellent as was all the ship staff. The Tauck Directors did a fantastic job and were very personable. We felt that the itinerary was just so-so. This section of the Danube is mostly open land and the only interesting feature is the Iron Gates. The music and dancing were very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Farewell dinner at the Hungary Academy of Science. The food, presentation and music were superb

review_img

Bob Landgren

Eastern Danube a bit Light on Sights

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Our tour group was very well traveled but older (average age 75-80) and more infirm than I expected. Romania and Bulgaria are light in major sights and required very long bus rides. The cruise ship Treasures was pristine with very good food and service. The musical events, Belgrade, and Budapest were highlights. The hotels used were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The concert at the Bartok Museum was the highlight for me.

review_img

LeBaronet

Shame about the weather

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Unbelievable rain on the river negated any possibility of spending time on deck - scenery is flat and boring. Mooring and double/quadruple docking compromised privacy and outlook. The boat and Tauck organisation is the best I have had. Local guides repetitively oversell the Balkan 90s war - also too much time in coaches. Back to cruising!

Most Memorable Moment:

Apart from the rain, Having the room keys provided ahead of booking in at Bucharest Marriott.

review_img

Gloria Johnson

Danube Cruising

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

this river cruise showed us many experiences along the route from Budapest to the Black Sea. Besides the beautiful scenery, good food and services, we really enjoyed the cultural experiences of the local groups and visiting homes. When the river level was to low to continue on the river, Tauck made changes which were good experiences also.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many great moments on the trip. Each country has so much to offer and experience. The Bran Castle was a highlight, especially since it's referred to so often in the news and movies.

review_img

Wuestski

Great Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

The cities on this itinerary are not frequently visited. They should be as there is a lot of natural beauty in this part of the world. Guide Yenner was able to help us understand the past conflicts in some of the areas and update us as to how the areas are currently getting on.

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting to visit the boyhood home of Ceausescu because the river level was a too low. Novi Sad was a great addition as well.

review_img

Peter Buchanan

Most memorable trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

The trip from Bucharest to Budapest visited many Danube countries, cities, and villages. It explored Budapest and added features in Romania due to low water at the southern end of the Danube. The trip to the Black sea was one of these which was tedious,

Most Memorable Moment:

This trip was the most memorable primarily because one of the Tour Directors had participated in the Romain revolution. His talk regarding is home land was extraordinary. The local guides we met at the different cities and countries were very knowledgeable with regard to the culture and politics of the region

review_img

Charm

The Blue Danube-Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

The riverboat staff is the greatest. The food is the best. The directors are professional and great as a team. I appreciate the pace.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Lord's Supper mosaic in Vienna

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button