TravelerReviews

Musical Magic Along The Blue Danube

review_img

addwyn

A Must

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This is the trip of lifetime for classical music lovers. The tour was run like a well rosined bow--no slip ups. This tour is a must for anyone who loves classical music.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Kodaly String Quartet concert at Nador Hall.

review_img

yeajchap

Fantastic Trip!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Everything from start to finish was outstanding. All tour directors and our "maestros" were very experienced and friendly. The Savor was beautifully appointed with an experienced friendly staff. The pianist in the lounge was so talented and personable. We loved our very comfortable Cat 7 stateroom. The food quality and choice was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Very difficult to pick the most memorable moment. Probably the daily music performances by so many talented performers and groups. Dinner at the Palace was also very special.

review_img

239 Lyons

magical music along the danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Excellent! Our 8th Tauck trip

Most Memorable Moment:

The opera in Vienna

review_img

billdecks

Music

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Loved the emphasis on classical music

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner and performance at palace

review_img

cbgrosso

A magical musical adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Out sixth vacation with Tauck was everything we thought it would be and more. It was our first river cruise with Tauck. The hotels were excellent with very good restaurants and comfortable rooms. Our cabin was spacious and comfortable. Again food and service was wonderful. Maestros were outstanding as were the Tauck Directors.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments but I think dinner at Palais Pallavicini was magical. Also the ballet Giselle at the State Opera House in Vienna. The world class musicians at each event. Especially also Anabela Patkolo the young violinist. The fun of being part of the Guest Choir on our last night in Prague.

review_img

margotfonteyn

Exceeded our wildest dreams and we dream pretty wild!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

This really was, for us, the trip of a lifetime. There were many things that were important to us, that we hoped would be fulfilled on this trip, and they all came to pass. Guides, concerts, meals, wine and friendships, all fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

The classical music theme of this trip and all the moments enjoying it: singing Mozart and Brahms in the choir formed on the ship by Brittany, hearing young opera and violin students in training programs, and the lectures by the Maestros were all fantastic. Took a private ballet lesson arranged by the concierge at the Kempinski!

review_img

The Turners

Danube Musical Magic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a wonderful time enjoying the music of Hungary, Austria and the Czech Republic. Everything was so well organized and our guides were very knowledgeable. Food and service aboard the Savor was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting new friends who also happen to be our neighbors in Naples, Florida. Who knew?

review_img

Jane Hall

Delights galore!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Everything about our trip was delightful and exceptional- the special musical performances and venues, the ship, the dining, the tours and the staff. Nothing can compare to experiencing remarkable artists and venues up close and personal. And the MS Savor staff made our sailing experience enjoyable and luxurious.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Vienna Opera House and attending the opera, Salome, that evening.

review_img

Sukibelle

Central Europe and It's Peaceful People and Delightful Music

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Tauck employees must be hand-picked to be able and willing to provide efficient service with understanding and a lovely sense of humor to each and every guest. As well, the guests seem hand-picked to be friendly, compassionate, and enthusiastic companions. Consequently, this extensive trip was relaxed and stress-free.

Most Memorable Moment:

Maestro, Raphael Fusco's, mention of the amazing ability of the lead soprano in the opera, Salome. The opera's story was actually depressing but Raphael made it possible for us to focus our attention on the music and talent.

review_img

Bruce Hoelter

Musical trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The trip was wonderful. The two maestros were not only accomplished musicians but shared their knowledge with easy and humor. The events we attended were outstanding with good performances. The guides were knowledgeable and gave the impression that they loved their "jobs". The three Tauck guides were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

There is not enough room above so I am going to write here that the food on board was very good as was the service in the dinning room. The most memorable moment was either the opera Salome or the organ concert in Passau. All in all, it was a great trip. Suggestion to do one emphasizing art museums and artists.

review_img

EFA

Magical music, views & friends

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our river cruise was on the Danube-Budapest to Prague. It was amazing in so many ways. It was our first river cruise so we hoped for the best & wound up with a trip that was fantastic and way beyond our expectations. The entire Tauck team from beginning to end were friendly, energetic, very organized & detail oriented. We highly recommend it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The amazing views in Vienna, Salzburg and the Passau valley-looked like we were gazing on painted murals of the country side & old buildings & architecture. The concerts we attended & heard were wonderful. Very difficult to choose ONE most memorable moment. It was all memorable, fun & absolutely the best. The passengers we met were delightful.

review_img

Gary Alan Smith

Not just for musicians - but it helps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our first river cruise but not our last. The trip was filled with surprises including performances by our maestros, on-board concerts, and a most magnificent 30-minute organ concert. Budapest was amazing, as was Vienna, Saltsburg, and especially Prague. This would be a wonderful tour without all the music, but for music lovers, this is a must trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

I mentioned the organ concert in Europe's largest cathedral organ. Also amazing was seeing "Swan Lake" at the Vienna State Opera House, from the sixth row! Having beer and snitzel at a restaurant with a view of the Alps was another check off the bucket list. The ship itself was a highlight, as was Tauck's magnificent customer service.

review_img

Bill Campbell

Yes, it was magical!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This trip was truly magical. We especially enjoyed the preplanned events such as concerts and performances like the ballet Swan Lake where our prepaid seats were located front and center! A wonderful experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the performance of Swan Lake

review_img

Rasty

Musical Magic along the Blue Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Absolutely fabulous. Each day brought a new musical experience ~ instrumental, singing, dancing. The ballet was an unexpected, wonderful experience. Lectures were invaluable in experiencing the planned events. I loved being a part of "the choir" that was formed the first day in Budapest. What a hoot!! I loved every minute of this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many ~ sharing a bratwurst in Vienna with friends, the ballet, cruising the Wachau Valley in the morning, Passau. Salzburg ~ what a fun day ~ brilliant concert. Going to a concert on my own, with three other tour friends, to hear the Prague Symphony ~ New World Symphony, plus piano and cello concertos.

review_img

baydrex

Musical Magic along the Blue Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The musical theme of the trip was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. The food served on the ship was far beneath our expectations. It was absolutely terrible!!!! It was institutional food with a high sodium content. My wife and I along with several other passengers we spoke to experienced swollen ankles and hands.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the musical venues. Fabulous!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

I have forwarded your comments regarding the food on the riverboat on to our River team as they are always striving to make the onboard dining as enjoyable as possible.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Don Po

Worry Free

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

We are old folk; we worry. Despite mobility limitations,we love to travel. Our travel agent suggested river cruising,insisting that Tauck would best minimize worrying. The Magic Musical cruise fit our travel wants and matched our love of classical music. We liked the hotels,location and class; we liked the JOY; we liked how easy Tauck(cont'd below)

Most Memorable Moment:

made the pack and transfer times. We liked the opportunities for private experiences. We are especially appreciative of Tauck people and their associates - hotel, ship, maestros, special events. All went overboard (no pun intended) to make experiences memorable and worry-free. Our travel agent was absolutely right. Thank You.

review_img

MSolomon

Trip Exceeded Our Expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Musical Magic on the Danube Cruise was fabulous. All accommodations were outstanding, tour leaders were excellent, musical maestros were very talented and well prepared and the musical events on the trip were wonderful--except in Prague where there were no live musical events included. Odd in a city where there are multiple concerts offered nightly

Most Memorable Moment:

All the musical performances that were included!

review_img

nancy amato

Pinch me

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

I was a princess in a fairytale complete with a prince. Great would describe this trip of a lifetime where every detail was perfect. This from a women who is well traveled in Europe, used to Leading Hotels and Relais and Chateaux and prefers not to cruise. Your itinerary, ship, guides, staff and chefs aboard the MS Savor were exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each and every day until the following day. Delightful in every way was the music the concerts the history and the knowledge of our Tauck Directors. Did I mention the food aboard the ship was amazing and a total surprise. It was outstanding. Though our hotels were exceptional I might have preferred a little more old world charm in Europe.

review_img

Tarheel 58

One of the top 3 vacations we have taken by any company

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

A surprise every day. The type of river cruise this is makes it special. From the director to her partners and then to have two wonderful "maestros" giving us instructions and tips each day. The itinerary was wonderful, from the 17 yr. old violin prodigy to the soloists at the Opera House in Vienna, to finishing up in beautiful Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

Singing of the Requiem at the Rock Church in Vienna to the tie about a 17 yr. old violin prodigy

review_img

babion

Musical Magic on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Wonderful staff, good accommodations. The daily musical performances and lectures enriched the river cruise experience greatly.It is one thing to visit landmark palaces and cathedrals and another to witness marvelously executed private musical performances in them. It was delightful!

Most Memorable Moment:

the performance of Requiem in the church in Vienna. Awe-inspiring!

review_img

kathleeng48

A Perfect Experience-filled with music and memories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

"Musical Magic Along the Blue Danube" was indeed magical, a one of a kind experience for both my husband and myself. We kept pinching ourselves to see if it were all real. Food, music, superb maestros, guides, staff and accommodations made this the best vacation we ever had. We can't imagine traveling with anyone else but Tauck from now on.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is impossible to pick just one, but a concert at The Museum of Music History in Buda with a renowned pianist and group of four others, where we heard Schumann, Liszt and Bartok, moved me so much that I could not speak afterward. I can still hear it when I close my eyes-simply marvelous

review_img

jmeador791

Marvelous!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

A great trip save for the fact the Danube was low but that was minor compared to the wonderful time we had. Tauck is excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Mozart Requiem in Vienna! But there were many more!

review_img

goodcat

musical danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Great tour. Both maestros (our Tauck Directors) very talented, warm, great companions. Their in depth knowledge presented in an enjoyable and accessible manner. A special mention of another local guide with her fun and illuminating insights into the persona, sense humor, and politics of central Europe. Guests were warm; atmosphere convivial-- also talented!

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to guest choir, in which my daughter sang. The live performances, concerts and musical presentations were excellent. The ensemble performing American classics at the final dinner -- thanks for this nice touch! Watching villages, cathedrals, mountains, and castles go by on the Danube in relaxed cruising mode.

review_img

Burt_H

Danube Music Voyage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Organ rehearsal was over-the-top, as was the final dinner in the castle in Prague - what a view. Passengers were the most friendly of any trip we've taken, and the staff facilitated that result. Food was good; not great, but that's not unexpected given such a small ship. If you can afford the trip and like music, it's worth considering.

Most Memorable Moment:

Organ rehearsal

review_img

Annieb

Wonderful riverboat trip on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We just returned from our first Tauck trip--Music Magic on the Danube. Everything was wonderful--our Maestros on board ship were excellent, not only as a pianist and vocalist, but also very knowledgable about classical composers! Our guide was outstanding. Food and drinks were great, as well as our accomodations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing and hearing the largest organ in Europe (Passau) was thrilling. Guides in all our ports were very good. Having everything (tipping, etc.) inclusive was wonderful! The crew and staff were very friendly. Most memorable moment was last dinner at castle in Prague. Every detail was perfect.

review_img

xxoxxo

Tauck River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Tours to Opera Houses was great. Dinners and lunches off the Synphony were very good. Tauck Directors were great. Meals on the boat were less than average. Local guides used during tours difficult to understand. Cost of the voyage for what we received is way overpriced.

Most Memorable Moment:

The noise in our cabin started at 6:00 AM and continued until Midnight with Tauck employees running up and down the passage way and up the stairs which were right next to our bed. Our cabin was #101 which I paid un upgrade for to get 183SF. Biggest mistake of the cruise. Layout of cabin very poor. Tide outside of cabin sounded like a waterfall.

review_img

Grahame Steel

Change the Name!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The only thing wrong with this cruise is its title. "Musical Magic along the Danube" is crass and almost turned me away - I was afraid of having nothing but Viennese lollipops. Thank goodness I was wrong, because this cruise was a wonderful experience for a serious music lover.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the organ demonstration in Passau, where the demonstration piece was the Toccata from the Widor 5th Symphony, music that we had played at our wedding. My (late) wife would have loved it! Apart from that, the piano recitals in Budapest were superb. It was amazing to sit so close to such a brilliant pianist and to meet him.

review_img

musiclady

Best trip Ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The online music lectures preparing us for our next wonderful concert, the over the top meals, the being treated like royalty, the attention to every last detail made this the best trip I've ever taken. The warmth of the ship's staff and the friendliness of fellow music lovers was amazing. Will definitely be taking another Tauck trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing the organ play Widor in Passau. This organ has 17,000 pipes and filled the huge church.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories of our Musical Magic Along the Blue Danube river cruise! We are so glad you had such a good time! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Voyager20

Musical magic on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

One of the best trips I have ever taken. I was drawn to this one because of the classical music theme, though the destinations themselves were also great places to visit. Loved all the private concerts / rehearsals / lectures. Was fun to travel w/ others who share a common interest (music). Everything overall was top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Beethoven's original manuscript of his 5th symphony, in his own handwriting.

review_img

Peter Stevenson-Moore

How high the bar?

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

It is hard to imagine any group tour could better the quality of this one. The coupling of music with the sites and sights of central Europe was inspiring, to say the least. This was a unique opportunity to be exposed to the cultures of several countries that are remarkably diverse within short distances.

Most Memorable Moment:

Playing the pianos in the Bosendorfer piano studio was a particular thrill. The demonstrations by our "Maestro" were particularly enjoyable.

review_img

wrc

Musical Memories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our first Tauck experience and so wonderful! From the arrival in Budapest to the departure from Prague every detail was attended to and then some. All the wonderful musical experiences throughout our trip truly exceeded our expectations. The informative tour directors provided superb personal guidance all along the way. We must return via TAUCK!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to choose just one but the most memorable moment was the Imperial Viennese Evening at the Palais Pallavicini. Just remembering that night brings delight!

review_img

PippaF

Truly memorable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

My first cruise experience exceeded my expectations in every respect. I came home feeling steeped in the culture and history of every place we visited with a thirst for more! The Tauck team looked after me superbly from the moment I arrived at the airport in Budapest until my departure from Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

On the first night of he actual cruise, standing on the deck of the river boat, sipping wine and admiring the magnificent Budapest Parliament building as we floated down the Danube.

review_img

John Vohs

Beyond Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Tauck delivered a superb trip experience for us. The "Swiss Jewel" is a nice-sized boat and the accommodations were excellent. Our three tour directors were all well-versed in the local history, culture, and current events. The array of musical offerings was exceptional--they exceeded our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments--it's not possible to pick just one.

review_img

crispin14

Professional. attentive service

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Truck put together a trip with events that would be nearly impossible to match on one's own. There were private concerts for our group of 100 as well as festive meals at elegant locations with live music. These were all supported by onboard professional musicians who added knowledge and understanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Strauss' Ariadne auf Naxos at the Vienna State Opera was the highlight for me, but the small touches like hot towels and a beverage upon returning to ship and the precision and convenience of luggage transfers are the kind of differentiating experiences that make this trip special

review_img

tcrosse

Most fabulous trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Tauck greatly exceeded our expectations. We were surprised again and again by the small touches and lagniappes which were lavished on us. We certainly got good value for money. I wish this tour had been offered in September, when the weather in Central Europe is warmer and the opera season is in session.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cosi Fan Tutte at Budapest, Ariadne auf Naxos and dinner at the Palais Pallavicini in Vienna. How to choose ?

review_img

trialflex

Magical Music on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

wow moments each day with selection of performers. Choir participation and performing at Lobkowitz palace memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

9 year old piano performance at Bratislava was a classic.

review_img

Washashorecapecod

Excellent musical trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Everything except the hotel in Budapest was excellent. The concerts were all great. The food was good. The tour directors were all very good and knowledgeable. Would have liked a bit more down time. The pace was mostly good. Sometimes, a stop for a coffee would have been good. Saw so much and heard fabulous performances-even saw original scores

Most Memorable Moment:

So many hard to pick one. The organ concert in Passau was amazing as was the dinner at the Lodwicz palace in Prague. Saw original Beethoven scores. Seeing Aida in Vienna sitting in the 10th row center was so nice. Loved our fellow travelers. Nice compatible group. Seeing Giselle in Budapest and also the concert at the Bartok house were great!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry that the hotel in Budapest fell below your expectations. We will be sure to have our product team look into this matter and take corrective measures.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

VFinch

Musical Tour of the Danube-Oct. 8, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This musically themed trip from Budapest to Prague exceeded all expectations, from the ballet in Budapest, to "Aida" at the Vienna Opera House, and the violin concert at the Palais Pallavicini with a real prince for a host! I felt like Empress Sisi floating north to meet Emperor Franz Joseph before her grand wedding. Magical!

Most Memorable Moment:

Eating warm sausage and sauerkraut sandwiches with cold beer outside a historic sausage house in Regensburg, Germany. It was a cool, sunny Autumn day, as we stood outside with locals next to the riverbank and a thousand year old Roman bridge nearby. A charming town--I wished I had stayed there and skipped Prague altogether!

review_img

JArnholt

Our Magical Blue Danube Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

We had a wonderful time on the "Musical Magic Along the Blue Danube". This was our first trip with Tauck and we felt it was a truly great trip. Tauck saw to every detail. We felt safe, pampered, entertained, educated and cared for. Our Tauck guides were the BEST! We miss them since we've returned home. Thank you to all the Tauck Staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is very hard to pick one moment, We loved our guides input and their being there for us. We especially liked all the tips being included and the coins provided at rest stops. (I know it sounds silly, but it was such a relief). Our musical entertainment was top notch. We especially enjoyed our 14 year old violinist and the orchestral rehearsal.

review_img

JSabotka

Great Trip - Top Shelf

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This trip was tremendous. Our vacation was definitely top shelf. Front row seats at the Vienna and Budapest Opera House, excellent music venues on most excursions, and quality dinners, both on and off the ship. Tauck ensured everything was thought of - to include paying for restrooms when touring the cities. Tauck will be my first choice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything Vienna, especially getting the opportunity to attend the opera with front row seats.

review_img

Travelcat

Truly magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The varied itinerary balanced museums and palaces with city walking tours, recitals, dance performances, and more. We appreciated the three knowledgeable and thoughtful TDs who coped well with the vagaries of the Danube in flood, and the two "maestros" who enriched the trip with their talks. Shipboard life was a pleasure. Fantastic trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting behind the organist during a recital; hearing Liszt's music performed on his piano; seeing the '500 year flood' mark in Passau; learning about the real "Monuments Men" from the prince at his palace...

review_img

bobcash116

Tauch met our high expectations, Airlines our low expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We had a phone call 1/2 hour before we left,a day early, explaining the ship might not reach Budapest and we could cancel. We said we're coming and bring our Irish luck with us! The combination of music and sightseeing was just right plus the maestros aboard. KLM and Air France flts were TERRIBLE, we won't travel again w/o more input there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose among so many good concerts but if we had to pick it would be the Csaba Kiraly concert in the Music History museum of Budapest

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and thank you for bringing all of the great Irish luck with you!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LPelsy

Delightful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Tauck tour and cruise directors were awesome and the attention given to all guests was unsurpassed. Tauck included special venues and concerts that were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoy relaxing on a vacation so our most enjoyable moments were in quaint cafes in the towns we visited and on the sundeck on the boat.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback we are delighted you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AnneRa1

Music along the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was the first time I went on an overseas trip by myself and the Tauck staff did a fantastic job taking care of all my needs. They were great. I have one suggestion. When we were on our overview tour of both Budapest and Prague,it was mentioned that Hitler built apartments for the commonfolk.However, nothing was mentioned about the Holocaust

Most Memorable Moment:

seing Mozart's hometown of Salzburg,the Vienna opera house, and seeing the orignal manuscript of Beethoven's 4th symphony.

review_img

FMRBruce

We Felt Like Visiting Royalty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was a magnificent trip-- the accommodations in the initial and ending cities were excellent; the riverboat was first class in every way; the ship staff and Tauck directors were wonderful; the musical events were nearly "over-the-top" in terms of being superb and well-organized; and the local guides were extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private musical performance and dinner the first night in Vienna. The setting was incredible and elegant; the food and service five star and the musicians, singers and ballet performers excellent. It made me feel like what visiting royalty must have felt when being entertained and dining on a state visit.

review_img

Cembalo82

My Dream Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

It was thrilling to be immersed in a musically focused trip. From Budapest to Vienna we had daily musical surprises, wonderful tour guides, were pampered by Tauck, and made new friends. I was amazed how well Tauck planned for our comfort, ease, safety, and enjoyment from beginning to end. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every experience was memorable, but perhaps four stand out most. Hearing the organ demonstration in Passau, then hearing a concert on the organ was absolutely awesome! Hearing the 13 yr. old violinist was great, and the dinners at palaces in Vienna and Prague were also wonderful.

review_img

JoanTalks

Our Magical Musical Trip on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Our Danube cruise October 11th-22nd was more than expected or hoped for. Despite two days of suboptimal weather, our trip was perfect. There was beauty in every sense, including fall foliage and wonderful music. Tours were fantastic! Our brilliant tour guides were wonderful! New friendships blossomed. It was our first, but not last, Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the most memorable experiences, not only on this vacation but in our entire lives, was being overpowered and transported emotionally by the private organ recital at Dom St. Stephen cathedral in Passau, Germany. Many tears of pleasure were shed by us and many of the other Tauck guests as we sat in the organ loft and were struck with awe.

review_img

KR

Musical Magic is a great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

2nd Tauck trip, having just finished Black Sea to Budapest. Musical Magic had been our first choice - We were not disappointed. Every day we had some musical performance, often unexpected or more than one. The guest choir was fun. There is very little "downtime" on this cruise, but It is understandable because of all Tauck packs into the itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Budapest opera house with surprise performances on staircase balcony of arias from Don Giovanni and La Traviata! In general, the amount of music in addition to what was advertised in advance.

review_img

atomicalice

Tauck Did It Again!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

This was our second trip with Tauck and our first river cruise,everything was so well planned,exclusive here and there made one felt so privilege. Most impressive thing was that Tauck staff made the trip nice and wonderful worry free.The food on the cruise ship was surprisingly good.Can not wait to plan another trip with Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment on this trip was memorable,one surprise moment was that we get to see a whole opera "Don Carlos" at great seats 6th row center! and it was full house and there were about 100 of us everybody got good seats.

review_img

Noel C Bufe

Musical Magic along the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Wow--opening night of the Opera Season in Vienna; doesn't get better than that!! Our two accompanying maestros were a great addiction to help us better appreciate what we were about to experience. Our on board Choir was really great under the maestros directions. The venues for all of the performances were stunning. A wonderful trip to take.

review_img

revpsa

Music, Care, and Community

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

The combination of a beautiful itinerary, surprise musical treats, and individualized and skilled tour leader attention, made Musical Magic Along the Danube one of our finest leisure experiences. Any time we were off the ship we could count on a musical experience that took our breath away. The size of our group made personal connection easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

At the Lobkowicz Palace, Prague, we heard the personal story of a family that was a primary patron for Beethoven and Mozart,fled to the US during World War II, reclaimed original scores for the Eroica and string quartets from the Nazis and Communists, and had them on display for us at a festive dinner with wonderful music and superb art.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sam Mazen

Another superb adventure with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

A wonderful combination of travel and music, along the Danube in a beautiful vessel - the Swiss Jewel, with interesting companions (just under 100 of us - ship capacity 118), with an attentive staff and first-rate dining, but above all music. Starting in Budapest (Lizst), the opera Don Carlo in Vienna, Mozart, Beethoven... AND our great directors!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to single out one - the local guides at each stop were informed, friendly and enriched our tours. The Abbey at Melk, the organ recital in Passau, a visit to and farewell dinner at Prague's castle, the enrichment provided by our 'musical maestros', and music, music, music at every opportunity.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LeonardE

July 2012 Musical Magic on the river Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This trip surpassed our expectations. The hospitality was wonderful, the music superb, the organization perfect, the company delightful and every day had a 'wow' factor. We thoroughly enjoyed every concert, lecture and tour. We recommend this tour to any lover of Classical music. Thank you Tauck for this amazing experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

We cannot pinpoint 'the most memorable moment' as the entire tour was exciting, informative and like a dream for us. Thank you Tauck.

review_img

djm

One word to describe the trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Elegant ship; elegant food; elegant staff; elegant directors; elegant music-nothing more needs to be said. This trip was ELEGANT from start to finish.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Lizst piano concert in Budapest and the organ concert in Passau. I took your catalog to my doctor and he says he and his wife are going to go on this trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're so glad you had a wonderful time. Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tauckbill

Musical magic along the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

First time taken because of my wife's interest in classical music and her history of spending a year in Vienna in college, our experience was truly magically exceptional. Exposed by a friend who did the tour last year. Everything was perfect- the accommodations, planning and execution of all events and especially the truly caring attitude .

Most Memorable Moment:

None. They all were most memorable. Each day was a blitz! Perhaps the last hour when we realized it was over. Lynn, Sarah, Gloria and Armin were very memorable.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button