TravelerReviews

A Week In... Imperial Europe

review_img

swc

A week in Imperial Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Each city on the tour was well-organized. Hotels were central to shops and restaurants in safe areas. The tour director was very gracious and attentive. Hotel Imperial in Vienna was a sumptuous 5-star hotel. The Budapest hotel had a great deal of charm. The Augustinian in Prague,a refurbushed monastery, was more austere, somewhat lacking in decor.

Most Memorable Moment:

waltzing in Vienna; operatic arias at the Vienna Opera Theatro; frozen hot chocolate at Cafe Mozart; the magnificent palazzos and churches

review_img

JHarrison

A Special Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Budapest, Vienna, and Prague were all unique and lovely in their own ways. Beautiful palaces and churches built in earlier centuries. It was a very thorough and comprehensive itinerary. Although we have had many extremely nice hotels on past Tauck tours, on this trip, we seem to have had three of the finest hotels that I can remember.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were able to see parts of museums not accessible to other tourists. The farewell dinner was like none other, with a performance by a small ensemble in the Augustine Hotel Prague, a converted monastery. I must compliment the efforts of our tour director in managing all of the different pieces in three different countries.

review_img

Dancer Amira

Wonderful, fun filled and informative trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

I just loved this trip....so full of information, facts, fun times and great people. Tour director was absolutely amazing and always concerned for every persons' welfare.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list! I loved the waltz lesson that we all experienced and watching the lovely dancers perform for us.

review_img

ConstanceDyak

Amazing experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The tour guide went well above the expected norm and made the trip the memorable experience that it was. Loved the culturious immersion and want to do more of these types of itineraries. The hotels were excellent and their locations could not be better. The trip was GREAT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Dresing up fo the medieval dinner. Enjoyed the coffeehouse conversations. The lunch at the winery. Viennese waltz lessons. Can't pick just one moment.

review_img

Marilyn Nuber

Budapest, Vienna, Prague (The Culturious trip!)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We loved this trip. We travelled with a wonderful small group and felt like a family. The culturious trip allowed us many encounters with the locals in all three countries. Each city is unique. Loved Budapest the most. The hotels in the three major cities were very nice. Tauck knows how to treat it's guests by providing extraordinary experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved everything. We really enjoyed the first evening in Budapest by the castle. We went to the public baths on our own and we enjoyed the pedicab ride from the tour and in Vienna we went to a Mozart concert on our own, very worthwhile. The hotel in Prague and the farewell dinner at Villa Richter were definitely highlights.

review_img

blahma

First tour ever was smashing success!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Our Culturious Tour to Europe was FABULOUS! It far exceeded our greatest expectations. The sights were gorgeous, people were warm and friendly, wonderful food, and terrific guides. We experienced these countries in ways we never could have done on our own. Thank you Tauck!!! We will be back ASAP.

Most Memorable Moment:

So difficult to pick only one moment... either learning about the Romani (gypsy) culture by chatting with a Romani musician in his home or learning to dance the waltz in a Viennese ballroom.

review_img

SPCtraveler

Imperial Europe: Budapest, Vienna & Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The trip was fantastic! The itinerary was great. The guides were terrific, our tour leader was exceptional! I learned a lot about the culture, history and current day life. We had a really fun group as well. All the hotels were in great locations and were excellent. This was my 3rd Tauck tour, I would highly recommend this trip. If you plan

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list! the farewell dinner was exceptional!

review_img

Rosanne

Hot times in Imperial Europe!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was our 4th Tauck Tour & our 1st time in Budapest. It is a lovely city, rich in history and culture filled with beautiful statues, cathedrals & buildings and very friendly people. Another first- Cesky Krumlov in the Czech Republic! This medieval town is picture perfect! I can see why it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site! Prague is fabulous too!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the old Jewish Quarter and the Romani conversation and violinist in Pest, Cesky Krumlov Castle, the view from our hotel window of Prague Castle and Charles Bridge and the Jewish Cemetary in Prague were the highlights of the trip for me. But, I must mention the Third Man tour in Vienna- awesome!

review_img

Drjean

Exceptionally well planned and executed!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

From our first dinner to our last evening together Tauck planned an exceptional trip. Our Tauck guide was great. While we wished we had more time in Vienna and Prague this would have added days to our itinerary. Our hotels were exceptional, the local guides were knowledgable, even the weather was perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our departure dinner was held high above Prague, looking down at the city, and included a wine tasting, lovely dinner and a fire works display. It was a perfect evening.

review_img

RayandYamile

Glad I went. Wouldn't do it again.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Overall a good trip. This was our 3rd. Tauck trip and compared to the other 2, it is number 3 on our list. Would not go back to Budapest. Could have done without the Roma visit and less time on the horse farm. Chesky Krumlov was a waste of time, hotel terrible. Would have rather spent more time in Prague. Hotel Imperial and Vienna beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was the summer palace of the Hambsburgs, Schobrunn Palace. Wished we had more time to spend in their zoo. Wished we could have taken pictures both at the Palace and the Lipizaner horses.

review_img

Moody Garcia

Enchanting Europe!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

My husband and I embarked on our first Tauck Tour and arrived in beautiful Budapest, where we became immersed in Hungarian culture. After 3 glorious day, we boarded a luxury bus to Vienna...simply the most magnificent city I've ever seen. then on to Chesky Krumlov and Prague!

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to gypsy music at a Roma family's apartment in Budapest, seeing the Lippizzaner Horses and learning to waltz in Vienna, the fairy-tale town of Chesky Krumlov, and a night walk on the Charles Bridge in Prague.

review_img

LizetteB

Not a reflection on the guides.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I was a bit wary about a "culturious" trip but my husband was enthused about seeing up-close the Lippizaner experience in Vienna a tour of a brewery on Cesky Krumlov and this sold us to the trip We were disappointed to learn that we were not granted access to the training session with the Lippizaner's nor was the brewery a working one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Richard in Budapest was informative, engaging and made the city so much more interesting than any other encounters we had. Matt was patient, polite and helpful during our whole trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of this journey but very pleased you had some truly memorable moments. We will certainly review your comments and take any and all actions to make changes where necessary. Once again we thank you for your patronage.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bridgeplayer

EXCELLENT

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had one superb trip. Matt was the perfect guide and director. He took care of us like we were royalty. He had a strong left shoulder to lean on after a long Vienna walking tour from which I ran out of gas! All of the experiences were great except the House of Terrors in Budapest. That could have been an elected or alternate tour. Guide=great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Roma family visit, Horse riding at the farm, wine tasting, musicians at the last meal.

review_img

MZaretsky

Over the top experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The "Culturious" trip was excellent. Great group, excellent program, good mix of planned and free time. Janine Heissel was our tour director and she is the tops. The local guides were knowledgeable, personable and always available. Choice of hotels and restaurants was also excellent.

review_img

RHybels

Imperial Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I thought the whole trip was excellent. Our tour director, Janine, was very good and deserves praise. An innovation I hadn't seen before was the Vox units. These are worth their weight in gold. It means you do not have to fight your way getting up next to the guide. The local guides were outstanding and very knowledgeable. Hotels and food excellent

Most Memorable Moment:

I couldn't pick one.

review_img

RFriedman

Budapest, Vienna and Prague 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Jim and I enjoyed the trip. Our director Janine made everything run smoothly, the local guides were great and the hotels were well located so that we could walk everywhere. While we enjoyed the culturious activities, we missed seeing some major sites (the Parliament and the Castle in Budapest). Include a concert in Vienna, two days in Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private tour of the interior on the Great Synagogue in Budapest, the Roma musicians, the tour of Schonbrunn Palace and the farewell dinner in Prague.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Rest assured your comments will be reviewd and

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

vell1

Beautiful cities and lots of fun!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

We loved all three cities. Our favorite was Budapest, but they were all wonderful to see. Tour Director Janine did a great job and was so much fun to travel with. She was always surprising us with treats. Local Budapest guide Richard went over and above and made the trip special. Budapest also had the best food.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to the "farm" in Hungary with the special dinner and music, the waltz lesson, and the trip to the Wachaun Valley were all memorable. We also enjoyed the pub crawl and pedicab trip in Budapest.

review_img

JMoore

Wish we could give you an A+ but can only give you a B+

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was AMAZING, but there were some BIG problems: • Tour Guide was completely HELPLESS and HOPELESS in solving the problem of our lost luggage and purchasing new clothes. • I am a vegetarian. A meal of broccoli with cheese on top and fries and another meal of rice and poor vegetables are NOT APPROPRIATE meals! • The "hotel" in CK was HORRIBLE

Most Memorable Moment:

The Shoe Memorial in Budapest. It was not in the itinerary, but recommended, and had a more profound affect on me than visiting any of the concentration camps in Poland that I have been to.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Hello There, Sorry we couldn't earn that A+, We will follow up the Tour Director Management Team to review the performance of the Tour Guide regarding your lost luggage. As for the vegetarian meal options and hotel the Product Team has been notified and will be contacting our suppliers to make sure these issues are addressed. -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SGlauber

Culturious "Imperial Europe; BUDAPEST, VIENNA & PRGUE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I have really been looking forward to going on this trip and so was my companion Dr. Sellinger. I have used your competitors over the years and friends of ours said you must go on a Tauck trip so that is how we choose Tauck. I am sad to say that you disappointed me and Dr. Sellinger. The cities were the beautiful, the weather was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in the Villa Richter with the beautiful views of Prague.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very sorry this journey fell below your expectations. It looks like you have already spoken with one of our Product Managers regarding your experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

WestonDave

What A Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Ignore the negative reviews - this is a fabulous experience! We explored three countries in 8 days who share borders but often much different histories. The local guides are terrific - not only will they point out the sites, but they share personal stories that bring everything to life. Go, learn, enjoy!

Most Memorable Moment:

We went to a wonderful violin concert in Vienna, followed by a fabulous dinner at a local restaurant.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed this journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JoeC.

Culturious-Imperial Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Very interesting. Small group-22 people. Great Tour guide-[Employee Name]. Weather was good. Saw a lot of neat places. Enjoyed all the Hotels. We had a guide in Budapest, Richard, that was excellent. This was my 13th Tauck Tour. I hope to do many more.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to the big indoor market in Budapest and buying the makings for our meal and preparing it upstairs at the market was great fun. As a whole, the trip was very good.

review_img

ams

No Waltzing in Wein

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Absolutely loved all acivities planned for Budapest great hotel, great location! Unfortunately had accident (tripped over a curb) shortly after arrival in Vienna, fractured my kneecap and had to abort the rest of our trip. Our Tauck director was very helpful and smoothed out all details. We plan to return someday!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the "Poosta" and seeing the riding demo followed by a great traditional dinner

review_img

BDR

Imperial Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

An excellent view of this part of the world, with a nice balance of activities and free time. Each of the four major stops were special: Budapest was relaxing and beautiful, with the best tour guide possible; Vienna brought the wonderful Imperial Hotel and all the culture we could absorb; Cesky Krumlov was charming and historic and Prague is great

Most Memorable Moment:

The first view of Prague at night and the sights of the city. Our night dinner view of Budapest was awesome too. And lots of fun with a great tour leader, best local guides and a diverse group of people! Tauck lived up to its reputation with many special touches and very high quality hotels, activities and food and drink, plus great guides!

review_img

KSK

Fabulous trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Our trip to Budapest, Vienna and Prague was more than we expected. The architecture, stories, culture, and company were just superb. Our tour guide Steve was creative, informative and extremely attentive to our needs. Despite the extremely hot weather we had experiences we will never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

After becoming familiar with the history of these cities I think we were most moved by the stories of the past. Out tour guides in Budapest and Vienna were extraordinary.

review_img

Kzb

Best Director E V E R, Worst meal, and a lifetime of memories

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We would travel anywhere w/ [Employee Name] who stepped in and up with seamless grace. Our trip was coupled with unprecedented 95+ degree heat. When we were scheduled to do a bike ride in 100+ degree heat he provided an extraordinary alternative; a post war tour of Vienna and the 3rd man museum which was a trip highlight. Skip the inedible Zoo meal.

Most Memorable Moment:

The warm and wonderful meal at a "farm" in Budapest with an award winning chef could not have been better. A relaxing fun and informative outing with first hand dialogue on life during and after the communist occupation.

review_img

DChorba

A disappointment.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This trip was our fourth with Tauck and a disappointment. The food was just so-so. Twice they took us to Vienna & Cesky Krumlov late and did not provide us a dinner in a strange town. Going to Cesky Krunlov was a waste of time. Should have taken us directly to Prague. We signed up for Budapest, Vienna and Prague but only got one day in Prague.

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending time with my wife and sister. Budapest and Vienna were most memorable. The food at the Perriot Restaurant at the reception of the tour was "the worst chicken paprikash I've ever eaten". And I am 100% Hungarian. Nice restaurant but terrible paprikash.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very sorry that many aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. On of our Guest Relations Specialists will be contacting you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JA

Imperial Europe - Culturious

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great group of people. All the logistics were excellent. Hotels were great - only exception was in Cesky Krumlov where it was just OK. Food was up and down - there was an attempt to have culturally typical food and some of it was pretty bad although some excellent meals. Very good pace of trip. Excellent leader. Trip needs some tweaking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Pub crawl in Budapest and wandering around Cesky Krumlov on our own.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

grannynanny

Disappointing program

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The trip was called "Culturious" and I guess I focused on the "culture" part of the "cutesy" title. Budapest, Vienna, Prague, oh my! The cities were glorious; the accommodations luxurious. The program was inane and did not include any of the fabulous musical, cultural venues that were available in each of these cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hotel in Vienna, The Imperial.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Harpman, We are sorry this journey fell below your expectations. Please expect a call from one of my colleagues in the Guest Relations Department to discuss this matter further. Guest Services Department

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button