TravelerReviews

Castles on the Rhine: Family Riverboat Adventure – northbound

review_img

SJRay

Quality family time!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Just returned from a Rhine Bridges river cruise with our 13-year-old granddaughter. Can't praise Tauck enough for the simply marvelous experience! Besides the scenery, impeccable cabins, food and service on the newly-minted M.S. Grace, the standout was the three tour directors' ability to turn a group of 50 kids from strangers into fast friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The final night when Tauck tour directors held a "bazaar" wherein the kids could redeem their "Tauck Bucks" for prizes. Every kid on the ship participated and had a blast - and we had a blast watching them!

review_img

Marian Adella HeiseyBrubaker

First Tauck river cruise but not my last. Been on others but this was better.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

I am a recent widow. My husband and I had been traveling since 1981. I wanted to get confidence in traveling again so my 18 year old grandson who never had been on a “real” trip was my traveling buddy for the Rhine Bridges river cruise. He and I had a WONDERFUL time.

Most Memorable Moment:

With the exception of the Castle experience, every day was memorable

review_img

Nina Berg

A Family Pleasure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Grandma wanted a quality vacation with children and grandchildren to experience quality time together, enjoy a riverboat and see historic sites. I wanted a trip that everyone would remember for years to come. It exceeded my expectations. The staff, the trips, the food, everything was great. Two of the Tauck Directors in particular were most helpful.

Most Memorable Moment:

First, the look on my family’s faces when they got on board. So many moments, dinner at the castle, the trip up the Alps, etc.

review_img

Lbarbalas

Castles on the Rhine were amazing!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The Tauck river-ship was well equipped and spacious. In hindsight, I would not recommend taking a Tauck Bridges trip if you don't have young children with you. A lot of the evenings and events were geared towards the children. That said, our tour directors still checked in with us and even helped arrange for museum tickets after our cruise ended!

Most Memorable Moment:

Beautiful weather viewing all the castles on the middle section of the Rhine River. And this being a Tauck trip - I couldn't decide on MOST memorable moment as I also loved visiting the city of Strasbourg with its one-spired cathedral and picturesque houses by the river.

review_img

Drizzle1

All superlatives

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Lots of fun and action on this family-oriented cruise. Only one downside. The dinner at the castle was disappointing in that the food was just marginally ok. The oompah band was WAY too loud for the venue and there was not nearly enough staff to handle the crowd. The wines were terrible. The tour directors were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting on the deck on a beautiful day cruising through the castles. Second, the beautiful alphorn concert.

review_img

sarabpearson

Fabulous experience for all three generations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our experience on the Castles on the Rhine river cruise was absolutely fabulous! We had three generations (teenagers, parents and grandparents) and it was the perfect blend of activity and sightseeing to suit everyone. The Inspire staff was superior and the Tauck Directors were engaging, fun and helpful. The memories will last a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many highlights, but probably the best was simply being on the bow of the ship watching the Castles go by as we cruised the Middle Rhine. Unforgettable.

review_img

barbeec1

Family trip on the Castles on the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Tauck provides the very best guides and experiences for their passengers. Our Tauck Directors were full of fun, knowledge, and patience. This is definitely a trip oriented to the kids. Lots of games,food and drinks galore, etc.! I missed more "adult" options,like lectures, localcurrent events; activities like bridge,etc. Fantastic service!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The crew was so outstanding and I loved the show they performed on one of the last evenings.

review_img

Active grandma

Great grandparent/granddaughter bonding!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience with our teen granddaughters. The accommodations were excellent. Planned activities geared to various age groups worked well and the staff were delightful. The food beyond expectation. We enjoyed the BBQ and castle commentary plus leaving the ship to enjoy a beer garden at the girls' request.

Most Memorable Moment:

The girls' favorites were: Amsterdam houses, the castles, the BBQ, the bike ride, the rail car on Mt Pilatus and the Food👍🏻👍🏻. Our memories included getting to know other passengers and families as well as knowing our granddaughters better. All in all a fabulous trip with Tauck!

review_img

jmevans32

A Great Rhine Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was a very rewarding trip for us and our family. The ship was superb, and the culinary staff and food were great. Our only suggestions would be to limit the organized children's activities after 10:30 PM, and allow families to mix at dinner time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The very best aspect of this trip was the quality of the ship, and the excellence of the chef and his staff.

review_img

Babsi

Impressive, Customer-Friendly Management

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The "Castles on the Rhine" bridges trip was enjoyed by our three generations. Accommodations were fine. Food belied hackneyed "cruise food" jokes by being truly interesting and beautifully presented. Tour leaders were personable and articulate. I especially applaud the superb management that made everything happen seamlessly and stress-free.

Most Memorable Moment:

Twice -- once at the sundeck barbeque and again at the farewell party--I watched virtually everyone rising to participate on the dance floor -- once, in a conga line and the other time in cheerful shuffling to the beat where no partners and no dancing skills were necessary. It transcended generations. All of the entertainment was contagiously fun

review_img

Frita

Castles on the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We went on this Bridges trip with our daughter , son - in - law and Grandaughter and it was a wonderful bonding experience. We enjoyed being with other families and seeing how the children interacted. Everything we saw was beautiful, and informative. The guides were impressive in their knowledge of the area. I would recommend this trip to all.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick just one experience as most memorable. Just being on the beautiful Inspire was magical. The Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam and Lucerne Switzerland were especially impressive. The castles, cathedrals and canals were awe inspiring. The special care given to us by the Inspire staff stood out also. Wonderful trip!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your Bridges' river cruise! Sharing a river cruise with your extended family is truly a special experience! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button