TravelerReviews

Alpine Adventure

review_img

Sandman

Great trip with our 13 year old grandson

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Having done 3 other Tauck trips we knew what to expect, and this trip did not dissapoint us. We had our personal opinions while on tour about several activities, but now that we are home and looking back, it was great. Our grandson had a ball and that was the goal of our trip. We lucked out with great weather and a great tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Pilatus, Area 47, Aqua Dome Pools, Glacier Express was a snore, but probably necessary to get to St. Moritz. White Water Rafting was a blast, especially for our 13 year old.

review_img

Rhea

Best trip ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

My husband and I took our 13 year old grandson on the Alpine Adventure Tour. Some of the activities were a little difficult for us but we pushed out of our comfort zone and participated in 98% of them. We met wonderful people and so did he. By the end of the week he had made several new friends because everyone was so warm and welcoming.

Most Memorable Moment:

White water rafting!

review_img

AlpineTom

The Incredible Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Our amazing family adventure to Lucerne, St. Moritz, Innsbruck, and Munich exceeded all expectations! We enjoyed the incredible alpine sights and activities. Our tour leader is without equal--affable, engaging, informed, humorous, efficient and organized to military precision. The hotels and meals were spectacular! Ready to go again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to say--cog train to Mt Pilatus, Glacier Express, Morteratsch glacier, or white-water rafting in Area 47. Might even have been the fabulous breakfast buffets or Kaiserschmarrn in Munich! OMG The BEST was reading my 17 yr old grandson's review on Instagram: "countless unforgettable memories, wonderful new friends, a glimpse of paradise."

review_img

MichaelSelim

Idea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

You may want to cancel the walk with bad actors in Innsbruck The rest of the tour is excellent The tour guide is a gem and great driver

Most Memorable Moment:

My grandson loved the aqua dome

review_img

StephenStaelin

Family Anniversary Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary by taking our son and his family on the Alpine Adventure. Tauck did a fantastic job of planning this trip with something for everyone, especially the young ones ages 9-13. This was their first experience traveling in Europe and it couldn't have been a better introduction. Superb tour director for kids!

Most Memorable Moment:

The cog railway up Mt Pilatus was memorable for all, but there were so many memorable moments it is difficult to name just one. The cog railroad ride gave the kids a very up close look at the majesty of the Alps. The cable car ride up Piz Diavolezza and walking on the glacier was also very memorable for all.

review_img

KingofHearts

Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

First trip with Tauck. Our trip had some poor weather and felt there could have been some better back up plans to deal with weather issues. Many things were good, but when problems arose, optional plans were not given. Felt like we wasted time and money. Thought the guide could offer more "time on your own" options, especially at St. Moritz.

Most Memorable Moment:

The kids enjoyed the exciting summer toboggan run. We were able to to it only twice; it took 45-60 minutes per run (waiting in line).

review_img

Carmen D

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

It was wonderful...i took my 14 and 9 year old grandchildren and we all had a blast... My only negative comment is that rooms are too small when 3 are sharing room. I am fine paying upgrade, however, feel that it should be something offer as I pay for 3 the same that a traveler pays for 2 and same room type.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many...the river rafting was high in my list... Not related to this trip, however, i travel with my grandkids and two other families. We are running out of Tauck Bridges tours...wanted to do Spain, and it was eliminated...wanted to do Tanzania and south Africa and also eliminated...are you planning on adding any new adventures?

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We are still offering our Bridges' Tanzania journey. In addition, we have added two Family River cruises - Family Fun Along the Seine and our Bon Voyage! France Family Cruise if you are interested in taking your grandchildren on a river cruise.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

yogi

A rewarding experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

This was a "Tauck Bridges" intergenerational tour and we enjoyed the time with our grandson. It was a good itinerary, smoothly executed. Serving all the kids from the "children's menu" did not suit our 15-year old grandson. It was always taken care of, but with some delay in service. Last day (in Munich) was Sunday and everything was closed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch at IceQs mountain top restaurant - spectacular views.

review_img

goheels

Alpine good times!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

A wonderful outdoors nature experience with my extended family! The staff was SUPER and the sights lovely. A bit too much time on the bus one day (I think they will change this next year) but otherwise a really nice trip

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the day at the glacier! The hike was scenic and our fondue lunch and cheese making was great

review_img

titanfan2000

Great Guide + Bad Weather = Good Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The guide and excursions gave a great overview of the area, but the scenery of these areas is what can never be described prior to the trip. Our weather may not have been great, but she made sure we had an unbelievable time. As always my daughter made great friends and memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the kids having a snowball fight in Switzerland

review_img

Chocolate01

Alpine Adventure Aug. 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Too much ground to cover in such a short amount of time. Would have enjoyed staying longer in each location to see more of the local area! Hotels were all very nice, tour director was GREAT, bus driver was GREAT, food was typical European, nice to experience, but choices were usually limited for the children - weather was very rainy!

Most Memorable Moment:

White water rafting - the day was beautiful, the guide was knowledgeable, and it was a wonderful family experience!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thsnk you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments regarding staying at each location for a longer duration to our Operations team who is always making enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MikeA01730

Good, But Not Up to Tauck Standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Hot! Hot! Hot! Most days in the mid 80s to over 90 and only one air conditioned night! We were ready for lots of sun and heat during the day and the typical inadequate European hotel A/C, but we didn't anticipate the misery & lack of sleep from hot non-A/C rooms at night. All were surprised & disappointed that Tauck didn't warn us.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of the Alps from Mt. Pilatus was amazing, the walk to the Morteratsch Glacier was fantastic, and the tour of the Innsbruck Bergisel ski jump, even to the very top where only the jumpers go, was great. All hotels except the Bayeriscer Hof had lovely staff. It's unfortunate that the nighttime heat marred the whole experience for so many.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that you found some of the hotels uncomfortable in the heat. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team, who is always looking to make improvements to our tours based on guests' feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

suegrassle

Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Best trip ever. Highly recommend this trip for any family with older kids. Everyone had an incredible time. Our tour guide was wonderful and helped to make it a truly memorable trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on a glacier and the enthusiasm and kindness of our tour guide!

review_img

bruhal

Well, I WAS warned.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We knew that this was a "Bridges" tour and that there would be families and that there would be kids on the trip. We didn't expect that the trip's emphasis would be on activities FOR the children. Attractions for mature adults were rare which resulted in a lot wasted, idle time. The tour Director became a babysitter to keep the kids in control.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cog-wheel train up Mt. Pilatus, the time (not enough) at the top and the cable car and gondola trip down the other side. The most unpleasant memorable event: When the Tour director gave the bus microphone to the extremely loud children.

review_img

Wease

Swiss Alps trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We had a really nice time on our trip. However, I did not feel we had enough down town to be with our own family. We also thought the trip should be reversed. We felt it should start in Munich, with at least a 1/2 day tour of Munich. Also, we had a week of incredible heat, and the Austrian Hotel's did not have air condition. That was tough.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had lots of fun moments.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations Team who is always making enhancements based on our guests' feedback. Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Patagonia

Perfect for our family

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

We were six: grandparents, parents, children boy 12, girl 14. All three generations thought this was a perfect trip. Rafting, spas, pools, food, hiking, rock climbing, hotels, Tauck guide, fellow travelers--all delightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the grandchildren having fun with their new friends. The kids liked the tobogganing best. The hotel in Austria was fantastic!

review_img

STL4

August 3rd Trip - Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Overall the trip was great. We loved the activities and had a great time. Our one disappointment is that we were told by our tour guide not to worry about taking pictures on our white water rafting excursion. She assured us that she would send us the link to the photos that were taken by the Area 47 staff. Never received the link-very disappointed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Pilatus, ropes course, Glacier Express ride, glacier hiking, and white water rafting/Area 47. The families were really great too!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with some many truly memorable moments. We are most apolegetic that you did not receive the link to the white water rafting trip. We have contacted the Tour Director and requested the information and will get back to you shortly. Thank you for traveling with us and we look forward to hosting you on a future journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

whereskrispy

Didn't live up to expectations.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We took a wonderful Christmas Cruise and expected this to have the same exceptional service. The tour guide was flustered and disorganized. I would have loved more time at Neuschwanstein Castle for pictures from the bridge. A large family participated and we felt like the "step-children."

Most Memorable Moment:

All the activities where a lot of fun, but St. Moritz, taking the gondola up to the snow, walking to the glacier, the cheese hut and games! My daughter loved the horse carriage ride, and the whole family loved watching Martin the ski jumper!!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this tour fell below your expectations but delighted that you experienced some truly memorable moments. We will have one or our Guest Relations Specialists contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

WRosenthal

ALPINE ADVENTURE: 5-star all the way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our second Bridges was as good as the first to Italy. We arrived 2 days early with a 13 yr old grandson, worth the extra hotel cost. Hotels were truly first class, the adventures better than advertised, the Director professional. We have taken 8 grandkids on trips and this ranks among the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Celebrating our 60th anniversary during the trip, with new friends and planning trips for numbers 9-11 grandkids.

review_img

DEnglert

Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This trip was a true adventure for the entire family. Wonderful opportunity to see the wonderful and majestic alps. Anna our guide prepared and gave us a well organized and fun adventure. As always with tauck, everything was organized to perfection. Our vacation started the week previous with the Blue Danube River Cruise. Perfect transition.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking on Mount Pilatus and attempting the ropes course while my sons made it look like second nature.

review_img

jgenove

What a wonderful Alpine adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was our first Tauck trip and we had a blast. I traveled with my 15 year old daughter. This trip is great for teens. It is very active with hiking, ropes, white water rafting etc. That being said there were a number of grandparents who enjoyed the trip as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking to the glacier; the tyrolean mountain hut; white water rafting.

review_img

bridgetb

Alpine Charm and Action

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

My family thoroughly loved our Alpine Adventure. It is difficult to delineate what was most impressive about it as the whole journey is set amidst spectacular scenery. While we were enjoying the natural beauty, we were also treated to new friendships, conversation, history, tasty chocolate surprises and thrilling activities.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the most memorable day for us was spent at the cheese making site, believe it or not. It was such a quintessentially alpine setting and we enjoyed so many laughs as our friends attempted to play the alpenhorn. After snacking on yummy fruit and cheeses we all played group games in the surrounding fields and it was unforgettable fun.

review_img

CBender

Wonderful family trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

We loved our tour. The days were executed wonderfully. There was just the right mix of entertainment and history for the kids. We really enjoyed getting to know the other families and the kids enjoyed being together. Our guide was excellent, making it as easy for the family as possible to travel. Wonderful family memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

The train ride thru the Alps was amazing and not expected. The way the windows were on the train made it especially beautiful with a bubble like view.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your journey and we do hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DoreenC

Alpine Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was a trip of a lifetime! It was fun for all ages! Very adventurous! The scenery was breathtaking, the activities were all well planned out and enjoyable. The hotels were exceptional. Meals showcased local specialties. Our Tour Director was knowledgeable and very friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment for me had to be the view once we exited the cable car up to Diavolezza. The snow covered mountains were beautiful. My seventeen year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed the suspension rope park at Fraekmuentegg and the Area 47 water park activities.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button