TravelerReviews

Manitoba: Polar Bear Adventure

review_img

Linda Dickerson

Churchill Manitoba Bucket List destination

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

We traveled to Churchill the first week of November. Our tour guide was simply the best. His energy and charm made the trip so special. It was definitely on our bucket list and we would go back in a minute. The scenery was breathtaking! It was such a delight to get to see the bears in their natural environment....versus...a zoo.

Most Memorable Moment:

We arrived in Churchill just before a blizzard blew in and we were able to see Hudson Bay before it froze....and after it froze. The timing was incredible.

review_img

CharlotteParrill

Manitoba Polar Bear Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

The trip was fast paced which was fine as we had a lot to do in a short period of time. Very organized as usual with a lot of good informative people to give us history of the area and Polar Bears. We didn't see as many Polar Bears as we had hoped but we were a victim of the weather, which no one could control. Overall a special trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Polar Bear up close. Awesome!

review_img

KasparAvenue

Polar Bears Oh My

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

What an adventure! To see the magnificent polar bear in its natural environment is a sight that can't be beat. The geographic beauty of the tundra on the shores of Hudson Bay is captivating. This trip is a glimpse into nature at its best. Both our tour director and our Churchill local guide were extremely knowledgeable, and made each day exciting.

Most Memorable Moment:

We searched along the shores for hours when suddenly out of the willows emerged a polar bear. The size, the playfulness, and the sheer beauty of the bear made everyone on our expedition so joyful. This trip is well organized and has an adventurous itinerary. We enjoyed everything including the tour of Winnipeg, and dinner at the Museum of Manitoba.

review_img

BobDP

In search of the polar bear!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Our trip to Churchill was amazing. My husband wanted to see the polar bears before they became extinct. I just wanted to travel. We have always gone to warmer climates so new clothing was required. Yes, we had numerous up close and surreal sightings of the bears. They looked fake but were breathing beauties waiting at the shoreline for the ice

Most Memorable Moment:

While traveling across the high tide mark of the bay in the crawler a polar bear sat up from behind a rock. It was unbelievable how close we were. The inquisitive bear slowly strolled by giving us many photo ops! As the bear strolled by I had to keep reminding myself, you are not at the zoo this is the real thing! Thrilling and educational trip.

review_img

Joe Mac

Dont hesitate, sign up for this tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Churchill has been on our to do list for sometime. We did it the first week of Nov. with Rob White as our tour director. Rob is the absolute best tour director we have ever experienced. If you are into adventure vacations, don’t miss this one. The weather was cold, so dress appropriately. The Polar Bears didn’t disappoint. Lots of great photo ops.

Most Memorable Moment:

Obviously seeing Polar Bears but the dog sledding was a pleasant positive experience.

review_img

LindaCargill

An amazing adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

You'd have to have been there. We only saw one polar bear kind of close and maybe because of global warming it was too early for more but seeing it was very emotional-at least for me. Also liked Winnipeg-especially the Museum of Human Rights.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our bear-mushing-and Chris Morgan.

review_img

LRS

Awesome Seeing Polar Bears!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

Tauck always comes through! We saw a number of Polar Bears, including cubs with their Mom. The Tundra vehicles were enhanced by hot drinks and snacks, including chili. Our hotel was the "best in town" although rustic but it was charming and the food delicious. Having the same tour guide as we did in Antarctica was a plus!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first sight of the polar bears, especially the cubs was memorable. The dog sled ride was a treat. And a quick view of some Northern Lights one morning was a bonus.

review_img

booter

manitoba polar bear adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

hotel accommodations were adequate in Winnipeg and Churchill. the people were a fun bunch to be around. the polar bear viewing was not so good. out of the 8 or so bears we saw only 2 were less then 1/2 to 1 mile away- spotting scopes don't cut it. the other 2 were 100 yards to 300 yards away. one was a mother with her cub and the other was a solo.

Most Memorable Moment:

nothing truly memorable on this trip.

review_img

pstewart

Wonderful Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

We were fortunate the Hudson Bay had not yet frozen over mid-November, so we got to see maybe 2 dozen polar bears pacing around just waiting. Lodgings were very comfortable. Tundra vehicle got us around nicely from viewing site to site. Very impressed with the Inuit local presenter who grew up in an igloo. An extra treat

Most Memorable Moment:

Having mama bear and cub come right up to the vehicle. She extended her paws right up to the back porch and we were able to get terrific shots of her and the cub, including one of her nose! Outstanding

review_img

Haig

Polar Bear delights

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

It was wonderful from beginning to end. Our Tauck director was the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the bears, especially momma and babies.

review_img

Ckiser

Churchill/Polar Bear Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

The trip was very well planned and organized. Our guides were absolutely outstanding! We were well fed and cared for. Connections were handled nicely, as always. We were very lucky--we saw about 13 bears during our two days of roaming the tundra outside of Churchill; three of them VERY up close and personal. The dog sledding was also fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

An adorable adolescent female bear decided to come "meet" us. She spent some time under our observation deck, allowing for lots of photo ops.

review_img

jcsoller

First Timers....won't be our Last!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

The Manitoba Polar Bear trip exceeded our hopes. Winnipeg was a happy surprise-I'd have liked one more day there for time at the Museum of Human Rights, the WAG and Hudson's Bay Store. Loved The Manitoba Museum and city tour. Churchill is a unique tourist destination. Loved our time there. Superb tour director - special new friends made. Thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Arctic Crawler - all 12 hours (over 2 days). Good company, incredible viewing of the sub-arctic, just enough Polar Bears and yummy lunches. Oh, and the dog sled experience, too!

review_img

Betsy Picket

Polar bears in Churchill

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Unfortunately, this trip was a disappointment. We saw only a very few bears in Churchill because on the second day of viewing the vehicle broke down and there was not an adequate replacement. This situation was unlike Tauck, which always handles arrangements so efficiently.

review_img

ETull

Polar Bear Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

This was an awesome trip from the start to finish. There is not enough space to point out all the wonderful things we experienced. The step on guide in Winnipeg was excellent so was our driver and guide in Churchill. Our tour guide and her efforts and knowledge gave us a wonderful experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The polar bear sightings and dog sledding were un unforgettable experience. What a GREAT TRIP!

review_img

Varniepeg

Manitoba Polar Bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Settling into Manitoba's Inn at the Fork was exceptional! The Manitoba Museum was outstanding. The flight to Churchill was a thrill! The Lazy Bear Lodge in Churchill was very accommodating. The polar bear viewing on the first day was more than we expected as the TWO polar bears walked close to our Tundra Crawler. Many photo opportunities presented.

Most Memorable Moment:

The second day of viewing, the Tundra Crawler broke down in the parking lot. Some guests felt it was the fault of the driver? We spent 5 hours in the parking lot. We waited for a repair part which when arrived was the wrong part. We witnessed rangers darting a bear that was habituating human population; probably the pair from the preceding day.

review_img

Mcooper

Manitoba Polar Bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

This was an outstanding adventure from start to finish! Rob,our energetic and knowledgeable tour director, did many appreciated extra little things for us to enhance our trip. He was superb across the board and his efforts ensured we had a first class experience. Wally(from Lazy Bear Lodge)and Collin(our tundra driver and guide)were also great!

Most Memorable Moment:

Having a Polar Bear sow bring her cub up to inspect the tundra crawler took our breaths away! In this stark environment we were so fortunate to see several bears, an Arctic Fox and even the Northern Lights briefly. GREAT TRIP!

review_img

Wanderingwon

Polar bear close encounter

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Not only did we have a great time seeing polar bears up close...other side of the window pane, but we enjoyed learning about a remote location and the people who choose to inhabit it. Yes, it is cold, but with layers and the proper footwear and mittens,( not gloves), we were just fine. Lodge was very comfortable and food surprisingly good.

Most Memorable Moment:

A polar bear trying to bite the windshield directly in front of me.

review_img

JeanH

Polar bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Great trip. Very educational and interesting about polar bears, their habits, and the changing environment. I recommend highly. Now I want to see the wolves at Yellowstone. I also want to go back to Churchill in summer and see the bears and beluga whales.

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning about the summertime walking hibernation of the bears and witnessing their obvious hunger before the Hudson Bay freezes over and they can get to the seals.

review_img

loakland

Manitoba ~ Polar Bears ~ Great Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Our 5th Tauck tour. AWESOME. We learned about the Inuit Culture, toured Winnipeg & Churchill. Then came polar bear viewing. We went out in our Tundra Buggy and saw many bears over the two days. GREAT. Lastly, we were shown the art of dog sledding with "Big Dog". We got a dog sled ride which was great. Rob White, our Tour Director was EXCELLENT.

Most Memorable Moment:

Multiple Polar Bear sightings; Rob C. White - Tour Director - making everyday the best working so hard to make everyone's trip a lifetime memory - which it was; Our dinner at the museum; Dog Sledding; Another well coordinated effort by Tauck.

review_img

Drs J

Polar Bear Excursion

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

We were excited about this tour but this was our first time with Tauck. Although we have set foot in all seven continents of the world by planning tours ourselves or with other tour companies, this tour with Tauck does not compare with anything. Our tour director, Rob White, really made this trip very special for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the Polar Bears so close that I was able to take their photos with my little iphone.

review_img

jtroutner

Magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

One could not wish for more than meeting Percy, the personable, photogenic polar bear. Thanks to Rob, our Tauck director, and Colin, our Lazy Bear Lodge guide, I had a 10% experience of seeing a polar at a distance of about 10 feet. What a stupendous experience! Then add a delightful sled dog ride, visits to various museums, and more learning!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a majestic polar bear in the company of wonderful new friends!

review_img

Siji

The Charms of Manitoba

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This trip is perfect for nature-lovers, or for the adventuresome folks who enjoy being places most people don't go. You see a very different landscape--tundra and boreal forest, and meet native cultures: the First Nations tribes and aboriginal Inuits. And if you are fortunate, you may see some exotic regional animals. Rob White was a phenomenal TD!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a living, breathing polar bear in the wild and close up tops the list!

review_img

George Pexton

Polar Bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

The purposed of this trip was to see Polar Bears and thanks to our Director, Dale and Guide driver, Colin we saw a lot including a mother and cub. None were very near but were visible to the naked eye and beautiful through even low powered binoculars. We also went mushing which we found exciting. The Lazy Bear Lodge at Churchill was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

As above seeing the Polar Bears.

review_img

LEstok

Manitoba Polar Bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

Fantastic. Tour Director Rob was wonderful. He makes you feel so important and you want for nothing. Saw 10 polar bears, even 1 up close and personal to our tundra crawler. Accommodations were great. Lazy Bear and Wally were awesome. Our guide in Churchill was very good. Welcome cocktails and dinner in museum was nice touch.

Most Memorable Moment:

The polar bear walking to and hanging around our crawler while we were having lunch. He stayed for 30 minutes or so. He was AWESOME!

review_img

MPaull

Polar bears

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was our 23rd Tauck Tour and certainly rates among the top experiences. The Inn at the Forks in Winnipeg provided exceptional service and food was outstanding. Dale and Colin were superb. Being exposed to the tundra and bears was a once in a lifetime treat. I was sad when we left realizing I'd never be back.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dog sled ride. Suggest you eliminate the talk by the First Nation member. She spoke in a monotone, was boring, and I noted that many fell asleep during her presentation.

review_img

PDessertine

Searching for Bear

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This trip was adventuresome and unique with just a small degree of danger to add excitement. The cold is bearable as long as you layer-wool not cotton and windbreaker jacket and pants. One actually begins to enjoy the brisk clean air. One does have to have patience for this trip-in spite of the cost of it-the bears can't just be summoned.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dogsledding was wonderful. My black lab would be appalled by the discipline and enthusiasm for the work of pulling the sled-but it is a great ride and not to be missed.

review_img

Randall and Donna Lau

Manitoba: Polar Bear Adventure

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2012

This tour was fabulous. From the town car pick up at the airport in Winnipeg to the stretch limo at the end of the trip back to the airport, it was outstanding. The ambiance of the Lazy Bear Lodge, and Wally and his staff make the whole experience a wonderful adventure. And, we were able to leave things at the Inn at the Forks until we got back.

Most Memorable Moment:

We got to see a good number of polar bears in the tundra. Several got right up close and personal to the Arctic Crawlers so that you could look into their eyes and note the coarse hair and sharp claws. It was just fun to sit back in the nice warm comfortable crawlers and enjoy the bears moving about outside. The ones that came under the deck too

review_img

Woo

Churchill is a must see if you are an animal lover

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

I had heard of Churchill where you could see polar bears in the wild but never thought I would be able to go. Then I saw it was available with Tauck. It was great! I loved the lodge where we stayed. It has so much rustic charm. From the tundra crawler we saw polar bears, red foxes and snowy owls. Dog sledding was much fun too. Great experiences!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had an unforgettable experience when one polar bear literally came up to our crawler and got on her hind legs to try to see inside our vehicle. We were up higher than she could reach so we were safe but we got amazing up close photographs. Far exceeded my expectations.

review_img

Walter Gilges

Couldn't have been better!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

We have traveled extensively. I have never returned home so enthusiastic about a trip. Our guide was outstanding: knowledgeable, terrific sense of humor, wonderful ability to make each person feel special. Learning about polar bears and seeing them "up close and personal" was incredible. Dog sledding was a great treat. We're sold on Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

The first was when a polar bear spent about half an hour around our Arctic Crawler, looking in the window and sniffing the soles of our boots through the grate/floor of the deck. Then to have a second bear come right up to our bus and stick his nose in a window that had been opened to take pictures. It doesn't get any better than that!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope you'll travel with us again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

traveling grandma

Adventure to another world

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

We had a fantastic time, the lodge was beautiful, food fantastic, and the people of Churchill were friendly. There is so much history, and the landscape and wildlife is unforgettable. It is a totally different way of life. We had a great driver on our tundra crawler and learned how to read polar bear tracks and how to spot them. We found 26 polar bears and 5 foxes!!!! The dog sled ride was great fun. It is a trip we will never forget and would love to do it again.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment is when we came upon a mother polar bear and her two cubs. They were very close to the tundra crawler and we watched one cub nurse. When they decided to leave, one cub went they opposite direction. It was interesting to watch the mother keep track of her cubs, and call the one cub back to her. The cub ran as fast as his legs would go. The second one, was the large red fox that was listening for something under the snow. He put on a show for us and sat for a picture.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button