TravelerReviews

Canadian Rockies, Whistler & Victoria

review_img

J Kaufman

Canadian Rockies: Whistler and Victoria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The scenery was breathtaking as the Canadian Rockies are like the Grand Tetons "on steroids!" Although at first I was disappointed we weren't able to reserve a spot on the Tauck train trip across Canada, now I truly believe we were able to closely visualize much more scenery being much higher than the trains and closer to nature. The miles melted.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour director was the best we have had with Tauck..full of history, anecdotes and clearly in love with his country as he was a mountaineer. Every day was the best! The Rockies in Canada are more memorable than in Colorado due to the undeveloped ruggedness.

review_img

ChristiKilpatrick

Canadian Rockies, Whistler and Vancouver

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The smoke from the fires settled so we were able to see the best of what this area has to be proud of. Gorgeous views, super accommodations, delicious food, and made great new friends. Our guide was so good and accommodating! Hope to see her again on another tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

There is not just one but many!

review_img

G R Schultz

Canadian Rockies, Whistler,Victoria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our fifth trip with Tauck. We can say once again that the trip exceeded our expectations. We must mention our tour director as having a direct impact on the success of this trip. He should be commended for the time, energy and compassion he put into his job.

Most Memorable Moment:

The boat float and gondola trip stand out as memorable moments on this trip. Although, there were so many varied activities that made this an adventure.

review_img

MarleneCamper

Don't miss this trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

One of our best trips with Tauck. There was an adventure everyday, from float trips to glacier walks to the peak to peak gondola. Our director was one of the best!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many it is hard to name one! I guess I would go with the peak to peak gondola ride.

review_img

Garrow

Canadian Rockies, Whistler & Victoria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Very informative, with a great trip guide, and bus driver. Both were with us from the start to the end of our trip. The side trips that were included were informative with fantastic scenery. Some negatives were several 5:30 - 6am early rises, and a couple of long days on the bus!

Most Memorable Moment:

All the accommodations and the areas they were located. Very exciting and interesting. Overall the whole trip was memorable, and would recommend it to anyone.

review_img

LoriPaul

Smoke

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

For the most part, we enjoyed the tour. The Tauck Director was fun and informative. We covered an enormous amount of the Rockies and loved all the hotels. There were a few problems. Foremost was the smoke. We should have been informed about it in advance We don’t have lung problems and we were bothered by it. Too much bus time especially day to Whistler.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved going up on the gondola in Whistler. If we flew there we would have had more time in the wonderful resort.

review_img

AnneReiter

Canadian Rockies-Whistler & Victoria 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We enjoyed all the tours and activities that Tauck arranged...as the Bow River float trip, Arlo's Honey Bee Farm and the lunch at Cedar Creek Estate Winery. All the restaurants were excellent. We had an excellent bus driver. Due to all the fires, we were not able to enjoy the beautiful scenery, but that was not Tauck's fault!

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed the Ice Explorer trip, Squamish Lilwat Cultural Center and the Peak to Peak gondola ride. Terrific trip.

review_img

CaroleKarasik

Canadian Rockies, Whistler and Vancouver

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

I think the biggest compliment we could ever give a tour organization as Tauck is to say we couldn’t have planned or arranged a better trip, from the amazing accommodations, to the gourmet meals to the incredible sights. I really hadn’t expected to enjoy a trip like this as much as I did. I usually prefer the city trips. This was a welcome surprise.

Most Memorable Moment:

While the scenery at every stop and along the way was amazing, the view of Lake Louise, for me, could not be surpassed. And being able to see the magnificence from the comfort of our room just added to the experience.

review_img

bonny traveler

Memorable Scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The 12-day trip was just about the right pace, though I would have preferred 3-night stays as a 2-night stay translated into really just a little more than a full day at these awesome stops. The tour director was a resident of Vancouver and was so delightful and knowledgeable about the locations we covered.

Most Memorable Moment:

Best memorable: The sight of the glacier-fed lakes - Louise, Moraine and Peyto. Worst memorable: On a 3-hour whale watching catamaran in very rough waters. Tip: If you’re at all prone to seasickness, take Bonine or similar before a whale watching trip.

review_img

tourdujour

Canadian Rockies, Whistler & Victoria

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Another fab trip by Tauck. Tour Director and bus driver did an outstanding job making the trip flawless. Huge variety in activities set against a back drop of the Canadian Rockies. Perfect weather, good group of fellow travelers, great food and lodging, and friendly Canadian people everywhere.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking the peak-to-peak gondola in Whistler. How often do you get to see the world from that height? Second best was the visit to the glacier and the beautiful Lake Moraine.

review_img

strobeckcarol

Great Time in the Western Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

A wonderful trip with many fun and interesting experiences from rafting to a float plane trip.. The beauty of the Canadian Rockies is breathtaking and provided a worthwhile experience all on its own. The hotels were outstanding and the restaurants gave us a wide variety of delicious options. Our tour director was a great asset.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane ride and the majestic views of the Rockies.

review_img

MichaelMullaugh

Too good to be true

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I want to thank you for your meticulous planning; it makes a huge difference. When things go wrong it is not too hard to find the problem but when all goes smoothly it takes a while to recognize it is not by accident. The tour director has mastered the art of 'herding cats'. The stops and commentary were interesting. Thanks

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching was perfect. We saw killer whales and humpbacks break the surface repeatedly. The guides also took us to places where we could see seals, a walrus and even a lone sea otter. When I combine the sights with the perfect weather I'm inclined to tell friends not to go since there is no way they will have as good a time as we did.

review_img

DR JER

Most Beautiful Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Canadian Rockies magnificent. Whistler, Victoria wonderful. But getting from Lake Louise to Whistler is 500 coach mi or 10+ hr. Too long even with a 2 day stop in Vernon. Take Tauck tour including just the Rockies. Fairmont hotels outstanding. Tour director best in 4 tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lake Louise is heavenly special. Sunrise is spectacular-mountain reflection on Lake takes your breath away! Mama Grizzly with 2 cubs adjacent to hotel was unbelievable gift. Banff, Whistler, Victoria very close seconds. Passing through mountain scenery, fresh air cannot be duplicated. Take Gondolas at Banff, Lake Louise, Whistler. Views spectacular

review_img

Mitzi Baker

It was stunning!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

I think these places must be the most beautiful in the world. The hotels were amazing. The staff was amazing. And our director and driver made the trip so enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stunningly turquoise blue water of the Peyto River and Lake Louis.

review_img

ellenese

Western Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

There were two very long bus days traversing from Lake Louise to Vernon and then Vernon to Whistler. You should review other modes of transportation or consider eliminating the Vernon stop completely and give more time in Lake Louise or Whistler. The tour brochure indicates two days in each location but in fact you only have one full day.

Most Memorable Moment:

The 350 characters above is not enough to give you adequate feedback on this trip. If you'd like more feedback please let me know. At this time, I would advise friends to either pick Banff/Lake Louise or Whistler/Victoria/Vancouver but not to combine both as there isnt enough time and the middle can be eliminated.

review_img

Susan Scarola

Cross Canada Venturing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Tauck did a great job orchestrating but I wouldn't recommend this itinerary with too much bus time or time "wasted" eating elaborate lunches to break up the monotony of rides. The Canadian Rockies and Whistler were spectacular. Vernon area was nice but it wasn't a top destination. NO guarantee of view rooms at the Fairmonts/ HUGELY disappointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Seaplane ride from Victoria back to Vancouver was amazing. The drive north from Lake Louise to the glacier was spectacular. However, we were very lucky to have the best weather. Had it not been crystal clear this whole trip would have been a bust.

review_img

Louise Marie

Canadian Rockies Rock!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

An excellent itinerary, covering a great deal of territory in a short time. Historic hotels. Details were handled deftly; our Tauck escort provided many little extra touches that enhanced the experience. Suggest booking in advance for spa services at Sparkling Hills, and dinner reservations in Banff and Lake Louise at their special restaurants.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking down at Peyto Lake, and realizing that people are going to think I photo-shopped the color of the water! Also, walking along Lake Louise after a close encounter with a mother grizzly and her 2 cubs who hang out there. Also, the float plane from Victoria to Vancouver was great fun with terrific views. Calgary and Victoria were impressive.

review_img

Howard leslie

Great trip. Wonderful guide and bus driver

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

All in all a wonderful trip. Hotels are excellent. Just a few pointers. When on the glacier maybe some type of stick can be provided for some. They experienced difficulty. Too much time spent on food, especially lunch. A snack would have been sufficient. Not enough time at Butchardt Gardens. Hatcreek ranch should prewarn people about mosquitos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Glacier Explorer. Followed by Lake Louise.

review_img

DeeW2

Great trip & great tour director

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was a wonderful trip that took you to the highlights of the area. The hotels were wonderful; the food was delicious. Tour director is very knowledgeable, helpful, and respectful. The only negative was the float plane ride that was loud, cramped and smelled of fumes. I got a horrible headache from that.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing beautiful view of Lake Louise from my hotel room

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button