TravelerReviews

Spotlight on New Zealand

review_img

GeorgeMorris

Lovely

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Enjoyed trip, had been there years ago. Kiwis still New Zealand nice! Well Organized with wonderful tour guide. Good group, interesting, congenial and willing to mix. Activities varied with enough time to be on our own. We so enjoyed our Milford Sound day but the stay in Te Anau was quite disappointing. Needs a change if at all possible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Thought Wellington was great, walking small city. Milford Sound was spectacular! The 400+ waterfalls because of the rain was memorable. 18 years ago we had been fogged out from seeing Milford Sound. So happy to have this experience. Boat with lunch was wonderful.

review_img

tedmichels

New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

It was a great, well organized trip that gave us a great insight to many parts of New Zealand. Our tour director was very well informed and gave us some great insights we would not have had unless she mentioned them. The coordination of the various modes of transportation was extremely well done and well coordinated. Highly recommended.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the fiords and the jet boat ride. Eating "green lipped mussels"

review_img

RVW

The Best! Wonderful country, people, food, things to see & do!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

The Spotlight on New Zealand is very special. A country few of us see but a joy to meet the NZ people, enjoy their special foods, drink, things to do and see. Totally worth the trip to see the land where Lord of the Rings was filmed. The seafood, lamb, craft beers, and great hotels: wonderful. Be prepared to be pleasantly surprised!

Most Memorable Moment:

The open country of the South Island with its low population and stunning landscape is spectacular. The sheer mountain peaks up to ~12,000 feet, the blue lakes, rushing streams, waterfalls, all very special and unique. But this landscape then enables a jet boat ride, helicopter flights, green mussels, winery tours, & learning about the Maori!

review_img

Vklip

Loved New Zealand!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

We loved every minute of our trip! Our group connected quickly with a lot of humor and we all had a blast. Everyone was courteous arriving on time and making each day better than the last. Our director was a marvelous guide with her stories, humor & the right amount of education to better understand the areas we visited and the Kiwis we met.

Most Memorable Moment:

It’s hard to say what was our favorite day...jet boating followed by a helicopter ride over Queenstown, the boat cruise with mussels and wine in Queen Charlotte Sound, the amazing wineries or just the awesome beauty of the mountains, fiords, lakes and roaming sheep and cattle that become the every day view.

review_img

SaraB

Fabulous trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our trip was one amazing experience after another. From a beautiful day on Marlborough Sound, to a breathtaking cruise on Milford Sound, to the outstanding day at Skipper's Canyon, our days were filled with awesome activities. The wineries were wonderful, as was the food. Our tour director, Rachel, made sure that everything ran smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

For my husband, the jet boat ride through Skipper's Canyon. For me, the heart-stopping ride down to the jet boat on the single lane gravel road.

review_img

Leighton

Beautiful country and friendly people

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

As usual, all the details were addressed and the entire trip went without a hitch. We were able to cover a lot of ground via the chartered plane and not waste time going through security, etc. There were several private events that enabled us to avoid the crowds and gave us the opportunity to have discussions with the local people.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private boat ride cruising along the gorgeous Marlborough Sound and having green-lipped mussels, salmon, and the region's sauvignon wine for lunch...against the backdrop of a beautiful day. The crew made themselves available and was informative and very friendly.

review_img

UlaUlaMaui

Hold On To Your Hat!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

New Zealand pulled out all the stops for showing its beautiful culture and environment on our April trip. We flew from north island to south on a private jet. Wineries, jet boat rides, marvelous museums and the Maori culture filled our days. What a wonderful ten-day tour that tried to do it all, and almost did!

Most Memorable Moment:

The scariest was traveling on an itty bitty one-way gravel road into a canyon for a jet boat boat ride. Every bump made me feel like I was careening over the edge to the deep jagged canyon below. When we finally got to the heart-stopping jet boat ride deep in the canyon, I had already used up my heart-in-my-throat moments and handled it with ease.

review_img

Meg533

A super trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Spotlight on New Zealand is a great trip and Tauck does it first class, as always. The people are friendly and the country is lovely. Our tour guide was super! We had terrific wines, and lovely meals. We loved the charter air flights to get from one part of the country to another, the sheep shearing, and most of all the jet boat ride!

Most Memorable Moment:

The jet boat ride is really a thrill. You spend an hour on a very narrow mountain road getting there, but then are helicoptered out. What a great adventure!

review_img

pamtrav

what a beautiful country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This was my 2nd trip with Tauck to NZ. I loved it all! but, compared to my previous experience (25+ yrs ago), I missed the inclusion of the glow worms caves & the visit to Rotorua's sulphur springs. That said, the daily activities were wonderful, the food fabulous, the Taucktourians terrific, & the director totally well-organized & well-informed.

Most Memorable Moment:

the jet boat ride, hands down.

review_img

lindahamilton

Fabulous trip to Kiwi Land

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Once again Tauck managed in "Focus on New Zealand" to include bits of almost every aspect of life in a gorgeous setting of varied geography, flora, fauna, cultures, people, food, wines, government, museums, and modes of transportation. Our tour director was first rate, knowledgeable, and made the journey a fun and memorable experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

The boat trips on Marlborough and Milford Sounds were spectacular, flying over the Southern Alps majestic, and Maori arts and culture unforgettable.

review_img

MargieS123

Spotlight on New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Wow, what an exciting trip. We went first class all the way and the weather was perfect. Each stop was better than the last. New Zealand wine is the best and the lunches at the wineries was so magical. Adrenalin rushes with the jet boat ride, helicopter, ride to the bottom of Skippers Canyon. All the hotels were 5 star and we were treated royally.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from Bob's Peak looking down into Queenstown was breathtaking. Such a view and we could see the zip lining, bungy jumping and luge were fun to watch.

review_img

Dick from Wales

Outstanding Travel Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

I thought a previous trip to Alaska could never be topped for it's scenic beauty, but this beat it by leaps and bounds. Every direction I looked was another gorgeous panorama. The places that Tauck took us to were by far what made the overall experience. My wife and I found everyday to be unending enjoyment. We highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being on board a boat and pulling right up to a waterfall, feeling the mist on our faces, will never be equaled again.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you found the beauty of New Zealand so awe-inspiring! We are glad you got to experience its beauty with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Lorenita

Our first experience with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

My husband and I decided to go to New Zealand just 3 months before the trip, and it was the best decision we could have made. New Zealand is a beautiful country with quaint little towns, snow-capped mountains,large lakes and ocean all around. Tauck took us through it all in class! I highly recommend this trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the day we spent at Shotover River, going down in speedboat. It was very exhilarating, and then being picked up by helicopter. Wow!

review_img

Ecoguide

New Zealand is a land of Enchantment!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Everything that Tauck organized through our Tour Director was perfectly orchestrated! The hotels were all first class. Especially the Copthorne Hotel in Wellington and the 2 Sofitel's we stayed at in both Queenstown and in Auckland. The Private boat cruises, the tours, the private chartered flights, the winery's, & the food all excellent!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The day we drove down to Skipper's canyon, road the jet boat up the Shotover River, then took a helicopter ride to Queenstown to catch the Skyline Gondola up to Bob's peak for some incredible views of Queesntown, Lake Wakatipu, the Remarkable Mountains, Mount Coronet. What an unforgettable day that was! Talk about excitement! Will never forget it!

review_img

mrklly

New Zealand paradise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Took my mother on the trip of a lifetime. I've been to NZ 3 times previously, but this was my first guided tour. We had an amazing tour director. The details of the trip were taken care of and you barely had to move yourself from one place to another. I can't wait to book another trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Helicopter ride

review_img

c2a2v2e2

New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This was my first Tauck trip. I fully enjoyed the itinerary itself but I just was expecting service to be different. Sofetelle in Auckland. The goodbye dinner was too much for them to handle. All of us that had the chicken it was cold and service was poor. Sheep shearing/dinner should have been reversed to see shearing

Most Memorable Moment:

We went to the fiordland during the rain and the waterfalls were magnificent. On the way to Queenstown we ran into a rancher who was herding his cattle in the road and a calf got away. Watching the dogs and the calf's mother get him back into the herd was great fun. People on this trip were really great. Everyone got along so well.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your comments. I have brought them to the attention of our Operations Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Larry1365

First Tauck Expereince

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We were able to experience the best of NZ's North and South Islands. The domestic charter flights made all this possible in an 11-day tour. Our group of 37 got along great -- so fortunate to not have any whiners or complainers. Our tour director was knowledgeable, helpful and had a great personality -- adding a great deal to everyone's enjoyment.

Most Memorable Moment:

I went parasailing off a mountain in Queenstown. A thrilling experience!

review_img

salem

Second Tauck Trip - New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

This fantastic, all-inclusive trip of both the North & South Islands was all I expected. All components were amazing, well-planned & executed & many were absolutely thrilling. I am a Tauck "believer" - this is the only way to travel - first class in all respects.

Most Memorable Moment:

Milford Sound, the temperate rain forest, Maori Cultural experience, too many to mention.

review_img

Mary Julian

Spotlight On New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Beautiful Country Very likable, knowledgable, caring tour guide. Lovely weather Adds up to a wonderful vacation I am disappointed Christ Church was not included. I understand the reasons but hope it will reappear as part of your tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Milford Sound boat ride

review_img

Msmolensmd

amazing NZ

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Loved everything about this trip made wonderful by our knowledgeable tour guide. Loved all the places we visited. Hotels were really nice and wineries were the best ever.

Most Memorable Moment:

The helicopter ride over the mountains was thrilling

review_img

MaureenandKerry

Truck really makes a difference

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

We were glad we chose Tauck for our first escorted tour. We knew nothing about New Zealand and came home with a wealth of knowledge. Tauck assesses the entirety of a country and then selects the most iconic and beautiful features to include on their tours. Then they fill any gaps via stories from local drivers and guides. Wonderful experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment would have to be Milford Sound. As great admirers of the Earth's natural treasures, the Fiordland National Park has to rank as one of the most beautiful places on earth. Marlborough Sound was a close second as well as everything we did in Queenstown.

review_img

Kth

Beautiful country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

New Zealand was one of the most beautiful countries we have seen. It was so green and unspoiled by man. If you go in October, weather is quite changeable and is a factor in the itinerary. The Fjordlands cruise was exceptionally beautiful to see. We think that it compares to the Norwegian fjords.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jet boating in Queenstown was very exciting. It's something that we have never done before. Cruising on Marlborough Sound was a luxury that few people can experience. Thanks for the great day!

review_img

jJAMES

A Dream Come True

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Having heard such praise of New Zealand, its natural beauty, and great enthusiasm for its people, I just recently was able to verify those facts thanks to a wonderful Tauck tour led by Marcia. The beauty of its mountains, varied shorelines, lakes and climactic changes brings excitement to the eye and peace to the soul.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was keenly interested in seeing an olive tree, hearing of the hand-gathering process and learn that small Rangihoua would process olives for other Waiheke Islanders--a wonderful community spirit.

review_img

DNicholson

A Good Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Efficient collection of good memories, good food and lodging. Many "on your own" opportunities to explore and experience dining opportunities recommended by TripAdvisor but not Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private Convair 580.

review_img

Mike B

new zealand tpur

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

First of all, being greeted at Wellington airport with a gentlemen holding a Tauck sign was awesome. He took us to our hotel in Wellington, where we met with Tom Bowgers, our tour guide. What a wonderful, knowlegeable person.He led us via bus or private plane to some beautiful sites , expecially South Island. We were also wined and dined.

Most Memorable Moment:

So hard to answer this one, but traveling down beautiful Marlboro Sound and eating green lip mussels is one. The boat ride and touring Fiorland National park was stunning. Seeing all the sheep and deer pastures was very interesting. Queenstown was very pretty. Beautiful scenery.

review_img

fscalfaro

New Zealand Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Fantastic tour hindered slightly by colder than expected weather but all in all a great time. Tauck surely knows how to treat their guests with quality hotels, meals, tours and a fantastic tour director, Tom. We definitely will do another tour with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The speed boat ride!!!!!

review_img

ACurtiss

New Zealand

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our trip to NZ was Awesome as the scenery was spectacular and all our events were wonderful and great FUN!!! This was our 5th Tauck Tour and they all were just GREAT!! Linda did a supurb job of keeping everyting organized and well run.Our concern was that we had too many afternoons free and hotels were just ordinary compared to Tauck standard??

Most Memorable Moment:

The jet boat ride was exhilerating and Fun and the helicopter ride was also memorable as it was scary but offered great views of the mountains and the scenery!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you had some truly memorable moments. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and will take any and all corrective actions where necessary. Again we thank you for your patronage and do hope that you’ll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button