TravelerReviews

Spotlight on Australia

review_img

MelonieRash

Austraila

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

It's a long way from Florida, but totally worth it. The cities are beautiful and the people are amazing. We are already talking about going back.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many it's hard to choose. Holding a Koala was on our bucket list, big check mark. Snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef, the Opera House on the harbor in Sydney, Urula at sunset. The chartered jets were awesome, and saved so much time.

review_img

GEORGE ASHLEY

A wonderful once in a lifetime trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

A terrific experience! We saw the best parts of Australia and traveled first class. Tauck really had everything planned out so we got to see all the sights in a short period of time and exceeded any expectations we had. We had a great tour guide who knew virtually every detail and answered all our questions. We made many new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Great Barrier Reef

review_img

DGolick

Australia October 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Itinerary is well thought out & covers many of the tourist highlights of Australia. City tours of Melbourne & Sydney were excellent. We suggest that Tauck delete the Thala Beach Lodge. The beach has crocodiles & poisonous jellyfish. The property is located on a too steep incline to be comfortable. There appear to be better lodging options.

Most Memorable Moment:

A helicopter flight over the Great Barrier Reef and our fantastic guide at Ayers Rock (Uluru).

review_img

LAJ

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

What a great trip! We clearly hit the key places to see on a first visit to Australia. The anchor hotels were every nice and we had great room views. The itinerary covered both nature and urban sites-excellent! Fix food on private jets, awful. Not up to Tauck standards. Rest of meals were very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Truly enjoyed the trip to Great Barrier Reef & Sydney Opera House and Harbor Cruise was lovely!

review_img

WFM

Australia - Down Under

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Wonderful trip - stayed at the best hotels in each location. Tauck excels at efficient travel. You get to see all the "must see" sights (and more that you didn't know about) very efficiently. No needless wandering around and many times lines are avoided entirely.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leroy (the local guide at Uluru) was very informative about Ayers Rock (Uluru) while being extremely entertaining. He could start many places as a stand up comedian. The Don Rickles of the Australian Outback!

review_img

Virginia Travelers

SPOTLIGHT ON AUSTRALIA TOUR - 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

The tour and the director were outstanding! This was our first Tauck tour and it did not disappoint. It was so well organized all we had to do was to relax and enjoy. Our Tauck Director responded to any and all questions in such a positive way. By the end of the tour he became a good friend.

Most Memorable Moment:

For myself, of course it was snorkeling in the great barrier reef. For my wife it was the hot air balloon ride (for myself it was second but close to number one).

review_img

joe stine

Perfect way to meet Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

If you have always wanted to go Australia or were curious about it this is the perfect trip. I got to hold a koala, snorkel the great barrier reef, see and touch Ayers Rock, visit the Sydney Opera house, cruise the harbor, enjoy Melbourne and so much more. The charter flights made covering long distances easy and even pleasurable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one but if I must the visit to Ayers Rock (Uluru)

review_img

DAO

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

From start to finish this was an outstanding trip. The trip was everything we imagined and hoped for and more. Our tour Director was witty, cheery and always there to provide us information and deal with anything that might come up. This is our third Tauck tour and we have only the highest regard for Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many! For me holding a koala was wonderful. Inner country flights were top notch. Hotel accommodations and food were 5 star. We experienced so much it is difficult to pick out a most memorable on a truly memorable trip. This trip was our 50th anniversary trip and it fulfilled all of our hopes and dreams. Scenery and people

review_img

Long

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

This was our 6th Tauck trip and it did not disappoint. The hotels were excellent with great locations. The food was good. The Tour Guide was great and had little surprises for us and went the extra mile to provide help. The local tour guides were all very good. The cities were all very walkable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Josh Groban at the Sydney Opera House and Turandot Opera on Sydney Harbour.

review_img

LNEUVILLE

Luxury adventure in Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

Liking creature comforts even while traveling abroad, this Tauck trip was perfect for me. The hotels, especially in Melbourne and Sydney, were luxurious, the chartered plane made internal travel very easy, the food was good, and the chosen sights were interesting and varied.

Most Memorable Moment:

Holding a koala in Kuranda.

review_img

kaycro

A great trip all the way!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

The guide could not have been better. Sydney and Melbourne are lovely cities, clean, and very liveable. Uluru and The Great Barrier Reef were a real treat!

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't swim (or scuba dive or snorkel) so I didn't know if I'd be able to do much at the Reef. But they have "helmet diving" available for non-swimmers, along with an immersible submarine, so I didn't feel left out of activities at all

review_img

mave

Traveler ease

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Spotlight on Australia trip was wonderful. I was grateful for the way our luggage was managed directly by Tauck people so that I had no stress and was certain it would reach my room or my next flight. Most of our individual guides were very knowledgeable in their area, and answered question before we had to ask them.

Most Memorable Moment:

First view of the Sydney Opera house. It is as wonderful a structure in reality as it appears in pictures

review_img

Jmb724

Spotlight on Australia review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

This was an awesome trip displaying gorgeous sites and examining different cultures while meeting wonderful people. This is what I was looking for in my travels.

Most Memorable Moment:

The historical sites in Sydney.

review_img

coopersmom

Hightlights of Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Great Trip.....packed itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hot air balloon ride over Cairn

review_img

Jeff52

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

My wife and I spent 11 days in Australia visiting Melbourne, Uluru, Carins, and Sydney.

Most Memorable Moment:

A day snorkeling and taking a helicopter tour on The Great Barrier Reef. It was even more spectacular than I had heard.

review_img

HelenePatricia

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Loved every single moment. Every day was like Christmas with a delightful new experience every day. I could take the exact same trip and would not change one thing. We had the most congenial group ever. Not one whiner and no one was ever late. Truly amazing. We all felt as though we had the best tour director ever.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many,... the Great Barrier Reef, Palm Cove, Uluru and the day we spent on the boat in the Sydney Harbour...loved the Foodie Tour as well. Definitely looking forward to my next Tauck Tour!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We are so glad you loved this amazing continent!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sherrywhit

A Perfect Australian Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our first trip with Tauck far exceeded our expectations for customer service, exciting excursions, excellent meals and superb accomodations. Our tour guide was knowledgeable about the history, current events and the best sights to see in every community our chartered plane landed in. All guests and the Australian people were friendly and fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Uluru is a good example of the desert like Australian outback. We enjoyed Ayers Rock along with the indigenous people that still inhabit the area. Snorkeling the great barrier reef in the Coral Sea, walking the beach listening to parakeets, and holding a koala in Kuranda, was relaxing. The Opera House and Sydney Harbor boat tour was amazing.

review_img

Jill Sutherland Toth

Australia

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our guide was superb. His knowledge of Australian history, culture and current events was excellent and delivered in an entertaining and compelling manner. Our accommodations were lovely. The water views from the rooms in Melbourne and Sydney were gorgeous. I loved the Reef House in Cairns.

Most Memorable Moment:

Local guide at Ayers Rock

review_img

newportjudy

Austrilia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Great trip. Charter flights were the best. But the choice of the Reef Hotel was not good. Not up to Tauck standards. No air-conditioning in public areas. It is hard to eat a good dinner at 100 degrees and high humidity. Also only mirror in our room was in the unairconditioned bathroom!

Most Memorable Moment:

Foodie tour of Sidney and boat rip around sSidney harbor

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your comments on the Reef Hotel to our Product Manager.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Deb Bauman

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

We met the tour in Melbourne. It was a very well-organized, interesting, tour. The only thing that was a little boring was the numerous buffet meals. Even though the food was good, it is much nicer to order a nice entree etc. without having to wander around waiting in lines for food. However, the charter flights were outstanding!

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip to Uluru/Ayer's Rock. It was lovely. And soooo interesting.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed along your comments regarding the meals to our Product Manager.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

salem

First Tauck trip - Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

This trip lived up to my greatest expectations!!!! Each component was interesting, thrilling & so well planned, coordinated & executed. Charter flights were just one of the many highlights (no airport hassles) - hotels were fabulous as were the meals. Free time was ample to wander & explore on your own. This was the total Australia experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to name!!!!!

review_img

MargieS123

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We spent our 25th anniversary in Australia. So many adventures and such a diverse country. Melbourne, the Outback, Carnes, Sydney gave us many options and fun things to do. We loved the Great Barrier reef and staying in the rain forest too. The hot air balloon ride topped off the trip and was fantastic. Trip was Oct. 2014

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Ayers rock was fantastic. Our private guide took us right up to the rock and we were able to touch it. So much history and culture there.

review_img

Doggie62

My bucket list vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

It was an absolutely wonderful trip! Our tour guide was fantastic. The Australians are so friendly and wonderful. Sydney and Melbourne are such clean and safe cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Holding a koala bear, feeding kangaroos, touring Ayers Rock, the Kewarra Resort in Cairns was beautiful, Sydney and Melbourne were so lovely and enjoyable. Chartered flights between cities on the tour were wonderful. Really, there are so many memorable moments, it is hard to list everything.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your tour! And thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Kth

Such diversity

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Everything was top notch and the tour guide made certain that all 36 persons were well taken care of on the tour. It was our 1st Tauck experience. The other guests were so friendly and made it seem as if we were all family traveling together. Our biggest surprise was the Asian culture being so intertwined in the Australian life. Love the hook turn!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to define one moment in Australia because there were so many! They happened each day. Hiking around Uluru, snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef, touring the Sydney Opera House, sailing on Sydney harbour, the Sydney fish market, our foodie tour, tasting wines. These are all part of one wonderful tour with a tour guide that was the BEST!

review_img

holston

Tauck Australia: Luxuary, Variety, and Convenience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

A great trip. Our Tour Director, Tom B. was knowledgeable, helpful, and accessible plus the accommodations, food, excursions, and transfers were first rate. Two small issues: (1) Tauck cardboard and elastic luggage tags tear off far too easily, (2)International flights -- 2 hours to clear customs and make a domestic connection is not enough time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose: riding the Melbourne trolley, touring the Sydney Opera House, feeding a kangaroo, hiking around Uluru, or dining 47 floors above the CBD in Sydney.

review_img

Karen from WI

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Tauck virgins no more! Loved every minute of it. Tom was the best tour director! Everthing was well coordinated and the food...Oh my! It seemed like we ate every 10 minutes. Best trip ever!

Most Memorable Moment:

How can I pick just one? I can't. Everything was superb! The Great Barrier Reef was probably the highest of the highlights, but then again, so was the rain forest, the hot air balloon ride, the Sydney Opera House, the gelato, the kangaroo's and koala's, Ayers rock.....AMAZING!!!

review_img

Joan Bennett

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

This, my 7th Tauck tour, was the very best because of the amiable Australians and their beautifully diverse country: Sydney Harbor, Ayers Rock, artistic Melbourne, crocodiles and kangaroos and snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef. Did you know the food in Australia is superb? Our travel guide was superb as well. This is a trip I would take again

Most Memorable Moment:

Three such moments: Watching my grandson hold a koala and on Easter Sunday going up in a hot air balloon with him. Another moment was when the docent at the ANZAC Memorial burst into tears remembering help given to her country by Americans in WWII. And experiencing history while walking through Hyde Park Barracks where the first convicts lived.

review_img

ABM

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Comprehensive tour of Down Under

Most Memorable Moment:

Being able to hold a Koala in Kuranda and visiting Ayres Rock

review_img

shescha

Our trip to OZ

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Overall the trip was wonderful. There were a few minor logistical disappointments erring on the side of too much rather than too little. Accomodations were first rate and in the best possible locations for us to explore on our own during the free time allotted.

Most Memorable Moment:

Koala cuddle in Kurunda without a doubt

review_img

kathij

Spotlight on Austrailia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Enjoyable trip except for weather & Qantas leaving both pieces of luggage behind at Ayers Rock. Unable to participate in the activities at Great Barrier Reef the following day because our luggage did not arrive at Kewarra Beach Resort until 9 p.m. the following evening. Qantas did issue a $120 voucher, but unable to purchase what was needed. :(

Most Memorable Moment:

Being able to hold the Koala! "The Magic Flute" performance at the Opera House!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry your baggage was delayed but very pleased you experienced some truly memorable moments on this trip. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bob B.

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

The trip was wonderful. Our Tour leader Jim did a terrific job leading us through airports and the various cities we visited. Australia is a terrific company with both natural sites and man made cities that present unique views. Melbourne and Sydney were both easy walking cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our encounters with the unique wildlife in both wildlife parks and in nature. This includes our visit to the Great Barrier reef, around our hotel in Cairns and in the wildlife parks we visited.

review_img

Golfqueen

98% Fabulous!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was indeed a fabulous highlight trip, with two exceptions. I felt the trip to Alice Springs was a waste..a quick trip to an art studio (products were promoted) and a mediocre lunch. No time to visit any of the historic sites. This could be a much better stop. In Sydney, there was a big difference between locations of rooms and amenities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Totally memorable trip! Wonderful group; our leader, Rob, made everything run smoothly. Great food and hotels! Uluru, Great Barrier Reef, wildlife, the rainforest, the fabulous cities of Melbourne and Sydney(harbor cruise on a private boat, private tour of the Opera House),and many lagniappes! Tauck makes traveling easy and a joy!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are sorry some aspects of this trip fell below expectations but pleased you enjoyed your overall trip and had some truly memorable moments. Your comments will be shared and corrective actions will be taken where necessary.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KCrank

Australia--not to be missed!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This fantastic tour covered the highlights of Australia--Melbourne, Uluru, rainforest, Great Barrier Reef and Sydney--in style and comfort. Our hotels had prime locations, and our rooms offered great views. Every meal was outstanding. Our guide was thorough, solicitous and an expert on each site visited. I would repeat this tour without hesitation.

Most Memorable Moment:

My biggest thrill on this tour was attending a symphony performance at the Sydney Opera House, a real bucket-list item for me. Thank you, Tauck, for a wonderful experience.

review_img

scsgaras

Spotlight on Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The tour was amazing! The guide and places we visited were great! The air time was not, even though it ran smoothly. We wish we could have traveled more by land but agree it would take too long. We felt the food was a bit lacking and certainly not up to the standard of our previous 5 Tauck tours. However, Tauck did their best with what they had.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mind was hand feeding kangaroos and my husband loved the snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding your dining experience with our Product Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Smathes

Australia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

The guide was THE BEST!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tour of the Sydney Opera House!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button