TravelerReviews

Botswana, South Africa & Zambia

review_img

barbi114

Botswana, Zambia and South Africa- An experience I will never forget!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The only way to explain this trip is that I felt immersed in the culture and the topography of these magnificent countries. It was more than I can ever have imagined! With our small group of 18, along with our excellent Tour Director, we lived, laughed and learned all they way through these fabulous countries.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memories and over 1100 photos to examine but I mostly remember reality moments where the elephant was trumpeting because we came too close to her young calf, and the hippo that burst out of the water with its massive jaws open because we were in his territory and lastly the kindness, awareness and conservation of the people.

review_img

barrylori

Botswana, Zambia, South Africa-WOW

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our third Tauck trip. They have all been wonderful but this one was very special. We wanted to see the animals, but came away with more than that. Yes, we saw the Big 5, by day 2. But, the landscape, the people, the accommodations were all beyond our expectations. If this trip is on your bucket list, do it now.

Most Memorable Moment:

The big 5, the people, nothing left out. All we expected and more. Tauck does a great job, led by knowledgeable tour directors. We got up close and personal to the animals. And sleeping under the stars. That was unbelievable. And the guides. Hardworking, knowledgeable people, who love what they do. Our best holiday ever.

review_img

TravelerSuz

Up close and Personal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This is our 15th trip with Tauck, and it was fabulous! We’ve done the Kenya/Tanzania safari which was excellent, but this trip was different. While we didn’t see the quantity of animals of the K/T trip, we were much closer to these. Well done, Tauck! We loved the experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving alongside a leopard 20 feet away as he headed out on his evening hunt. Being visited by an elephant at our tent in the Kalahari. Seeing rhinos from the helicopter in the Delta. Monkeys coming up in the deck while lounging in the hammock. So many close experiences!

review_img

PaulChiu

Victoria Falls, Botswana, Capetown Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

It was a wonderful itinerary that was marred by a sub-par and anti-social tour director. The local staff in Livingstone and all 3 locations in Botswana were wonderful and helpful and made the day to day activities wonderful. They rescued us from a potentially miserable experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to choose from - walking to the edge of Victoria Falls, watching elephants swim across the Zambezi River, seeing the endangered White Rhinos and Wild Dogs, sleeping under the stars in the Kalahari Desert.

review_img

Herkel

Best safari yet

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

From initial contact to the last "goodbye" this was our best safari yet. Within two days we had encountered all of the "Big Five". All within 25 feet away. Picture opts were fantastic. Encountered elephants walking through our lodge grounds. Listened to lions calling through the night. Lots of good food, wine and a great folks to share it all.

Most Memorable Moment:

Alone, while sitting in a lodge lounge at sundown, "George" (a majestic and huge bull elephant) decided to join me for a sundowner. A regular visitor to the lodge, he passed close by and enjoyed eating the vegetation near the lounge entrance. After calming down, I toasted him with a nice chardonnay.

review_img

Phyllis Ferguson

Zambia, Botswana, South Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Life changing as I will never look at animals the same way. Loved every minute and loved meeting the people of Africa. The guides were knowledgeable, kind, and fun. Every place we stayed was such a thrill with animals all around and the noises of the wild. The scenery was magnificent and the sunsets were like nothing I've ever seen.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was standing alone on the salt pans and watching the sun set and dusk settle in. Very spiritual.

review_img

Del McCulloch

Botswana, South Africa, Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The tour exceeded my expectations. It was led by the best tour director I have ever had and I have taken many tours with Tauck and other companies. We were led to areas where we encountered all of the animals we were promised to see.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable were the meerkats. These adorable animals are only found in certain areas and we went to the area where we could find them. It was a joy to have them so close and to have them climb on us for a better view. There were other memorable moments too numerous to mention here.

review_img

Lamb Girl

Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This trip will cover so much you want to see in Africa. From Victoria Falls to the Cape of Good Hope you will be anxious to see the people and animals every day. There wasn't one day that I would have left off of this trip. What a terrific way to see Africa for the first or second time. Our granddaughter who is 18 came with us and loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Kalahari desert will give you something you have never done before. You get up early in the morning so that you can greet the meerkats when they come out and climb on your head. You are the only tall thing out there so you become their lookout post. It was also wonderful to drive the ATVs and welcome sunset with an outdoor dinner and a camp out.

review_img

Bruce B

Magic of Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our first trip to Africa and it was truly magical. This trip was incredibly diverse; with safari trucks in the Moremi reserve, boats and helicopters in the Okavango Dellta and four-wheelers in the Kalahari. Our Tour Director was an able safari guide as well as a good leader who interacted enthusiastically with each member of the group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Returning the four-wheelers at dawn with the Kalahari dust blowing across the rising sun was awesome.

review_img

JanetLynn60

One of the best trips ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Fabulous- that's all I can say. Tauck did an amazing job. At the last minute, literally, my husband could not come, so I went myself. Had the best time ever. June was a great time to go - cool mornings and evenings and nice days. Water levels high. No worries about water, bugs, vaccinations, etc. Bring a camera (telephoto) that you know.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. Sleeping under the stars in the Kalahari- Seeing the Delta by canoe, speedboat and helicopter- amazing. George (the elephant) and his friends roaming the grounds near our tents. The people on our trip, our tour guide and people I met along the way - faboulous.

review_img

Lara G

Beautiful Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Our Special Occasion trip to Zambia, Botswana and South Africa was made even more special by the wonderful people we met along the way and our incredible Tauck Tour Director. We never expected how emotionally moving this trip would be. Sitting in complete silence, surrounded by mama elephants and their babies was simply magical!

Most Memorable Moment:

I have three favorite moments from this trip (which also land in my top ten of all time!): Seeing the Matriarch elephant lead her herd to the edge of the Chobe brought me to tears! Watching the Milky Way move across the desert sky left me speechless. And having a meerkat perch on my head while the babies scampered by my side filled me with joy!

review_img

ldmdoc

Zambia + Botswana + South Africa - A Superb Adventure - 5 Stars all the way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

If you are in love with African wildlife, the Okavongo Delta of Botswana is the place for you. Victoria Falls, game drives, the Kalahari desert and finally beautiful Cape Town, South Africa polish off this tour. The venues were fantastic plus we spent one night out on the Kalahari desert under the incredible night sky.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Okavango Delta by boat and helicopter. Seeing the elephants, hippos, fabulous birds, giraffes, zebras, etc in the lush water filled Delta. Sleeping out on the Kalahari Desert was an unexpected great adventure.

review_img

JenniferSuber

A Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This trip met and exceeded our expectations a million times over! The accommodations were fantastic, the food divine and the activities / events were beyond wonderful. We traveled with our family (5 adults and 2 children). It was interesting, fascinating and entertaining for all of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Waking up to watch the sunrise over the foot of my bed when we spent the night on the salt plains of the Kalahari!

review_img

taxare

What a terrific first visit to Africa!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We had a wonderful whirlwind trip! Our tour director was fabulous, the group collegial and overall the accommodations and food were good to excellent. We saw much more than the "Big 5". We can't imagine another trip in which we would have seen the variety of wildlife that we saw. Each of the local Africans we met were a delight! A great experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

This is very hard to limit. The top three would be seeing a leopard climb up a tree five times and plucking baby owls out of their nest, experiencing lions not more than 20 feet from us, and one evening seeing a meteor burn up in the sky in Botswana. There were so many more awesome and fun experiences to share.

review_img

CAM51

An Amazing Experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This has been on my list of places to visit through Tauck for about ten years. We have traveled with you to Machu Picchu, the Galapagos and Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand and each of those experiences was incredible. The Southern African countries of Zambia Botswana and SA outstanding. Well planned from start to finish. Our guide was 5*.

Most Memorable Moment:

The wild dog chase was wildlife in action but seeing the young Leopard in the tree and playing while learning to hunt was the most memorable.The sunsets throughout Africa will stay in my mind forever. How do you choose just one memory? The Whole Experience was so outstanding.

review_img

charlie1

Africa - World of Wonder

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

5 new countries! Elephants, lions, giraffes and critters galore! This trip challenged me, entertained me, exhausted me, but left me with a lifetime of stories to tell. Friends are envious and pleased with my accomplishment! I wish all Americans could make this trip! The people of this continent are so gracious and proud of their homeland.

Most Memorable Moment:

A lion passing within arm’s length of my seat in the Safari vehicle.

review_img

Intrepid

Botswana Zambia and south Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Every thing was near perfect. Unfortunately we couldn’t get to see lions despite multiple safari jaunts. Nothing to do with Tauck. It was our luck. Tour director was great! All the amenities and hotels were great. Tauck went to great pains to satisfy all our needs especially my wife who is a pure vegetarian. We would definitely do it again

Most Memorable Moment:

Meerkat sitting on my hat. Victoria falls and rhinoceros

review_img

Larry Kaas

Awesome trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

All that we expected and more. Our guide was exceptional. A trip that will be rated as one of the best we have ever taken. Exactly what you would expect from Tauck. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention.

review_img

DianeMaier

The best trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This trip was my 7th with Tauck, and the most memorable. It was totally different because all of the others were more cultural, but this trip was so special. We had a very small group of 10, and we all got along great. Our tour director was fabulous, and if you go on this trip, keep your fingers crossed that you get her.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all wonderful-the guides, the camps, the hotels, getting up close to so many animals, but I would have to say, sleeping under the stars at the salt pans was amazing.

review_img

Crackeroo

Challenges all your senses

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Was a trip of a lifetime. We were inspired, challenged, educated and entertained. The 3 countries are so different and bring a new experience each day. Seeing the Big 5 and so many other animals and beautiful birds was the reason for touring and it did not disappoint. Our group of 16 were wonderful travel companions and our tour director was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not just one. Although elephants are my favorite land animal, seeing a leopard up close in it's natural habitat brought a lot of emotion. A charging elephant, fighting hippos, hyenas at night and ATV'ing on the salt pans, followed by dinner were all memorable. I will be back to Africa.

review_img

fredtaber

Africa-Zambia,Botswana and South Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was our 8th Tauck trip and one of the best! Our tour director was terrific - fun, helpful and understanding and made our trip especially eventful. Everything went smoothly and the three camps that we stayed at were fantastic - 2 camps had air-conditioning in the tents ( as well as showers, toilets, hot and cold running water)

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, the most memorable moment was probably our interaction with the bushmen. They were extremely social and friendly and we learned about how they lived, used tubers for medicine and ointments, and starting fires with sticks and natural elements.

review_img

Robba

A Trip of A Lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was our 6th trip with Tauck and definitely one of the best. Seeing all of the animals was amazing (including the big 5) and I really liked the different environments with the tented camps in Botswana. All of the accommodations were outstanding. This tour is different from the Tauck tours we've taken in Europe as it is a more active tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments, but having dinner on the Makgadikgadi Pans and sleeping under the stars tops the list!

review_img

Zoz

An Adventure of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Our trip was a bucket list adventure that will be remembered in photographs for a lifetime. A well coordinated trip with every detail thoughtfully planned. We were fortunate to meet an amazing group of new friends lead by an expert guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was taking quad bikes into the Makgadikgadi Salt Pan to enjoy dinner under the stars concluding with sleeping in cozy beds with hot water bottles looking at the moon.

review_img

sudhamali

Zambia Botswana SouthAfrica

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Just fantastic!It is a long journey;but worth visiting.The itinerary was comprehensive and gave a good sample of the different regions we visited.Not being an outdoor person,had some doubts initially;however,the staff at every camp made it so much easier for us .Had worries about vegetarian food;Every place we went had great choices.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several!Hard to choose one.May be the walk with Cheetah,May be the elephant encounter at Khwai lodge on our way back from night Safari!Elephants swimming!Leopard eating dead Giraffe and going to get her baby to share the meal!Meercats!Sleeping under the biggest dome with full moon!Oh the courtship of the lioness and lion!Friendly staff and guides!

review_img

skr430

Unforgettable African Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

First of all, I have to say I was very skeptical about being on a tour with 20 strangers for 2 weeks. This was my first Tauck tour, and I already CAN'T WAIT to do another one! Our tour guide was absolutely incredible. She was kind, patient, energetic, upbeat, and had a positive attitude. The itinerary was set up perfectly as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sleeping out under the stars on the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans!!

review_img

Skepniss

Zambia, Botswana and Capetown

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

The trip started with a wow! The very first day we saw White Hippos. The second day we went to Victoria Falls and got drenched but loved every minute. We did Safaris in Botswana in the North and on the delta in boats, There were flights and helicopter rides that were really cool. One helicopter ride was much like the balloon rides in Tanzania

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments were spent in the camps on the Safaris.Having an experience with the Meerkats in Botswana as they came up to you and actually sat on one of our travelers heads was really great. The best part of the trip was our guide who was passionate about the country and gave us great insight into the environment.

review_img

naples763

African Trip to Zambia, Botswana and S Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Trip was great. Group on trip were very compatible. Tour director was what you have come to expect with Tauck. Always caring and extremely professional. Sometimes it was not so much the animals, but the interaction with the people and seeing different places in Africa.

Most Memorable Moment:

Victoria Fall and the Merkats.

review_img

Laker54

Zambia,Botswana and South Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Tauck created a perfect blend of different locations to create a wonderful experience of southern Africa. We went in the last week of September during the dry season and it was the perfect time for viewing wildlife. The local guides were just super. The accommodations were top notch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching a leopard eat its fresh kill and the helicopter flight over the delta.

review_img

fred parrill

Botswana, Zambia and S. Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was the most wonderful trip ever. It was so far beyond our expectations. We had hoped for a lot of animal sightings---but this was unreal. We saw 4 of the big 5 the first day and the 5th the next day. The camps were wonderful, the staff outstanding in all respects. I can't say enough in this short paragraph. Our tour director was the best

Most Memorable Moment:

Being so close to all of these wonderful animals. It was truly a trip of a lifetime and the pictures we were able to get are out of this world. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

review_img

mommeo16

Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Seeing the Big Five in their natural habitat and the early morning rainbow in Victoria Falls were amazing. Botswana 'camps' and safari drives both land and water were exhilarating. The guides were so very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, pointing out what we would have missed! Early morning drives with coffee/tea break offered in the field!!

Most Memorable Moment:

What took my breath away was sleeping under the stars on the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans at the edge of the Kalahari Desert! Watching the sunset, moon and stars rise and then the sunrise over the moon-like landscape in soft muted colors of the sun. Thankful for weather permitting this rare treat!!

review_img

greenj725

Fantastic trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Wonderful. The entire trip was just fantastic. Every day exceeded my expectations. We had a wonderful tour guide. The guides at each resort were wonderful, knowledgeable & fun to interact with. The animals, people, adventures, etc. were the best ever. LOVED EVERY MINUTE. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

How do I pick just one moment. The walk with the rhinos, seeing the animals, all of it.

review_img

Nanken808

A Magical Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

From start to finish our trip was wonderful. Lots of animals, interesting guides and a Tour Director who took care of our every need! We highly recommend the Zambia, Botswana and South Africa tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

A great helicopter ride over the Okavanga Delta. Also, the people, the people, the people.

review_img

LRS

Unbelievable Interactions

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Awesome trip. Walking near sleeping Rhinos, watching mother leopard & son eat their kill, sitting in a meerkat colony, lodges among the grazing lands & watering holes of elephants, hippos & impalas. Every day brought new adventures & animals. Sunsets cocktails on safari, water & road safaris, wonderful & friendly people, and guide. MUST SEE!!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to chose from but the friendliness of the MeerKats and their climbing on our laps and tops of our heads ranks as tops. They are so adorable.

review_img

Everett

The Adventure of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

From the outset every thing was a ten. The accommodations were excellent, all guides were so helpful and knowledgeable, food was exceptional considering all the logistics. Our tour director] was the best. Her warm personality, keeping us well informed, scheduling the daily activities. Truly a credit to Tauck as part of your team.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking with the lions.

review_img

onthego

zambia, botswana and cape town

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

It was a wonderful variety of experiences - we flew in small planes, and in a helicopter, took a canoe ride, rode an ATV and, of course, went in safari vehicles! There was a nice variety in the camps, too - different activities and different terrain. Our tour leader was excellent as were the local guides. Was nice having laundry included!

Most Memorable Moment:

there were so many - walking with lions, open-door helicopter ride, seeing a baby leopard, having an elephant within 10 feet of our tent, riding an ATV over the salt pan and seeing the BIG 5 in one day.

review_img

Nancy Bailey

Thrills of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

I am 71 & active & found trip strenuous but manageable. Biggest challenge was climbing up into Toyota Land Cruisers used for game drives. Need upper body strength. Days are long from 5:30A to 9:30P with 3 hr break in heat of day when I scheduled marvelous massages. Tent camps FUN & comfy & full of surprises. Saw big 5 in 1 day!! GO & see Botswana!

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding ATV on Kalahari Salt Pans, Thrilling! Dug out canoe ride. Felt like I was on "African Queen." Walking with lions! Beautiful African Sunsets!! Informed local guides that take pride in their jobs and love their home, Botswana. Helicopter ride. The SURPRISES from our amazing Tauck South African Tour Director. Seeing BiG 5!

review_img

Barbannfritch

Over The Top!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

My sister and I just returned from this trip and I am sure everyone we know is so tired of hearing about the unbelievable sightings and experiences we shared. Non stop animals, each and every day (and night), wonderful lodges, incredible guides, fabulous tour director - sleeping out on the salt pans under the stars, breathless experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

On the Chobe River surrounded by 300+ elephants playing just like children. To see these huge animals throwing themselves around, splashing each other, playing with the little ones - such an truly awesome sight, very profound.

review_img

chucktech

5 African Adventures in 1 Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

An adventure of lifetime. Accommodations are over the top; best tent ever-Camp Kalahari! Be ready to switch gears from Land Cruiser Wildlife Drives–to-High Tea–to-Walking in Bush–to- Candlelight African Dinners. Come ready to absorb all experiences…laundry great-need 30% less clothes; Land Cruisers built to perform in bush; NOT luxury ride! Enjoy..

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking with Lions & Walking with the Bushmen

review_img

DLiao

Botswana, Zambia and South Africa tour was the trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This tour was phenomenal. The itinerary was varied and well planned. Each day was amazing and it only kept getting better as the trip continued. Out tour director was knowledgable, friendly and organized. We saw tons of animals, traveled by train, small planes, speed boats, dugout canoe and helicopter. It was an experience we will never forget!

Most Memorable Moment:

Having a meerkat stand on my head!

review_img

Carpwalker

One for the record books!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

I went solo to Botswana, Zambia, and South Africa. My second Tauck tour, my first safari, and our group was lucky. We saw the Big 5 early on. Our Tauck tour director was amazing, extremely experienced on many levels, always professional. It was a seamless safari. The guides were all top drawer, eagle-eyed and engaging.

Most Memorable Moment:

I cannot pick one moment but these were top of the very long list. Walking with the San Bushmen, the Kalahari meerkats and the Okavango Delta morokos.

review_img

Janice Wilkins

Blue Moon tour of Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Great tour, hitting highlights that we wanted to see in Africa. The safari guides, and reserve staff are excellent. Fabulous Tauck director!!! If you go during the months of June, July or August, pack some clothes for cold weather, mornings and evening are cold. Would recommend adding 1 or 2 days at end to enjoy Cape Town and wine area.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Baby Leopard, also being there for Blue Moon was incredible. Watching the elephants cross the river was spectacular

review_img

Graywolf113

Aventure in Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

I agree with previous comments, this tour is not for the faint of heart. This is NOT a relaxing vacation, it is in fact a non stop adventure. That said, it was fantastic and we had an awesome time. I recommend Tauck communicates more about Camp Kalahari's limitations(cold temps, cold water, not the best food)

Most Memorable Moment:

Beautiful Bostwana! Petting the lions, the meerkats, seeing great white sharks. The sundowners and our safari guides were awesome. The people were wonderful!!

review_img

agiver

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our trip to Zambia, Botswana, and South Africa, could not have been better. I love animals and seeing them free in the wild was breathtaking. We had lions and elephants within two feet of our vehicle, but they walked on by. The food was excellent, the 16-person group very congenial, and our guide great! Local guides fantastic!

Most Memorable Moment:

High points were seeing wild dogs, a leopard, many other critters up close, Victoria Falls, the Bushmen, the wonderful game drive guides, the singing and dancing welcomes and farewells of the camp staffs, the makoro ride, and the lovely One & Only.

review_img

toddalex

Exceeded all our lofty expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

It seems surreal we got to walk with lions, walk through Victoria Falls, see so much wildlife in their natural environment. The game trackers were incredibly knowledgeable and taught us about the terrain as we travelled around. Our tour Director was without question the best Director yet-charismatic, passionate and made our trip special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being less than 10 years away from a female leopard, waking up to the roar of a male lion 3km away, seeing and hearing African fish eagles overhead, watching the meerkats morning routine and eating habits, anchoring off seal island and watching the 5 meter great white sharks come up from the depths to take the bait, SO MANY TO PICK FROM!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your extraordinary journey to Botswana, South Africa, and Zambia! Thank you for travelling with Tauck!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RWJ

Tauck never disappoints!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Trip imcredible! Well organized and well led. The accomodations and food were superb. All our safari guides and staff were superior and enjoyed showing and teaching us all about the "bush". Our tour director, Zach, was exceptional and as knowledgeable as the guides. We especially enjoyed Camp Kalahari. Oh, for another day at each safari camp.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was different and exceptional. Walking with the lions! The meerkats! The lion kill with her two cubs! The leopard, the hippos, the charging elephant! Each evening with a special sundowner location. Our evening on the "pans." Capetown - the Brai, trip to Cape Point, the One and Only.

review_img

John Fenton

Africa Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We were disappointed at the lack of wild animals due to the fact it was the end of the dry season,however did enjoy some of the unique experiences such as sleeping in the Kalahari ,dinner at private home in S.Africa etc.Our tour director was excellent and it was an enjoyable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

When a female and a male lion appear together out of the long grass in Botswana at the Khwai River Lodge.

review_img

shapgo

A Work in Progress

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Great trip and excellent guide. Tauck did not prepare us for the Kalahari Desert experience and because of the bathroom/shower outside arrangement, I got bitten and had welts and itching for 3 days. Other than that, it was an amazing adventure and you are in better hands with Tauck than independent operators.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many - zebras outside our door at the Royal Livingstone, driving ATVs into the Salt Pans for a sundowner - utter peace. Then the Chobe River lunch cruise was amazing, the night drive with the infrared equipment, flying in a six seater plane, Capetown and the beautiful One and Only hotel, the Braii in Capetown, the meerkats and Bushmen, the anima

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall tour and expreienced some truly memorable moments. Traveling in these remote areas can sometimes be uncomfortable and we are very sorry that your experience in the Kalahari Desert was less than ideal. We thank you for for traveling with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

andybarros

Exciting adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Not for the faint of heart - this is an active, exciting trip. An interesting mix of city and safari all in one trip. The desert was very hot during the time we were there and the tent has no air conditioning. 109 in the shade and about 128 in the sun during the day. If you are adverse to heat take the trip at a cool time of the year.

Most Memorable Moment:

In the Kalahari dessert camp when the elephants were 2 feet from our tent. Terrifying and awesome at the same time!

review_img

BLT

Botswana, Zambia and South Africa 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience from our arrival in Johannesburg til departure. We were treated as royalty from beginning to end, from the Tea in the morning until the sundowners (cocktails) in the evening. Our guide, Zack, from Pretoria, was extraordinary, as were our guides and hosts at the camps. District 6 was extraordinary!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our walk with the lion cus.

review_img

rrsaun

Next best trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

My wife and I are trying to continue a tradition. In 1981, my parents took our children to China on the first approved American tour (American Express) after Nixon's visit . They flew military aircraft from city to city and stayed in hotels with unfinished floors above theirs. In 2013 we took our grandchildren to Zambia, Botswana and SA with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

At the One and Only in SA, our grandson said, "this is my kind of place." But the look on their faces at the Livingstone, Kwai River Lodge, and Camp Kalahari, suggest that each lodging was just that much more special. Choose your time of year carefully, but do not expect the staff to alter the weather. Food, lodging, and staff: 6 stars!!!!

review_img

Dappell

Zambia, Botswana, South Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

Incredible! We loved it!! The group, the lodges, the safaris, the guides and the animals - all were top notch. The tour was so well organized and run that I immediately started looking for my next Tauck trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being out in the vehicle tracking animals, watching the animals take their turns with the available food the jungle/desert offered them. The cycle of life was before my eyes in its most primitive form. So memorable!

review_img

Amazing Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

From the first day it was an experience we will never forget. Dinner on a train as it meandered through the wild, walking with young lions and safaris in the bush.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to choose one memorable moment as all were unique. Walking with the lions is on the top of the list.

review_img

drjenny

Perfect vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

The botswana, zambia, south africa trip was the best trip we have ever done. After only 2 days, we had already decided to go on another Tauck Africa trip! They take such good care of you, and every day is a new adventure, from being up close with lions and meerkats, to getting soaked by the spray at victoria falls. Don't wonder, just go!

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting up close with lions, and then meerkats was fantastic, awesome, scary, all at the same time!

review_img

mmwebuser

Amazing adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This particular trip was a little out of my comfort zone and one of the most amazing experiences of my life! The wildlife and scenery were stunning, the safari lodges amazing, the food delicious, the people of Africa so welcoming, warm and eager to share their beautiful land and culture, Victoria Falls unbelievable! Spectacular!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking with the lions in Zambia! Victoria Falls! Seeing the most gorgeous sunsets on the planet! Seeing all the baby wildlife! Lions, leopards, elephants, giraffe, wild dogs, amazing guides! The gorgeous coastline of South Africa! Each day was a new adventure with stunning views of nature at its finest!

review_img

Mustang

ZAMBIA, BOTSWANA AND SOUTH AFRICA

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Petting the lions in Zambia was the highlight of the entire trip! The game drives in Botswana were also great. The lodges were all good except the last one ... too primitive (no electricity) and no hot water the last day! Hotel in Capetown was super!

review_img

Nick of Skara Brae

Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Fantastic trip, although the itinerary is extremely personal. Wildlife encounters occur anytime, any place. A few are planned (walking with lions, meeting meerkats), but most are bestowed on the alert traveler. The nature walk with the bushmen was a very special experience. Kirstenbosch Garden is a recommended add-on in Cape Town.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting a genet cat in the bathroom at 3 am in Camp Kalahari, and finding myself in a forest surrounded by migrating elephants.

review_img

Floridagardener

Safaris in comfort

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

It started with zebras and impalas and baboons roaming the grounds of the Royal Livingston. It continued with the two river rides and the multitude of animals we observed. Next came the Khwai River Lodge with guides extraordinaire, delicious foods, marvelous accommodations, and people ready to cater to your every need. I need more words to finish.

Most Memorable Moment:

Khwai River Lodge.

review_img

mconnelly

Trip of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Every day a different thrill. Scenery in South Africa, and wildlife in Botswana beyond what I expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hyena walking past the truck so close I could have touched him

review_img

ElenaDCR

Start in Cape Town, Africa Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

A must for anyone's Bucket List, Not to be missed. The tour director was wonderful - each stop was exciting and well planned out. The group was as nice as any group could be. Well worth the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each stop - Waterfalls, Deserts, Lions, and other animals, Tents, Hotel rooms. Top Notch all around.

review_img

David NYC

Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The itinerary provided incomplete information regarding each location. Cape Town=Grade B unstructured planning. Royal Livingston=Grade A required additional exploration. Khwai River=Grade A++ Superior staff & living conditions. Camp Kalahari=Grade F Stone Age living conditions DISASTER. WE DO NOT RECOMMEN THIS TRIP TO ANY PERSON. MANAGEMENT REVIEW.

Most Memorable Moment:

Khwai River Lodge exceptional services and safari. Well informed staff for the safari. Tour Director excellent, energetic and available 7X24 during the entire trip. Great person.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We see that you have already spoken with one of our Guest Relations Specialists who is in the process of researching this matter. In the meantime we do thank you for your patronage and loyalty and look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MFerrara

Exceeded our high expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our first Tauck trip was more than memorable. I can't think of a better way to get an introduction to Africa - from the cosmopolitan city of Cape Town to "roughing it" in the Kalahari desert. This is really four trips in one. Our Tauck guide was very informative, extremely well organized and by the end of the trip we all felt like family.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many experiences and wonderful surprises that it's hard to pick just one but if pressed, we'd probably choose the evening on the Makgadikgadi pans - adventure mixed with serenity and the only place where one can actually have this experience.

review_img

Susie Q

South Africa, Zambia, Botswana

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The trip was incredible!! A few things I would change are as follows: less time in Capetown and add a day to Zambia and Kwai River Lodge in Botswana. Reconsider lodging at Kalahari...not enough to see and do there and very hot during October...not suitable accommodation during extreme heat! Otherwise, a spectacular trip...highly recommend!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing all the big game!

review_img

powersanguino

Best trip ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We booked Tauck for the first time, and we love it!! Everything was very organized, we have to do nothing, everything was done for us, small group. our tour guy Chris, was so professional, he knew everything. We love it so much that we don't want to use anybody else, we are planning to go in another 3 trips with Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

So many, but I would say, walking with Lions, and sleeping in the Kalahari dessert,

review_img

edwardsmith

Botswana, South Africa, Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We had a marvelous time touring South Africa with a great group of people and a wonderful Tauck Director. Everyday we saw more and more animal and surprises beyond our wildest dreams.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching a Leopard mother and cub playing near a stream. Also the walk with the lion cubs. There were so many more its hard to choose.

review_img

EWender

Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This trip is a wonderful combination of city (Cape Town), spectacular scenery (Victoria Falls) and two different fascinating safaris in Botswana. And all of this was accompanied by super accommodations and attention paid to comfort.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting with the meerkats as they woke up and began foraging. A second was observing the wild dog family including four, unruly pups.

review_img

JoWeber

South Africa, Botswana and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We were on the August 22, 2013 trip leaving out of Capetown. Chris was our FABULOUS Tauck tour director. You should really appreciate his energy and attitude about giving it his all! Bring a coat, yes mittens and a sock hat for 37 degree weather when in desert. Yes it can be warm by day and cold by night. No worries about computers in hotels!

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching a kill with wild dogs and hanging out with the meerkats!

review_img

Winton Kemmis

African trip was marvelous.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Very much enjoyed fellow travelers, constant events and wonderful hotels and food. Tauck could not have not have included any more in this trip. Enjoyed all the aircraft and river boat transfers and night in the Kalahari. What a great trip. We are glad we arrived in Capetown a week early. Many thanks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing game in preserve, Great White Sharks, Royal Livingstone Hotel, Victoria Falls and Khwai River Lodge Capetown and Night sleeping in the Kalahari...and the stars. Great food and wine

review_img

Nightsky

THAT INTOXICATING CALL OF THE WILD!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Awesome trip helped by extensive knowledge of [Employee Name] and local guides. Debra looked after us like a Mother Hen too. We were spoilt with sightings of so many animals and birds in Botswana and it will remain very special in our hearts. Loved the diversity of both camps and liked the little surprises and the evening sundowners.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several herds of elephants (about 60 in total) crossed the Chobe River in Botswana with babies in tow!! Also, at Khwai River we saw a leopard search for her cub for it to feed on an impala kill she had hidden under a tree. The affection on meeting up was so touching abd the cub jumping on little branches too light for its weight was hilarious.

review_img

Susan G

Did I Really Do This?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I just got back from the South Africa, Zambia & Botswana trip. Every day was full of excitement and adventure and met all the standards I associate with Tauck. This trip seemed way past my comfort level but I enjoyed every minute! The bush camps are wonderful and the game drives were exciting as we experienced so many animals. A trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

By far it was the first night at Camp Kalahari.We were woken up in the middle of the night by 3 male lions roaring and fighting right outside our tents. It was terrifying and exciting all at the same time and most people lost sleep that night. In the morning we got great pictures of huge paw prints right outside the tent.

review_img

marielouise

South Africa, Zambia and Botswana on July-August

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Enjoyed this trip - Maybe Cape Town in winter not the best part ... rain and cold weather then - Everything else very exciting ... my 17th tour with Tauck ! Suggestion : birders and n0n-birders should NOT be together ...We missed a LION because a birder wanted to wait for a bird ... Also, the Kahalari camp has no electricity and no hot water .

Most Memorable Moment:

there were too many to name them all ... getting so close to nature ... with the lions in our camp one night !!! and the meerkats, so friendly !!! Would do it again !

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CAnderson

Botswana, South Africa and Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Wow! Our trip to Africa with Tauck was better than I ever anticipated. Everything was first class: excellent accommodations, excellent food with vegetarian options, wonderful private activities and exciting surprises along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were 2: 1. A train ride through the villages and bush of Zambia where we were the only guests and were treated like royalty. 2. A river safari on the Chobe River: beautiful scenery and animals galore as we sat and enjoyed a delicious lunch buffet.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to this wonderful destination and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bikerbill

South Africa, Botswana, Zambia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We took this trip in mid-May, 2013. WOW!! I can't imagine anything better then what we just experienced. we will definitly tour with Tauck again. I would recommend that the tour of Cape Town be changed to a tour of the Stellenbosch area. No one liked the city tour. I would also recommend that the tour end at Khwai River rather than Cape Town.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to record here. Really!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so please you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you on many more!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button