TravelerReviews

Tanzania: Serengeti to Zanzibar

review_img

Sanserino

This trip was hard

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had amazing guides, our tour director was great and we saw hundreds of animals. Our complaint is there was too much time in the safari vehicles over dusty, gut wrenching roads. Day 3 and 4 were 8 hours with very little break. We recommend that Tauck arrange for air transport from the Ngorongoro Crater to the Serengeti, no need to drive it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon. It was one of the only activities that wasn't in a safari vehicle.

review_img

Robert Streilein

Serengeti To Zanzibar Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had a great time. Our Tour Director did a great job. Made the trip a lot of fun. Guides had an unbelievable eye for spotting game and were extremely knowledgeable. Every question was answered in detail. Note the guide by Susan Whalen was very helpful and useful for note taking and tracking game spotted.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride over The Serengeti early in the morning.

review_img

Alan Cook

Tanzania and Zanzibar 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Our trip with Tauck was an excellent experience and we would and have highly recommended them to our friends and relatives. The people of Tanzania are very friendly and helpful and we never felt uncomfortable during our trip. The people of Tanzania are very proud of their country and their national parks.

Most Memorable Moment:

An encounter with an elephant family and the Serengeti ballon ride!

review_img

jhogsa

Big Nine!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

It was a fun trip. It was very well organized. It does include some early mornings, but they are worth it. We were fortunate to see the "Big Five" - Lion, Elephant, Cape Buffalo, Rhino & Leopard! We,also, saw the "Big Nine" - Giraffe, Cheetah, Hippopotamus, Zebra! But there is never a guarantee. Good trip no matter what you see!

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the pride of lions!

review_img

RichardSaunders

Tanzania Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Third trip to Africa but a first for granddaughters--8 and 12. Triple accommodations were crowded and the food in the lodges was just OK. But, that said, we'd book it again in a nanosecond. Must remember difficult logistics there for restaurants. Long. Rough jeep rides deserve 4 stars--rougher than in India/Nepal. Nevertheless, my iffy back did OK.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wildlife was exceptional: black rhino, leopard, cheetah, dozens of lions, migrating wildebeests. Director and guides informative and great to travel with. Wonderful balloon ride at dawn. Ngorongoro caldera awesome to behold. Visit to Oldavai George was on the bucket list. Zanzibar hotel and snorkeling from the dhow had the grandkids in heaven.

review_img

Lois69

The adventure of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our first trip to Africa and we were looking for an adventure that would combine wildlife, culture, memorable accommodations and well-traveled companions. This trip was above and beyond our expectations! Our tour director and guides were all personable and so knowledgeable--we felt sad to say goodbye. Hoping to return to Africa someday.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon ride at sunrise over the Serengeti and the champagne breakfast in the bush was probably our most memorable moment. Although the herd of zebras (estimate: 800-1,000) migrating on the Serengeti was absolutely amazing and a close second.

review_img

MargaretWinters

An Extraordinary Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The safari in Tanzania, ending with a visit to Zanzibar, was beautifully organized (with the exception of allowing us to relax a bit at the end of the afternoon before dinner - we rarely had the time). The guides seemed to know everything we needed to understand what we were seeing and experiencing - and were fun to be with too.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to say - seeing the animals in their own habitat, being on Zanzibar ... Perhpas the most memorable was the balloon ride over the Serengeti, but it is a close call!

review_img

Jill Ripley

Tanzania: Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

What was there not to love? Best trip ever. From the superior tour director and the drivers, what a adventure! The itinerary could not have been better Seeing the Maasai villages and school was inspirational The African people were true ambassadors of their extraordinary country. The accommodations were superb, especially the Hyatt in Zanzibar.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our trip leaving and coming down Ngorongoro Crater, seeing all the animals in their natural habitat.

review_img

susjam1

Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Very, very exciting. It was everything described and more. The Serena lodges and their staffs were wonderful. Even the weather cooperated. My only slightly negative comment is that the trip is much more physically demanding than one would think based on the trip description. I made it all the way, but really could have used a few more restrooms.

Most Memorable Moment:

A large male lion slowly approached our vehicles and literally brushed against the truck as he advanced. Thrilling.

review_img

greg robinson

Amazing adventure to Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our treck through Africa. Guides/drivers were amazing in their knowledge of the land and animals and our director was very organized and personable to everyone. Weather was wetter than expeced but cooler too, which was a perk. No bugs until we reached the western Serengeti and that was minor. Zanzibar was unique......

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the animals running free and playing. Lots of babies to watch and so amazing to know that they are living off of the land with instincts to guide them each and every day......

review_img

alberta

A WOW trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This was our 6th Tauck tour and the best in the past 25 years! Tanzania is an amazing country, we would like to go back!

Most Memorable Moment:

The 4 guides, incredible guys and what about our tour director - very dedicated! The sceneries, living in the animal kingdom, and the lodges! Fascinating Zanzibar Island, another world!

review_img

AnnWalker

tanzania: serengeti to zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Fabulous. Our Tauck Director was outstanding. She made the trip. The setting was awesome but the tour director is truly responsible to ensuring that a participant leaves with an overwhelming positive experience. She did that. Always had a smile, so pleasant to all regardless if there were any "difficult" individuals on the trip. I can't say enough

Most Memorable Moment:

it was all exceptional , the Kearsley Guides were incredible and their knowledge was what created every moment being memorable.

review_img

PhilipNewfield

great trip to Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Overall a great experience. Well planned, excellent venues and an outstanding tour director. I would strongly suggest that a step-down box be provided for exiting the range vehicles and that drivers insure that each passenger steps down safely. My wife slipped twisting her shoulder resulting in a fractured humerus

Most Memorable Moment:

The game drives were the highlight.

review_img

JohnDauska

Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

We have traveled on 12 different escorted tours. This was our first with Tauck. Our tour director and four game drive guides provided us with superior service. Their knowledge and ability to communicate enhanced what is truely a unique travel experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ballon ride over the Serengeti at dawn gave us a unique observation point for the wildlife and topography of the Serengeti.

review_img

Pmellow

A fantastic adventure to Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

We had never been on any tours before this one. We liked that it was a small group. The accommodations were incredible and great food. Our Tour Director was incredibly organized and knowledgable. Our drivers were the best. They knew about pretty much everything we saw and we saw more animals than we could have imagined.

Most Memorable Moment:

It can't be kept to one moment. Seeing a leopard take down a baby warthog was truly amazing. Seeing the big 9. The balloon ride over the Serengeti. Staying in luxury lodges on the Serengeti. The infinity pool that looked over the plain with giraffes and wildebeests off in the distance. The visit to the Maasai village was amazing.

review_img

DallasBruce

Lifetime experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Since returning from Africa I have told all my friends, if ever they get the chance go, and if you go, go with Tauck. Tauck made a great trip into a lifetime adventure. People made the difference from the Trip Director to the guides to the village people and most of all the school children. The chance to see all the animals in the greatest setting

Most Memorable Moment:

Number one on my bucket list was balloon ride over the Serengeti

review_img

cuzin GJ

Exceptional safari in Tanzania and Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Perfect time for safari (no mosquitos, no tse tse). First class lodges + tented camp. Casual attire. Food tasty + safe. Animals + birds everywhere, every day. scenery/sunsets amazing. Maasai village unique. Balloon ride great. dhow sailing trip in Zanzibar a blast. Our four 4WD drivers truly incredible. Every day is an adventure into the unknown.

Most Memorable Moment:

A virtual tie between 6 elephants (2 babies) walking next to our 4WD vehicle while they were eating and watching a pride of lions with cubs wrestling and then feeding from mom.

review_img

twirl711

Tanzania: We Will Return!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The only downside of this trip was that it ended too soon!! Every day this tour just kept getting better and better. From the balloon ride at dawn over the Serengeti to the spice farm in Zanzibar..these memories will last a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tauck uses the most wonderful companies all over the world and Tanzania was no different. Our safari guides could spot animals that were well camouflaged. However, on one game drive spotting was unnecessary, a group of elephants surrounded our jeep. It was breathtaking to be arms length from such a huge yet beautiful animal.

review_img

Jim E

Tanzania Safari + Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

One of the best trips I've ever taken

Most Memorable Moment:

The Ngorongoro Crater and the Serena Hotel perched on it were amazing

review_img

dke4art

An amazing trip of lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The trip was so well organized and so well run by our tour guide Jeff. I appreciated that the Masai village and the school added another dimension to our extensive game drive. Of course the game drive was fabulous. We were able to see so many animals very close up and observe their behavior as well as the changing landscape of the Serengeti.

Most Memorable Moment:

The last drive we came upon a small tree in which three lion cubs were resting. Another cub played with flies on the ground while two lionesses sprawled in the shade to rest. We watched as the cubs came down from the tree, clambered over the adults, and then settled in the shade created by our Land Cruiser, gazing at us with their golden eyes.

review_img

Ted Ingersoll

Fun-packed, experience-rich experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Exceeded expectations, which were high. Guides superbly trained and fun to be with. Tauck director Jeff [Employee Name] the best. Animal viewing and photography ops superb. Rough roads smoothed by great company and unforgettable experiences. Help with transfers going and coming especially welcome. Fast paced and packed with fun. Our third Tauck trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing lioness up close with cub babies -- heard and spotted by guide and grandson.

review_img

msafiri

Beyond all expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Awe-inspiring trip! As if seeing majestic animals in their natural habitat wasn't enough of a mind-blowing experience, the Tanzanian people were super friendly. The guides were indulgent, the weather, food and lodgings were great and the picnics in Ngorongoro and Serengeti were heady. I had to pinch myself to bring me back to earth! I'm going back!

Most Memorable Moment:

More than one memorable moment! Zebras drinking water at the hotel pool, the balloon ride, seeing a leopard on the hotel grounds in early morning,the spice farm in Zanzibar, the Maasai village, the school children, and talking to the locals. It was all intoxicating stuff.

review_img

EileenRH

Memories of Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Each place visited on this trip was special. In the Ngorongoro Crater we saw the elusive black rhino. In the Serengeti we saw the "Big Five" and the great migration of wildebeests and zebras, as well as numerous birds and animals pointed out by our sharp-eyed drivers and guide. It was truly a wonderful and memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two memorable moments: The early morning hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti followed by a champagne breakfast right on the Serengeti plain; as well as the dhow boat ride and lobster lunch on a secluded island in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Zanzibar. Both were fantastic experiences!! Thank you, Tauck!

review_img

Jessidoo

Amazing bucket list trip checked off my list!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

If you want a real review of this trip then I need more than 350 characters. We definitely enjoyed the Tanzania: Serengeti to Zanzibar trip that we took for Christmas/New Years 2017, but there are details I would love other people to know before they take this journey. Feel free to contact me for details if you wish.

Most Memorable Moment:

As with other tours we have taken, the most memorable moments are meeting fellow travelers with the same love of travel. We also made amazing new friends in the safari truck drivers and will never forget ringing in the new year with them, our tour guide, hotel guests and local workers. So much fun and everyone was so welcoming!

review_img

DBCahill

Awesome trip to an amazing country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Tanzania is a beautiful country filled with warm, caring, intelligent people who deeply care for the land and its inhabitants. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable about a variety of animals and wildlife. The dust could be overpowering at times but luckily the rains came towards the end of our trip which was very much welcomed by all!

Most Memorable Moment:

Definitely the lion cubs and snorkeling in Zanzibar

review_img

R and M E

One fantastic trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our recent safari with Tauck to Tanzania and Zanzibar was the trip of a lifetime. From beginning to end Tauck gave us a vacation that we will never forget. Our tour director and the various guides were stellar. There was never a question that they could not answer. The animals were abundant and fabulous! Thank-you, Tauck, and we will return!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was our balloon ride over the serengeti at sunrise and the male lion being enthusiastically welcomed by his pride within 15 feet of our vehicle.

review_img

Uncle Bob

Tanzania Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

From the minute we arrived everything was flawless. The guides, lodging, even wondered if you special ordered the animals because we witnessed so much. Special surprises which were not in the itinerary. Once when expecting a box lunch, was met by entire waitstaff for an elegant lunch. Pinch me, felt like I was in a movie. perfect!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to narrow it to just one moment as there were so many. The first lion I laid eyes on if I had to pick. Balloon ride over the Serengeti an extreme close second. Thank you Tauck!

review_img

iam3

A Life Changing Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

The tour director was outstanding, planning every detail for our total pleasure. Tanzania is an amazing destination with warm and friendly people and amazing landscapes and animals. The lodging was excellent as were the game drive guides. It is a great, active vacation. Our first family trip with Tauck definitely won't be our last.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many great memories for a lifetime ... up close encounters with the elephants at Tarangire, the evening Sundowner celebrations, hot air ballooning over the Serengeti, animals and bush lunch in Ngorongoro Crater, playing with school children at Tumaini, Maasai village encounter, Zanzibar sea safari and getting to know the guides and tour mates.

review_img

frequent flyer

Exceeded my expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I knew I will like this trip. It was my first time in Africa and I knew that we will see a lot of wild game, but what I saw exceeded my expectations. We were lucky to see all Big 5, even the Rhino was a little too far to take a reasonable picture of him. Quantity and quality of other animals we saw made up for the Rhino. Guides made the trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Balloon flight was great, but seeing a young elephant "giving a trunk" to 5 lions sitting above him in the tree was priceless. All of us thought that the elephant was in danger - it was exciting to watch that scene unfold.

review_img

pismoal

Birthday in the Serengeti

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

This is our 2nd safari and by far the best. Our tour director went out of her way to insure the adventure was better than any of us expected. The timing of the trip was wonderful to avoid crowds, see abundant animals, and most of all to see all the babies. My wife had her 70th Birthday in the Serengeti and the lodge staff made it special for her.

Most Memorable Moment:

At Tarangire were were surrounded by a herd of elephants who didn't mind our presence and got almost within touching distance including some very young calves. One calf was estimated to be a week old and it nursed from its mother right adjacent to our truck. An old female was very curious and came up to the truck to check us out before moving on.

review_img

ellenzale

Amazing African safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2016

Going to Africa, seeing animals in the wild, was something I've wanted to do my entire life. And after a European trip with Tauck last year, I was sure they would be the best tour company to do this with. We were not disappointed. We saw more animals than we could could absorb, nearly. Our tour director and guides were unfailingly excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride over the Serengeti.

review_img

Bernie33

Embedded in the Great Migration and much, much more

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

There were 20 people on our safari, plus marvelous Tour Director and four expert driver/guides. The guides have super vision. Seems like they could identify an eagle in El Paso if they were in a car in Dallas! The main roads are bumpy dirt roads, and the side roads even more so. It added to adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a gazelle being born, seeing young zebra learning to stand, zebras mating, hyenas trying to mate, elephant thinking about mating, lunch on a an island beach near Zanzibar sampling a variety of local fruits. And the balloon ride over the Serengeti.

review_img

Watercolor

Tanzania, Jan.28 to Feb. 11, 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

Unbelievable. Everything I hoped for. Our tour director was incredible... her depth of local information, her obviously close and affectionate relationship with our guides and lodge employees, and her caring attitude and desire to provide camaraderie among our group, was awesome. The tour guides were exceptional. I don't have enough room left....

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention. The game drives... elephants, zebras, giraffes, wildebeests, warthogs, hippopotamuses, lionesses, baboons, gazelles, incredible birdlife, and more. The balloon ride at dawn over the Serengeti. I want to go back!!!

review_img

Rhondaness

Experience of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Amazing time on the endless plain of the Serengeti. Guides were wonderful and we had a fantastic Director. Wildlife appeared as if someone was taking our orders: we'd like to see a crocodile feast please...and there it was! We'd like to see a leopard in a tree...and there he is! How about a lioness on a hunt? There she is! Loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lions in our tent camp! 30 yards away. No kidding!

review_img

BruceandHeidi

Tanzania - once in a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

A great trip; unlike any other we have done. The main attraction is the animals, of course, and they were plentiful, healthy, and accessible. The guides were great at finding new things, explaining the wildlife, and making sure we felt every outing was worthwhile. Prepare to be jostled & dusty, but well fed and cared for. 5 star but I won't be back

Most Memorable Moment:

We had been on a game drive for hours, looking for cats. We stopped on a hilltop to watch the sunset in Tarangire, and then began the drive back to camp. Suddenly a guest yelled "stop! I see a leopard." It was dusk and camp curfew was a couple minutes away, but right by the side of the road was a leopard in a baobab tree.

review_img

Janell C

Africa

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

It was everything I expected and more! The tour director was great, as were the tour guides that drove us around. They could spot animals with their bare eyes that I could only find with binoculars.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon ride across the Serengeti was fabulous. The breakfast served on linen tablecloths was what I had always pictured in my mind but better. There were "loos with a view" available and as I was using one a dazzle of zebras walked by. I guess they didn't know you shouldn't walk in front of the loo and look at people using it! :)

review_img

Quincysallie5860

What a way to spend our 50th!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We took our family on the Tanzania and Zanzibar trip in July. We had previously taken the Grand Safari of Tanzania and Kenya and enjoyed it so much we wanted to share it with our family. This trip was just as amazing, the tour director, the guides, the animals, the hotels and the other travelers. Which trip we would recommend, do both!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the giraffes appear out of the mist. All the baby animals.

review_img

IC

Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This trip of a lifetime exceeded expectations by the end of the first game drive. Then, each day got even better. Tauck didn't miss a detail in planning this adventure, and our tour director made the trip even more special. The Tauck Director and the drivers are all genuinely passionate about Tanzania. Thank you!

Most Memorable Moment:

Tough to say what was most memorable, as each day held a unique experience.

review_img

Jujubee2243

Tanzania to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

What a fabulous journey! Our tour guide and our four local guides were so knowledgeable, personable, and enthusiastic. We were able to see the "big nine", from the leopard in a tree to the cheetah lurking in the grass to the rare black rihino in the distance. From the dusty Serengeti plains to the warm waters of the Indian Ocean WOW

Most Memorable Moment:

There are too many "memorable " moments. Each one was spectacular,

TAUCK RESPONSE

Tanzania is truly an amazing destination! We are so glad you had an extraordinary experience seeing all of the wildlife! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

OCTAVIO CHOY

TANZANIA : FROM SERENGETI TO ZANZIBAR

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The trip was well organized with competent guides and tour director. The only disappointment was that most of the migration had gone north when we arrived, though TAUCK can not be blamed. The time at Zanzibar was good, as an aftermath, but did not compare to the rest of the trip

Most Memorable Moment:

There were four: The view of Ngorogoro crater; the visit to Tumaini Junior school and talking to the African students being in the Odulpai Gorge; The Tarangeri park

review_img

JHS

Unique experience - to do once.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Certainly saw a lot of animals. Tour Director and local safari guides were excellent - knowledgeable, caring and attentive. Food and lodging was overall good, with the exception of the bungalows/tents in Tarangire. Zanzibar local guide too much a showman and aloof, although excellent on the spice tour. Should have had a Stone Town walking tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Serengeti ballon ride - awesome. And a large lion pride at a fresh zebra kill.

review_img

Tvtchr

Best trip ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

I couldn't wait for this Tauck Tour, my first. It far exceeded my expectations. My every need was taken care of by our outstanding tour director, J.S., and our skilled and knowledgeable drivers. We saw the "big nine" within days and were astounded by the sheer numbers and diversity of the wildlife. The trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many! Vehicles surrounded by elephants. Leopard in a tree overhanging the road. Maasai village. Balloon ride. Fishing village on Lake Victoria. Cheetah and cubs. Every one a lifetime memory.

review_img

giraffejill

Tanzania and Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tour director excellent. Tour fantastic. Trip of a lifetime. Ending in exotic Zanzibar was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

The 1st class lunches set up on the plains. Well, actually - everything!

review_img

mandrk

Dreams do come true

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Seeing lions, zebras, giraffes and elephants up close is an incredible thrill that truly made this a trip of a lifetime. Our tour director Chris and driver-guides were exceptional. Words cannot describe the panorama of Tanzania and seeing so many animals. Seeing the beginning of the great wildebeest migration was awesome. We loved everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment has to be the hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti. Watching the sunrise from our balloon and seeing the animals below made this a “bucket list" experience before we even knew it was on our list. This was just one of hundreds of incredible experiences on this trip. Great memories made for a lifetime!

review_img

E Teresa

The wonders of Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Our trip was beyond our expectations. Everything was perfect. the weather, company, our Tauck guide Chris and our local guides but the biggest thrill was the animals. We saw the big 9 and I understand that is unusual. We saw the Wildebeest migration, pride of lions, elephants,zebras, giraffes, gazelles and a baboon with twin babies. superior.

Most Memorable Moment:

Herd of elephants including several generations including new babies. Actually all of the baby animals. giraffe, zebra, gazelle, lion, baboon, so wonderous and almost forgot the baloon ride over the Serengeti. Sorry couldnt just name 1 most memorable.

review_img

LMlynek

Trip of a lifetime.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

22 hours in a plane to begin the tour. Upon meeting the Tauck staff, I felt that we were on the tour of a lifetime. Each of the time we moved from one "tent" to another as our locations changed, we were always in awe of the facilities. Who heard of a marble bathroom in a tent. Meals were absolutely fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wake up call: "Your coffee will be late, there is an Animal on the road. Told my wife "no coffee" Went out on the deck and saw the elephant walking away with a tree he pulled out from the front of the tent next door. Coffee was delivered 10 minutes late.

review_img

NMontgomery

Tanzania and Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

We arrived in Arusha and were greeted by our guide who effortlessly took care of us through the whole journey. The guides were friendly, informative, and tremendous ambassadors for their country. The scenery was spectacular and it was like living in a National Geographic video. The accommodations were all different and each was a new experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

We encountered a group of boulders in the middle of the plain and as we turned the corner there were two lion cubs on the first boulder, with nine lions perched on various other rocks. Off in the distance were the zebras and the wildebeest, with the evening breeze starting to pick up and the sun moving lower in the sky. It was surreal.

review_img

Dodo

My Safari en Afrique - Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

My friend and I researched many tour operators before selecting Tauck and our experience was second to none. Our journey was outstanding. The accommodations, food selection, staff, tour guide, game drivers and of course, the animals, made our trip super enriching. There was nothing lacking. My trip of a lifetime was a dream come true.

Most Memorable Moment:

The lions did it for me. Watching them watch us was quite impressive.

review_img

ccp

Sweat and Glory

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

I have never been so physical uncomfortable as I was on the game rides. Sweat rolling down my body, flies swarming (and biting), warm water to drink and few potty stops. And yet the absolute glory of the land and animals made this trip almost indescribable. It helped that we had a great group, very special guides, and great accommocations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride!. I would pay the whole price of the trip just to do that one more time.

review_img

Sockeye

Tanzania: Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Living in Switzerland and having seen the big five only in the zoo, we wanted to see them in reality. BINGO! We have seen them all. Well organised trip with excellent Tauck director. Beautiful lodges, very good food, very knowledgable guides and jeep drivers,the spice tour in Sanzibar was very interesting and intriguing with great sent to the nose

Most Memorable Moment:

on one spot we have seen seven lions: a mother with 4 cubs, a male and an other female

review_img

labellemeduse

A dream come true!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

The whole journey was surreal - we saw sooooo many animals! The accommodations were incredible, especially the tented camps. The visit to a local school was special. The local guides were fun & knowledgeable. Our tour director, Chris, had such enthusiasm and passion and was so caring and "real" - loved him!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the beautiful animals in their natural habitat. We saw babies, mating, killing, etc. - the Circle of Life. I also loved visiting a local school. Another memorable moment was sitting in the middle of the Serengeti, sipping champagne & watching the wildebeast, zebras & elephants walk by as the sun set - a special treat from our TD!

review_img

EWeinreich

Tanzania & Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Loved the special events such as the balloon ride, Massi greeting at one lodge, very good food . I chose Tauck because you have a good reputation. Well deserved for the most part. However the 2nd lodge where we spent 2 nights was unacceptable, horrible bathrooms, poor lightings. Worst your vans the were rough, messycomfortable unacceptable!

Most Memorable Moment:

The wonderful experience of the hot air balloon & brunch on the Serengeti.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Speegs

Words Do No Justice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Words simply can't be used to describe this trip. The itinerary is an appropriate balance of culture, animals, scenery, and relaxation. While conditions are not always as we would expect stateside, if you accept that "it's Africa" you will not be disappointed. The guides are first class and work extremely hard to make this trip memorable!

Most Memorable Moment:

Shortly after arriving in the Serengeti, we saw a lioness and a young male lion lounging on a small knoll. The excitement quickly escalated when the two lions began to stalk a nearby impala. We watched, completely amazed, as the lions maneuvered into position. Although the hunt ultimately did not succeed, the hunt will not be soon forgotten.

review_img

sealer

An African Education

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The memories of our trip to Tanzania just keep getting better as I edit through the 2,500 photos I brought back. Our wonderful guides/ drivers became not only our friends but our teachers. I can now identify the sound of a lion at night and know that it may be up to 5 km away. It's not useful knowledge in Wis. but a fact I will never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting at the pool when a mature elephant came up to eat a tree on the other side. The guards quickly moved us to the lodge.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so thrilled to hear you had such a great and memorable experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

THadley

Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Mostly good trip especially our tour leader and the local guides. Hotels were first class. Animal viewing was great. Tauck should reevaluate the tipping policy which now suggests no tips necessary other than tour leader, but, clearly most everyone expected a tip. The Masai village stop was the worst part of the trip. They are accomplished hustlers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching a crocodile attack a wildebeest.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey. Your coments regarding gratuities will be shared with our management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DMayavski

TANZINIA ROCKS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I WILL RETURN TO TANZINIA. IT WAS BEYOND EXPECTATIONS, THE TOUR DIRECTOR & GUIDES WERE AWARE OF NEEDS & WANTS, IMPARTING MUCH INFO ABOUT ECO SYSTEMS, ANIMALS, BIRDS, REPTILES AND THE HISTORY OF THE RIFT VALLEY. GREAT HOTELS. LEAVE OUT ZANSIBAR. THE INDIAN OCEAN IS BEAUTIFUL, SNORKELING WAS NOT, FEW PLACES TO EAT, SPICE FARM LIMITED

Most Memorable Moment:

SEEING THE ANIMALS FREE IN THEIR ENVIROMENT

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this amazing part of the world and hope we may have the honor of hosting you again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mare

Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was our 8th Tauck trip, but rated up at the top. The tented camps were amazing! We had three local guides who were a wealth of knowledge and insight regarding the animals and the customs of the area. The game drives and balloon ride were much more than we expected.

Most Memorable Moment:

How do you compare any experience with lying in bed at night listening to the lions roar right outside of your tent or when you come eye to eye with an elephant who is annoyed that you are on the road he is trying to cross? (Could not just pick one,,,there were so many)

TAUCK RESPONSE

My gosh, what a wonderful memorable moment you describe! We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

wiggles19

Serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

It was the trip of a lifetime!! Our guides on the safari trips were OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Accomodations were beautiful!!!!!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sleeping in the tented camps and the safaris.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey to this wonderful destination and thank you so much for sharing your feedback!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LSchwartz

Tanzania to Zanzibar - Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The trip was well thought out, well paced, and comprehensive. Our tour guide Chris was extraordinary! He was always keeping us informed and did it with an amazing sense of humor. The local guides were dedicated to making our safari experience a memorable one. We were totally taken care of. The trip far exceeded our expectations!

Most Memorable Moment:

Being with the animals in their natural state was awe and wonder day after day. I will never forget the elephants crossing the road to the river and our guides making room on the road for the elephants to pass. Or the lions who deferred to the elephants so they could cross the water! I was totally mezmorized!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so delighted you enjoyed your journey and returend with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Botwickhhi

Botwi ck review - Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

You folks really know how to do it! MUST keep the direct Serengeti-Zanzibar flight vs Serengeti-Arusha-Zanzibar flights. Kudos to Chris [Employee Name] - he's a consummate pro and worth every penny he's paid! We'll be back

Most Memorable Moment:

From landing at Arusha to departing Zanzibar!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so thrilled you enjoyed your journey and we look forward to hosting you on many future adventures!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cmnelson

Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Being a seasoned traveler - this was by far the most amazing trip I have taken. This was my first time with Tauck and that are definitely First Class. The time you are on this trip goes really fast - we were busy every day. And some days up at the crack of dawn. The animals we saw and the scenery were beautiful. The drivers & guide were great!

Most Memorable Moment:

The lions with the elephants - and on another day the lion pride.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

garyhart

Tanzania 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

Our safari to Tanzania was a most wonderful experience. From day one, we were taken care of by our guide Chris. The Serena hotels were all first rate, and in the most charming places in the world. Our drivers, Isaiah and Khalid, were superb. The could spot a mouse at 30 MPH on a dirt road in the rain...and we did spot animals galore.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick one moment... The balloon ride over the Serengeti was quite an experience, but probably the first morning in the Ngorogoro Caldera where we found ourselves in the middle of the great migration of wildebeasts, Zebra, warthogs, hyenas, flamengos, and much more was breathtaking. A close second was the Elephant 3 ft from our vehicle.

review_img

cocopuff

Tanzania to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This was one of the best trips I have had. Everything was first class and well worth every penny I spent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti was awesome.

review_img

Dick Knodt

African "bush" experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Fabulous! What really makes this trip is the high caliber of tour director and tour guides. Tour Directors daily lectures on history, politics, wildlife, culture and native people of Tanzania were very informative and enhanced the overall experience. The tour guides would find wildlife that we would have never found. Stunning landscapes.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hippos frolicking in the river below as we ballooned across the Serengeti at dawn. Champagne brunch in the bush that followed was a real treat. Accommodations and meals made this a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

review_img

AlanGetz

Gorget the Zoo

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

A trip like non other. If you like animals and are ready for some rough roads, natural terrain, learning about the history of the universe and being exposed to ancient cultures and practices, you will love this experience. It's not relaxing, but it is exciting and adventurist.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being chased by a buffalo is not everyone's idea of fun, but it's hard to recall a more vivid memory.

review_img

jfortunato

Tanzania, serengeti to Zanzibar

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Outstanding amazing adventure. Guide, Jessica was wonderful, relaxed&fun but had everything under control. Jessica's response was always, "no problem". I know many arrangements had to be made behind the scenes to get things done. Jessica made it look effortless. Food was ok, but it was about seeing the animals. Zanzibar was disappointing-no beach

Most Memorable Moment:

The hot air balloon ride at sunrise over the Serengeti watching the zebra and gazelle race by, the pride of lions cuddle in the bush and the 200 hippos gathered in the river was breathtaking and amazing. The champagne breakfast in the bush was a scene from "Out of Africa". This was a special "moment" in my life.I have recommended Tauck to others

review_img

Catwoman

Unbelievable Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

From our first moment in Tanzania to our last, this trip was spectacular! Don't be scared off by what you've heard about Africa, this trip was safe, action-packed, and loaded with surprises. My sister and I love animals and had always wanted to go "on safari". We took over 6000 photos! This trip was life-changing for us both. We'll be back...

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was when we independently (without help from our guides) found a mother cheetah and her three teenage cubs. Our photos are spectacular!

review_img

Oswalddrews

Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Great trip, saw all animals plus a lot of birds. Had blue sky and most of the countryside was green. Very good accomondation and good food. Did not see any mosquitos. Tour guide for Tauck,was outstanding. All drivers did a very good job plus finding the wildlife. Thank you all, it was a lot of fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride

review_img

Barrie

Tanzania Safari

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Just fabulous. a wonderful vacation. The animals were spectacular, the pace of the tour was just right, the Tauck tour director was superb and even the weather exceeded expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a leopard about 10feet above us in a tree, just calmly eyeing us!

review_img

Woo

Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

Loved the trip to Tanzania. It was a trip of a lifetime. I thought I was going for only the animals but quickly realized it was so much more than that. Africa is beautiful, the culture amazing and all the people we met in Tanzania were so warm and kind. I can't speak highly enough about this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The best day was when we had elephants on both sides of the road and we could actually hear them eat. It was a large herd of all ages and they wandered back and forth to the shrubs on both sides. We sat quiet and they came so close to us as they passed by. Amazing & magnificent! Loved watching them be protective of the young calves. Fabulous day!

review_img

Willoughby

This trip is a life experience!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2011

We went to Tanzania in 2010. We were so surprised with how wonderful all of the accommodations were on this trip. We didn't expect resorts and European trained chefs! We had a great time especially going into the bush to find the great five!! And we saw them all. If you ever thought you wanted to go on a safari - GO!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Stopping in the jungle and finding long tables all set up with tablecloths and chefs cooking just for us. The pool overlooking the crater wasn't bad either!!

review_img

jequinn

Safari in Tanzania

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2011

Fabulous trip - saw all the big nine animals; accommodations were superb but the food was just average. Tour guides were super and very informative and friendly Safari vehicles were very useful and effective

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the many animals so up close especially when a leopard walked right next to our vehicle

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button